You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Watch: Video captures terrifying moment when avalanche hit Everest base camp

At least 18 people died at Everest as the earthquake and avalanches hit at the weekend.

GERMAN CLIMBER JOST Kobusch has posted a clip of the moment a massive avalanche struck Everest base camp on Saturday.

The video shows climbers at the busy Himalayas camp observing that the “ground is shaking” – before realising, with shouts of “f*ck” that a huge cloud of snow and ice is descending from the mountain.

Jost kobusch / YouTube

Saturday’s avalanche, caused by a massive earthquake in Nepal, buried part of base camp and killed at least 18 people.

Aftershocks set off fresh avalanches on the mountain yesterday, even as helicopters evacuated some of those worst injured the day before.

Hundreds of mountaineers had gathered at Everest at the start of the annual climbing season, and the real scale of the disaster there has been impossible to evaluate with communications all but cut off.

At least two Americans died in the avalanche – a doctor working for a mountain guide company and a Google executive, their organisations said. Japan’s foreign ministry said that at least “one (Japanese) man in his 50s” was killed in the avalanche.

Irish climbers who had been in the area have been posting on social media and contacting home by phone to let people know they are safe.

Includes reporting from AFP. 

Read: Nepal quake death toll surges over 3,000 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Forest Hump
    Favourite Forest Hump
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:00 PM

I’ve a feeling he won’t have much to do after the election

Mute Da Vid
    Favourite Da Vid
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:02 PM

@Forest Hump: im willing to bet my house he’ll still get elected as a TD. The majority of his constituants won’t vote for any other party.

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:03 PM

@Forest Hump: I completely agree. Maybe he should of do more before hand! Also maybe that unfortunate girl wouldn’t of died During the week and that poor unfortunate man wouldn’t of been partial paralysed by pure incompetence.
    Who does he think he is!

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:14 PM

@Da Vid: Jeez, don’t bet your house on it, you’ll never be able to get another one.

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:40 PM

@Forest Hump:
    Unfortunately there are always the idiots that will vote for their own kind.
    Look at the Healy Rae gombeens

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:06 PM

@Da Vid: because they have inheritance funds dating back

Mute TM B
    Favourite TM B
    Jan 17th 2020, 7:04 PM

@Da Vid: The home of poshness

Mute Ciarān
    Favourite Ciarān
    Jan 17th 2020, 9:29 PM

@Pád: What had he to do with any girl dying during the week? Ridiculous comment

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Jan 17th 2020, 9:35 PM

@Forest Hump:
    Lots more of this to do.
    https://themediahq.com/anger-as-cuckoo-fund-buys-229-local-homes-in-lucan/
    Ironic at a time when we celebrate our independence from British landlords

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jan 17th 2020, 10:19 PM

@Thomas Sheridan: And all under the watchful eye of FFG. They should hang their heads in shame.

Mute Justin
    Favourite Justin
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:01 PM

Hasn’t he done enough already..?
    Enough damage that is..?

Mute Sean O' Donovan
    Favourite Sean O' Donovan
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:16 PM

@Justin: He could probably make everyone homeless.

Mute Fachtna Roe
    Favourite Fachtna Roe
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:18 PM

@Sean O’ Donovan: Don’t be giving him ideas.

Mute Sean O' Donovan
    Favourite Sean O' Donovan
    Jan 17th 2020, 7:25 PM

@Fachtna Roe: lol

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Jan 18th 2020, 12:17 PM

@Sean O’ Donovan: i thought that was his political goal

Mute John Feeney
    Favourite John Feeney

“more for me to do”

I mean, yes. There is bit more to do alright. Laughable.

Mute Deirdre
    Favourite Deirdre
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:52 PM

@John Feeney: it’s dreadful. All about him too. It’s not about you
    fulfilling your goals you absolute sh*tehawk!

Mute Willie
    Favourite Willie

He was on SOR this morning absolutely waffling like I have never heard before. The man is an empty vacuum and needs to be gone ASAP.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:13 PM

@Willie: A complete fool, but imagines himself to be a real hit. He certainly is full of self belief, but the man has no ability whatsoever. He wouldn’t get a job anywhere, – not even leading blind dogs out to Sihte .

Mute Still-Not-News
    Favourite Still-Not-News
    Jan 17th 2020, 7:50 PM

@Willie:
    Well RTE (state radio) and (FG Talk) Newstalk have the Election won already, It’s a FF/FG coalition, as opposed to the last FG/FF coalition we were afflicted with.

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne

Be lucky to keep his seat nevermind be minister again.

Mute Shazam37
    Favourite Shazam37
    Jan 17th 2020, 8:57 PM

@Brian Dunne: you know nothing about Irish politics obviously

Mute Colm Beck
    Favourite Colm Beck
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:18 PM

There’s always more to do if you do nothing.

Mute nicknack
    Favourite nicknack
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:11 PM

His a bigger actor than his brother

Mute Kieran
    Favourite Kieran
    Jan 17th 2020, 8:15 PM

@nicknack: unfairness that wouldn’t be hard, de brother is a pretty crap actor. Jaysis, that Dublin murders thing was horrendous and he was the worst part of it

Mute Brian Purcell
    Favourite Brian Purcell
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:10 PM

I have heard this man a few times on interviews and he comes across as righteous with a topping of arrogance

Mute Dan2078
    Favourite Dan2078
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:46 PM

@Brian Purcell: yes a real life Ross o Carroll Kelly

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:05 PM

@Brian Purcell: FG the righteous

Mute Padraic O Sullivan
    Favourite Padraic O Sullivan
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:36 PM

I didn’t do my job well so ye would have to re- elect me to do more of the job I was supposed to do. Genius

Mute Anne
    Favourite Anne
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:12 PM

Hilarious!

Mute garry murphy
    Favourite garry murphy

Good god the neck on these. Complete arrogance.

Mute sandra clifford
    Favourite sandra clifford
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:23 PM

No thanks

Mute Jo Grant Fahey
    Favourite Jo Grant Fahey
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:09 PM

MORE TO DO, what has he done only increased the number of homeless to over 10,000 people. 4,000 of which are children. You want another term Eoghan, word of advise, get real and get honest.

Mute conex
    Favourite conex
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:35 PM

Neck like a jockeys ……..

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:07 PM

I think he suffers from lack of confidence.DUH

Mute Whatever
    Favourite Whatever
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:11 PM

@Aine O Connor: *competence

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:44 PM

Lol he thinks he will be in government

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:53 PM

I’m always getting confused by him and his brother. Which one of them is the actor…

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Jan 18th 2020, 12:20 PM

@Jason Ebbs: neither

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Favourite Willy Mc Entire

Ah , he’s funny …. Only it’s serious how bad he is.. Please go away….

Mute Tommy Sea
    Favourite Tommy Sea

The only thing left for you to do son is to feck off with yourself.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:41 PM

The main reason that He would like to stay is ???? . Hey, He would not get a job anywhere else on this planet, that’s what I say and I believe that I’m correct in that.
    He will be a bloody lucky man if He even gets re elected. I can’t see how He can with his record.

Mute rumug
    Favourite rumug
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:47 PM

@Eugene Comaskey: anyone who votes for the clown, is morally bankrupt.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:58 PM

@rumug: it is hard to imagine how so many dum dums got elected at same time and then made it to Ministerial Level. I mean, it is hard to understand that they lasted nearly 4 years. Of course they were forced into implementing stuff by F F forcing their hand.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:20 PM

More bulldozers.

Mute Niall Bourke
    Favourite Niall Bourke
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:31 PM

Jimmy Saville and baby sitting come to mind.

Mute John Killeen
    Favourite John Killeen
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:53 PM

Unbelievable how he thinks he is doing a good job. Clueless.

Mute A2 Poster
    Favourite A2 Poster
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:10 PM

Well this is a bit tone deaf…
    It’s funny how people mock FG about having spin when they’re still useless at it. It seems they shoot themselves in the foot daily at this point…

Mute Lotus
    Favourite Lotus

Typical from Eoghan. All big Gabby soundbite talk for the media . Politicians never have never changed for decades. Polished up but a pile of crap behind the suit

Mute Dan2078
    Favourite Dan2078
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:45 PM

Ha ha, good one

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:03 PM

All we need is another government with him in it. Does he not get the hint.

Mute Gerard Cummins
    Favourite Gerard Cummins
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:52 PM

His new job will be a comedian! That’s the best joke I’ve heard all day!

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:32 PM

Delusional comes to mind.

Mute Jeremy Finn
    Favourite Jeremy Finn
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:31 PM

Seriously? I think it’s time we get someone who at least has a degree in housing of some sort… any sort of qualification that allows them to make qualified decisions that will help with the housing crisis… instead of giving it to these clueless people who are simply not able to do their jobs!

Mute Wade Wilson
    Favourite Wade Wilson
    Jan 17th 2020, 7:30 PM

There are still a few working class families not yet living in tents so hes out to fix that

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:42 PM

Deluded doesn’t even scratch the surface with this lunatic.

Mute Brenda Malloy
    Favourite Brenda Malloy

Just go

Mute kevinhunt101
    Favourite kevinhunt101
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:01 PM

In fact I think I should get both parachutes in case one of them fails….

Mute Ebeneezer Goode
    Favourite Ebeneezer Goode
    Jan 17th 2020, 7:21 PM

Duh. There’s always more to do if you’ve done nothing.

Mute Kasia Krzyzyk
    Favourite Kasia Krzyzyk
    Jan 17th 2020, 8:38 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: my thoughts exactly. If only he was just being sarcastic!

Mute Christine Downey
    Favourite Christine Downey

Only because he has done sweet fa since he has been minister

Mute Pauline Cahill
    Favourite Pauline Cahill
    Jan 17th 2020, 7:02 PM

What did you do that makes you think you can do more

Mute Jimmy Kiely
    Favourite Jimmy Kiely
    Jan 17th 2020, 7:41 PM

Ask the near 11,000 with no place to call home what he should do,the words fu!!! Off comes to mind. He’s not worth the time of day.

Please people of Ireland wake up and use you vote wisely.

Mute Celia Murphy
    Favourite Celia Murphy
    Jan 17th 2020, 8:31 PM

Of course there more for him to do…continue collecting his fat salary with nobody call him to task.

Mute Christine Downey
    Favourite Christine Downey

Only because he has done sweet fa since he has been minister

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jan 17th 2020, 7:06 PM

Mr Murphy is unfit for office, he hasn’t a clue and is too arrogant to listen.

Mute Steph
    Favourite Steph
    Jan 17th 2020, 7:46 PM

Maybe he is planning to finally reply to my email from sux months ago

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Jan 17th 2020, 8:48 PM

@Steph: Don’t hold your Breath.

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Jan 17th 2020, 7:09 PM

He’s a born and bred liar.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Jan 17th 2020, 8:46 PM

@Ian Breathnach: it must run in the Family, he was reared and Educated on the proceeds of Crime, his Grandfather was Russell Murphy, who Embezzled Millions from Gay Byrne and others.

Mute Aidan Bergin
    Favourite Aidan Bergin
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:32 PM

Bet you the clowns in his constituency will vote him back in.

Mute ᑕOᑎOᖇ GᒪᗩᑎᑕY
    Favourite ᑕOᑎOᖇ GᒪᗩᑎᑕY
    Jan 17th 2020, 7:13 PM

He’s nearly as good an actor as his brother at this stage

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Jan 17th 2020, 8:13 PM

Good luck to them all, but so that we can make sound selections, can we please be advised who claimed more than 1 mobile phone in the last 4 years, who has a Dail bar tab outstanding.
    Seems we need journalists to keep tabs on these squander items, cos the system doesnt.

Mute TM B
    Favourite TM B

Did say that with a smirk

Mute adrian j aungier
    Favourite adrian j aungier
    Jan 17th 2020, 7:26 PM

Him and his deluded buddy OBrien FFG are the most arrogant self rightous people in politics. OBrien FF did not support a vote of no confidence over 10000 people that were homeless. The neck on the 2 of them. Voters in Fingal should remember OBriens arrogance and support to a falied minister for homelesness. Malahide voters wake up and remove O Brien from the gravy train. Your kids will thank you for it.FFG trash

Mute Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Favourite Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:26 PM

A better comedian than Leo ! In tears here as previously said should be onstage with his two brothers . Delusional silver spooned ass !

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jan 17th 2020, 9:15 PM

Lots more tents to be raised to the ground and grabbed by mechanical cranes for dumping into trucks for disposal and if their is somebody in the tent…well it’s their fault they are injured caused we told them about the safe haven hostels and if you won’t listen then into the bin with your tent…

Mute John McIvor
    Favourite John McIvor
    Jan 17th 2020, 6:23 PM

This guy is useless. At least Simon Harris did some things even if they were the wrong things

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:28 PM

Good God!
    I get the fact that FG are the landlord party but this is beyond comprehension.
    “It’s the economy, stupid!”

Mute Cian Farrell
    Favourite Cian Farrell
    Jan 17th 2020, 8:23 PM

You do f all get the f out nobody like you

Mute Mark Gaffney
    Favourite Mark Gaffney
    Jan 17th 2020, 11:02 PM

Of course there’s more for him to do because he has done nothing so far!
    So there’s as much to do now as there was 4 years ago

Mute rockmast
    Favourite rockmast
    Jan 18th 2020, 10:35 AM

My grandfather used to say anyone can buy their education but they can’t buy intelligence.

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Jan 18th 2020, 12:06 AM

He really has been a terrible minister.
    Himself, Harris, and Leo just done seem to have a clue. They all have all been born with a silver spoon. How could some one born into his environment understand homless situations and housing. It’s not possible.
    If politicians want to work for the state, take state money, pensions etc paid for with public money they should have to use
    Public schools
    Public health service
    Public housing
    Public transport etc.
    Will will see change then.

Mute Noel McGuinness
    Favourite Noel McGuinness
    Jan 17th 2020, 10:59 PM

FREEDOM OF SPEECH RALLY 1ST FEB CALLING ALL NATIONALIST

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Jan 17th 2020, 7:15 PM

No sh!t sherlock

Mute Noel McGuinness
    Favourite Noel McGuinness
    Jan 17th 2020, 11:02 PM

He was aiming for 25,000 i think

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Jan 17th 2020, 10:21 PM

OMG i cant believe his arrogance.. Dont know how anyone could vote for him. But they will. What the hell is the difference between them. None, zilch, Nadal.

Mute The Blue Dot Observer
    Favourite The Blue Dot Observer
    Jan 18th 2020, 8:06 AM

Never laughed so much so early on a Saturday.
    Save yourself the embarrassment and resign now, stand down, remove yourself from the ballot paper and go live in a tent, or maybe a hut made from your election posters.

Mute Anthony Coyne
    Favourite Anthony Coyne
    Jan 18th 2020, 7:23 AM

I think he’s done enough…. damage!

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    Jan 18th 2020, 1:07 PM

NO NO NO NO

Mute John Caplis
    Favourite John Caplis
    Jan 18th 2020, 12:19 AM

It’s a poison chalice for whoever gets the Housing Ministry. You can’t blame one person for the problem. It’s collective fault with past and current governments.

Mute Annaa69
    Favourite Annaa69
    Jan 17th 2020, 9:22 PM

my hot photos are here…

http://69-chat.club

only 18+

Mute denis o mahony
    Favourite denis o mahony
    Jan 17th 2020, 11:44 PM

I am not defending Eoghan Murphy but the people of Dublin have a lot to answer. When they try to build houses there are objections from the better off people. Politicians support these people as they have money and they vote. In addition you must get builders to build and they will not build unless they make a handsome profit. After the crash a lot of builders went broke and blocklayers and plasterers went to Australia. 12 years later the building industry has improved but we still lack blocklayers and plasterers. Make it pay for the builders and houses will be built. In the meantime rents there should be a moratorium on rent increases but politicians have the greatest number of landlords by occupation.

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Jan 17th 2020, 9:05 PM

0×1=0

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Jan 17th 2020, 10:35 PM

Damn right there’s more! He hasn’t done anything worthwhile yet…

Mute Annaa69
    Favourite Annaa69
    Jan 17th 2020, 9:11 PM

Mute Thomas Kelly
    Favourite Thomas Kelly
    Jan 25th 2020, 11:44 PM

More chance of winning the euro millions than holding on to the one Job he couldn’t do. Just another FG failure

Mute Labhras O'Tuathail
    Favourite Labhras O'Tuathail
    Jan 17th 2020, 5:17 PM

He is a liar just like Simon Coveney.