You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AP/PA images

Zika: Five new cases in tourist hotspot Miami Beach

Florida’s Health Department said five individuals had been infected by local Zika transmission in a section of Miami Beach, less than 100 miles south of the home of golfer Rory McIlroy.

FIVE NEW CASES of Zika have been found in tourist hotspot Miami Beach, signaling that local transmission of a virus blamed for birth defects is spreading, Florida officials said today.

“This means we have a new area” of local transmission, Governor Rick Scott said at a press conference.

The Florida Health Department said five individuals had been confirmed as cases of local Zika transmission in a section of Miami Beach, which lies less than 100 miles south of Jupiter, home to golfer Rory McIlroy.

Florida now has 36 cases of locally transmitted Zika virus, which is typically spread by mosquitoes but also by sexual contact.

The size of the zone in Miami Beach where active Zika transmission is occurring is just under 1.5 square miles (3.9 square kilometers).

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention warned pregnant women to stay out of that part of town in Miami Beach and in the Miami neighborhood of Wynwood.

Deformation

In most people, Zika causes only mild symptoms but in pregnant women it can cause microcephaly, a deformation in which babies are born with abnormally small brains and heads.

Officials had previously said Zika was spreading in a one-square-mile zone north of downtown Miami called Wynwood, where more than two dozen people were believed to have been infected by mosquitoes carrying the virus.

Zika has also been linked to a disorder known as Guillain-Barre syndrome, which can lead to nervous system problems such as weakness and paralysis.

The spread of Zika in the Miami area has raised alarms that visitors may avoid the popular tourist resort.

Today, Miami Mayor Tomas Regalado said that 15 public events in Wynwood had been cancelled in the past 10 days and cancellations were running through September and October.

Among them was a circus being brought in by a brewery, he said.

“The biggest worry is Art Basel, which means a lot of money,” the mayor said of the international art show in Miami that is scheduled in early December.

People eat in high-end restaurants, stay in high-end hotels.

On Thursday, the governor called on state business and health associations to work with the tourism industry on Zika prevention and education.

He also called on the state department of health to offer mosquito spraying to hotels, restaurants and attractions in Miami-Dade County at no cost.

The United States reported its first locally transmitted cases of Zika in Florida in July. Florida is so far the only state in the mainland US where that has been reported.

© AFP, 2016

Read: Pregnant women warned to stay away from this Miami neighbourhood as Zika spreads

Read: Shane Ross has announced a judge-led inquiry into the Olympic ticket-touting scandal

View 7 comments
7 Comments
    Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    May 10th 2015, 8:07 PM

I can’t be Bertie…..I have a bank account!

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    May 10th 2015, 8:15 PM

I can’t be Bertie….I don’t know as much as him!

Del
    Mute Del
    Favourite Del
    May 10th 2015, 9:17 PM

i cant be berte , im only half a c@nt

May 10th 2015, 10:28 PM

I can’t believe I forgot about holy hour down the pub!

Mute Ben Redline
    Favourite Ben Redline
    May 10th 2015, 11:34 PM

I got Bertie aswell, now I feel sick.

Mute fockoffski
    Favourite fockoffski
    May 10th 2015, 11:54 PM

I don’t know what a tracker mortgage is??

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Favourite Mrs Shalakalananaka
    May 10th 2015, 8:06 PM

I barely remember Ireland yesterday lol.

Mute corgarve
    Favourite corgarve
    May 10th 2015, 8:11 PM

Mrs Sala; will you forget austerity?\o/

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    May 10th 2015, 9:33 PM

Mrs Shalakalananaka, not Mrs Sala lol. What kind of crazy name is Sala?

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    May 10th 2015, 9:41 PM

How’s Mr Benedict tonight Mrs S

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    May 10th 2015, 10:37 PM

Beautiful as ever, I’d imagine, Jenni. ;)

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    May 10th 2015, 8:20 PM

Ill have you know that in the year 2000 I got fired from a job for the first time, witnessed both national rugby and soccer teams both playing well (a rarity) and regularly got to see the Gasworks before they put that glass crap in the middle of it. Dont tell me I did’nt make an appearance that year just coz I got 4 out of 10.

May 10th 2015, 8:24 PM

What you get fired for?

Mute marcus o reilly
    Favourite marcus o reilly
    May 10th 2015, 9:25 PM

For not making an appearance

May 10th 2015, 10:15 PM

I got ran off a job once, it’s a cool story so I’m kinda proud of it.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    May 10th 2015, 10:21 PM

@Marcus. Ha Ha correct, for not making an appearance at the allocated time

May 10th 2015, 10:33 PM

fine nobody seems to want hear my class story.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 10th 2015, 10:57 PM

Jamie , ok I’ll bite , tell us your story !

May 10th 2015, 11:56 PM

I’ll keep it short and sweet ‘cos people don’t got no time for. Basically I was a labourer on a building site which happened to be Kilmainham Gaol during the renovations. Foreman was a geebag, gave me no work, i was left to me own devices. I explored everywhere for the few days i was there. I could write an essay. The day i got gate, the monday, i had spent an hour below in the dank cave underground where Anne Devlin spent her time and indeed all her family at one stage. There was a hollow in the ground in the corner where she had sat forlornly for 18 months. I sat in that hollow and i think i fell asleep or something but when i came to walked away i didn’t feel right.

Oh yeah, foreman asked me where i had been, told him i’d been walking around looking for things to do and he told me to keep on walking out the gates, which i did.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    May 11th 2015, 12:04 AM

Wah !

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 11th 2015, 12:11 AM

So basically you were on doss and ya got caught . Brilliant !

May 11th 2015, 12:23 AM

I was exploring.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 11th 2015, 12:33 AM

Did you enjoy your little adventure ?

May 11th 2015, 12:44 AM

Very much so, I got to go into all the places the public aren’t allowed. I feel strangely privileged.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 11th 2015, 1:10 AM

Jamie , fair play I have to say I’ve never visited there and I used to live nearby too , terrible really .

Mute James Onedin
    Favourite James Onedin
    May 11th 2015, 1:12 AM

I like that story, it’s daft!

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    May 10th 2015, 8:24 PM

Imagine, I’ll buy a new motor for the 00 factor.
    What kinda people were we, huh? !

Mute Brian Carroll
    Favourite Brian Carroll
    May 11th 2015, 3:16 AM

Now we buy it for the 1 or 2 factor

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 11th 2015, 3:56 AM

Eugene, you have perhaps forgotten the scrappage scheme?

Mute michael
    Favourite michael
    May 10th 2015, 8:20 PM

Some of the questions are stupid to be fair, knowing how many cars were registered can only be a guess

May 10th 2015, 8:22 PM

230,000 cars bought!

Mute jonathan
    Favourite jonathan
    May 10th 2015, 8:17 PM

The picture of Bertie with the pint turns my stomach

how
    Mute how
    Favourite how
    May 10th 2015, 9:55 PM

One of the best years ever for Ireland and the world … sense of having moved on from the bad old days, full employment, sense of looking to the future, real grinding poverty was eliminated in Ireland, most people had decent lives, peace in the North, football and rugby teams were decent, 9/11 not yet happened, no sense of any crises in Ireland since it was pre-foot and mouth disease and politics just happened without much fuss as people’s lives were fairly easy for the first time … I was 10 .. I remember the years from 1998 – 2000 fondly.. Maybe all 8-10 year olds do though!

how
    Mute how
    Favourite how
    May 10th 2015, 10:00 PM

Also, it was before the era of massive Internet use, smartphones, social media etc. which makes me very nostalgic as I think they make life worse. Mobile phone use increased hugely around 1999/2000 I think too.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    May 10th 2015, 10:26 PM

Living rooms in shared houses are like bloody Internet call centers now, miss the days where you could come home chill in front of the TV.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 10th 2015, 11:01 PM

Dave , I’m with you on that one , I do kinda miss those days too .

Mute James Onedin
    Favourite James Onedin
    May 10th 2015, 11:30 PM

Excellent how, you summed up all the good stuff very neatly. Things look a wee bit messier now though.

Mute Wynnner
    Favourite Wynnner
    May 11th 2015, 7:03 AM

Wap was starting off I think it was Vodafone or something, the days when 1mb cos £25

how
    Mute how
    Favourite how
    May 11th 2015, 6:24 PM

If you ever watch the brilliant historical documentary ‘seven ages’ which was shown on rte in 2000, you get a real feel for what the feeling was in the country at the time in terms of how people thought of the past and how they viewed the country they lived in at the time. It seems like a very tranquil and “at peace” time for the Irish people, where the past seemed a world away and they were in a new, better age.

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    May 10th 2015, 8:27 PM

Homelands in Mosney. Carl Cox concluded a superb event..

Mute David G
    Favourite David G
    May 10th 2015, 10:06 PM

Any yokes?

May 10th 2015, 10:48 PM

any jokes?

Joe
    Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 10th 2015, 8:10 PM

Ber Ber Bertie.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    May 10th 2015, 8:44 PM

In facta…

Mute JakeTheMuss7
    Favourite JakeTheMuss7
    May 10th 2015, 10:00 PM

Dis..Dat…and Doose

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    May 10th 2015, 8:14 PM

Ah here , first you tell me I’m ed miliband and now you tell me I’m Bertie ahern like seriously ?

Mute Bob Beaman
    Favourite Bob Beaman
    May 10th 2015, 9:47 PM

3 outa 10. Not bad considering I spent half of my time in the bottom of a bong those days.

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    May 10th 2015, 8:08 PM

Great days

Mute Geraldine Lawlor
    Favourite Geraldine Lawlor
    May 10th 2015, 8:15 PM

I got 5 out of ten not bad considering I lived in NYC at the time !

Mute Ben Redline
    Favourite Ben Redline
    May 10th 2015, 11:33 PM

Every time Bertie Ahern smiles an angels wings fall off – fact!

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    May 10th 2015, 8:21 PM

10/10 Marc McCabe!! Whoo good times

Mute Fran Cowzer
    Favourite Fran Cowzer
    May 10th 2015, 10:11 PM

Bertie Jaysus

Mute Niamh May
    Favourite Niamh May
    May 11th 2015, 4:11 AM

2000′s was a strange phase for me. I got my leaving results and had to decide at the lovely age of 18 what I was to do with the rest of my life.

Yeah, I messed up.
    Yes, I do regret my choices, but I had one shot so couldn’t quit!

I went through the I hate my parents stage. No matter what they have done, they will leave you someday. Call them. They love you and miss you.

Mute James Onedin
    Favourite James Onedin
    May 10th 2015, 11:28 PM

Cecelia, I am your father…………
    NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!

von
    Mute von
    Favourite von
    May 10th 2015, 10:01 PM

I’d rather be a Jacques Chirac.

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    May 11th 2015, 1:56 AM

Who the f*** is Mark McCabe?

Seems I know everything about 2000 except him.

Mute Patrick Mcauliffe
    Favourite Patrick Mcauliffe
    May 11th 2015, 8:17 AM

Heard a fellow say one time, Charlie couldn’t tell the truth, Gareth couldn’t tell a lie, Bertie couldn’t tell the difference

Mute fockoffski
    Favourite fockoffski
    May 11th 2015, 12:02 AM

A ba ba Bertie??
    Can you imagine if Mark Mc Cabe played Slane that year, the entire Wes heads would have had a field to go knacker drinking in instead of the banks of the river Dodder! #maniac2000

Mute Gerard Ryan
    Favourite Gerard Ryan
    May 10th 2015, 11:55 PM

Drunk for a lot of that decade :)

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 11th 2015, 3:54 AM

BOD!?! The glamour of it.

Mute Timber Planks
    Favourite Timber Planks
    May 11th 2015, 11:30 AM

Bertie! What a great lad! No, wait! I mean what a fu(king tit!