You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
“We are committed to ending long-term homelessness and the need to sleep rough.”
THIS IS THE commitment given by the coalition in its programme for government published in March 2011.
Not long after that the Fine Gael/Labour administration set a goal of ending long-term homelessness by 2016. Last July, that commitment was reaffirmed in the statement of government’s priorities between now and the end of its term.
Last week, the Dublin Simon Community claimed such a target was “unachievable” but a government spokesperson’s bullish response was: “We were told a lot was unachievable in this recovery.”
It’s not the first time an administration in Ireland has given a target year for eradicating the problem. In 2008, as the boom was just about to go bust, the Fianna Fáil-led government pledged to eliminate long-term homelessness within two years. It was indicative of the positive outlook engulfing the country as the Celtic Tiger let out its last roar.
But by 2010 the Troika were in town and one of the most iconic images of their time in Dublin was IMF chief Ajai Chopra walking past a number of homeless people on his way to talk about how much money Ireland would need to stay afloat.
AP / Press Association Images
AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images
With the economy heading into freefall and construction grinding to an almost complete halt the 2010 goal was not achieved. In its annual report for that year, Focus Ireland lamented:
“2010 should have been the momentous year in which the Government achieved its objectives of ending long-term homelessness and the need to sleep rough. However, due to the painfully slow progress in delivering homes, these objectives were not achieved.”
Big plans, but how soon?
Perhaps with this criticism in mind the current government pledged to adopt a ‘housing first’ approach to tackling the problem. This meant delivering enough housing units to satisfy need.
What has become clear in over the last 12 to 18 months is that not enough homes are being built in Ireland. It’s a problem that has not gone unidentified and unacknowledged in government.
Just last week, Environment Minister Alan Kelly – who has responsibility for achieving the 2016 goal – said that social housing has been made “a number one priority” by this government for its remaining term in office.
Since the turn of the year, the Taoiseach Enda Kenny has spoken repeatedly about undertaking a construction programme “to triple the number of houses built to 25,000 a year by 2020″.
This commitment forms part of Construction 2020, the government’s big plans to get the country building again – although not at the insane levels that were the hallmark of the boom.
The Taoiseach and now ex-tánaiste launching Construction 2020 earlier this year Mark Stedman / Photocall Ireland
Mark Stedman / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland
But 2020 is a long way off and the need is more immediate when in Dublin alone there are around 1,400 individuals forced to take shelter in emergency accommodation every night.
With such an immediate need for solutions, the Labour Party has identified that politically it would be good for it to burnish its credentials on the issues of housing and homelessness. With that in mind the party demanded the Environment (which includes housing) portfolio in the Cabinet reshuffle.
It also recently voted against a 15 per cent reduction in the local property tax in Dublin city – instead proposing a 7.5 per cent reduction – on the basis that it would impact on revenue needed to tackle homelessness.
There has been a 9 per cent reduction in the number of people on the social housing waiting list as of May 2013 from 98,318 two years ago to 89,872.
On a given night last April there were 127 individuals sleeping rough in Dublin, a decrease on the 139 that had been recorded for November 2013.
While rising rents in Dublin concern the government, ministers point out that rents in the capital are still 12.7 per cent lower than they were at their peak in late 2007. Nationally they are 19 per cent lower then at their peak in 2007.
In addition the government is not shy of outlining what it is planning to do in the coming months. For starters, we’re expecting a Social Housing Strategy to be published shortly by the Environment Minister.
“It will contain clear measurable actions to increase the supply of social housing,” Kelly told the Dáil last week.
Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland
Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland
Speaking last week, Kelly said the strategy will put in place “a framework to achieve a significant increase in the supply of new social homes”.
More specifically in the Dáil last week, Kelly set out some of the policies the government is pursuing right now in a bid to alleviate the crisis:
Around 70 per cent of the Department of Environment’s budget is allocated to fund housing issues. That means more than €647 million is allocated this year.
€68 million has been allocated to a construction programme for local authorities that will see more than 450 houses built in 2014 and 2015.
A capital investment programme of €46 million has been established for a range of housing projects and providing 416 accommodation for people with special needs.
Some €30m will be spent bringing 1,900 vacant and boarded up units back into social housing use.
Some €10 million is being allocated for the upgrade of unfinished housing estates.
On rising rents, the Private Residential Tenancies Board (PRTB) has just completed a study on the options available to address the difficulties caused by spiralling rent prices.
On homelessness in particular, Kelly said:
Around €19 million has been ring-fenced for 187 units to be either acquired or constructed in local authority areas – specifically for people and families who are homeless.
Some €10 million is being provided for the acquisition of 67 units by approved housing bodies to address the homeless problem in Dublin.
While just last Friday, Finance Minister Michael Noonan announced that he would be abolishing the capital gains tax exemption for property investors who hold onto a property for at least seven years. He claimed this would free up housing supply in Dublin.
The NAMA problem
One of the big ways the government believed it could solve housing crisis when it took office was to use the significant stock in possession of the State’s bad bank the National Asset Management Agency with pledges made to get 2,000 housing units from NAMA every year.
Three years on this should have conceivably delivered 7,000 units by now but NAMA has delivered just 700 social housing units so far. Kelly has said recently that in excess of 1,000 will be delivered by the end of the year.
This is despite NAMA making all of its housing stock available to local authorities for social housing. The problem is that not all of it was deemed suitable.
Using NAMA to help tackle the problem neatly tucks into the government’s ‘housing first’ approach but the difficulty in delivering homes underlines the extent to which it is proving a challenge for the coalition.
‘Housing first’ is all about having enough homes so as that the exchequer doesn’t have to pay out for hotels and hostels to accommodate people who have no place to go. It’s a lofty and credible goal, but delivery is not so simple. Recent figures for Dublin alone showed 156 families, including 341 children, are living in hotels in the capital.
This partly puts a strain on services such as the Capuchin Day Centre which needs about €1.9 million a year. It gets about €450,000 from the State but has to look elsewhere to make up the shortfall. The government could increase funding, but that would not exactly be in line with the principle of ‘housing first’.
Kelly underlined where the government’s priorities lie last week, stating: “My Department is committed to continuing to develop innovative and sustainable approaches to the provision of social housing. Every available, appropriate unit needs to be transformed into a home as quickly as reasonably possible.”
But for many it’s simply not happening quick enough.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
He seriously needs to stop blaming others for his own mess ups. If he hadn’t written that on the note there wouldn’t have been anything to give to the journalists now would there?
This note is in his own handwriting so it is the truth of the man and he calls it a new low -
and he having been in Court for much more serious offences …..
This guy has no conscience it would seem and that to put it in biblical terms, if true, is Evil personified !
I walked into a friends house today and there in his post was a leaflet from the local FG …T.D.
Didn’t read it buy the headline was “Update on budget 2015 “…..
The timing of the election is pencilled in when you see that !
Pork barrel politics.
Time the big cities took on these mountainy men, and refused to be saddled with high property taxes and high inheritance taxes, when farmers can pass on their assets to their children free of inheritance tax.
OMG what a laugh. Lowry accuses someone of bring politics to a new low:
Wikipedia :
“Lowry is a former Chairman of the Fine Gael political party and was Minister for Transport, Energy and Communications between 1994 and 1996. He resigned his ministry in some controversy, and Fine Gael barred him from standing for their party again. Thereafter, he ran as an independent candidate and has maintained his seat in the Dáil ever since. The Moriarty Tribunal concluded “beyond doubt” that Lowry was a tax evader and had assisted businessman Denis O’Brien’s consortium Esat Digiphone in acquiring a lucrative mobile phone licence in the mid-1990s, during Lowry’s time as Communications Minister. O’Brien went on to become one of the richest men in Ireland.[2]
Lowry also initiated a defamation lawsuit against Irish Independent journalist Sam Smyth, over an article Smyth had written regarding the Moriarty Tribunal as well as comments Smyth had made on a TV3 show. The defamation lawsuit was thrown out of several courts and Lowry was ordered to pay Smyth’s legal costs. In more recent times his relationship with Kevin Phelan has come under scrutiny, with the emergence of a recorded conversation in which Lowry claims to have made an undeclared payment of €250,000.”
But he gets the roads fixed and appears at the opening of post offices. It is the same with the Healy Rae’s. As long as it’s ‘one of their own’ people turn a blind eye. Brian Cowen is still a hero in Offaly and Bertie in north Dublin and look how much they screwed us over
I love in North dublin beano and Bertie is not considered a hero here. Not by a long shot. He’s a completely busted flush. Back into the cupboard with him!
iPhone Joan is at it again – The Mrs. Thatcher of Irish Politics, is out to do in that lovely chauvinist guy , Michael Lowry !
My golly , it gets funnier by the minute , with this useless lot of a Coalition .
Undermine the authority of the State ….
and what about the Bailout without referendum …?
Well the night of the Long Knives failed – (seanad abolition) so the burning of the books is going to blow up in their faces as well !
It’s a long way from House of Cards. What a shower of useless gimps in that place. Even the opposition. Where in the name of sweet jebus are the focused, talented and sharp people of this country?
People from outside of politics need to start seriously thinking about becoming involved in it, bringing new approaches and their own expertise. People with ability and ideas would eviscerate those clowns in debates – and be guaranteed seats.
Our politicians are like school in summer. No class.
Least me now know how the Country is fecked.. To get a top job in the civil service all is needed is somebody to pass on a note saying how good looking you are… The debs committee in your local school is run better than our Government
The wording of the note is not the issue. It is the fact that it’s the same old canvassing and cronyism still carrying on. Neither Lowry or Kelly do themselves, or politics in this country any credit. Then again you would be a fool to expect anything else from these self serving parasites.
Do ye remember the R.T.E. programme investigating an overspend on a public building in Tipp …
the place had a fortune spent on it and it was still in very poor condition…
“If we had another millin we’d finish it !” was the quote from the local Geronimo who had been involved in the project …
What do you do with that – no concept of any possible wrongdoing ……
The man is a leach on Irish society. He might do the people of North Tipp the odd favour, but he is a Me Feiner. He treats the people of Ireland with contempt, and should be treated similarly by the people of Ireland
The calibre of politician we elect in this country truly boggles the mind. Michael Lowry, corrupt as they come, is lecturing other people in relation to low standards and “malicious intent”. Breathtaking…
Personally, the ‘not bad looking’ remark is annoying, but does not surprise me. It does, however, show a remarkable lack of judgement on Lowry’s part. He’s made himself look like a right gobsh!te. The canvassing does bother me, however. Is this really the way business is conducted in the Dáil?
Agreed, the comment and the manner in which he related it is idiotic. But it should be separated from the fact that cronyism is alive and well despite repeated promises to the contrary. That’s what we should be focussing on. The most decent men and women in this world will always make mild innuendo. it doesn’t mean we disrespect each other.
Why are people focusing on this note? The guy is only one step removed from a gangster. He’s seems to have done some very dodgy deals over the years but Id hope, when I’m 61 that Id get away with saying someone is ” not bad looking ” without national uproar. To me the passing of the note to a journalist is a bigger crime, one akin to telling tales in the schoolyard.
Day 2 and it’s still news ?? It was a note passed between two people , it’s a fuss about nothing . all he said was that the woman was not bad looking .. It’s not a crime !
@joanie He us corrupt and a s&@€b&g . Not fit to be in givernment. Who cares that he said a woman wasn’t bad, anyone else with his reputation would keep their head down and shut up not him though
Transparency is the new low? Much better back in the day when the ‘ol boys could say what they want about the ladies without fear of derision from a politically correct meeja gone mad with liberalism
It was a private note between two people so who cares. If he said she has big b@@bs or fine a$$ it would be different. It was a compliment and thats it.
It was canvassing for a State appointment
the description of what she looked like is not the real story here !
Let’s say Enda had appointed her to the board and the note came out afterwards – then we wouldn’t be discussing the “bad looking ” comment but a different “bad looking ” altogether !
With all the who ha over this note will have to educate myself about this lady. Her qualifications her experience and of course how good looking she is. After I have conducted my in depth research I will decide if I am to be outraged or not. If she ticks all 3 boxes give her the job!!! Seriously though he has done a million times worse things and brazened them out. Can’t see him losing too much sleep. It’s like being back in school passing notes around. That’s the most worrying thing. A storm in a tea cup in the grand scheme of things and he knows it
Him being a chauvinist of course is perfectly acceptable-seriously with idiots like this being elected is it any wonder the country is in the state it is!
Michael Lowry. Politics begins low, it’s up to the man or woman who prefers to follow this profession to raise their ambitions and to convince their voters that they are a little higher than low, it’s not easy. Most politicians fail to do this but after a while can pull it off. You can’t.
It seems to me that Mr Lowery knew exactly what he was doing. He knew what would go down well with Mr Kenny, he phrased his note in that way because he knew it would be appealing. Why would he think it was ok to word a request like that at a Dail session? There is an undercurrent of sleaze in this whole affair that is not right, regardless of politics. Would anyone like their daughter, sister or mother to be sold in such a way? It this what the leaders and peers of our country really of our women, sure if nothing else she’ll be good to look at! Get real people!
More incensed that he can pass notes like a schoolboy to Einda and get away with his sexist remarks!! Why would Einda entertain any of his ideas? Aw because he is a friend of Denis the Menace and Einda needs to help both of his goody buddies out. Grrrrrrrrr
Journalists, it doesn’t matter what you throw at Lowry; sexism, grand fraud, war crimes, regicide, it just doesn’t matter. The people of N Tipp will always vote for him because he fixed the road.
Labour leaked the note with malicious intent you have got to be, jokeing labour wouldent even tell a lie, and as reguards to your one been good looking they are all the same in the dark
The people of Tip must be very proud of Lowry as they consistently re elect him and speak out in support of him….. With Lowry he’s always the victim. They knew i what i am like and were waiting for me to slip up so they could get me. – GO LOWRY PLEASE.
Resolute Leinster grind out impressive win against Sharks
The 42
7 mins ago
diversity
France slams US 'interference' in firms' diversity programmes
39 mins ago
Apple Accounts
Apple's Irish subsidiary incurs $25 billion corporation tax charge as pre-tax profits hit $76 billion
28 Mar
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say