You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ireland Live anchor Alison Comyn UTV Ireland

Things are going from bad to worse at UTV Ireland

Now the ‘speculation’ around the station’s sale has hurt the fledgling channel.

SPECULATION AROUND UTV’S sale to ITV put a further dent in the broadcaster’s already struggling new Irish TV station.

In a trading update this morning, UTV Media said it now expected to lose £13 million (€18.4 million) on UTV Ireland – another increase on the predicted funds it would have to plunge into the 11-month-old station to get it off the ground.

Last month the company announced it was selling its entire TV operations to ITV for £100 million to focus on its radio operations in the UK and Ireland.

“The uncertainty created by the speculation around these discussions and the time to completion of the agreement has had, and is continuing to have, a negative impact upon trading within our Irish television business,” UTV Media said in the update today.

One of the station’s marquee signings, Chris Donoghue, quit his role as UTV Ireland Live anchor last month, citing the 19-hour days he had been putting in between his various roles since the launch.

Donoghue Chris Donoghue YouTube YouTube

He is staying on at the station to present the Insight series of documentaries and continues to co-present Newstalk Breakfast.

UTV Ireland also axed Pat Kenny’s In The Round chat show after only one season after the programme garnered only mediocre ratings.

In September in unveiled a “new look” to try and reinvigorate the station. The head of UTV’s TV business, Michael Wilson, previously told TheJournal.ie that viewers had been “confused” about what UTV Ireland was offering.

READ: RTÉ has been sent to the bold step over ‘misleading’ listenership figures >

READ: Set faces to stunned: A brand new Star Trek series has been confirmed >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

47 Comments
    Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    May 19th 2014, 1:37 PM

Dear Sen. Higgins
    When you’re talking to the gardai about those posters, would you ask them how they’re getting on with finding my bike?
    Thanks
    Emily

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    May 19th 2014, 2:43 PM

Maybe they should prosecute her for littering and creating eyesore’s, not to mention a distraction and danger to traffic/pedestrians. But, they are immune from these laws and flout them regularly!

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    May 19th 2014, 6:52 PM

Is this the same woman who Dustinised Ming’s poster ? Did no one ever tell her ‘to do unto others’ etc

Mute CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Favourite CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    May 19th 2014, 1:32 PM

Report it to the cops….. Get a grip woman.

Mute Larry K
    Favourite Larry K
    May 19th 2014, 2:25 PM

Of course it should be reported. Not saying the Guards should be spending long on it but a crime should be reported.
    We are way to relaxed about such things in Ireland. Saying things like “Someone stole my chainsaw / lawnmower / bike, sure no point reporting it’
    A crime should always be reported, on the off chance a petty criminal is caught all their possible crimes should be part of the charges.

Mute CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    Favourite CAPITAINE ADEBAYO
    May 19th 2014, 3:24 PM

Hi Larry, I see your point but lets put this whole crime thing into perspective, its a poster that somebody wrote on with a marker. Her property will be going in the bin by the 24th. She’s looking for attention.

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    May 19th 2014, 8:58 PM

I hope she reports her canvass van parked in a disabled parking space today also!

May 20th 2014, 12:16 AM

Yes wonder what excuse she will have for the illegal parking in a disabled bay?

Mute Fran Heavey
    Favourite Fran Heavey
    May 19th 2014, 1:42 PM

Is their any need for 10 of the exact same posters 20 ft apart down the same street anyway?everyones sick of looking at their faces.personally i’d be happier looking at the odd defaced one just to momentarily halt the painful monotony……..

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    May 19th 2014, 5:34 PM

She seemed pretty happy to deface Ming online but all of a sudden it’s terrible when it happens to an election poster that won’t be seen by near as many people? Double standards much Lorraine? Oh I forgot you’re part of the double standard kings – the Labour Party

Mute William Ruane
    Favourite William Ruane
    May 19th 2014, 5:43 PM

Election posters in general should be banned outright, or else limited to a number of small poster specific locations at shopping centers etc. They are a total blight, and utterly useless at any rate.

Mute Senor Donovan
    Favourite Senor Donovan
    May 19th 2014, 1:34 PM

How dare they deface your litter!

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    May 19th 2014, 1:45 PM

I’m just back from London. Didn’t see a single election poster up either for the European or the UK local elections. Why are politicians in Ireland so obsessed with them?! Don’t they realise that people just tune them out….

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    May 19th 2014, 2:10 PM

The establishment parties FF FG and the Lab rats can afford to do without posters the independents need to advertise their presence.

Mute Jerry MacCárthaigh
    Favourite Jerry MacCárthaigh
    May 19th 2014, 3:05 PM

It is illegal to put up posters in the UK, that is why you didn’t see any!

Mute Conor Black
    Favourite Conor Black
    May 19th 2014, 3:07 PM

Funny in Dublin I would say the socialist party has more posters up than anyone and I don’t think they’d ever call themselves establishment parties

Mute Diarmuid O'Connor
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Connor
    May 19th 2014, 4:53 PM

Politicians and circuses are the only ones still using them. Clown mentality ?

Mute The whistler
    Favourite The whistler
    May 19th 2014, 1:33 PM

the last poster is surely below the allowable height for election posters

raises the question how low are labour willing to go..

Mute Padraig McHale
    Favourite Padraig McHale
    May 19th 2014, 4:07 PM

They need to be that low so you can actually see the Labour logo without a telescope.

Mute Tony Cox
    Favourite Tony Cox
    May 19th 2014, 1:43 PM

She should be reported for throwing litter through people’s letterboxes and harrasment.

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    May 19th 2014, 2:03 PM

hey Tony will you say to your sister Fonda for me? Thks.

Mute Tony Cox
    Favourite Tony Cox
    May 19th 2014, 6:40 PM

Message delivered !

Mute Saul goodman
    Favourite Saul goodman

The guards have far more important things to be doing you arrogant, condescending b***h! I don’t think I have ever disliked a politician as much

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    May 19th 2014, 2:04 PM

You haven’t?!

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    May 19th 2014, 1:35 PM

Don’t waste Garda time & resources. If you don’t want them defaced, don’t hang them in public. Funny how the skin of all politicians seems to thin just before elections & thickens right up immediately after.

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    May 19th 2014, 2:33 PM

She might not be able to get a garda station open to reported as most are now close

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    May 19th 2014, 1:56 PM

Lorraine…worry more about how you are going to explain to your constituents why your party broke it’s promises on university fees, water charges, the medical card charge and why they cut some jobseekers money based not on their willingness to work but their age…you’ve far bigger fish to fry.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin

This woman needs reminding that she and her supporters sneakily erected posters one night in a town that banned them inside the speed limit zone.

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    May 19th 2014, 2:04 PM

If i was you Dermot i’d hide the black marker.

Mute Dungeon Master
    Favourite Dungeon Master
    May 19th 2014, 2:13 PM

This woman epitomises the disconnect between some politicians and the people. Firstly, if I put up a notice for a jumble sale on a lamp-post and someone wrote something offensive on it and I went into the Garda Station I’d be laughed out of the place, and rightly so, but she’ll expect a time-wasting rigorous investigation because of her delusions of grandeur. Secondly, a campaign tip for Sen. Higgins, the electorate do not like, or vote for, arrogant, rude people.

Mute Shaunagh Hickey
    Favourite Shaunagh Hickey
    May 19th 2014, 1:41 PM

Im sure the guards will solve this hideous ‘crime’ after their done solving all the murders like… Get over yourself woman!

Mute Aoife Mc Hugh
    Favourite Aoife Mc Hugh
    May 19th 2014, 1:38 PM

Do they not know it’s only ok to deface a candidate’s election posters if it’s in .jpeg format?

Mute Olga O'Mahony
    Favourite Olga O'Mahony
    May 19th 2014, 1:46 PM

Haha very good aoife, it’s double standards for them sure

Mute Padraig McHale
    Favourite Padraig McHale
    May 19th 2014, 2:14 PM

If the posters are placed low enough for people to write on, surely they are illegally placed and are a danger to pedestrians? Is it also possible to report that to the Gardai?

Mute Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Favourite Inanimate Carbon Rod
    May 19th 2014, 4:24 PM

In the last General Election a woman got hit in the head by a Fianna Fáil election poster. She took them to court and won some €50k. At the time FF only had €200k in party funds, I was kinda hoping in a perverse way that another three people got hit by their posters and sued the pants off them.

Mute Jeebus xrist
    Favourite Jeebus xrist
    May 19th 2014, 1:39 PM

She’s running for a party full of treacherous lying prix, but she’s worried about magic markers and election posters.
    This woman needs a good kick in the behind!!

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock

She’s your typical aloof im better than you all, because I’m a politician

Mute Liam Burke
    Favourite Liam Burke

I didnt know it was illegal to deface a poster?

Mute Shaunagh Hickey
    Favourite Shaunagh Hickey

Read something last week
    About it being illegal..
    Once I realised it was about election posters, I stopped reading!

Mute Saul goodman
    Favourite Saul goodman
    May 19th 2014, 1:36 PM

Reading this just makes me want to go rip down her posters…..mmmm there’s an idea!

Mute J R Wolf
    Favourite J R Wolf
    May 19th 2014, 2:13 PM

Up my way someone has drawn willies on all the Fine Gael posters, the first few were amateurish but they get better further down the road

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    May 19th 2014, 2:20 PM

Better or bigger ?!?!?

Mute corkboi
    Favourite corkboi
    May 19th 2014, 2:21 PM

Can’t believe that as they usually get harder

Mute J R Wolf
    Favourite J R Wolf
    May 19th 2014, 2:35 PM

They made a balls of one of them

Mute The Hungry Boards
    Favourite The Hungry Boards
    May 19th 2014, 1:47 PM

Get a grip woman!!!
    It was defaced the moment the labour logo went on it.

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    May 19th 2014, 1:36 PM

Seen these about maynooth. Then again so where her cronies with their lovely campaign coats, in her lovely campaign jeep. I asked them does their candidate support the water charge? No reply. So I politely told them, even if she did not, I still wouldn’t vote for her if she was the only one running

Mute #Nimby1
    Favourite #Nimby1
    May 19th 2014, 1:50 PM

I will be looking out for her posters post election and will be sure to report any infractions if they arnt taken down promptly. Also get over yourself you self righteous twit.

Mute Gordon Lambe
    Favourite Gordon Lambe

She was brutal on the election debate last night

Mute sean o reilly
    Favourite sean o reilly

“Sad to think that taking part in the democratic process is an anethma to some” says the unelected senator.

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers

Sick and tired of these election posters plastered everywhere, one poster on a road is enough, next they will be painting cattle in the fields, labeling the roads and taking over TV. Ohh they are already….

Mute corkboi
    Favourite corkboi
    May 19th 2014, 2:19 PM

That’s a good one ..70,000 new jobs in Canada ..Must be down in Cork ,that poster , we’re extremely funny

Mute Very fond of
    Favourite Very fond of
    May 19th 2014, 1:55 PM

The last (non effective) sting of a dying wasp. No amount of publicity or spin can save Labour from their fate. Higgins could finish very near bottom in her constituency. A shameful performance from a shameful candidate.

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers

NO VOTE for Lorraine Higgins defacing the country with signs hitting kids, buggies and impairing views.

Mute James Kiernan
    Favourite James Kiernan
    May 19th 2014, 1:55 PM

Lets see if her/ the rest of them have posters still up beyond the deadline to take them down…..if so buy a newspaper (for the date mark) and take pictures of them and get them all fined. Hit them in their pockets…

Mute Chris Mackey
    Favourite Chris Mackey
    May 19th 2014, 4:43 PM

The only problem with the fines is that they will tag it on to you & me by raising our taxes to pay for it. Do you really think it will come out of their pockets not a hope in hell.

Mute Elaine O'Neill
    Favourite Elaine O'Neill
    May 19th 2014, 3:08 PM

Lorraine Higgins has a ridiculous amount of posters across the country, more than any other candidate I’ve noticed. I’m sick of looking at her face and all the other potential candidates, the posters were eyesores to begin with, a bit of graffiti won’t make a difference.

Mute Keith Moran
    Favourite Keith Moran
    May 19th 2014, 2:37 PM

Place a guard at every lamp post till it’s over sure they have nothing else to do

Grow up ya whine bag

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    May 19th 2014, 1:49 PM

Let’s not pretend it hasn’t been considered for her party to be involved in such behaviours for sympathy vote gathering.

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    May 19th 2014, 2:30 PM

The only vandalism to report is these god awful posters. They should be banned. Ms Higgins might take a leaf out of councillor Sheridan in mullingar. He reported a constituent for littering on her own door step “she was wisely ripping up the plonkers literature”, the backlash locally was predictable, mr Sheridan pay the 180 fine and learned a valuable lesson on how not to get reelected.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    May 19th 2014, 2:29 PM

I wonder if this is a waste of valuable Garda time.
    What can she possibly hope to gain by publicising her own negative campaign.

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    May 19th 2014, 2:06 PM

no sense of humor that one, Can we report any posters with meaningless banalities or outright lies? “vote Yes for Jobs” for instance

Mute Mr.Phil.Officer
    Favourite Mr.Phil.Officer

What about the pro defacement of useless campaign posters minority group, people who need more stuff to be able to do on the way home from the pub :)

Mute Ian O'Donovan
    Favourite Ian O'Donovan
    May 19th 2014, 2:08 PM

There are absolutely no election posters of any of the candidates where I live.
    What are we doing right..

Mute J R Wolf
    Favourite J R Wolf
    May 19th 2014, 2:14 PM

Taking them down?? :-)

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    May 19th 2014, 2:19 PM

Using them in the fire ? Bit cold today for sure !!

Mute Declan J Murtagh Sr.
    Favourite Declan J Murtagh Sr.
    May 19th 2014, 2:15 PM

Report it to the guards, it was probably a guard that done it.

Mute Keith Boland
    Favourite Keith Boland
    May 19th 2014, 2:57 PM

I have to say if labour showed more concern in what really matters rather running to the guards over defacing posters , if a poster in a bus shelter for cadburys say was defaced do you think they’d so much even dream of going to guards ? So why waste Gardai time why 1rule for a politician in government & 1 rule for us ? Labour I’d be more worried about whats going to happen to yas on Friday than a scribble on a senseless waste of our money poster . Emer Costello Sth Dublin has plastered her ugly mush with big banner size posters , do politicians seriously think that inn 2014 posters will help us decide how to vote they are even more thicker than I thought .

Mute cosmological
    Favourite cosmological
    May 19th 2014, 1:45 PM

I agree with most of the comments but a pro abort statement doesn’t express the true feelings of pro choice advocates. Who wants to promote abortion except when it becomes the rational choice?

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    May 19th 2014, 3:10 PM

Lorraine is quiche -sorry, toast!

Mute Páidí Mc
    Favourite Páidí Mc
    May 19th 2014, 2:34 PM

Them priests in Maynooth up to no good I bet.

Mute AARO-SAURUS
    Favourite AARO-SAURUS
    May 19th 2014, 3:27 PM

OMG THE HORROR :(
    WONT SOMEBODY PLEASE THINK OF THE CHILDREN!

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    May 19th 2014, 3:28 PM

And the guards are going to have time for that ?

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Favourite Charlie Mountney
    May 19th 2014, 2:31 PM

Not sure who are the bigger idiots. The poster girl or the godbrainy bunch. It’s only a fckin election. Take yer heads out of them.

Mute John Tierney
    Favourite John Tierney
    May 19th 2014, 3:41 PM

Two of these are clearly photoshopped. The handwriting looks be behind the printed text. Another labour rat looking for sympathy me thinks.

Mute Padraic Forde
    Favourite Padraic Forde
    May 19th 2014, 4:00 PM

Bloody waste of tax payers money getting guards to investigate this ‘appalling’ crime. Next thing she’ll have CSI there. A lesson to be learnt here voters??

Mute galway2007
    Favourite galway2007
    May 19th 2014, 2:50 PM

That it now she is going to waste garda time
    It be worth it to vote for her just to get rid of her

Mute Anne Roberts
    Favourite Anne Roberts
    May 19th 2014, 7:05 PM

Coming home from school today with my grandaughter , she was looking at all the election posters, ( you could hardly miss them here in Carrigaline, Cork, they are everywhere) and she said to me, ” nanny, why do the posters say vote no one ( 1) “, well said sweetheart, well said .

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    May 19th 2014, 4:52 PM

maybe the senator should be reminded that the tax payer funded the printing of said posters and as such are free to do what they like as we own them..agree with other contributors arrogant and out of touch happy to sit in a house that she and her party want to abolish ie the seanad

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    May 19th 2014, 9:29 PM

The problem there is that when the public were asked to abolish the Seanad we said “No”. Ironic, no?

Mute Sue Kelly
    Favourite Sue Kelly
    May 19th 2014, 10:22 PM

One if her vans parked in a disabled parking spot outside Centra today… The photo is doing the rounds on Facebook!

Mute Liz Potts
    Favourite Liz Potts
    May 19th 2014, 4:26 PM

Just wondering if people would be advocating the same advice of dont do anything about it to the Muslim lad in the story above whose posters are being vandalized with pig drawings and bacon? I’m guessing ye wouldn’t…. Now it’s easy to assume that she’s over reacting but it doesn’t mention in the article what the graffiti was exactly but if its to do with the whole pro choice/ pro life argument I’m guessing that it probably wasn’t the most humorous or tasteful given the nature of the topic and the people who tend to wade in on the pro life side… Maybe it was of a threatening nature…? Politics aside, She may be well within her right to report it if she feels threatened or frightened… Ye all seem very eager to be judge, jury and executor today lads….

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    May 19th 2014, 9:10 PM

I was thinking that, but the Turkish guys posters aren’t someone writing about someone’s political views on them, they’re making what should be incredibly offensive statements to people who may be Muslim (same would presumably go for Jewish candidates).
    In that sense there is a level of difference between them. Although having said that the Turkish fella said he prefers to eat bacon so maybe he isn’t Muslim at all and the people defacing his posters were being extra xenophobic by assuming he was because he didn’t look Irish enough for them?

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    May 19th 2014, 5:19 PM

must have read poll predictions of 5% to 8% and out of running….

Mute Stephen Fuery
    Favourite Stephen Fuery
    May 19th 2014, 5:40 PM

She got exactly what she wanted free publicity and people talking.

Mute Irene Kealy
    Favourite Irene Kealy
    May 19th 2014, 8:29 PM

It’s just a cheap stunt on her part to get publicity, at least I hope it is as she would hardly want to waste police time on such a trivial matter.

Mute Marion Murphy
    Favourite Marion Murphy
    May 19th 2014, 10:40 PM

True. Gardai would be better ensuring safety of elderly & vulnerable people.

Mute Marion Murphy
    Favourite Marion Murphy
    May 19th 2014, 10:39 PM

Poor Lorraine Higgins has slithered down the polls. Just passed a FG poster with a rather rude gesture & in Dublin other candidates across numerous parties have receieved the same treatment. If Lorraine can’t cope with matters such as this then how is she competent in representing us in Europe?

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    May 19th 2014, 9:13 PM

People are vandalising posters – they’re angry, we get it..

If all they did was take down some posters and vandalise others – it may be a bit of an overreaction to be calling the Gards in.
    If there have been threats or anything other than simple vandalism, then fair enough – call the Gards.. But if it’s just the posters – perhaps it’s best to chalk it up to getting a taste of your own medicine and stop making a fool of yourself..

Mute Aisling O'Meara
    Favourite Aisling O'Meara
    May 20th 2014, 12:31 AM

There’s a picture of one of her vans parked in a disabled space on Facebook… What does she have for herself I wonder

Mute Tara Marie Bee
    Favourite Tara Marie Bee
    May 19th 2014, 8:51 PM

Posters ruined my walk in the sun yesterday was scowling by the time I got home

Mute Steve Dunne
    Favourite Steve Dunne
    May 19th 2014, 7:44 PM
    Mute Virtual Architect
    Favourite Virtual Architect
    May 19th 2014, 9:02 PM

Do what you’re told and vote #fiannaglabour

May 20th 2014, 12:21 AM

Think there should be a page for the most inventive defaced poster, there must be some good ones out there

Mute Stephen Buckley
    Favourite Stephen Buckley
    May 20th 2014, 7:13 AM

Lorraine vandalised posters is the least of your worries considering the photo of your election campaign vehicle parked in the disabled space outside a shop next to four vacant parking spaces. Tut tut .

Mute Grainne Gillespie
    Favourite Grainne Gillespie
    May 20th 2014, 8:26 PM

I’d vote for her before I’d vote for any pro-life candidate

Luckily, there are pro-women candidates who didn’t park in disabled parking spaces, so they’ll be getting my vote instead