You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The N60 road, Maidenhead, Laois. Google Maps

Pictures: 10 of the worst road bends in Ireland

At seven each, Tipperary and Limerick are the counties with the most bad bends that need to be fixed, followed by Kerry and Cork with six each.

THE NATIONAL ROADS Authority have released a list of the 50 worst road bends in Ireland that need to be fixed.

Around half of the bends chosen are currently under construction, the other half are in planning.

Sean O’Neill spokesperson for the NRA said the bends were picked by the number of accidents that occurred on them or around them. He added, “a lot of accidents happen at the end of straight roads when people get surprised by a sudden bend in the road”.

At seven each, Tipperary and Limerick are the counties with the most bad bends that need to be fixed, followed by Kerry and Cork with six each.

To give you the full effect of what some of the bad bends look like, we put together a slideshow, from the NRA’s list of 50, of the 10 worst bends on Irish roads:

10 of the worst bends in Ireland
1 / 10
  • 10 of the worst bends in Ireland

The N70, Aghatubrid, Kerry. Image: Google Maps.

The N4, Ardloy, Sligo. Image: Google Maps.

The N69 road, Bolane, Limerick. Image: Google Maps.

The N61 road, Carrigeens, Roscommon. Image: Google Maps.

The N17, Carrownurlaur, Galway. Image: Google Maps.

The N80 road, Maidenhead, Laois. Image: Google Maps.

The N69 road, Ardaneer, Limerick. Image: Google Maps.

The N12, Tamlet, Monaghan. Image: Google MapsSource: Google Maps

Southhill, Westmeath, N51. Image: Google Maps.

The N69 road, Robertstown, Limerick. Image: Google Maps.

Read: You told us what you thought saved petrol, so which of them actually work? >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

64 Comments
    Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Nov 17th 2012, 9:22 AM

A bad bend never killed anyone. Trying to take a bad bend and 100kph is what kills people. When I started driving my instructor told me that if you’re on a road you’re unfamiliar with, assume every bend is bad and take it slowly. Some of the best driving advice I’ve even gotten.

Mute Bang Bang
    Favourite Bang Bang
    Nov 17th 2012, 1:06 PM

“Always expect the unexpected” especially on bends. Good advice from the RSA..

Mute paul breslin
    Favourite paul breslin
    Nov 17th 2012, 6:37 PM

Duhhhhh

Mute Darren Burke
    Favourite Darren Burke
    Nov 17th 2012, 8:48 AM

There’s worse than them I’m sure we all know of a few in our own area!

Mute Pauric Mcgowan
    Favourite Pauric Mcgowan
    Nov 17th 2012, 9:29 AM

Obviously didn’t look too hard..

Mute Mick 'The Bull' Daly
    Favourite Mick 'The Bull' Daly
    Nov 17th 2012, 8:56 AM

The N20 main Cork to Limerick is a disgrace also,especially around buttevant.

Mute John Kavanagh
    Favourite John Kavanagh
    Nov 17th 2012, 3:01 PM

the main cork to dublin stretch from cork to Tipp is disgraceful for a new tolled motorway…….I have seen a firefly lit up better!!!

Mute Gerard Quigley
    Favourite Gerard Quigley
    Nov 17th 2012, 3:38 PM

Totally agree. To think that the series of bends outside Butevant forms part of a national road linking 2 of Ireland’s biggest cities.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Nov 17th 2012, 3:52 PM

There are plans to fix cork to limerick road. Was in NRA office recently and looked at drawings. Money an issue I suppose.

Mute Mick 'The Bull' Daly
    Favourite Mick 'The Bull' Daly
    Nov 17th 2012, 4:48 PM

I hear the money is earmarked but legal battles are ongoing.

Mute Ian Scott
    Favourite Ian Scott
    Nov 17th 2012, 9:15 AM

while their at it why doesn’t Ireland drag itself into the 21st century and standardise the sigh posts across The country and chuck out the old dolly mixture set up that is currently there….
    in fact I would go one better…
    appoint a Td and dept who’s sole responsibility is to sort out Irish roads PERIOD…
    it’s a damn embarrassment and what’s far more serious is the deaths caused by crazy signage…
    point in question…
    n7 meeting m50 in Dublin on way into town… signs hanging over junction rather then repeater signs dotted coming up to junction so people can correctly identify their lanes and possibly lane painting to boot….
    that’s a major problem in Ireland where no repeat signage is used and as a result people getting into a panic as they approach junctions and as a result Accidents…..
    it’s not rocket science…….!!!!!

Mute mary cull
    Favourite mary cull
    Nov 17th 2012, 9:50 AM

Ministry of transport HELLO.!!!!

Mute Geoff Tracey
    Favourite Geoff Tracey
    Nov 17th 2012, 10:00 AM

He’s too busy with this ‘gathering’ shite for the next year or so

Mute Ian Scott
    Favourite Ian Scott
    Nov 17th 2012, 2:58 PM

hello… they most likely don’t have anything to do with transport I expect….
    it’s just a title… don’t b fooled…..
    otherwise we wouldn’t b having this conversation….

Mute Darragh Flynn
    Favourite Darragh Flynn
    Nov 17th 2012, 3:18 PM

The roads in Ireland are of a much higher standard than many of the roads I’ve seen in places I’ve travelled. It doesn’t mean that we should compromise safety, but seeing as they’re a wear-and-tear amenity, it’s unlikely that they will all always satisfy everyone. So they’re not really an embarrassment at all. Also, Dublin has the safest roads of any EU capital, something to be happy about!

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Nov 17th 2012, 3:38 PM

I agree Darragh..it’s too easy for people to just point the finger..Irish roads are some of the safest in the world..and Dublin is the safest eu capital..our motorways are top class..of course there are many low quality roads but for a country with such a spread out population this is unavoidable

Mute Alan Little
    Favourite Alan Little
    Nov 18th 2012, 7:36 AM

What good are repeater signs at the side of a 4 lane motorway approaching the junction of 2 of the busiest roads in the country when more often than not you will have a steady flow of HGVs and buses obscuring the view of these signs from cars in the middle and outter lanes. Big large overhead signs means you can see what lane you should be in from a safe distance unless you’re driving up the arse of a truck or you’re blind…in which case you shouldn’t be driving.

Mute Conor Ó Ruanaidh
    Favourite Conor Ó Ruanaidh
    Nov 17th 2012, 10:30 AM

I was always told it doesn’t matter how great a driver your are rather it’s how bad the other person coming around the bend is.

Mute Ed Lowry
    Favourite Ed Lowry
    Nov 17th 2012, 9:39 AM

Didn’t research this too well, picture 8 and 10 are the same even though one is in Limerick and the other is in Westmeath !

Mute Statler Waldorf
    Favourite Statler Waldorf
    Nov 17th 2012, 9:57 AM

Try the report tip/correction link above

Mute Paul Collins
    Favourite Paul Collins
    Nov 17th 2012, 5:34 PM

well ed you didnt expect them to get out tof the helicopter and look properly they were enjoying the view leave them alone.

Mute stephen deegan
    Favourite stephen deegan
    Nov 17th 2012, 10:11 AM

Just slow down.

Mute Christine Downey
    Favourite Christine Downey
    Nov 17th 2012, 11:30 AM

Do the people in Ardloy actually know what a bend is? Let them come to Wicklow and travel the N11 from Rathnew to Arklow – single lane carriageway, multiple bends, trees – you name, it we’ve got it! But I don’t see any pictures of them.

Mute John Denby
    Favourite John Denby
    Nov 17th 2012, 9:57 AM

Comment reported

Mute Regina Maclean
    Favourite Regina Maclean
    Nov 17th 2012, 9:37 AM

In my humble opinion those bends are not so bad. Why don’t we spend money on things that are really important. We’ve waste a lot on roads in the past , empty motorways and bridges that we have to pay for even if they are not generating income from tolls. I’d like to see the money going on underprivileged children, the elderly, on helping people not to loose their homes, hospitals . Roads would be way down my list.

Mute Adrian Egan
    Favourite Adrian Egan
    Nov 17th 2012, 12:40 PM

that’s nothing. check out the Trim to Kildalkey, Meath. It is 6 miles long and has 58 bends!!!!

I’m not joking I actually counted them.

Mute Jay Meehan
    Favourite Jay Meehan
    Nov 17th 2012, 12:01 PM

hope they don’t fix by putting in round abouts. and the councils should stop resurfacing roads in towns thats perfect and pay more attention to secondary roads outside these towns with potholes the size of the grand canyon

Mute Brighid Sheridan
    Favourite Brighid Sheridan
    Nov 17th 2012, 3:09 PM

Mmm they haven’t been to Donegal then!

Mute Graham Finlay
    Favourite Graham Finlay
    Nov 17th 2012, 10:06 AM

Too much grass, not enough trees.

Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    Favourite Gerard McAuliffe
    Nov 17th 2012, 12:32 PM

No. 2 actually looks like one if the straightest roads in Ireland.

Mute Pádraig Scully
    Favourite Pádraig Scully
    Nov 17th 2012, 4:16 PM

The actual bends are not the problem. It’s the twits driving like idiots are the real problem. Drive responsibly, arrive alive.

Mute Neil McAuley
    Favourite Neil McAuley
    Nov 17th 2012, 9:04 AM

Re Pic6 – shouldn’t Theresa May the Home Secretary and MP for Maidenhead do something about the bad bend in her constituency ?

Mute Kim Guerin
    Favourite Kim Guerin
    Nov 17th 2012, 3:42 PM

my husband always says it’s a pity the Romans never invaded this country – we’d have nice straight, well built roads if they had!!!

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Nov 17th 2012, 10:09 AM

Once made scutter of a motorbike at that bend in Westmeath, it’s particularly nasty.

Mute Darragh Culhane
    Favourite Darragh Culhane
    Nov 17th 2012, 10:51 AM

the N69 Bolane has actually been bypassed since, so you can mark that one off your list.

Mute Bob Coggins
    Favourite Bob Coggins
    Nov 17th 2012, 11:34 AM

The one in sligo was fixed last night, a lad with a hi vis and a shovel was at it when I passed it yesterday. He’s bound to have ‘er straightened at this stage..

Mute Alberto
    Favourite Alberto
    Nov 17th 2012, 11:53 AM

if ya hit them hard enough with a shovel and shout at it, the bend usually falls out! or is that creases???

Mute Bob Coggins
    Favourite Bob Coggins
    Nov 17th 2012, 11:59 AM

No Alberto, thats crooked politicians you’re thinking of, and you have to hit them over the head, with a large tax bill to knock the crookedness out of them….

Mute Henry Shields
    Favourite Henry Shields
    Nov 17th 2012, 3:27 PM

The Pike bend on the Waterford -Cork road just outside Dungarvan. Now that’s a bend like it will never finish. Was reduced to a 60 but there is always fools well over that.

Mute Tara Mc Andrew
    Favourite Tara Mc Andrew
    Nov 17th 2012, 3:18 PM

I can never drive on a bendy road without thinking of that awful yet ultimately successful ( for me anyway) ad from years ago with the child out walking on a country road and the car speeding along with the louis armstrong soundtrack…I drive my husband demented when he is driving and i am constantly saying slow down, you don’t know who or what is around the corner and then cite that ad…(appreciating all the while of course that i am the worlds most annoying passenger).

Mute Sieglinde McGee
    Favourite Sieglinde McGee
    Nov 17th 2012, 2:20 PM

I guess they have not been on the R125 Kilkock road either. Some impressive bends on that, including one for which you have to drop to second gear. And let’s not forget the fun that is the Wicklow Mountains and Sally Gap area, where there are some rather special bends.

Mute Michael Skellig
    Favourite Michael Skellig
    Nov 17th 2012, 1:45 PM

Many roads follow routes laid out in the 1800s and had to go around the borders of wealthy demesne lands. Many landlords would not cooperate with the road building commission.

Mute John Travers
    Favourite John Travers
    Nov 17th 2012, 10:08 AM

Pic 6 is the N80 not N60, but no matter what name they put on the road, it definitely deserves to be listed. Despite the severity of the bends, I have only once come across an accident on it in last 12 years.

Mute Mary McCall
    Favourite Mary McCall
    Nov 17th 2012, 1:29 PM

The N11 between Rathnew and Arklow bypasses would put all these bends to shame. But they cant very well bring peoples attention to it because we might remember that work was supposed to be done on it 10 years ago. At the start of every year we are told that THIS year it will be done but nothing happens. Its a pure disgrace.

Mute Chris Noonan
    Favourite Chris Noonan
    Nov 17th 2012, 3:03 PM

There are far worst bends then that, half ass job NRA. I wonder how much that cost

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Nov 17th 2012, 11:18 AM

The bend at Southill in Westmeath no longer exists. That was corrected a couple of months ago.

Mute Simon Conneely
    Favourite Simon Conneely
    Nov 17th 2012, 3:25 PM

Hey cmon NRA what about connemara?? N59)….

Mute Alan Little
    Favourite Alan Little
    Nov 18th 2012, 7:18 AM

for being shite.

Mute Paul Collins
    Favourite Paul Collins
    Nov 17th 2012, 5:38 PM

We have some of the worst roads in the world considering the amount of money taken by the govt for roads through road tax, insurance ,NCT fee, petrol, vechicle maintainance.
    where the F**K is all this money going because its not going into roads.

Mute Gerard Quigley
    Favourite Gerard Quigley
    Nov 25th 2012, 11:36 PM

At least money was spent on the much needed upgrade of our primary roads. Atleast we are finally nearly there with a an actual motorway network. Just need to complete the Western Corridor. What I would like to know is where all the money went from the EU structural funds in the 70′s, 80′s and early 90′s?

Mute Spectrum AV
    Favourite Spectrum AV
    Nov 17th 2012, 11:52 AM

You obviously don’t drive much if you think they’re bad bends. Fail

Mute Enda Jordan
    Favourite Enda Jordan
    Nov 17th 2012, 3:56 PM

The one in Sligo cannot, in any sense of the word, be called a “bend”.

Mute Verléin Mc Kiernan
    Favourite Verléin Mc Kiernan
    Nov 17th 2012, 7:56 PM

The N4 to Sligo from Carrick is horrible – there have been white crosses placed along the road where people have died, and there must be over 20 of them. However, that bend isn’t the worst of it, by far.

Mute Sarah McDermott
    Favourite Sarah McDermott
    Nov 17th 2012, 1:24 PM

Pic 8 and pic 10 are the same *le gasp!*

Mute Alison O Donovan
    Favourite Alison O Donovan
    Nov 18th 2012, 7:37 AM

I navigate the N52 weekly. Its like a corkscrew in parts and has one of the highest fatality rates in the country. Im surprised its not listed. Yes, there is some work going on in parts, but not nearly enough for what passes as the major link road between the midlands and the northeast.

Mute Na Fulacht Fia Moore
    Favourite Na Fulacht Fia Moore
    Nov 17th 2012, 6:11 PM

What about the N86 between Annascaul & Lispole surely the Bánnóg has to be the most severe curve on an National route anywhere in Europe !!

Mute Abi Dennis
    Favourite Abi Dennis
    Nov 18th 2012, 8:54 AM

what about 21 bends in enniskerry??

Mute Alison Neilson
    Favourite Alison Neilson
    Nov 21st 2012, 10:15 PM

The N55 between Ballinagh in Co Cavan and Granard in Longford has to be one of the worst roads in the country. Corkscrew bends some thru a bog and no margins on either side. This road forms part of the route from the north to the west. A nightmare for poor truck drivers.

Mute David Sheehan
    Favourite David Sheehan
    Nov 22nd 2012, 2:52 AM

Why are there pictures of 2 mile or more stretches of road when the list was of bends. Doesn’t even highlight on the pictures where the bend is!

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Nov 18th 2012, 12:39 AM

the biggest problem on irish roads is the nut5 behind the wheel !.

Mute Hazel Jones
    Favourite Hazel Jones
    Nov 18th 2012, 6:54 PM

The pot holes where we are are now so bad if the roads are wet and you can’t see them they wreck your car ! Soon we won’t be able to get out !!No good fixing main roads if we can’t get on them.Tipp have some of the worst roads in the country always know when we are back home by the state of them Icould put up with a few bends in the road we have worse round here.So lets just make roads drivable NSA thanks.

Mute Ephen Fecker
    Favourite Ephen Fecker
    Nov 18th 2012, 8:03 AM

Seems ye can’t critise the NRA or your comment will be taken down.
    Freedom my arse.

Mute Dermot Murphy
    Favourite Dermot Murphy
    Nov 17th 2012, 4:06 PM

Minister for road safety has not been in his office since he took up the post,too busy making more money on radio.Paid that huge salary,and never shows up at his appointed office.Only in Ireland

Mute Daniel Cunningham
    Favourite Daniel Cunningham
    Nov 21st 2012, 3:32 PM

the prob is that they are using google maps and well they cant get a clear enough zoom on donegal with cloud cover.. thats my excuse for it no wait… they dont give a damn about the roads up there… prob best not to fix the bends though to keep the speed down..#