You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 Catch up as you wake up.

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you the stories you need to know as you start your day.

1. #FARMERS: Talks between beef farmers and industry representatives broke down last night and a 48-hour protest will begin outside meat factories all across the country tomorrow.

2. #INVESTIGATION: The Department of Justice has told RTÉ it is pursuing allegations that a Dublin college owes tens of thousands of euro to students in a number of developing countries.

3. #TAX EVASION: The civil servant whistleblower who made allegations of tax-dodging against former politicians has claimed the judge appointed inspector into the Ansbacher accounts actually had an account with the offshore bank, according to the Irish Independent.

4. #WATER: Irish Water has been forced to commit to providing a public tap for residents at a housing estate in Tralee because of high levels of lead in their drinking water.

5. HEARTS: A Dublin City University study has found that schoolchildren as young as 15 years old are showing early signs of heart disease, the Irish Daily Mail reports.

6. #MISSING: Gardaí are appealing for the public’s help tracing a 17-year-old boy from Athlone and a 38-year-old woman from Dublin who have both gone missing.

7. #WASHINGTON: A fourth teen victim of the Washington school shooting two weeks ago has died of his injuries in hospital.

8. #TRAGIC: The death of beloved actor Robin Williams has been officially ruled a suicide.

9. #HONOURED: One of Ireland’s most famous actresses, Maureen O’Hara, will receive an honorary Oscar from the Academy today. Congratulations Maureen!

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute Beach Master
    Favourite Beach Master
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:01 PM

Is it going to take the death of a prison officer before we change how things are done regarding prisoners?

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Jul 2nd 2015, 10:16 PM

We are talking about Irish prisons, so it feels inevitable

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Jul 3rd 2015, 12:21 AM

@Sean. True, he will walk with a sad story but he will get his citizenship and all will be grand. Great little country we are

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:08 PM

Hands shackled, feet shackled and tied into a chair , this country and the judiciary put the bad guys first. It’s time for CHANGE!!

Mute Deputydawg
    Favourite Deputydawg
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:21 PM

Prison Service Disciplinary System?? that’s a joke for a start. Cake and fizzy drink for a start. Ah sure you’re not really a bad lad, just misunderstood. And here’s a phone call to your solicitor to lodge a claim against the Officers you injured

Mute aido m
    Favourite aido m
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:24 PM

Add ten years to the pr1€ks sentence that will teach him

Mute Everett Gold
    Favourite Everett Gold
    Jul 2nd 2015, 10:02 PM

Yet again another attack on prison staff. It is about time that prison management and Irish prison service management are brought in front of a committee in Leinster house to answer questions as to why they are failing to protect their employees

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:03 PM

Hog tie them and drag them along the floor

Mute glenoir1
    Favourite glenoir1
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:41 PM

this is getting ridicolous we need to protect them better this needs to stop

Mute Patrick Lavery
    Favourite Patrick Lavery
    Jul 2nd 2015, 10:43 PM

An English Prison officer has died of her injuries sustained by an inmate during a transfer from a British cou rt to the cellular van…he stomped on her head..is this the future for the Irish Prison Officer…Open Season on the “Screws”….

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 2nd 2015, 11:40 PM

And I am sure the English Officers had the same talk as we are having now. “When will it be one of ours?”

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Jul 3rd 2015, 12:26 AM

They should be transported on pallets and moved by forklift in their own self contained bubble that will contain all their bodily fluids if released. Maybe thats the future, wishful thinking !

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Jul 3rd 2015, 12:03 PM

They certainly did Mick, the have a Facebook page “Know the danger” and it is truly appalling to see how privatisation has utterly destroyed the service.

The death of the female officer is truly awful, sadly that is what it may take here to finally wake the DG from his deep, deep sleep.

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:16 PM

Prisoner will be dealt with by Prison authorities. Wonder how. Mmmmm. maybe would u like a single or double cell. and what about breakfast sir. any recomendations. etc. Hopefully tho we get a bit of housed down with cold water. battered with rubber tubing and made to eat scotch bonnet peppers the toe rag..

Mute Fisics
    Favourite Fisics
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:22 PM

The black dolphin prison in Russia.
    http://www.imgism.com/5-of-the-most-brutal-prisons/
    The second picture down is the way dangerous prisoners should be moved about in a prison.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:01 PM

Surely 3 of the guards were hospitalised as it only mentions one prisoner?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:39 PM

Demise. If Officers were allowed to behave as violently and indiscriminately as the prisoners it would have only take one Officer to put the Prisoner in intensive care in hospital. But Officers can’t. There is a set procedure for dealing with a violent prisoner which requires Officers to avoid injuring the prisoner and if Officers stray from that procedure they can find themselves being investigated and possibly charged with assaulting the prisoner. This is why it can take up to 4 Officers to subdue a violent Prisoner.

Mute Demise Grad
    Favourite Demise Grad
    Jul 2nd 2015, 10:03 PM

I was commenting on a typo Mick it’s since been amended. it said 3 prisoners were hospitalised

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 2nd 2015, 10:06 PM

Ahh ok. I thought you were asking why so many officers were required.

Mute captain ireland
    Favourite captain ireland
    Jul 2nd 2015, 10:27 PM

Mick you are referring to the category A complaints , surely this was agreed with your union ? I can’t understand why your union would agree on this when it failed in the UK

Mute Patrick Lavery
    Favourite Patrick Lavery
    Jul 2nd 2015, 10:45 PM

keeping their powder dry.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 2nd 2015, 11:09 PM

Captain. The Union leadership never consulted with the members on it. We the membership had no say in the matter.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    Jul 3rd 2015, 1:03 AM

Mick , what will happen to him now ?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 3rd 2015, 7:36 AM

He will most likely get 40 days close confinement, have his phonecalls and visits reduced to 1 per week and get limited tuck shop orders. If he is on remand he cannot have remission taken and even if he could he could appeal and get it back. He will also get charged by the Gardai for the assault. But that could take up to a year before it goes for hearing. And thats only if he hasn’t skipped bail and left the country as he is a foreign national.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan
    Jul 3rd 2015, 8:00 AM

Bail? That’s crazy.

Mute captain ireland
    Jul 3rd 2015, 8:13 AM

I know a lot of officers , this is what baffles me , you might help me , IPS introduce a fairly extreme measure where a prisoner can make a complaint about the officer , the officer could be suspended , he’s investigated , undue stress put on the officer and if the complaint turns out to be false , the prisoner has immunity from punishment,so the union had no say in this you say ?? well why are ye not on strike ?

Mute captain ireland
    Jul 3rd 2015, 8:15 AM

tell ya what Mick , if I was an officer I would just clock in , switch off , clock out and switch back on cos it seems if you do your job right , u could be sacked for it . I can’t understand why your union has not called a no confidence in donnellan , the union need a kick up the hole from the members on the floor

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 3rd 2015, 8:27 AM

Captain. I said the union membership had no say, the Union leadership were involved in the discussions.
    When the law was brought in to permit the Garda Ombudsman investigate the Gardai that same law opened the way for IPS to introduce the Prisoner Complaints System as it made it legal for an outside agency to investigate complaints.
    That they brought in the original system that had been tried in the Scottish Prison System (that had been found to be a disaster until the Scottish made major changes to it including increasing the sentence of anyone found making a false and or malicious complaint) is a question you will have to ask of IPS.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 3rd 2015, 8:34 AM

Captain. I as a serving member am not permitted to express my views publicly on IPS Management or on the Minister. As they could lead to being charged under the code of discipline for me or any of my colleagues that were to openly express what we think. So I cannot fully reply to your last comment.

Mute captain ireland
    Jul 3rd 2015, 8:43 AM

I’m not an officer, I can tell u now the officers on the floor have no confidence in donnellan , since the man took over , assaults have risen , morale is at an all time low , as I said before Mick , your union in merrion square need a kick up the hole and put in a no confidence against donnellan , the man is not fit to run the country’s prisons

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 3rd 2015, 8:54 AM

The Union in Merrion Square need a lot of things doing. But as I said we as Officers are not permitted to express our views about IPS management on Social Media. But there is a sharp rise in assaults on staff. That is public knowledge.

Mute Suzie Sunsine
    Favourite Suzie Sunsine
    Jul 3rd 2015, 9:02 AM

Mick , thanks for answering my question , there’s not enough being done to actually protect you in your your workplace .its shocking !

Mute captain ireland
    Jul 3rd 2015, 11:25 AM

fair enough Mick but my point is ye are bringing this on yourselves , I do not mean to be disrespectful to you or any other prison officer but IPS are saying to the public that everything is fine , the union are keeping quiet which tells me everything in Irish jails is running smoothly . in my job , I negotiate with unions , trust me Mick they are not the friends ye think they are

Mute Deputydawg
    Favourite Deputydawg
    Jul 3rd 2015, 12:09 PM

I think that question needs to be asked to the POA, seeing as they are the body who agreed to it on your behalf.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 3rd 2015, 12:21 PM

Deputy. Trying to get a straight answer from Merrion Square is like trying to get a straight answer out of Leinster House.

Mute captain ireland
    Jul 4th 2015, 4:18 PM

I work close with the arbitration board , just to give u an example, officers in portlaoise won a case that they all be paid an environmental allowance due to high security they work in , IPS have purposely still withheld this payment on orders from howlin, your union have verbally agreed to it even tho the board ruled in favour of the officers , your union is in bed with IPS , time to remove them

Mute Seanie Coughlan
    Favourite Seanie Coughlan
    Jul 2nd 2015, 11:03 PM

He will be out on bail now tomorrow more than likely!!

Mute mrmeade
    Favourite mrmeade
    Jul 3rd 2015, 12:17 AM

if he was a foreign national he should be moved to either Mountjoy or Arbour Hill, made serve his sentence in gen pop, and if he survives that, deported. simples

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Jul 2nd 2015, 11:46 PM

Cuffed and shacked no? Also arm prison officers

Mute Living Abroad
    Favourite Living Abroad
    Jul 3rd 2015, 9:24 AM

Why they don´t kill them? things are getting out of control, looks like the sc&mbags have more rights AND rule the country, they do whatever they want… sickened!!!

Mute Noah_MacMurchada
    Favourite Noah_MacMurchada
    Jul 2nd 2015, 9:31 PM

Sounds like yer man was good with the head.

Mute Patrick Lavery
    Favourite Patrick Lavery
    Jul 2nd 2015, 11:46 PM

sounds like you need your bell rung..Muppet.

Mute Dan Walsh
    Favourite Dan Walsh
    Jul 3rd 2015, 12:27 PM

As a former prison officers i fear for former colleagues but there are officers on here bashing there union over keeping there “powder dry” which is horse shit the prison officers union is by far the strongest union and fellas would be better off getting behind them.at the end of the day if the minister wants to implement a procedure she doesnt have to consult the union but it is wise to. Ireland in many ways have followed in the footsteps of our dispised alledged neighbours on all fronts and make the same mistakes too.it will take a death to an officer to change the ministers policy but the union can only fight to show her the mistakes but they cant enforce there own rules.