You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Members of the public pictured at the Forty Foot in Sandycove for the annual traditional Christmas swim. Laura Hutton via Photocall Ireland

Women members finally accepted at Forty Foot club

The Sandycove Bathers’ Association is allowing women members after years of protests.

SANDYCOVE BATHERS’ ASSOCIATION will finally accept women members into its club.

Since the 70s women were able to swim with the club at the Forty Foot, but were not allowed to use the two club huts. One is for changing and the other has kitchen and clubhouse facilities.

Many women paid an annual fee to the club for maintenance but this did not entitle them to membership.

Many protests have been made by women swimmers over the years. A vote was held on the issue by the association in 2012 but it was defeated 24 to 17.

Councillors even called for the Government to review the 1937 operating licence for the club last October.

Finally, it was decided in a meeting last week that women could become full members and two women have already been accepted.

A new bathing shelter was put up by Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council at the Forty Foot. The unisex changing room will now be used by the women swimmers.

Dun Laoghaire Councillor Jane Dillon Byrne, told TheJournal.ie that,

It’s long desired and people have been working on it since equality was introduced into Ireland in the 1970s.

Read: Dún Laoghaire to get floating swimming pool and urban beach>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

94 Comments
    Mute Des Doran
    Favourite Des Doran
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:08 AM

What about the Flora Charity Mini Marathon , two sides to the coin.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:12 AM

I know, it’s terrible that a man has to dress up in drag to fool the organisers into letting them compete in it

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:14 AM

Agree try having a male only run. And watch the protest.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:21 AM

I think people should stop giving money to the women’s mini marathon charities until they stop discriminating men.
    Also stop the practice of humiliating men by making then wear fake boobs if they want to compete.

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:40 AM

I love the term “mini marathon” , its a 10K , a 100 mtr race could never be called a mini 400mtr race….

Mute John Johnson
    Favourite John Johnson
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:10 AM

Our friends in the EU courts should be made aware of this scandal….

This is against our human rights.

Mute JoJo
    Favourite JoJo
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:33 PM

@Michael – the Arc 10km race in the Phoenix Park used to be men-only (to raise money for male cancer research and support) but it is now mixed as they just weren’t getting the entries.

Mute Shay
    Favourite Shay
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:25 AM

Whats next, women pilots?

Mute Giuseppe
    Favourite Giuseppe

Ye women only gyms and sections in gyms drive me mad…..

Mute Homo Erectus
    Favourite Homo Erectus
    Mar 14th 2014, 9:29 AM

Yeah, sniffing the seats of the exercise bikes in the “men only” section just doesn’t have the same appeal!

Mute Giuseppe
    Favourite Giuseppe
    Mar 14th 2014, 11:42 AM

No such thing in Ireland as “men only gym”. And you can sniff whatever you like in the gym my friend that’s your business, once it doesn’t get in the way and slow my routine down knock yourself out.

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Mar 13th 2014, 12:23 PM

Yer one in the photo is headed for a nasty belly flop.

Mute Colin Murphy
    Favourite Colin Murphy
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:12 AM

P!ssing standing up next! How sad that it bothered them so much. I don’t get to go into the ladies changing room in penny’s either but I’m ok with that. Not starting any petition!
    Can I join the ICA? That discriminates against men!

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:02 AM

Wahey, next up Portmarnock Golf Club….

Mute Teresa Scanlon
    Favourite Teresa Scanlon
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:04 AM

No, next up Women Priests in Catholic Church; well it could happen. All discrimination must stop.

Mute micky malone
    Favourite micky malone

I really hope that doesnt happen….women unfortunately ruin golf courses…they are too slow and most can barely hit the ball more than 50 yards…there are of coarse a few exceptions but not many…you wouldnt mind as much if they would have the manners to let you play through but this almost never happens….

See 33 more replies ▾
    Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:10 AM

when will men be allowed to join the Irish Country women’s association?

Mute Lovely weather
    Favourite Lovely weather
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:11 AM

A smart arse who can’t spell… I believe you’ll find the word is spelled ‘Course….’

Mute in_zane_burger
    Favourite in_zane_burger
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:13 AM

Rule 42 of ICA doesn’t automatically disallow people based on gender

Mute David Linehan
    Favourite David Linehan
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:16 AM

Plenty of “women only” gyms. Let the lads have their bit if space for god sake!!!

Mute Teresa Scanlon
    Favourite Teresa Scanlon
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:17 AM

Agree, ICA pay heed.

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:18 AM

@in_ from the ICA website

Who can join the ICA?
    All women from the age of 16 can become members of the ICA.

http://www.ica.ie/Your-Local-ICA/Become-a-Member.532.1.aspx

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Favourite Montys Moonshine
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:20 AM

Men only pubs. Now there’s an idea and a half

Mute in_zane_burger
    Favourite in_zane_burger
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:21 AM

Yes but it doesn’t say men can’t join

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:22 AM

Women ruin golf courses? Seriously?! You’re an idiot.

Mute John Pepper
    Favourite John Pepper
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:24 AM

Grammar Nazi

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:27 AM

@ in_zane???? it doesnt say a dog or a cat can join either, its implied. Ive no problem with women only associations or clubs, but men ought to be entitled to free association as well

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Favourite Jeremy Usbourne
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:29 AM

How often are you on the links Ailbhe?

Its not OTT to say women are excruciating on a golf course.

Mute Colm Ward
    Favourite Colm Ward
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:34 AM

he never said ruin he just said they are slow at playing the game of golf

Mute Karen NíDhochartaigh
    Favourite Karen NíDhochartaigh
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:38 AM

Actually Micky malone used the word ruin….

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:42 AM

Jeremy, not often. Banning anybody based on abilities such as strength, speed or any other physical attribute would limit one gender significantly.

Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:42 AM

Its not OTT to say that golf is an excruciatingly dull game to watch.

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:44 AM

Female gyms, ICA, women’s business organisations are all allowed to exist without a whimper from anyone about inequality. We’re soon to have quotas for every plum position in the country without similar quotas for refuse collection, trades people, shop staff etc. It seems the equality card works only one way and always in a way that will give women the best of both worlds. Lets cop on here, if women want to have their own clubs that’s 100% fine in my book but it must work both ways.

And for what it’s worth in my limited personal experience most women are genuinely very slow on the golf course and usually demand reduced membership fees too for some reason. Some equality there.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Favourite Jeremy Usbourne
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:45 AM

By “not often” do you mean ‘not at all’?

Mute James Kiernan
    Favourite James Kiernan
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:48 AM

So the olympics should have mixed track and field events?

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:56 AM

Everything should be mixed James, according to the fairer sex. Except for things they want to do on their own of course.

Mute Hilary Briss
    Favourite Hilary Briss
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:57 AM

I wanna join curves

Mute John Johnson
    Favourite John Johnson
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:59 AM

And mixed boxing James…

I rang up a Curves gym one day for the craic and asked if I could join and I was told no its women only.. can you imagine the outcry if that was the other way around.

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:11 AM

I’m not saying everything should be mixed, I’m saying golf, like Tennis, should have women only competitions and if they want mixed four balls etc. An argument of women RUIN golf is ridiculous. Do you really suggest that women should not be allowed on a golf course. Based on the fact that they don’t hit the ball as far and therefore are slower???

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:13 AM

Jeremy, my participation in the sport is bot he point. Women’s participation is the point. Are you not allowed have an opinion on something because you aren’t heavily involved?

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:18 AM

Maybe you could help establish a women only course ailbhe. Everybody’s happy

Mute Gary Mason
    Favourite Gary Mason
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:21 AM

They are feminist HQ’s Leno, they kidnap a man once a month and sacrifice him to the gods, or so I hear

Mute Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Favourite Ailbhe O'Nolan
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:21 AM

Yeah, I’ll go remove the millions of euro sitting in my account and commission a golf course….

Mute Gary Mason
    Favourite Gary Mason
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:22 AM

Yeah they chew the grass, costs billions a year for the taxpayers

Mute damien chaney
    Favourite damien chaney
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:52 AM

What about designing male versions of the washing machine, iron and the noble Hoover cause my wife is forever asking me “what’s wrong with you that you can’t use them?” There not male friendly and maybe a female friendly cooker that can find that elusive middle ground between raw and burnt. COME ON LADIES LETS TAKE TO THE STREETS! better put in a double ironing shift you don’t want that to get away on you

Mute Dave King
    Favourite Dave King
    Mar 13th 2014, 1:00 PM

Who would voluntarily elect themselves to be near golfers. A bigger bunch of t@$ts has rarely congregated in the same area. Sitting at the 19th hole watching some numpty practice his swing in the bar… Bankers the lot of them

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Mar 13th 2014, 2:24 PM

“Rule 42 of ICA doesn’t automatically disallow people based on gender”

But the ICA doesn’t allow men. I tried to join out of Divilment and to ruffle a few feathers 8 or 9 years ago!

Must try it again. This time, we have a functioning equality authority. Thanks for reminding me!

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Mar 13th 2014, 2:52 PM

Sign me up Sam. We’ll go to the first meeting with a bag of cans

Mute Dagnet Taggart
    Favourite Dagnet Taggart
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:49 PM

Golf The task of hitting a gutta pecha ball around a cow pasture with a stick wholly unsuited to the job.
    Mark Twain

Mute Colm Ward
    Favourite Colm Ward
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:29 AM

worst thing ever women having rights to start with

Mute gastrophase
    Favourite gastrophase
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:06 AM

Excellent. It was quite ridiculous in this day and age.

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Favourite Hound of Cooley
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:59 AM

What men should do is ban women from say giving blow jobs – a new rule saying – women are not allowed and forbidden to give blow jobs only men are allowed to do it… then lay back and enjoy the protest movement.

Mute dearg doom
    Favourite dearg doom
    Mar 13th 2014, 12:29 PM

You guys are not doing yourselves any favours here. You just sound like the pettiest whingers on the planet.
    You know you don’t actually want to join Curves or a Women’s Marathon, because there are plenty more alternatives for men.
    The difference with the 40 foot was that it’s a unique place for diving and swimming in the area and the men got to change and have tea inside while the women stuck the cold outside. Remind me now, who’s the weaker sex?
    Also, it’s easier for a man to change under a towel outside without exposing himself than a woman.

Mute paddydunne
    Favourite paddydunne
    Mar 13th 2014, 12:08 PM

And who will make the dinner?

Mute Frances Faller
    Favourite Frances Faller
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:23 AM

Most of ye so called men on here are nothing but wimps bullies and cowards.

Mute James Kiernan
    Favourite James Kiernan
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:50 AM

Make tea not war….

Mute Dagnet Taggart
    Favourite Dagnet Taggart
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:54 PM

Brand us like that we might as well act like that Frances luv!

Mute Justin Forde
    Favourite Justin Forde
    Mar 13th 2014, 7:02 PM

Lapdancing clubs – ‘sexist, demeaning to women’
    Chippendales shows – ‘just a bit of fun’

Mute Jen.Gore
    Favourite Jen.Gore
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:33 AM

As usual,great comments by men to further back the need for feminism.

Mute James Kiernan
    Favourite James Kiernan
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:40 AM

Great comments by men…..showing we have a sense of humour!

Mute YOjwLMwW
    Favourite YOjwLMwW
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:49 AM

We are still 50% of the population, if you fail get us aboard hopefully this feminist con will cease to exist.

Mute John Johnson
    Favourite John Johnson
    Mar 13th 2014, 12:17 PM

Look Jen sweetheart, why cant we take part in the very sexist womens mini marathon or join curves?

Ill tell you why, most men know the need for women only clubs and the like just like men need theirs..

You know the saying, whats good for the goose is good for the gander.

Mute Laura Walsh
    Favourite Laura Walsh
    Mar 13th 2014, 1:31 PM

Sexism affects men and women. The same type of person that says women are weak, aren’t as capable as men, etc also says things like ‘all men should be strong and never show emotion’. Feminism to me, has always been a battle to get rid of gender stereotypes, not a battle of the sexes. It has benefits for EVERYONE. Men can run in the mini marathon, and they should be allowed. In terms of ‘curves’ I can only assume this is segregated because there might be different methods for men and women to lose weight? Calling her ‘sweetheart’ and telling her to listen is extremely condescending and rude. And so is the attitude of ‘well you better be nice to us or we won’t support your stupid movement’. And also, humour is clearly subjective because I think at this stage, the whole sandwich/kitchen thing is a little unoriginal.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 13th 2014, 2:36 PM

I don’t believe you Laura.

Mute Seg Murphy
    Favourite Seg Murphy
    Mar 13th 2014, 6:16 PM

Time for tea Laura….

Mute Laura Walsh
    Favourite Laura Walsh
    Mar 13th 2014, 9:56 PM

Which part of my comment don’t you believe Paul? And I’d love a cup Seg, you offering to make some?

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:00 PM

“Feminism… has always been a battle to get rid of gender stereotypes”
    It relies on a process of stereotyping all male behaviour, and viewing same negatively.

Mute Won Hung Loh
    Favourite Won Hung Loh
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:35 AM

The men should walk around naked. Then let us hear the howl from the women.

Mute Diarmaid Mac Aonghusa
    Favourite Diarmaid Mac Aonghusa
    Mar 13th 2014, 2:33 PM

Eh, they do.

Mute Sheila Larkin
    Favourite Sheila Larkin
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:55 AM

I prefer the company of socially inclusive people. If some men want to exclude women from something, then good luck to them. This way reduces the chances of having to interact with them. Win win for me.

Mute John Johnson
    Favourite John Johnson
    Mar 13th 2014, 12:13 PM

What about women only clubs.. you ok with that Shelia?

Mute Sheila Larkin
    Favourite Sheila Larkin
    Mar 13th 2014, 12:14 PM

No problem with those either John. Same logic applies – I realised after I should have made that point also.

Mute John Johnson
    Favourite John Johnson
    Mar 13th 2014, 12:37 PM

Cool Shelia, I do agree that it shouldn’t matter if im a man I should be able to join any gym I want and likewise with you being able to join what club you like.

What does me head in is the women who believe they have to right to join any club they want but keeping others exclusive to women.

Mute Sheila Larkin
    Favourite Sheila Larkin
    Mar 13th 2014, 1:20 PM

Looks like we’re on the same page John :)

Mute Dave Anthony
    Favourite Dave Anthony
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:31 AM

My first taught when I read this article was. “Oh no floating sanitary towels”

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:41 AM

My first thought when I read this comment was “Oh no.”

Mute Forest Master
    Favourite Forest Master
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:37 AM

Eh, how were they able to stop women using a public cliff face in the first place?

Mute John Little
    Favourite John Little
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:04 AM

They weren’t. Read it again.

Mute Forest Master
    Favourite Forest Master
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:09 AM

Then why did they want to be members of a bigoted d*ckhead club for sexist knobs?

Mute John Little
    Favourite John Little
    Mar 13th 2014, 12:04 PM

You’ll have to ask them that, I can only guess. :-)

Mute Colin Murphy
    Favourite Colin Murphy
    Mar 13th 2014, 10:30 AM

God help your wit Frances if you think that.
    Would it really bother you so much that men may just have male only clubs? I’m not bothered about women only clubs, gyms or anything else. I don’t get to go to hot yoga classes for women but there are no male only classes in my gym! Equality absolutely, but this is just the agenda of a few feminists.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:39 AM

“The unisex changing room will now be used by the women swimmers.” Is that exclusive until some chap decides to test the waters.

Mute YOjwLMwW
    Favourite YOjwLMwW
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:39 AM

Women will continue to encroach upon traditional male spaces while women keep their female exclusive charities and organisations that carter to their needs. Men have long been considered disposable to society and it’s time for them to realise that.

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Favourite Deirdre O'Byrne
    Mar 13th 2014, 12:54 PM

I’m in favour of people from particular groups getting together to the general exclusion of others in order to explore issues of identity, get support, socialise – whatever. We are all naturally drawn to those we share things in common with, and there is nothing wrong with that. The only danger is if we rarely or never socialise with those who are outside of our group, but how many men never socialise with women? :)

Men have particular issues that need to be dealt with. Suicide disproportionally affects males, for instance. Because of that and other things, I think things like men’s sheds, and male sporting groups, are a good thing.

However, these men are swimming in a public place – a place which, because it is public, cannot exclude women. I’m actually confused as to *how* they managed to exclude women – did they swim away whenever a woman swam in their direction? It strikes me as being just plain mean.

Mute Michael Connolly
    Favourite Michael Connolly
    Mar 13th 2014, 12:42 PM

“There are two theories to arguing with a woman. Neither works.”

Mute Maddie Cowser
    Favourite Maddie Cowser
    Mar 13th 2014, 12:58 PM

Ridiculous article. Men and women happily swimming together there for years, winteer and summer. We all share a cuppa and a chat. Thanks to the men who keep the place great and no that’s to the graffiti artists who continually try to spoil it.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Mar 13th 2014, 1:07 PM

Women have been going swimming there for a few years now!

Mute Gary Mason
    Favourite Gary Mason
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:17 AM

Sad day

Mute Gabriel Lacey
    Favourite Gabriel Lacey
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:42 PM

I just read all the above comments. Are there any nice, mannerly people left in the country?

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Mar 13th 2014, 6:23 PM

Listen lads – a woman unfree will never give ye peace.

Mute Rachel Owens
    Favourite Rachel Owens
    Mar 13th 2014, 11:51 PM

About bloody time

Mute Con
    Favourite Con
    Mar 13th 2014, 9:36 PM

John O’Callaghan, CEO of the ICA…..no men allowed?

Mute Ridiculous
    Favourite Ridiculous
    Mar 14th 2014, 12:07 AM

Its the end of the world as we speak.