You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A Somali child from southern Somalia stands in the rubble of a destroyed building near a refugee camp in Mogadishu, Somalia, Tuesday, Aug 9, 2011. AP Photo/Farah Abdi Warsameh

World Food Programme begins airlifting food to East Africa

The WFP is sending 800 metric tons of emergency aid to the region, where 12 million people are suffering from hunger.

THE WORLD FOOD Programme is sending 800 metric tons of high energy biscuits to East Africa to help fight the famine in Somalia.

The UN food agency said Tuesday that the series of nine airlifts will be enough to feed 1.6 million people for a day. The biscuits are being delivered to Kenya for onward delivery throughout the Horn of Africa.

More than 12 million people are suffering from the effects of drought in East Africa.

The US on Monday announced an additional $105 million in aid for famine relief efforts. The top US aid official said during a trip to a refugee camp in Kenya that models show that hundreds of thousands of Somali children could die in the famine if there is not a strong aid response.

- AP

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View comments
Comments
    Mute Trevor Beacom
    Favourite Trevor Beacom
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:25 PM

And still 50% of water will leak through the pipes.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:26 PM

@Trevor Beacom: which is grand as there not part of this nation.

Mute SinFeinLouny
    Favourite SinFeinLouny
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:35 PM

@Roy Dowling: yep

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Dave Walsh
    Favourite Dave Walsh
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:14 PM

@Trevor Beacom: Sun tax coming soon…

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:39 PM

@Trevor Beacom: 89million litres of water/day have already been saved fixing leaks which they are already doing.

https://www.water.ie/projects-plans/our-projects/

Mute ross guilfoyle
    Favourite ross guilfoyle
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:44 PM

@Tim Pot: well its not enough

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:06 PM

@ross guilfoyle: Ignore ‘tim’. he can pull a thousand figures out of his backside, but it still won’t change the fact that half a billion euro and a huge amount of labour went into fitting meters that FG were told weren’t needed, that could have been spent fixing leaks and leaving our water infrastructure in better shape.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:25 PM

@The Risen:

Hi ‘Paul’ Good luck in the election this year.

My figures are all from published documents, I tend not to store published documents up my backside.

The meters are still being used as they are invaluable to finding the leaks that ‘Paul’ cares so much about.

“In the case of specific leaks or specific demand, putting in a temporary meter is probably the only way to quantify what is going on. It can be a very valuable way of tracing leaks………in every situation where we renew pipe services, we put in a stopcock. All of our stopcocks have the capacity to take a meter. They are the only type of stopcocks that we use.”

https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/debate/joint_committee_on_housing_planning_and_local_government/2018-02-22/3/

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:33 PM

LOL! ‘Paul’ indeed.

Still doesn’t change the fact that half a billion and a huge amount of labour went into fitting meters instead of fixing leaks.

but keep going……

Mute We Love Katamari
    Favourite We Love Katamari
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:38 PM

@The Risen: don’t know who this dope thinks hes fooling. its obvious that repairing the big leaks was the best way to ensure supply.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:48 PM

@We Love Katamari: Plus he commentating on each anti IW comment for the last few days that Ive noticed, has to be paid to do it.
    He stated somewhere earlier that IW were spending 500 million to fix leaks .. later then stated something like 487 million for meter installs, which is bull, must be far higher, DOB did not buy sitserve to make that little money. Anyways lets say 500 mill to install meters v’s 500 mil to fix leaks.. so if no meter install the money was spent on fixing leaks, at least 50% more water would be available, let alone what the couple of billion to set up IW , which is most likely far higher, would have done

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:50 PM

@The Risen: I think Mr T Pot is actually Elizabet Arnett

Ms Elizabeth Arnett Head of Communications and Corporate Services
    Elizabeth Arnett, yes the woman on TV defending Irish Water was former head of Project Communications of RPS Consultants who had the Contract for Public Relations and Client Services for the Poolbeg Project .

RPS Consultants
    The contract between Dublin City Council and RPS for Public Relations and Client Services for the Poolbeg Project amounted to 30 million when initially quoted for 8.3 million. The European Commission ordered Dublin City Council to terminated its contract with RPS. It descried the contract as an ‘Illegal Situation’
    Both Jerry Grant, Irish Water’s head of asset management, and Elizabeth Arnett, head of communications and corporate services, previously worked for RPS Group, a consultancy firm that had advised the state in the setting up of Irish Water – part of a consultancy package that has so far cost the state €85m. RPS also made some €30m out of its consultancy contract on the Poolbeg project, a contract the European Commission described as “an illegal situation.”
    European Commision calls for end to €30m Poolbeg PR contract

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/ec-calls-for-end-to-30m-poolbeg-pr-contract-29743278.html

THE European Commission has called on Dublin City Council to terminate a multimillion euro contract relating to the stalled Poolbeg incinerator project.
    The original value of the contract – for client representative and public relations services – was in the region of €8.3m.
    RPS & Burning €81 Million on Poolbeg Incinerator

http://galwaytent.blogspot.ie/2012/02/rps-burning-81-million-on-poolbeg.html

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:51 PM

@The Risen:

…meters that are still being used to find the leaks to fix….

I suppose from IW’s point of view it would be helpful to know which part of the road to dig up…

Its also a fact that 89 million litres of water/day have been saved since 2014, through fixing leaks and increasing capacity. You can even see where: https://www.water.ie/projects-plans/

I wouldn’t be surprised if a few sneaky meters helped IW locate some of those pesky leaks either..

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:55 PM

@Tim Pot: BS. Less than 7% of the water lost is between the meter and the house. Half a billion and a massive amount of labour spent to fit meters that ignore 90%+ of the water lost.

Again, thats money and labour that could have been used to fix the real issue.

You’re full of it ‘tim’

Mute We Love Katamari
    Favourite We Love Katamari
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:56 PM

@Tim Pot: why are you quoting the most hated and distrusted company in ireland to back up the crap youre spewing on these articles

not credible, just like everything else IW put out

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:00 PM

@We Love Katamari: EXACTLY

“Irish waters doing a great job, here’s some figures from Irish Water to prove it”

Good lad ‘tim’ LOL!

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:03 PM

@Irish Bob: Irish Water is my Mastermind speciality topic that is all.

173m to setup IW, (not the couple of billion you claim)

477m spent on meters (over 2 years)

average spend of 689m/ year on capital expenditure (fixing leaks, improving capacity)

Feel free to do your back-of-envelope calcs with these figures.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:19 PM

@Tim Pot: so the the 2.4 billions wasted so far setting up a billing company is actually resting in someone’s account and you only spent 650m of it, that’s good news lets shut this shambolic scare mongering company down and use the remaining money to fix the leaks on the supply side where they have always been!

Incidentally if you are going to continue claiming Irish Water, a soon to be privatised company, own all the assets, will they be picking up the tab for the potential victims of stomach cancer due to the use of asbestos containing materials (ACMs) transporting water into the households?

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:20 PM

@The Risen:

It might surprise you to learn that installing a meter at the point of consumption (house) and another at a point along the main supply line (which is still happening) will allow you to determine if there are leaks present in that section of pipe. (comparing expected to actual flow rates)

Thus, the 90% has not been ignored in that scenario.

However, now that the consumption (house) meter has been discontinued, IW have to temporarily (about 10 days) install a meter close by, to determine where the leaks are.

You will be pleased to know these are the same meters that were to be installed in your home (so that helps reduce cost).

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:22 PM

@Tim Pot: Iirish Water PR is your paid job ..

173 million to set up, your having a laugh, i nearly fell off the chair laughing.
    Company I used to work for got just under half that.

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:28 PM

@Tim Pot: and how much spent on bonuses and perks for doing nothing?

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:40 PM
    Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 9:32 PM

@Tim Pot: Thanks for that Liz .. what incredible reading, i will have to trawl through in more at the weekend as unlike you I am not paid to do IW PR.

All that does is confirm to me that Irish Water has to go.
    Over staffed, overpaid, no transparency, cosy relationships between top people in IW and whom they give 10/20 year contracts to.

How Gerry Grant was hired first as Head of Asset Management after being the CEO of RPS Consultants, had previous advised on the setup of IW and had previous water consultancy contracts with councils and it still there, while John Tierney IW CEO and Eriva CEO were allowed to leave rather than be sacked.

http://wire.novaramedia.com/2014/11/an-unmitigated-disaster-8-reasons-its-kicking-off-in-ireland/
    http://www.engineersireland.ie/groups/regions/midlands/events/%E2%80%98irish-water-%E2%80%93-transforming-water-services-deliver.aspx

Jerry Grant Chartered Engineer is the former Managing Director of RPS and now is Head of Asset Management with Irish Water since April 2013, having been a Consultant to the Irish Water Programme since September of 2012. Between 2002 and 2012 he was Managing Director of RPS Consulting Engineers Ltd and before that was Director of MC O ‘Sullivan & Co for 10 years. In that period, Jerry acted as a water services consultant to many local authorities, led many major strategic projects and acted as Engineer and Employer’s Representative on a large number of contracts, the majority of which were water services contracts.
    RPS Consultants
    The contract between Dublin City Council and RPS for Public Relations and Client Services for the Poolbeg Project amounted to 30 million when initially quoted for 8.3 million. The European Commission ordered Dublin City Council to terminated its contract with RPS. It descried the contract as an ‘Illegal Situation’

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jul 4th 2018, 10:59 PM

@Irish Bob: it’s 5 hundred million over 5 years, so just 100 million a year to fix what is absolutely essential & should have been done before anything else! But they wanted us the taxpayers to pay to fix it all up for them before the vultures swoop in! Didn’t work & never will.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 5th 2018, 12:22 AM

@Colette Kearns: Exactly .. And has already happened in many places, its the business plan, states fix up infrastructure then hand over infrastructure assets that are worth billions to private entities who then charge back the same people while making huge amounts of minimal taxed profits.
    Water giants make £2BILLION in profit – but SEVEN of them didn’t pay a penny in tax – Mirror Online
    http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/water-giants-make-2billion-profit-4703371
    The New “Water Barons”: Wall Street Mega-Banks are Buying up the World’s Water
    http://www.globalresearch.ca/the-new-water-barons-wall-street-mega-banks-are-buying-up-the-worlds-water/5383274

Mute aboutallthethings
    Favourite aboutallthethings
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:29 PM

Maybe, during the year when there is an ungodly amount of rain, it would be an idea to start storing it on a large scale, nationwide? It’s better to have it and not need it, then to need it and not have it!

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms

@aboutallthethings: that costs money, and unfortunately people decided they don’t want to pay for a better water service

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:49 PM

@Sam Harms: The money was there Sam. It was spent on meters that weren’t needed.

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Frank Emerson
    Favourite Frank Emerson
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:54 PM

@Sam Harms: Hugely inaccurate.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:26 PM

@Sam Harms: the money is spent on anything except fixing the water system. That’s how the privatisation racket works.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:28 PM

@The Risen: IW are investing 5.5 billion during the period 2014-2021 upgrading the water infrastructure. This includes fixing leaks which they are already doing. https://www.water.ie/projects-plans/our-projects/ This is a 50% increase on the annual investment during the years 2004-2013

89million litres of water/day have already been saved.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:36 PM

@Tim Pot: hello Elizabeth. Would ya ever bog off with yourself with you propaganda

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:42 PM

@The Risen:

Meters cost 473m,

IW are saving 100m/yr

Meters are still being used to find the leaks.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:50 PM

@Tim Pot: Ha Ha Elizabeth, ya shot urself in the foot , “meters are still being used to find the leaks”

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:57 PM

@Irish Bob:

“In the case of specific leaks or specific demand, putting in a temporary meter is probably the only way to quantify what is going on. It can be a very valuable way of tracing leaks”

https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/debates/debate/joint_committee_on_housing_planning_and_local_government/2018-02-22/3/

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:58 PM

@Tim Pot: “IW are saving 100m/yr” how ??????

jasus in 20 yrs or so they will have recouped the 2 billion or so wasted already

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:00 PM

@Tim Pot: Is that so Elizabeth,, well a meter can only measure what goes through the meter into a house .. How about fixing the major leaks in the main networks..

BTW what it your day job ? who pays you ?

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:01 PM

@Sam Harms: how many times do prople need to be told! We already pay for our water etc…. through general taxation! People only have so much money….. wise up!

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:12 PM

@Irish Bob:

… a meter can be placed anywhere in the network and it will measure the flow of water through that point.

They are fixing the leaks, 89 million litres per day have been saved since 2014.

I’m Tim by the way. Nice to meet you.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:20 PM

@Tim Pot: Yeah right MR T Pot, Ill send you an email soon and we can meet up, yous till didn’t ell me what your job is and who pays you.
    I think you are Elizabeth as you spout the same tripe

Ms Elizabeth Arnett Head of Communications and Corporate Services
    Elizabeth Arnett, yes the woman on TV defending Irish Water was former head of Project Communications of RPS Consultants who had the Contract for Public Relations and Client Services for the Poolbeg Project .
    RPS Consultants
    Both Jerry Grant, Irish Water’s head of asset management, and Elizabeth Arnett, head of communications and corporate services, previously worked for RPS Group, a consultancy firm that had advised the state in the setting up of Irish Water – part of a consultancy package that has so far cost the state €85m. RPS also made some €30m out of its consultancy contract on the Poolbeg project, a contract the European Commission described as “an illegal situation.”
    European Commision calls for end to €30m Poolbeg PR contract

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/ec-calls-for-end-to-30m-poolbeg-pr-contract-29743278.html

THE European Commission has called on Dublin City Council to terminate a multimillion euro contract relating to the stalled Poolbeg incinerator project.
    The original value of the contract – for client representative and public relations services – was in the region of €8.3m.
    RPS & Burning €81 Million on Poolbeg Incinerator

http://galwaytent.blogspot.ie/2012/02/rps-burning-81-million-on-poolbeg.html

February 2, 2012
    RPS is a mighty fine English business working behind the scenes with apparatchiks at Dublin City Council and with Covanta, a serial lawbreaker from New Jersey.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:39 PM

@Irish Bob:
    No 2 billion wasted I’m afraid, if you were referring to setup costs, that was 173million (not billion)

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:03 PM

@Tim Pot: What meters more than half have being removed by now

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:52 PM

@Niall Binéad: and we obviously paid enough through general taxation, as our water system is in great shape……

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jul 5th 2018, 10:30 AM

@Tim Pot: Welcome Elizabeth

Mute Sean Mac Gabhann
    Favourite Sean Mac Gabhann
    Jul 5th 2018, 1:38 PM

@Sam Harms: might want to check your facts there. We have been paying for water since 1978 (I could stand to be corrected on my date) but the rest is true :-).

Mute chris foley
    Favourite chris foley
    Jul 5th 2018, 3:58 PM

@Sam Harms: they pay with their taxes all ready , just previous and current governments are poor at budgeting

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Jul 6th 2018, 11:21 AM

@The Risen: the money was there it was given over ultimately to a Mr O’Brien who sold them the meters.

Mute Danny Ennis
    Favourite Danny Ennis

hope this weather lasts till September!!

Mute CryptoSteve
    Favourite CryptoSteve
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:33 PM

@Danny Ennis: I heard end of August from a few people!

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling

@Danny Ennis: Don’t think I could last that long..

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:50 PM

@Danny Ennis: well hopefully seeing as our summer will be coming to an end then. Jesus IW have totally screwed us all & talk about putting a dampener on what should be a wonderful summer!

Mute Craig Hughes
    Favourite Craig Hughes
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:24 PM

Thank god I have two wells

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling

@Craig Hughes: Greedy fecker. Any chance of a bit of water for the flowers?

Mute Barry McCarthy
    Favourite Barry McCarthy

@Craig Hughes: well, well.

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com

@Craig Hughes: Very Posh.

Mute David Gray
    Favourite David Gray
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:28 PM

@Craig Hughes: Well, well ,aren’t you the lucky lad.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien

@Craig Hughes: #metoo. Can’t wait to post vids on social media of me with my hose out. Take that whatever way you will.

Mute John Corrigan
    Favourite John Corrigan
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:37 PM

@Craig Hughes: Well well

Mute Susannah O'Brien
    Favourite Susannah O'Brien
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:04 PM

@Craig Hughes: Same here. Would feel sorry for anyone who needs a hose to water a greenhouse/veg patch. Our tomatoes will be well watered.

Mute Do the Bort man
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:34 PM

@Barry McCarthy: if only he had 3 Wells!

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:54 PM

@Craig Hughes: Groundwater will take even longer to replenish, you might be wise to take it easy too.

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:57 PM

@Do the Bort man:he would be well well well over the moon.

Mute Bart
    Favourite Bart
    Jul 4th 2018, 11:15 PM

@Craig Hughes: it doesn’t matter, a conservation order applies to everyone.

Mute Susannah O'Brien
    Favourite Susannah O'Brien
    Jul 5th 2018, 12:37 PM

@Bart: https://www.water.ie/news/national-water-conservati/ Actually, it doesn’t apply to private wells, or private group water schemes.

Mute John Noonan
    Favourite John Noonan

They’ll have the cross spotless by then

Mute Paul Quinlan
    Favourite Paul Quinlan

IW really are useless

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson

@Paul Quinlan: yeah they should have put and end to this sunshine already what do we pay them for

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:04 PM

@Paul Quinlan: no they’re not, they’re self important Audi drivers ,and they’re good for telling us to mind our water that is paid for by indirect taxation as everybody knows , except a few dosile people that do not understand simple English.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:27 PM

@Daniel Wilson: don’t know what they are paid for, obviously it has nothing to do with fixing leaks

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:36 PM

@Stephen Brady:
    Well it turn out they are being paid to fix leaks… who’d of thunk it!

IW are investing 5.5 billion during the period 2014-2021 upgrading the water infrastructure. This includes fixing leaks which they are already doing. https://www.water.ie/projects-plans/our-projects/

This is a 50% increase on the annual investment during the years 2004-2013

Mute Do the Bort man
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:53 PM

@Paul Quinlan: so the local authories did a better job?

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Jul 5th 2018, 1:25 AM

@Tim Pot: it’s about time they started. Should have done it first

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:53 PM

FFG so badly wish to ripen iw for privatization.. Nothing more certain ..
    Take 2 a coming :-|

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:35 PM

@Willy Malone: – well you will agree they really messed up in 2014 when they passed a law that requires a national vote if even 1% of IW were to be privatised….

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2014/act/44/enacted/en/print#sec2

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:56 PM

@Tim Pot: The New “Water Barons”: Wall Street Mega-Banks are Buying up the World’s Water

http://www.globalresearch.ca/the-new-water-barons-wall-street-mega-banks-are-buying-up-the-worlds-water/5383274

A disturbing trend in the water sector is accelerating worldwide. The new “water barons” — the Wall Street banks and elitist multi billionaires — are buying up water all over the world at unprecedented pace.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Jul 4th 2018, 10:55 PM

@Tim Pot: laws can’t be changed?

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Jul 5th 2018, 1:37 AM

@Tim Pot: How long do you think it would take them to abolish that when they need to? I’d guess it will be done in short order.

Mute Dannyboy
    Favourite Dannyboy
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:49 PM

What a joke of a country, snow there’s problems now sunny there’s problems ! How come other countries can managed this kind of weathers !

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:28 PM

@Dannyboy: because the population of other countries pay directly for a water service; money with which the infrastructure can be properly maintained and upgraded. We should try doing the same, really…

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:29 PM

@Dannyboy: we are not the only country suffering this at moment

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Favourite Mirabelle Stonegate
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:37 PM

@Dannyboy: Other countries are also more likely to deal with weather extremes on a yearly basis.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:40 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: those other countries get a lot more services for there tax money, we have a system that wastes tax money and and any money taken in by IW would only barely cover IW costs. What should have happened was spend the 500 million to fix leaks rather that a couple of billion to set up a quango headed by failures

Mute brendan H
    Favourite brendan H
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:59 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: Other countries pay low motor tax or no motor tax, its included in the fuel price, they don’t pay vrt on cars a tax on a tax, they pay property tax which includes bin service, school transport among other things, they have mortgages that have the same payment for the life of the mortgage, we pay for everything individually.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:14 PM

@Ajax Penumbra:

http://www.thesun.ie/irishsol/homepage/news/5406486/How-many-Irish-Water-staff-does-it-take-to-install-a-meter.html

A damning report by think-tank the Economic and Social Research Institute claimed the new utility only needs 1,700 employees — but it currently has over 4,000 on its books.
    It will result in up to €1.8BILLION in waste and will add €150million a year to customer bills, around €65 per household.

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra

@brendan H: “…we pay for everything individually”

Except for water.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:51 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: it doesn’t work like that in this corrupt country. Politicians were trying to line the pockets of the elite with our water services & trying to privatize just for profit. No one should profit from something that we all need to live on. Billions wasted so much so that if the billions spent on this rotten company had been used to fix the leaks we would have the best water services in the world! But due to some vile extremely greedy billionaires wanting to get even richer we all got screw over
    Our taxes we’re bringing in over a billion a year for many many years! ( iw intend to spend just 100 million a year each year-for the next 5 years on fixing leaks ) where is it gone.?

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:04 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: we do pay what planet are you on

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:05 PM

@Colette Kearns: no they weren’t

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:06 PM

@Martin O Donnell: …that’s why I said “pay directly”. I’m aware we pay via taxation; this is not a very good way to fund the service, however.

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian

Don’t think that ban has jurisdiction in the 6 counties

Mute Brendan M
    Favourite Brendan M

@Ian: poor choice of words, think they meant it kicks in state wide from Friday. Of course the nation will all be under a ban then as the 6 already have one in place

Mute Robin Pickering
    Favourite Robin Pickering

@Ian: the ones with proper infrastructure you mean?

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:31 PM

@Robin Pickering: So why have they had a hose pipe ban inplace aswell?

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:33 PM

Up hwre in the NW we paid a fortune to upgrade our water scheme which was then handed over to the council who gave it to IW for them to charge us with. We get the same good water we paid for and they got bonuses for all the years of us building the scheme. Totally new infrastructure with no leaks meant it was a gift. The supply from our massive lake means there is no water shortage at all so the hosepipe ban is pure boll@x and I hope we will all probably ignore it. In fact I’m off to paddle the canoe over our water now and admire the unaffected depths of hundreds of feet. IW are a joke and this is a muscle flexing device.

Mute ⚡ Seánie ⚡
    Favourite ⚡ Seánie ⚡

Quick, wash the car everyone!!

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:27 PM

@⚡ Seánie ⚡: meh. a clean car shows all the scratches

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:48 PM

Use ice cubes. Not covered by the ban…

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:11 PM

Salaries , Bonus’s , Cost … follow the money
    There are 29 Irish Water staff earning over €100,000

http://www.thejournal.ie/29-irish-water-staff-are-earning-over-e100000-1279724-Jan2014/

Irish Water staff set to get pay rises – on top of bonuses

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/irish-water-staff-set-to-get-pay-rises-on-top-of-bonuses-30712577.html

Mute Damien James Murray
    Favourite Damien James Murray

Are they going to shut down car washes or is that the next step ?

Mute Ian McNally
    Favourite Ian McNally
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:34 PM

@Damien James Murray: not all car washes use water from the mains

Mute Dara Smith
    Favourite Dara Smith
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:53 PM

@Damien James Murray: businesses pay for water used so no

Mute Damien James Murray
    Favourite Damien James Murray
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:37 PM

I was asking more out of interest then an attacking them.
    Regardless of if they pay for it the government can shut them down. I know 3 local car washes to me have shut down this week and I’m in North Kildare. I think it was the owner/operator that made the call.

Mute ben
    Favourite ben
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:51 PM

How obsurd the amount of rain we get all year and its gone in 30 days ridiculous… Our politicians problem solving skills are a joke.

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:31 PM

@ben: would it not be a waste of money to build a reservoir to hold 4 months water in case we get a heat wave every 70 yrs?

Mute ben
    Favourite ben
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:06 PM

@Vincent: yes thats dumb… We need to recycle our water better.. Plenty of cheap methods to increase water supply.

Mute ianglen
    Favourite ianglen

A lot of farmers without wells are on group water schemes. Under enormous pressure now.

Mute Ken Jordan
    Favourite Ken Jordan
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:49 PM

What a country we live in! 10 months of rain and 10 days of sunshine and we’re in a water crisis, there’s an old saying “give Ireland to the Dutch and they’d feed the world, but give Holland to the Irish and we’d all drown” – only that Ireland is where it is geographically we’d be like Haiti or the worst of Africa’s help holes….

Mute Malachy Guilfoyle
    Favourite Malachy Guilfoyle
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:49 PM

@Ken Jordan: Hasn’t rained in a lot longer than 10 days. This warm spell hasn’t caused all the water problems

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:50 PM

Always Remember and Never Forget those who seek to covet your children’s water!

No Votes for Pro Irish Water party’s, not even a 10th choice!

Hogan got in on the 13th Count and Kelly scraped through on the final count.

Roll on #GE2018 lets make enshrining the public ownership of our natural resources into our constitution an election issue!

The Vultures have had enough free dinners from this cadaver!

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 9:03 PM

@Jarlath Murphy:

There is no intention to privatise IW, but if there was, then according to the Irish water services act 2014 (Which is Law)

“if the transfer of ANY or all shares in IW to a private entity is proposed there must be a national vote”

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:45 PM

I’m sure most of us won’t have any such problems as we don’t have boats swimming pools ponds garden ornaments……

Mute Peter Brophy
    Favourite Peter Brophy
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:17 PM

@Colette Kearns: how are boats relevant?

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:31 PM

@Peter Brophy: you aren’t allowed to wash boats or cars for the duration

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:03 PM

@Peter Brophy: read the article!!

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:51 PM

@Colette Kearns: Though with no meters we’ll just have to take your word for it…

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jul 5th 2018, 10:32 AM

@Tim Pot: you don’t trust us?

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 5th 2018, 10:52 AM

@Tim Pot: Why Tim, are the meters smart or something and can tell where the water is being used ya plank !!

Mute Ailbhe
    Favourite Ailbhe

Would love to see people taking this seriously. There are animals that will be dying of thirst soon.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:23 PM

If you were worried about conservation you would fix the leaky system

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 9:22 PM

@Stephen Brady: They are fixing the leaks, so they must care then by your own definition.

https://www.water.ie/projects-plans/

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 9:44 PM

@Tim Pot: Why didn’t they start fixing leaks at the beginning, if they had there would be 50% more water by now ..

Irish Water isn’t fixing more leaks – or spending more on infrastructure

http://www.thejournal.ie/irish-water-infrastructure-spend-1847942-Dec2014/
    IRISH WATER IS set to spend less money on infrastructure than the Government’s average spend over the past 10 years.
    The company’s capital spend on infrastructure up to November of this year was €300 million – while the government’s average spend between 2004 and 2013 was €430 million

Mute A Right Pair Of King's !
    Favourite A Right Pair Of King's !

It’s disgusting the water being wasted.

Mute Ronan Gallagher
    Favourite Ronan Gallagher
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:39 PM

@A Right Pair Of King’s !: Over 50%

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 9:04 PM

@Ronan Gallagher: 36% in Dublin

Mute Ronan Gallagher
    Favourite Ronan Gallagher
    Jul 4th 2018, 10:32 PM

@Tim Pot: They want the Shannon too.

Mute high ho silver
    Favourite high ho silver

This really is all about FFG in charge of the country since its foundation,what have they done with all the money collected for the upkeep on the water infrastructure they spend it on something else .People would want to start thinking the next time they vote because FFG don’t care about anything but themselves

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 9:00 PM

@high ho silver: hospitals, schools, roads ect. that’s were the money went.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 9:41 PM

@Tim Pot: Banks, Audis, Gyms, Bonuses, over-staffing, consultants, legal fees, PR, Ads, John Tierney, Gerry Grant and Elizabeth Arnett ..
    Murky water in the Senior Positions of the Super Quango Irish Water.
    Managing Director John Tierney who was the Dublin City Manager that presided over the Poolbeg Incinerator Project which at estimated costs of over 95 million to the taxpayer.
    “The contract between Dublin City Council and RPS for Public Relations and Client Services for the Poolbeg Project amounted to 30 million when initially quoted for 8.3 million. The European Commission ordered Dublin City Council to terminated its contract with RPS. It descried the contract as an ‘Illegal Situation’

A neighbour has being filling a pool since last week every single day. It’s huge.

@A Right Pair Of King’s !: It takes a whole day to fill. It’s beyond belief.

Mute Robin Pickering
    Favourite Robin Pickering
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:29 PM

@A Right Pair Of King’s !: drill a hole in it tonight

Jul 4th 2018, 5:36 PM

@Robin Pickering: Lol Lol oh i would love to. She couldn’t give 2 hoots. I said why don’t you cover it in the evening, save filling it ? (Hint Hint) Ah sure it’s just as easy to refill it. I like them in it nice and fresh. I kid u not.

Mute Drew P. Baulsach
    Favourite Drew P. Baulsach
    Jul 4th 2018, 5:51 PM

@A Right Pair Of King’s !: elastic band + small nail = effective slingshot!

Jul 4th 2018, 5:56 PM

@Drew P. Baulsach: Lol Lol

Mute John Walker
    Favourite John Walker
    Jul 4th 2018, 9:40 PM

@Robin Pickering: and that’s not wasting water!?

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh

Last time I saw a hosepipe was feile ’91

Mute mike
    Favourite mike
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:00 PM

Who will be enforcing this hose pipe ban?
    And what legislation will they be using?

AFAIK there is nothing in law to prosecute / fine anyone who disregards this ban.

Mute vectorsector
    Favourite vectorsector
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:53 PM

Funny how the UK has had the same weather if not hotter in parts and for longer. Yet their reservoirs are 3/4 full and no water ban.

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton

@vectorsector: Ours probably are too. This is all about continuously mentioning this absolutely inept, corrupt and utterly pointless company to try and get people to accept it. Morons think we are fools.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:58 PM

@Ronan Sexton: #waterconspiracy

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 9:07 PM

@Tim Pot: Oh and the UK charge per litre of water used.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 10:29 PM

@Tim Pot: The New “Water Barons”: Wall Street Mega-Banks are Buying up the World’s Water
    Nestle CEO: Water Is Not A Human Right, Should Be Privatized | True Activist
    http://www.trueactivist.com/nestle-ceo-water-is-not-a-human-right-should-be-privatized/

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 10:30 PM

@Tim Pot: /Veolia Profit Rises as Water-Handling Operations Grow – Bloomberg Business
    http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2014-11-06/veolia-nine-month-profit-rises-as-water-handling-operations-grow
    Water management: Berlin no longer wants Veolia – Multinationals Observatory
    http://multinationales.org/Water-management-Berlin-no-longer

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 10:31 PM

@Tim Pot: Blue Gold : World Water Wars
    http://www.bluegold-worldwaterwars.com/

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 10:32 PM

@Tim Pot: Water giants make £2BILLION in profit – but SEVEN of them didn’t pay a penny in tax – Mirror Online

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/water-giants-make-2billion-profit-4703371

The 19 water made profits of more than £2.05billion in 2013, but paid just £74million in tax, with seven of them paying no corporation tax at all

Mute JesusMoreBullshit
    Favourite JesusMoreBullshit
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:50 PM

Propaganda by Irish Water thing else .

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:57 PM

Raining in Cork now, will have to deal with floods in the morning.

Mute Sean Newberry
    Favourite Sean Newberry
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:19 PM

I wonder if Croke Park etc will have to follow this rule? I think not for some reason.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:08 PM

Jerry Grant Former Head of Asset Management
    http://wire.novaramedia.com/2014/11/an-unmitigated-disaster-8-reasons-its-kicking-off-in-ireland/
    http://www.engineersireland.ie/groups/regions/midlands/events/%E2%80%98irish-water-%E2%80%93-transforming-water-services-deliver.aspx

Jerry Grant Chartered Engineer is the former Managing Director of RPS and now is Head of Asset Management with Irish Water since April 2013, having been a Consultant to the Irish Water Programme since September of 2012. Between 2002 and 2012 he was Managing Director of RPS Consulting Engineers Ltd and before that was Director of MC O ‘Sullivan & Co for 10 years. In that period, Jerry acted as a water services consultant to many local authorities, led many major strategic projects and acted as Engineer and Employer’s Representative on a large number of contracts, the majority of which were water services contracts.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:33 PM

IW is doing well,yeah right .

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:48 PM

They say that it will cost 1.5 to 2.1 billion to fix the national water supply just about the same as it will cost to build a local vanity (Leo and Pascal) project Metro North in Dublin which will serve a few and what many experts think will be bad value for tax payers money. Getting priorities right is something that is lost on our politicians it’s all about getting re-elected in their constituencies

Mute W Kevin Doyle
    Favourite W Kevin Doyle

I wouldn’t mind if the funding of water in Ireland was taken out of general taxation and a charge was levied on each property in the state, with a water allowance, and additional charges for excessive use, determined by use of meters. We are halfway there already…and within 5 years we would have a good water system up and running.

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:57 PM

@W Kevin Doyle: Not with a corrupt fake company at thd helm.

Mute Eoin Doe
    Favourite Eoin Doe
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:18 PM

Seen DCC watering flowers on my way out to Marino this afternoon

Mute Vincent
    Favourite Vincent
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:32 PM

@Eoin Doe: lots of them using canal and river water not treated drinking water.

Mute Sandra Creevey
    Favourite Sandra Creevey

@Vincent: maybe they could come and water everyone’s gardens for them

Mute Mark Johnson
    Favourite Mark Johnson
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:47 PM

@Sandra Creevey: How do we know what water is being used indoors?
    People may be using water indoors like baths and long showers OR filling paddling pools from inside to bring outside OR filling large basins of water to wash the car or water the plants.

Mute GO GREEN
    Favourite GO GREEN

The Jet Stream is not what it used to be. Melting Arctic has weakened the jet stream by slowing its west-to-east winds and triggering larger north-south meanders in the flow, causing weather patterns to remain in place for longer, resulting in prolonged heat waves as in Europe and US this Summer. This is not just a problem in Ireland in US Europe and Middle East the planet is sizzling in temperatures that are rising year on year. https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/capital-weather-gang/wp/2018/07/03/hot-planet-all-time-heat-records-have-been-set-all-over-the-world-in-last-week/?utm_term=.9601e2cb7a77 Its only going to get worse as the G7 pump billions into fossil fuels the driver of ever increasing extreme climate.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:21 PM

there seem to be two different issues and really proper journalism who chase this down.

Issue 1 is the amount of untreated water in the reservoirs or being taken from rivers for treatment

Issue 2 is the amount of treated water that is being delivered to households.

Sometimes in reading what IW say it is issue 2 that is causing the problem as in a 15% increase in demand that cannot be met as they are unable to treat water at the rate demanded which suggests that they can meet the demand if people reduce usage…. but occasionally it suggests IW reserves of untreated water are falling and this is a different issue

Therefore the question is are we not storing enough water or are we not able to treat enough water?

Of course flushing good drinking water down the toilet is a waste but we have not even considered the use of grey water for future developments and it could easily be implemented in new builds as it might be hard to retrofit.

If building could be prepared to use two water sources then in 10, 20 or 50 years that could be an option – and the cost to implement in a new build would be tiny – a few 100 euro at most to run two rather then on pipe to the existing mains…

Oh dear we are so short sited – sure we will be grand until next time

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:45 PM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: Yes i agree that some sort of grey water system for all but drinking water..
    The prob is they don’t want to fix, the priority is to get people to pay and line it up for privatization. The Wall Street Banks are buying up all the Water Companies and Infrastructure in the world, this agenda is being pushed by lobbyists in various guises.
    50% of treated water is lost due to leaks, 7% is lost in houses, they spent 500 mill approx to install meters and IW say they will spend 500 mill over next few years to fix leaks.. Well maybe it would have been best to fix leaks first, but im glad now they didnt as it showed the true colors of IW, the super quango to end all quangos

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 9:14 PM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: What is the incentive for the homeowner to conserve water? Only the very greenest of homeowners will consider rainwater harvesting or grey water recycling at present because of the lack of incentive to conserve water in Ireland for the majority. The fact people are so up in arms about water charges proves that it would be a factor to reduce water consumption, and to consider alternative options such as rainwater harvesting and grey water recycling.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jul 4th 2018, 9:17 PM

@Irish Bob: 689m/yr to fix leaks and increase capacity…

Mute Dave Malon
    Favourite Dave Malon
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:55 PM

Oh look another hose pipe ban article from the journal iw’s main media outlet.

Mute talksense
    Favourite talksense
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:06 PM

Just ban Paul Murph and his cronies, leave us good citizens alone

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:50 PM

‘Don’t f***ing insult the Irish people any more’ – Liam Neeson won’t move home to Ireland because of water charges
    http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/movies/movie-news/dont-fing-insult-the-irish-people-any-more-liam-neeson-wont-move-home-to-ireland-because-of-water-charges-30863180.html

The 62-year-old star, who hails from Ballymena, Antrim originally but has lived in New York for 20 years, said he had planned to return to Ireland now his two teenage sons Daniel and Michael have left home for university.
    However, speaking to the Irish Sun, Neeson said he had changed his mind due to the austerity measures implemented by the government.
    “We’ve been f***ed from a great height by these bankers and it’s the final straw,” he said. “To tax people for their water. Just wrong. I’ve always thought about coming home, especially now with my empty nest but this is just insulting. It turns me completely off.

Mute Oonagh Brett-Francisco
    Favourite Oonagh Brett-Francisco
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:02 PM

No summer fun for the Irish! ridiculous, a few WEEKS of no rain & there’s a water ban. What about young families, the elderly? No air conditioning, no fun way to cool off!!!

Mute Willy Malone
    Favourite Willy Malone
    Jul 4th 2018, 10:10 PM

FFG are thieves in suits at the beckon call of elite masters. 100 years and the Irish people still won’t change. We deserve em.
    They will bring in water charges and will privatize our water … Make it your election demand , to keep our water from those wishing to profit at our expenses …

Mute Ben O Toole
    Favourite Ben O Toole

Our east european neighbours are gonna go spare.

Mute W Kevin Doyle
    Favourite W Kevin Doyle
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:43 PM

@Ben O Toole: thanks for the offer, but I don’t need any spare Eastern Europeans at the moment, unless they are available for watering can duties…

Mute Leitrim303
    Favourite Leitrim303
    Jul 4th 2018, 11:23 PM

nationwide hosepipe ban why? our water comes form lough gill which is brimming with water. No need to impose ban on people in Sligo/Leitrim just because people in Dublin have no water

Mute Keith Murray
    Favourite Keith Murray
    Jul 4th 2018, 7:44 PM

FS country

Mute Orla Roche
    Favourite Orla Roche
    Jul 4th 2018, 9:25 PM

Are you allowed water your garden through watering can?

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Jul 4th 2018, 11:12 PM

The county and urban councils were better at running our water systems and did not cost as much not by salary at least. Since Irish water was created there only problems one after the other and the water is not as good. Disband this bunch of crony handpicked overpaid incompetent people and give back the councils the means and resources to run the system.2 weeks of sunshine and cra zy stupid problems.

Mute Andy mc Laughlin
    Favourite Andy mc Laughlin
    Jul 4th 2018, 11:49 PM
    Mute Patti o furniture
    Favourite Patti o furniture
    Jul 4th 2018, 8:20 PM

A fine of €125?? So ur asking neighbour’s to rat on each other?? F**k off..

Mute Rich Malone
    Favourite Rich Malone

Why wait? Do it now. it’s not going to rain between now and then. People’s roses and cars can do without

Mute chris foley
    Favourite chris foley
    Jul 5th 2018, 4:16 PM

Maybe when the Pope comes he can turn all the lidl and Aldi wine into water!!!!

Mute Мастер Шифу
    Favourite Мастер Шифу
    Jul 5th 2018, 1:59 PM

LoL, we have to pay for them being incompetent ?

Mute Offman Molina
    Favourite Offman Molina
    Jul 5th 2018, 8:11 PM

This is ridiculous. Every time we get a bit of f sunshine ,we get this reaction. There always seem to be some “genius” in government who thinks that we are going to have drought. Are you kidding me? We are in Ireland for goodness sake! All we get here is rain, practically, all year round. Cop yourselves, will ya ….

Mute Niall Magoran
    Favourite Niall Magoran
    Jul 4th 2018, 6:36 PM
    Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    Jul 5th 2018, 3:51 PM

Every bit of grass I see is dead or nearly dead but Trinity College rugby pitch is looking well. Walked past there earlier and they were watering the pitch.