You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/UnderTheSea

Dublin needs another 200 swimming pools-worth of water PER DAY

The beleaguered utility is planning a new water source for the Eastern and Midlands Region.

A NEW REPORT from Irish Water concludes that another 215 million litres worth of water in excess of current capacity will be needed by 2050, to meet demand.

It’s a conservative estimate, the semi-state contends.

“The report concludes that, even after fully using the available water supply from the existing sources, and even with a parallel drive on water conservation and leakage control, there will still be significant additional water required,” a statement said.

(There’s around a million litres of water in your average 50-metre swimming pool).

The beleaguered semi-state’s ‘Need Report’ for the proposed new project is being published online this morning.

“The report identifies that projected demand for water in Dublin alone is expected to increase by over 50% by 2050,” the utility maintains.

This is well beyond the capacity of the existing sources which serve the region.

It concludes that a new water supply source is needed for the Eastern and Midlands Region.

“Improvements to and maintenance of the existing water supply system” will not meet the level of predicted need set out in the report, Irish Water says.

A new source must be developed and utilised.

Irish Water took over responsibility for the project (which has planned since 2004) from Dublin City Council at the start of last year.

An eight-week public consultation process will now get under way. Details on how to give feedback are available to view at the utility’s website.

Read: Here’s why the water protesters were freed from prison…

Read: Row between Irish Water and meter installers could be settled in court, says Tánaiste

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

105 Comments
    Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Jun 4th 2022, 12:55 AM

Passing down the licence between families? It’s driving a Taxi, not feckin Downton Abbey. The situation of Taxis being independent is a mess, economically, socially, environmentally. The principle is no different to letting any private individual with a bus take up working a few routes, but only when he feels like it of course. Like many other Countries, the Taxi service should be a company/ies providing a contract to the City or State, running the vehicles, managing the peaks and troughs of demand and also employing drivers with rosters to match, while also ensuring a set wage, pension and benefits etc. This would also mean a better and uniform standard of vehicle and a earlier switch to an electric fleet, when they can be corporately financed.

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Jun 4th 2022, 3:12 AM

@Paul Gorry: No solutions then Paul is it? Just some bűllshyt. Is that your phone going? Could be a fare.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 4th 2022, 3:55 AM

@Eoin Roche: Absolutely solutions needed eoin but give over with your i know what’s best solutions. And yer little comment at the end is very condescending and so far from the truth.Ye will definitely get a good few likes for that one as you know. But to be honest you’re just a Ryan lover eoin with no actual input in the here and now.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Mick Jacobs
    Favourite Mick Jacobs
    Jun 4th 2022, 4:11 AM

@Paul Gorry: I remember in the past when Taxi plates were the god given rights of the owner – you can JUST GO AND …….

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 4th 2022, 4:19 AM

@Mick Jacobs: mick I remember in the past when i got a slap for wetting the bed. Anyway back in the real world 2022!!

Mute Daniel Andrews
    Favourite Daniel Andrews
    Jun 4th 2022, 7:50 AM

@Paul Gorry: you wouldn’t happen to be a taxi driver by any chance??

Mute james s
    Favourite james s
    Jun 4th 2022, 8:21 AM

@Mick Jacobs: You’re going back over 20 years ago, change the record.

Mute Richard Fennessy
    Favourite Richard Fennessy
    Jun 4th 2022, 10:16 AM

@Eoin Roche: good ideas but they did pay for there taxis and should be able to sell them r pass them down r even gift them. I’m leaving industry very shortly over 10 year rule I even got a free 1 hear extension but no way I can afford even a 17 reg car I would love to be able to sell my plate r even gift it rather then see it go dead I did pay for it
    Ps my car is immaculate and had 180000km on it.

Mute Carl Cotter
    Favourite Carl Cotter
    Jun 4th 2022, 1:09 PM

@Eoin Roche: Brilliant!The average wage in Dublin is €900 a week(for 40 hours).Add in 30 days holidays and a fully funded pension and a swish eleccy vehicle under my bum.
    Where can I sign up for this huge pay rise?
    Before I go ,you are prepared for fares double what they are now?

Mute Paul Hedderman
    Favourite Paul Hedderman
    Jun 4th 2022, 1:28 PM

@Carl Cotter: where are these jobs that get 30 days holidays and a fully funded pension?!?!

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jun 4th 2022, 1:41 PM

@Paul Hedderman: I don’t know about the pension but the vast majority of workers are entitled and get 30 days or equivalent, depending on shifts, of 30 days. When you include 20 days entitlement annual leave plus 10 days of bank holidays, neither of which taxi drivers are paid for by anybody else.

Mute Carl Cotter
    Favourite Carl Cotter
    Jun 4th 2022, 2:07 PM

@Paul Hedderman: Every job gets 30 days holidays.
    The pension is Eoin’s idea.

Mute Lou
    Favourite Lou
    Jun 4th 2022, 10:38 PM

@Daniel Andrews: nothing wrong with that if he is

Mute Lou
    Favourite Lou
    Jun 4th 2022, 10:43 PM

@Eoin Roche: I take it from your comments you never drove a taxi? So what if licences passed through what a silly comment. These drivers have struggled to put food on table for years, don’t listen to that one driver that’s making 100s a day it’s not true believe me. It has to be one of the hardest jobs to be in.
    It costs the driver 1000s to keep nice cars, insurance, suitability tests & licenses etc..
    Don’t even get me started on the abuse they take and people running off without paying.

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Jun 5th 2022, 12:29 AM

@Carl Cotter: Every job does in its bottom get 30 days holidays. Statutory minimum is 20 days. You’re not understanding at all what the economies of scale are here. If you took all Taxis under one or two umbrella companies, it would save millions in the current duplication of practically every Taxi being a separately operated business. That’s so inefficient its insane! At the moment how much of Taxi drivers’s time is spent idling, joining long queues to wait for 15 mins of work every few hours, competing with each other. If the Taxi operation was centrally controlled, then demand management could optimise the service and the resources, rather than it being completely random as it is now. Only 29% of Taxis going out on the weekend nights? Mental.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 5th 2022, 1:35 AM

@Eoin Roche: Good man eoin spoken like a true politician. Not once have you mentioned the problems a driver faces on the mean streets of this country,and that says a lot about you eoin.

Mute Mick Maher
    Favourite Mick Maher
    Jun 4th 2022, 2:14 AM

Think maybe it’s time to allow Uber into the market

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Jun 4th 2022, 2:28 AM

@Mick Maher: Uber is shoddy. Once you use Grab you never go back.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 4th 2022, 2:40 AM

@Mick Maher: Uber is already in the market albeit with a licenced driver which is proper order. To drive for uber you have to be over 20 with a current driving license. Sounds very safe don’t it??

Mute Eoin Roche
    Favourite Eoin Roche
    Jun 4th 2022, 3:15 AM

@Paul Gorry: Perfectly safe. Using Über to get around cities with actual deregulation and competition is a pleasure. Immaculate cars, excellent drivers, totally reliable and predictable service, because of the ratings.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Jun 4th 2022, 4:02 AM

@Eoin Roche: perfectly safe, yer having a laugh. Because of the ratings?You do realise uber drivers are put off the platform for bad ratings albeit they did nothing wrong, and the customer was having a bad hair day. Disgusting practice from a disgusting organisation. Just Google it eoin. Nuff said.

Mute Jimmy Chickens
    Favourite Jimmy Chickens
    Jun 4th 2022, 7:03 AM

@Paul Gorry: you seem very grumpy Paul. Were you waiting for a taxi by any chance? I’ve used Uber over a 100 times when I lived in London, I have to say it was fantastic and I didn’t have 1 bad experience. I think it would help get people home from a night out and off the streets where they may be left vulnerable. If it’s not for you then don’t use it, use a regular taxi, you have a choice.

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Jun 4th 2022, 7:19 AM

@Paul Gorry:

“Google it” lol

Mute Joe Mcsweeney
    Favourite Joe Mcsweeney
    Jun 4th 2022, 10:17 AM

@Jimmy Chickens: Uber in London use private hire vehicles similar to Hackneys here. Not private cars.

Mute SJF
    Favourite SJF
    Jun 4th 2022, 1:34 PM

@Eoin Roche: I think maybe the people on here whinging about Uber have never actually used it – I’ve used it, like you, several times a week when I lived in New Zealand, Australia and London – I’ve also used it on trips to New York and around the UK – I’ve never had any issue and apart from the rare surge pricing on things like public holidays it’s significantly cheaper than taxis

Mute Carl Cotter
    Favourite Carl Cotter
    Jun 4th 2022, 2:09 PM

@SJF: Uber isn’t any cheaper than black cabs in London any more.They are significantly more expensive with surge pricing.

Mute Sohoma Roanie
    Favourite Sohoma Roanie
    Jun 4th 2022, 4:44 AM

I don’t blame the taxi drivers for not wanting to take people home who are pissed out of the heads at 2 in the morning. It might be a good thing if it forces people to stop overdoing it at the pubs. Also with everything going on in the world (Ukraine), I think the word ‘crisis’ is a bit over the top.

Mute Sean McCarthy
    Favourite Sean McCarthy
    Jun 4th 2022, 7:45 AM

@Sohoma Roanie: I agree, I think a bit of context is needed here. It’s bit of a first world problem.

Mute Daniel Andrews
    Favourite Daniel Andrews
    Jun 4th 2022, 7:52 AM

@Sean McCarthy: so your saying being stuck in a dangerous city full of ju5kie3 at night time with little to no public or private transport home is not a problem?

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Jun 4th 2022, 4:51 AM

What a load of … if the drivers are not working the busy nights it is due to them making the decision not to work those nights as they don’t want to be dealing with the mess that is a Friday or Saturday night in all towns and city’s particularly Dublin. Suggestions of an increase in fares is just looking to gouge the people that are out with no options. As long as drivers are setting own hours a large amount of them will not work the Friday and Saturday nights, and in fairness given the cr@p they have to deal with who can blame them.

Mute Carol Conway
    Favourite Carol Conway
    Jun 4th 2022, 6:10 AM

Ah bless. Lads, the recession was a crisis. The lack of hospital beds is a crisis. The lack of affordable housing nad sharp increase in homelessness is. A crisi. This is an inconvenience. You won’t die if you can’t go out and binge drink yourself numb every weekend.

Mute Mick Barrett
    Favourite Mick Barrett
    Jun 4th 2022, 12:08 PM

As a taxi driver who has works nights for 20 years I am genuinely saying it since the lock down restrictions lifted in January The late night Behaviour and the total lack of any respect either for driver or the taxi itself has hit a all time high . From kicking out at taxi doors on Camden st who already have a passenger on board to puking in cab or peeing on back seats opening donor kebabs in the back and soiling the cab or sneaking in full pints and then spilling it all over the place the list goes on and on . Taxi drivers work the following day and need there vehicles in tact in order to do so , Taxi drivers week does not just consist of the busy 3 hour period Friday and Saturday night and then having to spend 2 days off the road trying to get there car professionally cleaned and sanatized after someone pees through the back seats . It’s a 2 way street lads and ladies give and have some respect and you will get it back and may easily find a lot more taxis back working nights again . I can’t make this post any clearer and a lot of you see this behaviour going on every Friday and Saturday night . Finally taxi drivers are well aware the vast majority of the general public are decent people on a night out and never give or cause trouble simply just want to get home but the big problem is currently driving through the war zone to get those people on board .
    Cheers and Thanks for reading

Mute Lou
    Favourite Lou
    Jun 4th 2022, 10:40 PM

@Mick Barrett: well said Mick

Mute royalfalcon
    Favourite royalfalcon
    Jun 4th 2022, 6:39 AM

just increase late night buses and let luas runs for the weekends until morning .

Mute Lisa Jones
    Favourite Lisa Jones
    Jun 4th 2022, 9:31 AM

@royalfalcon: No Luas that is of any use to anyone living on the Northside of Dublin.

Mute The Grand Nagus
    Favourite The Grand Nagus
    Jun 4th 2022, 9:48 AM

@Lisa Jones:
    Does it not to Broombridge

Mute John O Keeffe
    Favourite John O Keeffe
    Jun 4th 2022, 7:18 AM

Those effin taxis must be responsible for the chaos at the airport, lack of hospital beds , hotel prices , lack of housing and the war in Ukraine. Its not a taxi crisis its just little old Ireland

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 4th 2022, 6:57 AM

Just make it part of the requirements to hold a licence you must work at least a Friday and Saturday once a month to have a taxi licence. You could also issue weekend only licences. Do both. If that doesn’t work then consider raising rates.
    Passing down a licence as some sort of serfdom and destiny for a child. It is a likely industry to be automated at least in part in the coming decades and not much of a future

Mute Keith Flood
    Favourite Keith Flood
    Jun 4th 2022, 7:35 AM

@Craic_a_tower: NTA should inject a microchip in to all Taxi drivers to track them and if they don’t work on a Friday and Saturday night they can dial up the 5G gamma rays and eliminate them .
    The truth is that during the pandemic a lot of taxi drivers took up orher jobs because there was effectively no work , some of them haven’t returned to the industry .

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jun 4th 2022, 9:55 AM

@Craic_a_tower: Ah right, so force restrictions on taxi drivers to work at certain times and only consider raising rates if that doesn’t work? So the exact opposite to what we hear landlords calling for in their business all the time? “Let the market dictate”?

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jun 5th 2022, 1:04 AM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: there is RPZ so what are you complaining about?

Mute Derek Moean
    Favourite Derek Moean
    Jun 4th 2022, 9:11 AM

We’re are all the buses Trains and the Trams. I wonder will anybody be getting on to the NTA about NO public transport service. Taxi Bashing again.

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Jun 4th 2022, 7:51 AM

Firstly, not a crisis.
    Secondly, most people DGAF.

Mute Philip Duffy
    Favourite Philip Duffy
    Jun 4th 2022, 5:16 PM

I can see why Taxi Drivers wouldn’t want to work weekend nights. I’m sure like the rest of us, they can do without being abused and having their cars destroyed by drunks.

Mute Tacita O'Copa
    Favourite Tacita O'Copa
    Jun 4th 2022, 2:23 PM

Increase the number of buses and trams to accommodate the demand which is clearly pressing.

Provide nightly services for later hours diminishing to zero as the as the night wears on.

Provide two security guards per bus or tram to encourage order among the nocturnally disinhibited. Increase fares to pay for them; it would still be much cheaper than taxis.

Analyse when and where the demand is present to design new relevant service timetables. Monitor demand live also to deal with any unforeseen surges.

Mass public transport such as buses or trams is far more environmentally sound than running a mass of individual taxis.

A minutes’ reflection by any half-intelligent person can easily identify how to deal with the night time transport problem – provide more mass transport.

Mute Brendan We Are One Ireland.
    Favourite Brendan We Are One Ireland.
    Jun 4th 2022, 1:19 PM

Maybe if a lot of drivers were not forced off the road by a end of life birthday on a car that has no problem passing an NCT and a suitably test people would have more taxis to get home. Ask the NTA about the thinking behind that.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jun 4th 2022, 1:52 AM

Wont be the colour of the waits before deregulation

Mute Fr Romeo sensini.
    Favourite Fr Romeo sensini.
    Jun 4th 2022, 5:34 AM

Only one solution for that.

Mute Paul Owens
    Favourite Paul Owens
    Jun 4th 2022, 11:35 PM

Nobody wants to work any more,simple,joke of a country,full of poorly educated people earning crazy more and throw in the dole,,,only going to go one way and musk said it,,u been warned