You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
LOTS OF RAIN followed by cold weather and then more rain is the forecast for the coming days.
Today will be mostly wet around the country. It’s currently raining in parts of Munster and Leinster, with drier weather in Connacht and Ulster.
Dry weather will spread out to the rest of the country as the morning continues and sunny spells will develop, but showers will still persist in places.
Temperatures are a fair bit warmer than they have been recently – with highs of nine to 10 degrees, but it will get colder as the day goes on.
The rain will pick up again tonight, with heavy showers of hail and possibly thunder in some places. The rain will become wintry on higher ground and in lower places in some areas. Lowest temperatures will be zero to four degrees.
The rest of the week
More rain is forecast for the rest of the week – with bouts of intermittent cold and frost.
Wednesday will be much the same as today, with bouts of blustery showers and sunny spells and strong winds.
Winds will ease away into the night and sharp frost will develop in many areas – with lowest temperatures of minus one to plus two degrees.
Thursday won’t be much different – with cold weather mixed with bouts of rain and sunshine.
The weekend should be mostly dry everywhere – but the cold and frost will persist.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
The were 20,000 at the Savita vigil, and that took up just over one side of Merrion Square. The Wednesday march took up 3 sides plus there were over 10,000 more on Nassau street round to College Green who couldn’t got onto the square so they turned back and marched to the GPO.
Sean Macc, Were you out of the country when the protest happened? Well in excess of 100,000 people there. Some estimates at over 130,000? 30k is total rubbish.
Tom – Presumably you know , by virtue of the fact that you were there ?
Well a good friend of mine , a Garda Sergeant friend, on duty on the day there , told me that his Superintendent had admitted to him that “more then a Hundred Thousand were there , between The Merrion Square and O’Connell Bridge areas.
He was more then surprised when Government and RTE guesstimatation later put it at 30-35,000 in attendance.
He is apolitical, but he felt personally, that there was clear Political interference in massaging the figures concerned!
Everyone knows that around 100,000 turned up and that’s 100,000 people that are very upset that they couldn’t walk down as far as the Dail – They’re beginning to wonder why they pay such big taxes for the most expensive politicians in the world and yet can’t get down to see the place and they owning it …
I wonder would anyone miss a YFG bot like yourself if you weren’t around?
You seem kind of sad, petty and looking to irritate people. Perhaps in the new year join a few classes or see a professional that can unravel your little person syndrome.
Dominic slightly over the top but I see your point. Well spotted and clever how you noticed how Enda wraps his hand around his Leo when they are together in public :)
Thats a lie there was at least 150,000 and I mean at least that’s the figure that Denis O Brien and Rte want you to think turned up.. People do not accept these charges the war will truly begin when the bills start coming in the door and it will bring this government down mark my words…
What he’s voicing is the piss taking irish government – I mean trying to make out this is about conserving water when it’s about double taxing and privatisation.
Pay your money to a global South water charity not to this charade.
Meanwhile, this deluded Government are under the impression that having got The Water Bill past An Dail & Senate , that it’s going to be plain sailing?
Well the plain Citizens of Ireland have news for Alan Kelly , Joan & Enda et al , you ain’t seen nothing yet !
Your Fascist ambitions to bleed us dry , will not succeed .
We just cannot wait for The General Election.
Don’t worry middle Ireland when it comes to the actual general election will put SF and the Trotskyists in their place. SF and the Trots just want anarchy. They hope they can climb to power on the wreckage. NO THANKS!
@Charles McDonald, No, our answer to Korea’s Workers Party is our Workers Party. And where did their spawn end up? The Labour Party via DL and The Sindo via RTE where there are still a few.
@analyser: I share your disdain for Sinn Fein etc. I would love to see the government simply have the backbone to bin this water farce and not have to face the prospect of a SF government. Unfortunately, it looks like they don’t have a backbone, or our interests at heart. They have been arrogant, patronising and dishonest. They will be most to blame for a SF government. They still have the opportunity to grow a set, and I live in hope that they do
I don’t think you understand the Left. You are likening left leaning parties to far left communism. It’s about as crazy as saying that slightly right leaning parties are like Nazi’s.
Btw Fine Gael/ Labour rdoe the backside of the wreck that was our country.Under Fine Gael the Left wasn’t given a chance. Its time for the Left to be given a chance even if it is for one term to reform our country from the bottom up.
Actually I don’t believe they want ‘anarchy’ but that’s not the point- you use the word like a loaded gun as a sweeping generalisation, for what? For violence, looting, chaos, as a word to frighten people with, a threat?
‘Anarchy’ isn’t just one thing- you completely oversimplify an entire subject and in doing that undermine language, wisdom and philosophy by your idiotic power-game use of the word. Some systems of anarchy are very sophisticated- for example anarchic syndicalism- and also very ecologically sustainable unlike the current (also fairly anarchic) system of extreme corporatism.
Having had no issue with himself paying metered water charges in the USA for the past 20 years, and in the UK before that, he’s suddenly got an issue with it in Ireland. I hate it when so called Celebs try to ingratiate themselves with us common folk by trying to give us a nice warm feeling by p*ssing in our pockets like this.
In America people pay once for water charges….via pay per use. In Ireland we pay 1.2 billion in various taxes for years now and we are expected to pay per use on top of that, with no extra services for the 1.2 billion saving per year the government will now have?
Bonkers Boganity. Bonkers. I would have no problem paying for water if sustainable jobs were created or affordable healthcare was subsidized for the 1.2 billion. However as it stands you and the people of your ilk and this government can all flip off to America and Britain and pay for the water there.
And, in the US, water is a public utility subject to regulation. A certain amount of revenue must be reinvested in the infrastructure, and most water utilities are owned by municipalities.
But sure look at the state of Boganity. He looks like he was kicked out of a Hell’s Angels crystal meth party that went wrong and a savage fight broke out. Fine one to be lecturing us on things like water…
No Yogi, the intention is not to be paying twice. That’s all a load of bull.
Now, when the don’t want to pay faction don’t pay, Joe taxpayer will have time make up the shortfall. So, the non payers will eventually make this bs statement of double payment actually come true.
Hold on a second I know very wealthy people that are not paying this on principle alone, so I wonder about the whole low pay don’t want to pay rubbish that low lifers like yourself are putting out into the public domain. Okay so say I don’t want to pay for the water charges. That doesn’t mean I don’t want to pay the other 1.2 billion that gets allocated to water in the collective tax base. It just means that I don’t want to pay this other charge when there are other ways to cover the cost of setting Irish water up. It doesn’t mean I suddenly am going to stop paying taxes. Maybe principles are an alien concept to you Tom?
I never asked the government to throw the guts of a billion euro into a new utility company, yet it is my money like yours that is being wasted and not a single pipe in the country is being fixed. Sure weren’t they even advised by Bord Gáis a few months ago not to throw hundreds of millions into installing meters?
Why pay so much for consultancy if you are not going to listen to them?
Watch PravdaRTE try to twist and bury this story.
Jeez some of their staff might have to comeback from their 4 week paid Christmas holidays to see off this attack.
Yogibear in your Christmas stocking I hope you got a copy of the book: “A Short History of Stupid (The decline of reason and why public debate makes us want to scream)” by Bernard Keane & Helen Razor.
You won’t hear a peep out of Michael D, old enough and wise enough not to get involved in a row with the political leadership. Now wouldn’t some folks just love that to happen……
Michael Collins in real life was not the great man what the movies made him out to be. Remember that it was him that forced a civil war on the people of this country instead of trying to reach a settlement with Dev over how it should be governed.
But sure what is Enda Kenny but a celebrity – we don’t know what he thinks , we don’t know what meetings he is having etc. …
He’s a Fine Gael celebrity ….. the law of the land seems to make no difference to him – the fact that Ireland was under no obligation to introduce Water Charges – This is Fine Gael Fianna Fail and Troika law – nothing else.
Good onya Liam.
Fair Fcuks to you!!
Like Harris, O’Toole, Fassbender, Brosnan etc you weren’t afraid to travel to achieve success in your field.
Que Pat PennyBoy, Turdidy, Farcy, Doddo and NiBollock and PravdasRTE’s/ComuiniCrap’s Other Bought out Overpaid Yokel Lackeys to come out in support of Water Charges and Further Austerity.
Neeson pays his water charges, property taxes, state taxes and federal taxes in the US. If he refuses to pay his water charges in America , then I may consider listening to him. He should stick to acting. I note that the Mirror In its quest for a headline , failed to ask him the hard questions!
It’s just not that’s it’s a water charge, it’s the final straw. I have way more issue with USC that 4 years later is still there. We need a new party(s) and a new republic based on the vision of the Leaders of 1916.
Analyser – You too pay for your water and sewage services already !
Presumably you Tax your car , as well as purchasing products that are Vattable ?
Of which 5% of your car tax & 2% of your VAT goes already to raise €1.2Billion – of which the current Government only utilise €850Million towards providing these Services .
Do you ever ask yourself the Question, as to why you wish to pay these Taxes a second time around ???
Presumably you SF einers are unaware of the dire state of many of our sewage/water treatment plants? Many new plants must be built. Are you unaware that thousands of miles of new piping are required.? Presumably you are unaware of the poor quality drinking water in parts of the county? Presumably SFand the Trots don’t want to know about the the huge looming water crisis that will hit the Dublin area by 2019? €20 billion is required to upgrade the system over the next ten years. The alternative is to pay heavy fines to the EU. These are in the pipeline. Did it ever occur to you that the country is STILL BORROWING €9 billion to fund services, pensions et al (down from €18 billion in 2010? SF promises the sun , moon and stars yet in Northern Ireland implements a house tax averaging €1200 .
Everything you said there is true,
But could they not of used all that money to setup Irish water and install the meters to repair the infrastructure and use some of the money they raise from usc.
The usc was supposed to be a temporary tax to pay for local services, which you could include in the supply of water.
We’re being screwed.
Analyser – I see that you are prone to gross exaggeration?
Suddenly it’s now €20Billion from €10Billion to fix the neglected system ?
No comment on the Tax being paid by us all already ?
No mention by you of the mismanaged distribution of the current Tax being collected ?
No mention from you , of there being no need for individual metering ?
You FG Trolls are like trained Bunny Rabbits – can you not think for yourselves – rather then quoting from the same Fascist Manual, on how to control us useless Citizens ?
Analyser – Again the misinformation of FG Trolls – Domestic Water supply continues to be supplied out of general Taxation in The Six Counties .
Do you and your FG / Lab. Government continue to know nothing about what goes on in this part of our Country ?
It’s even more shameful that you continue to try to sell this porkie pie – having been caught out in its regard so often to date ?
An Ciarroch, I’m just wondering could you be specific on how SF would manage to reduce taxes like the water tax, while increasing spending at the same time?
I’m no economist, but from my understanding the government is borrowing to pay the day to day costs of the state.
I note that you failed to refer to the average house tax of €1200 paid by the people of Northern Ireland where SF is in power. 35,000 water meters have been installed in the North. Metering is essential to identify leaks. €2 billion a year is the requirement to upgrade water/sewage plants, put down thousands of miles of new piping, to sort out pollution of our rivers and seas, to clean up drinking water and to prevent a huge crisis in the Dublin area. You call me an FG troll. Sure you are a SF supporter who almost lives on this site judging by the numbers of your posts. There is a hard core of Sinn Feiners and Trots who seek to take over the comment sections here and on other sites as well. You people fear real debate . By the way EU fines will soften the coughs very quickly if progress is not made on water/sewage. Wait until real water shortages hit Dublin if progress is not made! Thats my final post on the issue. There is more to life! Happy New Year to you!
Why was this allow to happen? Was it by accident? Billions were spent on motorways & every vanity project you can think of but meanwhile the water & sewerage infrastructure was allowed to deteriorate to this extent. Are you telling us this was all by chance? None of the governments in the last 25 years saw this coming? Or would it be they thought that this would be a great big money spinner like Telecom?
Privatisation is the real issue here. A referendum to keep it in the hands of the people would kill most of the protest over night but will they do it? Will they, feck!
David – Why don’t you read my existing contributions?
You and I , already pay for our water and sewage , through 2% of VAT & 5% of car taxes .
Why doesn’t Government spend this existing fund to fix the leaks , instead of huge payoffs to Denis O’Brien’s Companies, as well as huge salaries for this overstaffed , overpaid Quango ?
I disagree with you about paying for water via tax. My parents paid their local water group for water, and pay for their own septic tank. I would say that many in Kerry are the same – paying for their water and sewerage themselves, while paying their taxes for the city folk.
Apart from that, you don’t address my question, how do you cut taxes, and increase spending? I would love it to be true, but I can’t work out the maths.
Jason, no, that wouldn’t have helped long term. A company capable of borrowing without leaving the nation liable for the loan was needed (off balance – horrible term but it’s actually what happens) that’s why IW was set up. Local Authorities couldn’t do it.
Leak is the wrong term. It should say unaccounted for water. Like those supplies that have unauthorised connections off them. Looking for three leak can be narrowed by meters, it certainly will help homeowners identify if the problem is on their end side of the stop cock.
Jesus Christ Kerryman, when we start paying, the part of our taxes you’re on about won’t go towards water anymore. It’ll be freed up for other spending.
He pays in excess of $1,000 per annum for water charges in New York. The hypocrisy of the super rich workers in the film industry can be breathtaking. He is also from Northern Ireland.
Tap Solny – My Wife being a proud Belfast person has her Irish Passport- just as the vast number of Irish people do in Ireland !
Liam Neeson quite probably has retained his Irish Passport too .
You need to brush up on Irish Law and Citizens entitlements a chara ?
I agree it’s not a god argument. They pay water charges in the UK yet get virtually free GP care, free school books , school meals etc…can’t even get proper dental check ups here anymore.
I’m more in favour of healthcare being a universal right than free water for all.
Liam didn’t seem to have a problem with tens of millions going uninsured in the US, but feels he should comment on people paying for the water they use.
David, stop regurgitating your partys spin. there is no ‘free water’ in Ireland. Everybody who buys anything with VAT as part of its price i.e. all of us, contribute to the cost of water.
I’m not in any party, and I’m well aware that we all pay for water (not enough however – look at the quality/quantity issues).
I’ve never heard Liam address the deaths, or bankrupt homes causes by the US health system. I am unaware of anyone in ireland bankrupt by paying for water (via VAT, or any other tax). I am aware of boil notices for water because of lack of investment in water treatment.
If the Govt didn’t reverse the water charges when a million people took to the streets over a few days from Oct – Dec they’re hardly going to listen to the Hollywood ramblings of the bloke that played Mick Collins.
Considerably less than what you said protested. Many people have to provide their own water and septic tanks with no subsidy from the government. Privatisation is a total red herring as no sane private business would buy irish water, a company designed never to make any money. No punitive action allowed against people who don’t pay the water bill. The whole thing is a mess.
Donal true many people have to drill and maintain their own wells around the country. The whole water system is as we speak fractured but this will not always be the case. Irish Water will use our taxes and money from the charges to bring up the quality of the water supply across the country, and then it will no doubt be sold or partially privatized in order for the state to recoup most of its investment in the company.
This is a real danger for us the consumer. I say consumer because water is now a product just like electricity, gas, oil etc and it is going to rise and rise and rise and rise as a new commodity. Our constitution just about protects people in terms of the provision of water…but this government is undermining the constitution and doing everything in its power to avoid triggering a referendum. Support them if you want but there is now 1.2billion of a hole in the tax we payed for water each year. We will get no extra services, no jobs no nothing and it is madness. We need jobs that bring people into the thresholds where tax is significant or we are sidestepping the whole idea of a recovery and pushing ourselves towards a fragile future, where people go from poor to working poor. Charges like this just add to it.
Due to thejournal’s filters, I have replaced a certain word with duck. Duck enda Kenny and duck the government and duck every c!@t who is vying to take over because they are liars just Like their predecessors in the duckin boys club we call the dail. Duck them all for making me feel like I have zero prospects in life in this country, duck them for makig me feel like I may have no choice but to abandon those I love to move and try make something of myself, duck them for thinking it’s ok to labour me with the debts of fat cats and gangsters who continue to grease their slimey pockets, duck them for ever trying to make me believe that any of this is my fault, duck them for claiming we once had good times because I was never privvy to them. Duck them for their lies, duck them for their greed, duck them for their stupidy, duck them for their lack of courage, duck them for having zero empathy, duck them for making us feel like crap, duck them for making a total mess of everything, duck them for ducking us.
Mark ,chris a few others here are obvious fg supporters and wouldnt know what patriotism was if it bit them in the arse at least there are some living abroad who remember their roots and are willing to use their influence to stand up for the Irish people ..Shame on our government that cant do that for its own people and shame onyou people who support that .It’s easy to spot the Fg supporters by their arrogance talking about people should be able to afford the charges but ignoring the fact that THEY SHOULD NOT
What is clear from the comments here is that FG and its trolls dont like anyone who speaks the truth about these water charges. Liam Neeson is a public figure who commands a high profile, people listen and take interest in what he has to say, especialy when it concerns his opinion of this country. The stick used to beat him with is that he is from Nth.Ireland and therefore has right to comment. At the same time another person from Nth Ireland was welcomed with open arms and got huge support from the FG trolls. Ms.Cahill ring a bell? They just dont like it when they are faced with the truth of this water rip off.
Spot on Dave.
Hitler youth
Ohh Sorry I mean’t to say FG Youth are out en mass mud slinging today.
Like a bunch of peasant ants whose Queen has been threatened.
amos brearly doesn’t sound Irish to me but Liam Neeson does & his mammy was from Waterford. Now why don’t you take yourself back to Emmerdale or Royston Vasey and keep out of Irish politics. This is a local forum for local people.
He ran a pub in England did Amos ….
What were it called again , now let me see….
The Woolbag ? no , ’tweren’t….. the Woolbag ?………………………. The Woolpack !!!….. It were , that were it be called – The Woolpack – a fine English establishment it were too…
Man not even from this jurisdiction (from one where there are water charges) living in one of the most expensive cities in the world (where he pays big water charges) is not coming back due to the fact that he’ll be charged a few euro a week, much less than he is charged in New York (or Ballymena), for water.
Don’t hurry back Liam. Our average national IQ couldn’t take the hit.
“Man not even from this jurisdiction (from one where there are water charges)”
There’s no water charges in the north. Additionally – he’s an Irish citizen who holds an Irish passport who spent part of his life living in Dublin. But sure no, he’s not within his rights to offer his opinion in the current state of affairs in Ireland. That would be crazy.
“iving in one of the most expensive cities in the world (where he pays big water charges)”
He’s not charged twice for them.
“Don’t hurry back Liam. Our average national IQ couldn’t take the hit.”
He studied physics and computer science in University. Hardly a choice-topic for those below average IQ.
Seán Alan probably won’t get back to you because Alan is a witless fool. He probably won’t reply to you either because you are making sense. He is a waste of a human being that Alan fellow/woman.
We didn’t pay the household charge, right up until the point where the government stole it from our income at source.
Would that be classified as paying or being mugged?
Can’t you just imagine Enda and the gang quaking now that Liam has waded in. The likes of Liam Neeson should butt out instead of spouting from it !
They must have been stuck to sell a few newspapers.
People like u are why this country will forever remain in the dark ages with the government having a stranglehold on us. The more u focus on inter county, country or border rivalries the less focus u can give to actual shit that matters. And I say fair play to liam because, what he is really doing to drawing a great big spotlight onto what is happening here so that this government can be shamed on a global scale which is the ultimate fear of this government who give priorities to keeping up appearances internationally.
He has a Irish passport, was born on the island of Ireland, was based in Dublin for most of his early acting career and worked for Guinness packing pallets.
He’s hardly Indian now is he ?
Since 1997 2% PAYE and 5% of road tax has been allocated for water charges. So every man woman and child is already paying for water. This is why Ireland was given an exemption by the EU. It is TROIKA why is demanding the charges….. to pay off bankers. Then they will privatise water …… giving more money to bankers. Time to wake up people, and see the big picture and not just the jigsaw piece the government has us concentrating on
Wish people traitor’s like Amos and Andrew would f-off to spain with their xboxes bought by the sweat of the Irish …and I would welcome Irish people living abroad like Liam …in case you hadnt noticed you ignorent pigs their are two identities living up the north of IRELAND !!! And the likes of Russle would be welcome here anytime because by vertue of the fact that he is standing up for the Irish he’s more Irish than anyone in FG or Labour ,the can all go and f@#k off to spain and pick their noses for all I care…hate traitor.
Make 2015 the year our own finest songwriter/artist-currently ignored by mainstream media- becomes renowned for his beautiful music and lyrics: http://youtu.be/pqs7UQxkGbM
If you like it, please share.!
Deliveroo and Klarna: Debt advisor Mabs urges people not to 'eat now, pay later'
3 hrs ago
all-ireland round robins
Peter Harte sensational two-pointer helps kick Tyrone to victory over Donegal
5 hrs ago
Kerry
Tributes paid to 18-year-old Luke Silles who has died following a swimming accident
10 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 197 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 137 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 177 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 139 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 101 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 102 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 47 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 43 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 161 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 73 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 96 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 102 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 45 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 60 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 29 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 112 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 115 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 84 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 63 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 107 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 90 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say