You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE GARDA COMMISSIONER Martin Callinan has resigned in a surprise move which follows months of controversy surrounding his handling of a number of issues within the force.
Callinan’s resignation has come amid increasing political pressure to withdraw remarks in which he described the actions of two garda whistleblowers as “disgusting”.
His departure comes without an apology to the two whistleblowers or a withdrawal of the remark. He has not yet commented on the reasons for stepping down.
Callinan had attempted to clarify his comments, made at the Public Accounts Committee in January, but this did little to ease pressure on him.
However, the ‘disgusting’ remark was not the only cloud hanging over Callinan. Here are six reasons why he may well have decided to step down today.
1. The political pressure
Five Labour Cabinet ministers and, significantly, Transport Minister Leo Varadkar have all said in the last week that Callinan should withdraw the ‘disgusting’ remark – a significant ramping up of the political pressure on the Commissioner after months of opposition TDs calling for him to go.
While TDs on the backbenches is one thing, the views of government ministers carry some weight and while none of them, at least publicly, were calling for him to step down, the fact there was a clear desire from one party in the coalition for him to withdraw the remarks meant that unless Callinan did so, there was going to be a big problem.
2. His relationship with Alan Shatter
It is well known that Callinan was close to Shatter but was he too close? That was the question many observers had been asking in recent months, particularly when it emerged that Callinan had given the Justice Minister information about independent TD Mick Wallace that the minister then used on RTÉ’s Prime Time.
Shatter extended Callinan’s term in office in 2012, expressing full confidence in the work and reforms he was carrying out (more of which below), but the lingering questions about the minister being too close and perhaps not critical enough of Callinan had a big impact on the public perception of their relationship.
3. Penalty points just wouldn’t go away
Callinan had to deal with a variety of issues in recent months, but penalty points was one that just wouldn’t go away. There were various offshoots from the issue itself – principally the relationship with and handling of the whistleblowers.
But leaving those aside the fact there are clear differences between an internal garda report into the cancellation of penalty points and those carried out by the Comptroller & Auditor General and the Garda Inspectorate left questions.
Callinan insisted that systems had been improved in the fixed charge processing system and the Garda Inspectorate expressed confidence that recommendations in its damning report would be implemented in full. But with a report by the Garda Ombudsman into the penalty points issue looming, it was set to remain on the agenda in the coming weeks.
4. The relationship with GSOC was poor
The relationship between the gardaí and its watchdog should not be a good one, it should be somewhat adversarial, but it should not be as toxic as it had become. So much so, the Garda Ombudsman felt compelled to make a point of stating that gardaí were not cooperating in investigations and handing over documentation in a prompt manner.
The alleged surveillance/bugging of the Garda Ombudsman – which both GSOC and the gardaí insist publicly showed no clear indication of garda involvement – had left questions that are currently being dealt with by a retired High Court judge whose report will no doubt dominate the news agenda when it is published and could raise more issues for Callinan.
5. Legacy issues
There are claims gardaí mishandled a number of serious cases involving abduction, assault and murder that are being looked at by a senior barrister. That report will no doubt raise more issues for the organisation.
In addition, the handling of the convicted drug dealer Kieran Boylan as a garda informant was the subject of a critical report from the Garda Ombudsman which examined accusations of collusion between gardaí and Boylan in the movement and supply of drugs. This raised more questions which remain unanswered.
Then there was the report of the Smithwick Tribunal into the murder of two RUC officers by the IRA after they had left Dundalk Garda Station in 1989. Callinan was horrified and accepted the Smithwick findings in full, but the report itself was scathing of “some misguided sense of loyalty” within the gardaí at the time.
6. He was due to retire anyway
In November 2012, Shatter extended Callinan’s term in office by two years – he had been due to retire when he turned 60 in August 2013 – which would have taken him up to August 2015, but there were indications that he may have decided to call it a day this August.
Announcing the extension at the time, Shatter noted: “At a time of such significant organisational reform, I believe that it is desirable that there should be continuity in Garda leadership, and I am delighted that Martin has agreed to this extension. His leadership over this period, during which there will be further challenges to be met, will be invaluable.”
It will be Callinan’s successor who will now faces those challenges.
Our Explainer articles bring context and explanations in plain language to help make sense of complex issues.
We're asking readers like you to support us so we can continue to provide helpful context to everyone, regardless of their ability to pay.
Pay your taxes apple. €13 billion . Plus interest. Hundreds of billions cash reserves because you pay little or no tax anywhere. One thing is certain apple employees pay a lot of tax . Tax to the hilt by this government.
The companies under investigation by the EU – AOE and ASI – have employees in only one country – Ireland. So if the Irish employees are generating the profits then maybe they should be taxable in Ireland. So apple don’t mind that the employees get taxed to the hilt as long as they get the sweet heart deals.
Good to see he left cheering on an EU supranational tax audit. I presume when he same commission tells us to pay water charges, that you’ll be still happy to comply.
Jason. If it’s cheering that a multi billion corporations has been shown to be not paying correct taxes and had a sweetheart deal while ordinary taxpayers have been taxed to the hilt . Then I will cheer. If the tax is owed , the tax is owed . It’s a lot different than water charges. It’s illegal state aid, sweetheart deals. Facilitating a company pay no tax anywhere. You on the other , give yourself a clap on the back because you think it’s the same as water charges. How sweet
Haha . Jason. Your gas. Didn’t the government already agree with the commission on water. They said have to do as the commission recommended. Now the commission has ruled on something and its bad commission. No pleasing some people. Tax the little people with a water charge Ireland. Yes Europe, straight away. Collect €13 billion in tax and interest owed to Ireland from apple. No Europe we don’t want it. We are going to vigorous appeal this. See the difference Jason
In 2011 apple through 2 companies based in Ireland earned 16 billion in profits. After the “exemption” they got from the revenue commissioners they paid 12.5% on only 50 million of the 16 billion. Apparently legal at the time under Irish law but definitely not moral and doesn’t put apple in the biggest taxpayer bracket by any stretch of the imagination. The 15.5 billion.that they didn’t pay tax in in Ireland was accredited to companies that are not actually registered in any country so to date they haven’t played one penny of tax on that money.
Apple will fight tooth and nail to pay their tax bill here in Ireland so long as there is a legal right to remit all their offshore cash into any country including the US without any threat to double taxation. Even with punitive rates of interest & charges, It’d still be below the US basic rate. They will have to bring this out of an EU court ruling which America will not respect and into an international arbitration court whose ruling on tax are signed up to by all the relevant countries. I don’t think the US will accept them paying us billions, they want their cut as soon as Apple moves the cash home.
Stephen Todd, if your asking about my “claim” about the 16 billion and the 50 million. You should direct your question to the financial editor with news talk 106 who I was quoting after listening to him on the Pat Kenny show this morning. In fact as the journal is owned by the same company (I think) maybe they can fact check it for us?
How is it not moral? Do you think they earned 16Bn in profits in Ireland? No, they were made from their worldwide operations. The fault here lies with OECD Transfer Pricing rules, IFRS/US GAAP accounting policies and national tax codes. The profits repatriated to this entity were moved out of every country in the world without hiding a thing from them… People acting like the 13Bn was taken from our health service or made people homeless are populist fools unwilling to invest the time and energy to understand the operations of modern multinationals.
It wasn’t their worldwide operations under investigation do , was it ?. Wasn’t it just AOE and ASI that was under investigation. they only – have employees in only one country – Ireland. So if the Irish employees are generating the profits then maybe they should be taxable in Ireland. The sweetheart deal allowed Apple to shift up to two-thirds of its global profits through a handful of Irish-registered companies that routinely paid less than 1% tax.
Appearing before a US Senate hearing on tax, Apple’s head of tax policy Phillip Bullock confirmed that two Irish subsidiaries – Apple Operations Europe and Apple Sales International – paid approximately 2% in tax.
When asked about its reasons for operating in Ireland, CEO Tim Cook said that the company had received a “tax incentive arrangement” as part of its decision to establish here in 1980.
Straight from the horse’s mouth.
Tax incentive, think we now know what he meant.
The European Commission’s investigation found that Ireland reached an illegal arrangement with Apple that allowed the company to pay almost zero tax on its European profits for more than 10 years. The tax breaks cut the company’s effective corporate tax rate on its European profits from 1 percent in 2003 to just 0.0005 percent in 2014, according to the EU report.
the eu bond holders must be happy we wont c a penny of it. ff fg yet again selling the irish citizen out when will people ever learn.they can appeal with their own money not ours.
Correct Emily! I have been saying the same for years!! Ireland is way too heavily dependent on Foreign investment. It’s Tim we got up off our backsides and invested in ourselves! I get sick of hearing how young and well educated your population is. It seems we are in awe of American companies and will do almost anything to bribe them into setting up over here. Sure it looks good and they do create jobs, but when you co sided all the grants and perks they’re offered, you have to ask yourself if it’s worth it. Indigenous companies aren’t getting treated as well, which automatically creates unfair competition. All it’ll take for the foreign companies to up sticks is the offer of a better deal elsewhere. Ask anyone who worked in the printing trade about the multi nationals they used to work for! Ask them where these companies took their jobs to!
is that the same Nokia that failed to respond tot the smart phone market and ended up being taken over by Microsoft and now as disappeared as a main stream brand.Also Finland was over reliant on Nokia and their economy has stagnated after the fall of Nokia https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2015/07/whats-happening-to-finland-economy/
Not the best example
Emily, Nokia was built out of the finnish rubber company diversifying, while Ericsson was built on the back of private Swedish banks investing in Telecoms. or banks are institutionally dodgy and would never invest, while we have no worthwhile natural resource to build upon. We need to create an environment for scientific and biotech startups to do anything, but these shady deals and the dependency on the IDA and Irish banks means we can never have successful indigenous industry since Smurfit sold up. btw: Ericsson is the largest software developer in Ireland as nearly all of the tech companies have little to no ITC or development work. They also don’t need a sweetheart deal to employ Irish people, or divert their EMEA profits through us. just saying.
So we’re all in favour of abolishing corporation tax entirely, then? That will set a level playing field between indigenous businesses and FDI. And more to the point, it will really really annoy our EU overlords.
There’s a long Q of Investment houses and EI waiting to provide the seed capital to fund bright ideas for new scalable business from budding Irish entrepreneurs.
More could be done at school and University level in Ireland to inspire those creative kids with the bright ideas for new products, services, particularly involving IT / eCommerce.
Ireland needs one of the big Global IT guns to sponsor a competition – something similar to Aer Lingus’s Young Scientist of the Year – to find Ireland’s Young Inventor / Entrepreneur of the Year.
I’ll write to Apple’s HQ on this when I find the address.
This is the EU’s attempt at tax harmonisation through the back door. Without the benefit of a low corporation tax, what good is Ireland to multinationals? Almost anyone in Benelux or Scandinavia can speak English as well as anyone in Ireland and they have bigger economies. And if the UK dropped their corporation tax as part of Brexit, they could just move to London. The British are already encouraging Apple to do so.
That’s not even considering the trade war with the US this could start. They’ve already promised to consider countervailing duties in retaliation.
Another self-inflicted wound by the EU on its descent into protectionist irrelevancy.
Who is going to invest in the UK now with Brexit? As for moving to the continent with higher corp tax, stronger labour and union laws and more business bureaucracy? It’s not just tax and Apple and other FDI knows this. Why demand for a more efficient gov to work in when your corp tax is less than1%. All the EU has to do is insure tax is paid on the sales if each state and we’re in a mess. It’s not even as if we’re a big net contributor and our crazy yet rational gnp/GDP figures have come home to roost.
Stephen, Societé Generale have declared, post-Brexit, that they are retaining their HQ in London…albeit moving from the City to Canary Wharf. Move will be completed by 2019.
Tales of the death of the UK are vastly overstated and do not bear scrutiny.
Finally the whistle has been blown on one of the biggest tax scams and avoidence ripoffs in corporate history.These guys make Bernie Madoff look like a franscian friar on a charity round in Naples. And only in Ireland could the denials and delusions continue after the guilty verdict.What a fcuk up of a Banana Republic.
Look lads the European overlords have made a specific ruling against tax haven ireland and apple. The Irish government have been instructed to recoup 13000million in unpaid taxes. Now the Irish government has form for doing as instructed by Europe. Eg the non burning of bondholders the non recapitalisation of our banks and the implementation of water metering and charges. I don’t see any chance of non compliance with this directive said no one ever
Benny, in this case the EU are on our side (the people). This is an obvious dodgy deal and Ireland was caught out – it wasn’t necessary to gain such a small stipend in terms of jobs (even though every job is welcome) at the loss of integrity and transparency. The non burning off junior bondholders was entirely the wrong decision, and it was one that Noonan and fg were happy to capitulated on, to the point of being behind it. Let’s just say that if Noonan is being discussed, it is never for the benefit of the Irish people.
Don’t be silly. The EU are on the side of big countries like France, which wish they could get Apple to set up there. They don’t give two hoots about the people. They preach competition between businesses, but panic when they see competition between countries.
Ben, France would be happy to see some of their own companies set-up there.
Last week, Societé Generale…one the their big banks…announced that by 2019 they would move their HQ from City of London to Canary Wharf, London. And, yes, that was long post-Brexit.
Would Apple et al choose to move out of the EU, but not back to America? Who knows what the future holds. Exciting and uncertain times ahead.
@Ben, while I understand your paranoia of the EU based on our dealings with the ECB, this case was coming for a long time, and it was clearly based on both EU and Irish competition laws being ignored. To allay any bias, you should know that France have been accused of illegal state aid 24 times this year, and Germany 33 times. Ireland has only been up twice (mainly Credit Union stabilization). The commissioner in this case, coming from a small country herself, is only analyzing and presenting the rules based on the evidence before her. Ireland’s response was that the deals struck with Apple were above board (they are still secret, except for the jobs bribe) and they met with global tax laws (they didn’t as they allowed all of the profits to go to a stateless shelf company). And still we are going to pursue this appeal with little or no evidence apart from ignorance and the lack of a paper trail.
For all their bad points, the EU could and should be a protection for all it’s citizens against the real enemy of our own politicians.
At the end of the day, that is not our money, never was, never will be. Their Irish taxes were paid, the rest was swindled from the USA, UK, France, Germany etc. This report was only round one, in the end it’ll end up in the US treasury, with the headache and cost of retrieving it being lumped onto us as a punishment for facilitating the scheme. The main battle is at US/EU level about their own corporate taxation rules, Apple etc. operate in grey areas of smaller but connected economies to maximise gain. The big players want it all back, so don’t start planning on any new schools or hospital beds with that money. If Ireland were to make a grab for it, it would be stealing their money, they would stop us or hit us back hard. Never a Noonan fan, but he’s right to be careful and slow the ball down.
it was never about us claiming the money. it’s about our country being prostituted out to multinationals for a few thousand jobs, and a small top up on our revenue. Noonan’s job isn’t too “slow it down”, but to ensure that the mislaid revenue ends up fairly where it belongs – either in the US, or else distributed in the EU countries that generate this profit. unfortunately, he and his team are dangerously incompetent in admitting their mistakes, and will both lose the tax income from apple and suffer fines from both the EU and the US for tax evasion.
Ye whats a few thousand jobs? The Googles, Facebooks, Intels, HP, Apples, IBMs, and take your pick of all the Medical Device Companies; what will happen to our science and engineering graduates when the big boys junp ship and setup shop somewhere else? The MedTech sector alone employs 29 thousand people in this country and some of the biggest companies in the business are here. Its not just a few thousand jobs really.
The few thousand was only for Apple – Intel, HP and IBM have a physical presence here that adds value to the companies. Google, Facebook, Twitter and Apple generally don’t and their employees are mainly foreign nationals in the marketing, sales and localisation area that could be located anywhere.
The Medtech companies have already started to withdraw the value add (Wyeth, Pfizer etc shutting down their fabrication plants), and have remained here for the tax washing function. The Allergen merger should also have sent off HUGE alarm bells in terms of our hosting of companies who actually make a long term investment as Pfizer has done for 40 years, vs what MNOs think when planning to host in Ireland. Either way, it’s a tiny fraction compared to the number jobs generated by our SMEs that don’t receive any of these state aids/sweetheart deals.
So what happens if all the multinationals pull out of ireland over the next decade or so because they no longer have the tax breaks in place, what happens to the est.200,000 people employed by these companies in good paying jobs, not to mention the companies around the country who supply all these multinationals,what happens to those people and there family’s.
This ruling has no bearing on any other multinationals. It was only 2 subsidiaries of apple that was investigated due to the special deal they had here. That is why it was investigated. Only apple was under investigation
I can only tell you what is being reported. It was apple in Ireland. Different companies in different countries have been investigated over the years . Apple here only. You would imagine it would have been more if they suspected a problem with other. multinationals .
LITTLEONE, or maybe….pick off a big one first and then go after the rest? The EU is not in a war and so can afford to pick it’s battles.
Problem is, the rest might decide to remove themselves from the field before the battle is called. Could Apple operate in New Zealand, or Australia or………….? Quite possibly, following some calculated inconvenience.
I’m not suggesting it will happen, but no-one has ever gone up against these big beasts before, AFAIK. The rules of engagement might be somewhat different than those we currently understand.
Apple should be made pay.. plus all interest. Who ever set up that deal in the first place should be jailed. If anyone owes a cent in property tax the revenue would chase you to the end of the planet to get it. Why should there be a special deal for Apple. Pay up .
There’s a fundamental point here that people are missing, and it hit me as i listened to the Noonan.
The culprit here is the US tax authorities, not the Irish tax authorities. Apple held that cash tax free in Ireland because if it repatriated it to the US, it would have to pay 35% tax. Equally, it was not Irelands to tax because the economic activity that generated it was not in Ireland. Ireland agreed with Apple that they should only pay tax on their activity in Ireland, which obviously relates to a much smaller amount of profit. So the money became stuck in no-mans land, as a result of high US taxes and Apples decisions, nothing to do with Ireland. That’s the reason the effective tax rate was as low as 0.005%, but she is wrong to say there was a tax liability in Ireland. After all the Apple device in your pocket was designed and developed in California, manufactured in China and sold around the world.
…this is the same EU that had no governance of its own financial, and who haven’t had an auditor sign off its budgets in over a decade? And they “rule” a windfall tax that they will sequester for themselves? And we listen to these numpties? You couldn’t make it up….
Bull according to the EU ones? Germany has a slot for Apple and was RTE news making fun out of apple with terms like appeal and a chunk out of apple etc…
I suppose Germany has their eye on apple now?
'Toxic brand': Irish Tesla drivers want you to know they don't all support Trump and Elon Musk
27 mins ago
Investigatesyour stories
Powering through and praying: Your stories of the GP crisis in Ireland
6 hrs ago
speaking time row
Michael Lowry says he was telling Paul Murphy 'to sit down with my fingers'
14 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say