You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Paradise lost: Whitsundays in tatters after Cyclone Debbie wreaks havoc

The military has mobilised 1,300 soldiers to help assess the full extent of damage and help the clean-up.

ABC News (Australia) / YouTube

TORRENTIAL RAIN IS hampering relief efforts after a powerful cyclone wreaked havoc in northeast Australia, with floods sparking emergency rescues as fed-up tourists began evacuating from resort islands.

Cyclone Debbie has pummelled Queensland state since crashing ashore as a category four storm on Tuesday between Bowen and Airlie Beach, ripping up trees, washing boats onto land and causing widespread damage.

It has been downgraded to a tropical low as it tracks southeast, but continues to pack damaging wind gusts and dump huge amounts of rain, with Brisbane now in the firing line.

Meteorologists forecast the city would be soaked by a month’s worth of rain in a single day, with the popular Sunshine Coast and Gold Coast areas also set to be drenched before the system moves offshore tomorrow.

Theme parks and beaches in the area were closed for the day.

“We have a very, very large state here and this is a very, very big weather system that’s going to wreak havoc all the way down the coast,” Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said.

whit ABC News / Screengrab ABC News / Screengrab / Screengrab

Emergency service crews, who have received more than 3,000 calls for help, rescued dozens of people overnight and early today from floodwaters, with some plucked from roofs and tops of cars.

“Significant rainfall in Mackay — sudden increase in calls for service. A number of rescues undertaken & still being undertaken,” Queensland police tweeted.

Despite this, no deaths have been reported with only one significant injury — a man crushed by a collapsing wall. Before the cyclone hit, thousands of people moved to higher ground, out of the area or to safe refuges.

The wild weather has made the clean-up difficult as crews battle horrendous conditions to reach isolated communities and restore power.

Many roads remain flooded and towns cut off with hundreds of schools closed and authorities keeping a close eye on dams as water levels rise.

A significant experience 

Great Barrier Reef islands were among the worst hit.

Tourists and residents have been stranded for days on devastated Hamilton and Daydream islands, battered by terrifying winds of more than 260 kph at the height of the tempest.

w3 ABC News / Screengrab ABC News / Screengrab / Screengrab

Hundreds were evacuated from their accommodation today after struggling with no power and toilets not flushing as water ran low.

“They’ve been through a significant experience, but they are safe. That’s the main thing,” Queensland Fire and Emergency Services Deputy Commissioner Mark Roche told reporters.

Jacqui McCullagh, who was staying on Hamilton Island, said the once-lush area was in a bad way.

“Boats washed ashore, houses without roofs, windows smashed in, trees snapped in half, gum trees torn out of the ground and those that do remain standing, are bare and lifeless,” she told the local Whitsunday Times.

The military has mobilised 1,300 soldiers to help assess the full extent of damage and help the clean-up, with helicopters and planes deploying to restore infrastructure and supply emergency food, water and fuel.

Debbie has officially been declared a catastrophe by the Insurance Council of Australia, allowing claims from the disaster to be prioritised.

The economic cost to a region that relies heavily on farming is expected to be huge, with sugarcane crops hit hard and the cattle industry also impacted, officials said.

“Producers in the Whitsunday area were planting winter vegetables and they’re expected to suffer heavy crop losses as well as infrastructure, crop and irrigation equipment damage,” said Queensland’s Rural Economic Development Minister Bill Byrne.

In the Mackay district, it’s understood that the cane fields at Proserpine, Mackay and Sarina have been flattened.

Irish travellers in the affected areas are being advised to monitor local and international weather updates from the World Meteorological Organisation (WMO) and the Australian Bureau of Meteorology websites.

© AFP 2017 with reporting from Daragh Brophy 

Read: Cars that were seized by gardaí destroyed in Louth warehouse blaze >

Read: Ivanka Trump taking on unpaid White House job >

View 10 comments
10 Comments
    Mute Hugh Mannatee
    Favourite Hugh Mannatee
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:38 PM

They know enough holes in bogs to avoid this carry on.

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:56 PM

Sinn Fein is not and never was in the refuse business, but we will neither condone or condemn the people involved in the illegal dumping business because there is an ongoing conflict. Gerry was never a member of the refuse truck crew and knows nothing about illegal dumping of refuse or bodies.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:59 PM

Since he’s getting the blame for homelessness and everything else why not.

See 40 more replies ▾
    Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:01 PM

Ah no Paul it’s not SFs fault. The fault lies with FF, FG, Liebor, DUP, the British, the Independent, all other totally biased media (not including An Poblachta of course),Maria Cahill and Austin Stack. I’m sure I’ve forgotten a few.

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:02 PM

I think FF and FG are behind this. You know the way SF were doing really really well in the polls….. O hang on..

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:03 PM

There was a Sinn Fein activist seeing shopping in Tesco’s, shortly after there was a trolley abandoned in the car park quick ring the journal, RTE is busy investigating a suspicious package under a shinners Christmas tree….

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:04 PM

This is literally the filth politics ive heard them opining about..

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:07 PM

@Hugh Mannatee: Yawn this dirty politics is getting boring

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:08 PM

@Charlie Wrex: This whole conspiracy theory that “Oh an election is coming and Sinn Fein are going to win so the media etc.. etc..” is absolute rubbish. Sinn Fein are polling 17%, they polled 25% at one stage before the last election and got 14% in the GE. Sinn Fein are stagnated in the polls and are going nowhere

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:11 PM

Complety agree Kevin. It was 13.8% though. long may it decline!

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:14 PM

Very hard to maintain credibility when the mask keeps slipping off and exposing the deep seated scars !

Mute GCLPhD
    Favourite GCLPhD
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:15 PM

Election coming 100%

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:20 PM

Jammin will be along in a minute to defend Sinn Fein (and accuse someone of manipulating green thumbs!)

Mute JoseMacPhisto
    Favourite JoseMacPhisto
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:20 PM

@GCLPhD: They usually do in a democracy.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:34 PM

@Peadar Ó Gréacháin: You do realise what an incredible accusation that is to make? You being an active member and that. What evidence have you produce to the Gardai?

Mute Hugh Mannatee
    Favourite Hugh Mannatee

Peader, that’s excellent! It’s MM fault of course. Haha.

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:35 PM

Thats a bold statement – you have proof?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:41 PM

@GCLPhD: No Proof of course. Just directed by SF HQ to throw out wild conspiracy theories while the obvious evidence-based theories are ignored.

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:42 PM

@ Kevin, the same evidence you have produced here that Sinn Fein dumped materials with there name all over it, surely your commander-in-chief rubber lips can come up with something better than this….

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:54 PM

@Kevin Higgins…….Do you realize how silly you sound Kevin – are you the best your party has?

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:56 PM

@Hugh Mannatee:……..get a life will ye…what age are you?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:57 PM

@Peadar Ó Gréacháin: I never said Sinn Fein dumped materials. I said the material obviously belonging to Sinn Fein came from Brian Stanleys campaign, the fact his campaign cleaned it up suggests they themselves don;t feel the leaflets were forged. Pretty obvious this act of dumping spanned from the campaign team. Your claim has no basis to it whatsoever & its actually slanderous against FF, libel in fact if you were to produce a name

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:57 PM

@Kevin Higgins: I am not here representing my party, I am concerned about dumping which has cost my constituency millions over the years. Call me an environmentalist

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:11 PM

@MaryLou(ny)McDonald: why are people not laughing at your stupid attempt at humour?

Mute Chimminz
    Favourite Chimminz
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:18 PM

Don’t be silly Peadar, Sf dumped their own printed material and the ever dependable Journal is there to bring us the scoop. You have to respect the intellectual prowess of the writers at the journal, they really know a good story when they see it. Now folks, check the register…

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:30 PM

Who’s not laughing at Mary loos joke?

Mute GCLPhD
    Favourite GCLPhD
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:41 PM

Everybody. Anthony Pettis missed weight by 3lbs today. Still waiting for the journal story blaming SF and Gerry Adams for this.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:45 PM

So SF posters are dumped and we are expected to look everywhere for the culprit except at SF. You couldn’t make it up.

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill

That one will be in the Indo GCL

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Dec 9th 2016, 6:06 PM

@jane: So during a week when we have revelations about the central bank and government knowing full well about what led to the bank collapse, and they did nothing. Then last night’s program about the gifting of more resources to all comers, oil, gas, and fish,and nothing is seen or heard about these scandals in any MSM. But lots of anti SF and GA gutter journalism.
    These revelations should be headline news, not the fake news we’re being fed.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 9th 2016, 6:38 PM

Johnathan sugarman?
    Atlantic giveaway? Billllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllions oh sure dumping is more important fooking in mature journalism waste of time.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 9th 2016, 6:41 PM

@Hugh Mannatee: ff fg have plenty of holes they dont want opened as well mary boyle being just one.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 9th 2016, 6:58 PM
    Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 9th 2016, 7:22 PM

If its so terrible, surely you’d be better advised to haunt some other free news site Bobby – alternatively, you could do your own research and publish your own “mature journalism” on a blog. Maybe even ask a publication (of your choice) if theyll publish your balanced, exhaustively researched, investigative opus… Seems better than spamming nearly every article here today, no?

Mute Chimminz
    Favourite Chimminz
    Dec 9th 2016, 7:27 PM

@Jane: No you are expected to look only at SF. We do not expect nuances from the Journal or yourself…

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Dec 9th 2016, 7:29 PM

@Kevin Higgins:what proof do you need, there is plenty of shit being thrown at sf in the hope it will stick it is as obvious as day will follow night that it is a set up, can you seriously believe any party would leave a trail as obvious as this, wake up and smell the shit being thrown by fg/ff/lab and some indos….

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Dec 9th 2016, 7:48 PM

@Charlie Wrex: Feeling a bit butt hurt, are you Charlie. A bit of real news bothers you.

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex
    Dec 9th 2016, 8:10 PM

Lol. Agghh you got me! Strangely enough, I’ve looked up other sites/sources regarding the banking shite and the oil and fishing fiasco. Just because its not published here isnt the end of the world. I think its because shinnerbots are so used to being spoonfed in an echo chamber, that when their information teat is withdrawn they get panicky. They need to calm reassurance of similar minded oafs belching the same lines to settle into the mogadon comfort of groupthink. :)

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Dec 9th 2016, 8:11 PM

Dave are you not capable of digesting more than one news story at a time? If this was about any other party or politician SF supporters would be all over it like flies on shite. Ye are such a bunch of barefaced hypocrites. It’s staggering.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Dec 9th 2016, 8:26 PM

@jane: There’s important news and there’s sensationalist gutter journalism that serves a political purpose, that’s it’s sole function.
    The important news is that, that has effected the lives of every family in the country, in the most negative manner possible. What the real news tells us, is who is responsible for this. Responsible for the decimated lives, the strangling debt imposed, the homelessness, the suicides, the crumbling health service, the unaffordable drugs, the crippling taxes, the worthless wages, the reduction of services, the total cutting out of some. The country’s resources that benefits other nations and people’s.Resources that never belonged to any party or politician. But sold off none the less.
    And those responsible, live lives that ordinary people can only imagine, never dream about.
    That should be headline news, should demand investigation. What do we get instead? People and situations used as political footballs.
    And you try to point the finger of hypocrisy.

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Dec 9th 2016, 10:41 PM

The funny thing if it wasn’t so serious is that you couldn’t actually make this up if the media actually wanted to. The members of the Sinn Fein party are not the brightest bunch of lads. Can’t even do dump without being caught.

Mute LRB
    Favourite LRB
    Dec 10th 2016, 1:32 AM

Your an idiot.

Mute LRB
    Favourite LRB
    Dec 10th 2016, 1:33 AM

Jane…another idiot.

Mute nialls
    Favourite nialls
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:45 PM

If they know it wasn’t a Sinn Fein member who dumped them wouldn’t that suggest that they know who did dump them. Either that or they have just gone straight to denial mode as usual!

Mute Brendan Luke Ferron
    Favourite Brendan Luke Ferron
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:52 PM

@nialls: They may do, there is a distinction between member and former member though.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:55 PM

@Brendan Luke Ferron: The environment minister’s leaflets are pictures above. not 1 but a full box of leaflets, someone in his campaign knows who did this.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

@Kevin Higgins: As a councillor yourself Brendan you know well 1000 leaflets don’t just disappear like magic

Mute Brendan Luke Ferron
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:57 PM

@Kevin Higgins: As I say you can’t control what former members do, there is a very good chance that is who is responsible for this. As a Cllr I would have had loads of election materials stored in my own house from time to time.

Mute Brendan Luke Ferron

@Kevin Higgins: It looks about 100 – 150 – trifold leaflets to me by the way. Many people involved in canvassing an area would have that left over after a drop.

Mute Ben McArthur
    Favourite Ben McArthur

Former members – LOL! It’s Schrodinger’s Provo again, isn’t it? It can’t be determined whether any individual is a member of Sinn Fein or an unconnected Good Republican, until one of these things becomes embarrassing and the waveform collapses.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:05 PM

@Brendan Luke Ferron: Brendan a crime has been committed here. Dumping is illegal just to let you know. Sinn Fein have branches which manage canvassing campaigns where everyone gives their name, number and email for organisational purposes. To suggest Sinn Fein doesn’t know or have a clear idea as to who did this is laughable.

I don’t care whether 2 people or 20 canvassed with the environmental spokesperson during his GE campaign, its going to be obvious who got handed hundreds of leafets & never handed any of them out. normal canvassers gets handed bundles of leafets, usually only organisers get the boxes!

Mute jane
    Favourite jane

Schrodingers Provo, brilliant!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:10 PM

@Brendan Luke Ferron: Let me ask you this Brendan. When a companies leaflets get found dumped the company gets fined & the employee is generally sacked/brought to court. Why should Sinn Fein be treated any differently?

Mute Brendan Luke Ferron
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:17 PM

@Kevin Higgins: In fairness having been the Director of elections for several candidates for Sinn Fein I think I know a wee bit more how we do things than your self. As for the rest of the nonsense, listen if this was any other party it wouldn’t even warrant a story. As for 1000′s of leaflets, its about 100 to 150 of a trifold leaflet I think was used in 2014 judging by the design, and a few from a candidate who last ran in 2011. I doubt its a recent event at all, I would say it happened quite sometime back but the person who took the picture sent it on now.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:24 PM

“I would say it happened some time back….”

Of course.

An anti Sinn Fein conspiracy.

Naturally.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

@Brendan Luke Ferron: Brendan you can divert Sinn Fein’s responsibility here all you like. Fact is the local Branch & Brian’s campaign know exactly who got that box of leaflets. So either Sinn Fein know who did this or they know where to direct the Gardai.

Nobody said 1000′s of leaflets, nobody questioned your knowledge of how branches operate & nobody is asking you about when this happened.

Mute Brendan Luke Ferron
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:33 PM

@Kevin Higgins: Okay, its getting a bit boring at this stage – listen I am off to my Christmas Party – then I am off to a function for H.O.P.E. Suicide Support group in The Dragon Tallaght Village at about 10pm – monster raffle. It promises to be a great night – tickets only €5.00. If you want to continue the debate drop up for a pint – the first one is one me! Sine e.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:36 PM

@Brendan Luke Ferron: I don’t drink Brendan nor do I condone the dumping of my politcal parties leaflets. I can happily say if the Social Democrats ever got in the same situation as Sinn Fein we would get to the bottom of it rather than trying to distort and distract like you are. Unlike many politicians I am off to work tonight, slan.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:53 PM

Sure you’re two great lads altogether… and what ever happened to the old adage – “its amazing what can be conquered when you don’t care who gets the credit”

Mute Brendan Luke Ferron
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:03 PM

@Kevin Higgins: You may not drink, but you definitely need to get out more.

Mute Chimminz
    Favourite Chimminz
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:43 PM

No Nialls you’re right, it was a SF member who dumped them actually, it’s their new strategy to win over the hearts and minds of the nation. Or perhaps they dumped them out of pure recklessness or stupidity not realising the standard of investigative reporting that the Journal produces.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 9th 2016, 6:45 PM

@Chimminz: journal reporting ah your havin a laugh.The journal is officially the establishments mouth piece just like the rag independent .

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Dec 9th 2016, 7:58 PM

Brendan you are digging a hole for yourself now. Best say no more about the SF littering.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:42 PM

Removing just the SF propaganda and not clearing up the rest of the rubbish just speaks volumes about the type of party SF is.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer

In fairness you’d need proper equipment to clean up that mess.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

@Mr Phil Officer: But you can’t clean up the SF mess without proper equipment & you pretty much need to separate the rubbish if you only want to clean the sinn fein rubbish

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen

A few black plastic bags would suffice to put the litter in. Don’t try to defend the indefensible

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:10 PM

Did you look at the picture Nick, a few plastic bags wouldn’t be enough to shift that.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:32 PM

How you can try and defend them doing that is unbelievable

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:42 PM

Calm down Nick, all I see is a pile of thrash, nobody knows who dumped it, with the filth politics going on this week I would have an open mind as to what may have happened, I hope whoever did dump it is fined.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:46 PM

Phil

I don’t know who dumped it and nor would I expect it was SF. That is not the point. The point is they went up there and picked out the SF branded rubbish and left the test there. This is a pathetic excuse of a party that would do that

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:49 PM

Quick, clear up the glossy paper with fingerprints… Nothing to see here.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:55 PM

@Nick Allen: ….what party are you pushing Nick?

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:01 PM

You’re right phil. it’s not like they killed a prison officer.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:07 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald…….do you actually think that comment was funny Fiona?….You do realize you have more than one brain cell don’t you, and it’s OK to use the others.

Mute Tommy Doran
    Favourite Tommy Doran
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:09 PM

@Patrick Gough: Goon one Paddy

Mute Tommy Doran
    Favourite Tommy Doran
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:09 PM

@Tommy Doran: Good one Paddy!

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:17 PM

@Tommy Doran: now which one of the failed parties do you belong to Tommy?

Mute Tommy Doran
    Favourite Tommy Doran
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:20 PM

@Pádraig Ó Braonáin: No interest whatsoever in Politics Padraig and you?

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:33 PM

@Tommy Doran: Oh sorry…you must be on here only because of your concern for the environment – good man……. To answer your question, I was once a member of Sinn Féin, but not active due to retirement….however, I think I’ll re-join them again and try to save this country from going down the tube..

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Dec 9th 2016, 6:09 PM

Padraic

I am not pushing any party. I wouldn’t trust SF, AAA have idiotic fiscal policies, FG & FF don’t have the leadership nor skills to do any thing too worthwhile although FG appear to be getting the economy back on track but I feel that is more circumstance than planning. Unfortunately I don’t think the Irish political system offers any worthy parties or candidates

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Dec 9th 2016, 6:16 PM

Your right too Patrick, the Stack brothers deserve answers, I think their case should be the first one examined by an internationally recognised truth commission.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:44 PM

“Sinn Féin members cleaned up the Sinn Féin material that was dumped there.”

What? You mean to say they didn’t bother to clean up the other rubbish mixed in? No wonder their environmental policy is weak

Mute Liam Dempsey
    Favourite Liam Dempsey

If my rubbish was dumped illegally I would be held responsible,it’s up to everyone to make sure that their contractors are legit.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:06 PM

@Liam Dempsey: Exactly, the company I work for would be fined if their marketing literature was found dumped. Equally whoever dumped them would be breaking the law.

Sinn Fein are responsible for this

Mute Conor Heffernan
    Favourite Conor Heffernan
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:09 PM

I saw a coco pops box there. Was anyone onto kellogs for a comment?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:12 PM

@Conor Heffernan: Coco pops are sold to retails outlets then purchased by consumers. ownership of leaflets lies with the consumers and as such the consumer is dumping here not Kellogs. Unless Sinn Fein sell leaflets your diverting comment is pointless

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex

Go back to sleep Conor.

Mute doorhandler
    Favourite doorhandler
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:21 PM

No SF are not responsible. This was an unsanctioned dumping.

Mute Conor Heffernan
    Favourite Conor Heffernan
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:22 PM

You’re missing the point. Just cuz someone’s logo is on the material doesn’t mean that they dumped them. Anyone that had access could have dumped these. That includes the material printers, party members or waste collectors.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:27 PM

@Conor Heffernan: & You missed the point ive made a dozen times on this article. If a councillor (Brian Stanley) prints thousands of leaflets he gives them to his canvassing team. So a member of this team either dumped the box or gave it to someone who did.

To suggest Sinn Fein don’t or wont know who did this is laughable. I am not saying Fine Sinn Fein or anything like that but I want justice so dumping can be prevented in the future

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:56 PM

Kevin Higgins. Do you have evidence a member of Sinn Fein dumped this literature???

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:58 PM

@ray.farrelly: No nor am I claiming they did, I am saying Sinn Fein (Specifically Stanley & his campaign team) know who did this.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Dec 9th 2016, 7:37 PM

Sinn Fein removed all Sinn Fein materials …. and no doubt any evidence of the dumper, like name and address written on anything.

They were more worried about the latter.

They are very experienced in cleansing a crime scene.

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Dec 9th 2016, 7:51 PM

Kevin Higgins. Did you not say Sinn Fein are responsible for this???

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:49 PM

Must have lost the run of themselves with O’Snodaighs printer cartridges.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:45 PM

I see one or two boxes of printed Sinn Fein material. How could that find itself in the hands of someone who would dump it? You don’t print a box of 500 leaflets and hand them all to a random joe soap

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen

I think the full idea of printing leaflets is to simply hand them out to some random Joe soap

Mute Brendan Luke Ferron
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:50 PM

@Kevin Higgins: Always possible the material was in the possession of a person who until recently was a member of the party in that area but left and so dumped this material at the location – just speculation of course :)

Mute Joe Harbison
    Favourite Joe Harbison
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:54 PM

@Brendan Luke Ferron: because Sinn Fein members with knowledge of illegal activities would never report it to the authorities. Just speculation of course.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

@Joe Harbison: Nick when have you ever been handed a box of 1000 leaflets ? You get 1 leaflet each, surreal to think someone could have ran around collecting hundreds of leaflets until they have enough to stage this?

What obviously happened is that a current or ex-member did this, they would have gotten the 1000 leaflets from a TD or Cllr so Sinn fein should know who ended up with the leaflets. Assuming they have a transparent organisation!

Mute Joe Harbison
    Favourite Joe Harbison

@Kevin Higgins: I think from the comment that Sinn Fein Councillor Ferron is intimating that he has a good idea who did it but seeing that he’s an elected representative he’s following his party leaders example and choosing not share his suspicions with the authorities

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen

I get you Joe. Hand them ‘all’…:)

Mute Brendan Luke Ferron

BTW the Journal has not included in the story when this material was dumped and cleaned up – my understanding is that its not recent. Michael Colreavy last stood for election in 2011 yet material belonging to him is listed.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:13 PM

@Brendan Luke Ferron: Brendan a little less time spent muddying the waters & a bit more time caring for the environment & transparency would be very much appreciated!

Mute Brendan Luke Ferron
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:18 PM

@Kevin Higgins: I think the fact they cleaned up the material shows that they did care about the environment. Hell hath no fury as a women scorned.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:21 PM

@Brendan Luke Ferron: I think the fact they cleaned this up when it became national news makes sense for any political party.

Now Brendan back to the issue of getting justice. Brian Stanley ran in 2011 with a canvassing team. You’d want to be a trusted member to get a big box of his leaflets which brian paid for. Now are you seriously suggesting Brian or the local branch can’t find out who did this and report them to the gardai!?

Mute Brendan Luke Ferron
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:28 PM

@Kevin Higgins: I’m confused by this – did someone else run this before the Journal? This is the first time I saw this story – and this story quite clearly says the material had been cleaned up so I really do not get your point “they cleaned this up when it became national news”. No offence but I think you are taking rubbish lol!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:37 PM

@Brendan Luke Ferron: Oh plenty of offence taken Brendan, unlike Sinn Fein I care about my environment. I would be spending my time getting to the bottom of this rather than trying to distort and distract from who did this.

Mute Brendan McGill
    Favourite Brendan McGill

Kevin, party leaflets etc do not get handed out to members by Councillors or TD’s, which goes to show how much you know about this stuff yet you’re acting like you’ve cracked the case!

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Dec 9th 2016, 8:02 PM

I blame the media, FG, BBC, God, Donald trump, Rte, the McCartney sisters, former (but never current) members of SF and mi5 for this.

Its anybodys fault as usual except Sinn Fein.

Mute Joe Harbison
    Favourite Joe Harbison
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:46 PM

They’ll admit to it as part of an overall peace and reconciliation agreement, other than that they can’t name the van driver.

Mute Fred Johnson
    Favourite Fred Johnson
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:58 PM

Wow. Shinnerbots are really dedicated to the cause. They’ll wade through trash for their dear leader.

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan

Must have lost the run of themselves with O’Snodaighs printer cartridges.

Mute Fergal Beattie
    Favourite Fergal Beattie

& Gerry was never in the IRA.

Mute Mr Phil Officer

…and Bertie never had a bank account.

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott

My Fein not Sinn Fein

Mute Messer
    Favourite Messer
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:46 PM

In fairness, if they did dump this its like writing your name on the desk in school. You’re not going to get away with it

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og

No member of a political party would illegally dump their own partys lierature with all the logos and names on it. More likely a former member with a grudge.

Mute JoseMacPhisto
    Favourite JoseMacPhisto

@Seamus Og: Has this former member ended up in the forest next to the one where they dump the leaflets?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:15 PM

@JoseMacPhisto: Well surely Brian Stanleys team will own up to who they gave the box of leaflets to then…

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:51 PM

Election ever closer …

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:01 PM

@Willy Malone: It gets peak Tin foil hat whenever Sinn Fein mess up

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen

Why?

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og

I jokingly said the other day that the next thing will be that sf are being blamed for global warming. Not to far wrong.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:18 PM

@Seamus Og: Not but they are being correctly blamed for dumping, as a member you should expect better

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:26 PM

I was in jail for terrorist activities when the dumping took place d ellis.

Mute Dan Henry
    Favourite Dan Henry

One or two sad individuals came a long and dumped this thinking S.F.would get the blame so so sad how could anybody publish that()

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:00 PM

@Dan Henry: So how do “One or two sad individuals” get their hands on 1000 of the same official leaflet from the SF environmental spokespersons campaign?

Mute Charlie Wrex
    Favourite Charlie Wrex

Its a conspiracy Kevin – it always is. :)

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen

Dan

Proof?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:17 PM

@Nick Allen: No charlie its obvious. Brian Stanley’s canvassing team would have gotten all these leaflets. A single member or ex member likely did this. So Brian could easily identify who did this. He wont though because Sinn Fein don’t do transparency

Mute Dan Henry
    Favourite Dan Henry
    Dec 9th 2016, 10:07 PM

Would not be able to lift 1000 of the leaflets if not go to your nearest gym for five minutes and try to lift them then I bet you will Mr.Musle

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough

I was taken in a black out van to meet a dump truck driver but I will not name him until we have a truth and reconciliation commission.

Mute Tommy Doran
    Favourite Tommy Doran
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:11 PM

@Patrick Gough: Just tell you what is in the Dail

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Favourite Screaming Toddy

Sinn Fein dump loads of Sinn Fein rubbish in a place where they’d be found? A likely story. Someone in FF or FG is worried about the upcoming election. It’s pathetic stuff really

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:50 PM

Maybe this would be a little more within Alan Farrell’s capabilities to take on

Mute Mr D
    Favourite Mr D
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:55 PM

probably dumped by enda kenny or michael martin

Mute JoseMacPhisto
    Favourite JoseMacPhisto
    Dec 9th 2016, 6:06 PM

Yes. It was probably, nay definitely, dumped by one of those two. Have a Scooby snack.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:04 PM

At least they cleaned it up.

Mute John Cusack
    Favourite John Cusack
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:23 PM

How do they know they were not dumped by Sinn Fein members? That implies that they know who dumped them.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:30 PM

Hopefully the person or persond responsible will be caught. If it was a member of sf they should be expelled. The party doesnt want or need people who destroy the environment.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:38 PM

@Seamus Og: Care to ask Brian Stanley who did it then?

Mute Dessie Curley
    Favourite Dessie Curley
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:58 PM

I’m sorry but if you sent someone back to clean it up you’d clean it all up not cherry pick through it. But maybe that’s just my OCD and caring nature

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE

They should get to the bottom of it and find who did dump these. Horrible site , at least they cleaned them up pronto.

Mute Brendan Luke Ferron
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:11 PM

@LITTLEONE: I think they probably know the answer to that. As I said above I don’t think this happened any time recently. It says leaflets were found belonging to Michael Colreavy and he hasn’t run for an election since 2011.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:16 PM

@Brendan Luke Ferron: Brendan Brian Stanley would have had a canvassing team. to suggest nobody in Sinn fein remembers what the team was and who is no longer a member is absolutely laughable. Nobody is that incompetent

Mute Brendan Luke Ferron
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:23 PM

@Kevin Higgins: Yeah but those are not canvassing leaflets for Brian Stanley, they are a leaflet used in the 2014 locals from what I can see. Have a look at the picture – a solitary “A fair recovery is possible leaflet has been placed on to of the tri-folds to obscure who the actual material is for (rather suspicious wouldn’t you agree? The section at the bottom is just a small bit from Brian, probably relating to the water Charges.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

@Brendan Luke Ferron: Are you trying to suggest someone printed these leaflets identifcal to the ones Brian used & dumped them all in a big conspiracy against Sinn Fein?

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:33 PM

Can sf not hold a kangaroo court and interrogate the suspects.

Mute Brendan Luke Ferron
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:35 PM

@Kevin Higgins: No, I am clarifying that I don’t think they are Brian Stanley leaflets, that’s all.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:40 PM

@Brendan Luke Ferron: Meaning someone printed identical leaflets, amazing considering you only commented 20 mins ago suggesting it was an ex-member. Comical carry on from the party of closed doors.

Mute hollow1
    Favourite hollow1
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:13 PM

@Patrick Gough: You’re No1 suspect.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Dec 9th 2016, 6:10 PM

Patrick maybe FG could get a ‘retired judge’ to look into it.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul

Well done FG boys doing this, hey Journal commentators?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

@Paul: Where do FG boys get 100s of unused Brian Stanley leaflets in a box?

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:47 PM

Kevin, it wouldn’t be impossible to print up copies of the original.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:52 PM

Kevin

They paid off the legit bin company SF paid to discard the rubbish or printed them!!!!!

I think you missed the fact I am been sarcastic…..

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:57 PM

It’s dup on Sinn Fein week

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan

@P.J. Nolan:
    It’s dump on Sinn Fein week……

Ah well

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:19 PM

@P.J. Nolan: Only crowd involved in dumping here appears to be Sinn Fein

Mute Donal Martin
    Favourite Donal Martin
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:53 PM

This is hilarious

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough

eamon Mccann just said on radio that if gerry Adams shops the killer he could be killed by the lads.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Dec 9th 2016, 3:54 PM

Sounds like Enda had scrappage

Mute John Rag Scales
    Favourite John Rag Scales
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:53 PM

Election on the horizon and i can say that all the ff/fg/lab gimps on here desreve what you get.your parties are nothing but traitors and robbers.you go on about sf cover ups.whilst that gimp mehole martin and bellenda kenny cover up the blatant murder of a child mary boyle..god forbid it ever happens to any of your children.you are vermin

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:21 PM

When Sinn Fein were at the site removing the leaflets, I assume they had the good sense to remove any other items that could identify the dumper.
    Protect the party comes number 1.
    Did Sinn Fein leave all the other non-incriminating rubbish there once they sent in their clean-up team?

Mute Donal Carey
    Favourite Donal Carey
    Dec 9th 2016, 6:47 PM

Anybody worried about the rest of the rubbish that was dumped their Sinn Fein has picked theirs up which was tipped and not by Sinn Fein . I would have thought people would be worried about the rest of the rubbish and about who owns it.

Mute shits ville
    Favourite shits ville
    Dec 9th 2016, 6:07 PM

The former member responsible for this crime has undergone internal discipline. No need to involve the DPP or an Garda. End of story, now go back to sleep Ireland.

Mute Michael Clinton
    Favourite Michael Clinton
    Dec 9th 2016, 4:22 PM

It’s really comical reading comments from the multi account holders and the hacks & trolls. Just goes to show that the saying “little amuses the idiots” is true. Personally I could care less about this person says this and that person says that . At the end of the day the truth will surface and the guilty will be named. Anyway,enough excitement for me readibg all your pathetic jibing, I’m off out for a pint in the real world with real people. Have a great evening saddo’s

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Dec 9th 2016, 7:39 PM

The guilty will not be named. The crime scene was carefully cleaned up by Sinn Fein before anyone else could inspect it. Old habits die hard.

Mute Mary Glynn
    Favourite Mary Glynn
    Dec 9th 2016, 5:34 PM

Yeah we are on the cusp of another taxpayers election,sorry lot up there,haven’t a bull notion on govern the country,would rather be arguing over trivialities..Just get that dump cleaned up and stop blaming and moaning.

Mute Thomas McGilly
    Favourite Thomas McGilly
    Dec 9th 2016, 7:43 PM

Can’t wait for the whataboutery and blaming others. Responsibility has never been the Shinner’s strong point.

Mute johnr
    Favourite johnr
    Dec 9th 2016, 6:20 PM

I know some nice walks which are ruined with this kind of thing. It was someone who takes a lot of pride in their country alright.

Mute Séadhna Logan
    Favourite Séadhna Logan
    Dec 9th 2016, 9:55 PM

I find it very interesting that what appears to be a relatively new illegal dump site has materials from a retired TD that lives over a 100 miles from there and contains literature spanning a number of years and campaigns. In fact does no-one find it strange that none of the 3 TDs named represent the area concerned. This is a set up plain and simple.

Mute Joe Smith
    Favourite Joe Smith
    Dec 10th 2016, 2:03 AM

There are those who believe all sf election material belongs in a dump :)

Mute steve white
    Favourite steve white
    Dec 10th 2016, 1:39 AM

so which SF rep moved closed their constituency office?