You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Water charges were scrapped in the mid-'90s, but what exactly happened?

Boycotts, disconnections, court orders, and shocking by-elections – it was quite the ride for the Rainbow Coalition.

John Bruton Proinsias de Rossa of Democratic Left, Fine Gael Leader John Burton, and Dick Spring of Labour, who presided over the final years of water charges. Photocall Ireland Photocall Ireland

WATER CHARGES ARE nothing new.

In many parts of the country they were the norm until 1997, when they were scrapped after Government faced mounting pressure on the issue.

Now they’re in a strikingly similar situation, with growing public opposition.

Let’s take a quick look back at what happened last time…

Before 1994

Domestic rates were abolished in 1977, replaced later by increases to VAT and Income Tax. In mid-1980s service charges were reintroduced, and attempts were made to start applying water charges again. This was abandoned in Dublin after it was met with some resistance, but went ahead in all other parts of the country.

The division of Dublin into four separate councils on 1 January was seized as another chance to introduce water charges, although not without teething problems.

Fingal and South Dublin both faced abolition by Fianna Fáil Minister Brendan Smith over a delay in submitting their budget estimates. This was centered on the potentially political damaging introduction of water or service charges. After buying time, agreement was reached in February, roughly £75 in Fingal and £80 in South Dublin.

In May, the campaign to contest the charges began in earnest. The Dublin Anti Water Charges Campaign (DAWCC) was up and running, with then Militant Labour councillor, now Socialist Party TD Joe Higgins at the helm. By the end of the summer, councils were reporting a slow rate of payment, but this was dismissed as normal and not the result of a boycott.

JOE HIGGINS Joe Higgins Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland Eamonn Farrell / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

This campaign of opposition gathered steam, and attendance at their meetings began to increase. As councils geared up for their 1995 estimates it looked as though more people than previously thought were boycotting the charges.

Things also began to look shaky elsewhere. In Navan, the council threatened to publish the names of those who hadn’t paid their water charges in Stubbs Gazette.

The issue escalated in November as South Dublin moved to cut off the supplies of those who refused to pay, a move deplored by the Democratic Left and one that prompted the DAWCC to reportedly set up night patrols, to track workers attempting to cut off supplies.

It’s estimated that 900 people had their water supplies disconnected in 1994. There was a £100 re-connection fee.

There was also a change of Government at this time, from Fianna Fáil/Labour to Fine Gael/Labour/Democratic Left.

The year began with a Budget that, in the eyes of DAWCC, failed to address the issue. Some tax concessions were introduced, and were later expanded.

There was mounting unease among the Democratic Left at householders’ supplies being cut off. This led to rumblings of a plan to allow councils to pursue people who didn’t pay the charge through the courts, and this was eventually introduced in legislation.

Disconnection orders

The Bill required the council to notify the household with a clearly defined procedure. An order was required from the District Court before water was cut off. These disconnection orders could not be issued if a waiver on the charges had been agreed, or where it could be proved that the householder was unable to pay due to hardship.

This did nothing to qwuell unrest. DAWCC upped their campaign, and pledged to pay the legal costs of anyone taken to court.

Read: Homeowners told they could win cars and holidays if they paid their water charges >

The numbers involved seemed quite large – a reported 18,000 people in Dún Laoghaire were being issued with final notices at one stage.

By November, the court cases had begun, raising a range of legal issues, and featured sometimes quite large protests by anti-water charges demonstrators. One group of almost 50 cases were thrown out after court ruled that South Dublin had failed to prove the respondents were homeowners, The Irish Times reports, but the council swore to soldier on. The cases rapidly began to clog up the courts.

Hearings of court orders for disconnections were in full swing from mid-January, frequently accompanied by protests outside or inside the court, with cases popping up across the country. The first order was granted for a home in Lusk.

Many of the cases were delayed to due to legal argument over the technicalities of the legislation introduced.

In April, two surveys were published that would have lasting effects on the issue of payment for water services in Ireland – one recommended the installation of water meters, while another estimated that 40% of Dublin’s drinking water was leaking away.

April also gave the Government a big shock. In the Dublin West by-election, the anti-water charges candidate Higgins came strikingly close to taking a seat. Instead, Brian Lenihan Junior took the seat vacated by his late father, by just 370 votes.

Brian Lenihan Junior

Dublin South West saw a striking analogy to this last month, when Socialist Party TD Paul Murphy took a by-election seat.

This was an uncomfortable period for Government. It was facing into an election year with a major issue with water charges that seemingly wasn’t going to go away anytime soon. It was also taking flak over the Residential Property Tax

Towards the end of the year, Dún Laoghaire voted to retain the charge, while South Dublin postponed a vote.

It all came to a head 19 December, when Minister for the Enviroment Brendan Howlin announced that both water and sewage charges would be abolished from 1 January, and Residential Property Tax as well.

To replace water charges, at the time worth roughly £50 million per year, motor tax would be paid to directly to local authorities.

Refuse collect charges remained, and a rise in Stamp Duty was announced.

And that was that. 1997 came and the charges were dropped. Now, a decade later, the Government are in the grips of the same crisis.

Alan Kelly: ‘We’re going to get this right’ >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

48 Comments
    Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Nov 9th 2014, 5:41 PM

Government has pulled the teeth of the councils since then, vesting all the power in unaccountable city and county managers. They might come to regret that.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Nov 9th 2014, 8:23 PM

Why do you think they did it?

Mute Michael O'Kelly
    Favourite Michael O'Kelly
    Nov 10th 2014, 11:54 AM

Sligo would be the best example of that

Mute Fran mcardle
    Favourite Fran mcardle
    Nov 9th 2014, 5:43 PM

FG/Labour get the message the people will not stand for water charges in any form and rightly so. One question I do have is simply this, the €100 allowence that we’re going to be given out of the social welfare budget, who is going to lose out as a result of this? Are they gonna cut services to handicapped kids or stop their medical cards? Maybe take the fuel allowance off the elderly? Actually I’ve more questions? Like how much are they gonna reduce motor tax by if the can successfully bring water charges? Because as stated in this piece we pay a proportion of our car tax to pay for water. Also wasn’t there mention of a raise in vat? And maybe income tax. How much are both of these taxes going to be reduced by?

No prizes for guessing correctly that none of these taxes that apparently now help pay for water will be reduced.

Mute Darren Cowzer
    Favourite Darren Cowzer
    Nov 9th 2014, 6:51 PM

The reality is that FG want to reduce the % of Total taxes that their voters pay, a 2% cut in taxes on someone earning 100,000 + per year will leave that person 2,000 better off, after a 500 euro water tax bill – they will still be 1,500 euro better off, meanwhile Joe soap on the minimum wage will be 500 euro less well off – Transfer of wealth from the poor to the rich is what this is ! How can Labour support this ???

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Nov 9th 2014, 7:14 PM

It also means those who use more pay more same as electricity or gas don’t hear you complaining about those. In addition where a your figures from as they haven’t been announced

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Nov 9th 2014, 7:56 PM

No it doesn’t Sean, if this sham is allowed to continue the price of water will increase if we don’t use enough,
    Let’s not try to mislead people under the banner of water conservation

Mute Oliver Moran
    Favourite Oliver Moran
    Nov 9th 2014, 11:44 PM

Not entirely Seán.

While it is possible to **squander** water there are few example of how you can be **extravagant** with water.

For example, you might be very rich and have 8 toilets in your house. But if there’s only two of you you’re still only going to flush them as often as a couple who have only one between them.

On the other hand, you can be extravagant with electricity. You can have a bigger TV, lots of lights, large house to heat, etc.

So while electricity usage rises with wealth, everyone tends to use a similar amount of water, no matter your ability to pay.

Additionally, you have choice over electricity. If electric heating is too expensive, you can use gas, or wood, oil, or wear more clothes. If you can’t afford electricity, you can decide to watch less TV, go to bed when it gets dark, or just go without it entirely. It is entirely possible to live your life without electricity (or with a minimal). Believe it or not people did so for millions of years.

But no matter what, you need water. The UN say that a human being needs 50 litres of water per day in order to prepare meals and to have enough for personal hygiene. There is no other substitute. It’s water. Or you die of dehydration or disease.

Now, that’s no reason why you may not have to pay for water. But it is a good reason why water should not be compared to other commodities. Especially something a recent as electricity.

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Nov 9th 2014, 5:36 PM

Water charges will also be scrapped again very soon. I’m paying 2/3 times for the same thing.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Nov 9th 2014, 5:44 PM

I like most reason minded people belive these charges are finished in their current for, the danger being that Fine Gael being the arrogant,stubborn, ignorant shower that they are will realise that it’s too late to save themselves and say “feck it” we won’t be elected either way so we may as well force them through, then we’re left with the problem of what to do when they are voted out..

Mute Paul Mark
    Favourite Paul Mark
    Nov 9th 2014, 5:36 PM

Double taxation as these are still in place and will never be reduced

Mute ITS Student
    Favourite ITS Student
    Nov 10th 2014, 12:35 PM

Broadcasting Tax is one to watch out for, also. The Government is refusing to address the rampant tax avoidance by corporations here. If a minimum of 12.5% corporation tax was charged, people wouldn’t be clobbered with indirect taxes.

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Nov 9th 2014, 5:35 PM

Nice to see Joan Burton getting woman of the year ,
    Suppose Enda Kenny will be man at the rear now??

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Nov 9th 2014, 5:57 PM

They will divide and conquer with two tier charges. That’s worrying

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Favourite Snorre Sturleson
    Nov 9th 2014, 6:56 PM

Aras awaits the winner wink wink

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 9th 2014, 8:58 PM

Enid is rear of the year. As in assh*le!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 9th 2014, 6:21 PM

Every water meter fitted is a vote against F.F. and F.G. and Labour -

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Nov 9th 2014, 7:21 PM

Would fg ff or labour have the neck to go to people’s homes looking for votes roll onn elections

Mute M-n J Baxter
    Favourite M-n J Baxter
    Jan 22nd 2016, 8:56 PM

Jerry buttimer at my doorstep tonight and said we need to pay for water and when I mentioned about the 90′s and car tax and vat increase , he said, on my doorstep that was not true…ie I am a liar .Where is the paperwork about this so I can show to the next gombeen.

Mute M-n J Baxter
    Favourite M-n J Baxter
    Jan 22nd 2016, 9:06 PM

Also I mentioned how I wasn’t giving a labour a vote , and there was a huge silence , Jerry said nada ,FG are going to sell them down the swannee and blame them for all the unpopular taxes etc..Just like the green s and FF and the libdems in the UK Scapegoat r us

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Nov 9th 2014, 5:35 PM

Nice article there NR.

Mute Corinna Dissident Mc Callig
    Favourite Corinna Dissident Mc Callig
    Nov 9th 2014, 6:41 PM

It was beat b4 and will be beat again irish water is a scam ill never sign up to or pay into time for the government to scrap it or we the people will scrap the government roll on the 10th of December

Mute Larry Dunne
    Favourite Larry Dunne
    Nov 9th 2014, 7:08 PM

10-12-14

Power to the people

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Nov 9th 2014, 7:57 PM

Good man Larry
    Consistent as always

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 9th 2014, 9:32 PM

Larry is rock solid – my favourite poster !

Mute Inntalitarian
    Favourite Inntalitarian
    Nov 9th 2014, 5:52 PM

“Proinsias de Rossa of Democratic Left, Fine Gael Leader John Burton, and Dick Spring of Labour, who presided over the final years of water charges.”

Is this John Burton character a relative of Joan?

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Nov 9th 2014, 6:15 PM

John Bruton not Burton. He’s a brother of Richard Bruton the current Minister for Jobs and he is infamous for attempting to put VAT on children’s shoes, an act that brought down the government of the day but that of course was when Labour had some pretence of representing the working class.

Mute Inntalitarian
    Favourite Inntalitarian
    Nov 9th 2014, 6:43 PM

I’m well aware who John Bruton is, Martin. I’m asking about the John Burton mentioned in the article.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Nov 9th 2014, 7:06 PM

You really need to be clear when you’re being sarcastic, some of us would recognise the people in the photo without needing to read the caption.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 9th 2014, 6:20 PM

(In my Michael Noonan voice!)
    ahhh yeeas aren’t they the three cowboys that were in government when all these new dossier claims were going on – lucky them getting out and two of them working in the banking sector now – bruty and springy – great bankers , great bankers ……

Mute BERTIE
    Favourite BERTIE
    Nov 9th 2014, 8:02 PM

NO WAY WE WONT PAY

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 9th 2014, 9:33 PM

Bertie – this is not a site that demands back taxes ….. l.o.l.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Nov 10th 2014, 3:03 PM

Speak for yourself, I will pay.

Mute Fiona Meehan Togher
    Favourite Fiona Meehan Togher
    Nov 10th 2014, 2:07 AM

If you use below a certain amount of electricity you end up paying a higher rate per unit – I’m speaking from experience & am currently being penalised for conserving electricity via a range of different systems in my house…so much for polluter pays principle -would bet my life the same will occur with water charges in time to come. Conservation is not the real reason behind these charges…

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Nov 9th 2014, 5:45 PM

To this say in it was paid for twice how was it paid for before motor tax was increased

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Nov 9th 2014, 5:56 PM

It was paid for from household rates the forerunner of LPT for which you get F.A. services. FF used rates as a vote catcher in the 1977 GE and increased VAT and motor tax to take up the slack.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Nov 9th 2014, 5:39 PM

VAT was not increased in 1977. It went from 20% to 25% in 1980 and even higher a few years later.

Mute ITS Student
    Favourite ITS Student
    Nov 10th 2014, 12:19 PM

VAT was increased to 35% during that period.

Mute Natalie May
    Favourite Natalie May
    Nov 10th 2014, 7:27 AM

Great article. Referendum poll please journal. Do what the other media outlets are too biased to do

Mute ITS Student
    Favourite ITS Student
    Nov 10th 2014, 12:16 PM

Fianna Fail lackey’s want a €1,000 a year ‘site value tax’ imposed on households in addition to a €400 water tax. Don’t vote these clowns back in during 2016. They haven’t committed to re-abolishing these stupid indirect taxes.

Mute Kate Bandia Garry
    Favourite Kate Bandia Garry
    Nov 15th 2014, 1:36 PM

’1997 came and the charges were dropped. Now, a decade later, ….’
    mmmmm did I just wake up in the wrong year????

Mute Ivor McNamara
    Favourite Ivor McNamara
    Nov 11th 2014, 5:16 PM

We’re oft to blame and this is too much proved, that with devotion’s visage and pious action we do sugar o’er the devil himself