You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 Everything you need to know as you start your morning.

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you the stories you need to know as you kick off your day.

1. #HIT AND RUN: A two-year-old girl has died after being hit by a car in the Phoenix Park yesterday evening.

2. #DEMAND: The average asking price for properties rose 4.6% nationwide over the first three months of this year.

3. #USA: A father and his seven children were found dead in their home in Maryland. It’s believed they were poisoned by carbon monoxide from a generator they were using after the power company cut off their electricity.

4. #HSE: A new report states the Government wanted Portlaoise hospital to have 24-hour surgery but didn’t ensure it was safely resourced to provide it, according to The Irish Times.

5. #MISSING: Gardaí are appealing for help in finding Joseph Whelan (37) missing from Meath.

6. #CAVAN: A man was arrested on suspicion of dangerous driving after a serious crash in which a 44-year-old man was airlifted to hospital.

7. #NOT A CENT: Former customers of Setanta Insurance have still not seen any compensation, one year after the collapse of the company.

8. #MENTAL HEALTH: New training will help teachers to spot the distress signals that could lead to student suicide.

9. #SUNNY SPELLS: The warm weather is going to be around for a little while.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

3 Comments
    Mute Donwon999
    Favourite Donwon999
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:16 AM

Depends on the humidity doesn’t it

Mute Boris Becker
    Favourite Boris Becker
    Jun 29th 2019, 10:19 AM

@Donwon999: can also depend on nudity

Mute Headtheball
    Favourite Headtheball
    Jun 29th 2019, 10:29 AM

@Boris Becker: hahahah

Mute Donwon999
    Favourite Donwon999
    Jun 29th 2019, 11:00 AM

@Boris Becker: does and age, sex, size, skin colour, emissivity, wind speed, glare, etc etc etc

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:19 AM

When it’s too hot for tea

Mute Arya
    Favourite Arya
    Jun 29th 2019, 10:29 AM

@Madra: Yep. Just the thought of tea burns your insides and you feel you’re about to suffocate. Then it’s too hot.

Mute PFA1437
    Favourite PFA1437
    Jun 29th 2019, 10:34 AM

@Arya: ah cupàn taê cool ye down on a hot day

Mute kevinhunt101
    Favourite kevinhunt101
    Jun 29th 2019, 12:20 PM

@Madra: ice tea :)

Mute Who cares?
    Favourite Who cares?
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:40 AM

25 here is coming close to too hot, I’ve experienced 47 in Nevada which was tolerable,
    Depends on humidity!

Mute Al Madzer
    Favourite Al Madzer
    Jun 29th 2019, 11:22 AM

@Who cares?: who cares

Mute Ben Jamen
    Favourite Ben Jamen
    Jun 29th 2019, 10:20 AM

How many polls is too many polls?

(A) Too many
    (B) Not at all, we need more polls
    (C) This is actually a poll

Mute Who cares?
    Favourite Who cares?
    Jun 29th 2019, 11:05 AM

@Ben Jamen: (D) No opinion, Don’t know.

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Jun 29th 2019, 11:13 AM

@Who cares?:
    (E) Don’t Care!

Mute Charles McGuire
    Favourite Charles McGuire
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:39 AM

It’s not so much the heat that gets you, it’s the humidity.

Mute tipptop9
    Favourite tipptop9
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:26 AM

20 is plenty, we’re not lizards. A big thank you to Mr Carrier for inventing air conditioning

Mute Al Madzer
    Favourite Al Madzer
    Jun 29th 2019, 11:23 AM

@tipptop9: snore! Typical tipp bogger, pasty shkin. 20 is barely tanning weather!

Mute Fifty Shades of Sé
    Favourite Fifty Shades of Sé
    Jun 29th 2019, 11:48 AM

@tipptop9: Air conditioner is a big contributer to global warming.

Mute David Kennedy
    Favourite David Kennedy
    Jun 29th 2019, 1:03 PM

@Al Madzer: must be one of them North Tipp eskimos

Mute tipptop9
    Favourite tipptop9
    Jun 29th 2019, 1:12 PM

@Fifty Shades of Sé: Yes normal humans can be cool indoors and the lizards can bake outside, win win

Jun 29th 2019, 2:19 PM

@Al Madzer: he will be the one with the Tipp team shirt and white legs like a corpse, I’d that who you mean.

Jun 29th 2019, 2:22 PM

@Gus Sheridan: f,,ck predictive text again if I could meet the eejit that invented it I’d give him a knuckle sandwich……read. Is that who you mean ?

Mute Mella Meyer
    Favourite Mella Meyer
    Jun 29th 2019, 11:02 AM

I experienced 50C last summer in Arizona, which was actually okay compared to 28C a couple of weeks later in New York. It’s the humidity that gets ya!

Mute Elisabeth Butler
    Favourite Elisabeth Butler
    Jun 29th 2019, 1:13 PM

Is it just me? This hype around 28 degrees at the end of June is a sad indictment of the Irish people and the Irish media. It’s ridiculous that we’re even talking about it.
    Yes, France is having a heatwave, it’s over 40 degrees there. We had sunny weather here for two days and we are subjected to a barrage of hyped news and “weather warnings”.
    Can we all get a grip again please? There are plenty of newsworthy events happening around the country and the world that we could and should be reading about… Not this. And yes, I know….I didn’t need to click on the article

Mute Alonzo Margate
    Favourite Alonzo Margate
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:17 AM

Close to 40°c regularly here in Valetta – no problem!

Mute León O'Keeffe
    Favourite León O'Keeffe
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:31 AM

@Alonzo Margate: we visited Valetta a couple of years ago and like most places abroad it’s more of a dry heat rather than the murky humidity you get here in Ireland. That’s the main problem here, the humidity rather than the actual heat

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Jun 29th 2019, 10:44 AM

@Alonzo Margate: it certainly would be a problem for people working outdoors.

Jun 29th 2019, 2:23 PM

@Alonzo Margate: Algarve on 30c shade temp, just nice, not too hot. Don’t like it when it hits 40c

Jun 29th 2019, 2:24 PM

@Alonzo Margate: say hi to Dinney please

Mute Fr. Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fr. Fintan Stack
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:19 AM

Mrs Doyle. Now she’s too hot

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Jun 30th 2019, 1:36 PM

@Fr. Fintan Stack: ahh! gwan wit ya !

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:57 AM

Have no issue with heat at all thankfully – the warmer the better. It is never quite as pleasant in a city though.

Mute Liam Ward
    Favourite Liam Ward
    Jun 29th 2019, 10:07 AM

Please dont tell the politicians they ll only want to charge us for the heat in the same ugly way they wanted to bring water charges in

Mute Donwon999
    Favourite Donwon999
    Jun 29th 2019, 10:11 AM

@Liam Ward: irony is beaches have been closed on some of hottest days because not enough money was invested on our water services systems. Bet you didn’t swim in the buff recently for that reason.

Jun 29th 2019, 10:12 AM

@Liam Ward: these idiot politicians are making my blood boil every day thesedays.

Mute Seán Corcoran
    Favourite Seán Corcoran
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:22 AM

Don’t know but I’m shiiiiit hot.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 29th 2019, 11:11 AM

It’s been hitting 30- 35 C here in Bulgaria on the Black Sea coast this week. There’s been a lot of storms as well which makes things very humid before the storms break. July into August can get even hotter. I enjoy the heat except for the evening mossies. Winters can be long and very cold here, dull, grey and depressing.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Jun 29th 2019, 12:12 PM

Think we have around 170 Eskimos voting in these polls.

Mute Hank Kingsley
    Favourite Hank Kingsley
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:46 AM

When a certain commentator mentions his speedos again for the 48th bloody time.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jun 29th 2019, 10:36 AM

Weird phrasing, anyone that chose 20-23 also thinks 24 is too hot but won’t be counted in that number.

Mute David Linehan
    Favourite David Linehan
    Jun 29th 2019, 12:04 PM

Been in 42degrees in a horribly humid Chicago, cannot escape it. Forget about drying off getting out of the shower.

Mute John kane
    Favourite John kane
    Jun 29th 2019, 11:18 AM

What would we know about it apart from being a nation of emigrants and living in the mines the the Pilbara

Mute Seriously stunned
    Favourite Seriously stunned
    Jun 29th 2019, 9:17 AM

I want it so hot that the sweat runs down the crack of my ass like niagra.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Jun 29th 2019, 12:43 PM

@Seriously stunned: Your ass?

Jun 29th 2019, 2:26 PM

@Seriously stunned: your ass is as big as niagra?

Mute Denonu
    Favourite Denonu
    Jun 29th 2019, 12:21 PM
    Mute Daragh Harmon
    Favourite Daragh Harmon
    Jun 29th 2019, 11:15 PM

Ouch.

Jun 29th 2019, 2:18 PM

Depends on where you are too… has rained for one day in the last 3 months here, 30c here now

Mute Jmc
    Favourite Jmc
    Jun 30th 2019, 1:27 AM

I lived in darwin the NT was over 40 degrees all the time. Goway and relax will ye

Mute Noel Dillon
    Favourite Noel Dillon
    Jun 29th 2019, 2:04 PM

You really need to factor in the humidity.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Jun 30th 2019, 1:34 PM

when your goolies stick to the side of your thighs – its getting to hot !

Mute Ian O'Rourke
    Favourite Ian O'Rourke
    Jun 30th 2019, 8:40 AM

Well its lashing this morning n its freezen out