You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 5 at 5 5 minutes, 5 stories, 5 o’clock…

EACH WEEKDAY EVENING, TheJournal.ie brings you five things you should know before you head out the door.

1. #DOCTORS: Ireland’s first junior doctors’ strike in a quarter of a century started today with pickets at 51 hospitals across the country. At the Mater Hospital in Dublin, some of the doctors explained why.

2. #BUDGET 2014: Finance Minister Michael Noonan has said that the Budget adjustment of tax increases and expenditure cuts will be slightly more than €2.5 billion, rather than the planned €3.1 billion.

3. #CHILDREN: The HSE has announced the closure of a children’s high-support unit in Monaghan after evidence of “systematic bullying” of children, as well as two assaults, was found.

4. #GALWAY: A man is being detained by gardaí after he barricaded himself inside his home with a can of petrol on Sunday night. It is understood that a domestic dispute had taken place earlier that evening.

5. #TOBACCO: The European Parliament has voted for a compromise deal that will see health warnings on tobacco covering 65 per cent of packaging and a ban on menthol cigarettes. However MEPs rejected a proposed ban on slim cigarettes.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Fluich It
    Favourite Fluich It
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:21 PM

Save the planet, reduce carbon emissions…fly on private jet with a few mates??? someone lives in cloud cuckoo land.

Mute Rory Murphy
    Favourite Rory Murphy
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:31 PM

Was just thinking the same thing! What a deluded egotistical nutjob

Mute Peter Rice
    Favourite Peter Rice
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:35 PM

I think you are confusing Bono with Sting or Michael Stipe.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew

Bono is in Berlin for the Bambi awards

Says it all

Mute Ablitive
    Favourite Ablitive

George Orwell’s Animal Farm comes to mind.

Mute WorkingClasshero
    Favourite WorkingClasshero
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:46 PM

They should have made a bolt for it.

Mute James Hughes
    Favourite James Hughes
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:09 PM

I usually leave the ill informed to their to the pleasure of their own brains but sometimes I can’t help but comment. Bono doesn’t pedal the man made climate change nonsense but his actions over the past decades have without doubt saved the lives of 1000′s and maybe millions of those who know what real problems are. Usually its those who make the least contribution that criticise the most. When any of us have made a similar personal effort to help the less well off as Bono has then we can speak from a position of credability. Until then don’t let me stop u making a fool of your selves.

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:24 PM

Here here James.

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Nov 13th 2014, 2:21 PM

Well said James but you are wasting your time here. Most commentators on the Journal spend a large part of their time trying to kick others off what they perceive to be a pedestal. If your head appears to be a bit elevated above the mob expect to be decapitated.

Mute Steve M
    Favourite Steve M
    Nov 13th 2014, 2:23 PM

Come on James were irish we like to begrudge anyone with success.

Mute Gracie
    Favourite Gracie
    Nov 13th 2014, 7:17 PM

The pilot heard he was been given a free signed copy of the album and his blood created that much pressure it blew the door off

Mute Range Rover P38
    Favourite Range Rover P38
    Nov 13th 2014, 7:30 PM

Well said James. At least he’s off to do something other than selfie himself all over Berlin via Ryanair with everyone else #pointlessness

Mute Robin Basstard
    Favourite Robin Basstard
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:33 PM

A witness reports that just before the plane lost a hatch they heard a Rattle and Hum.

Mute Philip Mc Grath
    Favourite Philip Mc Grath
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:05 PM

They think the know what the cause was but they still haven’t found what they are looking for

Mute Philip Mc Grath
    Favourite Philip Mc Grath
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:05 PM

They

Mute Rory Patrick
    Favourite Rory Patrick
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:11 PM

Lucky they weren’t at a high el e va tion

Mute Brian Antoniotti
    Favourite Brian Antoniotti
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:33 PM

it was a beautiful day for a skydive

Mute Simon
    Favourite Simon
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:59 PM

Hopefully he didn’t get vertigo in mid air.

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:59 PM

Did the Electrical Storm have anything to do with it?

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Nov 13th 2014, 2:03 PM

The German authorities are making Bono find the debris wherever it fell and clean it up – after all, you can’t leave behind litter in Germany.

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Nov 13th 2014, 2:06 PM

Bono’s one lucky mofo to survive that.

Mute Fred O'Connor
    Favourite Fred O'Connor
    Nov 13th 2014, 2:14 PM

Pilot – “Hewson, we have a problem.”

Mute Thomas O'Connor
    Favourite Thomas O'Connor
    Nov 13th 2014, 6:11 PM

Bono in a private plane? Surely not. Isn’t he saving the world and promoting environmentally friendly attitudes in the rest of us?

Mute john kinsella
    Favourite john kinsella
    Nov 13th 2014, 6:20 PM

He’d have sold a lot more music if it went down or his missus would just some thing he might consider.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Nov 13th 2014, 7:32 PM

And paying his taxes.

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:26 PM

Unless Bono was attached to the door ,
    Then I couldn’t give a single Fook. .

Mute Eric Cantona
    Favourite Eric Cantona

They why read or comment on it

Mute Art Vandelay
    Favourite Art Vandelay
    Nov 13th 2014, 2:15 PM

He comments on everything, you should know that by now…

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:22 PM

Did they find what they were looking for?

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:25 PM

The edge was taken off this story

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:26 PM

On the way to berlin – Achtung Baby !

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen

So it didn’t loose elevation.

Mute Minom Pnom
    Favourite Minom Pnom
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:54 PM

Yes luckily they didn’t lose height when the compartment became loose

Mute Butter bean
    Favourite Butter bean

A true first world problem!

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll

Early technical analysis suggests that the door flew off as a result of Bono’s head swelling to 1000 times it’s normal size after hearing that he was nominated for a person of the year award.

Mute Francis Fakeman
    Favourite Francis Fakeman
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:25 PM

So they were able to fly safely with or without it?

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:25 PM

Dave Fanning is getting an exclusive first play of the flight recorder!

Mute Ruth
    Favourite Ruth
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:39 PM

Dave who?

Mute Andy Pcooke
    Favourite Andy Pcooke

Pity bono wasnt lost from it too!

Mute James Hughes
    Favourite James Hughes
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:13 PM

Andy are u proud of that comment? Do you think your parents reared you with the intention of developing such a mindset. I doubt the 1000′s of lives he helped save over the decades would agree with ur sentiments

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Nov 13th 2014, 2:24 PM

Yes Andy would rather a human being was killed. What a prat.

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Favourite Snorre Sturleson
    Nov 13th 2014, 3:30 PM

Human being…where?

Mute aurilton
    Favourite aurilton
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:57 PM

Wow – well you just can’t beat the Irish for really begrudging their own

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Nov 13th 2014, 2:23 PM

aiuri,ton, couldn’t agree more. We are a shower of moaners and begrudgers.

Mute Owen Kennedy
    Favourite Owen Kennedy
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:29 PM

There was a Discotechnical problem

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:06 PM

Can’t stand him but I’m glad nobody was injured.

Mute Con ODomhnaill
    Favourite Con ODomhnaill
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:51 PM

Can someone please show Bono the door

Mute damien chaney
    Favourite damien chaney
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:19 PM

Headline was very misleading! It should of said “missed opportunity to get rid of captain sanctimonious”

Mute Andy Byrne
    Favourite Andy Byrne
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:40 PM

Poxbottle..

Mute Garry Flood
    Favourite Garry Flood
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:45 PM

The singer was never in any danger , don’t worry about the mere mortals wandering about there daily chores , Bono just been Bono with his version of a European bail out .

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan

Was Tom Dunne on the original list of passengers ?

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:22 PM

They stuck his big head in the gap to plug the hole

Mute charley bird
    Favourite charley bird
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:29 PM

Bono is a POX!!

Mute Catherine Mayock
    Favourite Catherine Mayock
    Nov 13th 2014, 6:43 PM

I get the feeling ye are not too keen on Bono, yet ye all taking the piss with the bands songs. And what is a pox??

Mute Dismas Okello
    Favourite Dismas Okello
    Nov 13th 2014, 2:39 PM

Poor ould Bono. Must have been flying a bit close to the edge

Mute Marc Quinn
    Favourite Marc Quinn
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:51 PM

There’s no plane in the world that would crash with Banjos over inflated ego on it, by the way I used to be a fan untill he start backing the currupt corp taxation in this country!!!

Mute Mary Dundee
    Favourite Mary Dundee
    Nov 13th 2014, 12:41 PM

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Favourite Snorre Sturleson
    Nov 13th 2014, 3:26 PM

Apparently his swelled head dislodged the door but also saved him as it was to big to be sucked out the resulting gap …….all bad news these days

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 13th 2014, 1:15 PM

McPhisto flies again!

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Nov 13th 2014, 8:40 PM

Dammit… I failed again

Mute The Irish Bull
    Favourite The Irish Bull
    Nov 13th 2014, 5:41 PM

Did he land the plane while taking the place of the door?

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Nov 13th 2014, 10:40 PM

Did the door rattle and hum? Did it move in mysterious ways?