You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 Chemical weapon concerns, supports for tillage farmers and a fatal attack at a Swedish school.

LAST UPDATE | 22 Mar 2022

GOOD MORNING.

Here’s all the news that you need to know as you start your day.

Russia and chemical weapons

1. US President Joe Biden has said it is clear that Russia is considering the use of chemical and biological weapons in Ukraine. He warned that there would be a “severe” Western response if President Vladimir Putin took this course of action.

Meanwhile Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy has said he is prepared to discuss a commitment from Ukraine not to seek Nato membership in exchange for a cease-fire.

Food supplies

2. Cabinet will today discuss a package worth more than €12 million to support tillage farmers to increase the volume of crops grown in Ireland. Under the tillage incentive scheme a payment of €400 per hectare is proposed, though the rate may be higher for certain crops such as maize and fodder beet. 

Face masks

3. With Covid-19 case numbers in Ireland on the rise again, a new survey has revealed a sharp decline in the wearing of face masks, Independent.ie reports. The ESRI tracker survey showed a steep decline in the reported wearing of face coverings on public transport and in shops over the week after the government lifted the mask mandate. 

Preparing for Ukrainian refugees

4. A nationwide sweep of vacant properties is currently underway, the Irish Examiner reports, with estate agents being asked to identify units in which to house displaced Ukrainians arriving in Ireland. Cabinet will today hear that up to 200,000 people fleeing the besieged country could arrive in Ireland in the coming weeks.

Arrest in Finglas shooting

5. Gardaí are continuing to question a man in his 20s who was arrested in relation to the death of 36-year-old Sandra Boyd, who was shot dead on Saturday evening. It is reported that the man was well-known to the victim and that the shooting may have been an accident.

Swedish school attack

6. Two women have died after an attack at a secondary school in the city of  Malmö in Sweden. An 18-year-old male student has been arrested on suspicion of murder. 

China plane crash

7. Families of those on board a plane that crashed in the Guangxi province of China are continuing to wait for news of survivors, but none of the passengers have so far been found alive. Rescuers have reportedly found parts of the wreckage but the search is taking place over mountainous, rugged terrain.

Irish unity

8. Sinn Féin, in a newsletter sent to EU diplomats, has said Europe must prepare for change now that Irish reunification has moved “centre stage”, The Irish Times reports. In the newsletter, party leader Mary Lou McDonald is quoted as saying Irish unity is being discussed across the country “not in aspirational tones but as a realistic, achievable and necessary future”.

Euro 2028

9. It is widely reported this morning that the government is expected to back the Football Association of Ireland’s (FAI) bid to jointly host Euro 2028 with Scotland, Wales, England and Northern Ireland. Tomorrow is the deadline for football associations to confirm their interest. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute tk0CXKzL
    Favourite tk0CXKzL
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:25 PM

get a life. it’s probably more humane than the way they did it before

Mute Philip Howlin
    Favourite Philip Howlin
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:34 PM

absolutely

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:56 PM

That’s the least of the lambs worries with Easter just around the corner.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:33 PM

If a television presenter did that to a lamb on uk television he’d be told to apply for his p45

Mute Lapmo_Dancer
    Favourite Lapmo_Dancer
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:44 PM

So? That’s more of a reflection of modern day PC Britain than it is of Ireland.

Mute Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Favourite Inanimate Carbon Rod
    Jan 25th 2016, 7:11 PM

Folks need to get a grip, the lambs weren’t complaining at all. In fact I watched it again just to double check and all I could hear was the silence of the lambs

Mute Eoin O'Hagan
    Favourite Eoin O'Hagan
    Jan 25th 2016, 8:25 PM

Imagine If Twitter had been up when Gerry Ryan was down the West. #Lamb #Slaughter

Mute Johnneary
    Favourite Johnneary
    Jan 25th 2016, 9:21 PM

There’s nothing humane about the Late Late show.
    A wasteful atrocity.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:00 PM

I have a life and it is thankfully longer than any lamb’s. It might be a great invention but the studio environment would be frightening to this poor creatures not to mention having to look at Tubrity!

Mute Little Diddy No
    Favourite Little Diddy No
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:35 PM

The outrage and upset among anybody who is not emotionally hardened was clearly caused by seeing a sweet baby lamb being put into a situation where it was clearly terrified (as witnessed by the rapid breathing and eye rolling). Farmers say the lamb was grand, but these are the people that take similarly young baby lambs, hold them down and castrate them without an anaesthetic (why waste money on a ‘product’) in what vets describe as an agonising experience for the animal. The reason for the upset I think is that it brought people face to face with the suffering and pain inflicted on the animals they eat and the fact that they are beautiful but will only live a short baby life because they have no right to a life of any kind – they are just seen as lumps of meat.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jan 25th 2016, 11:38 PM

@paddy o’brian – Tubs is self employed – on contract – so P45 is N/A. Maybe spend a day on a farm when lambs are being ragged & then u might approve of this device.

Mute Cormac Donnelly
    Favourite Cormac Donnelly
    Jan 25th 2016, 11:59 PM

Coming from a farm. This carousel makes handling lambs much easier on the lamb and on the farmer

Mute WithinAMileOfHome
    Favourite WithinAMileOfHome
    Jan 26th 2016, 12:20 AM

Yes my friend.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:01 AM

Jeez, on top of everything else that happens to them, you’re ragging them as well?

Mute Grot Master
    Favourite Grot Master
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:24 AM

That ragging is fierce cruel.

Mute Grot Master
    Favourite Grot Master
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:33 AM

At least they didn’t get this guy… http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=2dd_1408044564 Jump forward to 2:43 to see how the carousel could improve the life of the farmer.

Mute Margaret Cantwell
    Favourite Margaret Cantwell
    Jan 29th 2016, 9:22 AM

https://youtu.be/j9E-SmCDo-U – Earthlings documentary. Exposing the exploitation and cruelty to animals, by humans.

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:27 PM

A friend wants to know if they make a version for humans?

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:33 PM

I hear the Welsh Immigration Council were looking for a contraption like this in Cardiff earlier..

Mute VoiceOfVanguard
    Favourite VoiceOfVanguard
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:36 PM

That is one fresh kebab

Jan 25th 2016, 4:42 PM

A bit of S&M? Asking for a friend.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:02 PM

No Deb, but it is L&Mb

Mute Assel Dannourah
    Favourite Assel Dannourah
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:16 PM

The Human Race AKA, The Devil

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:42 PM

The attempts at wit getting posted on this here subject is beyond pathetic….hang on to the day jobs Joe and Josephine because comedy is actually supposed to be funny. like

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:07 PM

@Paddy o’brian yes…the wit is rather dim here!

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Jan 25th 2016, 7:35 PM

Yes there its been deliered to the Dail next week

Mute C O'Neill
    Favourite C O'Neill
    Jan 25th 2016, 9:31 PM

I wouldn’t mind but Tubs has been trying to pull the wool over the nation’s eyes ever since he got the Late Late gig.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:06 PM

I dont eat lamb. Disgusting invention. What was rte thinking?

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jan 25th 2016, 11:35 PM

I eat Lamb maybe twice a yr. Its really nice & the best of meat. When trying to tag a lamb I’m sure a good few lambs ears are partly chopped off – so maybe this invention will prevent such accidents.

Mute Juliette Joe
    Favourite Juliette Joe
    Jan 29th 2016, 9:15 AM

You’re hilarious.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:26 PM

I often wonder if people have any idea where their food comes from!

I don’t believe any lambs were harmed in the making of the show!

I’m looking forward to Shepard’s Pie this eveing when I get home!

Jan 25th 2016, 4:39 PM

Do you put lamb into Shepards pie?

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:44 PM

Yes Deborah, shepherds pie is supposed to made with minced lamb, if you make it with minced beef its a cottage pie.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:45 PM

@Reg. I hope you enjoy your Shepard’s (sic) pie when you get home. I am an inveterate eater of meat – I know that meat comes from animals. However, I would prefer that there was the minimum amount of pissing them about and torturing them prior to them becoming my food. Wild, illogical, wacky, crazy? Maybe so. They nourish us – they deserve some small respect for that.

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:37 PM

No poster insulted this time by rashers contribution…..a record

Mute Lorraine Fahy
    Favourite Lorraine Fahy
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:40 PM

Ever heard of food traceability? That’s where tagging comes in. All animals must be tagged, & anything that makes that easier/less stressful for the farmer & the animal must be a good thing, surely? The animal was probably more scared at being in a brightly lit studio, faced with a crowd of people! It’s never going to be a totally painless procedure for the animal, unfortunately, so it becomes a matter of minimising it as much as possible.
    Anyone who eats meat should really familiarise themselves with the “production” process.
    It’d be interesting to know how many of those who lodged complaints are meat eaters.

Mute Gooey Man Vaal
    Favourite Gooey Man Vaal
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:05 PM

I always thought it was shepards that went into shepards pie !

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:32 PM

Thanks Paddy. Yeah, I “insult” people all day long.

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Jan 25th 2016, 9:30 PM

Absolutely right Rashers

Mute Little Diddy No
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:39 PM

I know Reg – it was interesting from that point of view – the clear fear of the lamb is just the tip of the iceberg compared to what happens to these creatures away from the camera – people do not want to be reminded that the raising of meat for them necessarily causes pain and suffering and the lack of any kind of real right to a decent life for these babies who never even make it out of babyhood. For pigs of course (reckoned to be like dogs in intelligence and character) the life is way more cruel – kept indoors in the dark in crowded, unnatural surroundings their whole lives. I do not eat meat.

Mute John Staunton
    Favourite John Staunton
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:16 AM

Oh! Little Diddy No, do you really know how little you know????

Mute Debi Nikita
    Favourite Debi Nikita
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:44 AM

Absolutely agree. Animals of every kind deserve our respect. We seem to forget that animals that nourish us also are living, breathing creatures who have feelings and emotions.

Mute Kate Wallace
    Favourite Kate Wallace
    Mar 4th 2016, 6:21 PM

the lambs are in fieds most of their lives .have you ever seen a living lamb in your life?most DEFENATLEY no

Mute Kate Wallace
    Favourite Kate Wallace
    Mar 4th 2016, 6:30 PM

lambs do make it out of baby hood! your lack of sense and pure stupidity makes me want to cry!sheep are grown up lambs.how else do we get them?a magical fairy on a unicorn make them magicly apear? ya right

Mute Karabekian Rabo
    Favourite Karabekian Rabo
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:35 PM

Something really eerily odd about the laughter from the audience.. Weirdest segment of tv I’ve seen for a while

Mute C Mc Gyver
    Favourite C Mc Gyver
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:25 PM

I knew Friday night when I seen this that it was going to cause controversy!

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:41 PM

The farmer was on the verge of cutting the lamb’s tail off at the end, imagine the complaints from the vegans then!

Mute Michael Killian
    Favourite Michael Killian
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:05 PM

Saw

Mute The Dude
    Favourite The Dude
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:19 PM

No, it wasn’t saw, it was the late late.

Mute Little Diddy No
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:40 PM

It was absolutely horrible.

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne

I bet they don’t complain when they’re eating his leg on a Sunday

Mute Kate Wallace
    Favourite Kate Wallace
    Mar 4th 2016, 6:23 PM

you are so right!little city boys and girls running off crying about ‘de poor licel lambs’

Mute Hypernova
    Favourite Hypernova
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:40 PM

Can we make a Carosel for really bad Irish TV presenters so we can fling …. at them.Now that would be entertainment.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:21 PM

Cooell ☺

Mute Shane Walsh
    Favourite Shane Walsh
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:36 PM

I want to make an official complaint about the number of complaints being received by the Rte. It seems that complaining has become a fashionable thing. So many upset or offended people out there who are out of touch.

Mute Little Diddy No
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:47 PM

This numer is massive – they normally only get a few official complaints a month!

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:30 PM

They really wouldn’t want to see what happens him just before he becomes lamb chops then.

Mute Little Diddy No
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:42 PM

Perhaps they should – we know from undercover filming that the deaths are not the nice gentle thing people like to fool themselves that they are… that might put a few people off their baby lamb dinner.

Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:11 AM

Hmm lamb chops

Mute Risteárd Ó Cinnéide
    Favourite Risteárd Ó Cinnéide
    Jan 25th 2016, 7:26 PM

These people are complaining about something that they don’t understand. Putting a tag on a lamb is required by EU law for identification and reporting purposes. Thousands of lambs are tagged every day in Ireland. This contraption simply makes it easier for the farmer and probably less stressful for the animal. Is it not okay to show farming practices on Irish TV anymore?

Mute Little Diddy No
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:51 PM

I think it is clear if you have any kind of empathy that this was a sentient being in distress – what is not to understand? Do you think that thing will only be used for tagging – and not tail docking or other agonising common practices such as castration of baby lambs without anaesthetic? What people DO understand is that animals are treated as commodities in our meat production machine and that they suffer pain and anguish as part of the whole process. That makes for cognitive dissonance if, on the one hand, you eat meat and, on the other, you like to think of yourself as a person who is not cruel or unkind.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:07 AM

Not unless Cowjak is telling us about it – he was sound!!

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:32 PM

I had to laugh at yer man tweeting about the “crucified lamb”. He obviously has forgotten how crucifixion actually works.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:39 PM

Ah don’t mind him….he’s just getting mixed up with the Lamb of God.

Mute Joe L
    Favourite Joe L
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:17 PM

I’ve just watched this now and I noticed the lambs head wasn’t restrained and yet it didn’t throw its head about at all. To me it didn’t look like like he was distressed in any way.

Mute Little Diddy No
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:42 PM

It had rapid breathing and eye rolling – classic signs of distress. I think to most people it looked terrified.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:26 PM

Good practice for when it goes the kebab shop

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:28 PM

You think there’s lamb in kebab meat?!

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:30 PM

Ah com’on Reg! stop…at least leave me with the illusion a bit longer.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:35 PM

I reckon there’s some part of a lamb in there

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:38 PM
    Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca

AGGGH! Jaysus REG!……so if order a Doner Kebab it’s actually chicken…….so WTF is in the Chicken Kebab?….lol…….no Reg…don’t answer!

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:49 PM

Probably a load of cats taped together

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:58 PM

Pauliebhoy: Probably the docked tail.

Mute Darragh O Meara
    Favourite Darragh O Meara
    Jan 25th 2016, 8:33 PM

Not half as bad as some other places. Richard Hammond done a programme on BBC a few years back and they found that some of the doner meat over in London had been washed down with bleach to stop the smell of it rotting……

Mute Sean 
    Favourite Sean 
    Jan 25th 2016, 7:23 PM

How many people complaining were from farming backgrounds? My guess zero. People need to get real.

Mute Little Diddy No
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:46 PM

Indeed they do. People are fooling themselves that it’s all sweet and lovely down on the farm so that they can eat the meat with a good conscience. This show was just a hint of what these baby animals will suffer in their brief lives. Farmers don’t waste money on anaesthetics when they ‘tag’ an ear, or castrate a baby lamb, and their deaths at such a tender age are very likely not the pain-free gentle event that people who eat them might like to think.

Mute Mark Dunne
    Favourite Mark Dunne
    Jan 25th 2016, 7:51 PM

I can assure you the lamb was a lot more relaxed and settled that lambs I’ve watched having ear tags fitted and their tails docked. The struggle when attempting to complete these tasks causes a lot more stress than the actual task. Honestly if people find this device upsetting then they should quit eating ALL meat because there’s far worse happens over the life of your chops n steaks

Mute Little Diddy No
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:18 PM

Indeed there is – like agonising castration of baby lambs without anaesthetic – why would you waste anaesthetic on a sentient being you perceive to be no more than a product that you will send to be killed while it is still a baby?

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Jan 26th 2016, 1:06 AM

Fair enough then. Let us ponder for a moment what will happen to all those who are telling us to “grow up” about the methods of this industry, if we decide to grow up and stop eating meat.

Mute Swiftcub
    Favourite Swiftcub
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:29 PM

Probably not the worst thing that’ll happen to that we fella ,soon he’ll be a big plate of delicious lamb chops …..little bit of sauce…..few chips ….lovely stuff

Mute James Coyne
    Favourite James Coyne
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:59 PM

Wow jean brennan must live a very privaleged life if this is the most disturbing thing she has ever seen.

Mute Gooey Man Vaal
    Favourite Gooey Man Vaal
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:09 PM

I saw a big lardy ass woman fall out of a boat recently…… now that was quite disturbing

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:13 PM

Get over yourself, It’s food…

So many independent thought alarms. The journal commenters are over stimulated we had best remove all the colored chalk from their classrooms…

Jan 25th 2016, 7:11 PM

Drew, so are you in so many ways as well???

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:19 PM

What is wrong with the audience to laugh at a baby animal being restrained as it looks on terrified?

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:52 PM

people laugh for all sorts of reasons, to be honest the heat in the studio would be far more distressing to the animal, did you not notice that one of them was panting hard under the studio lights. whats of far more concern is the slaughter of sheep and cattle under religious slaughter in irish factory’s, that a serious issue. as they avoid animal welfare regulations with religious slaughter

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Jan 25th 2016, 7:21 PM

How do you know it was terrified

Mute Little Diddy No
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:26 PM

The rapid breathing and eye rolling is a sign of distress without a doubt. I think it ironic that anybody would try to make some big difference between any forms of meat production going on in Ireland – it beggars belief that anybody who supports the cruelty of castrating and tail docking of baby lambs without anaesthetic, their killing at a very young age after no life really, and their slaughter that (as secret recording shows) in no way lives up to the cosy, pain and stress free death that people like to believe, would split hairs by criticising the way these lovely animals are killed under Halal rules – the words pot and kettle spring to mind!

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:50 PM

Do you work on a farm?

Mute Keith McDonagh
    Favourite Keith McDonagh
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:09 PM

An average of 605,700 viewers & only 90 complaints. Why even bother responding. If I were in charge of a TV network, one rule I’d live by will be that complaints will only be aknowledged if the total number exceedes between half to three quarters the total audience.

Mute Malvolio32
    Favourite Malvolio32
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:29 PM

I’d say you’d want a different policy for your advertisers or you mightn’t be a network exec for very long.

Mute Little Diddy No
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:20 PM

You likely don’t understand that a majority of people who are upset (as witnessed by the tsunami of outrage on social media) will not make an ‘official complaint’ – they probably wouldn’t know how to. If you look at the monthly complaints received by it is usually four or five a month across all programmes – this is a massive record.

Mute Paul Lane
    Favourite Paul Lane
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:23 PM

What is the late late show?

Mute Joan Farrell
    Favourite Joan Farrell
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:30 PM

And human beings can spend days on trolleys awaiting health care and my vet will be in the farm yard to a sick animals in less than 30 minutes always. Cop on

Mute Little Diddy No
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:22 PM

I’ve never heard of humans being raised for meat and killed when they are still babies. I’ve never heard of humans being castrated without anaesthetic against their will – have you?

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Jan 25th 2016, 4:33 PM

And the poor thing was left like that for the after show party.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:21 PM

No wonder the lamb was scared! He saw a hungry looking audience.

Mute Shelly Levine
    Favourite Shelly Levine
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:21 PM

I wonder would there be so many complaints if it was a sewer rat?

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:20 PM

Even if it was a Labour TD, there’s something uncomfortable and sinister about trapping a living thing for amusement.

Jan 25th 2016, 7:09 PM

Bright lights, a lot of people and strange surroundings…
    Probably be killed for Easter, the poor thing doesn’t have a life…

Mute Little Diddy No
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:52 PM

Indeed. They have no life at all. A mere commodity.

Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:13 AM

Exactly!

Mute Joe Doyle
    Favourite Joe Doyle
    Jan 25th 2016, 8:30 PM

Oh you poor people. What’s so different than a woman giving birth being placed in stirrups. Wake up!!!

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Jan 25th 2016, 9:07 PM

Whats the difference? Choice and freedom for starters

Mute Eoin
    Favourite Eoin
    Jan 25th 2016, 7:53 PM

Show this sort of thing on Nationwide or Ear to the Ground by all means but The Late Late Show is no place for this sort of thing in this day and age.

Mute Little Diddy No
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:29 PM

In some ways I think the true outrage is that people were faced with a sweet innocent creature and the reality that they are routinely trussed up and have horrible and painful things done to them without anaesthetic, and that they can clearly be seen to feel terror, and this is uncomfortable if you are one of those people who eats those lambs after they are slaughtered while still babies. I think that was the real problem for people – the horror of facing just a tiny hint of the reality.

Mute Ibhar Mac Suibhne
    Favourite Ibhar Mac Suibhne
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:49 AM

When you actually think how desensitized we are to the pain and suffering we inflict on animals it’s quite shocking .
    Here’s a very enlightening TED talk on the subject of ‘Carnism’

http://youtu.be/o0VrZPBskpg

Mute spadgy83
    Favourite spadgy83
    Jan 26th 2016, 2:29 AM

If the lamb climbed in behind the bars itself you’s would still be complaining.
    Find something worthy of a complaint like watching COWSPIRACY..

Mute Declan McArdle
    Favourite Declan McArdle
    Jan 25th 2016, 8:22 PM

Lambo: Part II.

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:42 PM

mmmm lamb chops

Mute Brian Nowlan
    Favourite Brian Nowlan
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:53 PM

More like lamb casserole.

Mute Eoin O'Súilleabháin
    Favourite Eoin O'Súilleabháin
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:07 PM

What a shower of mutton heads !!

Mute I Am Triona Grendon
    Favourite I Am Triona Grendon
    Jan 25th 2016, 11:49 PM

More humane maybe but those not used to farm life it makes for difficult viewing.

Mute Denise McGowan
    Favourite Denise McGowan
    Jan 25th 2016, 11:40 PM

Your man is very gentle for a farmer all the same.

Mute Tom Healy
    Favourite Tom Healy
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:49 AM

Oh ffs a time and a place to do this, and not in such alien surroundings to the lambs. Whilst this is a good invention, speeds up the time the the lamb is required to be restrained by farmer.
    What annoys me is how the clown tubridy plays along with it for the populist laughs,

Mute Tony O Reilly
    Favourite Tony O Reilly
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:25 PM

Love a kebab now

Mute jude arsenault
    Favourite jude arsenault
    Jan 28th 2016, 9:44 PM

idiot

Mute jude arsenault
    Favourite jude arsenault
    Jan 28th 2016, 9:43 PM

Other animals are not ours to use.Abolish animal exploitation.

Mute Thomas Mcdonagh
    Favourite Thomas Mcdonagh
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:14 AM

This is the greatest invention i have ever seen in my life…..makes you proud to be irish

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Jan 27th 2016, 10:27 AM

Like American Horror Story for animals

Mute Jaci Black
    Favourite Jaci Black
    Jan 25th 2016, 10:33 PM

I really think Ray should be involved in children’s entertainment. It would suit him.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:12 AM

I think everyone has that face first time at the funfair

Mute Dominic Southwell
    Favourite Dominic Southwell
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:16 PM

Last night RTE showed a deer shot and killed with no complaints
    a lamb has a bit of fun on a carousel and the PC brigade are out in full strength

Mute Cormac Donnelly
    Favourite Cormac Donnelly
    Jan 26th 2016, 12:10 AM

I come from a farming background and am hoping to become a vet. I have very strong views on the treatment of animals but this lamb carousel is in no way being cruel to the lamb. People that do not have a clue what procedures have to be done on the farm need to stop over reacting. The lamb carousel makes life easier on both the lamb and the farmer. To do certain procedures, the lamb would have to be caught numerous times. Spraying naval, ringing tail, and then dosing, vaccinating against orf with scabivax, tagging and other procedures a couple of weeks after birth. With the lamb carousel, it could be done with 2-3 catches of the lamb. Otherwise the lamb may have to be caught 5-6 times and is held usually by the farmer on top of a gate which induces a lot more stress on the lamb than it having to look down a camera. As if he knows what a camera is. Rant over.

Mute Louisa Hayes
    Favourite Louisa Hayes
    Jan 25th 2016, 5:40 PM

Absolutely disgraceful! Shame on the inventor and RTE! Boycott this disgusting product!

Mute Dominic Southwell
    Favourite Dominic Southwell
    Jan 25th 2016, 6:15 PM

Last night RTE showed a deer be shot and killed – no Complaints
    A lamb has a bit of fun on a carousel and the pc brigade is turned out in full