You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Man arrested following fatal Meath car crash released without charge

20-year-old Jillian Thornton died in the two-car collision early on Saturday morning.

jillian Jillian Thornton Facebook Facebook

A MAN IN his 30s who was arrested following a fatal road traffic accident late on Friday evening has been released without charge.

A Garda spokesperson confirmed the man’s release and said that a file is being prepared for the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP).

Gardaí in Ashbourne are investigating the two-car collision which left a woman dead.

She has since been named as 20-year-old Drogheda native Jillian Thornton.

Jillian was fatally injured when the car she was travelling in collided with another vehicle at Waterside Great, Duleek, County Meath on the N2 Dublin-Slane Road at around 10.20pm on Friday night.

The driver of the car, the man in his 30s who was arrested, and a female front seat passenger (also aged 20) were removed to Blanchardstown Hospital with non life-threatening injuries.

waterside The N2 at Waterside Great Google Maps Google Maps

The male driver of the second car, in his late 30s, and a female passenger in her mid 30s were removed to Drogheda Hospital by ambulance. Their injuries were also non life-threatening.

A statement from GSOC said the car was being pursued by gardaí.

The fatal road traffic incident which occurred on the N2 last night was referred to GSOC because the car which crashed was under pursuit by gardaí prior to the incident occurring. GSOC investigators attended the scene. There are parallel investigations underway. GSOC’s investigation will focus primarily on matters relating to the conduct of the Garda pursuit.

Sources told TheJournal.ie that a call was made to gardaí by one of the women in the car.

Read: PAC chairman reveals secret Bewley’s car park meeting with Garda commissioner

Read: Mother to wait 11 months for ‘early intervention’ appointment for daughter with autism

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

18 Comments
    Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Oct 26th 2015, 7:54 AM

Legend

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Oct 26th 2015, 7:40 AM
    Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Oct 26th 2015, 10:04 AM

A small Irish rebel army including it’s womenfolk, beat back a major superpower in 1916. If we had the numbers that are streaming across todays European borders, we could have achieved much more, but then again, today, most of us have gone ‘soft’.

Mute Bernard
    Favourite Bernard
    Oct 26th 2015, 6:52 PM

“Beat back a major superpower”? Nonsense. Ireland was a constituent part of the UK for 116 years, with elected Irish MPs in Westminster. Home Rule was enacted in law. The largest conflict the world had seen was 2 years running with thousands more Irish serving and dying than the “rebels”. The rising had little public support and was crushed. The conspirators were treated no different to those had it occurred in any other city of the UK. Ireland’s path to so called “independence” was hampered, not helped by this and subsequent conflicts. But the revolutionary leaders didn’t want a peaceful transition. Impatient and wanting a “baptism of blood” to legitimise their cause. We’re still struggling with the aftermath today. Then they handed control to men in frocks in Rome. Some independence.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Oct 26th 2015, 7:40 PM

Well Bernard, if you call our great leaders acts’ after 900 years as ‘impatient’, you must be a very laid back individual. I assume that when you’re referring to ‘subsequent conflicts’, that you are including the discrimination of catholics, internment without trial periods, and the shoot to kill policies. Ah sure, a peaceful transition is what the invader meant all along. Oh! and another thing, for some, Ireland was never a part of the UK, in any shape or form, save 9000 years ago by natural landbridge. In case you didn’t cop it, thats what every Irish rebel was fighting against. Was the UK a superpower at the time? Yes it was. And irrespect of what other warmongering was occuring at the time, did we beat her from our shores? To a large extent yes. Was it through violent determination? You bet your life it was. And we’d be still waiting for a peaceful transition only for it. And one other thing. Connolly would turn in his grave. The control wasn’t given to Rome. Rome took it.

Mute Bernard
    Favourite Bernard
    Oct 26th 2015, 10:16 PM

Paul you’re talking hysterical nonsense. Ireland is the nation equivalent of the delinquent child who wants dessert but won’t finish dinner first then has a tanty and shouts “Not fair”. You’re just parroting a nationalist myth that thankfully most have woken up from. Ireland isn’t that unique when compared to the other countries of “these islands” so spare the “we’re so oppressed” tagline. Maybe start by reading a few history books that incorporates the history of all these nations and their place within Europe.

Mute Paul Culligan
    Favourite Paul Culligan
    Oct 27th 2015, 9:38 AM

Now I know youre pulling my chain,…..foreigner.

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Oct 26th 2015, 10:58 AM

Great woman thats why there I an article about her deeds 100 years on and do you think there will be one about the likes of Tap Solny no fecking chance just another android he is .

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Oct 26th 2015, 8:02 AM

Killer gets praise because she is a woman.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Oct 26th 2015, 8:28 AM

Soldier gets praised because she fought for her country. Something that seems alien even repugnant to some political parties and their supporters.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Oct 26th 2015, 8:36 AM

wrong tap freedom fighter gets praise because she was a freedom fighter.

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 26th 2015, 10:14 AM

tap have a coffee and chill

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Oct 26th 2015, 11:33 AM

Margaret, I will enjoy my coffee better knowing that there is no looney about with a rifle aimed at my cup.

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 26th 2015, 11:40 AM

maybe your problem is that you drink too much coffee.

Mute Ray Farrelly
    Favourite Ray Farrelly
    Oct 26th 2015, 11:47 AM

tap why would they aim at your cup when your head is big enough.

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Oct 26th 2015, 1:06 PM

Tap/dermo plenty of killers parading around behind the orange order come your sectarian bigoted marching season.

Mute Pat Connolly
    Favourite Pat Connolly
    Oct 26th 2015, 1:08 PM

loonies aim at cups soldiers aim to kill

Mute Margaret Daly
    Favourite Margaret Daly
    Oct 26th 2015, 3:47 PM

what does an orangemans calender show? January February March March March ..

Mute peter guillam
    Favourite peter guillam
    Oct 26th 2015, 7:16 AM

Needless to say she became a schoolteacher.

Mute John Condon
    Favourite John Condon
    Oct 26th 2015, 12:01 PM

Shame we still don’t have any street named after Tom Clarke. First president of the republic

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Oct 26th 2015, 8:13 AM

Gwynfor Evans and Daniel O’Connell are the type of role models that deserve recognition.

Mute gordon kennedy
    Favourite gordon kennedy
    Oct 26th 2015, 3:26 PM

O Connell murdered a man in a duel…

Mute Sarah Lennon
    Favourite Sarah Lennon
    Oct 26th 2015, 8:11 AM

No connection to 1916 other than Connolly. Oh yeah, tenuous

Mute Rodger 5
    Favourite Rodger 5
    Oct 26th 2015, 11:08 AM

One man’s terrorist is another man’s freedom fighter, impossible to debate with so much emotion relating to 1916.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Oct 26th 2015, 5:44 PM

Women carrying bombs to kill people in Ireland– nothing to be proud of.

Mute gordon kennedy
    Favourite gordon kennedy
    Oct 26th 2015, 9:33 PM

French women in the maquis did the same, should they have the same self loathing tendencies as your good self?..