You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

As it happened: Donald Trump elected president of the United States for a second time

Ballots are still being counted but Trump has won enough votes in enough states to be firmly on the path to the White House.

LAST UPDATE | 6 Nov

DONALD TRUMP WILL return to the White House for a second term, four years after voters ousted him following his disastrous handling of the Covid-19 pandemic, in a historic win for the candidate and the Republican party.

Vice president Kamala Harris earlier phoned Trump to concede the election and addressed supporters at Howard University in Washington DC, her alma mater.

Trump declared himself the 47th President in an address to his supporters in Florida after securing the swing state of Pennsylvania. The Republican candidate flipped states, held the base and even broke new ground for the party in this election.

The Associated Press and US broadcasters issued their projections shortly after 10.30am Irish time that Trump will be sworn in as the next President of the United States.

Republicans have also taken control of the Senate, securing at least 52 of the 100 seats so far. Democrats are on 44.

The House of Representatives (Congress) has yet to be called but Republicans are currently leading. AP has the current projected state of play at 205-189; 218 are needed for a majority.

Electoral college votes

Total to win: 270

Kamala Harris: 226

Donald Trump: 312

Thanks for following us. 

Updates were by Diarmuid Pepper, Lauren Boland, Muiris Ó Cearbhaill and Órla Ryan 

Here is when the first polls will close in the US:

7pm local time/midnight Irish time 

• Georgia
  • Indiana 
  • Kentucky
  • South Carolina
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • 7:30 p.m. ET
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • West Virginia

8pm local time/1am Irish time 

• Alabama
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida 
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Tennessee

As we reported earlier, a Palestinian solidarity protest is taking place outside a US election event in Dublin.

The Journal / YouTube

An election ‘watch party’ is being held by the US Embassy at the Guinness Storehouse in Dublin 8. Here is some footage from inside the event:

LR US ELECTIONS PARTY DUBLIN 00005 US Ambassador to Ireland Claire Cronin is hosting the US Embassy watch party © RollingNews.ie © RollingNews.ie

US ELECTIONS PARTY DUBLIN 00002 People at the event watch election coverage on CNN © RollingNews.ie © RollingNews.ie

If you’re still confused about which swing states are in play, and how the Electoral College works, we’ve got you covered with this explainer.

Speaking to The Journal last week, Scott Lucas, Professor of American Studies at UCD’s Clinton Institute, said: “You can’t toss out any type of prediction, other than the fact this will be a knife-edge race.

“It’ll go all the way through the night and possibly for a few days after.”

Only three states have been called so far – two for Trump and one for Harris.

US24@2x

Here is our state-by-state breakdown of the race to 270 Electoral College votes.

Vox pops

There are vox pops-a plenty on TV tonight, but one man in particular stood out in the below segment on CNN.

He said he came out to vote because his girlfriend asked him to, adding that she was going to break up with him if he didn’t. In the end, he admitted he was joking and she said no such thing, but that he thought it would be funny to say it on TV.

She did ask him to vote though, because he intended to stay home and not vote for anybody. He waited for about two hours to mark his ballot for Harris/Walz.

In another vox pop, this time on MSNBC, a man in Arizona said he decided to vote for Trump after Harris didn’t go on The Joe Rogan Experience podcast.

Georgia update

Some good news for Trump in Georgia, one of the key battleground states: 

The state typically votes Republican but Joe Biden turned it blue in 2020 by just 12,000 votes – out of some five million votes cast. 

A number of senate elections are also taking place in certain states today. Jim Justice looks set to be elected to the West Virginia senate, flipping the seat.

More importantly, Babydog (who rose to fame at the Republican Convention in July) is going with him. 

Washington Post / YouTube

During our recent interview with Scott Lucas, Professor of American Studies at UCD’s Clinton Institute, he also spoke about what a Trump presidency could look like from an international affairs point of view.

He believes, if Trump is re-elected, “a lot of people are going to be sacrificed, I’m going to say that right out”.

Lucas continued: “What do I mean, people are going to be sacrificed? Ukraine’s going to be sacrificed. I have no doubt about that.”

He believes Trump will cut US aid to Ukraine and “effectively support the Russians in their invasion”.

In terms of the Middle East, Lucas said Trump is “not going to stop the war” and will “completely back [Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin] Netanyahu”.

Lucas believes Trump will also “be courted by the Saudis, by the UAE”, threaten to pull out of Nato, and attempt to break up the European Union.

“There are no rules of the game with Trump, and the international system runs on rules of the game.”

Speaking about the possibility of a Harris presidency, Lucas noted that the current vice president has “distinguished herself from Biden in terms of her rhetoric” on Gaza and the need to protect civilians.

However, he is adopting a “wait and see” approach to whether or not she actually makes any changes.

I want to see if she backs up words with action.

Lucas said many people, perhaps correctly, assume not much would change in terms of US support for Israel under a Harris presidency.

“Would she cut or limit military aid to the Israelis? Would she come out for an unconditional ceasefire? I think the default position everybody assumes is no.”

Some voters, including in key swing states, are not voting for Harris because of her stance on Gaza.

During a trip to Atlanta in September, one Emory University student who would typically lean Democrat told The Journal he could not “bring” himself to vote for Harris because of the war in Gaza.

“She’s not listening to our beliefs,” he said at the time.

Ready for a female president?

In terms of whether or not the US is ready for a female president, Lucas told The Journal:

“If you look at the importance of women’s rights and reproductive rights in this election – yeah, America is ready to have a female president… but there are some Americans who aren’t ready for it.”

My colleague Mairead Maguire has been watching Fox News. Here’s a rundown of what’s been discussed on the channel in the last hour, where a panel have shared their early thoughts.

Unsurprisingly, the dominance of reproductive rights – despite being named one of the single biggest issues for voters – was downplayed.

Conservative pundit Laura Ingraham said voters must choose between the status quo – the Biden administration’s “open borders” and a high cost of living – and Trump. She said however that Democrats have done a good job at “not making it about [Harris's] track record”, but rather about abortion.

The panel acknowledged that reproductive rights could have a major impact, especially in states that are also voting today on whether the right to abortion should be enshrined in their individual constitutions.

Former Democratic Congressman Harold Ford Jr said he’s interested to see how, as he put it, “that abortion thing” goes down in Florida, which has voted red in the last two presidential elections.

It’s early days, but Trump is currently leading in the district of Miami. The last time a Republican candidate won there was 1988.

On North Carolina, one of the seven swing states, Republican pundits voiced concern about the impact Hurricane Helene could have, as many of the usual voting stations were destroyed or made inaccessible.

However, between tented stations and power generators, voters are expected to be uninhibited. In fact, turnout could be higher than it was in 2020.

Fox News is always an interesting watch – even during ad breaks.

One ad for what appears to be a prayer app (like a religious Headspace?) shows the results of the election being announced on the radio. Before the winner is named, the man switches off the radio and goes to say a prayer with his phone, saying “Lord we trust in you … we give it all to you”.

Another ad boasts a free one-year subscription for Fox Nation (a streaming service for shows and movies that “celebrate America”) for US soldiers and veterans.

Actor Paul Rudd is handing out bottles of water to people queuing up to vote in Pennsylvania.

You wouldn’t get that in Dublin West – then again, you wouldn’t have to wait for hours to vote.

Some states famously have *very* long queues. Singer Selena Gomez earlier encouraged people to tough out the lines and not leave before voting.

My colleague Christine Bohan has an important needle update:

It’s back! It’s fair to say that The New York Times’s needle, which estimates the outcome of the race in real time, has become one of the most well-known parts of presidential election night since 2016 (among the chronically online, at least).

There were questions about whether it would make an appearance tonight: tech workers at The New York Times who look after the needle, among other things, have been on strike since yesterday in a dispute over pay and conditions.

image (12)

In the last few minutes, however, the needle went live on the NYT site. A note attached to the needle warns that it may not be able to be updated live over the course of the night due to the strike. “We will only publish a live version of the Needle if we are confident [the] systems are stable,” the note says.

So what does it actually say? Well, it’s still early, so the needle says it is a toss-up right now, with neither Trump nor Harris with a greater chance of winning.

However while it estimates that Harris will do better on the popular vote, it estimates that Trump will win the electoral college (and therefore the election). It’s all going to come down to Pennsylvania, unsurprisingly. Let’s see what happens.

More on long queues outside polling centres:

The Journal / YouTube

Mairead Maguire writes: Some districts are reporting long lines at polling stations, with some people waiting up to six hours to cast their vote.

Harris seems to have had a plan in place to keep voters motivated in case this happened.

She called on famous allies including Jennifer Garner and Marc Cuban to hop on Facetime calls with tired voters.

Some of those queuing have ordered pizza to keep them satiated while they wait.

Celebrities and politicians have been urging voters to stay in line even if polling closes before they get to the front. The rules state that those already queueing still have a right to cast their vote even if the deadline has passed.

Trump is also encouraging people to stay and vote, noting that polling hours have been extended in certain areas due to the high level of demand.

Other elections

Several senators, congressional members and governors have been elected in various states.

Here are some of the key results so far (the full list of candidates elected can be read here):

• Democratic Senator Elizabeth Warren has won a third term in office, fending off a challenge from Republican John Deato in Massachusetts
  • Representative Matt Gaetz of Florida, a conservative provocateur who led the effort to remove his own party’s House speaker, has won reelection to a fifth term
  • Democrat Matt Meyer has won the election for Delaware governor, defeating Republican Michael Ramone
  • Representative Marjorie Taylor Greene, the conservative known for incendiary political speech, has been reelected to a third term in northwest Georgia
  • Vermont Republican Governor Phil Scott (Republican) has been reelected to a fifth two-year term 
Florida votes on abortion and marijuana

Another update from Rónán Duffy:

Governor Ron DeSantis of Florida has said that statewide referendums on abortion and marijuana have both been defeated.

Amendment 4 would have enshrined a right to abortion into the state’s constitution, restoring the right to terminate pregnancies until the point of viability.

Since May, Florida has enforced a ban on abortions after six weeks – before many women even know they are pregnant.

The initiative faced a steep challenge, requiring 60% approval to pass, with estimates now indicating that it will fall short of that number.

Meanwhile, Amendment 3 would have legalised marijuana for recreational use. Donald Trump, a Florida resident, had indicated that he supported the vote to legalise marijuana, saying: “Whether people like it or not, this will happen.”

Gaza protest

My colleague Jane Matthews has another update on the Palestinian solidarity protest held outside the Guinness Storehouse.

protest Jane Matthews / The Journal Jane Matthews / The Journal / The Journal

Earlier tonight, a watch party organised by Democrats Abroad was disrupted when a small group of pro-Palestine supporters crashed the event and blocked the main screen that was streaming CNN.

Gardaí were called and the demonstrators, who carried a Palestine flag and a horn speaker, were removed after approximately 10 minutes but not before they set off a stink bomb.

Attendees and staff reported an altercation between some attendees and protesters, with one organiser describing attendees’ reaction to the disturbance as “extremely annoyed”.

One attendee told The Journal that he was spat on and witnessed someone “being put in a headlock”. He said he has attended pro-Palestine protests himself and respects why the demonstrators were protesting tonight but believes “there is a limit”.

Results in twenty-six states have now been called, with Trump on 177 Electoral College votes and Harris on 99. 

US24@2x (3)

Either candidate needs to get to 270 to be elected president. 

There are no big surprises to date, with states voting along the usual party lines.

An interesting update from Wisconsin, where there is more good news for the Trump campaign: 

Meanwhile in Delaware, NBC has predicted that a transgender woman will be elected to the US Congress for the first time ever.

Democrat Sarah McBride is in the lead with a projected 57.7%, while her Republican opponent John Whalen is on 42.3%.

2YFY0YJ Alamy Alamy

Trump has momentum

The New York Times election needle is currently giving Donald Trump a 69% chance of victory. 

image (13)

It looks as though Trump has won Iowa.

It’s a typically Republican state but a recent poll indicated a last-minute increase in support for Harris – something attributed to anger over the state banning abortions after six weeks of pregnancy, before many women know they are pregnant.

Trump is edging ahead with 198 Electoral College votes, while Harris is on 112. Some 228 votes are yet to be declared

US24@2x (5)

Democrats in Dublin remaining hopeful

Our Political Correspondent Jane Matthews is at the Democrats Abroad event in Dublin’s Arlington Hotel, where hundreds of Americans have gathered in the bar for the night to watch the results come in.

As of 2am, the mood was positive in the bar as attendees – fuelled on pizza – watched CNN and chatted over drinks.

Cheers erupted shortly after 1am as the projection was made that Bernie Sanders and Elizabeth Warren’s senate seats were safe.

IMG_0133 Amy McGovern and TJ Mulloy from Democrats Abroad Jane Matthews / The Journal Jane Matthews / The Journal / The Journal

Speaking to The Journal, Democrats Abroad Secretary, Amy McGovern, described her mood as “confident”.

From Pennsylvania, the swing state won by Biden in 2020, McGovern said her sense is that there are more silent Democratic voters than projected.

“I’m from a county that is a swing county. I think people are saying they support Trump but secretly support Harris, they just don’t want people to know because they don’t want to go against the grain,” McGovern said.

IMG_0138 Democrats Abroad watch party in the Arlington Hotel Jane Matthews / The Journal Jane Matthews / The Journal / The Journal

McGovern is so opposed to Trump and what he stands for that she can’t even bring herself to say his name.

He’s a disgrace, he only cares about himself. It’s not about policy, it’s ‘I, I, I’ with him.

“I think we need a woman, desperately. Especially on the world stage, I think it would show that we are moving forwards, not backwards.

“We’ve been going backwards recently but I’m trying to be hopeful that we can move forward towards a better and more fair and equitable future.”

Another attendee, Randy, who only wanted his first name published, told The Journal that he expects Harris to win “by a landslide”.

“I might be wrong, but I’d be very disappointed if I was. I view Trump being elected as the end of democracy, not just for America but largely for the world.”

Despite the optimism of some Democrats, the New York Times needle is giving Donald Trump an 88% chance of winning the election.

As well as forecasting that Trump is likely to win the Electoral College, the needle is estimating that he will also win the popular vote (i.e. a majority of the total number of votes cast across the country).

image (14)

Sanders holds his seat

As expected, Bernie Sanders (independent) has been re-elected to the Senate in Vermont.

Smiles and sighs

Trump and Harris supporters are watching the results roll in…

fred-becker-of-saint-cloud-fla-watches-returns-as-he-attends-a-watch-party-for-republican-presidential-nominee-former-president-donald-trump-at-the-palm-beach-county-convention-center-during-an-ele Fred Becker pictured at a watch party for Republican presidential nominee Donald Trump at the Palm Beach County Convention Centre in Florida Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

dt-morgan-an-north-carolina-at-student-gathers-with-other-students-for-an-election-night-watch-party-tuesday-nov-5-2024-in-greensboro-n-c-ap-photogeorge-walker-iv DT Morgan, a North Carolina A&T student, gathers with other students for an election night watch party Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

new-york-usa-05th-nov-2024-a-woman-wearing-a-hat-saying-iom-voting-for-a-convicted-felon-and-otrump-make-america-great-againo-glasses-in-the-cafe-in-trump-tower-election-day-new-york-usa-5-n A woman wearing a hat saying 'I'm voting for a convicted felon' in the café in Trump Tower in New York on Tuesday Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

a-supporter-of-democratic-presidential-nominee-vice-president-kamala-harris-reacts-as-they-watch-televised-reports-for-the-2024-u-s-presidential-election-during-a-watch-party-in-taipei-taiwan-wedne A supporter of Democratic presidential candidate Kamala Harris reacts during a watch party in Taipei, Taiwan, on Wednesday Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

supporters-wait-at-an-election-night-campaign-watch-party-for-republican-presidential-nominee-former-president-donald-trump-tuesday-nov-5-2024-in-west-palm-beach-fla-ap-photoalex-brandon Supporters at an election night watch party for Donald Trump Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Trump now has 220 Electoral College votes, while Harris has 179. View the latest updates from every state on our map here

US24@2x (7)

The first of the seven swing states – North Carolina – has been called: Trump has won its 16 Electoral College votes and pulls further ahead of Harris. 

Senate and House update

Republican Ted Cruz has been re-elected to the Senate, and Democrats Ilhan Omar and Rashida Tlaib have been re-elected to the House of Representatives.

Analysis

With millions of votes now counted across the United States, Donald Trump is currently in a strong but not unassailable position in the race for the White House, Rónán Duffy writes.

Trump’s vote appears to be up compared to four years ago when he was defeated by President Joe Biden, with Vice President Kamala Harris likely pinning her hopes on a sweep of the former industrial rust belt heartlands of Wisconsin, Michigan and Pennsylvania.

Trump won those three states when he won the presidency in 2016 and Biden flipped them four years later, creating the so-called ‘Blue Wall’ that would keep the presidency in Democratic hands.

Harris will now likely have to repeat that trick to win the presidency, with Trump performing strongly in the Sun Belt swing states of Georgia, North Carolina, Arizona and Nevada.

The second last poll to close, Hawaii, has gone to Harris who will take the state’s four Electoral College votes.

Alaska, the last remaining open poll, will close at 6am Irish time.

The scene at Howard University, Harris' election night HQ

howard-students-grow-dejected-as-the-polling-results-come-in-at-vice-president-kamala-harris-election-night-event-at-howard-university-in-washington-on-nov-5-2024-angelina-katsanispolitico-via Howard students grow dejected as the polling results come in Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Members of Kamala Harris’ campaign team have gathered at Howard University, her alma mater, in Washington DC.

A number of Harris’ supporters at the university have spoken to AFP about their hopes and fears as Trump moves ahead in the count.

“I’m expecting to see change right before my very eyes,” Kwame Anderson said earlier tonight.

The prestigious institution, nicknamed the ‘Black Harvard’, is packed with people.

Harris is expected to give a speech at the school later. Those gathered desperately hope it will be to claim victory, but they are growing more dejected. 

supporters-watch-as-results-come-in-at-an-election-night-campaign-watch-party-for-democratic-presidential-nominee-vice-president-kamala-harris-tuesday-nov-5-2024-on-the-campus-of-howard-universit Harris supporters watch as results come in at an election night party at Howard University Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

“I think all things are possible with God,” Anderson said.

“I pray he does it for the sake of this nation not being torn apart even further than it is, we need peace.

We don’t want anymore hatred and vitriol we want to live in harmony. It’s time.

First year student Amar Zarif said: “I feel… kind of anxious.”

Nichelle Poe added: “I’m expecting to have my first female president. I am confident because I believe we want to keep our democracy.”

Forty of the 50 states have now been called by the Associated Press: Trump has 230 Electoral College votes, while Harris has 210.

The Three Musketeers

Donald Trump; Dana White, CEO of the Ultimate Fighting Championship; and Elon Musk, the owner of X and Tesla, are watching the election results roll in together in Florida. 

Trump takes Georgia

Trump has won a second key swing state – Georgia – giving him another 16 Electoral College votes. He now has 246 votes to Harris’ 210. 

The map is growing ever redder: Trump’s win in Georgia takes him to 246 Electoral College votes, compared to Harris’ 210. Five of the seven swing states remain in play. 

US24@2x (10)

Kamala Harris will not address the crowd at Howard University tonight, her campaign co-chair Cedric Richmond confirmed in the last few minutes. Many supporters have started to leave.

Harris is now expected to speak to the media and supporters tomorrow instead.

Which states are yet to be called?

We’re still waiting for results in Alaska, Arizona, three districts in Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin.

Donald Trump is expected to speak to the media and his supporters in Florida soon.

Thanks for staying with us throughout the night. I’m now going to hand the liveblog over to my colleague Muiris Ó Cearbhaill.

Good morning. Muiris Ó Cearbhaill here taking you through the final stretch of the US election results.

As we await the results of the remaining battleground states, the Harris team has sent its supporters home for this evening.

The Journal / YouTube

Crowds at Howard University in Washington D.C. were seen leaving shortly after Harris’ top aide informed the crowd that the Vice President would not be speaking until tomorrow.

We are expecting to see the results called in Pennsylvania shortly. It’s a tight race but Fox News has already called it for Donald Trump. If correct, it would all but rule out a Harris presidency.

NBC News’ tally is below:

Screenshot 2024-11-06 065042

Stick with us and we will bring you the latest as soon as we have it.

The crowd at Trump HQ at the Palm Beach Convention Centre Florida has just been told that the campaign team strongly believe that the former President will be returning to the White House.

supporters-watch-returns-at-a-campaign-election-night-watch-party-for-republican-presidential-nominee-former-president-donald-trump-at-the-palm-beach-convention-center-wednesday-nov-6-2024-in-wes Supporters at Trump HQ in Florida celebrate the results of the election. Alamy Alamy

No news organisation or polling company has echoed this call. Trump is expected to speak in the next few minutes as it approaches 2am in Florida and it is likely he will announce himself as President-Elect as the United States.

NBC News and CNN have projected that Trump will win the 19 electoral votes up for grabs in the key battleground state Pennsylvania.

Winning Pennsylvania brings Trump’s total electoral tally to 266 versus Harris’ 214.

Trump’s win in Pennsylvania has massively changed the debate across all television networks in the US. Though no one has yet to project the President-elect, much of the discussion is focusing on his success in this election.

The former President’s son, Eric, has posted an image of the Republican party candidate prepping backstage in the Palm Beach Convention Centre in Florida for his speech, where it is now very likely that he will declare victory.

Trump is now on stage at the Palm Beach Convention Centre. He appeared on stage shortly before 2.30am local time alongside his team and family.

The song ‘God Bless The USA’ by Lee Greenwood is blaring around the centre, just slightly loudly than the crowd.

Trump declares victory

“Thank you very much, wow,” Trump says to the crowd, who are chanting ‘USA’.

“This was a movement like no one has ever seen before,” he says, adding that the movement will reach a “new level of importance” to “help our country heal”.

“We overcame obstacles that nobody taught possible and it now now clear that we have achieved the most insane political thing possible. Look what happened? Isn’t this crazy… It’s a political victory…”

“I want to thank the American people for the great honor to be elected your 47th President.”

He tells the crowd that it is a “magnificent victory for the American people” and names and thanks a number of key swing states which went in his favour.

Chants from the crowd are droning out Trump at times, with a number of ‘USA’ chants still ongoing.

Trump turns the celebrations to the Republican party wins in the US Senate and House of Representatives. 

He also celebrates his wife, Malania, who is standing beside him on stage. “She has the number one best-selling book in the country, can you believe it?”

The Republican candidate names and thanks all of his children by name and his self-declared Vice President-Elect JD Vance and his wife.

JD Vance now addressed the crowd.

“Well, Mr President. I appreciate you allowing me to join you on this journey and putting your trust in me,” he says.

“I think we just witnessed the greatest political come back in the history of the United States of America.”

JD Vance hands the floor back to Trump, who says: “Well, he turned out to be a good choice.”

Trump has thanked members of his team, including billionaire businessman Elon Musk, who was a key campaigning figure in the Republican candidate’s campaign.

“Let me tell you, we have a new star. A star is born. Elon!”

Trump is still speaking about Elon Musk and his companies, SpaceX and Starlink.

Trump has given the floor to Dana White, the CEO of the UFC, the mixed martial arts league.

Dana White thanks a number of YouTubers and podcasters, namely the Nelk Boys and Theo Von, who have recorded content with Trump in the last few weeks.

White said about Trump: “This is what happens when the machine comes after you [...] couldn’t stop him, he wouldn’t quit. This is the most hard working man I’ve met.”

Trump is now reminiscing of the campaign trail, particularly his final event last night.

“I’ll never be doing a rally again, can you believe it?”

He says he thinks it is “sad” that there will not be any more rallies, but remarks: “Now, we are going on to someone far more important.”

palm-beach-united-states-06th-nov-2023-former-united-states-president-donald-trump-delivers-a-speech-from-the-palm-beach-convention-center-at-the-trump-campaign-election-night-watch-party-in-west Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

“I want to thank you [...] America’s future will be bigger, better, bolder, stronger, richer than it ever was before. Thank you, thank you very much,” Trump says, concluding his 25-minute speech.
Y.M.C.A. by Village People plays him out as he shakes hands with campaign staff and family who are still on stage.

Trump needs just four more electoral college votes to secure the 49th Presidency.

Despite declaring victory himself, a win has yet to be officially declared. Fox News has donned the Don victorious after its experts projected he will win Wisconsin – a tight race.

All four races in key swing states are still too close to call. However, the Republican candidate is beginning widen his lead polls in two out of the four remaining battleground states – Nevada and Michigan.

Screenshot 2024-11-06 080458

Screenshot 2024-11-06 080503

Arizona and Wisconsin are still too close to call – but Kamala Harris is not topping the poll in either state.

Screenshot 2024-11-06 080307

Screenshot 2024-11-06 080317

Good morning

As Ireland wakes up to the news that Donald Trump may well become the next President of the United States, here are some of the main points that you may have missed overnight and early this morning.

• Trump has held a victory speech before a crowd of cheering supporters in Florida as he looks certain to win the presidency.
  • Out of the seven crucial battleground states that will decide the presidency, Donald Trump has won Pennsylvania, North Carolina and Georgia. 
  • It is now looking unlikely that Kamala Harris will be able to secure enough electoral college votes in the remaining four battleground states, as Trump’s lead widens there.

My colleague Jane Moore has recapped the speech Trump gave to supporters in Florida, you can read what he told the crowd about Elon Musk, Robert F Kennedy Jr and his ‘magnificent victory’, here.

A note from our Senior Media Producer Nicky Ryan:

I’m just out of studio with our reporters Christine Bohan and Rónán Duffy after recording a quick bonus episode of our politics podcast The Candidate.
The title is simple: He’s back.

Results are still coming in but Christine and Rónán began the postmortem on the Democrat’s failed campaign, and looked at what Trump’s victory means for US politics. You might catch the type of frenetic energy that only sleep deprivation can bring.

Screenshot 2024-11-06 at 08-05-31 The Journal

If you haven’t heard of The Candidate podcast, its normal focus is on taking a look behind the scenes and beyond the headlines at what’s really happening in Irish politics right now. Listen to today’s episode (and subscribe to get our Irish election updates) wherever you get your podcasts.

World leaders have started to congratulate Donald Trump as strategists and pundits admit that a Harris Presidency is, now, virtually impossible.

British Prime Minister Keir Starmer has congratulated the Republican candidate on his “historic election win”.

“As the closest allies, we stand shoulder to shoulder in defence of our shared values on freedom, democracy and enterprise,” Starmer said, adding he looked forward to working with Trump.

Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy has also congratulated Trump on his “impressive election victory”. The leader of the war-torn nation said that he admired the new American leader of his “peace through strength approach to global affairs”.

“We look forward to an era of a strong United States of America under President Trump’s decisive leadership,” he added.

European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen – who is likely to have a tough relationship with Trump during his term – has “warmly” congratulated “Donald J. Trump”.

“The EU and the US are more than just allies. We are bound by our true partnership between our people, uniting our 800 million citizens,” she said.

Trump, throughout his campaign, took aim at the EU over his disapproval of free trade partnerships and military spending targets in Nato.

This morning, von der Leyen has looked to the future for their relationship, inviting Trump to “work together on a strong transatlantic agenda that keeps delivering” for citizens.

Taoiseach Simon Harris has congratulated Donald Trump. 

“Congratulations to US President-elect Donald Trump on your victory,” Harris said on X.

“The people of the United States have spoken and Ireland will work to deepen and strengthen the historic and unbreakable bonds between our people and our nations in the years ahead.”

In an official statement by Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs Micheál Martin has congratulated Trump as well.

He said the Government of Ireland “look forward to working with [Trump] and his new administration in a constructive manner” to continue to deep-rooted relationship between both countries.

“As we prepare to engage with a new US administration, we do so building on the strong legacy of the last 100 years,” he added.

The Labour Party leader Ivana Bacik has called the results of the US election “devastating”.

She said Trump’s win will “spell disaster on so many fronts” including for the climate, the war in Ukraine and the conflict in Gaza, women’s and migrants’ rights and for the rest of Europe.

“The US has made a choice – now the impact will be felt worldwide. Grim prospects ahead,” she added.

ICYMI, here’s the opening to Trump’s victory speech earlier this morning at his campaign headquarters in the Palm Beach Convention Centre in Florida.

Trump wins

Data from NBC News suggests that Donald Trump is, officially, the President-elect of the United States after being projected to win Wisconsin.

He has now surpassed 270 electoral votes. NBC is the second US news network to call the election result after Fox News called the race for Trump earlier this morning.

Democrats have not won a single battleground states so far. Trump flipped Wisconsin, Pennsylvania and Georgia, and he fended off the Harris campaign’s attempt to take North Carolina.

Trump’s win has been seen as a historic comeback as the Republican President-elect managed to flip swing states, hold the party base and even earn new voters for the GOP.

Considering his campaign was seen as hostile – with openly racist remarks, polarising debates and an assassination attempt – and the candidate’s 34 felony convictions, the result is remarkable.

The pending 47th US President managed to secure four - Wisconsin, Pennsylvania Georgia and North Carolina – out of seven swing states and broke through the ‘blue wall’ for the second time in his political career.

Historically speaking, Trump is the first president in more than a century to win a non-consecutive second term.

The incredible feat was achieved after Trump’s campaign was dominated by apocalyptic warnings about immigration and isolationism.

The talking points evidently found their mark with voters, battered by the post-Covid inflation and eager for a change from the Biden years.

The economy, despite being at its strongest since the pandemic, was listed as the main concern consistently in exit polls overnight after Trump campaigned hard on families being ‘better off’ under his presidency compared to Joe Biden’s.

Access to abortion and reproductive care was not enough to encourage undecided voters to choose Harris, who campaigned on protecting the sexual health rights of women and reinstating key legislation to provide equal access to the care.

Turmoil likely lies ahead too.

Radical policy shifts – not just impacting the US but also Ireland and the EU – are likely be to swiftly enacted in the opening days of his presidency in January.

He has promised day-one firings, mass deportations, restrictive policies on sexual and reproductive care and a unrestrained, isolationist and nationalist “America First” stance.

Speaking this evening, he said that this “will truly be the golden age of America” after he declared victory. 

“This is a magnificent victory for the American people that will allow us to make America great again.”

Leader of the Green Party and Minister for Integration Roderic O’Gorman has said he acknowledges the result of the election in the United States and has “no doubt” that Ireland will continue to have a close relationship with Washington.

On Monday, O’Gorman – who is in charge of one of the parties making up the current Government coalition – said that a Trump presidency would be a “disaster” for Ireland.

His comments came after the Green Party joined their European counterparts in calling for Jill Stein - the leader of the American Green Party and a presidential candidate – to stand down to avoid splitting the Democratic party vote.

O’Gorman today said: “We cannot let this result undermine the significant progress that is being made in many countries such as Ireland to tackle the devastating impact of climate change.”

He also extended his “solidarity and support” to the women in the United States who may be fearful over their reproductive rights in the context of a Trump presidency.

This liveblog reported earlier that Labour leader Ivana Bacik also expressed her concerns over a Trump presidency, labelling the result “devastating”. 

Fine Gael MEP Maria Walsh, who holds dual-citizenship to Ireland and the US, said she has “serious concerns” over the policies that Trump campaigned on – particularly with her role in the EU.

She added: “I fear how his views and policies could negatively impact women, minority and marginalised groups in society and how his actions may influence others around the world”

As the dust begins to settle in the United States, Democratic voters and party members are assessing the damage that the Kamala Harris’ Presidential campaign took overnight.

Though a number of states have yet to have their result projected and tight races are still ongoing, it is clear that the US Vice President’s performance yesterday at the ballot box was nothing short of disastrous.

Unexpectedly, Harris managed to outperform her predecessor Joe Biden in just a handful of counties in the key battleground states and across the country, and – what her party will see as worse – conceded normally-strong blue territory to Trump. 

Pundits are now certain that there is a looming crisis in the Democratic Party as the Senate and the House of Congress will likely be controlled by the Republicans – but only by a slim majority.

While the slim majority will give some Democrat politicians room to continue the pushback on the Trump Presidency, others in the party will want to broaden the tent and fix the leadership.

Harris did not perform well in rural areas or areas outside of the suburbs.

While that is not outside of the norm for her party, Trump also managed to win the majority in some suburban areas where the Democrats would usually thrive.

Democratic politicians may start to read the tea leaves and realise that it could be time to focus on internal affairs so that it can be a formidable opposition to Trump at the White House and bounce back at the next election.

A night that began with some early momentum for Harris’ campaign was bulldozed by Trump, who picked up major victories in several swing states.

Photos captured the emotions of a historic election night and have been collected and curated by our reporter Seán Crosbie. 

You can take a look at the full article, here.

Below: The party continues at Trump HQ in Florida as a voter’s badge is left on the ground outside Harris HQ at Howard University.

MAGAPARTY Alamy Alamy

badge Alamy Alamy

I’m passing things off to my colleague Lauren Boland for the afternoon. 

Make sure to check back in to get all the reaction, sharp analysis and hot takes as soon as we get them.

Thanks Muiris. Lauren Boland here with you now for the next while.

A quick recap of the state of play for anyone just tuning in now:

• Votes are still being counted but Donald Trump has gained enough of a lead in enough states to safely say that the final, official result will go in his favour, making him the next US president.
  • He is currently projected to receive at least 277 electoral college votes, surpassing the necessary 270.
  • Kamala Harris is on 224 electoral college votes. 
  • With only a few states left without projected results, there are just 37 electoral college votes left to be allocated. Many of them are in battleground states that are expected to go to Trump.
  • The Senate has also been called for the Republican party.
  • The House of Representatives (Congress) is still in play but Republicans are leading.

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has joined the chorus of world leaders offering congratulations to Trump.

“Congratulations to Donald Trump on being elected President of the United States. The friendship between Canada and the U.S. is the envy of the world,” Trudeau wrote on social media.

“I know President Trump and I will work together to create more opportunity, prosperity, and security for both of our nations.”

Earlier this year, Trudeau said that Trump winning a second term would be a victory for a type of populism “that reflects a lot of anguish and fury” without “necessarily providing solutions”.

The Canadian leader also said previously that Trump’s first presidency “wasn’t easy” and that it would not be “easy” a second time either, and that Trump returning to the White House would be a “step back” on issues like climate change. 

Canadian news station CTV has a round-up of Trudeau’s previous comments about Trump.

Some of the congratulations offered to Trump by other leaders have been somewhat reserved, but former UK Prime Minister Liz Truss has put her support behind him enthusiastically.

The Conservative, who was head of the UK’s government for less than 50 days, called Trump’s win “great news for the USA and the West”.

“Let the fightback begin!” she wrote on social media.

Climate protest at US embassy: In London, climate activist group Just Stop Oil has sprayed orange paint on an external wall at the US embassy in a protest against Trump and his poor record on climate.

The group, which campaigns for an end to oil and gas exploitation, has said that the world woke this morning “to find it has slipped further into fascism as well as climate breakdown”.

“Political systems that can be bought by big oil have no value as we face the biggest challenge of our time,” Just Stop Oil said.

It said the “only real winner” of the US election “is the corporate power that controls the major parties in both the US and UK”.

“They continue to ensure the interests of the fossil fuel industry will continue to be prioritised over the wellbeing of ordinary people,” it said.

“It is only through people coming together to disrupt business-as-usual that humanity will stand any chance of minimising the effects of climate breakdown, and the social collapse that follows.”

A digital cover released by US magazine Vanity Fair:

GbsiU15bIAAV0J0 Vanity Fair Vanity Fair

The war in Gaza: Tánaiste Micheál Martin has said that securing peace in Gaza must be an international priority, calling for a two-state solution and respect for Palestinians.

Speaking on RTÉ Radio One, the Tánaiste, who is also Minister for Foreign Affairs and Defence, said that Trump has claimed he wants to see peace in the Middle East but that it “remains to be seen” how he will act.

My colleague David MacRedmond has written for The Journal this morning about what a Trump presidency means for Palestine and Israel.

441Cabinet Meetings_90715506 Tánaiste Micheál Martin Rollingnews.ie Rollingnews.ie

Abortion: In addition to the elections for the White House, Senate, and Congress and other local positions, each state ran votes on various important issues, particularly on abortion.

CNN is projecting in Missouri, Nevada and Montana that votes on protecting access to abortion will pass, joining New York, Colorado, Maryland and Arizona where votes on similar measures have been considered successful.

In South Dakota, a vote to allow access to abortion during the first and second trimesters of pregnancy with some exceptions is projected by CNN to fall.

A projection is yet to be called for the result of voting in the state of Nebraska on whether to overturn a ban on abortions after 12 weeks.

Social Democrats leader Holly Cairns has called Trump’s victory is “hugely concerning” for not only the US but the world at large.

“Trump’s agenda is clear. It’s tax cuts for billionaires; rolling back climate action; and attacking people’s civil rights,” Cairns said, adding that she is “especially concerned for the rights of women, people of colour and LGBTQ+ people under a Trump administration”.

“Trump’s foreign policy agenda will also be a disaster. He is an even bigger cheerleader of the genocide in Gaza than Biden. He will also cosy up to Putin and pull support from Ukraine,” Cairns said.

Holly Cairns 005_90672355 Social Democrats leader Holly Cairns Leah Farrell / RollingNews.ie Leah Farrell / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

What will happen to the court cases against Trump when he returns to the White House?

Trump is currently subject to several cases at both federal and state levels.

However, becoming the next president means he will effectively be able to quash the federal cases and have the state cases suspended until the end of his term.

Read more about it on The Journal here.

Stock markets: Wall Street has seen gains this morning in the US in the wake of the election outcome.

The dollar has risen in value, gaining around 2% against the euro, while cryptocurrency bitcoin also rose.

China, however, saw stocks take a hit in anticipation of tariffs that Trump has promised to impose on Chinese imports to the US.

Speaker of the House: Republican Congressman Mike Johnson, the US’ current Speaker of the House, has said he believes Republicans will win the House as well as the White House and Senate.

“House Republicans have been successful in securing critical flips in swing states including Pennsylvania and Michigan, while our battle-tested incumbents have secured re-election from coast to coast,” Johnson said in a new statement.

“We will continue to monitor the results and ensure every legal ballot is counted throughout this process. I look forward to working with President Trump and a Republican Senate.”

Kamala Harris concession: News agency Reuters is reporting that its sources say Harris will made a speech conceding the election at 6pm eastern time, which would be 11pm tonight in Ireland.

The vice president’s campaign held a viewing party at Howard University in Washington D.C. but told the crowd gathered last night as the results turned against her that she would not be addressing the event at that time.

Congrats from China: China’s foreign ministry has formally offered congratulations to Trump.

“We respect the choice of the American people, and express our congratulations to Mr Trump on his election as president,” it said in a statement.

That’s it from me, Lauren, for now – passing you over to my colleague Diarmuid Pepper.

‘Double Trouble’: Reaction from Israel: Benjamin Netanyahu was among the first world leaders to congratulate Trump, writing on X: “Congratulations on history’s greatest comeback!”

“This is a huge victory!” added Netanyahu, who signed off the post “in true friendship”.

Haaretz is the the longest running newspaper currently in print in Israel and in a letter from its editor-in-chief Esther Solomon has said:

Israel is ruled by a more-than-simply-aspiring autocrat and annexationist touting “total victory”, while America will soon be governed by a similarly authoritarian and exclusionist MAGA demagogue.

She added: “How these two disastrous leaders’ worldviews and policies will coalesce or conflict will have a fateful impact on Israel, the Palestinians and the wider Middle East – from the wars devastating the region to the nature of the societies that will emerge in their wake.”

UN reaction: The United Nations is “ready to work constructively” with Trump’s administration, Secretary-General António Guterres said in a statement today.

“I commend the people of the United States of America for their active participation in the democratic process,” Guterres said.

“The United Nations stands ready to work constructively with the incoming administration to address the dramatic challenges our world is facing.” 

Amazon founder Jeff Bezos also owns The Washington Post. 

Last month, The Washington Post opted not to publish an endorsement for either candidate.

Bezos defended the decision and said: “What presidential endorsements actually do is create a perception of bias. A perception of non-independence. Ending them is a principled decision, and it’s the right one.”

In the past hour, he has posted on X to send a “big congratulations to our 45th and now 47th President on an extraordinary political comeback and decisive victory”.

Bezos added: “No nation has bigger opportunities. Wishing @realDonaldTrump all success in leading and uniting the America we all love.”

united-states-president-donald-j-trump-left-participates-in-an-american-technology-council-roundtable-with-corporate-and-eduction-leaders-including-microsoft-ceo-satya-narayan-center-and-amazon-c 2017 image of Trump (left) with Microsoft CEO Satya Narayan (center) and Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos (right) at The White House. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

‘Iranian threat’: Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu spoke to Donald Trump today and discussed the “Iranian threat” to Israel’s security, his office said.

“The conversation was warm and cordial. The prime minister congratulated Trump on his election victory, and the two agreed to work together for Israel’s security. The two also discussed the Iranian threat,” Netanyahu’s office said in a statement.

jerusalem-22nd-may-2017-u-s-president-donald-trump-l-meets-with-israeli-prime-minister-benjamin-netanyahu-in-jerusalem-on-may-22-2017-speaking-on-the-first-day-of-his-visit-to-israel-and-the 2017 image of Donald Trump with Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu in Jerusalem. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Harris remarks: Kamala Harris is due to deliver a speech later at Howard University, her alma matter.

She still hasn’t commented on the election results, nor has president Joe Biden.

Harris was expected to speak to supporters at Howard University last night, and she is now expected to make these remarks at around 9pm Irish time.

vice-president-kamala-harris-gives-a-speech-while-gesturing-with-her-right-hand-standing-at-a-podium-in-front-of-an-american-flag-in-the-background File image of Kamala Harris Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

‘I think fluoride is on the way out’: Robert F Kennedy Jr was a presidential nominee but suspended his campaign to throw his support behind Trump.

It’s understood Kennedy could be in line for a position within Trump’s cabinet, perhaps with a health brief.

While Trump has MAGA, Kennedy has MAHA: Make America Healthy Again.

GbeHI0obcAAJyXq Image posted on X by Robert F Kennedy Jr

Speaking today on MSNBC, Kennedy said he thinks “fluoride is on the way out” and that “the faster it goes out the better”.

“I think fluoride will disappear,” he added.

Biden/Harris fallout: Some in the Harris camp are blaming Biden for the defeat, with one Harris campaign official telling CNN: “Biden will hold a lot of blame for it, and frankly, he should.”

During his 2020 campaign, Biden pledged to be a “transition” president but this rhetoric went by the way-side. 

Harris aides argue that they never had time to get their campaign going given the late race withdrawal from Biden.

Biden aides have a different view though, with one longtime Biden aide telling CNN: “Biden remains the only candidate who has beaten Trump, and he was tossed over once again.”

washinton-united-states-11th-aug-2020-democratic-presidential-candidate-joe-bided-l-announced-today-that-he-has-chosen-sen-kamala-harris-d-calif-as-his-running-mate-for-the-2020-presidential 2020 image of Joe Biden with Kamala Harris Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Amnesty International: The human rights organisation has “reminded” Trump of his “obligation to respect, protect and fulfill human rights in their policies and approaches, here at home and around the world”.

“Donald Trump’s first term as president ushered in policies and actions marked by bigotry, xenophobia, and white supremacist rhetoric, and led to extensive human rights violations,” said Paul O’Brien, Executive Director of Amnesty International USA.

“This second term must be different, and Amnesty International will continue to fight for everyone’s human rights to be respected.”

Amnesty said that “protecting human rights in the US means ending gun violence and guaranteeing adequate healthcare for all, including abortion; and it means respecting the rights of protesters, as well as migrants and asylum seekers”.

Meanwhile, Amnesty International called for President Biden to “immediately stop all arms transfers to the government of Israel to protect civilians and ensure U.S. weapons are not being used in violation of international law”.

“President Biden and the current Congress must do everything in their power to bring about an immediate and permanent ceasefire, unhindered humanitarian access, and the safe return of all remaining hostages,” added Amnesty International.

Harris to call Trump: The New York Times has reported that Kamala Harris will call Trump soon to concede the election.

She has not yet spoken publicly about the election, nor has president Joe Biden.

Harris is expected to address supporters at Howard University at around 9pm Irish Time. 

Nikki Haley ran to be the Republican presidential nominee and was once understood to be in the running to be Trump’s running mate. 

She went on to endorse Trump and told the Republican National Conference over the summer: “My message is simple: You don’t have to agree with Trump 100% of the time to vote for him.”

Haley today posted a message on X to say: “The American people have spoken.

“Congratulations to President Trump on a strong win.

“Now, it’s time for the American people to come together, pray for our country, and start the process of a peaceful transition.”

She then criticised Harris, who has not yet conceded the election.

“That (peaceful transition) begins with Kamala Harris conceding.

“You can’t just talk about unity in a campaign, you have to show it regardless of the outcome.”

president-donald-trump-accompanied-by-u-s-ambassador-nikki-haley-arrives-at-the-united-nations-monday-sept-18-2017-ap-photorichard-drew 2017 image of Nikki Haley with Trump. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Saudi Arabia’s King Salman and his son, de facto ruler Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, have congratulated Trump on his election victory, state media reported.

The two leaders sent cables to Trump, who cultivated warm Saudi ties during his first administration.

King Salman hailed “close relations between the two friendly countries and peoples, which everyone seeks to strengthen and develop in all fields”, the official Saudi Press Agency (SPA) said.

Later, SPA reported that Prince Mohammed called to congratulate Trump on his win and “expressed the kingdom’s aspiration to strengthen the historical and strategic relations between the two countries, wishing the friendly American people progress and prosperity under His Excellency’s leadership”.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi has also congratulated Trump on a “historic election victory”.

“Heartiest congratulations my friend @realDonaldTrump on your historic election victory,” Modi wrote on social media platform X.

“As you build on the successes of your previous term, I look forward to renewing our collaboration,” he added.

“Together, let’s work for the betterment of our people and to promote global peace, stability and prosperity.”

Trump and Modi enjoy warm relations, and Trump also has a sizable following among right-wing groups in India.

The pair heaped praise on each other in a joint appearance at a stadium in Houston in 2019, touting a close, personal alliance in front of tens of thousands of Indian-Americans.

Modi hosted Trump at an even bigger rally in his home state of Gujarat the following year before an estimated 100,000 supporters.

us-president-donald-trump-at-a-welcome-rally-in-ahmedabad-india-with-indian-president-narendra-modi-24-february-2020 Trump at a rally in Ahmedabad, India with Narendra Modi on 24 February, 2020. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Trump last month praised the Indian leader in a podcast with millions of subscribers hosted by stand-up comedian Andrew Schultz.

“He’s a friend of mine,” Trump said. “On the outside he looks like he’s your father. He’s the nicest. Total killer.”

Modi spoke to Trump by phone today and congratulated him on his “spectacular victory”.

“Looking forward to working closely together once again to further strengthen India-US relations across technology, defence, energy, space and several other sectors,” Modi wrote on social media platform X.

Michigan: Another battleground state has gone for Trump, with Michigan being declared in his favour. 

He won the state in 2016, lost it to Biden in 2020, and has now re-captured it. 

Speaking on RTÉ, Harris said Ireland has “shown an ability to work with US presidential administrations of all different political backgrounds”.

“Yes, there are issues that President Trump has highlighted during his campaign, and it’ll be interesting now to see how he decides to develop those policies,” said Harris.

“Firstly, we have always prepared for any external shocks to our economy, that’s why we’ve set aside billions when others argued we shouldn’t, to prepare ourselves for any fall in windfall tax.

“Secondly, the relationship between the United States and Ireland is now a two-way trading relationship, with so many jobs created in every state by Irish companies as well.

taoiseach-simon-harris-ahead-of-speaking-to-members-of-the-media-outside-government-building-in-dublin-picture-date-wednesday-october-30-2024

“He’s a businessman, he understands that Irish companies also contribute a huge amount in terms of jobs and investment to the United States.”

Harris added that “Trump will, in due course, see the European Union as a major trading bloc that can be good for the US economy as well”.

Kamala concedes: Kamala Harris has officially conceded the election and has called Trump to offer her congratulations.

A senior aide told US media that Harris “called President-elect Trump to congratulate him on winning the 2024 presidential election”.

“She discussed the importance of a peaceful transfer of power and being a president for all Americans,” added the Harris aide.

She had been set to deliver a speech to her alma mater Howard University last night.

But as the results rolled in, these planned remarks were scrapped, and Harris is now instead set to deliver remarks at 9pm Irish Time at the same location.

Harris concedes: During her phonecall with Donald Trump, Kamala Harris emphasised the “peaceful transfer of power and being a president for all Americans”, a senior Harris aide told CBS.

When will Trump take office? Trump will not immediately be returned to the White House, and Biden will remain president in the interim.

Trump now enters into a two-month transition period as president-elect.

On 6 January, Congress will meet to officially ratify the votes and two weeks later, on 20 January, Trump will be sworn into office.

He skipped Biden’s inauguration in 2021, but Biden’s press secretary last week said the current president will be present for this handover of power in January. 

donald-trump-is-sworn-in-as-45th-president-of-the-united-states-on-20-january-2017-with-his-3rd-wife-melania-holding-the-bible-photo-pete-souzawhite-house Donald Trump sworn in as 45th President of the United States on 20 January 2017, with wife Melania holding the Bible. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Biden call: The White House said President Joe Biden has called Trump to congratulate him on his election win.

“President Biden expressed his commitment to ensuring a smooth transition and emphasized the importance of working to bring the country together,” the White House said in a statement.

Biden also called Harris to congratulate her on a “historic campaign,” according to the White House. 

democratic-presidential-nominee-vice-president-kamala-harris-far-left-greets-republican-presidential-nominee-former-president-donald-trump-far-right-as-president-joe-biden-and-michael-bloomberg-lo Harris greets Trump, as Biden and Michael Bloomberg look on upon arriving for the 9/11 Memorial ceremony. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Meanwhile, Steven Cheung, a spokesman for the Trump campaign, described Kamala Harris’s phone call to Trump earlier as “cordial”.

“President Trump acknowledged Vice President Harris on her strength, professionalism, and tenacity throughout the campaign, and both leaders agreed on the importance of unifying the country,” Cheung said in a statement.

Harris is due to give a formal concession speech at 9pm Irish Time.

Joe Biden also plans to make a public statement on the presidential election tomorrow, according to the White House.

During Biden’s call to Trump, Biden invited the president-elect to the White House for the traditional meeting of outgoing presidents and presidents-elect.

berlin-germany-18th-oct-2024-us-president-joe-biden-bids-farewell-at-the-military-section-of-ber-airport-and-boards-air-force-one-credit-jorg-carstensendpaalamy-live-news Joe Biden bids farewell at the military section of BER Airport and boards Air Force One last month. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

‘Losing is painful’: Kamala Harris’s campaign chair Jen O’Malley Dillon, has called on her team to begin the work of “protecting America from the impacts of a Trump Presidency”.

In an email to staff seen by CNN, O’Malley Dillon wrote: “Losing is unfathomably painful. It is hard. This will take a long time to process.

“But the work of protecting America from the impacts of a Trump Presidency starts now.”

chicago-united-states-of-america-21st-aug-2024-jen-omalley-dillon-campaign-chair-harris-walz-is-interviewed-at-the-cnnpolitico-grill-outside-the-2024-democratic-national-convention-at-the-uni Jen O'Malley Dillon, Harris's campaign chair Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

She added: “I know the Vice President isn’t finished in this fight, and I know the very people on this email are also going to be leaders in this collective mission.

“View this as the beginning, not the end.”

Harris speech: Kamala Harris is due to address supporters at Howard University any moment now.

She was due to speak there last night, but this was cancelled as it became clear she was not going to win the election.

a-supporter-waves-american-flags-while-waiting-for-vice-president-kamala-harris-to-arrive-to-deliver-a-concession-speech-for-the-2024-presidential-election-on-the-campus-of-howard-university-in-washin A supporter waves American flags while waiting for Kamala Harris to arrive to deliver a concession speech on the campus of Howard University Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

‘Wiping away tears’: Harris will speak any moment now, and the mood is somber. 

A BBC reporter has said the campus of Howard University “has the energy of a funeral” and that the mood is “deflated”. 

Some people awaiting Harris have told the BBC that they’re still stunned by Donald Trump’s decisive victory. 

“Some of those gathered wipe away tears,” added the BBC reporter.

supporters-arrive-before-vice-president-kamala-harris-delivers-a-concession-speech-after-the-2024-presidential-election-wednesday-nov-6-2024-on-the-campus-of-howard-university-in-washington-ap Supporters await Kamala Harris to deliver a concession speech on the campus of Howard University in Washington. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

The US Secret Service is in place ahead of Harris’s concession speech. 

There is a healthy crowd gathered at Howard University in Washington DC, though a lot smaller than last night’s crowd. 

a-member-of-the-police-department-counter-sniper-team-sets-up-before-vice-president-kamala-harris-delivers-a-concession-speech-for-the-2024-presidential-election-on-the-campus-of-howard-university-in Counter sniper team sets up before Harris delivers concession speech Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Nancy Pelosi is at Howard University where Kamala Harris will soon deliver her concession speech.

Though she publicly denied it, Pelosi is understood to have been one of the leading figures in getting Joe Biden to drop out of the presidential race over the summer.

rep-nancy-pelosi-d-calif-arrives-ahead-of-vice-president-kamala-harris-delivering-a-concession-speech-for-the-2024-presidential-election-wednesday-nov-6-2024-on-the-campus-of-howard-universit Nancy Pelosi arrives ahead of Harris delivering a concession speech on the campus of Howard University in Washington. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

To loud cheers and chants of “Kamala”, Harris is now on stage and about to deliver her concession speech.

Harris says her heart is “full of gratitude”.

“The outcome of the election is not what we fought for, but hear me when I say, the light of America’s promise will always burn bright as long as we never give up and as long as we keep fighting.”

Harris also thanks Biden and his wife Jill for their “love and support”.

Harris says she is “proud of the race and the way we ran it”.

“I know folks are feeling a range of emotions right now, I get it, but we must accept the results of this election.”

vice-president-kamala-harris-arrives-to-deliver-a-concession-speech-for-the-2024-presidential-election-on-the-campus-of-howard-university-in-washington-wednesday-nov-6-2024-ap-photoj-scott-app Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Harris says: “We owe loyalty not to a president or to a party, but to the Constitution of the United States,” she as concedes election.

“I concede election but do not concede the fight that fueled this campaign,” says Harris. 

“The fight for our country is always worth it,” says Harris.

“To the young people who are watching, it is okay to feel sad and disappointed but please know it is going to be okay.

“Sometimes the fight takes a while, that doesn’t mean we won’t win. The important thing is don’t ever give up or stop trying to make the world a better place.”

vice-president-kamala-harris-delivers-a-concession-speech-for-the-2024-presidential-election-on-the-campus-of-howard-university-in-washington-wednesday-nov-6-2024-ap-photoben-curtis Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

“This is not a time to throw up our hands, up to roll up our sleeves,” says Harris. 

vice-president-kamala-harris-delivers-a-concession-speech-for-the-2024-presidential-election-on-the-campus-of-howard-university-in-washington-wednesday-nov-6-2024-ap-photoj-scott-applewhite Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

“Only when it is dark enough, can you see the stars,” said Harris.

“Let us fill the sky with the light of a billion stars, the light of optimism, of faith, of truth, and service.”

“May that work guide us, even in the face of setbacks, to the award of the extraordinary promise of the United States of America,” says Harris in closing. 

In her concession speech, Harris paid tribute to her “beloved Doug and our family”.

Her husband Doug Emhoff accompanied Harris off the stage after her speech at Howard University. 

vice-president-kamala-harris-looks-at-supporters-as-she-walks-with-second-gentleman-doug-emhoff-after-delivering-a-concession-speech-for-the-2024-presidential-election-on-the-campus-of-howard-universi Harris looks at supporters as she walks with Doug Emhoff after delivering a concession speech Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

‘Fight’: Harris used the word on more than 15 occasions during her concession speech. 

She encouraged supporters to “fight for freedom, fairness and the dignity of all people”.

Harris also called on supporters to “never give up the fight” and to “fight for our democracy, fight for our freedom, fight for our country”.

The vice president also noted that she “fights to win” but acknowledged that “sometimes that fight takes a while”.

vice-president-kamala-harris-gestures-as-she-delivers-a-concession-speech-for-the-2024-presidential-election-wednesday-nov-6-2024-on-the-campus-of-howard-university-in-washington-ap-photosteph Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

Below is Kamala Harris’s concession speech in full:

While Harris was speaking, the presidential race was called in two states.

Maine’s four electoral votes have gone to Harris, bringing her to 226.

Trump meanwhile is now on 295 having been declared the winner of Alaska. 

There are two states still to declare results, Nevada and Arizona, and Trump is leading in both.

Mike Pence served as Donald Trump’s vice president during Trump’s first term in the White House.

Pence declined to endorse Trump in the 2024 election but has congratulated him on his victory in a post on X.

“The American people have spoken and Karen and I send our sincere congratulations to President-Elect Donald Trump and his family,” said Pence.

“We also send our congratulations to Vice President-Elect J.D. Vance and his family on his election as Vice President of the United States.”

In 2020, Trump urged Pence to overturn the results of their 2020 election loss while Pence was overseeing Congress’ certification of the results on 6 January, 2021.

president-donald-trump-and-vice-president-mike-pence 2017 image of Mike Pence with Donald Trump in the Oval Office Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

British prime minister Keir Starmer is the latest of the world leaders to congratulate Trump.

A Downing Street spokesperson said Starmer “offered his hearty congratulations” and looks forward to working with him “across all areas of the special relationship”.

Starmer also mentioned the situation in the Middle East and “underscored the importance of regional stability”.

The two leaders “fondly” recalled their meeting in September, and expressed that they “looked forward to working with one another”, the prime minister’s office added.

As the post mortem continues inside the Democratic Party, Bernie Sanders has weighed in.

“It should come as no great surprise that a Democratic Party which has abandoned working class people would find that the working class has abandoned them,” Sanders wrote in a post on X.

“While the Democratic leadership defends the status quo, the American people are angry and want change. And they’re right.”

Former president Barack Obama has congratulated Trump on his election win.

In a veiled dig at Trump, Obama writes: “Living in a democracy is about recognising the our point of view won’t always win out, and being willing to accept the peaceful transfer of power.”

Obama adds that he and his wife Michelle “could not be prouder of Vice President Harris and Governor Walz”.

He said the problems America face are “solvable, but only if we listen to each other”.

“In a country as big and diverse as ours, we won’t always see eye-to-eye on everything.

“But progress requires us to extend good grace – even to people with whom we deeply disagree,” said Obama.

The White House has said president Joe Biden watched Kamala Harris’s concession speech from the West Wing.

Biden will speak publicly about the results tomorrow, the White House says.

He stepped aside as the Democratic candidate and endorsed Harris to take his place in July.

new-york-usa-11-september-2024-us-president-joe-biden-and-vice-president-kamala-harris-attend-a-commemoration-ceremony-on-the-23rd-anniversary-of Biden and Harris attend a commemoration ceremony on the 23rd anniversary of 9/11 Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

In a video posted to X, Democratic Senator Elizabeth Warren has warned that the consequences of Trump’s win “will be real and devastating”, but added that “there will still be opportunities to fight back”.

“I will not ask you to look for any silver linings, I will not ask you to feel anything but grief,” said Warren.

“But I am reminding myself and you, that on the road ahead, there will still be opportunities to fight back.”

That’s it from our liveblog.

There are still two states left to declare results – Arizona and Nevada – but Donald Trump has a lead in both. 

As Trump prepares for another term in the Oval Office, Kamala Harris and the Democratic Paty begin the process of coming to terms with their loss. 

The theme of Harris’s concession speech was the need to “fight” – she used the word more than 15 times in her address to supporters at Howard University in Washington DC.

President Joe Biden watched Harris’s concession speech from the White House and he will address the nation tomorrow. 

Goodnight from the team.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

243 Comments