You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

FLASHBACK: Eamon Gilmore says Labour won't cut child benefit

The general election campaign seems like a long time ago now…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qE_-Fp7lGSk

(YouTube/)

IT’S AN OLDIE – but not necessarily a goodie.

Political history is littered with examples where parties have gone into government on the basis of ambitious and enthusiastic pre-election promises, only to find that the reality of an uneasy marriage with a coalition partner is far more challenging than anticipated.

On February 19, 2011 – with only six days to go until the general election – Eamon Gilmore insisted Labour would not agree to any cuts in child benefit if it was to enter coalition with Fine Gael.

Today, the Minister for Social Protection – Labour’s deputy leader Joan Burton - confirmed cuts in the rates of child benefit – from €140 to €130 per month for the first and second children, and from €148 to €130 for the third child.

LIVE: Budget 2013 as it happens

Budget 2013: Here’s what will affect the children

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

69 Comments
    Mute Paul O Donnell
    Favourite Paul O Donnell
    Oct 2nd 2015, 8:52 AM

Cowradless pr!cks, the lot of them. Rot in jail.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 8:53 AM

Rot in jail? won’t happen.The longest any of them will serve is 8 years if even that.

Mute Miguel O'Reilly
    Favourite Miguel O'Reilly
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:43 AM

these sentences are not enough. not by a long shot. these people don’t give a rats about their crimes or their victims because its the way they are brought up. they are brought up to be criminals. i saw it only this week with the use of 12 year old kids supposedly collecting for the local *insert random sporting club* and subsequently setting off house alarms before the ‘adult’ comes along. this is nothing new and has been happening for years. those 12 year olds will more than likely turn out the same way as the people in this article.

the point is the criminality amongst these families is rife from a very early age. This country needs to stop treating these people with kid gloves and actually come down hard on them. i’m sick of the people in charge being completely PC about the whole thing. Action is clearly needed. But unfortunately we will be having the same conversation in 10 years time when the new wave comes along

Mute Barry Walsh
    Favourite Barry Walsh
    Oct 2nd 2015, 2:23 PM

One of the couple’s children woke in terror after her dad was knocked out by the butt off a gun and screamed: “Daddy is dead.”

The relative told how quick-thinking Emma, 37, called gardai in Thurles, Co Tipperary, after the Traveller mob attempted to break the front door of their home in Burnchurch, Killenaule, just after 3am.

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/crime/brutal-tipperary-gang-told-parents-2836600

Mute Ger Buckley
    Favourite Ger Buckley
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:04 PM

oh god i wish i was a prison officer now. they deserve a good kick8ng.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 2nd 2015, 8:52 AM

Between them they had over 315 convictions, empathy is not something these people experience.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:04 AM

last night, Vincent Browne queried why one of the papers reported that the men are Travellers. VB wanted to know what was the relevance of this fact. Well, Vincent, I think it’s very relevant.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:18 AM

Joyce, Mac Donagh that sums it up

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:10 AM

Vincent Browne doesn’t realise or care that those families are like the mafia families in the US – they are families in the same way that Whitey Bulgers gang are families.

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:35 PM

And no word of sympathy or concern for the Corcoran family.

Mute Briny Boy
    Favourite Briny Boy
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:18 AM

Some people think immigration is the big problem in Irish society today…not even close. The problem is much closer to home.

I think we’re long past the point of salvation with this particular group of people so much longer sentences are needed to take violent travellers off our streets.

And cut Pavee Point’s funding while we’re at it. They’re a useless shower who only make a noise when travellers are the ‘victims’. Travellers are never the victims, it’s decent hard-working people like this family who are the victims.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:26 AM

100%. No place in our country for these lads.

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:24 AM

Martin collins should be locked up along with his fellow pondlife.

Mute Lobby Washer
    Favourite Lobby Washer
    Oct 4th 2015, 8:36 AM

I am delighted to read these comments. I thought I was the only one. Pavee Point should be forced to accept the stark reality, they have ruined this country. The media need to get real and represent us people who don’t beat our wives, who want our children educated, who pay our taxes and don’t ride our cousins (animal cruelty).

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Oct 2nd 2015, 8:55 AM

In general I would say most criminals only show remorse in hope of getting a shorter sentence.
    I don’t think it should be a factor at al.
    Instead of showing remorse why not try not actually committing the crime in the first place.

I still believe they should have got thirty years. Beating a poor man so badly that his little eight year old girl thinks he’s going to die is a horrible crime.
    These people have no place in society. We should have to accept some people have to be locked away.

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:04 AM

Their sentences should never have had 4 years suspended. It’s disgraceful. Especially with their track record.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:09 AM

4 years suspended plus they will only serve 9 months for each year they got.

Mute Walt Kowalski
    Favourite Walt Kowalski
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:00 AM

Their ringleader has been out on bail since the crime was committed. Its mind boggling. Is anybody trying to fix the justice system in this country? Anyone?

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:08 AM

Why is there a blanket ban in all the media on using the T word They were a violent traveller gang who did this It is even not fair on law abiding travellers to protect them by not using T word

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh
    Oct 2nd 2015, 3:55 PM

One of them was a 22 year old with 120 previous convictions. The judges who presided over cases 3 through 120 have a lot to answer for.

Mute Mark Dunne
    Favourite Mark Dunne
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:32 AM

The sentences are far too lenient in my opinion. These individuals will spend their time in prison lifting weights, watching Netflix and be a general burden on the Tax payer. They should be incarcerated for at least 25 years and also put to hard labour working on projects that will benefit the community they so will fully set out to destroy. I’m sure Clonmel has plenty of roads and other public works that could be completed using free labour. Our laws MUST change to dispense much harsher punishments for crimes or we are never going to see a change in society.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:02 AM

Fingers crossed the family make a full recovery and that the young impressionable minds of the children can let this awful incident go and not have it haunt them in any way later in their lives. Fair play to the community for setting up a system to try to help them feel comfortable again.

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:02 AM

Intelligence suggested that they got more of a kick out of terrorising innocent victims than from the rewards of their crimes.
    Nasty crew.
    http://www.sundayworld.com/news/crimedesk/we-unmask-vicious-gang-of-thieves-responsible-for-spate-of-robberies

Mute Ordinary lad
    Favourite Ordinary lad
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:28 AM

I said it yesterday and believe worth saying again. We need more prisons and to dramatically increase our prison population. Too many repeat offenders walking the streets as there is no room for them.

Mute Barry Walsh
    Favourite Barry Walsh
    Oct 2nd 2015, 2:32 PM

Bring back transportation to Australia!

Mute Walt Kowalski
    Favourite Walt Kowalski
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:14 AM

The broken justice system is responsible for this families hardship. The thug only in his twenties and 70 convictions, why was he not in jail? Too expensive to lock him up? How much did his legal aid, dole, housing and the fall out of his 70 crimes cost in that period? If you are convicted of 70 crimes and are still free you learn one thing – i can commit crime with impunity. Our justice system is not only failing to protect our citezens, it is creating these violent criminals

Mute Walt Kowalski
    Favourite Walt Kowalski
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:15 AM

Citizens

Mute Caroline Maher
    Favourite Caroline Maher
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:27 AM

I can’t believe, considering what the family went through and conditions go through and the defendants previous convictions, up to 85 for one of them, these are considered harsh sentences. that poor family.

Mute Caroline Maher
    Favourite Caroline Maher
    Oct 2nd 2015, 9:28 AM

*continue to go through

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:17 PM

As shocking story. This family will never, ever get over this. It was a despicable, brutal crime. I understand that someone on VB yesterday indicated that perpetrators were travellers to which VB said what had that got to do with it? Typical VB, more concerned about the feelings of the criminals.

Mute dominic
    Favourite dominic
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:24 AM

Claire Loftus,DPP must appeal these shockingly light sentences

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:59 PM

And who on Earth thought it was acceptable to release John Joyce on bail while awaiting this case to go to trial??? He had over 70 convictions FFS. While on bail he went on a robbing, violent spree where three people were shot. One of his gang members was banned from every pub in Dublin because he was so violent.

Mute Rob O'Farrell
    Favourite Rob O'Farrell
    Oct 2nd 2015, 2:04 PM

Dublins finest knacker’s coming down the country for an easy score. Rot in a cell you dirty sub human inbreds. Show them as much mercy as they’ve shown their innocent victims.

Mute Robert Cousins
    Favourite Robert Cousins
    Oct 2nd 2015, 3:24 PM

Gangs like this and the Dundon’s, McCarthys, Keane’s, Collopy’s and too many others have been allowed run riot all over Ireland and terrorise communities. All of those families are traveller families. The Limerick feud alone has claimed 20 lives, some of them innocent like Shane Geoghegan.

Mute Walt Kowalski
    Favourite Walt Kowalski
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:04 AM

If our broken justice system is going to allow violent criminals roam around on a bail why dont we have an electronic tag system???? The solutions are not difficult. A monkey could sort it out

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial
    Oct 2nd 2015, 11:23 AM

They should have a special room full of skilled operators, equipped with hammers, blowtorches, cable ties and tweezers to work this pondlife one over at a time…

Mute Ewan O'Doherty
    Favourite Ewan O'Doherty
    Oct 2nd 2015, 4:01 PM

I’d prefer not to think along those lines much as they might deserve it. Better to say ‘stuff’ the European Court of Human rights and bring in sentences of weekly floggings for a year for lowlife dregs like them

Mute Rob O'Farrell
    Favourite Rob O'Farrell
    Oct 2nd 2015, 2:01 PM

Shot to kill- if an inbred knacker comes onto you’re property do the state a service and pull the trigger. You probably wouldn’t do any time and you’d be feted as a hero.

Mute Ewan O'Doherty
    Favourite Ewan O'Doherty
    Oct 2nd 2015, 1:57 PM

Every sympathy with the Corcoran family and hope that they will fully recover from their horrific ordeal.
    Now, I have this to say about those who did that:
    They are nothing but seven pathetic, parasitic, subhuman pieces of dog-turd; the decent people of Ireland hope that they rot in prison for a very long time

Mute Babadook
    Favourite Babadook
    Oct 2nd 2015, 2:19 PM

I hope they all die in prison

Mute Daniel De Síne
    Favourite Daniel De Síne
    Oct 2nd 2015, 4:25 PM

great work by gardaí !! with limited resources, disasterous government policy, detrimental decision making by the ivory tower judges, they continue to face these s****bags head on every day.
    Hope the poor family get though the traumatic incident.
    Hopefully political parties will now start campaigning for elections they will consider crime up there with health and education.
    too long crime has not been tackled or concerned by those representing the people.

Mute tk0CXKzL
    Favourite tk0CXKzL
    Oct 2nd 2015, 10:07 AM

why wont my comments post?!

Mute Michael Nally
    Favourite Michael Nally
    Oct 2nd 2015, 12:14 PM

At last a judge gives sentences that fit the crime.

Mute Ewan O'Doherty
    Favourite Ewan O'Doherty
    Oct 2nd 2015, 4:03 PM

And fair play to Judge Tom Teahan, this should serve as a wake-up call to the remainder of our judiciary

Mute john fahy
    Favourite john fahy
    Oct 3rd 2015, 6:45 AM

It’s our culture boss