You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 Good morning! Here are nine things you want to know as you start your day.

EVERY DAY, TheJournal.ie brings you nine things you need to know with your morning cup of coffee.

1. #PERU Irish woman Michaella McCollum Connolly and Scottish woman Melissa Reid have been formally indicted on charges of trying to smuggle cocaine out of Peru, prosecutors have said. If convicted, they face between 15 and 18 years in jail for their alleged attempt to sneak a total of 11 kilos of the drug on a flight to Spain.

2. #EGYPT Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore TD is in Brussels today for a meeting of EU Foreign Ministers to discuss the EU’s response to the ongoing crisis in Egypt. The  ministers will discuss what the EU can do to help in bringing an end to bloodshed in Egypt.

3. #ICELAND Supermarket chain Iceland has had an ad banned for ‘denigrating’ the Food Safety Authority of Ireland’s testing for horse meat in its burgers. The UK’s Advertising Standards Authority said that it was “concerned” about the way the ad described the FSAI’s tests.

4. #BANKS A report from the Financial Services Ombudsman shows that complaints were up by 27 per cent in the first six months of the year, the Irish Examiner reports. It says that tackling the banks is affected by the fact the ombudsman cannot name and shame them.

5. #JAPAN Japan’s nuclear regulator has upgraded a radioactive water leak at the crippled Fukushima plant to a level three “serious incident”. This comes a day after the Tokyo Electric Power Company said that 300 tones of radioactive water was believed to have leaked from a tank at the plant.

6. #CAIRO The sister of four Irish citizens being detained in Egypt has said that charges of murder and arson have been made against her three sisters and brother. She said the charges are “ridiculous”. The siblings were arrested after joining Muslim Brotherhood demonstrations.

7. #TIGER KIDNAP A ‘botched’ ‘tiger kidnap’ took place in Drogheda, Co Louth last night, the Herald says. It said that the culprits had guns and forced their way into a house where a husband and wife were present. However, they abandoned the plan and the couple raised the alarm.

8. #SLANE Gardaí are awaiting the results of blood tests on a 17-year-old girl who was photographed and videoed engaging in a sexual act at a concert at Slane Castle, the Irish Times reports. It says the test is to determine if her drink was spiked. No formal complaint has been made by the teenager to gardaí at this point.

9. #DIABETES Trained dogs can help sniff out low blood sugar in people with diabetes, a new study says. The data recorded by owners showed that dogs alerted them with “significant accuracy” at times of low and high blood sugar.

Over on DailyEdge.ie: One of One Direction is engaged… it’s The Dredge>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

19 Comments
    Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:16 PM

And that sums up the contempt OUR elected representatives have for citizens.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:21 PM

And add to that they can have a few and drive home.

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:25 PM

All animals are equal but some animals are more equal than others..

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Pete Foley
    Favourite Pete Foley
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:22 PM

Do they have a tv licence

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:50 PM

Niallers, its so true. Its amazing that so many dont realize the extent of this.

The Dail bar is Ireland’s answer to Orwell.

Mute James Shanahan
    Favourite James Shanahan
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:26 PM

2 legs good… 4 legs behehehetter!!

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:28 PM

“all animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others”. Think George Orwell sums it up perfectly!

Mute pat James buchannan
    Favourite pat James buchannan
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:33 PM

It’s the pigs ……. Said George

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Jan 20th 2014, 9:04 PM

Just one more kick in the teeth from the “pigs at the trough”.
    Not that I am in any way surprised at anything these career wasters get up to.

Mute captain morgan
    Favourite captain morgan
    Jan 20th 2014, 9:07 PM

That’s why everything is done arse ways spend to much time there.

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Jan 20th 2014, 9:25 PM

I suppose adams and the rest of the shinners are saying decades of the rosary while all the other tds are having a scoop in the bar

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Jan 20th 2014, 10:17 PM

Niallers, you should have called yourself “Orwell”, that being said we should all be made read Animal Farm before wee go to vote.

Mute Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Malachy Quinn
    Jan 20th 2014, 11:27 PM

Not at all just trying to legislate & not seeing breaks in proceedings as some sort of excuse to socialise as appose to work.

Mute pat James buchannan
    Jan 20th 2014, 11:30 PM

Read 1984……..we are living his nightmare now

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT
    Jan 20th 2014, 11:57 PM

I just cannot wait for the Local Elections and European Elections !
    What a brainless load of twits that
    FG / Lab are – Why are they so trying to outdo their predecessors FF / Grs with their new records for stupidity ?
    The Citizens of Ireland are so looking foreword to sharpening their pencils to vote them out !

Mute Joe Mahon
    Favourite Joe Mahon
    Jan 21st 2014, 12:40 AM

Eddie thinks SF will be in power after the next election!! Hahaha bless your cotton socks Eddie!

Mute Free Dom
    Favourite Free Dom
    Jan 21st 2014, 2:02 AM

Yep !! Vote FG they said, a fairer Ireland they said…..

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 21st 2014, 8:05 AM

They say a lot of things.. Don’t make it true though

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:40 AM

I hope Adams is not supplying the vodka to the bar.

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:44 AM

Well Ian you can see the s——-s are out in strength today 204 so far it’s the only way to find out pass a comment about them.

Mute Melissa O Shea
    Favourite Melissa O Shea
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:42 PM

I’m a hairdresser. I can’t drink at work as it would affect my ability to do my job. I suppose running the country is a lot less complicated than cutting hair?

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Jan 20th 2014, 10:57 PM

What else comes under ‘parliamentary privilege?’
    The fact that they can label anything a parliamentary privilege maybe?!

Gotta love ireland and her just-is system

Mute Pinel G
    Favourite Pinel G
    Jan 21st 2014, 12:26 AM

Lets assume a TD was to drink a few pints a work, then drive home locked and knock down someone? Would he be in the clear by saying it was a “parliamentary privilege”. total horse shite!

If you or I was to drink at work, we would be fired on the spot. would also be hard to get any payment from social welfare, if they knew you got fired for drinking. you wouldn’t be entitled to anything.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jan 21st 2014, 12:37 AM

Haircuts would have been essential 6 years ago Melissa, but not now…

Mute Seosamh Mac Cárthaigh
    Favourite Seosamh Mac Cárthaigh
    Jan 21st 2014, 1:34 AM

Luckily the Dáil Éireann crowd are only running the wee Irish Free State state. The rest of Ireland is run from Belfast, where such drunken carry-on would never be tolerated. I’m guessing that’s where GA is coming from. Perhaps if the whole country was run from Belfast we’d have a higher quality of governance (discuss.)

Mute Stef
    Favourite Stef
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:19 PM

One rule for them, another for the rest of us.

Jan 20th 2014, 8:28 PM

The word that sticks out for me is “privilege” apparently being allowed to drink at your place of work is a privilege for those who inhabit Leinster house.

Mute Newton Martin
    Favourite Newton Martin
    Jan 21st 2014, 12:09 AM

Absolute disgrace that the “leaders” of our country are allowed drink at their place of work and continue to make decisions that affect us all.

Mute Jack Murphy
    Favourite Jack Murphy
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:31 PM

For once you’d have to agree with Gerry Adams on something.

Mute pat James buchannan
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:39 PM

If you listen to Gerry on a long time basic you will find out that he is the only one telling the truth

Mute john mc carthy
    Favourite john mc carthy
    Jan 21st 2014, 12:06 AM

Admit it adams has the guts to fly In the face of consensus drinking we the plebs can go and feck off. No other jobs allows drinking on job

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 21st 2014, 8:06 AM

dunno about that . beer and wine tasters must have a fair share on the job :-)

Mute Winston Teardrops
    Favourite Winston Teardrops
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:44 AM

Controversial guy, but he is absolutely correct on this issue.

Mute Shay Mullane
    Favourite Shay Mullane
    Jan 21st 2014, 12:39 PM

Stop talking shit jack !!!

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:21 PM

How much will a pint of Irish Water cost in the dail bar cost?

Mute Caroline Quinn
    Favourite Caroline Quinn
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:28 PM

Shocking should be no bar at all close it how can you focus and vote while drinking. Only in Ireland

Mute Byyys
    Favourite Byyys
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:57 PM

The tile should also include “government exempt from drinking at work, while making big decisions.”

Mute pat James buchannan
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:36 PM

Probably free …. But 10 euros every else…….. Can I please become “privileged”

Mute Hector Mann
    Favourite Hector Mann
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:17 PM

Carlsberg don’t do canteens, but if they did….

Mute pat James buchannan
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:41 PM

Was a funny line when mike said it……… Pathetic now

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:46 PM

I can find no mention of a ‘Micheal’ saying that, or anyone else for that matter. Can we expect an apology? Somehow I think that unlikely from the likes of you

Mute pat James buchannan
    Jan 20th 2014, 11:33 PM

Saying?????……. What is your question

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Jan 21st 2014, 4:57 AM

You refered to another user as pathetic, based on your incorrect statement that someone else had already made the joke. My question is, will you apologise?

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:17 PM

So it’s a shebeen.

Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:22 PM

Of course not,they were probably half cut waiting on their next bottle of moet while sending the letter.Time to dust off the guillotine I think.

Mute Timothy Bryce
    Favourite Timothy Bryce
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:07 PM

I know a guy with an Axe, and he always keeps it in good working order.

Mute Ginger Jihad
    Favourite Ginger Jihad
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:25 PM

I wonder how many of them conduct dail business and vote on legislation while under the influence. I’d also bet good money that there’s a couple of alcoholics sitting in our parliament.

Mute Alcho Holic
    Favourite Alcho Holic
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:59 PM

@ Ginger,I would not vote for them,a waste ot good drinking time,Hic!

Mute pat James buchannan
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:42 PM

Breath test before voting …… Results posted on all media

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Jan 20th 2014, 10:24 PM

was told by the Priest who was to marry us that if I took a drink before arriving at the church I could then claim at a later date that I was under the influence and my marriage was invalid both legally and to the church. Maybe we could get the unpleasant laws overturned on the grounds that the TDs were under the influence

Mute pat James buchannan
    Jan 21st 2014, 1:04 AM

Are you still married?………..watch dem priests they told me stuff that was ney tru

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Jan 21st 2014, 9:17 PM

Yes pat, and I didn’t have a drink that morning. Should I have taken a drink that morning is another question

Mute Conor Hickey
    Favourite Conor Hickey
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:01 PM

TD’s expenses cover Dáil bar spending.
    In effect, free drinks.

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Jan 20th 2014, 10:59 PM

Carlsberg don’t do rag weeks…..

Mute Alan Seag
    Favourite Alan Seag
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:26 PM

Lol

And then some get upset with the drinking stereotypes associated with the irish.
    Another absolute joke.

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:51 PM

I don’t care if it has a licence or not. Why is there a bar at a place of work??? The bar should not be there!!! The presents of a bar tells me that the Leaders of Ireland are making very important decisions that impact the people of Ireland and they are making decisions under the influence of alcohol.
    Is this some kind of a sick joke??

Mute pat James buchannan
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:53 PM

On a building site we must have a hard hat,visibility vest, safety harness and site safety cert ……. If they ever find you to have any alcohol on board you will be black listed , fired and no hope of further employment

But the big men who who make the rules are drunk when doing so

I don’t vote for you Gerry but name the drunkards that make my life decisions and I will reconsider my vote…. You are starting to make me feel Gerry that there is a regular worker in the house of decisions

Mute Vlad Della Macca
    Favourite Vlad Della Macca
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:27 PM

I’d love publicans to not renew their licences and argue this in the courts

Mute Eamonn Boylan
    Favourite Eamonn Boylan
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:34 PM

Nothing surprises me anymore with our government, only in Ireland would you see it!

Mute John Kavanagh
    Favourite John Kavanagh
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:37 PM

who or how does it come under privelege???…..can cannibis be smoked under privelage in the same bar???

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:48 PM

Well once it’s legal an argument is there for a Dail coffeeshop based on the bar been there.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:24 PM

so please tell me what changes enda an eamon promised b4 the elections have they made??? real change.

Mute pat James buchannan
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:44 PM

Changed how much tax we pay…… Only the regulars tho

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael

I think the status quo will end at the next election.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:30 PM

I’d like to think so, but expect anything from an electorate which voted to retain the deadbeat Seanad!

Mute john fairclough
    Favourite john fairclough
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:56 PM

How come we end up with their hangover?

Mute james cullen
    Favourite james cullen
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:16 PM

Turkey’s and Christmas come to mind.

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Favourite AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:26 PM

Surprise, surprise. What does Health and Safety say about drinking at work/in the workplace. AAGH I’m such a moron those regulations only apply where/when people are working.

Mute pat James buchannan
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:59 PM

The dail bar was created so that the public would not see the antics of our elected officials …….. Didn’t Michael Collins use the ” army” to hide his antics on the second floor of a Dublin hotel

If you doubt this …… Read history of “the great man”

Mute MrKnow
    Favourite MrKnow
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:32 PM

Vote them out of the bar, simple.

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony

Why are we not surprised?

Mute Declan Flanagan
    Favourite Declan Flanagan
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:28 PM

There should be NO bar simple as,if there is a late night sitting order in pizzas and soft drinks but not on their bloody expenses it should come directly from their pockets ie their disgusting salaries,anyway how many late night sittings is there every year I’d say less then half a dozen,get ur mobiles out and give dominos a buzz they are open for deliveries till 4am,only in ireland

Mute colin
    Favourite colin
    Jan 21st 2014, 12:51 AM

The late night sit in annoys the shyte out of me. If it’s that important leave it until tomorrow, nobody is fresh enough to make important decisions eg bank guarantee at 3am.

Mute Mark Meehan
    Favourite Mark Meehan
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:34 PM

In no other place of work would the consumption of alcohol be allowed. It really is the biggest example of how the political class feel themselves to be separate from the rest of the population. One set of rules for them, another for the ordinary person.

Its an insult to any pretence of democracy that we might have in this country to have a bar open anywhere in Leinster House. Those TDs/Senators who use it or defend it show open contempt for democracy and every constituent who elected them to their position.

It is pitiful that this discussion even needs to be had. It should be common sense that a clear head is needed to carry out the business of running the country. Obviously common sense is lacking.

Mute Ogochukwu
    Favourite Ogochukwu
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:54 PM

Burn the bondholders hiccup ..lol

Mute Declan Flanagan
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:05 PM

After six years of austerity our taoiseach is still one of the highest paid as are the other politicians and civil servants in europe,drinking at 4am while debating the issue of abortion or any other issue is just not on,NO FU#KING BAR IN DAIL EIREANN SIMPLE pack of animals,enda Kenny should have sacked tom Barry but no

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:23 PM

In the world, highest paid in the world, not just highest paid in Europe.

Mute Anne Cooke
    Favourite Anne Cooke
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:20 PM

This typifies what is wrong with this government. Totally out of touch. This will cost FG a lot of votes and could so easily be fixed. They haven’t a clue.

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:55 PM

Anne, they understand fully. What you need to understand though is that they dont give a **** about you or me. Remember that the next time a politician comes to your door looking for a vote.

Mute Krystian Brzezowski
    Favourite Krystian Brzezowski
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:58 PM

I do not understand why the Dail staff can drink alcohol in work!!! What sort of privilege is that?

Mute Krystian Brzezowski
    Favourite Krystian Brzezowski
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:23 PM

Does anyone reading this can actually drink in work? I certainly can’t.

Mute Declan Flanagan
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:14 PM

Gerry Adams said the dail bar should be regulated no Gerry it should be abolished

Mute Ogochukwu
    Favourite Ogochukwu
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:49 PM

It’s happy hour again for these drunkards ..lol.. Sleepy & Dopey aka Enny Kenny & Heymon Givmore lol

Mute Mary Cull
    Favourite Mary Cull
    Jan 21st 2014, 9:09 AM

LOL

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:30 PM

God forbid that the Dail Bar should ever be ‘shaken down’ for protection money.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:13 PM

Do they sell banana liqueur , to go with the banana parliament, of a Banana Republic?

Mute Michael Garett
    Favourite Michael Garett
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:41 PM

Bejaysus ha? We’ve our private bar and there isn’t a damn thing ye can do about it. Name politicians that have been caught drunk driving. There’s quite a few and probably a lot more who’ve wangled their way out of it. If only this country was run by decent honest upstanding people.

Mute Adrienne Lyons
    Favourite Adrienne Lyons
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:47 PM

Cant believe im agreeing with Gerry Adams

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:48 PM

One rule for them and a different one for us .

Mute Declan Flanagan
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:09 PM

The drunken gombeen Irish,only enhancing their stereotypical view around the world,have a drink paddy

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jan 20th 2014, 9:51 PM

And they have the brass neck to inform s there is a drinking culture that needs to be stamped out in society and below cost selling of booze to be stamped out and all the while they get to drink at work in a bar without a licence.try opening up a bar tommorrow without a licence..do as i say not as i do and whats the bet they claim the money spent in the bar on expenses

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:22 PM

The parlimentary priviledge act is from 1770 .

Mute Joe Power
    Favourite Joe Power
    Jan 20th 2014, 11:12 PM

Yes , the continued British , sorry Irish parliament

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Jan 20th 2014, 10:33 PM

What workplace in Ireland has an on site bar that workers drink in and then make decisions that affect the whole country ?! The place should closed down.

Mute Donal Reynolds
    Favourite Donal Reynolds
    Jan 20th 2014, 10:49 PM

So these all night sittings they hit the boozer ?! Aren’t they usually the countries most important issues that are debated late into the night and these clowns get pissed up ? If I drank during work hours I would be sacked and find it hard to get a Job again ! It’s f**kin laughable what goes on in there and I’ve worked in Leinster house , dept of finance and gov buildings as a contractor the stuff we got paid to do would make ya laugh !

Mute Pádraig O'Faolain
    Favourite Pádraig O'Faolain
    Jan 21st 2014, 12:02 AM

I work as a celvil servant and if I was drinking while working one of these boys in the Dail would sign off in sacking me,so why are we allowing these people who run the country, drink while they are on duty.

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Jan 21st 2014, 9:49 AM

Because the Whip system makes their sobriety (or lack thereof) irrelevant. The debates are just going through the motions, because the Constitution says they have to happen.

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:11 PM

Only 13k a month, you’d get more on the dole.

Mute Emmett Ryan
    Favourite Emmett Ryan
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:33 PM

Why is there a dail bar?

Mute Mark Twomey
    Favourite Mark Twomey
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:33 PM

Cue Sinn Feins next election promise!

Mute Feakle Mattiere
    Favourite Feakle Mattiere
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:35 PM

So it’s okay to have people “disappeared” but it’s not okay for TDs to have a couple of pints.

Mute Ogochukwu
    Favourite Ogochukwu
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:50 PM

Keith Barry makes people disappear , too ,,lol

Mute Ogochukwu
    Favourite Ogochukwu
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:53 PM

Gerry the Man …lol Cometh the happy hour , Cometh the Adams ..lol ..Get out , in his best Irish accent ,get out ..lol

Mute Adrian O'Leary
    Favourite Adrian O'Leary
    Jan 20th 2014, 11:02 PM

For anyone who is interested in knowing who the sub-committee members are should look here
    http://www.oireachtas.ie/parliament/media/sub-Cttee-on-Admin-Picture.pdf
    It was them who believe the status quo should remain so if anyone has a problem with the status quo you know who to contact directly.

Mute Ian Crowley
    Favourite Ian Crowley
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:51 PM

Wouldn’t that mean that a TD would have to be pulling the pint so?

Mute John Moran
    Favourite John Moran
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:25 PM

Let’s hope the bar remains as is. Adams should spend his time contemplating the bodies he is responsible for. I’m of out for a pint.

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:56 PM

Ahhh John, you must be new to Topic Deflection. Must try harder kid.

Mute John Moran
    Favourite John Moran
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:02 PM

Why ?.

Mute dom patrick
    Favourite dom patrick
    Jan 20th 2014, 6:47 PM

Drink in the house of commons. Only in Ireland

Mute Marie Kearney
    Favourite Marie Kearney
    Jan 20th 2014, 11:22 PM

Unbelievable I object

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:17 PM

No issue with the dail bar myself. The US Congress used to drink add socialize across the aisle regularly and come to sensible compromises often. Now been seen with a member of the opposition is seen as betrayal.

They tend to pass a budget once every few years nowadays. Politicians knowing one and another personally is a good thing. A little bit of respect goes a long way

You don’t miss it till its gone.

Mute Andy Cahalan
    Favourite Andy Cahalan
    Jan 21st 2014, 6:46 AM

Yeah because the US isn’t a corrupt clusterf*ck. That’s exactly what we need – some good old social cronyism.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Jan 21st 2014, 8:43 AM

Well the US misses a bit of pork-barrel spending and political wheeling and dealing nowadays.

They are now scrupulously clean in congress but can’t pass a bill to save their lives. They have nearly defaulted numerous times instead of funding the spending they have already approved. They can’t pass a budget so they just continue with the budget from years ago on repeat. Or they shut down the government which costs even more and leads to waste and deaths.

Don’t complain when our politicians can’t anything done in the future. We managed to take a hatchet to government spending.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Jan 21st 2014, 7:40 AM

They are referring to the wrong exemption. It is a special artists exemption called the pissss take artists exemption. In fairness, these idiots are so cretinous that loading themselves with alcohol makes very little difference. Gravy train fanatics.

Mute Brendan Coogan
    Favourite Brendan Coogan
    Jan 21st 2014, 3:15 AM

Outrageous I tell ya! Only a matter of time before outrage turns to rebellion when this pub with no licence and no closing time reveals the subsidised price of a pint for it’s elite clientèle. Not a country in the world that doesn’t have this arrangement for it’s politicos. I wonder when the trough guzzlers up in Stormont will tell us the price of a pint and a 3 course meal in their wee canteen! They don’t say that it only takes 6 months for newly elected members put on the “Stormont Stone” for nothing! Don’t get me started about the European Parliament!!!!!

Mute Willand
    Favourite Willand
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:39 PM

Im making over $13k a month working part time. I kept hearing other people tell me how much money they can make online so I decided to look into it. Well, it was all true and has totally changed my life.last month her pay check was $12712 just working on the laptop for a few hours. This is what I do,,,,,,,,,,,, http://ddp.net/hmm

Mute Stef
    Favourite Stef
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:54 PM

PISS OFF

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Jan 20th 2014, 7:57 PM

13k you say???

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Jan 20th 2014, 8:10 PM

ban this b*itch ,plse.

Mute byrondenis
    Favourite byrondenis
    Jan 21st 2014, 3:52 AM

At least SF aren’t blowing up bars so I suppose we should be happy

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Jan 21st 2014, 8:56 AM

“Why is there a Dail bar?”

Because the things they do there you can’t do if you’re sober.

Mute Abless
    Favourite Abless
    Jan 21st 2014, 12:47 AM

my neighbor’s mom makes $69 every hour on the internet . She has been fired for 7 months but last month her payment was $13875 just working on the internet for a few hours. more tips here,,,,,,, http://ddp.net/hmm

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Favourite AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Jan 21st 2014, 5:08 PM

So let me try and understand this, I go to a pub have 3 pints and lets say a whiskey. Get in my car stopped by Gard, following results of test considered (correctly so in all likelihood) as unfit to drive.
    But as a TD I can drink umpteen pints with a whiskey to accompany each one and am still considered fit enough to vote on matters crucial to the country.
    Have I understood correctly?
    Like to hear answers from a few TDs

Mute Catherine Murphy
    Favourite Catherine Murphy
    Jan 21st 2014, 4:14 PM

Completely out of touch with the real world. Our families and communities deserve better, this crowd only serves themselves.

Mute Vincent McCarthy
    Favourite Vincent McCarthy
    Jan 20th 2014, 11:07 PM

Seriously nice pints tho