You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 Here’s all the news you need to know on Christmas Eve.

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you the stories you need to know as you start your day.

1. #POPULAR: The government is ending on a high as the latest Sunday Times/Behaviour & Attitudes poll puts satisfaction levels at 51% – and the Taoiseach’s own approval rating is up four points.

2. DUN LAOGHAIRE: Gardaí are appealing for witnesses to a serious assault on a woman yesterday afternoon.

3. #PHILIPPINES: At least 37 people are believed to have been killed in a fire at a shopping centre in Davao.

4. #TRIBUNAL: Tusla’s CEO Fred McBride told TheJournal.ie that it is unfair to say the agency was responsible for the Maurice McCabe copy and paste error.

5. #TENSION: North Korea has said the latest round of UN sanctions against the country are an “act of war”.

6. #UNSOLVED: It has been almost 20 years since 48-year-old Felix McCann was murdered and his family are urging anyone who knows something to come forward. 

7. #FLYING HIGH: One person has been prosecuted over illegal drone use since regulations were introduced.

8. #CHANGE: Just under half of people in Ireland said they would like to attend a mass by Pope Francis if one takes place when he visits next year.

9. #MERRY CHRISTMAS: It won’t be long now until Santa Claus sets off and sources tell TheJournal.ie the elves are currently loading up the last of the presents onto his sleigh. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

3 Comments
    Mute Keith Ellis
    Favourite Keith Ellis
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:02 PM

Navan definitely needs the rail line reopened. You only have to look at the N3 in the morning and evening from the M3 Parkway to the Blanchardstown junction with the M50. Should never have been closed in the first place.

Mute DeWitt
    Favourite DeWitt
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:17 PM

@Keith Ellis: the train from the M3 parkway is almost empty most days, and the M3 car park is now leased out to other companies as it was not used either. it seems that once people get in their cars they are reluctant to park in M3 parkway and get train the rest of the way. my guess only.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:20 PM

@Keith Ellis: definitely. The Navan line was ripped up in the 60s I think and probably has houses on it now. I wonder how many hundreds of thousands has been wasted in fees to third party consultants to resurrect these white elephants every year…line to Navan, electrification of Maynooth line, Metro North servicing DCU and Dublin airport. These have been regurgitated every year for a decade or more I’d say and the NTA must have wasted a fortune on it.

Mute Link
    Favourite Link
    Nov 26th 2020, 2:08 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: In fairness, the Navan train line only gets brought up around election time. I reckon the only reason it’s still mentioned is twofold.
    1. It’s always been a Sinn Fein pledge, and with Peadar Tobín taking that with him neither wants to see the other one taking credit if there appears to be headway made.
    2. Nobody trusts this government to last the distance

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 26th 2020, 7:28 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: NTA waste millions but as a Quango are untouchable, an old Tory trick to privatise things and getting friends nice jobs and contracts

Mute Aindriú Purfield
    Favourite Aindriú Purfield
    Nov 26th 2020, 11:31 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: if the Navan line was ripped up in the 60s how did so many Meath fans get the train to croke Park 30 odd years ago?

Marv
    Mute Marv
    Favourite Marv
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:23 PM

Metro North? And something to and from the airport other than buses. Public transport in dublin is embarrassing.

Mute Barry Teehan
    Favourite Barry Teehan
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:47 PM

@Marv: Probably the only capital city in Europe not to have a rail link to the airport. Scandalous.

Mute S J king
    Favourite S J king
    Nov 26th 2020, 2:17 PM

@Marv: I think they’ll still be “assessing” and waffling about the Metro until 2072. It’s a total embarrassment how long much needed transport projects take in this country. Although we had Shane Ross heading up the Department for the last number of years so hardly surprising feck all got done. Too busy photo bombing Katie Taylor

Mute Ajax Penumbra
    Favourite Ajax Penumbra
    Nov 26th 2020, 2:25 PM

@Barry Teehan: Luxembourg, Budapest, Zagreb, Valetta, Bratislava, Bern, Tallin, Riga, Ljubljana.

Mute Barry Teehan
    Favourite Barry Teehan
    Nov 26th 2020, 3:21 PM

@Marv: although to think they spent such a fortune on the port tunnel and got the entrance height wrong and had to take it apart would lead you to think that if they did build a train track to the airport , the tracks would be the wrong size !

Mute Mick Hyland
    Favourite Mick Hyland
    Nov 26th 2020, 5:18 PM

@Ajax Penumbra: You forgot Ballina

Mute Luan Willis
    Favourite Luan Willis
    Nov 26th 2020, 5:39 PM

@Barry Teehan: I don’t think that Prague has a direct train/metro to city centre…just a bus link to a station on the way

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 26th 2020, 7:30 PM

@S J king: Funny enough he got a hell of a lot done, surprised the hell out of me. Thats for sure.
    Our new minister for bikes however will have us in all sorts of problems

Mute Simey Joyce
    Favourite Simey Joyce
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:13 PM

Should it not be DTA – Dublin Transport Authority.

Rather than be asking people for their opinions on it, how about actually just building the thing and spare us all heel dragging.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 26th 2020, 7:30 PM

@Simey Joyce: Dta is gone

Mute The Alchemist's Head
    Favourite The Alchemist's Head
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:10 PM

It all sounds rather exciting but before we’re all breathless with anticipation it has to be asked how long will we be waiting for everything to be put in place given that there may be no money there to fund it? Then again when it comes to transport services waiting patiently only to be disappointed is fairly routine. Here’s my bus now…

Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:16 PM

@The Alchemist’s Head: the 2nd of never. Still waiting for the “monorail ” to the airport and that was first proposed in 2007 so do the maths.

Mute The Alchemist's Head
    Favourite The Alchemist's Head
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:23 PM

@windbag: And if the money is somehow found to commence the various projects there will of course be no cost overruns! Wow! A pig just flew by my window…

Mute windbag
    Favourite windbag
    Nov 26th 2020, 2:23 PM

@The Alchemist’s Head: don’t forget the consultants. They have to get €60/70 million before even a sod is turned.

Mute Niall Dunne
    Favourite Niall Dunne
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:46 PM

Maybe plan high rise apartments for Dublin instead of making everyone move out to the sticks and having to follow up with train lines

Mute Trevor Branigan
    Favourite Trevor Branigan
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:28 PM

They need to stop talking about these projects and start implementing them. But as usual, millions will be spent with nothing to show for it.

Mute Mick Hyland
    Favourite Mick Hyland
    Nov 26th 2020, 5:21 PM

@Trevor Branigan: Just do it

Mute Roisin Brennan
    Favourite Roisin Brennan
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:25 PM

Why not connect the tallaght and sandyford luas stops? Connecting both red and green lines and stretching across much of the m50. Could also go from Sandyford to blackrock dart.

Mute Kealan Horan
    Favourite Kealan Horan
    Nov 26th 2020, 2:51 PM

@Roisin Brennan: It would certainly be better than taking the 75!

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Nov 26th 2020, 2:07 PM

So wait the metro line to Dublin airport is still in planning with nothing done and now they want to talk about metro lines on south side – this just smells of election vote grabbing at the cost to the taxpayer for all this consultation – do something with with you have started promising years ago

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 26th 2020, 7:31 PM

@Shane Cormican: Who are the TDs that side and look to see who keeps pushing it.

Mute Barry Teehan
    Favourite Barry Teehan
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:08 PM

And what about rural Ireland ?

Mute Alan McDonald
    Favourite Alan McDonald
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:15 PM

@Barry Teehan: Horse to Navan, tie him up. Get the train.

Mute Barry Teehan
    Favourite Barry Teehan
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:45 PM

@Alan McDonald: Haaaaa ! never thought of that one. have you ever considered running for Government ?

Mute Niall Dunne
    Favourite Niall Dunne
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:45 PM

@Barry Teehan: Navan is rural Ireland

Mute Raymond Murphy
    Favourite Raymond Murphy
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:49 PM

Well sir there’s nothing on earth like a genuine, bona fida electrified, six-car monorail
    What did i say?

Monorail

Mute JustMeHere
    Favourite JustMeHere
    Nov 26th 2020, 2:08 PM

The public have been giving their view on these regurgitated transport proposals for decades. Just build them already. Its such a waste of money constantly and repeatedly paying consultants for spewing out the same nonsense year in, year out.

Mute Galwaygogo
    Favourite Galwaygogo
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:32 PM

Galway needs light commuters rail. We have to many cars and not enough roads.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:55 PM

@Galwaygogo: installation would be huge money. Congestion charge for private vehicles who don’t live in the local area. An outer ring road. Carparks on major approach roads and a fleet of hydrogen powered busses from each carpark to eyre Square every 15-20 min at peak times

Mute Lisa Quinn
    Favourite Lisa Quinn
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:29 PM

Yes!! Train for navan! it’s not starting from scratch some of the lines are there and the statiin.the bus takes ages and is stinky most of the time.

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Nov 26th 2020, 1:44 PM

@Lisa Quinn: would the train be less stinky? It’s a lot of the clientele on public transport that people find undesirable, from the drug addict/drunk lad causing a scene or asking for change or the longer watching videos on his phone with the volume on full.

Bit of a generalisation but still valid

Mute Lisa Quinn
    Favourite Lisa Quinn
    Nov 26th 2020, 7:11 PM

@Martin: eh yea .was on a bus last week and it was older and it stank of engine I had to get off in phibsboro to breath.

Mute Noel O'Neill
    Favourite Noel O'Neill
    Nov 26th 2020, 3:37 PM

I sent them a letter 15 years ago asking why the rail line running from under the park that went all the way to the navan mines wasn’t utilized to take cars off the N3 so people wouldn’t be sitting in traffic as soon as they hit blanchardstown and they never replied

Mute Hugh Mc Donnell
    Favourite Hugh Mc Donnell
    Nov 26th 2020, 2:59 PM

I really doubt they will ever bring a rail line to navan. I live in the town and have heard all the plans etc. It would be great for the entire area even a reduced service to cater for low numbers commuting but on the other side the amount of students that could use it and not have to pay for accommodation in the city would be a blessing

Mute Ronan Lawler
    Favourite Ronan Lawler
    Nov 26th 2020, 2:11 PM

There is a rail line to Navan, goes through drogheda and on to Tara mines trains using it every second day or so

Mute Wadi
    Favourite Wadi
    Nov 26th 2020, 2:24 PM

@Ronan Lawler: yup , those bad boy zinc trains fly by the back of the house every second night, Tara mines more important than average Joe going to work and that line is goosed at the best of times with northern commuter and darts , compare connolly or pearse to any other major city and they are tiny, needs a new large central station to be built maybe around airport / blanch greenfields that connect all. compare Connolly to this https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frankfurt_(Main)_Hauptbahnhof#/media/File:Hauptbahnhof_Frankfurt.jpg

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 26th 2020, 7:33 PM

@Wadi: Have you a lot of spare billions of Eureos in you wallet as that is what would be needed.

Mute Wadi
    Favourite Wadi
    Nov 27th 2020, 11:19 AM

@Gary Kearney: So we continue with the charade, nobody is saying spend a billion now or in the future but plan for the future as not like the place is not going to grow or get bigger…. dream big or go home. always thinking in the now

Mute Susan O'flaherty
    Favourite Susan O'flaherty
    Nov 26th 2020, 3:17 PM

Am still waiting for the metro from city centre to the airport with a stop near me in glasnevin.

Mute Eddie Michael
    Favourite Eddie Michael
    Nov 26th 2020, 3:03 PM

Its a joke that we don’t have a train line to our capital’s airport. Most European cities do.

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Nov 27th 2020, 6:04 AM

They can’t even build a rail line to the airport despite banging on about it for the last 30 years, so citizens of Navan can be rest assured a rail line to Navan won’t happen. We are world class in this country at coming up with amazing transport plans on paper, but bottom of the class when it actually comes to implementing them.

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Nov 27th 2020, 8:24 AM

More track. More trains. should have been done 50 years ago, wont be done in 50 years time. These ideas are too big for us

Mute Patrick O'malley
    Favourite Patrick O'malley
    Nov 26th 2020, 5:36 PM

You have a base for a circular tram/train line already in the M50. Stops at main interchanges and would then link the Airport to all suburbs. Only an idea and would have difficulties but what the heck

Mute Tony Corbàn
    Favourite Tony Corbàn
    Nov 27th 2020, 9:04 AM

How about starting with the basics, I’m a nurse and i have to get a taxi to work on a Sunday morning because Dublin Bus don’t run a service until later in the day.

ITs beyond a joke that the hospital routes on a Sunday are unavailable for health care professionals to get to work.

Why not improve the infrastructure we already have.

And what do we need a metro for , should we not just expand the Luas, the fact it does not service most of the major collages and the airport is beyond stupidity

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 26th 2020, 7:35 PM

The NTA love flying kites and they are great at it. Actually doing things right, not the forte.
    They bought two buses and both are power wheelchair unfriendly. Even though Dublin Bus and Bus Eireann have been buying them for years.
    What do you expect when you have planners running an organistation that is support to know about Public transport and none of them do in real world situations