You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 5 at 5 5 minutes, 5 stories, 5 o’clock…

EACH WEEKDAY EVENING, TheJournal.ie brings you five things you should know before you head out the door.

1. #ONE NIGHT STAND: A website aimed at college students has removed an article that instructed men on how to “prey” on young women and get them drunk in order to have sex with them.

2. #POPULARITY: The most recent poll on political parties has shown that Fine Gael gained one point since June, though Labour and Sinn Féin are both down.

3. #DUBLIN BUS: Unions representing Dublin Bus workers are expected to ballot members on a new deal next week after talks at the Labour Court wrapped up at 5am this morning.

4. #ASSANGE: Julian Assange has said he will not publicly address Swedish sex allegations before his bid for office in Australia because “Australian men don’t like to talk about their private lives.” There now.

5. #GIANT BABY: A woman in Spain has broken a record, giving birth to a 13lb 6oz baby – without an epidural. Both the mother and her giant baby are said to be doing well.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

6 Comments
    Mute Tara Murphy
    Favourite Tara Murphy
    Aug 18th 2013, 9:04 AM

Fianna Fáil ??? Jaysus people have short memories,that’s 1 party that will never get voted by me again!!

Mute Robert Rusk
    Favourite Robert Rusk
    Aug 18th 2013, 2:26 PM

Never got voted by me in the first place

Mute mark ryan
    Favourite mark ryan
    Aug 18th 2013, 9:23 AM

Simply cannot beileve fianna fail are so high in the polls, they are the sole reason we are where we are. People can comment about this and that but their is nobody to blame only fianna fail. Absolute shower of pri**s.

Mute Thomas M Bourke
    Favourite Thomas M Bourke
    Aug 18th 2013, 9:56 AM

[grammer police say it's 'there' and not 'their' in this case :P]

I would be interested if the polls ever have an option for ‘none of the existing shower of muppets’ (or something less antagonistic to the muppets). I doubt iy

And if your choice against FG and Labour is FF, SF, a small group of independents or a clutch of left wing parties, you can kinda see why FF get chosen as the least worst of that group

scary though

Mute Conor Black
    Favourite Conor Black
    Aug 18th 2013, 10:56 AM

Yea but even just look at the Meath east by election where there were an array of independents and smaller parties and Fianna Fáil still came in second, people have forgotten and are now rewarding them for this gov’s mistakes

Mute Dmc
    Favourite Dmc
    Aug 18th 2013, 9:10 AM

Minister Quinn can feck off with his cuts.

Mute Michelle Ní Mhuircheartaigh
    Favourite Michelle Ní Mhuircheartaigh
    Aug 18th 2013, 9:41 AM

And again Quinn’s ideas for education cuts are aimed straight at the weakest, poorest, most in need students. Bravo sir do you also drown puppies and kittens on your days off??

Mute Robert Rusk
    Favourite Robert Rusk
    Aug 18th 2013, 2:29 PM

Is their a “parents union” or something? Surely this kind of thing could be preempted by some sort of collective action?!??

Mute Paul Laffan
    Favourite Paul Laffan
    Aug 18th 2013, 9:03 AM

New Ross and District Pipe Band are new World Champions.

Mute Dave Patrick
    Favourite Dave Patrick
    Aug 18th 2013, 10:52 AM

If the weather stays fine,I’m going to fly my kite!

Mute James R. Clarke
    Favourite James R. Clarke
    Aug 18th 2013, 11:43 AM

What’s the story with the Adrian O’Donghue story? First place I heard about this? Any links out on the t’internet?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Aug 18th 2013, 11:46 AM

Hi Jason,

It’s an exclusive for the Sunday World, that’s why you haven’t seen it anywhere. There’s a short piece about it on their website if that helps.

Michelle

Mute James R. Clarke
    Favourite James R. Clarke
    Aug 18th 2013, 11:47 AM

Cool thanks :)

Mute Ken Fallon
    Favourite Ken Fallon
    Aug 18th 2013, 10:28 AM

Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil top of the poll ….more kite flying from the media

Mute Jim Brady
    Favourite Jim Brady
    Aug 18th 2013, 9:07 AM

I think there’s something fishy in the maths in No. 7; I’m pretty sure €1.6 and €1.8 billion doesn’t add up to €3 million?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Aug 18th 2013, 9:11 AM

Hi Jim,

Businesses in the scientific research and development sector received €3 million. Those in the agriculture sector received €1.86 billion and those in the property investment and development sector received €1.6 billion. Hopefully that clears is up for you.

Michelle

Mute Vincent Power
    Favourite Vincent Power
    Aug 18th 2013, 9:15 AM

Just read it again Jim.

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy
    Aug 19th 2013, 8:57 AM

Both parties in Government are determined to alienate the poor, weak, vulnerable in society through cuts. For a country which for many, years was hailed the most educated, we’re now being reduced to old style hedge schools which prevailed under British Rule in 18th & 19th Centuries. Also the removal of Chaplin’s…. when hell are the government going get of their high horse about religion and chaplains in schools or colleges. Mr Quinn is determined to reduce our status from the “Land of Saints and Scholar” to third class educated in so called modern western society.

Fine Gael is determined through Social Welfare cuts to drive a bigger wedge between the rich and poor in society, planned cuts to child benefit, social welfare, disability allowances, old aged pensions if not directly certainly indirectly through ESB, travel allowance, phone and other subsidise welfare payments also Bord Gas looking for 7.2% increase to place upon its customers, what next .
    Being logical, caring and understanding doesn’t enter the mind set of a Politian, their out for what they can get ie.. big pensions, free travel allowances to the Dáil, late night binge drinking in the Dáil and making a mockery of the Irish people.
    Ireland will never be an equal society in any of our life times and we have to accept this, a law for the rich & another for the poor.