You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 Everything you need to know as we head into a blustery Monday morning.

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you the stories you need to know as you kick off your day.

1. #A MIGHTY WIND: Thousands were left without power this morning, and motorists are being urged to take care on the roads after strong winds swept the country overnight. Two weather warnings remain in place.

2. #RESCUE: A Coast Guard helicopter was unable to lift an injured fisherman off a trawler due to the bad weather early this morning. Another attempt to lift the man off is now under way.

3. #BAILOUT CASH: Michael Noonan has hired Goldman Sachs to advise on how to “optimise the return on AIB, where more than €20 billion of taxpayers’ money has been invested”.

4. #FRANCE: French President Francois Hollande is due to chair a crisis meeting on national security this morning, according to the BBC. It follows last week’s terror attacks that left 17 dead.

5. #PLANE: Divers have found the black boxes from the AirAsia plane that crashed in the Java Sea, according to The Guardian. The aircraft is believed to have exploded as it hit the sea.

6. #TODDLER: A young boy found at an apartment in Limerick on Saturday died from a viral infection. Following a post-mortem, Gardaí have confirmed they are not treating the death as suspicious.

7. #FIVE YEARS: The world will remember the victims of the Haiti earthquake today. More than 220,000 people lost their lives in the disaster, which struck exactly five years ago.

8.  #WON’T SAY: Irish Water has refused to reveal how much it spends on security. Responding to a Freedom of Information request from TheJournal.ie, the company said it couldn’t provide the figure.

9. #GLOBES: Tina Fey and Amy Poehler took the helm once again, as the Golden Globes took place overnight. You can find full details of the winners here. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

3 Comments
    Mute WiseUp
    Favourite WiseUp
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:17 PM

Great news……just wait for the tinfoil hat wearing brigade to chime in

Mute Fred the Muss...
    Favourite Fred the Muss...
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:20 PM

@WiseUp: The anti Vaxers claxton has just sounded.

Mute Nigel o'Neill
    Favourite Nigel o'Neill
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:25 PM

@WiseUp: playing the man not the ball by just how you referenced anyone who has an opinion on vaccinations, contrary to your own. No insight on the ‘ball’ I’m taking it!?

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute WiseUp
    Favourite WiseUp
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:28 PM

@Nigel o’Neill: I’m married to an immunologist

Mute Ruairi
    Favourite Ruairi
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:30 PM

@Nigel o’Neill: Why don’t you give us your opinion so Nigel and we’ll discuss?

Mute Keith Fay
    Favourite Keith Fay
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:50 PM

@WiseUp: they’ve arrived already lol

Mute Seneca
    Favourite Seneca
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:51 PM

@WiseUp: Lol Here we are! Vaccine NONSENSE — here is the trick…: <LOL

1 ) https://finance.yahoo.com/news/ceo-sells-stock-worth-5-134635815.html

2)https://www.statnews.com/2020/05/27/moderna-executives-cashed-out-shares-stock-price-soared/

Mute Seneca
    Favourite Seneca
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:52 PM
    Mute Colin Mcgahon
    Favourite Colin Mcgahon
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:04 PM

@WiseUp: yes great news but 94.5%

Mute The God Of All Nerds
    Favourite The God Of All Nerds
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:52 PM

@WiseUp: they’ll say COVID vaccines cause standing barefoot on Lego’s

Mute Keith Fay
    Favourite Keith Fay
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:00 PM

@Seneca: they can make as much money as they want if the vaccine works. this is actually how ‘earth’ works. They can’t sell shares until they make news public. It’s public, they sell, fair play to them, I’d do the same. Once the vaccine works and the pandemic ends, who cares? Nothing to see here

Mute WiseUp
    Favourite WiseUp
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:16 PM

@Keith Fay: Absolutely, it’s actually scary some of the nonsense that people drag up and spout out thinking they’re clever and have figured out the master plan of big pharma !! Give me patience….

Mute Keith Fay
    Favourite Keith Fay
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:18 PM

@WiseUp: exactly! For those guys to sell shares before this news is illegal. It’s called ‘insider trading’

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:19 PM

@WiseUp: Why is everything a conflict now? Could you not just say it’s great news and leave it at that. Why do we always attack others these days? Sad reflection on society I suppose

Mute WiseUp
    Favourite WiseUp
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:35 PM

@JedBartlett: You’re right Jed. In day to day living in the real world I try to practice what you’re preaching. In the world of the comment section of the journal I can on occasion take a different approach as not everyone is a balanced, calm and level headed as you.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Nov 16th 2020, 3:11 PM

@Seneca: No trick there…. It was a sale of shares at a predetermined price, a price that was set months ago. It’s common practice and something I’ve done myself.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Nov 16th 2020, 3:25 PM

@JedBartlett: Dont buy that for a second. These anti-vax loons need to be called out at every opportunity. Just look at what Seneca posted above. A perfectly legal and aboveboard sale of shares being twisted by an anti-vaxxer to insinuate something amiss at management level within a vaccine manufacturing company. It’s a constant thing with these loons. All in the name of sowing seeds of doubt in the public’s mind about the vaccine. They are a menace to society.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Nov 16th 2020, 3:41 PM

@Tommy Roche: My point proven. Thanks

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Nov 16th 2020, 3:53 PM

@Fred the Muss…: That or the new puritanical lot in this country who love us all living like hermits.

Mute Faded79
    Favourite Faded79
    Nov 16th 2020, 3:56 PM

@Tommy Roche: sale is Indeed legal but dropping the i formation when not even peer reviewed before sale to hike a price is questionable. We can all twist an action anyway to suit our point really

Mute LD
    Favourite LD
    Nov 16th 2020, 4:46 PM

@Tommy Roche: It’s amazing how scared you are of all these ‘crazed loons’ and their ideas. It’s almost as if they might have some valid questions to bring up, that’s usually what sows doubt. We know the likes of you wouldn’t like the mass public to think for themselves though, you are much happier when they just comply with authority.

Mute Andy O'B
    Favourite Andy O'B
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:28 PM

@Keith Fay: exactly! They probably had a target share price to automatically sell too…So it’s actually a coincidence that today was the day they sell. Due to the news, the share price went up!

Mute Munster1
    Favourite Munster1
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:24 PM

Look like a vaccine is a certainty now.. All we need to do is keep the numbers as low as possible until it arrives..

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:30 PM

@Munster1: the next big hurdle is how long will it last for. Will it last a lifetime or will we need to update it annually like with the flu. Saw a professor on telly last night saying its likely to last only a year or two but even that gets us back to normal and let’s the experts keep working on something better/long term

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Favourite Deirdre O'Byrne
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:18 PM

@Ger: But even if its just a year or two, I think we can hope to have this virus functionally eradicated quite quickly.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Nov 16th 2020, 3:25 PM

@Deirdre O’Byrne: agreed. It’s great news. After 10 crappy months of 2020 November is turning the tide

Mute Diana Muller
    Favourite Diana Muller
    Nov 23rd 2020, 10:56 PM

@Ger: the current crop were only made to prevent severe symptoms. So I would say the pertinent question is: Will it prevent transmission?

Mute Diana Muller
    Favourite Diana Muller
    Nov 23rd 2020, 11:04 PM
    Mute Ruairi
    Favourite Ruairi
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:19 PM

Break out the popcorn for the “why would I take a ‘rushed’ vaccine” brigade.

Mute Pseud O'Nym
    Favourite Pseud O'Nym
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:23 PM

@Ruairi: …and the inevitable conflation with the Pandemrix vaccine in a “that vaccine wasn’t great, so therefore all vaccines must be bad” argument.

Mute Eoin Scanlon
    Favourite Eoin Scanlon
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:31 PM

@Ruairi: How long should a vaccine take? is a decent question to ask these clients

Mute ▪️
    Favourite ▪️
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:35 PM

@Eoin Scanlon: Depends on how urgent it is. Can’t exactly wait 5 years for long-term trials, if we could, we would!

Mute Type17
    Favourite Type17
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:43 PM

@Ruairi: Indeed, although vaccines do take years to develop and test, did it ever occur to anyone that things can be done more quickly (at higher cost) in emergency situations, such building bomber aircraft in WW2 (US produced 900 in 1939, increasing to 96,000 in 1944).

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe

@Type17: yes and none of them can cite any source which shows that these trials are any different to any other trials.

Mute Mickety Dee
    Favourite Mickety Dee
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:18 PM

@Type17: So how do you test the long term effects of a vaccine in 3 months with unlimited budget?

Mute Evan
    Favourite Evan
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:23 PM

@Mickety Dee: with regards long term effects, what’s the long term effects of going on the lash every week? or having takeaway every night? Each to their own but I’m at a point where I’m prepared to take a leap of faith on this vaccine rather than a half life of lurching from lockdown to lockdown every few months.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:44 PM

@Mickety Dee: No medication has the long term effects tested before it is approved.
    Do you think they wait for the lifetime of the trial participants to pass before approving?
    It’s not a thing.

Mute Diana Muller
    Favourite Diana Muller
    Nov 23rd 2020, 11:45 PM

@Joe: they are somewhat different in that they bypassed the animal testing phase in most cases.

Mute Twitruser2020
    Favourite Twitruser2020
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:24 PM

It’s great there will be a few options. No vaccine will be 100% safe, even paracetamol can have bad side effects.

Mute Football in the Groin
    Favourite Football in the Groin

@Twitruser2020: Yup. No drug is 100% safe for everyone in the world, not just vaccines.

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Favourite Mirabelle Stonegate
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:30 PM

@Twitruser2020: And this is why I will be extremely cautious about getting this vaccine. I tend to suffer the bad side effects with meds, more often than not.. including side effects so rare, they aren’t listed.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Twitruser2020
    Favourite Twitruser2020
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:40 PM

@Mirabelle Stonegate: it seems fairly transparent here is the protocols: https://www.modernatx.com/sites/default/files/mRNA-1273-P301-Protocol.pdf

Mute Twitruser2020
    Favourite Twitruser2020
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:43 PM

@Twitruser2020: They have a strategic alliance with Merck so this could be made in Ireland as well.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:54 PM

@Twitruser2020: paracetamol kills 1000’s every year. It is quite dangerous if not used correctly

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:46 PM

@Twitruser2020: Protocols matter jack to me. I prefer to see lots of other people using something before I do.

It took me 10 years to feel comfortable using lactase enzyme to help my lactose intolerance, for instance. Largely because it’s not something I encounter many mentions of on an ongoing basis.

I am very cautious about side effects, considering I’ve had common antibiotics almost kill me, and OTC decongestants cause hallucinations. At least with those, I could stop taking them. With a new vaccine, there’s no way to stop taking it once you do take it.

And I’m not in any way against vaccines btw. I’m just extremely cautious about putting unknowns into my body.

On top of that, I’ve worked out 4 more allergies this year – humidity, cat, cinnamon, and apple juice. This is added to certain forms of exercise, being lactose and wheat intolerant, grass, pollen, mold, dust, amoxicillin, and probably one or two others I can’t remember right now. I’m on a daily antihistamine to help keep these in check… by which I mean, reduce the reactions, not stop them.

So yeah… considering the track record my body has for reacting to stuff, not even the most stringent clinical tests and trials are of value to me. Wider community usage is.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Nov 16th 2020, 3:31 PM

@Mirabelle Stonegate: fair enough. As long as you’re aware that your older relatives are more at risk of catching Covid19 from you than a dose of the shites if you accidentally drink milk

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Nov 16th 2020, 3:52 PM

@Mirabelle Stonegate: what’s not true about what I said? I never said whether you were more or less likely to pass on Covid19 than to be affected by lactose. But the consequences of passing on Covid19 to them is far more serious than you having to sit on the toilet for a while, right? Or are you among the tin foil hat wearing brigade who think Covid19 is a hoax and nothing worse than a flu?

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Nov 16th 2020, 4:21 PM

@Ger: Oh, I completely understand how serious Covid-19 is. That’s why it’s not true that I’m likely to pass it on to my older relatives.

Last time I saw any was August. Next time I see any, will be next year. Some I haven’t seen since 2014, and likely won’t see before they die, because I genuinely don’t really care about them. In fact, I’ve decided to have zero contact with the majority of my relatives, because they’re largely jerks.

Those I’m still in contact with… I’ve either not seen them in a couple of years because they live abroad, or I haven’t seen them in the past year, because they don’t live anywhere near me in Ireland. It’s essentially impossible, doing what I’m doing, to give any relatives outside of my parents, covid. And if I get it, then either my mum got it at the same time, as I usually only leave the house to go into town with her, or dad gave it to us.

I’m basically sticking to the rules so much, that it’s almost impossible for me to get or give the virus.

Mute Dawn Tallon
    Favourite Dawn Tallon
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:02 PM

@Mirabelle Stonegate: …by the sounds of things Mirabelle your older relatives are more likely to get the vaccine before you so would be safe anyway. The vaccine, if suitable, will be priority to older and vulnerable members of the public. I think some people (Ger) are just looking to have a go at someone, probably frustration. You have enough on your plate. X

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:25 PM

@Dawn Tallon: frustration yes. By the amount of people who are either not taking it seriously while the rest of us make sacrifices. Or from people like Stonegate there who openly admits he doesn’t care about his older relatives. Not to mention the numerous people who he’ll come into contact with otherwise. I am not in a danger group, but I caught Covid19 in mid March, a relatively mild dose. 8 months later I am still dealing with the effects of it and my lungs are in bits despite never smoking in my life. So yes I am frustrated and have zero tolerance for idiots and anti vaxers.

Mute LD
    Favourite LD
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:31 PM

@Ger: You were lost to a different time on history, namely 87 years ago in Germany. You’d have thrived!

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Nov 16th 2020, 6:01 PM

@Ger: Just as well I’m neither an idiot, nor an anti-vaxxer, considering, as I pointed out, I haven’t seen most of the relatives I care about, more than twice this year. Usually it’s 5-6 times, at least. And, instead of the usual hugs all round for 30ish people as usual, it was hugs for ONE, because her brother had died a few days prior.

Also.. where did you figure I was male? Can you not read a name, like?

And I didn’t admit to not caring about my *older* relatives, just *most* of my relatives. Young and old. People I’ve only spoken to a handful of times since the 80s. People I have cut out of my life for being narcacisstic bullies. People who aren’t worth my time, nor who deserve to be cared about by me. People I won’t shed a tear over, when they die. Many are older, and vulnerable to covid, but I really don’t care. Just like they don’t care about me, or anyone else.

Those I care about, I’m staying away from, where I need to. (Don’t really need to try and stay away from some, as well.. they’re in a different country, so there’s zero effort needed). Anyone I don’t care about is over in the UK, anyways. I’m genuinely surprised none of them have got it!

So.. I’ll hold off on taking the vaccine for as long as I feel necessary. I’m already doing plenty to keep people around me safe. And I’ll keep doing that, until I’m reasonably satisfied the vaccine won’t kill me. Which, considering how this year has been for me allergy-wise, is a possibility.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Nov 16th 2020, 6:39 PM

@LD: you mean when lots of people died unnecessarily and others turned a blind eye to it thus allowing it to happen?

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Nov 16th 2020, 6:42 PM

@Mirabelle Stonegate: never heard of that name so sorry for misgendering you. As for the rest of your comment, you’re just repeating what you said. You don’t care about the older people you may come into contact with. At least you’re honest about it.

Mute Kieran Hayes
    Favourite Kieran Hayes
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:26 PM

Cue the “I trust pharmaceutical companies implicitly” brigade

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:28 PM

@Kieran Hayes: Here comes the “shepherd amongst sheep” brigade.

Mute ▪️
    Favourite ▪️
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:34 PM

@Kieran Hayes: Don’t need to trust them. I trust the regulators and to do their job, and we’ve got one of the world’s best in the HPRA. There are also plenty of non-industry researchers involved in observing and analysing all these trials and their data.

Mute Seymour Cup
    Favourite Seymour Cup
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:38 PM

@Kieran Hayes: The vaccines will be reviewed by health regulators in the coming months, but I also think it’s fair to say that these companies would not be staking their reputation on these efficacy figures if they were not true.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark

@Kieran Hayes: why would I trust pharmaceutical companies when I can trust my slow uncle on Facebook who doesn’t have a junior cert

Mute Ruairi
    Favourite Ruairi
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:41 PM

@Seymour Cup: Precisely. You may not trust big pharma but you can trust there’s billions of dollars at stake here and they are not going to risk everything on a dud vaccine

Mute Seneca
    Favourite Seneca
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:54 PM
    Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:18 PM

@Seneca: proper order. That’s capitalism for you and people bearing the fruit from their labours. Who would expected anything different?

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:22 PM

@Kieran Hayes: so you’ve never taken any medication ever? Every single medication on the market, right down to asprin has risks associated with it. Open a box of aspirin and you’ll see documentation listing potential side effects including serious ones.

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:22 PM

@Kieran Hayes: I trust that when data shows it’s safe, it’s safe. I don’t need to quarrel with thermometers and virus counting machines (or whatever it is they use) in order to feel special and unique.

Mute Fergus Lynch
    Favourite Fergus Lynch
    Nov 16th 2020, 3:15 PM

@Kieran Hayes: your knuckles must be in bits.

Mute Tadhg O'Mahony
    Favourite Tadhg O'Mahony
    Nov 16th 2020, 4:48 PM

@▪️: “..I trust the regulators” LMFAO. Just like we had bank regulators all those years ago!

Mute Kieran Hayes
    Favourite Kieran Hayes
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:59 PM

@Mark: You’re hilarious. Vaccine companies being indemnified against any legal action speaks volumes.

Mute Kieran Hayes
    Favourite Kieran Hayes
    Nov 16th 2020, 6:00 PM

@▪️: These people can easily be bought or bribed

Mute Kieran Hayes
    Favourite Kieran Hayes
    Nov 16th 2020, 10:07 PM

@Fergus Lynch: “Mam, Fergus is wetting the bed over Covid again”

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:22 PM

I do think this sort of announcement was delayed until after the US election. Or Trump would have taken the credit.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:26 PM

@Michael: hes still taking the credit

Mute ▪️
    Favourite ▪️
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:32 PM

@Michael: No. All these companies have to wait until enough people in their trials actually get Covid so they can actually get a statistically significant result, then they get to ‘break the blind’. It’s a fairly tightly controlled thing, not exactly run by the Biden campaign despite what some people might have you believe…..

Mute Evan
    Favourite Evan

@Michael: he had nowt to do with it if it was announced before or after, he is basically giving out that it was released after so he couldn’t take the credit when it mattered, and not even being subtle about it. Be interesting to see how many of his acolytes magically become vehemently anti-vax now the vaccine wasn’t announced on his watch.

Mute Bee Bonthuys
    Favourite Bee Bonthuys
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:09 PM

@Michael: Oh they tried to take the credit at the start; Pence went on about how awesome the administration’s program was…until Pfizer went public to say that Trump and friends had nothing to do with it. Which of course was followed by Trump ranting about an election conspiracy or something.

Mute Keith O Beirnes
    Favourite Keith O Beirnes
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:44 PM

I’m not taking this vaccine untill I know its safe, says John who smokes 20 john player blue a day.

Mute JillyBean
    Favourite JillyBean
    Nov 16th 2020, 3:05 PM

@Keith O Beirnes: this.

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Nov 16th 2020, 4:20 PM

@Keith O Beirnes:
    I met him today he’s of them he’s put on a lot of weight he obese now so he jogging 10k every day

Mute Really Nice Guy
    Favourite Really Nice Guy
    Nov 16th 2020, 12:55 PM

This is fantastic news! Between this and Pfizer we will see a great end to 2020. I hope the government rolls this out accordingly and makes it mandatory for all citizens to receive and we can get back to normal. Stay safe and God bless.

Mute Mirabelle Stonegate
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:31 PM

@Really Nice Guy: Hell no, to mandatory vaccination. And I say this as someone who is largely pro-vaccination.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:58 PM

@Really Nice Guy: and if successful they should consider mandatory labotomies of anyone questioning authority?

Mute Will
    Favourite Will
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:23 PM

@Really Nice Guy: “and makes it mandatory for all citizens”

How would this work? Door to door doctors with an army escort?
    What penalties to you propose for those who do not or will not comply?
    If thousands decide to say NO, what’s the next step? Camps?

Mute Diana Muller
    Favourite Diana Muller
    Nov 23rd 2020, 11:48 PM

@Really Nice Guy: how do you suggest policing that?

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:08 PM

My vaccine is better than yours or I need you to invest my stock!

99.5 are not getting sick from Covid and as of now they have not said if these vaccines prevent transmission of the virus if they don’t what is the point!

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:13 PM

@Joeohah: 99% of people will never be involved in a car accident so what is the point in wearing seat belts?!

Also a vaccine works by enabling the body to kill the virus. Someone who has killed some virus is less infectious than someone who hasn’t killed any.

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Nov 16th 2020, 3:08 PM

@Deirdre O’Byrne:
    You don’t know that you just made it up in your head. There is no evidence of that.

‘Jonathan Van Tan’ of sage says: “we don’t know whether the Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine will prevent transmission of Covid-19 even if it has 90% efficacy in preventing us becoming ill.’”
    We already more than 90% of infected people not becoming I’ll!

Seat belt analogy is farcical in fact there’s a study that shows a daily commute of 67miles is more deadly than the virus to people under 65 and tha just for 7 hour driving driving.

Mute Fergus Lynch
    Favourite Fergus Lynch
    Nov 16th 2020, 3:18 PM

@Joeohah: knuckledragger.

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Nov 16th 2020, 4:44 PM

@Joeohah: there is a difference between preventing transmission and reducing it. Anything that kills virus reduces transmission – be that alcohol wipes or vaccines. And about 20% of people contracting the virus become ill – so I don’t know where you pulled the 90% figure from.

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:28 PM

@Deirdre O’Byrne:
    Lol, you sound like Trump don’t swallow handwipes, just incase you didn’t know Vaccines don’t kill viruses.

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:35 PM

@Joeohah: vaccines, indeed, don’t kill viruses. They train our immune system to kill them. Your point being … ?

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Nov 16th 2020, 6:40 PM

@Deirdre O’Byrne:

That you don’t get my obvious point has nothing with me.
    Did you not read my response above and the quote from Professor Jonathan Van Tam MBE, SAGE CMO Epidemiologist before you compared a vaccine to wipes!

There are two ways vaccines need to work: 1. an immune response, but since 99+% don’t get ill what use is a vaccine if doesn’t sepress 2. transmission, they have not said anything about this!
    The recent announcements apear to be premature, there maybe several reasons for that, more investment from governments, more stock buying or to give hope…

Do you not remember the Swine flu ‘vaccine’, 100s of millions of vaccines payed for by states and never used!

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Nov 16th 2020, 7:17 PM

@Joeohah: what do you mean “99% don’t get ill”!? Being infected with a virus is an illness! It may be an *asymptomatic* illness, but an illness nonetheless. The virus has hijacked your cell machinery to reproduce itself, which kills the infected cells. If there are enough of those cells and/or if those cells are critical enough you get symptoms. If not, you don’t. The vaccine trains your immune system to kill the virus before it manages to infect your cells. More dead viruses means fewer viruses you can transmit to others.

Are you a troll? Or did you actually believe what you wrote?

Mute die Fussballmeister
    Favourite die Fussballmeister
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:21 PM

Can’t wait to get to Anfield

Mute Seosamh
    Favourite Seosamh
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:39 PM

@die Fussballmeister: Me too, I don’t think they should hold the parade now though, bit of an anti-climax, what’s your take on it?

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Nov 16th 2020, 3:27 PM

@die Fussballmeister: why, can you play centre half? :)

Mute Seosamh
    Favourite Seosamh
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:36 PM

Sign me up.

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:24 PM

I’ve only got one question. Which arm do you want to inject?

Mute David Lee
    Favourite David Lee
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:00 PM

Dublin Live reported not long ago that government officials said over 2 million Irish people which is half our population won’t even be offered the Vaccine until 2022 so I dont think the issue will be people refusing it

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:26 PM

@David Lee: that is likely. Most of the candidate vaccines require 2 doses and between both companies you’re looking at somewhere between 2 and 2.5 billion doses being manufactured in 2021. So it stands to reason we won’t all be offered it next year. But if we can vaccinate those most at risk of serious illness and those who treat them then the rest of us can start getting back to some sort of normality.

Mute Claude Saulnier
    Favourite Claude Saulnier
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:21 PM

Did the CEO also sell shares a few days ago?

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:00 PM

@Claude Saulnier: should have waited until after this announcement really..

Mute Colin
    Favourite Colin
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:03 PM
    Mute Claude Saulnier
    Favourite Claude Saulnier
    Nov 16th 2020, 7:53 PM

@john doe: what I meant lol

Mute Critical Thinker
    Favourite Critical Thinker
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:01 PM

The vaccines aren’t designed to prevent transmission of the virus but to mitigate symptoms. This is clearly stated. It’s also worth noting that only 5 participants in the experimental group developed Covid so the interim results are based on very small numbers

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:11 PM

@Critical Thinker: and how do they mitigate symptoms? Oh – that’s right – by enabling the immune system *kill* *the* *virus*. And I have to say I don’t think it takes a lot of critical thinking to realise that someone who has killed some virus is less infectious than someone who hasn’t.

Mute Diana Muller
    Favourite Diana Muller
    Nov 23rd 2020, 11:52 PM

@Deirdre O’Byrne: they still haven’t proven it prevents transmission or viral load. The trials weren’t designed to. People without symptoms can still transmit. The British Medical Journal explains it well. https://www.bmj.com/content/371/bmj.m4037

Mute Noel Donohue
    Favourite Noel Donohue
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:56 PM

Does anyone know is IKEA opened today

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Favourite John Brendan Mullen
    Nov 16th 2020, 4:42 PM

@Noel Donohue: class, pure class

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Nov 16th 2020, 4:46 PM

@Noel Donohue: if you need any help fitting your new IKEA purchases, drop me a wink. I’m Yer mon.

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Nov 16th 2020, 4:28 PM

94% effective still don’t beat the 99% effectiveness of my own immune system does it and the real kicker is I can trust my own immune system :)

Mute Nicole Leeson McCarthy
    Favourite Nicole Leeson McCarthy
    Nov 16th 2020, 4:54 PM

@Hugo Bugo: Vaccines are not only to protect you but also the vulnerable ones in society. If you are fit and healthy, it is likely that the virus wont be too harmful to you but to your family members and friends it could be lethal. You should get vaccinated for them.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:05 PM

@Hugo Bugo: facebook PHD talk right there

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:22 PM

@Mark: big pharma giving u your education €€€

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:40 PM

@Hugo Bugo: I see you didn’t get an education anyway

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:40 PM

@Hugo Bugo: your immune system is 99% effective?! You need to sell your blood!!! Because the immune system of the rest of humanity is precisely zero percent effective against this virus.

The reason people survive isn’t down to the immune system – it’s down to the other healing qualities of the body, as well as luck in terms of how much virus was ingested.

Mute Joeohah
    Favourite Joeohah
    Nov 16th 2020, 6:14 PM

@Nicole Leeson McCarthy:
    Only if they prevent transmission
    There are two ways vaccines need to work an 1. immune response, but since 99+% don’t get ill what use is a vaccine if doesn’t suppress 2. transmission they have not said anything about this!
    The recent announcement apears to premature, there maybe several reason for that, more investment from governments, more stock buying or to give hope…
    Do you not remember the Swine flu vaccine, 100s of millions of vaccines payed for by state and never used!

Nov 16th 2020, 6:41 PM

@Joeohah: vaccines do not prevent the transmission of a virus. It prevents the severity of the virus which is best for the country to prevent out hospitals being more overrun than they usually are and preventing the cycle of lockdowns. Its around 60% of people that dont get ill from coronavirus but they are highly infectious and can pass it to people who can die or have severe effects for the rest of their life. A vaccine can prevent more of this happening. These announcements are for hope and transparency of information. If they made no announcements and started mass producing a vaccine in a few months no one would trust it. I do not know what you mean about the swine flu vaccine, do you mean in ireland, why would ireland by 100s of millions of vaccines when we have 5 millions citizens?

Mute Joe Thorpe
    Favourite Joe Thorpe
    Nov 16th 2020, 1:39 PM

At least this vaccine was trialled in the age sector that is actually vulnerable to this bug unlike the Pfizer variant!

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Nov 16th 2020, 4:30 PM

94% effective 1st attempt vaccine made in 8 months, is this percentage going to be anything like volkswagen claimed diesel emissions figures

Mute John Brendan Mullen
    Nov 16th 2020, 4:44 PM

@Hugo Bugo: brilliant,

Nov 16th 2020, 4:58 PM

@Hugo Bugo: its not a first attempt. It has gone through many levels of testing and remodeling as all vaccines have done. It is fast because of the severity and high levels of transmission of coronavirus means there is more funding being made available to find a vaccination. It is also called sars-cov-2 because it is a strain of coronavirus of which we have a vaccinations for other strains of coronavirus and that knowledge makes it easier to find a vaccination for this strain.

Mute Ulick Magee
    Favourite Ulick Magee
    Nov 16th 2020, 3:31 PM

Nobody mentioned Trump yet, shocking !
    Let me the first then.
    Thank you President Trump for Operation Warp Speed which got these vaccines produced in record time.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Nov 16th 2020, 4:07 PM

@Ulick Magee: he doesn’t need your thanks, he spends enough time thanking himself for other people’s work

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:42 PM

@Ulick Magee: actually OWS has only contributed to one of these vaccine candidates. The Pfizer one received nothing from OWS. Not that I expect facts will ever get in the way of your Trump worship.

Mute The Culk
    Favourite The Culk
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:23 PM

I’d like a higher success rate before I go for a vaccine to be honest

Mute Deirdre O'Byrne
    Nov 16th 2020, 2:27 PM

@The Culk: quoting the web site below – “the overall probability of success for all drugs and vaccines is 13.8%”. So you might want to stop availing of modern medicine altogether.

https://www.acsh.org/news/2020/06/11/clinical-trial-success-rates-phase-and-therapeutic-area-14845#:~:text=As%20shown%2C%20the%20overall%20probability,have%20a%2033.4%25%20success%20rate.

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:33 PM

Please God these incredible scientists discover something for triple negative breast cancer.

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Nov 16th 2020, 5:09 PM

Make so much sense to go with this one, more effective and easier to handle – so I guess we will end up with the less effective one that needs more expensive infrastructure – because…, well Ireland.