You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 30 hottest young politicos in Ireland right now

TheJournal.ie’s verdict on the hottest young talents working in Irish politics right now.

TOO OFTEN WE’RE told that young people just don’t care when it comes to politics, but that’s not exactly the case.

In attempting to show that politics is not just for old, white, middle-class men (and the occasional woman) we’ve compiled a list of who we think will be the people to watch in the months and years ahead, particularly in the lead-up to the next general election.

Our by no means exhaustive list of the 30 hottest young politicos in Ireland right now includes councillors, candidates and those who’ve already made waves in youth politics. Almost all of them are under 30, from all over the country and from various diverse backgrounds.

In the coming months, we’ll be attempting to speak to all of these bright young things and discover just why they’re so passionate about a profession that is so often derided.

The list, in alphabetical order, has been compiled by our political editor Hugh O’Connell along with political writer Órla Ryan.

1. Sam Blanckensee (Labour)

11001820_516985618439985_6646073895461682166_n Facebook Facebook

The 21-year-old Wicklow native got a taste for politics through his role as the LGBT coordinator at UCD. Sam recently told TheJournal.ie he wants to ”amplify the voices of marginalised communities and to represent young people and give them a voice“.

The Labour member began the transition from woman to male three years ago, and wants to be the first transgender candidate to run for election in Ireland – with his eye on becoming a councillor in the 2019 local elections.

2. Lorna Bogue (Green Party)

img_5303-630x444 TheJournal.ie TheJournal.ie

Within months of joining the Green Party, this 23-year-old college graduate was elected chair of the Young Greens and is already minded to run for the Dáil, telling TheJournal.ie recently: “I’m just kind of tired of middle-aged men pissing away my future all the time.”

Though the Green party faces a long road back from its electoral wipeout in 2011, Bogue is part of the so-called ‘New Greens’, who will be contesting elections in the years to come.

3. Claire Byrne (Green Party)

1623666_509898839116101_7270861861778741556_n Facebook Facebook

Another ‘New Green’ is this Dublin city councillor who was elected for the first time in May of last year. Byrne has, amongst other things, produced these excellent animations of all the local election counts.

She would have been in contention to be a Dáil candidate for the party had Eamon Ryan not decided to run in Dublin Bay South, but she will certainly be among the contenders in years to come.

4. Niamh Byrne (Fine Gael)

Bi179IGU Twitter Twitter

Oughterard native Niamh Byrne is Connemara councillor, who also popped up on the secret list of potential general election candidates receiving special training from Fine Gael.

The youngest councillor in her area to be elected last year, she could benefit from the gender quota rule and be on the general election ticket in Galway West next time out. Byrne is also the current deputy mayor of Galway County Council.

5. Jack Chambers (Fianna Fáil)

qES4tAye Twitter Twitter

The Fingal Councillor made headlines recently when he was selected to represent Fianna Fáil in the general election in Dublin West – where the late finance minister Brian Lenihan held a seat.

He beat fellow councillor David McGuinness, who later quit the party. Chambers is based in Castleknock. He is currently studying medicine, having previously completed a degree in law and political science at Trinity College.

6. Lisa Chambers (Fianna Fáil)

883011_603435449684637_746452375_o Facebook Facebook

This 28-year-old barrister is a Mayo county councillor based in Castlebar and was one the youngest female candidates in the country at the last general election in 2011. Held in high regard within the party, Chambers could yet be on the ticket with sitting TD Dara Calleary at the next election.

7. John Cummins (Fine Gael)

1977366_10201875973729443_250996670_n Facebook Facebook

The 27-year-old Waterford councillor is the son of Fine Gael’s Seanad leader Maurice Cummins. But despite his youth he’s already in his second council term having served as mayor of Waterford city first time out.

The PE teacher’s family links and experience at such a young age would make him well-placed to be a future candidate for the party although he’s unlikely to be in the mix this time around. He made headlines last year after securing a court order directing Twitter to remove defamatory tweets.

8. Stephen Cunningham (Sinn Féin)

1535759_311704595670196_102500824435341706_n Facebook Facebook

This student of government at UCC was elected to Cork city council at the tender age of 21 last year. He still has another two years to go in college, but Cunningham topped the poll in Cork city north east in the local election.

His youthful looks were the subject of some Twitter comment during the local elections last year. But there’s no doubt his early election success means he’s well-positioned to advance within Sinn Féin in the coming years.

9. Jack Eustace (Labour)

Screen Shot 2015-04-16 at 16.18.28 Twitter Twitter

Eustace helped to orchestrate a significant victory for the youth wing of the party at its recent conference where a motion calling for the reversal of dole cuts for under-26s was passed by delegates. As the current chair of Labour Youth, he will be one to watch in the coming years.

10. Mairead Farrell (Sinn Féin)

10672195_333731213462923_5607955731726841149_n Facebook Facebook

This 25-year-old Galway city councillor holds a degree in economics and history from NUIG and a masters in finance from Queen’s in Belfast. On her Twitter, she describes herself as a socialist, republican and feminist. One of Sinn Féin’s rising stars.

11. Kate Feeney (Fianna Fáil)

49ab50e21292db55bf309eb0e81faf74 Twitter Twitter

The Blackrock-based councillor came to national prominence last year in her high-profile battle with former minister Mary Hanafin. Feeney, the former chair of Ógra Fianna Fáil, has recently put her hat in the ring for the nomination to be the party’s Dáil candidate in Dún Laoghaire setting up another battle with Hanafin.

She is the daughter of former Fianna Fáil senator Geraldine Feeney and would herself be in contention for the Seanad if her Dáil bid doesn’t work out.

12. Gary Gannon (Independent)

10402398_754070307968975_6956805900500597696_n Facebook Facebook

A 28-year-old councillor for north inner city Dublin, Gannon gave a widely-praised speech at the MacGill Summer School last year, arguing that young people are apathetic towards because the political culture that is “morally bankrupt”.

A strong activist on the ground, he previously helped early school leavers to get back into education and employment. Despite his obvious talent he’s never been tempted by parties, saying he would be “mortified being in the youth wing of a party”.

13. Jonathan Graham (Sinn Féin)

2rdokPru Twitter Twitter

The Trinity student was running for South Dublin County Council when he was just 19 and has already had to contend with death threats since being elected. Well-regarded within the party, the Clondalkin-based councillor won’t be running in the general election this time around, but is definitely one to watch.

14. Sarah Jane Hennelly (Independent)

-U0d-ddE Twitter Twitter

Hennelly stood as an independent candidate in the 2014 local election for Limerick City East. She is particularly focused on youth unemployment and plans to run in the general election. The 26-year-old, who is originally from Mayo, works as a researcher at the University of Limerick’s Medical School.

15. Jane Horgan Jones (Labour)

1469976_432212506878450_968899807_n-2 Facebook Facebook

A Labour councillor since being co-opted onto minister Aodhan O Riordain’s seat in 2011, the Clontarf-based criminal barrister is the daughter of former Labour senator and press ombudsman John Horgan.

Though active on the ground and one of the few Labour councillors re-elected in 2014, she is not expected to be in the mix as a candidate at the next general election, but may come into contention in future elections.

16. Frank Kennedy (Fianna Fáil)

1921066_1415620752030154_199636430_o Jason Clarke Photography / Facebook Jason Clarke Photography / Facebook / Facebook

This Dublin city councillor is highly-rated in the party and could have been it’s general election candidate in Dublin Bay South were it not for the presence of Jim O’Callaghan.

Kennedy studied law at UCD, the University of Toulouse in France and Oxford and once interned for the late US senator Ted Kennedy. He looks well-placed to run for the party in future general elections – provided he holds onto his council seat.

17. Aoibhinn Kenny (Fine Gael)

Fine Gael National Conferences Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Enda Kenny’s daughter recently got on the prestigious Washington Ireland Programme, which counts Leo Varadkar among its alumni. She previously ran for Irish langauge officer on UCD’s student’s union and although she didn’t elected she remains active in student politics as a member of Young Fine Gael. Were the Taoiseach to retire, she would be well-placed to run for his seat, just as Kenny ran for his father’s in 1975.

18. Barry Martin (PBP)

1796944_212576828950082_1112025114_o Facebook Facebook

Martin currently represents the Balbriggan ward on Fingal County Council. The People Before Profit Alliance regularly uses social media to show the public the inner workings of council and party meetings. Of late, he’s been particularly vocal on the Dunnes Stores strike and, of course, water charges.

19. Dale McDermott (Fine Gael)

Fine Gael Minister for Finance, Michael

The former president of Young Fine Gael recently stepped down to focus on the final year of his studies. But the 22-year-old remains active in local politics having been recently elected as chairperson of the Fine Gael branch in Dublin South-West and he is a prominent in the Yes campaign for the marriage referendum. A future Dáil run cannot be ruled out.

20. John McGahon (Fine Gael)

1509129_1411457479095860_1233762797_n Facebook Facebook

A first-time councillor on Louth County Council, McGahon is also a parliamentary assistant in Leinster House. With two incumbent Fine Gael TDs likely to be seeking re-election in Louth, McGahon is unlikely to be in the mix at the next election but rumour has it that he might be in contention for the Seanad.

21. Patrick McKee (Renua)

patrick-mckee-2 Facebook Facebook

The Kilkenny councillor came to national prominence recently after defecting from Fianna Fáil – a party he had been with for 10 years – to join the newest party in the country, Renua.

McKee had been considering seeking the Fianna Fáil nomination for the Carlow-Kilkenny by-election, but after Bobby Aylward won that spot, he decided to join Renua and run as its candidate. His performance in May will indicated whether he stands a chance of getting elected to the Dáil in the general election.

22. Ciara McPhillips (Fine Gael) 

13489161095_f4195b05dc_b Facebook Facebook

McPhillips has been a Fine Gael councillor in Monaghan since 2011. She was co-opted onto the council after Heather Humphreys TD was elected to the Dáil. She studied law at UCD through the Access programme, and now works as an apprentice solicitor.

The 28-year-old recently told us she wants to see more people her age getting involved in politics as the absence of young people in any profession “can lead to inertia and a repetition of the same old ways”.

23. Emma Murphy (Fianna Fáil)

EM-Poster Picasa / EmmaMurphy.ie Picasa / EmmaMurphy.ie / EmmaMurphy.ie

Murphy has one vital learning experience under her belt: losing an election. The 30-year-old unsuccessfully contested the local election in Rathfarnham, Dublin last year.

The former inter-county footballer is one of several young women that represents the ‘new face’ of Fianna Fáil, as the party tries to rebuild its image from its disastrous general election outing in 2011.

24. Eoin Neylon (Fianna Fáil)

10897782_761441190613567_2954938583649173654_n Facebook Facebook

The current president of Ógra Fianna Fáil, the Clare native also sits on the party’s national executive. The 26-year-old has been involved with the party since his student days and is big on the grassroots being at the centre of Fianna Fáil’s renewal and revival. Definitely one to watch as a possible future election candidate.

25. Shane O’Brien (Sinn Féin)

NtrDeEsa Twitter Twitter

O’Brien represents Killiney/Shankill on Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council, but has bigger ambitions than that. The 29-year-old member plans to run for Sinn Fein in the general election to “help give young people a voice”.

“It is my aim to act as role model for other young people who may consider entering politics in Ireland. Young people are simply under-represented in Dáil Éireann,” he said.

26. Donnchadh Ó Laoghaire (Sinn Féin)

1621784_662488543807500_102016768_n Facebook Facebook

This 26-year-0ld Cork county councillor is the Sinn Féin general election candidate in Cork South Central where the party has a fighting chance of taking a seat.

He was just 20 when he stood for his first council election in 2009, narrowly missing out. A graduate of law at UCC, Ó Laoghaire was previously the national organiser of Sinn Féin’s Youth Wing and is highly-rated within the party.

27. Cian Prendiville (AAA/Socialist Party)

11014636_411830145656055_8539413621848802853_n Facebook Facebook

The Anti-Austerity Alliance unanimously selected Prendiville as their general election candidate for Limerick City earlier this month. As a founding member of the ‘We Won’t Pay’ campaign, he’s been behind several anti-water charge protests in Limerick.

During his time on Limerick Council, he’s been particularly vocal on issues such as housing, jobs and opposition to the property tax. A new Paul Murphy in the making.

28. Noel Rock (Fine Gael)

noel-rock Facebook Facebook

This 27-year-old councillor, who works as a parliamentary assistant, was first elected to Dublin City Council last May and has been particularly savvy when it comes to getting his name in both local and national media. He’s all but certain to the party’s candidate in Dublin North West at the next election where Fine Gael does not currently have a seat.

29. Grace Tallon (Labour)

10256419_832903153390549_7053159766606686257_n Facebook Facebook

Tallon replaced Aidan Culhane on Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council in September 2011, representing the area she grew up in: Dundrum. She retained her seat in last year’s local election.

The 29-year-old music teacher was behind a campaign encouraging people to shop locally. From her experience on the council, she previously told us “it takes an awfully long time for things to happen”, adding: “We have little powers in the council but there are huge things you can do.”

30. Neil Warner (Labour)

Launch of Campaign for Labour Policies Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

This Trinity graduate came to prominence in 2012 as one of the leading members of the Campaign for Labour Policies, a group of disaffected Labour members unhappy with the party’s decisions in government.

But the 25-year-old remained with the party as others left. He was recently elected as a vice president of the Young European Socialists, Labour’s European grouping. It was the first time in over 25 years that a Labour Youth member has held such a position.

Read: Sam wants to be Ireland’s first transgender election candidate

Read: ‘I’m tired of middle-aged men pissing away my future all the time’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

151 Comments
    Mute baz brock
    Favourite baz brock
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:43 PM

Can I just throw it out there and say I got to number 1 and presumed it was a pisstake article

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:09 PM

How many of these are regular contributors to the journal i wonder? 90%?

Mute The Man With No Name
    Favourite The Man With No Name
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:25 PM

If I see one more mention of Lorna Bogue on the Journal, I’m calling shenanigans.

Mute Gonzo Doyle
    Favourite Gonzo Doyle
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:36 PM

1 and 30 should quietly leave through the back door.

Mute Pedro deluvio
    Favourite Pedro deluvio
    Apr 20th 2015, 2:16 AM

Claire Byrnes back door is all I’m sayin.

Sorry!!

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:25 PM

Is this what Tinder looks like?

Mute Joe Sullivan
    Favourite Joe Sullivan
    Apr 20th 2015, 12:21 AM

Ladies and gentlemen i give you. .. The treasonous filth of the future, soon to be korrupted by the money that is allowed into our democracy unrestricted. It disgusts me.

Mute alwaysrightokay
    Favourite alwaysrightokay
    Apr 20th 2015, 12:40 AM

All of a sudden I’m very inspired to vote.

Mute Kane Abel
    Favourite Kane Abel
    Apr 20th 2015, 12:40 AM

Anyone noticed the amount of 15 year olds Sinn Fein are grooming for an explosive political career?

Mute FlyingDogThing
    Favourite FlyingDogThing
    Apr 20th 2015, 1:39 AM

Look at Kenny in the first photo- “Yeah!.”

Mute Donal Killackey
    Favourite Donal Killackey
    Apr 20th 2015, 12:13 PM

I agree, and just to put some flesh on that, here in Limerick, set out below are the sums of money paid to some local TD’s since the March 2011 election up to about late 2014: Dan Neville €529,585; Patrick O’Donovan €518,891; Niall Collins €517,966; Willie O’Dea €516,510; Kieran O’Donnell €500,794; Jan O’Sullivan €390,248; Michael Noonan €354,738. Not included are the extra salaries paid to Ministers and Ministers of State which puts the takings for the 3 latter names above, much higher again. On top of this, add in the outrageous pensions that they have accumulated during the period (while Noonan was raiding struggling private pension funds). And this was through a period of the severest austerity this state has ever experienced!

Mute Atticus the Accuser
    Favourite Atticus the Accuser
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:44 PM

The lingo run for her father’s seat is exactly whats wrong in Irish politics.Then the parish pumping sympathy voters elect people on sentiment and nepotism rather than potential and policy.Pathetic.

Mute Joe Simpson
    Favourite Joe Simpson
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:34 PM

Wouldn’t it be more pathetic to vote for a party with a “Tax the rich” policy to apparently solve all our problems. If your too lazy to do a bit of community work and “Parish Pumping” as you call it why do you deserve to be elected.

And she’ll get to run for her father’s seat exactly because of her potential and policy? She has potential because she would have learned/work from her father perhaps through meeting and greeting voters at her fathers constituency offices and people voted for her father because of FG policies which will be pretty much the same under her candidacy anyway.

Mute Bryan Holmes
    Favourite Bryan Holmes
    Apr 20th 2015, 8:13 PM

Did you see her on Vincent Brown? couldnt even be arsed to learn the policies you mention.

Mute Roy Madden
    Favourite Roy Madden
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:41 PM

They all look like estate agents.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:41 PM

Looks like Lorraine Higgins is over the hill.

Mute Skippy
    Favourite Skippy
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:49 PM

That could be deemed as online abuse….be careful

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:21 PM

It doesn’t even have to be abusive. If hearing “Lorraine Higgins” causes you alarm, then it’s a violation of her bill.

Mute The Man With No Name
    Favourite The Man With No Name
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:28 PM

Careful, Paul. The fascist censors will get the thought police after you.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Apr 19th 2015, 10:41 PM

She started at the bottom and never really managed to get much further .

Mute Alex Sheridan
    Favourite Alex Sheridan
    Apr 20th 2015, 10:50 PM

I’m alarmed by this comment. /s

Mute markyg
    Favourite markyg
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:37 PM

Was waiting and then number 17 pops up

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris

Sad political dynasties are so common

Mute YFG Account
    Favourite YFG Account

Our future leader most likely. She looks like she knows how to make tough decisions. Much respect.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Con Manne
    Favourite Con Manne
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:47 PM

Blackensee is the head off Alan Hughes.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth

If you think the dynasty thing is bad you should hear some of the reasons I’ve heard out and about over the years for why they were voting for someone.

I’ve lost count of the number of canvasses I’ve been on and I’ve only been asked an actual policy question three times, talking to 100s and 100s of people. They seem to care if “he’s local” (does he live around the area and has he done so for a while), they get exited if they went to the same college or school. Some meet them for 30 seconds and make their decision based on “he seems all right”…it’s crazy

Mute I Pee Freely
    Favourite I Pee Freely
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:50 PM

The yes men of tomorrow…today!

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:51 PM

@yfg – would u please off. You are not YFG or indeed a FG supporter. Quit trolling

Mute YFG Account
    Favourite YFG Account
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:57 PM

Baz you’re just jealous because Enda loves me more.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:04 PM

You all laugh at him – but sadly brazenly partisan hacks who literally think “my tribe can do no wrong” not only exist but they make up 90% of those involved in politics.
    All you have to do is look around this site to see people complaining about something the people they support does and then defending it 5 minutes later Just yesterday there were posters on here saying it was a disgrace Islamist’s massacred Christians but when the reverse scenario was pointed out they said “ah they were just defending themselves”

The ‘my tribe can do no wrong’ mentality is about turning your brain off and reverting back to gorilla state, and sadly that makes up the vast majority of political animals

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:05 PM

@YFG Jammin go get lost

Mute YFG Account
    Favourite YFG Account
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:08 PM

Were Jammin: Stop trolling we know it’s you Baz
    Baz: Stop trolling we know it’s you Jammin

I think you two need to sit down together

Mute davedunne
    Favourite davedunne
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:19 PM

This complete eeeeeejit is having ANOTHER full on conversation with it’s self again. yfg/baz/ 60 other account’s. Are you answering yourself because people are starting to ignore you? Don’t worry I’ll still talk to you.

Mute YFG Account
    Favourite YFG Account
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:24 PM

Thanks dave I can always rely on you. Where are the usual screenshots though?

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:37 PM

Well well, Baz has been out-trolled.
    I’ll admit to a little wry smile.

(made it to no.6 btw)

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:28 PM

Aren’t they all lovely, girls… Aren’t they also very sensible to be thinking of their pensions, be the T.D or Ministerial, so early in life… Yes, lovely….

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:35 PM

Yfg, you think she will bring tough decision making to your party? Something that has been absent while you’ve been in government, as you guys wilted and bowed before merkel and co. choosing to take the easy option and hit the tax paying people of this country at every opportunity. You will have a long road ahead to rebuild your party are the next general election. I will never vote FG again for as long I live!

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:31 PM

I don’t want to single out Aoibhinn Kenny in particular as she might seems to be very capable but one sentence stood out to me in the article.

“Were the Taoiseach to retire, she(Kenny’s daughter) would be well-placed to run for his seat, just as Kenny ran for his father’s in 1975.

So nothing changes in Irish politics then. Amazing how people vote for candidates because of their family connections alone. Happens all over the country where your name is enough to get you elected.

Mute Timber Planks
    Favourite Timber Planks
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:35 PM

Sad state of affairs Brian! When will it ever stop though!

Mute david dickson
    Favourite david dickson
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:48 PM

I’d expect a headline like that from The Sun.
    Never mix politics and “hottest”.

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane

Grace Tallon is attractive.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Apr 20th 2015, 12:38 AM

but indeed, don’t they ALL have lovely bottoms.

Mute Vaibhav Borse
    Favourite Vaibhav Borse

Beauty and Politicians have one thing in common, both are capable to draw peoples attention from more important stuff to less important one…

Mute Cowboys Ted
    Favourite Cowboys Ted
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:18 PM

100% agree, nothing new

The country is crying out for a new modern, direct democracy based, young party.

Sadly we only have 2 types of politician in this country.

1. The 50 year old conservative aul lad or aul one with that refuses to embrace any other attidude of “Ah sure look be grand”.

2.The 30 – 40 year old socialist who thinks the bankers murdered their dog.

Mute Cowboys Ted
    Favourite Cowboys Ted
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:20 PM

Balls, that wasn’t for yerself Vaibhav.

Mute Frederick Constant
    Favourite Frederick Constant
    Apr 20th 2015, 9:19 AM

You do know that the “50 year old conservative” was once a young person too? If all a person has going for them is their age, it really isn’t saying much.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

“TOO OFTEN WE’RE told that young people just don’t care when it comes to politics, but that’s not exactly the case.”

I’d say many above are more interested in the gravy train….why else would you join parties that have stabbed the electorate in the back.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:58 PM

It’s not as bad as you think. Before I got involved thats what I thought. I found out it’s more mixed. Most do have good motivations – very very few have a kind of detailed vision of what they want to accomplish in 30 years time if they hit the top, some oddballs like me think that part out in a lot of detail but most just wanna generally make the country a better place.
    What tends to happen is the system – not any one bad person – the way the system is rigged – attacks your idealism over the years RELENTLESSLY and politicos start to confuse selling out with ‘pragmatism’. If you are an idealist now in terms of wanting to accomplish anything really big (for the country as opposed to yourself) you gget a very patronizing verbal pat on the head as if to say ‘hell learn in time’ Many of them let the 80% of highly uninformed and disinterested voters, and the more unimpressive politicos they have to compete with, turn them off and they become sell outs just to beat them.

Mute Deaglán MacThóirdealbaigh
    Favourite Deaglán MacThóirdealbaigh
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:37 PM

Ciara McPhillips is rather attractive.

Mute YFG Account
    Favourite YFG Account

FG politicians are always the most attractive. Beautiful people, inside and out.

Mute Unfortunately
    Favourite Unfortunately

For me no 3 Claire Byrne

Mute Skippy
    Favourite Skippy
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:47 PM

Id give her one……but she wouldnt get a vote though

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth

Since 99% of politicos are NOT remotely attractive (this group selected being a highly unusual set of examples) if we made our decisions on voting based on looks we’d have a lot of empty seats in the nexxt Dail.

Mute Skippy
    Favourite Skippy
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:55 PM

if only that was really the case……labour would definitely be wiped out, and that little weasel Simon Harris would never be seen again

Mute Rooney
    Favourite Rooney
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:58 PM

YFG how come youre mug isnt up there? oh let me guess pimply curly haired Daddys boy from D4 ha

Mute YFG Account
    Favourite YFG Account
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:06 PM

Rooney how do you know it’s not?

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:07 PM

The rake skinny politicos tend to be the Shinners actually, YFGers are invariably fat geeky types

Mute Paulie5waulie
    Favourite Paulie5waulie
    Apr 20th 2015, 1:05 AM

I’d sooner go for Niamh @ no.4 she lurvly

Mute Brendan Julian
    Favourite Brendan Julian
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:46 PM

The amount of blonds there

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen

Yes it is a bit worrying.

Mute Skippy
    Favourite Skippy

extra likes for you my friend….u got a chuckle out of me

Mute Brendan Julian
    Favourite Brendan Julian
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:59 PM

Very worrying. Although im not ff. I could probaly listen to that Lisa chambers for hours on end

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Apr 20th 2015, 9:19 AM

True Brendan, and what’s more worrying some sons and daughters too.

Mute Mark Andrew Salmon
    Favourite Mark Andrew Salmon
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:41 PM

One thing that still strikes me as funny. Democracy is supposed to be representative. If thats the case then going by this lot most people in Ireland are either lawyers or teachers. Funny that.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:03 PM

Agree 100% Just had a look at their jobs, solicitors, barristers, teachers, lecturers. Just the type of people who have of real life. No real jobs. Just move on to another thing telling people what’s good for them. God help us,,,

Mute Jeffrey McMahon
    Favourite Jeffrey McMahon
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:30 PM

You might actually like Lorna Bogue then Paul. I used to know her through volunteer work with Irish Red Cross. Can’t speak for anyone else on the list but her at least I can say is down to earth and not afraid to get stuck in. People are too quick to write her off because of the green party link.

Mute Rachel Dargan
    Favourite Rachel Dargan
    Apr 20th 2015, 1:00 AM

I know both Lorna Bogue and Sarah Jane Hennelly personally, and have to say that both are extremely down to earth, hard working people that aren’t afraid of rolling up their sleeves and getting stuck in with the rest of us. I think both of them will/would be great candidates for the general election (as would some of the others, I’m sure, but shur, I don’t know them :) )

Mute stephen lane
    Favourite stephen lane
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:06 PM

The ancient Greeks understood that one should never elect to office anyone who wants the job.

Im sure all these young people are lovely. However their ambition to be elected before they have lived in the real world means that they are, by definition, absolutely unsuitable.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:13 PM

I’m 21. 4 years working after I left school early. I’ve attempted a business and have campaigned on issues for 2/3 years working with TDs and councillors. I don’t yet have any intention to run but if I did I don’t see how age would rule me out.

Mute Brendan Julian
    Favourite Brendan Julian
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:44 PM

Expérience probaly

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:53 PM

In what exactly?

Mute John Loftus
    Favourite John Loftus
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:08 PM

Life!!!

Mute Brendan Julian
    Favourite Brendan Julian
    Apr 20th 2015, 12:26 AM

Intelligent comments for a start

Mute Chris O' Mahony
    Favourite Chris O' Mahony
    Apr 20th 2015, 2:15 AM

To say young people need life experience in order to be tds , is a stupid comment! Who else should represent , the demographic and the issues they unique face in the present day Ireland? The older generation , who don’t and can’t relate ? In the life experience version of the dail no one could be under 70 , absolute nonsense

Mute stephen lane
    Favourite stephen lane
    Apr 20th 2015, 7:50 AM

TD’s are supposed to represent their Constituents, not their ‘demographic’.

Mute Brendan Julian
    Favourite Brendan Julian
    Apr 20th 2015, 11:23 AM

Thats one of the problems with you guys . So full of yourselves

Mute Stephen Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Stephen Fitzpatrick
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:52 PM

I found the number of goodlooking candidates that ran in the locals slightly worrying.

I hope we don’t end up with shallow social media style politics.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:13 PM

2nd this comment

Mute Peter Manifold
    Favourite Peter Manifold
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:12 PM

I actually am genuinely depressed after reading this, Churchill’s quote on democracy comes to mind, worst form of government, except for all the others…. why are so many young people in these established parties…Without supprting them I can understand Greens, socialists and maybe even SinnFein to an extent as they all have ideals, but what possesses a person to join FG or FF other than their Dad or Mum being part of that party…. sad very sad :(

Mute Better Call Callely
    Favourite Better Call Callely
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:04 PM

Surprised that Fintan Warfield wasn’t on the list. Youngest Mayor in the country and prominent on the SF Equality Ref. campaign.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:14 PM

One of the best politicians on SDCC, and the youngest

Mute Andrew
    Favourite Andrew
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:55 PM

Any aspirations to become a politician should automatically ensure you never become one.

Mute Ryan Anth
    Favourite Ryan Anth
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:46 PM

I don’t think anyone is amazed that there are young people interested in politics, the question is will they keep their ideals or will they turn into Micheal Noonans, Pat Rabbittes, Eamon Gilmores, Ruri Quinns and Padrig Flynns when they get older or will they keep the same passion to change things that (for some at least) motivated them to get involved.

Seeing Jack Eustace there made me wonder does he or those like him not feel resentment at the geriatrics who rejected the chance to lead the opposition and come back after leaving FG to hobble along with indos, two years later leading what, with SF, would have been Ireland’s first centre-left government, triggering a realignment that might have given us a real choice for the first time ever. Instead, they raced to get their pensions thinking only of the short term arses in seats. Joan and Gilmore have basically destroyed the prospects of people like him for a generation now and will leave them with a devastated party they’ll have to rebuild from scratch, it’s going to be a v hard job

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc

Nepotism springs to mind with a lot of the Conservative party’s, seizmic shift my bum.

Mute Phil Swan
    Favourite Phil Swan
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:00 PM

What makes them want a career in a position that is derided?? Em probably the best package any job in the country can offer. 90 large a year, same again in expenses, same again in pension, no accountability to anyone, leave when it suits with no consequence and no education required as you will be elected/hired based on who can tell the best lies. As The Notorious Conor McGregor says when derision comes his way – “there’s plenty of money in this job so I can use that to wipe my tears”

Mute Cian Makegráthelaw Ó Móráin
    Favourite Cian Makegráthelaw Ó Móráin
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:19 PM

If you think it’s so great and easy, why not run yourself?

Mute Billy Chenowith
    Favourite Billy Chenowith
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:45 PM

I don’t mean this as an Enda-bashing comment cos it’s not the right place. However, surely one of the major problems with Politics in this country is the assumption that the children of TDs have a god-given right to run for a deceased parents seat and the numties who fall for it time and again. And yes, I know this happens in other countries but that doesn’t make it ok. Finally, number 26 is a fine looking young man.

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    Apr 19th 2015, 10:56 PM

They can only stand for election. The power to elect them , or not, belongs to us alone.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:01 PM

SF is not a party, it is more of a cult.

Mute Rooney
    Favourite Rooney
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:03 PM

A goodlooking cult says you!

Mute YFG Account
    Favourite YFG Account
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:05 PM

Tap that’s not true. SF have had loads of leadership challenges over years like the one back in……..eh wait never mind

Apr 19th 2015, 10:51 PM

Would that be the father of the Dail saying that YFG?

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney

Just confirms nepotism is confined to FF / FG & Lab,that Independent rapscallion is right,the utter embarrassment of being in the youth wing of a party.

Mute Mr. Dave
    Favourite Mr. Dave
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:05 PM

In my opinion, anyone, young or old who hold a desire to be propelled into powerfull positions within this countries government are the very people we shouldnt be voting for.
    Take away the generous salaries and expenses and offer the industrial wage instead. Then and only then will you get rid of the paracites who enter politics for their own benefit.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:11 PM

That’s exactly what SF currently do, to their credit.

Mute declan leonard
    Favourite declan leonard
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:28 PM

Some of those birds are hot alrigh

Mute Tommy Newman
    Favourite Tommy Newman
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:15 PM

Never trust anyone in a suit.

Mute Maire Ui Riain
    Favourite Maire Ui Riain
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:18 PM

Especially twenty years old……really scary

Mute G-Star Bareback
    Favourite G-Star Bareback
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:27 PM

only 2 independents… So sick of party politics!

Mute Bill Jones
    Favourite Bill Jones
    Apr 19th 2015, 10:41 PM

I can never trust a young person who goes into politics, something just never seems right about them.

Mute Brian O'Donnell
    Favourite Brian O'Donnell

Bunch of Gowls.

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Apr 19th 2015, 10:31 PM

I thought the collective noun for gowls was a shower.

Mute Drew
    Favourite Drew
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:54 PM

The use of hottest as an adjective is deceptive in this instance. While there certainly are some attractive specimens of men and women in the bunch at least 1/3 of them are homely as a mules behind….

Mute Keaneland
    Favourite Keaneland

I was deeply disappointed, these weren’t hot at all!

Mute tk0CXKzL
    Favourite tk0CXKzL
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:36 PM

The top 30 hot young politicos in Ireland right now.
    The 0 faith I have in any of them.

Mute gerry o donell
    Favourite gerry o donell

running for labour in the next election would be like running for sinn fein on the shankill rd.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Apr 20th 2015, 10:47 AM

I didn’t know that people on the Shankill Rd were good at economics.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:00 PM

Would the term ‘bright’ not trump the word ‘hot’ in your headline wording, unless we are using both meanings of the word

Mute Jimbo Murphy
    Favourite Jimbo Murphy
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:51 PM

I need to vomit.

Mute Daniel Carry
    Favourite Daniel Carry

Where’s the Warfield guy? The hot Shinner?

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Apr 20th 2015, 10:45 AM

He’s off protecting rapists…but they were same sex rapists. You know how Shinners are about equality.

Mute Dylan Neary
    Favourite Dylan Neary

When will my choice b delivered to me

Mute Maire Ui Riain
    Favourite Maire Ui Riain
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:10 PM

Scary….so young and so devoted…..go forth and multiply x

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Apr 20th 2015, 2:44 AM

How many of the above are the offspring, or siblings or are in some way related to established or ex politicans, did anyone think to ask?
    That is the pertinent question.

Mute Padraig Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Padraig Fitzpatrick
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:58 PM

No 24, Chandler from Friends?

Apr 19th 2015, 10:49 PM

Hot? Seriously the journal??

Mute Crazy doctor
    Favourite Crazy doctor
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:32 PM

I see they’ve given us a list of journal trolls

Mute Ann Tyrrell
    Favourite Ann Tyrrell
    Apr 20th 2015, 2:47 AM

What a useless and ridiculous article!

Mute Simon
    Favourite Simon
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:10 PM

Number 1 or number 29 lads?

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:07 PM

Roll up roll up more of da youth .

Mute Stephen Moran
    Favourite Stephen Moran

Barry Martin could do with a new stylist.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Apr 19th 2015, 9:29 PM

I can name many airbrushed politicians who have crashed countries. No need for fashion politics

Mute mr hopkins
    Favourite mr hopkins
    Apr 20th 2015, 12:14 AM

Feminists will be out in force due to this oppressing article! They will scream in pain when they see this!

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Apr 19th 2015, 10:35 PM

When I see a member of the Green Religion I see a complete loony.

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Apr 19th 2015, 10:19 PM

What’s the big deal about politicians children following in their footsteps? All professions and trades have children doing the same. Fine Gael girls stand out for me.

Mute Niall C
    Favourite Niall C
    Apr 20th 2015, 12:47 PM

Agree with this 100%. They still have to get elected.
    It isn’t like their parent just hands them a fail seat.

I don’t get the problem at all.

Mute techman
    Favourite techman
    Apr 20th 2015, 9:10 AM

I don’t see any young independent candidates. Same old story push the failed party’s

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Apr 19th 2015, 11:44 PM

I highly object to the heading”hottest young” because it is easliy misconstrued to mean something else. What the f is looks going to do for us? So leave the word ‘hottness’ out of it .

Mute Brian O' Donoghue
    Favourite Brian O' Donoghue
    Apr 20th 2015, 1:24 AM

Serious question, how in the name of all that is holy am I not on this list?

Ridiculous.

Mute Martin Crowe
    Favourite Martin Crowe
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:54 PM

152 of these on a scale of 1-filth are a 9. 1 is pure filth.

Mute Martin Crowe
    Favourite Martin Crowe
    Apr 19th 2015, 8:56 PM

15*

Mute Dead Ball Browne
    Favourite Dead Ball Browne
    Apr 20th 2015, 12:11 AM

Grace Warner # 1 for me..

Mute sean liddy
    Favourite sean liddy
    Apr 20th 2015, 10:47 AM

Grace tallons election posters nearly made me crash my car a while back!!

Mute Keith Gregg
    Favourite Keith Gregg
    Apr 20th 2015, 11:07 AM

Why so many FF/FG/Lab and not many others. Why no mention of Fintan Warfield?

Mute John Ferry
    Favourite John Ferry
    Apr 20th 2015, 10:29 AM

Not a carpenter shop assitant bin collector etc. Easy to know who these people respresent.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Apr 20th 2015, 11:05 AM

I know one of the candidates and I’m pretty sure he worked as a barman during his student days. I changed jobs a few years ago and though I’m very proud of working since I was 12, I wasn’t going to list the shit jobs I did.

Mute C Anthony Farrell
    Favourite C Anthony Farrell
    Apr 21st 2015, 9:10 AM

noel rock a bright star thats a joke ask the people of ballymun he has done nothing for the people there.fine gael will never get that seat as they do nothing for the area

Mute Tertullian
    Favourite Tertullian
    Apr 20th 2015, 10:25 AM

I’d give my Number 1 to Number 22. She’s just drop dead gorgeous. (How shallow am I?)

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Apr 20th 2015, 10:43 AM

Let’s be honest here. The FG women are tasty with an honourable mention to one FF and one Labour. The rest are also rans. Of the guys only one, John McGahon, is actually good looking. The rest look like they’ve just organised a student disco in a halting site.

Mute Alex Sheridan
    Favourite Alex Sheridan
    Apr 20th 2015, 10:53 PM

I feel ill reading this list. A bunch of people who are out of touch with the rest of society. The majority at one end of the social spectrum.

We need an end to political dynasties and the majority of the listed associated parties need to be disbanded and smashed.

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Apr 20th 2015, 5:32 PM

They look like staff photos from some useless recruiters website

Apr 21st 2015, 12:03 AM

Once they are in a party then anyone voting for them is really just voting for the party as these candidates do not think for themselves at all…

Mute Lizzy Anne
    Favourite Lizzy Anne
    Apr 20th 2015, 11:16 PM

What about Karl Gill, PBP councillor in DLR?

Mute Barry Breen
    Favourite Barry Breen
    Apr 20th 2015, 12:06 PM

Wheres Joan Burton on this list?

Mute Karl Lyons
    Favourite Karl Lyons
    Apr 20th 2015, 12:50 PM

The circus performers of the future government!

Mute phillius fogg
    Favourite phillius fogg
    Apr 20th 2015, 5:11 PM

Jaysus a lot of them lester piggot wouldn’t get up on to watch the hunt

Mute Lylucifer
    Favourite Lylucifer
    Apr 20th 2015, 12:45 AM

Why do all the males look like dicks?

Mute Barry Breen
    Favourite Barry Breen
    Apr 20th 2015, 12:07 PM

Where’s Joan Burton on this list? Woof!!

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected