You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Over half of young voters say they will vote for oppositional parties with 24% saying they will vote Sinn Féin. Alamy

What parties will 18-34-year-olds vote for in the EU elections? And why?

The EU’s response to the conflict in Gaza had a negative effect on young voters’ view of the institution.

NATIONWIDE POLLING HAS has found that young voters are most likely going to give a first-preference vote to Sinn Féin in the European elections this coming June.

The first edition in a series of The Journal/Ireland Thinks polls has found 30% of 18-34-year-olds intend to vote for a Sinn Féin candidate, placing them as the most popular option for the cohort. 

The country’s youngest voter group feel strongly about the European Union’s response to the conflict in Gaza and are less exercised about the EU’s impact on the economy or climate change.

When asked to rank the EU’s climate or economic measures on a scale of one to five (with 1 being very bad and 5 being very good), most of the group expressed a more neutral position towards two key pillars of EU legislation, ranking them – on average – at 2.6 and 2.8 respectively.

However, the majority of young voters expressed a much stronger, more negative view on the EU’s performance on Israeli-Palestinian relations. When asked to rank the EU’s performance on the Israel-Gaza conflict, the bloc scored a 1.8 with the young voters.

53% of 18-34-year-old Irish citizens rated the EU’s performance on the issue – ongoing since the 7 October Hamas attack on Israel – ‘very bad’, a 1 on the polling scale. 

When compared to the same question but on the war in Ukraine, the group ranked the EU’s performance a stronger 3.1 in comparison. 

The EU’s response to the conflict in Gaza was heavily criticised after the Israeli flag was flown and projected onto the EU Commission’s building in the wake of the 7 October attacks. Further criticism came after the Presidents of both the EU Commission and Parliament visited Israel shortly thereafter.

Israel’s swift and violent reply to the attack has killed tens-of-thousands Gazan civilians. 

Although the European position has softened since, Commission President Ursula von der Leyen does still tout the bloc’s “solidarity” with Israel.

Von der Leyen also announced in October, shortly after the backlash, that the EU would immediately treble its humanitarian aid to Palestine after the al-Ahli Hospital in Northern Gaza was hit in a strike.

Today, the EU’s foreign policy chief Josep Borrell urged allies of Israel – primarily the United States – to stop sending it weapons as “too many people” are being killed in Gaza.

This came as US President Joe Biden commented last week that Israel’s military action was “over the top”.

Borrell said: “Well, if you believe that too many people are being killed, maybe you should provide less arms in order to prevent so many people have been killed.”

“Is [it] not logical?” he asked, in a Brussels conference alongside the head of the UN’s agency for Palestinian refugees UNRWA whom Israel is pressuring to resign.

The mixed response has seemingly left a bad taste in the mouths of young voters, as 75% of them said their overall view of the EU has been negatively impacted since the escalation of the conflict in Gaza.

Under half, 45%, of young voters said their view of the EU had been “somewhat disimproved” since the escalation, while 30% of them said it was “much disimproved”.

In the aftermath of the 7 October attack, Hungary’s EU Commissioner Oliver Várhelyi said that the EU would place €691 million of support to Palestine “under review”.

The move was slammed by many Irish MEPs, across the political spectrum, and labelled a “solo run”. The review decision was reversed shortly after and Várhelyi later was quizzed by MEPs about the decision.

A cross-party reaction against the EU’s quick decisions to disregard Palestinian issues has since been established between Irish MEPs, with some telling The Journal it was an issue of broad agreement. 

The vast amount of Ireland’s sitting MEPs – only one of whom is of Sinn Féin – have taken a pro-Palestinian approach to such debates in Brussels and Strasbourg. About 29% of 18-34-year-olds intend to vote for one of the three Government political parties, a combined number still behind Sinn Féin’s 30%.

Fine Gael and the Green Party rank marginally higher among the younger voters, polling 10% each, when compared to Fianna Fáil who were the lowest ranked party overall at 9%.

Over half of the group say they will vote for a party in opposition, with the Social Democrats polling a strong 12% and ranking as the second most popular party for the group.

The Social Democrats have yet to announce any candidates for the elections in June and only nominated one candidate in just one constituency in 2019.

Overall, 82% of 18-34-year-olds say they are likely to cast a vote in the election – despite previous exit polls suggesting a historically low turnout – but 19% are still unsure which party they will vote for.

The Journal/Ireland Thinks series of polls will run each month ahead of the European parliament elections in June. It will continue to explore voter intentions, measure Irish public sentiment towards the EU on a number of issues and highlight any potential opinion gaps between different demographics of Irish society on matters important to them. 

The poll of 1,255 people was carried out between the 2 and 7 February and has a  margin of error of 2.8%. Those who were unsure of which party they’d vote for, or unsure if they’d vote at all, are excluded from the figures.

This work is co-funded by Journal Media and a grant programme from the European Parliament. Any opinions or conclusions expressed in this work are the author’s own. The European Parliament has no involvement in nor responsibility for the editorial content published by the project. For more information, see here.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

39 Comments
    Mute Brian Moran
    Favourite Brian Moran
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:08 AM

Who in their right mind could possibly think that nationalising billions of euros of private debt was a good idea??

Mute Bob MacBob
    Favourite Bob MacBob
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:34 AM

The only two real options at the time was nationalizing the banks or the Guarantee. No one really considered allowing certain banks to go to the wall.

The Guarantee meant that nationalization became inevitable.

By the time the decision was made, we were already doomed. It was the policies of FF that did us in, not really the Guarantee itself.

Mute John Fagan
    Favourite John Fagan
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:38 AM

The government should have taken all the mortgage accounts from them. Then the people could have paid directly to the government and they would have control over the arrears crisis. As it stands, the banks are still making money from their cock-ups.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Anne De Croix
    Favourite Anne De Croix
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:18 PM

I would still like to know which of our politicians (and members of their families) were given unsecured loans in the days and weeks leading up to the bank guarantee………. kind of the elephant in the room really. I suspect some of our political representatives did very well from the great book fiddling swindle.

With us of course paying for it.

And why tf are our politicians still being paid such obscene amounts of money?
    Remind me again of Bertie’s annual pension?

Ridiculous carry on.

Mute John Pepper
    Favourite John Pepper
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:37 PM

Lol four idiots so far and probably many more. Mostly politicians I assume aswell.

Mute Coddler O Toole
    Favourite Coddler O Toole
    Sep 30th 2013, 2:18 PM

Bob,

We have not nationalised the banks. We have nationalised the debts of the banks which is a different thing entirely. A proper nationalisation of the banks would see them being run for the general good of society and not as the private profit gouging entities that they currently are.

Sep 30th 2013, 2:39 PM

Usual Socialist, drivel.
    Had Capitalist rules been followed, the banks would have been let go under. They invest to make a profit, which they are entitled to keep. If they make losses, then they must suffer them, all of them. Secured or unsecured bondholders and shareholders should have been entitled to nothing.
    We could not do that because we were running deficits in order to pay for the Socialist derived, fixed prices of the public sector which is far above what the free market is screaming.

Your ideology failed, it’s been in one or two text books and newspapers.

Mute Robert McKenna
    Favourite Robert McKenna
    Sep 30th 2013, 3:39 PM

We were running deficits? Really? What planet were you living on?

Typical crazy talk from the looney capitalists and their enablers who destroyed the world economy. Find me a “free market”. Anywhere. At any time in history .

Mute Bob MacBob
    Favourite Bob MacBob
    Sep 30th 2013, 3:44 PM

We had an inbuilt structural deficit that was waiting to blow up in our faces, which it duly did once the income from stamp duty vanished.

However, it wasn’t socialism (or capitalism) that was to blame for that – it was FFism.

Mute Coddler O Toole
    Favourite Coddler O Toole
    Sep 30th 2013, 3:46 PM

On the contrary, it’s your capitalist ideology that has failed or rather it has never worked for bulk of the world’s population in the first place.
    The FF/Green decision to socialize the banking debt had nothing to do with the budget deficit. Ireland was actually running a budget surplus in the years leading up to the bank guarantee. You might remember that as it was in one or two text books and newspapers .
    Most countries run a budget deficit most of the time. The deficit only becomes a serious problem when you are unable to finance it as in Ireland’s case now. Ordinarily countries finance their deficits by borrowing the money in the market. Or if they control their own currency, they can create new money by buying their own government’s bonds etc (Quantitative easing as the Yanks call it). Even in the depths of the 1980s recession, Ireland was always able to go to the market to fund the budget deficit until Brian Lenihan bailed out the banks in 2008. The markets then realised Ireland would not be able to cover the massive banking losses and pay them back and so the interest rate they demanded rose to an unaffordable level. This pushed us into the tender Troika embrace who now lend us the money and charge interest so that we can pay the banking debt as well as our budget deficit.
    The fundamental underlying reason that the markets can now dictate to Ireland is that when we joined the monetary union we relinquished the authority to create our own currency to the ECB and they have been acting contrary to Ireland’s national interests ever since. True sovereign nations like the U.S. or U.K. don’t have to borrow their own currency in the market, they can simply create it at will by pressing keys on a computer in their central banks. The markets understand this perfectly and so if these countries do choose to borrow in the market, the interest they will pay on sovereign debt is close to zero and always will be.

Mute Joe Bet
    Favourite Joe Bet
    Sep 30th 2013, 7:51 PM

No, a blanket guarantee was the right decision.

Sep 30th 2013, 9:12 PM

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/irelands-budget-deficit-trebles-26481715.html

Did you simply make a mistake or does the uncomfortable black hole in your philosophy cause you to ignore it. A bit like a pig on animal farm.
    Before we, the taxpayer, bailed out the bank’s private losses, we were running deficits. A massive deficit that could no longer be shouldered by the private sector. Banks are about to go under, all of them. Financial collapse, like Zimbabwe or Weimar Germany. Literally no money in the ATM’s.

A company that faces such losses, immediately cuts costs in order to avoid going out of business. This is how efficiency is determined. If you are running losses, you are inefficient and should be replaced, capital is entrusted to those who can make profits. The banks should have been allowed collapse with only the deposit holders(all of them) guaranteed by the government. The bondholders and shareholders get nothing as is the basis of capitalist risk. Moral hazard removes this.
    A budget deficit means you are spending beyond your means. It means somebody else is financing it and if they believe you are no longer good for the money, they stop. Who exactly did you think was going to make up the deficit. Where do you think these magical pieces of paper, comes from, comrade. No one. How do we know this, because no one would lend us money. That’s why BIFFO had to go crawling to the ECB. How do you block this out?
    We cut the deficit by inflicting on the vastly overpaid, public sector(excluding anyone on 35k or less and the frontline(nurses, gardai) the same pain felt by the hundreds of thousands that have been made redundant, forced to emigrate or had huge salary reductions.
    No deficit, means no need to borrow. No property tax, no USC, no water charges, no increase in makey uppy tax like motor tax etc (hilarious that you are campaigning against these. Nobody does brass neck better than the far left)
    We now present OUR terms to Merkel. A collective Eurobond to cover the market or the Irish punt gets printed. Why on earth did you think the wall street journal ran the headline:
    “Ireland bails out Germany, again.
    Ireland did not do this because Ireland had engaged in a ‘Social’ partnership with all powerful Unions, who care only about their members and not a jot about the unemployed, emigrated or elderly(latest attempt to take the travel pass from the elderly, to figuratively throw the elderly under the teflon bus driver’s bus)

Real world. Price for a product or service is determined by demand and supply. If I don’t value a product at the price being offered, I don’t pay for it. You cannot get around that. So, you ignore it.
    Socialist system. We force the taxpayer to pay a price high above what the market demands. We exclude other, equally abled and qualified people for competing for a job at a lower price. In Private Enterprise, it would be called a cartel. Inefficient use of resources.
    The value of a product or service is not how much work you have put into it, but how much value the consumer is willing to pay for it. Marx’s failed Labour theory of value, no matter how many times it has been discredited, even by left wing economists, still rears it’s head thanks to the useful idiots. I am better at producing something than you, I can produce the same thing in less time and at less cost(efficient use of resources, means I get rewarded by the customer.
    I work twice as smart or harder than you, I get paid double as determined by a consumer of their own free will, again, not a monopoly.
    Remove these and you have the Socialist paradise of of the USSR or Venezuela, Cuba(Dictatorships to most people, but workers Republics to the far left)
    We must work harder for you, Coddler.

Mute Jim Hartnett
    Favourite Jim Hartnett
    Sep 30th 2013, 9:37 PM

Some load of shite there kid. A bit like blaming a patient for the cost of their medical care because they went to the doctor to get cured. This had nothing to do with socialism and everything to do with a drive to the bottom……..the bottom line, that is.

Mute Bill Butler
    Favourite Bill Butler
    Sep 30th 2013, 9:41 PM

Brian just goes to show the level of thickooos that we have in this country .

Mute Robert McKenna
    Favourite Robert McKenna
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:23 PM

Perhaps. It is however irrelevant to why we collapsed. The government bought all the sectoral interests it is true but the drivers of our complete collapse were the credit bubble and its associated property market.

We couldn’t pay for our state because our unemployment is a crisis, not stamp duty. Low consumer activity, low economic activity, high social welfare demands due to unemployment, fewer income tax payers. The notion that sacking a bunch of state employees and shrinking the economy, doing nothing to stimulate demand in the local economy and merely hoping the FDI sector would grow and save us is wishful thinking and has failed everywhere it became the orthodoxy.

Fantasists pretending that “proper” capitalism would have solved our problems

Mute Robert McKenna
    Favourite Robert McKenna
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:29 PM

Sound just like people defending Stalinism as if it hadn’t been given a good try: proper communism doesn’t work like that. This is actually the way capitalism works: finance bubbles, collapses, cronies, plutocrats….

The fantasy of a free market is just that.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Oct 1st 2013, 3:43 AM

Yes, this crisis clearly showed the fatal flaws of capitalism which is why all the capitalism countries have now collapsed. Or not.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:08 AM

Huge error of judgement that’s all but destroyed the country. Unsecured bondholders should have been left to sing for their money, but for some inexplicable and unexplained reason, Fianna Fail protected this money.

Politician, their benefactors and cronies don’t seem to be suffering at all. They don’t have a clue what it’s like in the real world.

Mute Caroline Dunlea
    Favourite Caroline Dunlea
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:49 AM

My explanation of the reason Daisy would be because most of them probably ARE the non secure bondholders, no one names these faceless entities… but they have great protection and clout, so who the hell are they, them that must be paid even for liabilities that have no security… even someone getting a car loan must have security… why were these bonds not insured???

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:04 PM

Noonan and burton to name but two.

Sep 30th 2013, 12:14 PM

What is worse is the current government followed FF policy and has ensured we are ruined.

Mute Maurice Frazer
    Favourite Maurice Frazer
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:25 PM

Never thought of it that way? good post

Mute Maurice Frazer
    Favourite Maurice Frazer
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:26 PM

@caroline

Mute Caroline Dunlea
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:48 PM

Thanks, and as Ryan O above points out, Noonan and Burton, I do believe I read someplace that Noonan has his money in German banks… as my husband says, ‘follow the money’ you will find the bondholders, but we all can see that the main stream media in Ireland haven’t the balls to do a decent day’s investigative journalism and if they do, they are made redundant…

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Sep 30th 2013, 3:48 PM

What choice did the current govt have? We don’t run our own affairs anymore whether we exit the bailout or not. In any case we elected the current crew knowing exactly what they were going to do.

Mute Padraig Mc Shane
    Favourite Padraig Mc Shane
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:21 AM

In is impossible to comprehend how our political system advanced the cause of so few ahead of the cause of the people. We should not be asking why securing the banks was a good idea! We must ask ourselves why no one has been charged and jailed from the political classes and the banking sector for the rape of a nation.

Mute Colm Maguire
    Favourite Colm Maguire
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:18 PM

We elected Fianna Fáil to run the political system. The system itself is deeply deeply flawed but with different people in power it could’ve been a different story.

Mute Jack Dermody
    Favourite Jack Dermody
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:23 PM

@Colm,

I admire your optimism and I agree different people could have led to a different result.

Now the tricky part, does anyone really think FG, Lab, SF…. Would have given a different result? Truely???

So while blaming FF for 100% of the problem is popular, if we think the others would have done the same thing then we have something more fundamentally at fault.

One thing that has been pointed out was that all the power of this decision was resting in a very few people advised by a few others(backroom staff).

So I ask do we need change, do we need to expand the power of Government to more, have more accountability…

We have made the Senate unrepresentative, a Taoiseach’s play thing for favours and nurtured any power anyway.

The Dail will never allow a proper upper house with actual teeth, that would mean when Bank Bailouts come up they won’t be able to just push it passed there own party, they would actually have to openly convince another body.

Mute dav O
    Favourite dav O
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:24 AM

Nothing new here. It will never change as long as we let the people who broke the system try to fix the system. In Ireland prostitution is illegal but bankers have been and will continue to screw us without even dressing provocatively as long as we allow them to. More fools us.

Mute Aaron t
    Favourite Aaron t
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:05 AM

Should have defaulted

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:16 AM

The US secretary of the treasury in Obama’s admin {Minister for finance} played a pivotal role in stopping Lenihan from doing just that. Yet were Obama to come to town tomorrow the flag wavers would be out lining the streets to welcome him.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:41 AM

Geitner was not in any position to stop lenihan. Lenihan ALLOWED Geitner to have an influence.

Important difference.

Mute David McDonnell
    Favourite David McDonnell
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:27 PM

So do tell what it was that influenced Lenihan to be won over.

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:36 PM

If the bankruptcies of the banks would have caused a systemic problem, then the Euro authorities & ECB should have stepped in themselves & accepted the collective responsibility of the European financial system.

It was a finance bubble involving commercial lending, mostly to inflated values of commercial property. Household borrowing was not a significant factor in the banks’ insolvency.

There was & still is a systemic problem in the sheer size of the securitisation & financial derivatives gambling ‘markets’, compared to the real economy, which serve no purpose but ‘rent’ extraction. (The ‘useful’ ‘hedges’ are probably not even 1% of the extent of the total gambling.) The biggest problem being that institutions involved in this also operate the day to day payments & clearing system.

None of the deregulation which enabled this was an accident. With the collusion of their European counter parts, Wall St. insiders entered positions, or bought influence, in government, starting in the US, but using the WTO (World Trade Organisation) to entrench a ‘race to the bottom’ in governance in Europe & beyond.

The final steps to create the free-for-all in world banking were probably initiated by Robert Rubin & his protege Lawrence Summers, as detailed in ‘Economists and the Powerful’ by Norbert Haring & Niall Douglas. (But also assisted by all those going thru’ the revolving doors between Wall St. & Government office, including Tim Geithner, Bernanke, Greenspan & a host of others.)

Virtually none of the issues, fraud & criminality discussed in their book (and by others, notably former regulator, now Professor, William Black) have been addressed in the 5 years or so since the meltdown & public bailout.

Nor have the deep flaws of the Euro system been addressed or even much acknowledged.

Again, this is no accident. The reason is simple. For the top few percent, which covers elected & public service leaders as well as bankers & other owners of wealth, financial collapses followed by public bailout covering virtually every cent of ‘loss’ works fine for themselves. As does the ensuing period of recession & mass unemployment where wages are driven down & assets – public & private – are now available at firesale prices.

In short, the looting of the masses, directly & thru’ public funds, by the wealthy & political classes, continues in both the boom & bust phases more or less equally.

‘Democracy’ ultimately, has been corrupted by ensuring senior elected & public interest officials, of all kinds, all join the ranks of wealth, who make significant (if not the major part) of their income from ownership of money, rather than their labour.

We have not had ‘democracy’ that represents the interests of the majority at any time in decades at least, much anywhere.

Mute Enola Straight
    Favourite Enola Straight
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:40 PM

Spot on Aaron. These were defunct business entities.

Mute Mike Hall
    Favourite Mike Hall
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:49 PM

One further point of clarification regarding the rigged casino involving banks & financial derivatives – a ‘market’ that has grown to more than 10 times the size of total world economic production (GDP).

Besides the looting from public funds in bailouts, a major source of ‘marks’ or losing counter parties is the pension funds, private, & sometimes public. The ones handling the funds of the ordinary citizens of course. The top few percent make their own arrangements or are in receipt of guaranteed (by us!) benefit government schemes.

Matt Taibbi at the Rolling Stone writes about the looting of municipal schemes in the US, but the methods of skimming off & other losing positions are broadly similar anywhere.

http://www.rollingstone.com/politics/news/looting-the-pension-funds-20130926

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Sep 30th 2013, 3:22 PM

If only the other 99.9% of the Irish could get their heads out of the ground and read the above.

Mute werejammin
    Favourite werejammin
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:38 AM

It was the greatest injustice to befall our nation and completely avoidable. The unsecured bondholders were EXPECTING to lose their money as per the basic rules of capitalism, but within a few days of ‘saving’ our banks the vested interests got their blanket guarantee and our nation was sold into debt servitude.

There was enough in the NPRF to guarantee Irish depositors up to 100,000 and the balance could have been used to loan to SMEs via a national bank, keeping us afloat. It was obvious, mind numbingly obvious. But a barrister and his gobsh1te leader thought they knew more about international finance than the experts.

And here we are.

Mute Stonewall
    Favourite Stonewall
    Sep 30th 2013, 2:11 PM

That former leader should be jailed for treason!!! ASAP.

Mute Andrew Garland
    Favourite Andrew Garland
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:22 AM

Should have defaulted and went down the same road as Iceland

Mute Hilary McDuffy
    Favourite Hilary McDuffy
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:36 AM

The government and all it’s advisors at the time when this was signed, should be considered as traitors to the state and locked up now,

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:20 AM

Who in their right mind would answer yes?!

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:25 AM

The Fianna Fáil posse that hangs around here trying to drive the minds of the nation?

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:30 AM

Only 2% thankfully

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:32 AM

the 2% are Fianna Failers and Greens.

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers

Oh yeah… :-/

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers

3% now, Niall :(

Mute Emilio
    Favourite Emilio
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:57 AM

People that misread the question? :P

Mute Emilio
    Favourite Emilio

*hangs head in shame*

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:04 PM

Lol Emilio :)

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Sep 30th 2013, 2:11 PM

I’m actually more interested in the people who voted an unqualified No. What was Plan B? Yes, in principle you could have let the banks go bust. Depositors with up to €100k would have been covered under the general guarantee – which would have to come from somewhere – but would you have been ok with there being no banking system at all in the intervening period?

Sep 30th 2013, 2:35 PM

Good point, Emily. I would add, I would be interested in those who are giving an unqualified Yes.

3rd option was to set up a new bank and take the deposits of all the Irish banks and have the taxpayer guarantee those. This is all that is required to guarantee the financial system.
    Capitalism’s rules, had they been followed would have seen the bondholders(both secure and unsecured) and shareholders of the banks lose everything(although they would be entitled to any recuperation of loans after the Taxpayers was compensated for the topping up of the missing deposits.

The Government failed to do this because
    1)They failed to understand the situation.
    2)They were/are running deficits in order to pay for the Public sector and all the state bodies. To make up the difference, we have to borrow on the open market. After defaulting, the Government would have found it hard to raise capital hence the need to crawl to the ECB.
    3) They did not have the courage to stare down the Unions and make the necessary cuts.
    4)They failed to understand that the Germans, British etc had vast liabilities in our banks and would face ruin themselves if our banks went under. It should of been us, dictating terms to the Germans.

Mute Matthew Hyland
    Favourite Matthew Hyland
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:35 AM

A guy in the Indo today had his pension with Anglo refunded. €440,000…

Happy days—for him! Will we write a cheque or cash for the next guy?

Mute Big Pat
    Favourite Big Pat
    Sep 30th 2013, 2:50 PM

Or will we stick him on the dole and pay for him anyway?

Mute Matthew Hyland
    Favourite Matthew Hyland
    Sep 30th 2013, 4:25 PM

We could leave him to thrive on the old age pension

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Oct 1st 2013, 3:44 AM

Big Pat is paying for us all, party!

Mute Roibeard Mac An TSionnaigh
    Favourite Roibeard Mac An TSionnaigh
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:24 PM

Should of followed Iceland’s example. Burned the bond holders, bailed out mortgage holders in arrears and jailed the corrupt bankers/politicians. Of course we do things arse ways here.

Mute Cathal O'Donoghue
    Favourite Cathal O'Donoghue
    Sep 30th 2013, 3:52 PM

Tempting idea this Iceland thing but it ignores the fact that Iceland isn’t in the euro zone and had some options we didn’t have. I

Mute Patrick Dunne
    Favourite Patrick Dunne
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:55 AM

46% voting yes to this? Is it any wonder we’re in the mess we’re in!! At this rate i think i might as well emigrate now!! We’ve no hope in this country if people are still so delusional about the decision on the banking crisis, we’re truly doomed if this is the case.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:04 PM

All people hear in this country is lies and spin from any government. How can people make an informed decision based on that. That’s the only reason i can come up with for the yes vote, or the qualified yes vote.

Mute Big Pat
    Favourite Big Pat
    Sep 30th 2013, 2:53 PM

Patrick, I voted yes, but not to cover all liabilities.

Now, can I ask you something?

How much money did you have between all the Irish banks on that night in September?

Savings, Pensions, Investments, the whole lot.

Mute Barry Mac
    Favourite Barry Mac
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:07 PM

Why didn’t they have a referendum on it for the people that’s was going to pay it to decide? …….

Mute B9xiRspG
    Favourite B9xiRspG
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:29 PM

That’s what is called Direct Democracy, where the people make the choice and then live with it. It works in other countries so no reason why we can’t have it here. Have a read on this site http://directdemocracyireland.ie/ for more information about it.

I will never vote FG, FF, Labour or Greens AGAIN for the rest of my life. I will not put into power a party that ignores my best interest and that of the country for the sake of a few.

Mute David McDonnell
    Favourite David McDonnell
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:30 PM

Agreed.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:44 PM

Well said Jim.

Mute Roman RomanOwski
    Favourite Roman RomanOwski
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:04 AM

My pug was born in 2008!
    I love my pug! Hahaha!!

Mute margaret
    Favourite margaret
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:34 PM

Hindsight is always 20/20. The guarantee was necessary while the government investigated and established facts. Once it was established just how cocked up the banks were, the decision should have been revisited. Anglo should never have been included in the gurantee and all the bankers who were in Leinster house that night should all be in jail for lying, fraud and treason.

Mute Steven Clancy
    Favourite Steven Clancy
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:34 PM

Not right decision, but gov were manipulated into it by banks.

Looking back its easy to see badly managed, but banks forced Lenihan into it. They arrived at last minute demanding guarantee with threats of being unable to open next day if not given, they openly lied or withheld information on severity of problem.

Bankers in that metering should all be behind bars

Mute Barry Mac
    Favourite Barry Mac
    Sep 30th 2013, 10:03 PM

I agree fully …….but bankers will never see the inside of a jail cell ! When u hear the then Taoiseach (Cowen)out playing golf with Sean Fitzpatrick a few months prior to the bank guarantee, u can be sure that he will never be caged up the whole lot of them are all in on it ……FOLLOW THE MONEY is how you’ll find in inner dealings with governments and bankers, but that would open up a can of worms for them so as it was

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:53 AM

Anglo Irish should not have been part of the guarantee!

Mute Michael Galvin
    Favourite Michael Galvin
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:16 AM

Hindsight is a great thing. That is all.

Mute Dermot Fennelly
    Favourite Dermot Fennelly
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:49 AM

Its easy be the economist now ,I’m sure Brian Lenihans actions on that famous night to save the banks ,were done with good faith ,not his fault the banks lied so cut them some slack ,by the way I’ve never voted FF

Mute Caroline Dunlea
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:53 PM

Brian Lenihan was a barrister, ie not dumb in the face of the law and yet, never included any clause in the woeful bailout bundle that would recall or void any bank agreement with any bank that were found to have supplied false information… ? ie Anglo…

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:36 PM

They should have let one bank go under to put pressure on the others to get their bank in order

Mute Billy Kilkenny
    Favourite Billy Kilkenny
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:51 AM

one word. Iceland.

Mute Robert Craven
    Favourite Robert Craven

Hindsight is a wonderful thing. I think had the banks been allowed fail (which should have happened), there’d have been a revolution that would’ve swept the establishment aside & we would be part of new political landscape today. But I think this decision, deeply flawed and poorly thought out, had more of party interest ahead of national and international interest. Now we have to live with it along with the status quo protected. Same noses in the same trough and slapping each other on the back for ‘a job well done.’

Mute Nigel O'Neill
    Favourite Nigel O'Neill
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:56 PM

The public does not share in the profits of corporates..thus why should it work that the public takes the hit on corporate losses!?
    That is NOT capitalism! Capitalist system supposed to allow for corporates to fail..without knock on

Mute Morticia
    Favourite Morticia
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:43 AM

“Economic collapse, mass joblessness, uniformed paramilitaries, street violence, political assassinations and, now, a round-up of opposition MPs. Euro-wracked Greece is beginning to feel eerily like Weimar Germany.”
    Daniel Hannan MEP

We would never stoop to that sort of thing, we have Enda and Ankles and the EUSSR to keep us all safe and sound.

Mute Francis Stokes
    Favourite Francis Stokes
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:46 AM

If the Government did not go along with the Bail out. One would ask what way would the country be now. Did they have much of a choice.440 billion is a very large amount of money. So we will be paying for that for generations to come.I would say they should have not have went along with this bail out. The country cannot sustain it. The question now is will it be explained to the Irish people what happened on that night. They have a right to know.Reading the article above some say there was no other option. They did go to far . They could have called their bluff I am sure that the bond holders would not like to have seen Ireland go down because they would have lot a lot of money.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:07 PM

what a stupid question! of course it wasn’t a good idea ! who in their right mind would think that saddling the future generations of the country with massive debt in order to save the face of a few private entrprises was a good ide? oh wait our political classes ,thats who, just shows the type of moron that get elected in this country!

Mute Paul Reilly
    Favourite Paul Reilly
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:14 PM

It’s good to see 3% of this poll is absolutely coo coo batshit

Mute Sasha Musgrave Travers
    Favourite Sasha Musgrave Travers
    Sep 30th 2013, 2:31 PM

I thought it was total madness, we should have had a referendum on the guarantee to make it more democratic, the banks should have been let go to the wall altogether like Iceland.

Mute Patrick Doran
    Favourite Patrick Doran
    Sep 30th 2013, 3:03 PM

Brian Lenihan RIP should never been allowed to carry on in his position with the diagnosis he had.The man was dying how in the name of God would he have been thinking straight or long term for that matter .We had a Taoisech in a bunker or a bar (whichever) surrounded by yes men.This was at typical FF stroke ” we will guarantee all 440 Billion” sure nobody will ever actually call it in.I remember distinctly Lenihan saying when funds started to flow back into Ireland (for a very short period) proudly saying on Morning Ireland that this was working and the banks were sound just look at the funds returning.Look at the history of the State FF have always come up with a major stroke, but this was one stroke too far.As for this crowd who promised the stars and delivered on nothing they are mostly sunset politicians waiting for the big payoff and to write their memoirs or maybe a nice job in Europe which Gilmore and Rabbit (they of the many parties)are obviously canvassing for unashamedly.We are screwed, unless you happen to be lucky enough to have a PS job then hang on in there your political masters wont let you down.Emigration beckons for the rest of us.

Mute Daniel Jay Kay
    Favourite Daniel Jay Kay
    Sep 30th 2013, 3:43 PM

I personally think that a bank is like any other business. Im still baffled as to how we are responsible for them. Let banks crash like any other business that made bad decisions.

Mute Big Pat
    Favourite Big Pat
    Sep 30th 2013, 4:00 PM

And the depositors of those banks?

Mute Daniel Jay Kay
    Favourite Daniel Jay Kay
    Sep 30th 2013, 4:39 PM

There should be safeguards for depositors. They are run like any other business and make big profits from it, which we as tax paying citizens will never see. Its not like we have shares in the banks. If that was the case then all banks should be government run, which is what is practically happening here.
    Its the same as countless people who were made redundant from private companies and received no compensation after years with these companies after they went into liquidation. Its still not the governments responsibility. They could however put money that actually have into a struggling company like Obama did with general motors. I can now understand why generations before kept their money under mattresses.

Mute Tom Mcmurray
    Favourite Tom Mcmurray
    Sep 30th 2013, 2:01 PM

If I sign up for insurance and provide false information then the insurance company does not have to pay out when it proves I have lied. Why did the Irish Government guarantee not have small print stating the guarantee was based on the information it received from the banks being accurate and true. When it became obvious the banks where lying then the guarantee should have been pulled that simple.

Mute Kev O Sullivan
    Favourite Kev O Sullivan
    Sep 30th 2013, 12:13 PM

Hindsight is a wonderful thing isn’t it.

Mute Joe Bet
    Favourite Joe Bet
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:24 AM

Yes it was. Fact.

Mute John Mcloughlin
    Favourite John Mcloughlin
    Sep 30th 2013, 11:36 AM

No to a total blanket guarantee-utter madness

Mute Salvage Guy
    Favourite Salvage Guy
    Sep 30th 2013, 3:27 PM

No, it was wrong.

Mute Conor Foley
    Favourite Conor Foley
    Sep 30th 2013, 4:46 PM

136 Fianna Fáil idiots voted Yes.

Mute Nicholas Walters
    Favourite Nicholas Walters
    Sep 30th 2013, 6:35 PM

Wish i could gamble my money on shares and get a guarantied win.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Sep 30th 2013, 2:31 PM

This really is not good enough. What is the point of a poll such as this? The majority will say no, they saw trouble coming down the track – and the ff party hacks will justify it on the grounds that there was no alternative. Very poor, Journal.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Sep 30th 2013, 6:16 PM

Emily, its a game of who scares who. The germans want you to believe the country will crash if you dont pay out to their banks. Reality; pressure on the euro was coming from many countries incl portugal spain greece. The ecb would never allow us to crash the euro. We could have played a better hand eg. Allow banks not ‘systemically important’like anglo to go bust. Worked fine in latvia with krajbank in 2011and they were accepted after that as a euro zone country. Guarantee senior bondholders only. They bullied us and we did not stand up. I checked some websites of german financial institiutions a while back when i went to the ecb in frankfurt with the ballyhea cork protest. Know what; irish bonds etc were highly praised as vv secure and high yield! So the result of the bail out was deutsche bank got its money back and ther investment banks had a field day selling lucrative irish bonds….

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Sep 30th 2013, 6:29 PM

The ecb lead us right into this one…
    Http://m.vice.com/en_uk/read/larry-summers-and-the-secret-end-game-memo

Mute Silent Majority
    Favourite Silent Majority
    Sep 30th 2013, 1:00 PM

Do the people who come up with these polls not read the comments sections? I think there is a mention of the folly of the banking guarantee commented under the All-Ireland match report today.

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    Sep 30th 2013, 6:02 PM

Trichet ecb pres. With help from geithmer us tresury forced them into it protecting us, german, french bank money and preventing de stalibilzation of the euro the germans need a steady but weak euro to support their export lead economy. Geithner with larry summers caused the problemby repealing legislation which prevented dodgy banikng practices eg. Commodity futures legalization act 2000 & repeal of glas steagall act 1999. Geithner & summers foisted dodgy bank paper on the eurozone using a w.t.o. agreement. The ecb did not do its job failed in its regulatory supervisory role, the banks went nuts, we got burned. Little ireland was not strong enough to stand up the the ecb bullies and still isnt. In the euro its the big boys who count. The ecb allowed latvia to join euro per jan2014 and didnt mind at all that latvian krajbank went bust in 2011. No bail outs for bondholders…i guess there was no goldman,deutsche bank, or bnp paribas money in latvia! Pity we cant deflate our currency to get out of this mess,sovereingty is lost. Status quo only suits germany. Countries outside euro seem to be ok eg denmark, sweden.

Mute Gabrielle Redmond
    Favourite Gabrielle Redmond
    Sep 30th 2013, 6:10 PM

It would have been smarter economics to give every citizen one million euros. Most people would have cleared their debts and banked the rest. Monies allocated to children could have been invested and banked till they reached the age of twenty one. For those who owed more than one million: HARD LUCK.

Mute Tigerisinthezoo
    Favourite Tigerisinthezoo
    Sep 30th 2013, 8:38 PM

I think the damage was long done before the guarantee night. Wages had gone way out of control and people were looking for increases in same because the cost of living was increasing. This has been our main problem. Even if we started at zero that night our economy was still a mess and was uncompetitive. If the bank guarantee wasn’t done that night the banks would have closed their doors the following morning. We would have had chaos as people panicked unable to get money from ATMs, companies unable to pay employees, the country would have ground to a halt. One of the biggest problems is that very few people were aware of what was going on. Even those in government and on the cabinet were clueless and many were illeterate when it came to economics.
    It was all about buying time. If we defaulted that night who was going to fund our budget deficit.
    People have said that Anglo shouldn’t have been covered. But would that have been legal? Can a government choose what banks it wants to save? Would there not have been huge legal cases in the aftermath?
    Much is made of the guarantee night but its importance is over-estimated. Many of our problems that night had been created from long before and would have continued in some form no matter what action we took.
    I think a lot of our problems go back to the funding of political parties. Should political donations be illegal and should the taxpayer fund the political system. Otherwise favours have been and will be bought.