You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'Like Del Boy trying to sell discounted goods': Socialist TDs are not impressed by water charge concessions

Finance Minister Michael Noonan said that the Government will “wait and see” if the public accepts the new water charges package.

Updated: 12pm

SOCIALIST PARTY TD Ruth Coppinger has said that the Government’s concessions on water charges will not appease the public.

Coppinger told Today with Keelin Shanley that the new water charges package is “like Del Boy trying to sell discounted goods from the back of a truck”.

Reports this morning stated the revised cap on charges, valid until the end of 2018, will be €60 per one-adult household, and €160 for all other homes.

The Dublin West TD said that there will be “mass refusal” of of water bills and the Government will have to listen as “we’re three bills away from a General Election”.

Socialist and Anti Austerity Alliance TD Ruth Coppinger (File photo) Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland Leah Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Earlier today, Coppinger’s party colleague Joe Higgins said he believes that the public will not accept the new package, which is due to be announced today.

Speaking on Morning Ireland, Higgins said that the concessions, which will be announced at 3pm in the Dáil, are an attempt by the Government to get them “past the next General Election”.

“They are desperately casting around for something to salvage the regime of water charges,” he said.

This will not work. We have a risen people here. They want to continue to pay for their water – which they do and have done for generations through general taxation. Their measures will still be met with a huge movement of opposition.
People aren’t fools, people don’t believe the Government … When the time comes and the pressure is off. the price will rise inexorably.

Higgins said he expected a “major boycott” of the charges when bills are sent out early next year.

Joe Higgins Banking Inquires Joe Higgins (File photo) Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

On the way into the Cabinet meeting this morning, Finance Minister Michael Noonan told Morning Ireland and other reporters that the Government will have to “wait and see” if the public are appeased by the latest measures.

There has been a lot of controversy, there has been a lot of things said, there has be a lot of protest and people have been quite upset with the whole process. The intention this morning is to come up with a solution and make it clear to people that we have been listening to their concerns.

Cabinet Meeting. Pictured the Minister Noonan on the way into Cabinet this morning. Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Noonan added that there would be “various announcements” in relation to people who will refuse to pay the charges, but stated: “I’ll leave that to Minister Kelly.”

The Environment Minister said that the Government has spent the last number of months listening to the “genuine concerns” of the public.

Speaking on the way into Cabinet he stated:

I think this package will bring the people with us. I don’t think anything about this package will be harsh.

Tánaiste Joan Burton said that the new package has “a heavy emphasis on affordability”, referring to the rebate of €100 per household.

“In addition, if people so wish they will be able to apply for a water conservation support grant which will be paid by the Department of Social Protection on behalf of the Department of the Environment,” she stated.

Cabinet Meeting. Pictured Tanaiste Joa Burton on the way into Cabinet this morning. Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Burton said the “critical issue” that has to be addressed is the fact that Ireland needs to invest “in a good clean water system”.

Public Expenditure Minister Brendan Howlin said that in “ten, 15 or 20 years we’ll be as proud of Irish Water as we are of the ESB or Bord na Móna”, which he described as “fine State institutions”.

Speaking on Newstalk Breakfast, Sinn Féin’s Finance Spokesperson Pearse Doherty reiterated that water charges are “a red line issue” for his party and would be scrapped if they came to power.

He added that the revenue lost by failing to introduce the charges could be recouped by progressive direct taxation.

Last night, a group of protesters staged a peaceful demonstration outside a Fine Gael meeting the Taoiseach was attending in Navan.

The Meath Chronicle reported that there were about 40 uniformed gardaí present, more than the number of protesters.

Originally published: 10am

Water charges: Here’s what we know THIS MORNING

State of the Nation: It’s D-Day for water charges

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 140 comments
140 Comments
    Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:03 AM

Charlie Haughey said we had to tighten our belts …
    Michael Noonan said we had to sew up our pockets – Really lads ?

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:13 AM

Richard Boyd Barrett claimed 140k in expenses last year. I’m sure Joe claimed something similar. Don’t let these morons claim to be in solidarity with the working man because they are hypocrites of the highest order.

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:18 AM

Our government has now got control over all of our essentials and can ration them at will, has the electorate taken this on board?

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:22 AM

John S care to tell what the other 164 claimed?or are you just being selective?

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:26 AM

The other 164 are mentioned in the article?

Mute TheBlackStuff2
    Favourite TheBlackStuff2
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:26 AM

John, you say you’re sure Higgins claimed something similar to 140k expenses, have you anything to back that up? Or are you on an ‘all lefties are bad’ buzz?

Mute Coddler O Toole
    Favourite Coddler O Toole
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:27 AM

Joe Higgins and Ruth Coppinger take the average industrial wage (34k) from their TDs salaries. Paul Murphy takes the average young person’s wage (22k). The remainder of their salaries and allowances are used to fund the various campaigns which the Socialist Party/AAA support nationally and internationally. Nobody is living the high life on expenses in the SP/AAA as John S tries to claim.

Neither does the SP/AA receive the millions that FF/FG/Labour and SF receive from the exchequer each year under the Electoral Acts legislation and Party Leaders allowance.

In 2013 the figures were

FF €2.8 million
    FG €4.9 million
    SF €1.8 million
    Labour €3.0 million

SP €74 thousand

http://m.sipo.gov.ie/en/About-Us/News/Press-Releases/2014-Press-Releases/Exchequer-Funding-Party-Leaders-Allowance.html

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:32 AM

@Youknow. ..Noonan and Burton are but he failed to mention their expenses.

Mute Ben Brown
    Favourite Ben Brown
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:37 AM

id like to see the list of expenses by each politician

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:47 AM

All the Donegal TD’s have drawn more than 200,000 each since the last election

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:50 AM

Uncle, they’ve had control of water forever via local authorities. Electricity too via ESB. Can you tell me what rations we’ve suffered in water and electricity since the 2nd world war?

Mute Francie Coffey
    Favourite Francie Coffey
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:51 AM

Noonan looks like Mr Bumble the Beagle, from ‘Oliver’
    - Appropriate really, because they have turned the country into a Dickensian workhouse,
    They are the fat, self-entitled board of directors,
    And we are the poor starving urchins.
    ” Please sir, – can we have some more…?? ”
    ” WHAT……MOOOOOOAAAAARE….???? “

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:52 AM

Coddler, they take a full salary. Same as all TD’s. They choose to spend it differently. Stop with lies if not taking their full salary, because they do. Just as Clare daly and Mick tax dodger Wallace

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:54 AM

Cut and paste anyone?

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:57 AM

@Coddler Joe Higgins was the only SP deputy in the Dáil in 2013 – 74,000 plus his TD salary – what did all that get spent on? – I don’t care if he says he claims 35,000 from his salary .. what expenses were claimed under the 74,000?

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine

You know, coddler is the master of cut and paste. He hadn’t a single original thought, toe the party line. He is more whipped than any government TD.

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:22 AM

@Jason, they did not have smart meters until recently nor did have have this urge to control every aspect of our daily lives, this control stuff is fairly recent and is part of the sell out to our European Owners. If they can get away with it they WILL ration power and water.

Mute Coddler O Toole
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:30 AM

Pontius,
    Higgins is not drawing more expenses than almost any other TD. Here’s the 2012 figures which is the latest I can find on Google:

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AlxJrxiwB44XdHJ6M3ZLNWRZTG5IajRnZVBoMWZEVkE&usp=sharing#gid=0

€27k puts Higgins well down the list. Here’s the averages per party from 2012.

Party Members Total Per TD
    FG 74 € 3,196,350.29 € 43,193.92
    Lab 39 € 1,370,439.72 € 35,139.48
    FF 19 € 1,076,131.32 € 56,638.49
    SF 14 € 742,032.96 € 53,002.35
    ULA 5 € 188,450.16 € 37,690.03

Ind 14 € 613,643.07 € 43,831.65
    CC 1 € 15,000.00 € 15,000.00
    Total 166 € 7,202,047.52 € 43,385.83

I do know that Joe drives a 10 year old Primera and lives in a modest 3 bed semi in Huntstown, D15. So the concerted attempts to smear Higgins, Murphy etc in the media are very telling. As you can see, the blueshirt flies are crawling all over this article. It means we most definitely have the establishment rattled. Roll on November 29th and December 10th!

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:51 AM

Nurses Teachers Gardai, construction workers, everyone against austerity, etc… need to come out for one mass protest, instead of each protesting in dribs and drabs. Something like this would get the message across loud and clear, that we are finished with austerity and will not accept anymore. We’re all in the same boat after all, and should stand together.

Mute Mr L.Jay
    Favourite Mr L.Jay
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:56 AM

Exactly
    We need a one day shut down to show the Gov., we have had enough.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:57 AM

The left need to stop bickering and sniping at each other and become more united, otherwise this peaceful revolt will fail – stop bickering and get out on the streets as one massive untied group –

Mute Alan Driscoll
    Favourite Alan Driscoll
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:09 PM

@ Sarge Who cares what Joe Higgins spent his money on its his money he earned it honestly, it’s about time you and your multiple personality troll friends started looking for a new PR job as your FG flagship is sinking fast. P.S I heard they have PR jobs at SF HQ if your looking for work.bye bye FG/LB

Mute Real Democrat
    Favourite Real Democrat
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:09 PM

Spot on john! They are no different than the rest of them when it comes to grabbing every cent! Imagine even getting a leaders allowance ? A leader of what? All that’s wrong with these people is they thrive on people’s misery. If the water charges were dropped altogether they would have nothing to feed off! Remember it was the same bunch of lefty loonies that opposed bin charges by picketing city hall etc etc, the result? The council dropped the bin service & privatised it! Now we pay five times more! Some socialists!
    I don’t care if they share some of the state loot with their “parties” etc, the point is they still claim it out of the taxpayers pockets!

Mute pwhatp
    Favourite pwhatp
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:13 PM

Wow jason, dont let facts and logic get in the way.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:59 PM

The shinners are doing well above average in the expenses game – no wonder they are playing along too !

Mute Seamus Warren
    Favourite Seamus Warren
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:00 PM

€89156

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:21 PM

@John S. I agree, Politics is their choice of work simply because their attitude would not be tolerated in any workplace. So called Socialists but then lift the mask and they are the same as any other politician. The exception being, they cannot function as problem solvers or real leaders and thrive on the chaos they create.

Mute Martin Healy
    Favourite Martin Healy
    Nov 19th 2014, 9:27 PM

The left great for the working man, but not for the men who want to work!

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Nov 20th 2014, 11:37 AM

John Collins claimed 119k in expenses since 2011 while having the cheek to call herself people before profit ,is she apart of the AAA ?

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:10 AM

I don’t pay my Electricity bills twice, I don’t pay my gas bills twice and I ain’t paying for water twice!! See you all on the 10th of December! This government took us all for mugs, we will see whose laughing soon!

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine

Pso and usage, you pay for your electricity twice.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:03 AM

Moonshine no you don’t.PSO is public service obligation.
    We pay for water to the tune of 1.2 billion through general taxation surprised you didn’t know this.I’m sure it has been mentioned a few times.

Mute Moonshine
    Favourite Moonshine
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:15 AM

Pso is to help pay for renewables. So you are, in effect, paying twice.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:23 AM

PSO is in the region €6 every 2 months.
    Your point is completely wrong however,would you also like to claim that paying vat is a third time,or a standing charge a fourth time?
    You still haven’t addressed the fact that we pay for water through general taxation,now they want to continue taking this tax but still charge us.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:24 AM

And also tax the carbon tax!

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:47 AM

I have a well, as do many people in rural Ireland, we pay for water and waste. About time the rest of the country did too.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:50 AM

The rest of country does through general taxation;you also contribute through your taxes that’s the cost of living in a society.You pay for things you don’t necessarily get the benefit of.

Mute Les Boyd
    Favourite Les Boyd
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:45 PM

You get a 3rd of our property tax in dublin because your taxes dont raise enough

Mute duisigheire
    Favourite duisigheire
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:12 AM

This is about more than just water now. This is about Ireland….. Beware the risen people. #DEC10

Mute Liam Ward
    Favourite Liam Ward
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:20 AM

Enjoy your retirement lads as it’ll b another 50 years before yer returned to government roll on election time

Mute Liam Long
    Favourite Liam Long
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:06 AM

Do we, the prople of Ireland not own the natural resources of this country already? The government have decided to make themselves the owners of our water and are effectively trying to sell it back to us.

Mute Liam Long
    Favourite Liam Long

Section 10 of the constitution. The government are caretakers not owners.

Mute Liam Long
    Favourite Liam Long
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:14 AM

ARTICLE 10

1 All natural resources, including the air and all forms of potential energy, within the jurisdiction of the Parliament and Government established by this Constitution and all royalties and franchises within that jurisdiction belong to the State subject to all estates and interests therein for the time being lawfully vested in any person or body.

2 All land and all mines, minerals and waters which belonged to Saorstát Éireann immediately before the coming into operation of this Constitution belong to the State to the same extent as they then belonged to Saorstát Éireann.

3 Provision may be made by law for the management of the property which belongs to the State by virtue of this Article and for the control of the alienation, whether temporary or permanent, of that property.

4 Provision may also be made by law for the management of land, mines, minerals and waters acquired by the State after the coming into operation of this Constitution and for the control of the alienation, whether temporary or permanent, of the land, mines, minerals and waters so acquired.

Mute Liam Long
    Favourite Liam Long
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:16 AM

And we want our gas back too…

Mute youknowimright
    Favourite youknowimright
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:31 AM

So are they invoking subsection 4?

Mute Robert Dunne
    Favourite Robert Dunne

Hi Liam, with respect to your comment on article 10, Irish people do not own water. The point of this article is to make the state the owner of natural resources e.g. if you find oil on your property the state is said to be the rightful owner of the resource. Because the state is the owner this means they are free to do with these resources as they see fit, they can sell it to the citizens, a private company, etc. Contrary to what a lot of people say this article does not prevent privatisation. If legislation on water charges was taken to the High Court nothing would happen

I think the only solution for the Government is to abolish Irish water it’s a quango, and many people genuinely can’t afford to pay.

Mute Stephen Byrne
    Favourite Stephen Byrne
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:51 AM

@liam, we do own the water but would you drink it without the treatment it gets first?

Mute Maire Ben
    Favourite Maire Ben

The only way out of this Mr Noonan is to scrap the Quango that is Irish Water. No other option at this stage will suffice. Why cant you get this? We are not as thick as you!

Mute Coddler O Toole

It’s highly unlikely that the concessions will appease the hard pressed citizens at this stage. On the contrary, the government back pedaling shows that organized resistance works. FG/Labour would have rammed this hated banker tax down our throats without a second thought had they been allowed to.

Hundreds of thousands of people are receiving a political education on the nature of the system as they see their living standards decimated under the austerity program to pay for the systemic failure of speculative financial capitalism in 2008.

We need to ramp up the pressure even further to ensure a massive boycott of the Irish Water bills when they land on the doormats in February until this despised Fg/Labour quisling government finally get the message….No Way, We Won’t Pay anymore for the sins of the bankers.
    Roll on November 29th and December 10th.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:25 AM

Agree (for once lol) with you Coddler. This backdown shows a weak and whimsical government who, as soon as people accept it, will revert and introduce the initial charges they they were going to charge. No legislation will stand for future Governments – they will simply change it.

FG/Labour doing exactly what they did prior to the election in 2011 and they are doing it before the next election for the same reason.

Not sure where we are headed politically, but for sure there are rocky times ahead.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:50 AM

At this stage their word means nothing, people are wise to the years of their broken promises. For this reason they need to go now, no one believes them or has faith in them. Now I the time they let us have our say, a general election is needed early in 2015.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:56 AM

They’ve done overkill on austerity, if we don’t win this battle they will always walk over us.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:30 AM

Aye, they went to far, for everyday folk nothing left to give is now nothing left to lose.

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner

The people will never be with you,and if you want to appease the people,then abolish water charges.THE PEOPLE DONT HAVE ANY MONEY TO PAY In the real world,where we live,we are struggling to make ends meet.Wake up and listen to the people,because we are not falling for this,however you dress it up

Mute Beanstalk
    Favourite Beanstalk
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:36 AM

I’m confused…who’s paying for the €100 rebate? Is it the taxpayer? Is it not the same thing then? Ah now. :(

Mute Edward Malone
    Favourite Edward Malone
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:48 AM

The rebate is a way for them to try force people to register into a contract to pay, it’s the exact same as saying pay 160 for water or don’t register and be fined an extra 100. That money doesn’t exist.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:14 PM

“The rebate is a way for them to try force people to register into a contract to pay, it’s the exact same as saying pay 160 for water or don’t register and be fined an extra 100. That money doesn’t exist.”
    Here is John Tierney on board an Irish Water customer.
    http://i58.tinypic.com/64146d.jpg

Mute Traolach O'Breasail
    Favourite Traolach O'Breasail
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:08 AM

We have paid already 1.2 billion and i wont be paying again, i will not finance this elite who have stolen our money to pay off bondholders, this blue-shirt government should resign and call an election, they have no mandate to govern …….resign today

Mute John M. Doohan
    Favourite John M. Doohan

On the 10th i hope its a call to scrap this government…along with IW..major protests needed now..flight booked for dublin.not gonna miss this one

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:04 AM

Is Michael Noonan drawing his political pensions as well as his salary at the moment ?
    ‘cos that’s serious wedge if he is …

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:11 AM

Don’t forget the dividends from the bonds he holds. He couldn’t give a crap about the Irish electorate. He has his his money and that’s all he cares about.

Mute Coco McDee
    Favourite Coco McDee
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:07 AM

I will vote for Sinn Fein if they scrap the charges like Pierce Doherty said. It is a red line for most of us. We will not stand by and watch the sell off of our water. I will not buy the water that falls from the sky from Denis O’Brien or Nestlé or anyone else.

Mute John Clancy
    Favourite John Clancy
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:38 AM

so youre gonna take the high moral ground and vote for sinn fein as a protest against the evil denis o brien.dont seem to recall denis o brien ever blowing pregnant women to smithereens,or hauling terrified mothers away from their screaming kids to be executed,but there you go,guess we all have our own definition of ‘morals’!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

John when did Sinn Fein commit these acts,I grew up during the troubles.I thought it was various republican and loyalist groups that carried out these atrocities.

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy

John Clancy u might want to look into the roots of f Gael and f failed all steeped in violence and death

Nov 19th 2014, 11:18 AM

Kenny, Burton and Noonan are doing a great job to encourage people to vote Sinn Fein,well done lads!

Mute conor
    Favourite conor
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:06 AM

10/12/14 Irish Water be gone, fool me twice…

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell

Michael noonan looks like scrooge, acts like him too

Mute Derek Mills
    Favourite Derek Mills
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:17 AM

“I’ll leave that to Minister Kelly.” Alan Kelly can hardly speak with out fumbling through every second word due to his nervousness about lying through his teeth. The man is out of his depth and he won’t be able to answer any questions on it. When he gets pushed by the opposition, he will then be protected by Sean Barrett. Noonan is already wiping his hands this morning as he knows this and will avoid another day of answering questions himself. If this scenario was on a TV show, the viewers would be saying the story line is too far fetched.

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:30 AM

How is 160 a year going to cover: fixing all the pipes, paying back the bondholders (as the government wants to put Irish Water on the bond market), and pay for all the employees massive salaries and bonuses? It can’t! Even if every single family registered they will be operating at a loss for the first few years when they are capped, then of course they will have to backdate those bonuses, pay to fix the pipes, and of course pay off the new IW bondholders meaning the bills will have to be increased to do this. And they will have to increase significantly! The government thinks they are being clever by luring people in with a small up front fee and pushing the real costs down the road a few years until after the next election. They are no better than loan shark companies offering you free money up front to get into a contract with them where you will be hit with big costs down the road.

Mute eoin_fitz
    Favourite eoin_fitz
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:02 AM

He is a fool of a man.

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:07 AM

Noonan? Yes I agree

Mute Marshal
    Favourite Marshal
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:09 AM

I wouldn’t call the man who steered the country out of a recession in under 1 term a fool ! Fair dues to him

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:14 AM

http://www.cpexposed.com/
    Which of our ‘representatives’ are signed up ?

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:15 AM

Come back eoin when your old enough to pay. U seem to call everyone u don’t agree with a fool.not very insightful

Mute eoin_fitz
    Favourite eoin_fitz
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:19 AM

I meant Joe higgins.

Mute eoin_fitz
    Favourite eoin_fitz

Oh just because im young means I dont pay taxes no?

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:23 AM

What has Michael Noonan done differently to what Brian Lenihan would have done ?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:27 AM

Why not me he followed the path laid out by FF and the troika,but as soon as they got full control look at the mess they created ie Irish Water.The clowns can’t blame FF for that monumental f***up.

Mute Keith Twamley
    Favourite Keith Twamley
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:35 AM

Head in the sand Marshall? or have you forgotten all the debt that he magically turned into sovereign. If we have turned a corner, and everything is rosie, then why are they still managing to infuriate so many people? Don’t believe the hype.

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:37 AM

Yes,Norman . We voted in clones of clones .

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:38 AM

Just to add Vincent Brown on his programme last night highlighted the section of the 2013 Water Services Act which allows for the privatisation of Water.
    FG claim they won’t privatise water but their spokesman refused to explain why the provision was wrote into the act.

Mute Marshal
    Favourite Marshal
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:41 AM

Wouldn’t say my head is in the sand by stating a fact ? Just because It doesn’t fit people’s anti FG stance doesn’t mean it’s not fact

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

Marshal,I don’t support FF but it is accepted even by members of FG that FF implemented 2/3 of the necessary budget adjustments Noonan just had to stay on the track.Btw according to the ERSI the first 3 budgets introduced to FG/Lab were the most regressive in the last 7 years ie hit the most vulnerable the hardest.Also fact even if it upsets government supporters.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin

Marshal, economic systems, as everything else in life, goes in natural cycles – up an down boom and bust and so on and so on.

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:59 AM

Well said Norman!

Mute Thierry Rat
    Favourite Thierry Rat
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:00 AM

No face government supporter

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:20 AM

Noonan did nothing. All the orders where coming from Germany. If anyone got us out of it, its a german civil servant. Thank him

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:22 AM

Ff= you got us into this mess.
    Sf = you’re all terrorists.
    Ind = you’re all lefty loonies.

Standard response when Edna is under pressure

Nov 19th 2014, 11:23 AM

Marshal are you an idiot or perhaps a Bondholder, Noonan has gone nothing but heap pain and more pain on Irish people, preferring to take his orders from the German Witch than us. A totally useless self-important windbag. give my regards to the lads in the party next time you drop by…

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:33 AM

Now you see what fg lab supporters think of the young in this country if not their own kids. Your opinion only matters when you pay taxes. That’s all you are Eoin tax bag.. even you didnt pay tax for what ever reason. Your opinion matters and young of this country matter more than the older generation cause its their future. Remember if you pay this water charge, it will be hiked to unpayable sums for the not do well off and for the middle income earners they will barely make ends meet. So no Joe isn’t a fool, He is being honest. I wonder what happened or when we will hear how much and who in government are tax avoiders.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:54 PM

Getting court orders/judgements etc. against people’s homes, and racking up legal fees for solicitors threatening letters and so forth will not help Irish Water get the 10 billion they need from the angry householders who marched in O’Connell Street.

Nor will it help the re-election of any political parties who support such measures.

This corpse stinks no matter what you do with it.

Have the sound judgement to bury it now or face dire consequences in 1916-or earlier if the government falls on this issue.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Nov 19th 2014, 3:52 PM

Remember how he treated Mrs .Mc Cole as she was dying.

Mute Thosj Carroll
    Favourite Thosj Carroll
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:09 AM

Of course I’m not stupid so is the people of Ireland! Irish water RIP.

Mute Coco McDee
    Favourite Coco McDee
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:25 AM

Primetime is prime propaganda. What on earth was Gemma Hussey looking and talking like Margaret Tatcber doing on there ? She got more speaking time than Paul Murphy an elected TD. Pat Rabitte lying through his teeth. 2 people in the audience given littke time to speak. One person talking about restaraunts closing. Who goes to restaraunts anymore. If you want your restaraunts to stay open you must stand against this disgusting metered water so that the average person can afford to go to a bloody restaraunts !

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:12 PM

I saw that last night, we sat there discussing what a horrible out of touch auld FG biddy she was….

She was rolled out to look all, grandmotherly, instead she came across as a BULLY. At one stage Paul Murphy was taking and she talked over him continuously. He could not finished ONE sentence. I’m done with this type of politics.

Regarding her argument re ‘violent protests’, what a idiotic childish stance.

The Car banging and balloon throwing was out of order. But what to you expect from a country wide grassroots movement, the govenment have managed to enrage a wide disparate groupings of people for many many reasons (can’t pay, privatisation, PPS etc etc) and the government is still NOT listening.

All this media focus on the few rare misdemeanours is childish and painful. Reason, in ANY disparate collection of people you will have good & bad eggs… as proven by the Garda that flung that woman at a bollard.

Mute leinsterlion6
    Favourite leinsterlion6
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:18 AM

What they are at now,is to try to suck people in to registrar but we all know that the prices will quickly increase as time goes on,and we will be trapped,it won`t work people are not fools,Kenny and co. have lost all credibility at this stage.

Mute Coco McDee
    Favourite Coco McDee
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:36 AM

Astounding that a government can act like the bogeyman enticing children in with sweets. We all understand completely that once we are in we have condemned ourselves to a lifetime of water debt. Ever increasing bills and charges just to keep water in our homes? I will not sell out my children’s future . We will take back our country and our water and the people who tried to hang this on us will have to live with their own consciences, traitors all of them.

Mute gerrymiah
    Favourite gerrymiah
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:31 AM

The politicians are trying to portray this as a fight for votes between one faction and another. It is not that it is people versus politicians and the sooner they they get this into their thick heads the better. Some politicians are latching on to either side. Roll around the next election , the sooner the better, and we will stuff them all. Scrap Irish Water is is a daft concept and just another quango for the boys.

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:21 AM

Why are those reporters so close to a 65 yr old woman .. Can they not see that the poor soul is suffering from PTSD.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:11 AM

Politician To Stand Down …is that what it is Why ?…OOOOOH I Hope I am right !

Mute Thierry Rat
    Favourite Thierry Rat
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:45 AM

“You can fool some people some times, but you can’t fool all the people all the time… Get up stand up, stand up for your rights, don’t give up the fight” rip bob marley

Mute Ben Brown
    Favourite Ben Brown
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:39 AM

WE WILL NOT PAY .. journal stop the propaganda now or we will be protesting outside your office next..

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:11 AM

Hi Ben….I don’t get it….I find the journal really very well balanced. Correct me if you, or others, think I’m wrong….If I’m missing something then I would be the first to blast them, but I can’t see any slant at all in their reporting – maybe I’m not on often enough to see it??

Mute Maire Ben
    Favourite Maire Ben

There is a protest organgised outside the Quango that is Irish Water for 29th November at 2pm. For those of us who are (thankfully) employed Dec 10th is a work day so we may not be able to attend . However, I will definitely be outiside this Quango on 29th and will join in every protest against it until I see it abolished. Enough is Enough!

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:07 AM

What do you expect to achieve by chanting at an empty building?

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:49 AM

Leinster House was empty on the first march when over 100,000 marched by it.

Mute Rory Mc Daid
    Favourite Rory Mc Daid

They have pushed the Irish people to far and have awoken a dormant animal, the real celtic tiger, the hearts and minds of the people, we have finally been fed enough sh*t from these clowns in government to say that enough is enough.

It’s time for change

See you all on the 10th

Mute Barry Ryan
    Favourite Barry Ryan
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:49 AM

We won’t pay and you can do whatever you want. We won’t pay and provoking the people will not be a good idea

Mute Chris Hennessy
    Favourite Chris Hennessy
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:14 AM

I would like to say thank you to Mr Noonan, you have obviously been listening very carefully to the people, heard what they had to say, taken on board their very real concerns.

I would like to……but can’t, the ‘wait and see’ comment sums it up for me

The message from the Irish People has been peaceful, LOUD AND CLEAR!

You and your government are either completely delusional or ignoring the will of the people, either way, you are unfit to govern, and have lost the mandate given to you by the electorate. The general population have no trust and no goodwill left.
    Personally, I think the government is doing the anti-charges campaign a great service, every time a minister opens their mouth.

Mute tony ruth
    Favourite tony ruth
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:05 AM

The house tax was €100 the first year

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:57 AM

Mr Noonan knows full well what we have protested for which is abolition of IW. This buy now but pay & pay & pay again in 3 or 4 years time will not quell the justified anger expressed by the peaceful majority. They can fluich themselves from a height. Not paying now or ever. Their legislation is not worth the paper it’s written on.

Nov 19th 2014, 11:12 AM

They all look a tad stressed..facing P45s in the face……

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:07 PM

SIPTU were on RTE this morning demanding a continuation of bonuses etc. for Irish Water staff.
    Will this Zombie quasi-Quango linger on, sucking money out of the taxpayers pockets like the Electronic voting machine racket where the cronies of Fianna Fail bought warehouses and had them paid for by the state (with long term, guaranteed rental contracts )
    By the time the useless machines were scrapped, the party crony landlords had made another killing on the incompetence.
    Those responsible are now retired to sunnier climes,just as the present bunch of incompetents will all be long gone when the bills come in for bonuses and salaries and perks for the foreseeable future for Irish Water staff.
    Could some intrepid reporter get hold of the contracts under which these Zombies are now employed.?

Mute Coco McDee
    Favourite Coco McDee
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:25 PM

Liars liars liars ….. Every one if them lists and traitors. Gemma Hussey on Primetime ffs, on her TD pension telling us the sooner the better we bring in water bills ?? Maybe RTE are actually trying to incite a revolt ?

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:50 AM

The Game is up .

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:33 PM

Does this Government really think the Irish people are fools?

As soon as they can, they’ll hike the charges.
    As soon as they can, they’ll privatise Irish Water.

WHY WASTE money on meters if its going to be a flat rate charge ??? (cus they’ll be handy when its privatised)

Mute Thierry Rat
    Favourite Thierry Rat
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:20 PM

This isn’t the irish people against enda… It’s the irish people pushing enda to go back to the troika and tell them he can’t deliver… He will do every thing in his power to put them ahead of us, this will get nasty

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:19 AM

Not only did they stay silent on it Norman, they actively participated in the concealment of it.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:26 AM

Sorry my post above is in the wrong position – don’t know how that happened.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:28 AM

Padraic that’s a truth that none of our political parties will address.They are all guilty of enabling the abuse of children.

Mute Conor Morris
    Favourite Conor Morris
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:48 PM

Who cares about party facts and figures. This is another black tax which wont be spent on its stated intension. Its a debt recovery tax exactly like property tax, prd, usc. Its fat cats making money and Joe soap picking up the bill. Dont pay !!!!

Mute Thierry Rat
    Favourite Thierry Rat
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:04 AM

The 10th was a bad idea too many people working

Mute Coco McDee
    Favourite Coco McDee
    Nov 19th 2014, 2:34 PM

Miriam o Callaghan basically said on Primetime , if there are not many people at the next protest they will take it they have won ! We must protest on the 10th in massive numbers, all of us wonderful peace loving Irish citizens that are the true owners of Irish water. Let us show them some real Irish pride, we have been trampled on for far too long !

Mute Ross UAE
    Favourite Ross UAE
    Nov 19th 2014, 10:29 AM

Anyone who voted for these communist losers expecting a better life in return is pretty stupid. Do a quick survey of where on Earth life is good, it sure ain’t in North Korea or Cuba.

Mute Joe Reynolds
    Favourite Joe Reynolds
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:22 PM

yawn….comparing a modern irish socialist to stalinism, Change the record.Try arguing against their policies, you know? debate some points maybe?

Mute Joe Reynolds
    Favourite Joe Reynolds
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:19 PM

”they’re not just any lawnmower engines rodders…..,they’re broken lawnmower engines”

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly

Not one protest yet outside SF offices about the movement of child abusers into this country. No uprising in Dundalk or Louth…

Mute John M. Doohan
    Favourite John M. Doohan
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:02 AM

What about all the abused ppl in the republic state under FF AND FG??..piss right of now with that statement

Mute Thierry Rat
    Favourite Thierry Rat
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:03 AM

The a different article no face fg supporter

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 19th 2014, 11:08 AM

O’Reilly and will a protest be organised outside the offices of all other political parties who sat in the Dail since the foundation of the state despite reports dating back to the 30′s of abuse of children in the care of the church they stayed silent.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:04 PM

“Not one protest yet outside SF offices about the movement of child abusers into this country. No uprising in Dundalk or Louth”

That no one would include you too O Reailly, why haven’t you protested? because it’s easy for you to mouth off on the internet like a coward. So put up or shout up you fool!

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:35 PM

Man the FG trolls are ruining every discussion…

Mute Ferdia McManamon
    Favourite Ferdia McManamon
    Nov 19th 2014, 5:51 PM

o reilly , your set against any other party thats not ff or fg , your an absolute snob , and a goon!! get a life and stop looking down on people who have to protest to get rid of taxes they cannot afford

Mute Paul Leonard
    Favourite Paul Leonard
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:21 PM

I’ve 2 questions for ye:

1) If the government rolled back on water charges immediately, would ye be prepared to vote for them come the next general election?

2) Whats ye’re views on how the Irish water supply should be fixed? Clearly it’s broke and in bad need of upgrade but the 34 local councils that have responsibility for them currently are fully incapable of doing that. For example, my friend works for the EPA. He told me about a meeting he was in recently where they were told that the filters in the water supply plant of a certain local authority have not been changed in 30 years when in fact they’re supposed to be upgraded every 3-4 years.

And please, reasoned debate on this, no need for name calling or the likes.

Mute Thierry Rat
    Favourite Thierry Rat
    Nov 19th 2014, 2:50 PM

Does anyone pro government have a face

Mute Larry Dunne
    Favourite Larry Dunne
    Nov 19th 2014, 8:35 PM

10-12-14

Power to the people

Mute Vannin
    Favourite Vannin
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:25 PM

Here’s a mad idea, assuming there’s say 2 million homes in Ireland each of which will recieve €100 of our taxes back from the “government” (I use the term government loosely) to pay to IW, which comes to €200 million per year. Say instead we use this each year to replace the old pipes and upgrade the system while the TAXES WE ALREADY PAY FOR WATER continue to run the system as it is.