You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Hunger strikes and pepper spray - 2013 in protests

Abortion, flags and cuts cuts cuts – here’s a round-up of what people stood against this past year.

IT’S BEEN ANOTHER year of contentious issues with some like the abortion debate, the Budget and austerity measures dominating the agenda. For some campaigns, thousands of people took to the streets to protest, hoping their voices would be heard.

Here are some of the most notable protests of 2013:

Abortion

The debate around the Protection of Life During Pregnancy Bill dominated the first part of this year with both pro-choice and pro-life groups taking to the streets.

Pro-choice campaigners in Dublin in January this year (Image: Niall Carson/PA).

Thousands of people took part in the pro-life 'Vigil for Life' in Dublin in June this year. (Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland)

(Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland)

Another pro-life rally in Dublin in July (Image: Sasko Lazarov).

And a counter demonstration by pro-choice campaigners on the same day (Image: Niall Carson/PA).

Thousands of pro-choice campaigners marched in September for a global day of action. (Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)

The pro-life campaigners even protested outside the minister's house during the second round of public hearings on the proposed legislation:

And both sides had a good turnout at the Dáil on the day of the vote on the new legislation:

(Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)

After the bill was passed in the Dáil, the pro-choice protest became more of a celebration:

(Image: Niall Carson/PA)

Nationalising bank debt

In February, the Irish Congress of Trade Unions coordinated 'Not Our Debt' marches in six counties to protest against the nationalisation of bank debts.  There was a large turnout with numbers for Dublin reaching 25,000.

(Image: @StevieCMJ)

Garda station closures

This year, 100 garda stations were closed as the force adjusted to budget cuts. Of the 100 stations that were earmarked for closure, 98 of them were only open on a part-time basis and 88 of them were served by only one garda. In county Dublin, 1,500 people gathered at Stepaside Garda Station in February to protest its imminent closure.

(Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland)

Nursing graduate scheme

The HSE's plan to hire one hundred graduate nurses and pay them 80 per cent of the usual salary caused an uproar among nursing staff at the start of this year. Members of the Irish Nurses and Midwives Association and the Psychiatric Nurses Association protested outside HSE headquarters and urged graduates to boycott the new scheme.

(Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland)

Property Tax

More than 5,000 people protested against the Local Property Tax in April, while EU finance ministers attended a meeting in Dublin Castle.

(Image: Workers Solidarity Movement (Ireland)/Facebook)

Meath man Tony Rochford also went on a hunger strike for more than 20 days in protest against the tax:

(Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland)

Flags

What began with a late-night vote at a local council meeting in Belfast about the number of days the Union flag would fly over the city hall, spiralled into months of protests and riots. Dozens of people, including police officers, were injured and more than 200 people were arrested.

(Image: Julien Behal/PA)

Farmers

The Irish Farmers' Association staged a protest outside Dublin Castle in March against proposed EU reforms of the Common Agricultural Policy.

(Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland)

And again in May. This time they brought their tractors:

(Images: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland)

Student grant cuts

Demanding that third-level  maintenance grants be protected, thousands of students joined marches and rallies in October in Dublin, Cork and Sligo.

(Video: IT Sligo Students' Union/YouTube)

Budget cuts

The Budget was announced in October this year with a number of controversial measures sparking protests by pensioners, young people and mothers.

On the day, there were scuffles between gardaí and protesters and a few people were even pepper sprayed:

(Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland)

A few days later the demonstration against increased prescription charges and changes to income limits on medical cards for over 70s drew thousands of people to Dublin.

(Image: PA)

No one was pepper sprayed this time.

Did you take part in any of these protests? Tell us all about it in the comments below.

Read: Thousands join pensioners’ protest against Budget cuts>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

13 Comments
    Mute Richard Prendiville
    Favourite Richard Prendiville
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:53 PM

Time to put everything on the table now – S&S, Croke Park hours, NQT pay and the new Junior Cert.. Time for both sides to fix it once and for all… this drip drip squabbling has to stop!!

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:01 PM

100% and a no strike no blocking curriculum change clause also. Sign up or F off. They are the crew who were prepared to let 350,000 unemployed suffer and new teachers suffer the cuts and offer nothing to help…..

Mute Do the Bort man
    Favourite Do the Bort man
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:40 PM

aw, kids will be sickened!

Mute niall
    Favourite niall
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:44 PM

So will the teachers

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:00 PM

The teacher’s should be ashamed of their lives.They have a neck to leave final year students sitting at home unsure of their future. Shame on them and there greed!…. who educated them but the state and the taxpayer giving them free college grants …..arrogance of the highest form this is the way they repay the respect that is given them.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Liam H
    Favourite Liam H
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:07 PM

Will students miss 3 days?
    No.

Will teachers make up any and all missed time?
    Yes.

I say this as a teacher who was on strike for 2 days on Oct 27th and again today.

I was in teaching my exam classes yesterday and gave them plenty of work to do today.

I was also a student in 2001 in my leaving Cert year and the teachers strikes that year made NO difference to my leaving Cert.

Leave out the hysteria.

Progress has been made.

Mute Joe Daly
    Favourite Joe Daly
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:17 PM

Actually John ASTI members made every effort by agreeing to cooperate with non union teachers supervising, in order to keep schools open for exam year groups! It was the JMB and Department who wouldn’t allow this to work in many schools because they wanted to lock teachers out and break their resolve. In my school our Board went against the JMB recommendation and we were teaching exam classes. You should get your facts right before you go online attacking people and trying to sow division between workers!

Nov 8th 2016, 10:23 PM

You mean the respect you’re showing them now? Who educated you? I suppose it’s also the teacher’s fault you don’t know when to use “there” and “their” and how to use punctuation correctly?

Mute Lar Kearns
    Favourite Lar Kearns
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:27 PM

Ye I u are one of them people the teachers are right to stand up and fight for things and rights of workers pay and conditions it time a lot took to picket lines Jim Larkin would turn in his grave if he what was going on in this country right now stand up to the bullie boys in power and take back worker rights were they belong

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:27 PM

Its the predictive text i write with !…take it up with Motorola

Mute Thomas McGilly
    Favourite Thomas McGilly
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:35 PM

It’s also the rubbish you spew.

Mute Caymon Flynn
    Favourite Caymon Flynn
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:46 PM

#their

Mute Oonagh Comerford
    Favourite Oonagh Comerford
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:53 PM

Dedicated students could use the free day for study!! Teachers will have taught them to use their initiative!!

Mute Gavin Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Gavin Fitzpatrick
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:54 PM

@Liam H: Progress?? your representing an ‘antiquated’ workers union.
    Your over paid based on OECD (non-bias report because they dont care about irish teachers)
    Your working the system – grabbing every penny you can, how about reinvent yourselves… before Artificial Inteligence negates your your jobs 20 years from now!!!! (and it will happen)
    The common theme here is antiquated…………….. you won’t have the ability to strike in 10yrs from now
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/education/irish-teachers-amongst-best-paid-in-world-despite-austerity-cuts-oecd-34228771.html

Mute Thomas McGilly
    Favourite Thomas McGilly
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:59 PM

Irish teachers are the 6th highest paid in the OECD. On what basis do you believe they’re overpaid?

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:02 PM

Climb down. Idiot union leaders……

Mute Gavin Fitzpatrick
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:03 PM

@Thomas McGilly:
    6th highest??
    were a country of less than 5 million – we ‘CANNOT’ afford any number within the top 20.

Look its ok, in 10 years you will all be obselete based on AI and CBT, = specific pre-described 1 on 1 training per student delivered by a computer…………….
    I’m sure you willl fight it………….

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:45 PM

@john: Bless your naivete , they don`t care about the students, arrogance and greed are their currency, not to mention obtuseness, as anyone who has the misfortune to have gone through the secondary school system can verify.

Mute Cian Dillon
    Favourite Cian Dillon
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:51 PM

Teachers wont do extra days to make up for the lost time

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Nov 9th 2016, 12:12 AM

Don’t understand your logic, had they been locked outside the school gates they would not have been paid, now that they are back in school normality returns to some degree, more importantly the students continue with their education.

Mute shouldweallbe
    Favourite shouldweallbe
    Nov 9th 2016, 12:27 AM

“There”. Who edumacated you, John?

Mute Saorlaith
    Favourite Saorlaith
    Nov 9th 2016, 12:35 AM

@Gavin Fitzpatrick: Gavin, those numbers are based on teachers having full time contracts. Do you have any idea how difficult it is to get a full time contract here compared to getting one in the UK for example?
    Most teachers here start off on half hours if they’re lucky so that 33K that they are supposed to be earning is more like 12K after tax. These are things that OECD survey didn’t take into account.

Mute Saorlaith
    Favourite Saorlaith
    Nov 9th 2016, 12:40 AM

@Saorlaith: That should be 30K.

Nov 9th 2016, 1:45 AM

You don’t need to bless me, but thanks. If they don’t care about the students then clearly the government doesn’t care about them either. Teachers have a right to strike like everyone else. If the teachers are not going to fight for equal pay for their colleagues then who is? You?

Mute niall
    Favourite niall
    Nov 9th 2016, 6:19 AM

Yeah, the time will be made up by horsing the homework on the kids

Mute Thomas McGilly
    Favourite Thomas McGilly
    Nov 9th 2016, 8:35 PM

Gavin, Not a teacher. Yes we can afford it if we prioritise. Finland has a small population but yet it pays its teachers well above an average graduate’s salary because it prioritises education.

Mute Sarah Coppinger
    Favourite Sarah Coppinger
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:42 PM

Teachers were not supposed to be on strike tomorrow. They were going to work and being locked out by the government over supervision and substitution, the same as yesterday (Monday). For now it has been called off but I really hope you will one day report the correct facts about this industrial action!

Mute michael o brien
    Favourite michael o brien

Ah stop will ya,

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:38 PM

Hope Enda and co don’t try bluffing them. Kids have missed enough. Equal pay is a must , regardless of bankers debt…

Nov 8th 2016, 10:19 PM

The teachers don’t want ‘Equal Pay’ as they would choke on their Cornflakes if the Dept of Education suggested getting rid of pay increments for being there longer teaching EXACTLY the same subjects as the teacher lower on the incremental scale.

Mute Eoin Mc Donnell
    Favourite Eoin Mc Donnell
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:58 PM

What are you on about? No one has ever mentioned increments??

Nov 8th 2016, 11:08 PM

@Eoin Mc Donnell:

Exactly !! Teachers carry these banners calling for ‘Equal Pay’ ???
    They are more than happy to teach and sit beside people being paid either more or less simply depending on length of service not ability yet claim they want equal pay.

NEWSFLASH !! Equal pay means EVERYONE gets paid the same for doing the same job.

As I said teachers want everyone one the same pay scale NOT equal pay.

Mute Gavin Fitzpatrick
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:14 PM

@Willy:
    Regardless of bankers debt??
    you mean – irish citizen debt??????
    why do you think we ended up in the situation we did back in 2008…………………………

Call for equal pay all you want…
    look at the numbers….
    the country doesnt have the money to pay you extra

Mute Keith Burke Music
    Favourite Keith Burke Music
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:47 PM

Why are we pretending that is wasn’t bankers, developers and greedy property speculators who brought the economy to its knees? Should we pretend it was teachers and other public servants?

Mute Eoin Mc Donnell
    Favourite Eoin Mc Donnell
    Nov 9th 2016, 7:17 AM

God you are an idiot…

Mute Will Too
    Favourite Will Too

Thanks for telling everyone at the last minute , kids delighted with the late change !

Mute Peter.
    Favourite Peter.

ASTI are toxic. Teachers should leave this so called union immediately.

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:44 PM

How so exactly? They appear to the only union worth contributing some of one’s hard earned salary to by the looks of it

Mute michael o brien
    Favourite michael o brien
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:00 PM

Your name suits you,

Mute Brendan Young
    Favourite Brendan Young
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:43 PM

Maybe parents should picket the staff rooms tomorrow to show teachers that we don’t approve of their recent disruptive action. It’s blackmail in a different cloak what ever way you look at it.

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:46 PM

I’m a parent and I fully support the teachers in their industrial action.

Mute An_Beal_Bocht
    Favourite An_Beal_Bocht

So you’re happy for your child to potentially work towards a career that doesn’t treat everyone equally??

Mute Sam Glynn
    Favourite Sam Glynn
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:47 PM

It’s not the teachers fault. Read the facts.

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:50 PM

Brendan, off with you.

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:17 PM

Ah Jaysus Billy you’re kidding!
    You never told us you had kids before…
    Walking around with their hands out already are they?

Mute Jarrett moon
    Favourite Jarrett moon
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:25 PM

Parents should come together to sue the ASTI. Holding teachers who want to work and children to ransom.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:45 PM

It reminds me of Super Quinn’s Yellow pack savers Thank God someone is Standing up for the young Teacher s and the New Garda Recruits Ps Equal pay for Equal Work

Mute neo1
    Favourite neo1
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:49 PM

To find out through txt message at 9.30 is so not on…

Mute Aidan Byrne
    Favourite Aidan Byrne

@neo1: 21.53 and we still have not got txt message

Mute Screaming Toddy
    Favourite Screaming Toddy
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:49 PM

Bit of rain and they caved.

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:43 PM

God damn was looking forward to my 7 weeks off

Mute Stiofán De Priondárgas
    Favourite Stiofán De Priondárgas
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:01 PM

I say after walking up and down the footpath today in the p1ssing rain was enough for them. You wouldn’t put a dog out in it!

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:39 PM

Common sense prevails at last

Mute Margate
    Favourite Margate
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:53 PM

I have never read such utterly misinformed comments, across the board, as here tonight.., regrettable people don’t go to the trouble of informing themselves before mouthing off. Don’t know where to start to correct the inaccuracies..but as a start, “Jarrett: go ahead with the parents and sue the Asti over ‘closing the schools’, except I hope your lawyer will be honest with you and inform you correctly..it was Boards of Managements decisions in individual schools, zero power by Asti to have such a remit.
    Also, they not in/with Labour Workplace Comm/Court, specifically it’s the Teachers Conciliation Council.
    Also, prudent advice to all to check the role of JMB in all of this.. And many other (historical) and IMPORTANT – but, now proven, very divisive, decisions around Education as a a whole, in recent times…. Interesting..

Mute paul
    Favourite paul
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:48 PM

The teachers voted for this original pay deal

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:24 PM

Paul: where and when did the teachers vote for a pay deal?

Mute Brendan Greene
    Favourite Brendan Greene
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:02 PM

They didn’t.

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Nov 9th 2016, 12:16 AM

No they didn’t, but they did agree to create that false S&S allowance in the first place to slip a few quid under the table. False, because it had always been their natural responsibility, like everybody else in the entire world of dealing with children, as part of the job/vocation.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:37 PM

cha ching

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:12 PM

Less money in the November pay packet means less money to spend over the Chistmas holidays!

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Nov 8th 2016, 9:57 PM

One would wonder after the silly monies thrown at the Garda dispute is the Labour Court the appropriate mechanism for resolving public pay disputes? Under normal circumstances ibec nominate the employers members of the court and the ictu(unions) the workers members but what happens when the employers, the government, also public servants, sit in?…you get a Kangaroo court to fleece the hard earned tax payers of thye state!

Mute Kevin McCarthy
    Favourite Kevin McCarthy

Gold stars for them all. Fair play.

Mute Jar Jar Binks
    Favourite Jar Jar Binks
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:18 PM

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO why why why i was looking forward to some sleep.

Mute Gavin Fitzpatrick
    Nov 8th 2016, 10:56 PM

Bring on Artificial Intelligence which = no human teachers!!!!

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:37 PM

Gavin if you can read this. Thank a Teacher.

Mute Gerard McDermott
    Favourite Gerard McDermott
    Nov 9th 2016, 11:53 AM

@Gavin Fitzpatrick: And of course no need for workers in the private sector either. Machines can work 24-7-365. Of Banks, and car makers have been using robots and machines for years. My local bank has 3 cash/cheque lodgement/withdrawl machines and only 2 cashiers now. They used to have 4 cashiers and no machines.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:34 PM

Irish teachers are some of the best paid in the world.
    For fair comparison the teachers pay has been “adjusted” to allow for cost of living across the OECD and EU countries. So no argument can be made re cost of living, taxes etc, etc.
    - €48,430 is the equivalent Irish teachers top of the pay scale (actual max is €62,264 )
    - €35,500 is the equivalent top of scale EU average
    - €36,415 is the equivalent top of scale OECD average

The Government has no money – it belongs to the “Taxpayers”.

Mute Kim Prylowski
    Favourite Kim Prylowski
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:14 PM

A petition has been set up on change org to give students an extra day off because it’s too short notice

Mute Gavin Fitzpatrick
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:10 PM

Screw facts – Irish teachers (backed by irish ‘teacher politicians’) are the 5th best paid educators in the world!! – https://www.theguardian.com/teacher-network/teacher-blog/2014/sep/05/how-the-job-of-a-teacher-compares-around-the-world
    Lets be honest – but unless your in the sub-100 you should never consider stricking on the future who will pay your pension!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Rónán Ó Dufaigh
    Favourite Rónán Ó Dufaigh
    Nov 8th 2016, 11:37 PM

Ridiculous … the ASTI things of students as dogs , once the teachers get what they need it’s ok.

Mute Rónán Ó Dufaigh
    Favourite Rónán Ó Dufaigh
    Nov 9th 2016, 11:37 AM

Aye the down-vote crew is out to get me but nobody has questioned me

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Nov 9th 2016, 12:26 AM

Finally nASTI see sense