You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 Good morning. Here are the nine stories you need to know as you start your day.

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you nine things you need to know as you kick off your day.

1. #MISSING: Gardaí are this morning appealing for information about missing person William Horgan, 59, who has been missing from his home in Cork City since 12 January. He is described as approximately 5′ 7″ in height, medium build, with long grey hair and a grey beard.

2. #BOSTON: An Irish nanny in Boston has been charged with assaulting the one-year-old child she was caring for, who subsequently died. The child was found with broken bones and a severe head injury. 34-year-old Aisling McCarthy Brady from Cavan is being held on €500,000 cash bail.

3. #WATER CHARGES: The Seanad will begin debating the legislation behind water charges today which would give legal creation to the new Irish Water Body. The legislation will provide the body with the power to install water meters in all domestic properties and to levy charges for water use.

4. #SUICIDE: Ireland has the highest rate of suicide among young males in the European Union, according to a report published today. The research also found that suicide now ranks as a major cause of death among young males in both the Republic and Northern Ireland, and that the recent spike in suicide rates clashed with the economic downturn and the increase in unemployment.

5. #BILL GATES: Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore is meeting with Microsoft founder and philanthropist Bill Gates this morning to discuss development aid priorities for Ireland’s EU Presidency. Gilmore said he welcomed the prominence Gates was giving to development issues which he said would be central to Ireland’s foreign policy.

6. #PRISONS: Minister Alan Shatter has said that prison rules have now been amended to support prisoner complaints of serious ill treatment, use of excessive force, racial discrimination, intimation or threats. The changes to the rules provide that complaints will be now examined by investigators from outside the Prison Service to ensure an impartial investigation.

7. #ANGLO: Former Anglo Irish Bank chairman Seán Fitzpatrick is due in court this morning along with two other directors of the defunct bank. The three former bankers each face 16 charges under company law of providing unlawful financial assistance to the bankrupt businessman Seán Quinn’s five children and his wife Patricia as well as 10 other people in July 2008.

8. #BRITAIN: David Cameron is giving a speech in London this morning where it is expected he will promise to hold a referendum giving people a choice on whether or not to stay in the European Union.  If his party wins an outright victory in the election, he wants to hold a referendum before the end of 2017.

9. #NATURAL BORN KILLER: A campaign to eradicate New Zealand’s cats in order to protect native wildlife has been launched by a businessman turned philanthropist. The man has cited research saying the average cat kills at least 13 native birds or animals each year and said that if the country was serious about conservation “then we must acknowledge that we are harbouring a natural born killer”.

• Over on DailyEdge.ie: Beyoncé flees to New Orleans after breaking our hearts, Shakira is a mammy, and how many times will Jordan get married this year? It’s The Dredge>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

3 Comments
    Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:18 PM

Tools blocking redline in city centre.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:21 PM

I would have loved to have joined them in town today but I was too busy working to pay for their pensions and social welfare………..

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:23 PM

I hope Dail privilege will be used to name them personally some day.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Al Moore
    Favourite Al Moore
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:25 PM

Not mine you’re not

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:26 PM

Green monkey

You’re also paying for a utility company to be set up, only for it to be later sold off for profit that won’t be shared with you.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:39 PM

Fair enough but do you think it’s ok for protesters to bring the city centre to a stand still through sit down protests etc. stopping people who have been working all day from getting home……..

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:44 PM

No, I don’t think it is ok.

Mute Super Hanz
    Favourite Super Hanz
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:01 PM

Ye do you pay for mine as well? I was there and am in a full time job. Took this thing called annual leave.

Mute Larry K
    Favourite Larry K
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:08 PM

Strong silent type eh Gavin?

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:17 PM

Me too

Mute Gavin McDonald
    Favourite Gavin McDonald
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:21 PM

My comments aren’t submitting. Haha probably another conspiracy by those in power

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:29 PM

@Greenmonkey i took the day off with out pay so that you wont have to pay for IW that will be privatised as soon as the Country says yes but you go ahead and moan after all you WORK

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:30 PM

I do Phil what the use otherwise

Mute aaron
    Favourite aaron
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:57 PM

Lucky for some,,,, bell end

Mute aaron
    Favourite aaron
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:04 PM

Lucky for some,,, bell end. was thrown @green monkey by the way !! And phil

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:36 PM

That was the whole point…well done to everyone today..we should be able to object and protest against the government if we think they are wrong. Up until now they did not listen and every single one of us has paid up… Now we have had enough. These protests are only taking place because the government does not know where to draw the line… So now they are being shown, and that is the right of the people of this country.
    Just back to your point..the people of this country have every right to protest any time, anywhere.. As long as it’s peaceful…and it will continue, and it’s a warning to future governments…get it right…do what you were voted to do…listen to the electorate…or we will tell you otherwise

Mute Miriam Soughley
    Favourite Miriam Soughley
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:40 PM

Eh! Stuck for words Gavin.

Mute Johnny Bravo
    Favourite Johnny Bravo
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:04 PM

Do you think it’s ok for taxi drivers ,lorry drivers , farmers etc to have protests and disrupt the city ?? Or bus , ESB and teachers strikes ?? The whole idea is that you get your point across with maximum disruption to normal services . These people are out fighting for you and your future generations whether you like it or care to want to admit it .

Mute Goldberg
    Favourite Goldberg
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:29 PM

The Charlemont stop is elevated over the canal – there is no way that could be accidental – would take some skill just to make it there

Mute Seth Mcguinness
    Favourite Seth Mcguinness
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:31 PM

It didn’t happen at the stop, it happened before it and before the elevation just past Adelaide Road. Some idiot took a wrong turn onto it and could have easily done it from either the Adelaide Road or from the estates facing the tracks. I walked right past it, as did many who walked the tracks in both directions due to this.

Mute amyk
    Favourite amyk
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:06 PM

Agreed, all indications are that it was abandoned. Car registration plate doesn’t match the car https://www.cartell.ie/ssl/servlet/beginStarLookup?registration=01RN1736

Mute Jon Gripper McKee
    Favourite Jon Gripper McKee
    Dec 10th 2014, 11:00 PM

Spoken like someone who can’t afford to drive Goldberg.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Dec 11th 2014, 12:26 AM

That’s not the reg, look closer

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:19 PM

i see a new penalty point and money making opportunity..motorists who stop on luas line

Mute Frank Mc Carney
    Favourite Frank Mc Carney
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:33 PM

Think a prison sentence would before appropriate along with a lifetime driving ban

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:24 PM

Was probably someone up from the country for the day. Took a wrong turn trying to find the nearest Supermac’s

Mute thomas patrick
    Favourite thomas patrick
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:17 PM

Roscommon reg car.

Mute Roy McFaldo
    Favourite Roy McFaldo
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:33 PM

Why were there loads of protestors covering their faces and wearing militia clothing? I appreciate many of them are terrorist sympathisers because they carried IRA posters but I thought this was about water charges. Shame that people can’t protest peacefully or without it being hijacked by IRA supporters and half-wits determined to cause civil unrest. Taxpayers were prevented from working and raising funds needed to subsidise these people.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:44 PM

@Ray i was there and i saw the masks. but there were thousands without them and young middle aged and old (me being the last category) but i didn’t see any agro

Mute Original Cynic
    Favourite Original Cynic
    Dec 10th 2014, 9:08 PM

@Roy – Exactly how many is “many” – did you count – were they Official, Provisional or Continuity – what did the posters state – do you have photographic evidence – did they cover their faces because it was COLD or was it sinister?

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:24 PM

According to Jim Corr,
    All these “accidents” are a conspiracy by the government to take away from today’s protest………

Mute Darren Turner
    Favourite Darren Turner

So now both luas lines are having problems at rush hour simultaneously? We need an underground system asap.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:53 PM

Or less ar$eholes blocking up a pretty efficient transport system .

Mute Colin Barrett
    Favourite Colin Barrett
    Dec 11th 2014, 12:12 AM

Luas Hamilton??

Mute Gavin Lawler
    Favourite Gavin Lawler
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:19 PM

Who does this shit?

Mute Brian Moore
    Favourite Brian Moore
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:44 PM

I’ll go out on a limb and say Protesters

Mute Life in no motion
    Favourite Life in no motion
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:00 PM

Take that eejits licence off him

Accidentally? Ha! … I’m sick of tossers queue jumping, skipping, taking wrong turns, generally driving all over the shop desperate to get home 5 mins earlier than the rest of us

I’ve seen them drive the wrong way around roundabouts and slip roads, even fly up hard shoulders and now this?! Enough is enough. It couldn’t be more blatantly obvious he was driving on a tram track. Not one bit accidental

Self entitled b*stards should be banned!

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:28 PM

Some of these protestors will not be happy until lives are lost.

Mute Rocket Racoon
    Favourite Rocket Racoon
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:31 PM

Who is to say it was a protester at all? Just as likely to be a nepotistically appointed IW crony trying to take a short cut home. ;)

Mute Ho Lee Fuk
    Favourite Ho Lee Fuk
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:36 PM

Saw a person drive up a one way street once …Turns out that they were a protester, too.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:45 PM

Ok Lyons tea don’t exaggerate

Mute Aideen Thornton
    Favourite Aideen Thornton
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:16 PM

45 mins walking now thanks to that genius. Passing windy arbor luas now but probably no point getting on it. It’ll be jammed if the crowds waiting at The Green were anything go by.

Mute Conor O'Neill
    Favourite Conor O'Neill
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:22 PM

Women drivers. Probably a learner as well

Mute aido m
    Favourite aido m
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:20 PM

So fine him/her heavy for being stupid and throw in a few points on the license too .now back to proper news please

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger

Culchies!!!

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:36 PM

No all the culchies were over at your sister’s house waiting for their ride

home……

Mute Niall Byrne
    Favourite Niall Byrne
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:21 PM

The bleedin ghetto monkey head on ya, you should be glad culchies are up in Dublin doing the jobs you’re not educated enough to do

Mute Aideen Thornton
    Favourite Aideen Thornton
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:02 PM

Ah now Niall. There was no need for his comment but equally no need for yours. As for your comment that we should be glad ‘Culchies are up in Dublin doing the jobs you’re not educated enough to do’, you’re dead right, I’m delighted Enda Kenny decided to come up here with his education and show us how it’s done!

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Dec 11th 2014, 1:22 AM

A mayo man saying bleedin… my eyes hurt!!!

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:28 PM

Someone needs to go to Specsavers

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:51 PM

Hmmm… Co-incidence… I think not. The Green Line has never seen such an incident since it opened. This was no mistake.

Mute Darren Turner
    Favourite Darren Turner
    Dec 11th 2014, 2:10 AM

Who do you recon was behind it? Genuine question.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Dec 11th 2014, 2:14 AM

Eh… The person who drove the car … How the fcuk do I know?

Mute C Fitz
    Favourite C Fitz
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:27 PM

Liquid lunch

Mute John Dole
    Favourite John Dole
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:26 PM

Lady driver?

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    Dec 11th 2014, 11:20 AM

I’d put my house on it !

Mute Gavin McDonald
    Favourite Gavin McDonald
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:24 PM

Thanks green monkey for us on “social welfare” (not by choice by the way) alive. We are eternally grateful. Keep up the hard work.. Happy Christmas

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:11 PM

.. making a mistake I can handle. It happens. But why is the car stopped ? Couldn’t they reverse, or drive forward off the line ??

Mute Teresa Kelly
    Favourite Teresa Kelly
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:49 AM

Wheels got caught in the track

Mute aido m
    Favourite aido m
    Dec 10th 2014, 6:21 PM

So fine him/her heavy for being silly and throw in a few points on the license too .now back to proper news please

Mute Kevin Conway
    Favourite Kevin Conway
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:50 PM

Must be up from the country for the shopping on the 8th Dec and got lost. I’m sure they’re staying at the Mesbil. ..!!

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Dec 10th 2014, 8:43 PM

And today is the 10th…

Mute Fergus Gaffney
    Favourite Fergus Gaffney
    Dec 11th 2014, 2:06 AM

If it was on the red line it would have been a stolen car!

Mute Bryan Mills
    Favourite Bryan Mills
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:42 PM

Sap!

Mute Thomas Mcdonagh
    Favourite Thomas Mcdonagh
    Dec 11th 2014, 7:53 AM

Dude, where is my car?

Mute Gavin McDonald
    Favourite Gavin McDonald
    Dec 10th 2014, 7:22 PM

My comments aren’t submitting. Probably another conspiracy by those in power haha

Mute Service Spy
    Favourite Service Spy
    Dec 10th 2014, 11:40 PM

T

Mute Mike Igoe
    Favourite Mike Igoe
    Dec 11th 2014, 3:40 PM

One does not simply drive onto a rail bridge over a canal by accident.