You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Danny Lawson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

WATCH: Bungee jumper survives after her cord snaps

The Australian 22-year-old swam to safety after falling into the Zambesi River in Zimbabwe despite her two feet being tied together.

A 22-YEAR-OLD Australian tourist survived a New Year’s Eve bungee jumping accident which saw her plunge into a fast-moving, crocodile-infested African river.

Seeking a brief thrill, Erin Langworthy decided to partake in a bungee jump while on holiday in Zimbabwe, reports 9News in Australia.

On 31 December, she dived off the Victoria Falls bridge which sits about 111 metres above the Zambesi River on the border of Zambia.

About 25 metres above the water, disaster struck as her cord snapped and she plunged into the rapids below.

Not only did Erin Langworthy have to brave crocodile-infested water, she did so with her two feet tied together and with the remainder of the cord attached to her body.

Amazingly, she suffered no major injuries.

Click on this link to see the whole event: Bungee jump

(Video from 9Australia News)

60 Comments
    Mute Alex Schilke
    Favourite Alex Schilke
    Jan 8th 2012, 12:12 PM

i was there when it happened in vic falls and heard about it. 1. the river isn’t icy cold its actually quite warm and 2 its not crocodile infested! Why does the media like to hype up storys so much?

Mute Peter Carroll
    Favourite Peter Carroll
    Jan 8th 2012, 12:43 PM

Infested might be a bit sensationalist but the river is home to crocodiles and hippos. No one in their right mind would want to end up in a river with them.

Mute Alan Keane
    Favourite Alan Keane
    Jan 8th 2012, 1:19 PM

Firstly its 29 deg at Victoria Falls today. That waters hardly gonna be icy. Crocs & Hippos upstream but not immediately downstream of the falls. Sure don’t they do white water rating on the Zambezi river!

Fair play to her for surviving that 25m fall though..!

Mute Damien Ruth
    Favourite Damien Ruth
    Jan 8th 2012, 11:45 AM

This is exactly why I would never do a bungee jump!!:)

Mute kyp154
    Favourite kyp154
    Jan 8th 2012, 11:54 AM

Most people came in to this world by a broken rubber, I don’t plan in going out by one!!!!

Mute Shane O'Connor
    Favourite Shane O'Connor
    Jan 8th 2012, 12:13 PM

^^^bahahahahaha!

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Ted Power
    Favourite Ted Power
    Jan 8th 2012, 12:57 PM

You mean a broken chord!!

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 8th 2012, 1:07 PM

Another cup of coffee ted? He meant what he said – a broken rubber!!!

Mute Ted Power
    Favourite Ted Power
    Jan 8th 2012, 1:15 PM

Chord as in umbilical chord Reada!! Disappointed in u….

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 8th 2012, 1:18 PM

I got that Ted. But he meant rubber as in johnny.

In your face ted. :-)

Mute Ted Power
    Favourite Ted Power
    Jan 8th 2012, 1:27 PM

Obviously, I won’t start a row be aide we’ve been gettin on lately!!

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 8th 2012, 1:32 PM

Indeed ted. I meant it as a joke anyway. But yes. Time to unite and fight for our right to paaaaarty! Joke. Meant justice.

Mute Easygoing
    Favourite Easygoing
    Jan 8th 2012, 1:45 PM

Reada….you need to handle Ted gently…..firstly the wedding is off & poor Ted has brain freeze (& possibly gout) from gorging on Ben & Jerrys for comfort….we are all very worried about him…

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 8th 2012, 1:54 PM

Oh no! Been looking forward to it. I missed the breakup. Or is this is???

Mute Ted Power
    Favourite Ted Power
    Jan 8th 2012, 1:56 PM

I’m fine easygoing I was with someone on the rebound last night, didn’t get a wink of sleep!! She snored..

Mute Stadler Waldorf
    Favourite Stadler Waldorf
    Jan 8th 2012, 1:57 PM

CORD! Not chord.

Mute Easygoing
    Favourite Easygoing
    Jan 8th 2012, 2:08 PM

Reada…the breakup happened on Little Christmas when I let it slip that I have a husband…..it was very messy :-(

Ted….it didn’t take you long to move on…..please tell me your not taking her to Dingle !!

Mute Ted Power
    Favourite Ted Power
    Jan 8th 2012, 2:09 PM

Mine was a chord I’m from a musical family

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 8th 2012, 2:15 PM

Oh dear easy. Why let a small consideration like that get in the way of such a fine romance. I was really enjoying watching from the sidelines. Was great entertainment.

Noticed some of the “crank thread police” weren’t too happy but I love to see them get peeved.

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 8th 2012, 3:48 PM

Thanks for telling me that Easy. Had a look. Amazing what a tub of ice-cream and the box set of Desperate Housewives can do Ted? I’d say ye’ll be back on in a few days. “Reunited and it feels so good”. I’ll be humming that all day now…

Mute Easygoing
    Favourite Easygoing
    Jan 8th 2012, 6:02 PM

Thanks Reada….I hope so…. I’m hoping for a happy reunion & the making up….,he can’t be seen to lose face so he’s playing hard to get….I’m humming “torn between two lovers…” I can’t seem to get it out of my head !! If it doesn’t work out I’ll be straight over for my Despite Housewives boxset !!

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 8th 2012, 6:22 PM

If that doesn’t do it easy, nothing will. Men do like the chase tho. You hold out girl. Make him beg. On your knees Ted. I can’t wait to do a poppa.

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 8th 2012, 6:23 PM

Shit. Pippa. This fecking iPhone!!!

Mute Tom McDermott
    Favourite Tom McDermott
    Jan 8th 2012, 8:31 PM

Thanks to you easygoing poor ted is a mess.. rumour has it he was spotted snorting flea powder round the back of mullingar dog track the other night

Mute Easygoing
    Favourite Easygoing
    Jan 8th 2012, 9:11 PM

I know Tom…..what can I say ??? He won’t take me back & all this gorging on ice-cream can’t be good for his waistband !!

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 8th 2012, 10:07 PM

Come on Ted. You’re from a musical family. Serenade her…

Mute Billygoatmuff
    Favourite Billygoatmuff
    Jan 8th 2012, 11:51 AM

I wonder if they gave her another go for free as the first did not exactly go to plan.

Mute Ken Conroy
    Favourite Ken Conroy
    Jan 8th 2012, 11:43 AM

Good God. Never.

Mute Jay funk
    Favourite Jay funk
    Jan 8th 2012, 12:13 PM

At least once

Mute Michael Hegarty
    Favourite Michael Hegarty
    Jan 8th 2012, 12:38 PM

Never!!!

Mute Carl Sands
    Favourite Carl Sands
    Jan 8th 2012, 3:39 PM

Have done it twice, it’s both terrifying and amazing. Won’t be venturing again after seeing that though 0.0 !!

Mute Shane Gorman
    Favourite Shane Gorman
    Jan 8th 2012, 11:41 AM

Wow fair play I was on that bridge thinking about doing bungee and it really is high! Well done!

Mute Stadler Waldorf
    Favourite Stadler Waldorf
    Jan 8th 2012, 11:54 AM

That American girl’s voice is REALLY annoying.

Mute Oaklane1
    Favourite Oaklane1
    Jan 8th 2012, 2:28 PM

After watching the video,I must conclude you are easily annoyed.

Mute Frank Buffets
    Favourite Frank Buffets
    Jan 8th 2012, 6:00 PM

It’s like oh my god!!, someone has to do something. She was like falling to like a river and like her legs still tied and oh my god look at me someone help me, I am in shock, oh my god I may miss the jedward concert because my friend wanted all the attention by bungy jump Thingy oh my god what a selfish B…
    It all her….perfectly normal conversation.

Mute Emma Tobin
    Favourite Emma Tobin
    Jan 8th 2012, 11:45 AM

Why is the safety guy not zooming down his line to get her??? It may have prevented her going into the rapids!!!! Surely that is his job – it appeared as though they didn’t even flinch????? Obviously it happens a lot!

Mute Iain Murray
    Favourite Iain Murray
    Jan 8th 2012, 12:36 PM

I wouldn’t care to be next in the queue!

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Jan 8th 2012, 12:43 PM

One very lucky lady. That rope just snapped with no tension. I’m knocking this one off my bucket list!

Mute Joey R
    Favourite Joey R
    Jan 8th 2012, 4:27 PM

or at least put it last on the list

Mute Ailís McKernan
    Favourite Ailís McKernan
    Jan 8th 2012, 6:13 PM

Eh, what’s with the “icy water” infested with “crocodiles?” The two don’t mix…but don’t let the truth get in the way of a good story!

Mute Richie Flynn
    Favourite Richie Flynn
    Jan 8th 2012, 12:26 PM

Has the company running the jumps been shut down? – because they should be (no obvious crisis management response) If a cheese, fish or meat company gave someone diaorrehea they would be in court and faced with fines, yet you can throw someone off a bridge and fail with no reprimand. A perfect example of the fact that bureaucracy follows the path of least resistence and picks on the easier targets (public servants would prefer to turn up at a factory and demand its books than sit in the cold and observe how people in dangerous jobs carry out their duties – look at those poor people who died in the hot air balloon accident in NZ).

Mute Michael Hegarty
    Favourite Michael Hegarty
    Jan 8th 2012, 12:42 PM

Totally agree with your sentiments, but, this is Zimbabwe, dont think they really care about the Health & Safety stuff too much.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Jan 8th 2012, 2:45 PM

As I regularly say to customers when they give out about shoddy treatment in that continent….welcome to Africa!!!!

It’s not intended to be offensive but if any of you have spent any time there you will know EXACTLY what I mean!!!!

Mute Dom Morgan
    Favourite Dom Morgan
    Jan 8th 2012, 8:46 PM

If you got diarrhea in Africa from bad cheese / meet I bet you $500 you would not manage to get the offenders to a court. If one goes to Africa, one accepts the H&S risks. It’s not called The Third World without a reason.

Mute Graham Harkness
    Favourite Graham Harkness
    Jan 8th 2012, 12:39 PM

Something about stick health and safety regulations and African bungee company dosnt sit well with me.

Mute Graham Harkness
    Favourite Graham Harkness
    Jan 8th 2012, 12:40 PM

Strict (I swear to god the auto correct on this iPad will kill me, I knows what I wants to type but it thinks different)

Mute Paddy O'Reilly
    Favourite Paddy O'Reilly
    Jan 8th 2012, 1:40 PM

Don’t worry,tests show iPad typos are Apple’s fault, not yours http://www.theregister.co.uk/2012/01/06/ipad_typos/

Mute theresa parker
    Favourite theresa parker
    Jan 8th 2012, 11:50 AM

She had a lucky escape.

Mute Itchy Brain
    Favourite Itchy Brain
    Jan 8th 2012, 2:18 PM

Been twice and never doing it again after watching this.

I don’t even like doing it, my body just got flung around and both times I pulled muscles all over and had a bit of a headache afterwards from all the blood rushing down there so quick.

Maybe it’s just not for me.

Mute Tony Stanley
    Favourite Tony Stanley
    Jan 8th 2012, 2:46 PM

It wasn’t for her either!

Mute Peter Hanley
    Favourite Peter Hanley
    Jan 8th 2012, 1:54 PM

Ah Zim, the concept of public safety doesn’t even come into this so I’m pretty sure the outfit just bought/mashed up a new bunjee and carried on regardless.

The water in this spot is actually very warm and pleasant and indeed extremely deep, that’s not to say its not dangerous but currents are much more a concern than temperature. Similarly whilst there is crocs and hippos in parts of the Zambezi, there’s none upstream to Vic Falls nor downstream for quite a considerable number of miles. I’ve kayaked the river at this very point many many times and can say this from personal experience.

Mute Paddy O'Reilly
    Favourite Paddy O'Reilly
    Jan 8th 2012, 12:26 PM

Well that’s put me off doing a bungee again (although still tempted by SkyJump®).
    Two very disconcerting things come out of the video, apart from the obvious. The bungee operator pushes the customer off the platform, AFAIK this is a major no-no and they even say on their site that they don’t push people off.
    Secondly, if you search for “Victoria Falls bridge bungee”, any links relating to this incident only appear at the bottom of the page and could be easily missed by people booking a bungee for this years holiday.

Mute Frank Buffets
    Favourite Frank Buffets
    Jan 8th 2012, 6:05 PM

Third thing is the complete non reaction by the staff who remained hanging off the bridge or looking on in disbelief. Wouldn’t surprise me if they just had a fag while the lady was swept out of sight and said next please.!

Mute Dom Morgan
    Favourite Dom Morgan
    Jan 8th 2012, 8:13 PM

Doing bungee-jump in Africa is like playing russian roulette. Nothing works properly in Africa. They don’t do maintenance over there.

Mute Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Favourite Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Jan 11th 2012, 9:17 AM

What part of Africa are you surmising about Dom? Because NOT all of Africa is like that, get your facts straight before making a valid comment.

Mute Dom Morgan
    Favourite Dom Morgan
    Jan 11th 2012, 8:53 PM

Most of it. I’ve worked on projects in better and less good countries like for example Ghana, Tanzania, Nigeria. Ok, your point is that we should not generalise. We should not say that humans have two legs when some are born with three legs and some lose one or both legs in accidents?

Mute Liam Ó Broin
    Favourite Liam Ó Broin
    Jan 9th 2012, 1:45 AM

It’s for this reason I will *never* do a bungee jump. I don’t case if I sound like a boring old sod either. :P

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Jan 8th 2012, 3:35 PM

Breaking news Cabinet to visit Zimbabwe before return to Kildare street

Mute Adrian quinn
    Favourite Adrian quinn
    Jan 9th 2012, 12:18 AM

Next!

Mute Dearbhla Carmody
    Favourite Dearbhla Carmody
    Jan 9th 2012, 6:05 AM

I’m not sure i get why anyone would want to have their feet tied together and then pushed or chucked of a bridge for fun?