You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 Good morning! Here are nine things you want to know as you start your day

EVERY DAY, TheJournal.ie brings you nine things you need to know with your morning cup of coffee.

1. #FIRING LINE: CEO of Permanent TSB, Jeremy Masding, is next to face a grilling from the Oireachtas Finance Committee today over how the bank is helping struggling homeowners. Masding follows Richie Boucher of Bank of Ireland yesterday who was criticised for evading the committee’s questions.

2. #ANTRIM: Three people have been charged with attempted murder and false imprisonment after a man was found beaten and naked inside a wheelie bin in Ballymena. The three are due to appear in court today while the victim is being treated in hospital for non-life threatening injuries.

3. #DOWN SYNDROME: Researchers at Johns Hopkins have found a way to reverse Down syndrome-like learning deficits in mice. The scientists identified a compound that dramatically bolsters learning and memory when given to the mice who have the condition, with just a single dose.

4. #AER LINGUS: Aer Lingus recorded a significant increase in numbers of long-haul passengers last month, though overall numbers saw a rise of just 0.9 per cent with short-haul flights down. The company has previously stated that good weather conditions in July had eroded its forward booking profile, and the impact of this is reflected in its August short haul figures.

5. #DISABILITY CUTS: Disability services organisation Sunbeam House has been told that its budget will be cut by €189.461 – some €122,000 more than was anticipated. The cut will now result in the immediate withdrawal of transport service for clients.

6. #HOLIDAYS: Some Irish workers are not taking their full annual leave because they are afraid of losing their job, according to a survey. Work commitments that could not be missed was the most cited reason for not taking leave while others said they could not afford to go on holiday.

7. #CHINA: Police suspect that the person who gouged out the eyes of a six-year-old boy in China last week may have been his aunt, who later took her own life, AFP reports. An eye expert in Hong Kong has now offered free treatment to the boy with the possibility of restoring up to 40 per cent of his lost vision.

8. #AWKWARD: It will be tense at today’s G20 summit in Russia with US President Barack Obama pushing for punitive strikes in Syria, AFP reports. Russian President Vladamir Putin has warned that it would be unacceptable for the West to go ahead with military action without approval from the UN Security Council.

9. #DRUNKS: The hoards of wasps that have stuck around to enjoy our prolonged good weather have turned into a bunch of drunks, the Irish Examiner reports. The worker wasps no longer have jobs as all of the grubs have hatched into queens now so they’re gorging themselves on sugar and generally misbehaving.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

16 Comments
    Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Sep 5th 2013, 8:57 AM

yet again this callous shower of gombeens at the h.s.e cut essential services to those most in need and attack the disabled. get rid of all the overpaid penpushers in the service before you cut anyone else !

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Sep 5th 2013, 9:02 AM

#7 is just awful. What kind of a person could do something like that? Poor little guy,hope he manages to get some of his sight back.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Sep 5th 2013, 8:59 AM

so the c.e.o of irish permanent /tsb is up before the finance commitee today,bet he’s bricking it–not !

Mute Summoning Dark
    Favourite Summoning Dark
    Sep 5th 2013, 8:54 AM

Cited, not sited.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Sep 5th 2013, 8:55 AM

instead of monkey see, monkey do, we have wasp see , wasp do, no jobs so just get drunk and ‘misbehave’ sounds just like the young lads round ireland!

Mute Stephen O'Grady
    Favourite Stephen O'Grady
    Sep 5th 2013, 9:43 AM

That story has actually made me like wasps.
    Never thought I’d say thay.

Mute Jim Byrne
    Favourite Jim Byrne
    Sep 5th 2013, 10:26 AM

Why are the planned attacks on Syria being called “attacks by the west” they are being pushed by the US and France . 91% of American people are against any intervention so much for democracy when there is oil and gas to be had.

Mute Andrew Nolan
    Favourite Andrew Nolan
    Sep 5th 2013, 11:43 AM

Oil and gas are so in the past…now they are after water! The Western countries have depleted and poisoned their natural resources, and the UK is expected to have severe drought issues by 2035…also, war for water will be something people can get behind and a better selling point for future wars…it’s a staple of life. Gaddafi was in the process of building huge underground storage reservoirs for use in Libya and other North African countries when he was taken out. Oil is needed, but water is necessary.

Mute Rob Lahiff
    Favourite Rob Lahiff
    Sep 5th 2013, 8:59 AM

Couldn’t think of a ninth story?

Mute James Gaffney
    Favourite James Gaffney
    Sep 5th 2013, 9:07 AM

What are you talking about? Maube you’re one of the lucky ones who hasn’t been annoyed by angry September wasps yet.

http://www.independent.co.uk/environment/nature/drunk-wasps-may-attack-us-warns-red-cross-8798272.html

Mute Jane Travers
    Favourite Jane Travers
    Sep 5th 2013, 10:02 AM

In fairness, we’re all talking about the fecking wasps.

Mute Andrew Nolan
    Favourite Andrew Nolan
    Sep 5th 2013, 9:57 AM

#9: The wasps in my back yard are busy, seemingly, chewing their way through the wooden table. Was sitting out there yesterday reading, and could hear what sounded like rustling in the chipped parts of the table, then 5 of them flew from under it. Saw an interesting battle’s between wasps and some fly/beetle type insect too…they ganged up on it haha.

Mute Robert Craven
    Favourite Robert Craven
    Sep 5th 2013, 10:06 AM

Reading this – the first line is a bank executive who will ‘be given out to’, but nothing more & line 5 about disability cuts which will happen. Its simple maths the result of line 1 is line 5

Mute Clodagh Nic Lochlainn
    Favourite Clodagh Nic Lochlainn
    Sep 5th 2013, 10:48 AM

#3 * Down’s syndrome!

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Sep 5th 2013, 10:55 AM

9. I guess wasps are like kids so. Gorging on sugar and generally misbehaving.

Mute Rebecca Bermingham
    Favourite Rebecca Bermingham
    Sep 5th 2013, 7:42 PM

Haha love the way the articles are structured. misery….. Misery… Misery… DRUNKEN WASPS!!