You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Storm Frank earlier this year: Met Éireann have issued status yellow wind and rainfall warnings. Rollingnews.ie
Weather Warning
Be careful out there - Met Éireann has warned of heavy showers, thunder and spot flooding
A deep Atlantic depression is approaching from the southwest and will generate unseasonably strong winds, affecting southern counties with squalls of 80 or 90kmh and heavy thundery rain possible.
1.20pm, 20 Aug 2016
MET ÉIREANN HAS issued status yellow weather warnings for the south of the country, with heavy wind and rain expected today and tomorrow.
A yellow wind warning is also in place for counties Wexford, Clare, Cork, Kerry and Waterford until 6pm today.
Met Éireann said a deep Atlantic depression is approaching from the southwest and will generate unseasonably strong winds, affecting southern counties with squalls of 80 or 90kmh and heavy thundery rain possible.
A status yellow rainfall warning is also in place for much of Saturday in Co Clare and Co Kerry – where a total of 30-50mm of rain is predicted to fall amid.
Widespread heavy showers are expected for most of Saturday across much of the country with a risk of thunder and spot flooding. Highest temperatures of 16-18 degrees.
Good sunshine
Showers will continue into tonight but will become lighter and well scattered overnight.
Temperatures overnight will be around 11-14 degrees.
Many areas in the north of the country will be dry on Sunday morning but rain is expected to spread from Munster by early afternoon, with temperatures of 16-19 degrees.
The sun will make a welcome return on Monday with good sunshine in many places in the afternoon, although light breezes and one or two showers are still forecast.
Met Éireann has also issued a potato blight warning which is expected to last until 7pm on Thursday.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
I’m 40 and I don’t eat any dairy or meat.. Just some fish and guananteed I’m healthier than most of the morans that slag off people for not eating meat..
You Don’t make friends with salad..You Don’t make friends with salad..You Don’t make friends with salad..You Don’t make friends with salad..You Don’t make friends with salad.. and so on and so forth.
@joe indeed i am scarlet – interesting fact – humans are the only ones that blush. (and the only ones that need to) : not my quote. i nicked it. and i’d do it again…. TO THE BEEMOBILE
I ran 2 marathons last month as a vegan. Take a look at Brendan Brazier, Patrick Baboumian or Rich Roll and tell me they are frail and unhealthy. I’m willing to bet there are more unhealthy people with a standard meat eating diet than a vegan one.
I sure hope you ran in paper/cardboard runners or else animals had to die to provide your footwear. Do you shave? Do you have a shower? Do you wear clothes made from natural fibre or synthetic? One way or another, we’re all doing something that either causes animals to be slaughtered to feed, clothe, shoe us etc or we’re doing something that has an impact on their environment.
James that makes no sense. If you want to minimize your impact on the enviornment then stop supporting the breeding and slaughter of billions of animals each year.
Eating produce derived directly from animals causes the killing of animals directly. If you can do without, why wouldn’t you?
Darren, that is not true. My Indian colleagues were discussing this yesterday, they can tell the guys who don’t eat meat by their weight. Vegans have high levels of obesity and health problems, whereas the ones who convert to eating meat products are the skinny healthy guys. In fact, all of the conditions you mention are a result of overeating cooked vegetable oil on non-meat products or general overeating, nothing to do with meat.
@Cosmo, good for you. I eat about 30 eggs a week, steak, pork, beef, and may other types of meat, and I bet I am also healthier than most people. see your point is pointless :P
How do you know if someone thinks they are a supposed nutritionist /dietician or evolutionary biologist —
Put up an article on benefits of vegan diet article and they swarm around comment section like flies to a meat eaters shite!
Ethical reasons are not the only reasons people give up eating animal products. . Have you ever considered your longterm health while your eating red meat and consuming another animals milk that’s ment to bulk up baby calf’s… Is it any wonder that half the men in this Country have Man Boobs…
How about grains, breads, carbohydrates which are a very recent introduction to the human.
Band of Brothers soldiers lived on high fat meats in cans for 6 months at a time. Carbs were only introduced as a, now proven wrong, source of energy.
Doubt caveman on high fat diets no carbs were just lying around with no energy
Milk is full of a cows hormones who are constantly pregnant so they can produce milk.. Those same hormones can cause certain type of cancers like Breast and Testicular because there hormonal cancers.. And those same hormones also cause humans to get fat…
Fun fact: I picked bananas for a while. The plants don’t move, but the new plant sprouts from a root sucker. That’s how they “move” (they are not trees, just a tight bunch of leaf stems which are cut down after the bunch is picked)
@Cosmo Vegans claim feeding the planet a western meat diet is unsustainable. So is feeding the planet an organic plant diet! Also you can use chemicals on organics anyway (just some of the older ones that need to be used in higher quantities!) Also there is no proven link between cancer and milk. Look up the cancer societies website. So your just wildly speculating.
@Cosmo, again you can eat a lot of meat and be very very healthy, as I said above I eat tons of it. Also def have no man boobs (I go to gym a lot). Best of luck with your food choices, I will continue to eat meat. Sure animals could be treated better, lobby the governments to do that, stucking posters up wont really do much.
Because they are of no use to the egg-laying industry. There’s some videos on Youtube if you want to see it for yourself but they can be hard to watch…
They’re not looking to make mince for human consumption. They’re looking to dispose of the unwanted chicks as cheaply as possible. The remains are most likely sold on cheaply for pet food or something. Like Ruaidhrí says there are videos on youtube. Look them up
I’m all for better treatment of animals, and perhaps this campaign might prompt people to be more aware of animal rights, but overall it will not make me go vegan
they could have got the message out without using the term “Rape”. The article and campaign had me interested up until I read that bit and then it was roll eyes time. Not that I object to people using the term however they like, no-one owns it. It’s just OTT.
The reason I’m interested is because I’ve read very convincing papers over the years from scientists adamant that the only way we’ll be able to sustain populations going forward is by many of us turning vegan or vegetarian. 40% of the Indian population are vegetarian now and much of Europe hovers around the 10% and under mark. The US is at close to 15%.
Same. I try to buy ethically sourced produce but it’s not always possible and often quite expensive. People are always going to eat meat but the treatment of farmed animals needs to change.
Animal rights is one thing in a farmers son and I deplore unknown warranted cruelty in the handling and slaughter of animals but year fvcking morons think they can liberate them/ watch them run in the meadows etc, love to see the state the planet would be in with loads of starving animals who were liberated, ( almost all domestic animals with the exception of cats will die without human patronage)
No one, not even the hardcore animal activists, seriously wants to simply open all the gates and let them all run amok. We have all these animals because they are being bred to feed the meat industry. If demand drops then there are less animals bred, a situation that is happening at the moment, slowly but surely.
Stephen…..it was hardcore animal activists in 2010 that released 5000 Mink into the wild in Donegal….I seen a Mink in April this year in my garden, I live in Cork. They have spread far and wide causing untold damage.
Al CA, before mink were ever ‘liberated’ they were escaping in small numbers from the fur farms that brought them in to the country. Ridiculous that the govt at the time allowed farming of an invasive non native species to occur. If anyone should take the blame its the agri minister who gave the licenses
And your response Aidan to the issue being discussed is?
Should the American mink have been brought here for this purpose or should this disgusting industry continue to be licensed in this country? The mink should not have been released but nor should they have been bred OR brought here OR continue to be exploited for the same unnatural purpose.
This shite makes me want to obnoxiously eat a very large burger in front of any vegan I find. Be vegan, that’s cool, whatever. Stop feckin pushing it on everyone. Jesus. They are literally the worst.
It’s like that lovely meme about religion. Religion is like a penis, it’s a perfectly fine thing to have and to be proud of, but when you take it out and shove it in my face, we have a problem. Same goes for veganism.
Do McDonald’s ads make you want to go vegan? They’re far more aggressive about pushing a (demonstrably unhealthy) dietary choice on people than vegans are.
Brilliant analogy Socrates – had me howlin . . . just thinking of all that money spent on build boards, how many vegan Christmas dinners it could have provided for some homeless people, twisted priorities me thinks.
“This shite makes me want to obnoxiously eat a very large burger in front of any vegan I find” Obnoxious indeed. You might compare such a trivial exercise to whipping a slave in the face of an abolitionist during the 1800s. Perceptions change quickly. In a few dozen years it is very likely that meat eating will be in significant decline and the comparison may no longer seem such a stretch.
Lola…I don’t know why the adverts upset you or why you would want to eat a meat burger in front of a vegan…How silly does this sound to you…Those Denny adverts, make me want to obnoxiously eat a falafel wrap in front of Lola. Vegans are the worst? Really …I always thought I was liked by my friends and that..even captained the hurling team for a season..and the football, obviously taking the piss here, but if an ad campaign upsets you so much that you anger eat…I’d maybe start a protest to have them taken down…it just isn’t fair on your good self
What’s wrong with them putting up billboards promoting veganism? There are billboards all over the place telling us to cook a fry up, drink milk, eat eggs, drink our fish gut filled pint of guinness…….mmmmmmm fish guts
“Dad,” said my son, “I don’t know how to break this to you: I love you and I don’t want to hurt you, but I have to be myself and I can’t live a lie any more. I’m gay.”
“Oh my God, thank fook for that, son!” I replied. “I thought you were going to say you were a vegan.”
Maybe so Supernova. But we are producing Dairy at a level that is unsustainable for the world. We continue to mow down forests to create space for agricultural land to farm animals. We use ridiculous amounts of water and feed to bring them to maturity. The amount of crops we use to feed animals could feed the world ten times over, but we use it to breed, and kill animals so we can have a piece of meat multiple times in a day.
My problem with Vegans Stephen is that they tend to pontificate about how crap the rest of us are, in my personal experience. Other than that more power to them. I don’t think I’d like to be a vegan myself though.
Brendan,
Because the animal industry slaughters 50,000,000,000+ animals every year?
Because the animal industry causes the greatest amount of greenhouse gas emissions (one-third of Irish GHG)?
Because the animal industry generates more waste than the human population and the principal cause of sea dead zones?
You don’t think you’d like to stop contributing to these planetary effects?
They “pontificate” because they recognise the torture and murder of 60 billion animals a year. Animals that feel fear and pain and connection to their offspring. It’s horrifying and without exaggeration, a holocaust. When you recognise that then yea there is an inclination to want to shout it from the roof tops but it is not to be self righteous or “better than anyone else”, it is to help animals and stop all of this unnecessary suffering. To be honest it’s a bit of a self sacrifice to campaign for a vegan lifestyle because the abuse, stereotyping and ignorance you face into is absurd sometimes.
I’m going to start a campaign against eating non meats as the pesticides used to produce fruit, vegetables and cereals are wreaking havoc on the ecosystem.
” Unlike humans, dairy cows are forcibly impregnated by a process that, were it done to humans, would be termed rape.”
Maybe somebody should show these vegans how these cows are artificially inseminated as they seem to think that the AI man comes out, takes off his pants,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
OK, so the artificial insemination process begins by inserting one hand in the anus to grab a hold of the cow’s sexual organs internally, then inserting a needle in the vagina, followed by forced impregnation??? Yep, sounds pretty legit to me!
So, other than the use of the term ‘rape’, do you have any other issue with the campaign? Would it be more appealing to you if ‘sexual assault’ was used instead? What are your views on the substantive points raised?
Always totally amazed at how aggressive people get when they are faced with some facts about their life styles and how defensive. Eating animals is not necessary it is not good for the environment, not good for human health and certainly not good for animals. Go educate.
Also… There is no such thing as humane slaughter and if you think there is you are fooling yourself. Maybe these posters might just make some people think of the endless suffering and wanton cruelty that goes on day in and day out just because you like the taste!
Vegan’s have their right to protest. We are top of the food chain for a reason. I like’s my meat, chicken, eggs, milk and ain’t gonna feel bad by vegans that is for sure.
There’s no humane way to slaughter an animal? Really? I suppose when your family dog needs to be put down the vet will just beat it with a shovel till it stops moving? Seeing as there’s no humane way to kill him.
We are? Maybe our tribal ancestors hunted their way to the top but do you think you could survive in the wild? Try telling a wild boar that you are the top of the food chain and see what happens.
Stephen the only way im getting close enough to a wild boar to explain that is by shooting him first and by that time he will have already got the picture
These billboards aren’t exactly a fantastic way of marketing veganism but I am actually surprised at how vicious and crude most of the reactions here are.
The truth is that it is perfectly possible to be healthy and happy on a vegetarian or vegan diet. Eating less meat is good for your health, the environment and of course for the animals. If anyone is curious they can check out some great movies on the issue, all on Netflix etc. Forks Over Knives (health), Cowspiracy (environment) and Earthlings (animals)
Where are the lies? Male chicks are grounded up alive. Calves are taken away from their mothers. The use of the word “rape” isn’t a smart one in my eyes but female cows are hardly hanging around voluntarily.
Early Hominoids put the extra energy they got from eating their meat in to developing larger brains. This development allowed us to become smart enough to create a civilisation which can deliver out of season fruit and vegetables to our shops year round. Creating conditions which allow smug vegans to exist and preach to the rest of us why we shouldn’t eat meat..
Stephen D. While it is true that talk of rape may not be the best claims-making (social movements are seen as claims-makers in society), the word became to be used in the animal advocacy in 1982 when The Animals Film came out. The farmers talked about “rape racks” in relation to breeding pigs and that was reported in the film.
The term is now often used in relation to artificial insemination (there is a huge AI plant in Enfield, Co. Meath).
Hi Mark. I believe that industry has taken steps to encourage people not to use this term in recent years, for obvious reasons – it is a bit of a PR own goal. Similarly, industry tends not to like the term “factory farming” although they originated the term – there are lots of old B&W industry films where the term is used.
Has anybody actually had a look at what this girl is actually talking about? I seen a video about eggs some time back and that was enough for me to stop eating them. The problem being here is that most people would rather remain oblivious to how they food gets on their plates and they attack anyone who tries to highlight these issues. If a person can stomach what they’re eating knowing how it got there then that’s with their own conscience. I fail to see how cruelty to some animals is ok though and not to others. P.S I’m not a vegan.
Evan, most people actually do know how food is produced, especially in Ireland. I take it the video you seen was produced by the anti-meat crowd, with a soft piano and humanising views of the animals. The thing that gets up peoples noises it the vegan preachers who ignorantly assume that people don’t know (like they didn’t know), and will share the same epiphany. When they don’t, they claim that we are ignorant. We’re not, we just eat meat like humans and their ancestors have done for millions of years.
I’m going to start a campaign against eating non meats as the pesticides used to produce fruit, vegetables and cereals are wreaking havoc on the ecosystem.
I can’t agree with you on that point,I don’t think many people truly do know how their food gets on their plates. A sticker on the packaging in the supermarket or a clever marketing campaign with a picture of a friendly farmer standing in his field is not the same as walking around a slaughterhouse or seeing a newborn chick mechanically pulverized. I couldn’t stomach it, nor could a lot of people I know, yet they eat meat unquestioningly and are happier not knowing. Does it matter who makes an expose video once it’s based on facts? The common good rely on such recordings. The meat industry or any other with something to hide is hardly going to be forthcoming with one now is it. Your last point doesn’t hold water, just because things have happened historically does not mean that that’s the way things should always be done and really doesn’t have much in common to what’s occurring in the present day. The meat industry is one of the biggest environmental threats, but there’s so much money involved and lobbying on its behalf that there is unlikely to be much change unfortunately.
If it is not immoral for a bear to hunt and kill, why is it immoral for man to do so? Granted we mostly don’t hunt and kill in the literal sense but isn’t it the same ending for the animal that becomes meat. We have evolved the biology to consume and be nourished by meat so we can’t be accused of something that is abhorrent to nature when we eat it. There should of course be animal welfare standards and I do put put some effort towards choosing higher-welfare produced meat and dairy. There are also good scientific reasons for why we should eat less meat as the production of meat can be harmful to the environment. But the vegan stance that animals have the same right to life as humans isn’t logical.
Some ridiculous comments there Cathal… do you judge yourself by comparing your actions with those of bears?
If we can live without slaughtering others, why wouldn’t we? Is that illogical? Where has anyone said that animals have the same rights as humans?
So you think its logical that humans have a right to life over animals, presumably because we are more cognitively developed, technologically advanced and capable of much deeper senses of emotions, negatively and positively. And yet you base your moral justification for the slaughter of a sentient life based on that of a carnivorous wild animal. Very logical. We are not hunter-gatherers anymore, we are not wild animals, we live in a modern society with access to any food we desire, without the need to take life to sustain ours. Time to evolve. Research how its completely healthy, ethical and far more sustainable to live strong on a vegan diet.
Actually bears, like humans, are omnivorous. And my point was it is natural for humans to eat meat, regardless of what food modern society has made available to us. We are part of the animal kingdom. Would it be more ethical if we did literally hunt and kill wild animals for meat?
Would it be more ethical? No it wouldn’t, unless we were in a position where to survive we must do so. But none of us are in that position. We are exploiting other sentient life for no other reason than ‘ I like the taste’. Liking something is not a sufficient moral reasoning for doing something.
As for ‘natural’, none of the animal products that are used today come about ‘naturally’, so if you’re relying on natural law then you wouldn’t buy at the supermarket because the things there did not come about naturally.
Lol! So so brainwashed by an industry – you actually think that it is a dietary requirement to drink another mammals milk. Hello! It’s meant for baby cows not humans! For the lulu who thinks that mama cow says goodbye to baby calf in a natural way – go educate yourself. Baby is thrown on the rubbish heap at birth. Also – no you do not need meat to survive in fact you are contributing to environmental damage on an enormous scale – go find out the facts. OR just keep your head in the sand
Esther if choose to be a Vegan, that’s cool, best of luck to you. I however choose not to. It’s nothing to do with burying my head in the sand, I know animals suffer as a result of mass producing meat to eat. Thruth is, I do not care! And no I do not like seeing animals such as cats or dogs suffering. I love cats and dogs. Am I showing hypocrisy and double standards? Absolutely 100%. Do I care? Not a bit. Do well over 90% of the population feel the same as me? Yes as evidenced by the fact most people eat meat yet love animals such as dogs and cats. My point is nobody cares about your self righteous thoughts. It is vegans like you who preach from atop their high horse that drive people mad. And the irony is you are doing promoting your lifestyle no favours by recycling the whole “anyone who eats meat is a monster” argument. To prove this I am going to eat a steak tonight, even though I had not planned to and I will think of you and smile with every juicy bite.
@brian Brian a well thought out and honest answer. One of the more sensible comments on this thread. Personally I don’t eat meat and haven’t for many years. My pets are treated like royalty and I do what I can to help any animal I can. In saying that if I see a mouse or rat in my house or garden am i going to say “ah leave him he is just living” I am in my bum! My hubby and son are two huge meat lovers and that’s ok that’s their decision. Both live animals also and the fact they are meat eaters doesn’t take from that. I can’t stand people shoving their ideals down other people’s throats be it the vegans or the meat eaters. There no need for it.
“Dairy takes babies from their mothers”, nature takes babies from their mothers. Cow’s don’t strive to have a nice field near their sister and her kids, they have the necessary maternal period and that’s it. I hate these stupid arguements that try to get you to empathize with the animals as if they are just as human and aware and full of hopes and dreams as we are with the exception of being able to speak. Not only is it completely natural for us to eat meat it’s a dietary requirement. If we were part of a cows diet they’d eat us just as fast.
‘If your mother had balls she’d be…’ you know the rest. If we were part of an alien’s diet and they were here now… so what? They’re not and they don’t.
So meat IS a dietary requirement, is it? Where did you read that? How long would someone survive without meat then?
The rest of your drivel I can’t understand… is intensive animal farming a natural process now? Nature removes calves from their mothers and takes the milk too?
Yeah “so what” is exactly the point I was making, I’m not seeing how it works as a counter. Yes it IS, where did I read it? Do you remember the food pyramid from school at all? Ever talked to a dietition? It’s common knowledge to be honest. It’s a requirement for a balanced diet, you know well I wasn’t for a second implying you would die without it. If you actually need an answer for that it, you’d survive just as long as you would without carbohydrates or any other food group. When did I say it is a natural process? If we left cattle to roam and be free they wouldn’t stick together in families, “nature removes the young of bison from their mothers” is that a bit easier for ya? The point I was making is that the above billboard attempts to liken a calf being taken from its mother to a baby being taken from its sentient human mother. The common theme I’ve noticed among people that view the world this way is an inability to accept hard truths. Life is cruel, animals kill animals, people kill people. If it wasn’t for eating meat we wouldn’t be where we are today, it’s a vital renewable resource. It’s fine for your kind to rise above the ‘heartless murder’ and preach how wrong it is to eat meat from your white tower, what about José in El Salvador and his families chicken farm, what do they do? Switch to farming quinoa?
Yes I do remember the food triangles… is the basis of your argument some random memory from school? If it is a dietary requirement as you say, then how do those that do not consume animals survive?
You equated the removal of the calf from its mother in order to take the milk produced for the calf to (I presume) the natural separation of roaming wildlife. I was asking if you considered both of these processes to be natural? If we’re not doing what occurs naturally then why compare them? a calf taken from its mother is also sentient, so you’ve gotten the right – does that mean you agree or disagree with the poster? Life may be cruel but that doesn’t mean you should engage in (or fund) said cruelty.
Eating meat is not a lifestyle choice, it’s an essential component of a healthy diet. Veganism is a lifestyle choice that harms everyone who has to listen to the pontificating.
There are many vegetarians and vegans out there who live a healthy and happy life without meat. No human needs meat to survive and prosper provided they get the right balance of nutrients, which is very possible on a plant based diet.
Ye, not a vegan myself but I know plenty of vegans who are living healthy through their diet. Some have even had blood tests to check their progress and everything is normal, and in some cases better than normal!
Better than what Richard? Breeding and killing billions of sentient beings every year and then giving them the B12 that meat is supposedly so ‘rich’ in? If that’s the case then I would have to say yes!
You realise that B12 comes from bacteria, don’t you? Neither fungi, plants, nor animals (including humans) are capable of producing vitamin B12 so we’re all getting it from somewhere else!
Vegans are annoying yes, though I highly recommend watching the documentary “Cowspiricy” as it gives a mans journey to why he eventually becomes one. (Animal Agriculture produces more greenhouse gases than all transport combined, something to think about.) P.S Im not a vegan x
Funny how meat eaters only have stupid jokes and poorly researched (if at all) facts to spout.
When you’re done with your jokes and rhetoric, maybe it’s time to act like a grown up and face up to the unfathomable and unnecessary 60 billion lives a year slaughter you finance. Do some genuine research and stop believing everything the lucrative meat and dairy industry tell you (smoking was once regarded a good for your throat!). You are in for a shock as to how bad meat and dairy are for you and how plant based diets resolve so many health issues.
Stop knee jerking and just take a look… what are you afraid of?
So ms Higgins – do you really think that by you going vegan that it is going to change anything for animals?
We are carnivores and you won’t change that with billboards
Carnivores can catch and kill their prey and eat them on the spot. They have much stronger intestinal lining to deal with the acidity involved with eating raw flesh. Humans need their meat cooked to a very specific degree of suitability for it to be safely edible. I hear a lot arguments against going veggie but the “carnivore” one just doesn’t hold up.
So if all the farmers retired and opened their gates and let all the animals and birds roam freely around the country who is gong to look after them….oh yeah the vegans are! Lol
Do you mean if all the farmers stopped breeding these genetically modified animals and they disappeared of the face of the planet? Is anyone looking after them now?
Eating meat is how our species got to be here today
No poxy vegetarians or vegans a this and years ago.
Saturated healthy fats from meats avocados is vital for brain development and lack of is linked with the huge rise in Dementia
Turkey chicken Tuna all provide wonderful levels of proteins for your muscles.
Eating meat is an instinct not eating it is a daily decision you have to then ram down everyone’s throat and feel arrogant about even though you’re a complete moron.
Let’s break that down.
-We got to be the dominant species through our superior intelligence. We hunted and gathered as a unit and yes thousands of years ago we did need to kill animals to survive and to eat. That’s not the case anymore.
-Some of the oldest civilizations around survived on plant based foods. The gladiators of ancient Rome had a vegan diet of rice and beans, as did those who built the Egyptian pyramids.
-No denying you need proper nutrition. ie the right balance of vitamins, iron, protein etc. All those nutrients can be obtained without causing suffering and death is the vegan argument.
-Leafy greans, beans, lentils, legumes, tofu, grains and even some fruits all provide healthy levels of protein. And unless you’re a hardcore athlete or body builder most people don’t need as much as people seem to think we do.
-Eating meat is an instinct? Does your mouth start to water when you see a cow in a field? Do you get overcome with the urge to hunt it down and kill it then and there? It’s a choice, one heavily influenced by subsidies, marketing and tradition.
I have nothing against you personally Aidan, it’s just that these are a lot of the common arguments against veganism and vegans and I feel they deserve a response. This “arrogant, complete moron” won’t pass any judgement on you and I think it’s fair to expect the same from others.
@stephen d your wasting your time trying to discuss things rationally with them. As per every other article on the journal if your views differ to theirs the o my way they can respond is by being aggressive and insulting. I blame all the chemicals they are consuming in the meat myself :)
That is factually incorrect Cormac – according to the Department of Agriculture, 88% of agricultural land is used to feed animals. Are you saying that the other 12% (which I understand includes forestry) uses more herbicides and pesticides than the 88%?
No I meant per acre under production. There are no stats available for spray use yet. there is a formal scheme starting next week search Sustainable Use Directive for more info
OK, so producing wheat or potatoes (say) takes more nutrients per acre than growing grass. Then what? It takes exponentially more land to feed a meat eater so not eating meat or animal produce still uses lest land and less herbicides and pesticides.
And even if it didn’t, so what? The amount of pesticide usage is hardly a reason for slaughtering animals, is it?
Do these fools not know they are all bred for the food chain!!no one has 1000 hens in their garden as pets same with lambs etc ! It’s a huge industry that keeps the country going
Christ first militant Feminists then social justice warriors now these bloody lunatics, what do they all have in common? They’re cause is based on ‘feelings’ and professional victimhood. We’ve evolved over thousands f years to eat our tasty farmyard friends, we genetically modified then from they’re ancestors we chased with spears across the African plains, we just got fatter and lasher so bred hen more timid so we could get close enough to slaughter them. I see nothing wrong with that.
3rd wave feminists, social justice warriors, and american college cry-bullies should all be rounded up and used to protect our tanks and helicopters, as part of operation ‘human-shield’
two thirds of the grain Ireland produces are to feed animals. Guess you should go vegan if you are that concerned about all the animals being killed as a result.
Had this group donated the cash used on this campaign to an animal charity they could have help save quite a few animals, especially in the run up to the Christmas season which is traditionally very difficult for those charities. These billboards really serve no purpose other than make those behind the campaign feel better about themselves. As you can judge by the reaction here the feedback towards them is usually highly negative.
What makes you think the group aren’t already in fact supporting an animal sanctuary? And lo and behold yes they are. Turns out that this is funded by a particular individual who specified how he /she wanted the money spent.
Truth here is that’s what’s more telling is how defensive and upsetting it can be for general population to have truth behind their lifestyle choices explained. And more than that. If people are brave enough to face up to this truth the website featured on website actually provides all the info you could need to make this change in your life.
By definition I couldn’t think if a more appropriate link between the message bill board and charity go vegan. Ie check it out
Your purchasing decisions have an effect. Buying that bacon because its cheaper causes a race to the bottom in pricing, something has to give in that scenario. Unless we all switch to ethically farmed meats we all play a role. We’re voting with outlr wallets every week
People can’t be held responsible for every god dam thing they buy with the wallet, put the laws in place to bread animals for food consumption and let the price reflect that,
Why not? Because it’s hard to know the supply chain and the individual processes involved in a pack of rashers or a bar of soap. If a production process is cruel, dirty or damaging then it is up to governments to regulate it.
I would argue, if it is cruel, dirty or damaging, and you are against it it is up to you to stop buying it instead of just waiting for the government to step in. Even if it’s difficult to find out, you can try to educate yourself.
Money talks very loudly these days.
I’m not even vegan, but I do try to only buy products I know to be fair trade, free range etc.
We purchase product in good faith, if suppliers are producing the product within the law well that’s fine by me, if the law needs to be changed well let the vegans deal with the law if it means that much to them, I myself personally will not take responsibility for the actions of what suppliers are doing outside of the law,
“The law” used to allow slavery in the United States and “the law” prohibited women from voting, gay people from marrying etc. The constitution is hardly an accurate barometer of social values.
Mick I can tell you that if you buy animals products, an animal was slaughtered for that. More often that now, an animal was bred for that purpose too. You don’t take responsibility for those you financially support because..??? They wouldn’t do it if you didn’t pay for it, therefore you are directly responsible…
Do you eat animals because Islamic State are killing people? I don’t understand your logic there.
We’re animals, we have incisors and we do no different than what animals from which we evolved do, apes. Watch ‘the Hunt’ narrated by David Attenborough. It is perfectly natural for one animal to eat another. Life is, after all, about survival of the fittest.
You base your justification for the slaughter of a sentient life based on that of carnivorous wild animals. Very logical. We are not hunter-gatherers anymore, we are not wild animals, we live in a modern society with access to any food we desire, without the need to take life to sustain ours. Time to evolve.
Early Hominoids put the extra energy they got from eating their meat in to developing larger brains. This development allowed us to become smart enough to create a civilisation which can deliver out of season fruit and vegetables to our shops year round. Creating conditions which allow smug vegans to exist and preach to the rest of us why we shouldn’t eat meat.
To be honest Matty, from reading your comment on here and the fact that you’re unable to engage in the points being raised, I think all forms of ‘early hominoids’ (as you describe them) haven’t gone away!
And somehow i can’t see you running around on all 4s jumping onto a cow or pig and using your nails and teeth to kill him, eat fur flesh and cartilage raw. We rather someone else done all that for us so we don’t have to think about it. At least hunters have the balls to do it themselves. Enjoy the chase and carnivore living
and eating of animals which provided much need nutrients, to help us through the cold winters. Place like Indian had the right weather and the right fruit and veg to provide them nutrients.
That’s possibly true. Without eating human flesh, those guys in the plane crash wouldn’t have survived. It doesn’t mean that we should do it here and now though.
Campaign of harassment against student at on-campus housing 'deeply concerning'
45 mins ago
The Morning Lead
Diplomacy through other means: Why this drone shadowed the Tánaiste's every move in Lebanon
Niall O'Connor
5 hrs ago
arctic reception
JD Vance says US take over of Greenland ‘makes sense’ during scaled back visit
Updated
10 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say