You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9: Saturday

Here are the nine things you want to know as you start your weekend…

EVERY DAY, TheJournal.ie brings you nine things you need to know with your morning cup of coffee.

1. #SURROUNDED: A garda operation involving armed units supported by the army surrounding a house in north Donegal has ended without an arrest.

2. #PIPS: A month in, the Insolvency Service of Ireland has 52 Personal Insolvency Practitioners (PIPs) working around the country but four counties have none at all.

3. #MIGRANTS: The Maltese Prime Minister has told the BBC that European waters close to Africa are turning into a cemetery after another boat laden with migrants capsized killing an estimated 50 people.

4. #MARCH: A union supported anti-austerity pre-budget march is planned for Dublin today. SIPTU’s president Jack O’Connor was reluctant to predict numbers.

5. #SNOWDEN: Former US secretary of state Hilary Clinton has said that a “sensible adult conversation” is needed about state surveillance in the wake of the leaking of secret NSA files.

6. #DETENTION: Construction of the new juvenile detention facility in Lusk, Co Dublin will begin on Monday. It comes as pressure from human rights groups led to a Government closure order of St Patrick’s Institution.

7. #MEDICAL CARDS: The issue of discretionary medical cards was placed firmly on politicians’ agenda this week as the Dáil heard a number of horror stories.

8. #DO THE MATHS: A fear of maths is hurting Ireland’s economy but it could also damage society according to the national director of MathsWeek.ie.

9. #CHEVRON: The memorial service will take place today of former Pogues guitarist Phil Chevron who was also a founding member of influential Dublin punk band the Radiators from Space.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

6 Comments
    Mute Tommy Heatly
    Favourite Tommy Heatly
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:10 PM

All Senators who voted for the Seanad to go should now resign immediately.They now have no right to sit in the Seanad.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:12 PM

Couldn’t agree more Tom

Mute Seamus Ryan
    Favourite Seamus Ryan
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:14 PM

Correct Tommy. They will just be money grabbing if they don’t. But this is Ireland so don’t hold thy breath

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:28 PM

Think some protesting is in order if they don’t. Wonder if democracy matters will take such a position.

Mute Tommy Heatly
    Favourite Tommy Heatly
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:31 PM

They now do not have a mandate to stay there they lost it the minute they voted to abolish.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:59 PM

By that rationale, only FF senators should be allowed to take the place of those who have to resign.

Mute Roy Gallagher
    Favourite Roy Gallagher
    Oct 6th 2013, 10:25 AM

can’t see the Seinn Fein 3 agreeing to that

Mute MonaghanRichie
    Favourite MonaghanRichie
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:56 PM

Deluded if He thinks this was support for FF No stance. This NO vote was the Irish backlash against Kenny & Gilmore nothing more, don’t get ideas above your station Mehole.

Mute FactualFrank
    Favourite FactualFrank
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:01 PM

Where does he state that the No vote represented support for FF? he’s not the only one deluded by the looks of it.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:02 PM

I was just about to say that funnily! Why does he thing he convinced the Irish people to vote no? We voted no off our own minds and we arent sheep Michael you prat. The vote was to stop you and any others who go into power thinking you can just pull the sheets over Irish eyes.
    You would swear he won something smug Bleep.

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:02 PM

Think meant to be sorry lol

Mute Sinead Cosgrave
    Favourite Sinead Cosgrave
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:05 PM

The NO wasn’t because of a backlash for Kenny and Gilmore it was because the people who voted NO believe it’s the right thing to do !! Just because you don’t agree with it doesn’t make it wrong !!!

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:30 PM

And just because you didn’t vote no because FF told you to doesn’t mean it’s not a great day for FF

Mute Tommy Heatly
    Favourite Tommy Heatly
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:33 PM

Very true the people kicked FF out but they have the right to put them back if they want when the time comes.

Mute Tommy Heatly
    Favourite Tommy Heatly
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:37 PM

Ah now calm down a bit.Say what you want he went against fg,lab,sf and even the polls and he stuck to his guns that takes guts when everyone else is going in the opposite direction.

Mute TouchyMcFeely
    Favourite TouchyMcFeely
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:50 PM

Hard not to laugh at all your moral indignation at Fianna Fails victory lap. They framed the whole narrative: 1). Vote no to stop Enda grabbing power 2). It’s not €20m in savings and 3). Vote no because Enda wouldn’t debate it. And ye followed like mindless drones. No wonder he’s smug. FF lemmings still dancing to their tune.

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Favourite Stephanie Fleming
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:52 PM

Yeah, those are all the reasons I voted no. Your psychic abilities are very impressive.

I’d no more do what Micheál Martin told me to do than I would do what Enda told me to so.

Mute Catherine Keogh
    Favourite Catherine Keogh

Fianna failed cannot take credit for this.it was a referendum not an election and most people i know voted with their own minds not because a failed party persauded them

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:08 PM

Whatever motivation people ascribe to their no vote, it is undeniable that one of the consequences of the result was always going to be political gain by FF.

That may not be how people want it to be, but that is the reality. FF look like winners today.

Mute TouchyMcFeely
    Favourite TouchyMcFeely
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:10 PM

And yet you just did, Stephanie.

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:11 PM

Most people commenting here seem to think they look like delusional fools for trying to claim credit.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:11 PM

I voted no because I was not prepared to allow FG butcher the Consititution, it was nothing got to do with FF.

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:16 PM

Fianna Fáil don’t want the Seanad retained, they just wanted FG to lose a referendum. The fact that I voted the way Martin wanted is incidental. Te fact is that I voted the way I wanted, not according to anyone else’s desires. And it’s very insulting of you to suggest that no voters are stupid enough to be fooled into dancing to a party’s tune.

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:21 PM

The comments section on here is unrepresentative of the electorate at large, Stephanie. Martin & Co. will be looking on this as a big step on the road to rehabilitating the FF brand in advance of the Euro and local elections next year and the general election the year after.

It’s naive to think that today wasn’t a great day for FF

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:54 PM

Touchy get over yourself ,people told FG to FO sign of things to come.

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:56 PM

So you’re no longer just implying I’m stupid. Lovely. Of course it couldn’t possibly occur to you that I was against Seanad abolition when both FF and FG proposed it in the 2011 election.

And of course it’s impossible that FG were trying to manipulate people too. God touchy, you totally danced to Enda’s tune you mindless easily manipulated silly person!

Mute TouchyMcFeely
    Favourite TouchyMcFeely
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:25 AM

Ah but Stephanie, I didn’t cost vulnerable elements of society €20m today to keep open the FF retirement home. You did.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:33 AM

Touchy its great to see the electorate turn on ye pr**ks.;-)

Mute Truth Patrol
    Favourite Truth Patrol
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:39 AM

Touchy you are one condescending douche bag. Read up your constitutional law and the theory of separation of powers. Absolute power corrupts absolutely. The Seanad needs to be reformed not abolished. Don’t come on here and abuse people for using their intelligence to come to an informed decision, be it to vote yes or vote no. Give the people if Ireland credit. Your abuse is ironic because its clear you’d follow Enda over the edge of a cliff you absolute lemming you.

Mute Stuart Gallagher
    Favourite Stuart Gallagher
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:40 AM

The referendum itself was expensive and it didn’t change anything @touchy!!

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Oct 6th 2013, 1:17 AM

Touchy, I and about a half a million other people made this decision. And an FG TD said mots ago that the 20m would be put back into the Dáil, but yeah, I’m the gullible one. And the government could easily spend 20m more in vulnerable people if they took a pay cut and cut pensions and expenses and actually stuck to the rule of a 100,000 salary cap, but that would make way too much sense and involve far too much personal sacrifice.

Mute Debbie Keegan
    Favourite Debbie Keegan
    Oct 6th 2013, 2:35 AM

I take offense at that – I have never voted FF and can’t see myself doing so in the future. I voted no for my own personal beliefs and for the protection of my daughters future. Don’t you dare call me a lemming, I will make up my own mind about what I believe.

Mute TouchyMcFeely
    Favourite TouchyMcFeely
    Oct 6th 2013, 8:40 AM

Truth Patrol- thank you for regurgitating a few scenes from the West Wing there…. Separation of powers in enshrined in the US constitution. How’s that working out for them?

Mute TouchyMcFeely
    Favourite TouchyMcFeely
    Oct 6th 2013, 8:41 AM

I think I will Debbie

Mute Truth Patrol
    Favourite Truth Patrol
    Oct 6th 2013, 10:08 AM

You’re actually brainless Touchy. Separation of powers was a doctrine developed in Ancient Greece and subsequently used by modern day democracies to underly their democratic structures. Again with the condescension and lashing out inferring people are stupid. The only Lemming here is you. Truth out.

Mute TouchyMcFeely
    Favourite TouchyMcFeely
    Oct 6th 2013, 11:26 AM

Truth- I asked you a question: How’s it working out in the States?

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:55 PM

Looking at the picture the three of them are asleep Lol

Mute TouchyMcFeely
    Favourite TouchyMcFeely
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:12 PM

And congratulations to all you political visionaries who handed the Architects of our Economic Oblivion, Fianna Fáil this victory today. Well done.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:23 PM

No fan of Martins but at least he had the b*lls to debate the issue unlike that Gobsh*te who’s idea it was in the first place.

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Tom Mulligan
    Favourite Tom Mulligan
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:36 PM

Yes but does he think he will be the next leader, time people woke up and realised who is really leading this country, and for the worse in my view.

Mute Richard Fennelly
    Favourite Richard Fennelly
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:41 PM

Very easy to pretend your brave and promise everything when your in opposition

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:45 PM

Basking I think is the proper word ;)

Mute David Wilson
    Favourite David Wilson
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:46 PM

How is this an ff victory. I was asked if I supported the removal of one of the few mechanisms of checks and balances on government in this country. I said no. If Martin chooses to ride on the coat tails of a farcical loss by a headless coalition , to my mind it only weakens his position.
    Martin only got involved in a no campaign for air time. He still remains a member of a party that sold this country out form under us.
    So in essence a fraud is claiming victory over an empty suit.
    I’ll still gladly accept your congratulations.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:47 PM

Theyre waiting for the advisors to come,

Mute David Wilson
    Favourite David Wilson
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:53 PM

Eh eh victory for democracy… Eh oh not a government campaign…and … Eh handed a economic disaster…um eh up mayo.

Mute Ronan Mac Gearailt
    Favourite Ronan Mac Gearailt
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:02 AM

It’s the only thing Mayo will win this year!

Mute aboutallthethings
    Favourite aboutallthethings
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:19 AM

In fairness, he doesn’t really have much left to loose by doing so!!

Mute James Corr
    Favourite James Corr
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:19 AM

Well said @DavidWilson . My ‘No’ vote was a’No’ vote, it wasn’t a vote for Fianna Fáil. In fact if I was asked to vote on abolishing Fianna Fáil I would have voted ‘YES’!

Mute wongstie
    Favourite wongstie
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:24 AM

Did the mayo minors not win the all Ireland??

Mute Dhakina's Sword
    Favourite Dhakina's Sword
    Oct 6th 2013, 1:52 AM

Not that I disagree with you Louis, but that might be unfair to sharks.

Mute Tim Higgins
    Favourite Tim Higgins
    Oct 6th 2013, 2:06 AM

Looks like 3 cats that got the cream.

Mute Dhakina's Sword
    Favourite Dhakina's Sword
    Oct 6th 2013, 3:41 AM

So true Richard. Cowardice is the road taken by those whose first priority is themselves, while those who are truly brave, take the road less travelled, when that path only benefits their companions first and themselves second.

Mute Aidan O Neill
    Favourite Aidan O Neill
    Oct 6th 2013, 6:26 AM

its not really about enda kenny the clever irish fool, but the fact that fine gael never looked into the future to see how their cheap political grab for power might look. It would be beneficial for sinn fein which is why it was the only referendum they have ever supported. Fine gael were thick and stupid for not looking into the long term to see how this might play. The senate was put there as a protection against extremism by wiser heads than enda kenny by people that grew up in extremist regimes.

Mute Greg Ward
    Favourite Greg Ward
    Oct 6th 2013, 8:09 AM

*you’re

Mute Oliver Golden
    Favourite Oliver Golden
    Oct 6th 2013, 8:53 AM

I can tell you that day you will never see!

Mute Larry Bird
    Favourite Larry Bird
    Oct 6th 2013, 10:03 AM

Just like Kenny did? I’d say he still can t believe his luck, he was leader of FG for 9 years spouting all sorts of sh**e, the only consolation I had was this guy would never be Taoiseach, unfortunately when the collapse happened in 2008, he saw his chance was around the corner, all he had to do was wait and he would be Taoiseach by default. Let’s face it, in most cases, people didn’t vote FG in, they voted FF out. Kenny has nothing but a good PR team behind him, Gilmore, we’ll, just look at him…
    People didn’t really give Bertie and the boys a second thought when the so called Celtic tiger was in full swing, it was only when their little part of the party might be taken away when the economy went down to plug hole did people go against them. ….
    Ah blast, I just had to change a nappy, and lost my train of thought, I’ll post anyway:)

Mute Paul Gurney
    Favourite Paul Gurney
    Oct 6th 2013, 9:29 PM

Well said david

Mute Anne O'Hara
    Favourite Anne O'Hara

I voted No because I read all I could find about ALL the implications and then decided for myself. I do not, have never and will never support any particular political party because in my opinion they are only interested in their own agenda and not the good of the country or anyone who lives here – voter or not. For any party to claim my choice as a vote for their party is an insult and pure arrogance on their behalf – which is why I am NOT surprised by their attitude.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen

Plus one

Mute Mary Griffin
    Favourite Mary Griffin
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:12 PM

Agree Anne. I do not think Micheál Martin can call it a victory for FF. It is a victory for common sense and thankfully enough right minded people came out to vote.

Mute Lassane Ouedraogo
    Favourite Lassane Ouedraogo
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:03 AM

I want to personally thank you all those who stood with courage and vote NO to defeat this government on this referendum. For those who also voted YES as their connection or affiliation to any political party or base on their own opinion, well done as you have your voices are respected. In regard to those who don’t think it is victory that it is on my personal view which I hope you will respect it. It is not a victory for any political party even tough I praise the courage of FF and all those who stood against this referendum and for their particular position in this Referendum. Otherwise it is the Irish people victory for rejecting the power grab and specially the lost of their rights of being consulted in EU and major decisions in the future if they had voted YES. I am referring to the article 27 of the current constitution which the Irish government has an obligation to consult its people in major decisions before making decisions. All that never been explained well in the campaign and that particular Article 27 and the Irish rights of being consulted would have been a big lost and it will be left only to the government to decide on their behalf. So well done to everyone who had their expression in referendum.

Mute John Fahey
    Favourite John Fahey
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:00 PM

Was hoping for yes vote but the people have spoken – however, FF are having a laugh if they try to claim this one by the back door!

Mute Buzz n Pip
    Favourite Buzz n Pip
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:58 PM

Haven’t they a hard neck claiming the no as anything to do with FF

Mute Rob Mahony
    Favourite Rob Mahony
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:09 PM

It cleary does have something to do with it. Just not as big a part as FF make out.

Mute Justin Healy
    Favourite Justin Healy
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:03 PM

Power corrupts. Clearly lack of power deludes.

Mute James Anthony Watson
    Favourite James Anthony Watson
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:58 PM

Can any sane person take this guy seriously, our severe budgets are on account of you and your party Michael, please don’t forget that as you seek to delight in the referendum outcome. It’s not on account of Fianna Fail that people voted in the way they did. Your naught but a shallow populist.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington

I wish FF would stop trying to hijack this result as being a major victory for them. They had nothing to do with influencing my vote anyway and its getting tiring listening to them sounding like they’ve achieved something. They haven’t…people have a deep mistrust of Kenny and indeed Martin…dont mis read what isn’t there.

Mute Niall Quinlan
    Favourite Niall Quinlan

Just two years ago Mehole and his FF bandits were strongly behind the abolition of the Seanad then changed their position when they realised public support for this was lukewarm so they jumped onto the “No” bandwagon and are now trying to claim political gain. Their collective arrogance hasn’t changed one iota so don’t be fooled again, leopards don’t change their spots.

Mute Tommy Heatly
    Favourite Tommy Heatly
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:40 PM

Sounds like the lab and fg supporters are out now one thing is for sure Enda won’t be commenting or debating as he is CHICKEN

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:46 PM

I am actually a Sinn Fein supporter Tommy and i agree with Niall.

Mute Tommy Heatly
    Favourite Tommy Heatly

Lol yeah like they didnt flip flop on it.Their party leader wanted a no vote.yet they followed Enda and eamonns lead well done shinners you got it wrong again.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:03 PM

Again you seem to think this vote had something to do with the parties stance on it.I voted with my own mind.If Sinn fein jumped off a bridge i wouldn’t jump to. I think for myself and dont follow blindly SF as you do FF. Gullible you are. I voted NO knowing it was the right thing to do to protect my kids and my fellow country people. I am not a sheep.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:05 PM

p.s since you keep calling SF supporters Shinners,should i call you a fail?

Mute Roy Gallagher
    Favourite Roy Gallagher
    Oct 6th 2013, 10:33 AM

Sinn fein wouldn’t jump off a bridge but the might try to convience you to, all in the name of Irish Freedom.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:39 PM

Dont be daft!

Mute Liz Potts
    Favourite Liz Potts
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:26 PM

I’ll still be saying no to Fianna Fáil at the next election- muppets!

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:15 PM

Just how stupid does Martin think we are? Every ridiculous populist platitude he comes out with is an insult to the electorates intelligence.

You were in power for fourteen years, you left just three years ago Micheál and the country hasn’t suffered a head injury and subsequent collective amnesia.

Mute Martin Stapleton
    Favourite Martin Stapleton
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:55 PM

Ah, I think you’ll find that only some of the people said no, they rest couldn’t be bothered to turn up and that’s thanks to your lot as well so get down of your high horse!

Mute Sinead Cosgrave
    Favourite Sinead Cosgrave
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:01 PM

At least the people who went out and voted care about what happens to our country and FF can feck off if they think I voted because they encouraged me !!!

Mute FactualFrank
    Favourite FactualFrank

Ah now they did Sinead, ive seen your bebo stunnah photos in Fianna Fail pyjamas ;)

Mute Proinsias Ó Fearghail
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Fearghail
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:06 PM

Feck off Meehole. Voted against Kenny&co, not yes to your shower. Settle,boy!

Mute James Lawless
    Favourite James Lawless
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:07 PM

Only party to back the winning side in this referendum. Others ran for cover (Labour) or were desperate to back a winner (SF). Well done Fianna Fáil for sticking to your guns.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:11 PM

Should change your second name to clueless lol

Mute Fiona Ryan
    Favourite Fiona Ryan
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:17 PM

Are you serious? Short memory haven’t you??

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:25 PM

In 2011 they were for Seanad abolition if they changed a few rules in the oireachtas, all of which gave more power to the Dáil. To my knowledge they didn’t make any of these proposals during the debate over the last few weeks. You can see the manifesto here. http://fail.3cdn.net/9bab6b928c527f3728_60am6gzlc.pdf

Mute Triona Murphy
    Favourite Triona Murphy

?????…The Socialist party and the Greens also backed a no vote!

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:54 PM

The socialist party backed a yes vote. They had posters all over Dublin banging on about elitism and misrepresenting the electorate figures.

And I have no idea what the Green Party said, certainly didn’t see any signs anywhere.

Mute Fiona Ryan
    Favourite Fiona Ryan

Eh no socialist party backed a Yes vote.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:55 PM

The greens who are they ? Was that tumble weed blowing by? Green bahahahaha Arent they the bunch of FF lap dogs who got shafted by FF and they went on with out them?
    Greens are no one and should go away and hide in shame.

Mute Teresa Scanlon
    Favourite Teresa Scanlon
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:02 PM

Fianna Fail member then James

Mute Triona Murphy
    Favourite Triona Murphy
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:27 PM

APOLOGIES…I meant the SP and Greens backed the YES vote…(mortified!!)

Mute Lionel Hutz
    Favourite Lionel Hutz
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:41 PM

Triona greens backed no. SP backed yes.

Mute Triona Murphy
    Favourite Triona Murphy
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:03 AM

Think I better get me coat!! :-(

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Oct 6th 2013, 1:13 AM

What do you mean by sticking to their guns, it wasn’t so long ago they wanted to close it as we’ll ya bleedin muppet

Mute Blacksod63
    Favourite Blacksod63
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:32 PM

FF jumping on bandwagon! They think they’ve won something! A long way off anything like victory

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:16 PM

I hope the Dial gets the message! It’s NO and it will stay NO!

Mute Conor flood
    Favourite Conor flood
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:56 PM

Idiot . The irish people voted no because of a creepy mistrust of the democratic process . A mistrust created by the failures , lies , and incompetences of at least two governments that combover twit was part of . How thick does he think we are ?

Mute Ru Ni Digs
    Favourite Ru Ni Digs
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:49 PM

If you have ever seen the South Park episode “Smug Alert”,what these 3 are actually doing in the above picture is smelling their own farts!!!

Mute Pat Lynch
    Favourite Pat Lynch
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:01 AM

Absolutely spot on, I can smell them from here!

Mute jom eade
    Favourite jom eade
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:18 AM

Totally tripping balls right now!!

Mute Daryl Walsh
    Favourite Daryl Walsh
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:00 PM

It goes to show how deluded FF are that they actually believe people voted NO because they were in favour of it. The no vote was carried because people are fed up of government spin and lies. FG destroyed the Yes vote with their lies about how much could be saved and also Edna hadn’t the balls to debate his argument for.

Mute Damian Moran
    Favourite Damian Moran
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:51 AM

I voted no but if FF think they have influenced me they are mistaken.
    I can’t forget the destroyed this country.
    FF,FG,Greens and Labour ruined this country.

Mute Jazz O'Gorman
    Favourite Jazz O'Gorman
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:08 PM

It makes no odds, the daft electorate will put FF back ip there again and the nurses can’t wait, bring back the Xmas bonus too.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 6th 2013, 1:21 AM

Dear Meehole,

The “No” win today had very little to do with supporting Fianna Failure.

Mute Jack Corbett
    Favourite Jack Corbett
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:50 PM

The fact that FF were the ones advocating a ‘No’ vote was almost enough to make me abstain. Martin and his herd of parasitic, cynical, delusional thugs have gone and crossed the line from the desperate to the pathetic. Piggybacking on a protest vote is not a victory. It’s a last gasp. I may not trust Fine Gael, and Labour may be the most incompetent grouping of political hobbyists in the Western Hemisphere, but the thought of having the toxic paws of these criminal lackeys anywhere near the reform of the Seanad makes me nauseous. I campaigned for a ‘No’ vote because this Government didn’t do enough to convince me that they had done enough homework on the implications and necessities of moving from a bicameral to a unicameral parliament. FF making political noises in the background was at best an annoyance. I am disgusted at the thought that my vote could ever be considered an endorsement of them.

Mute Pat Lynch
    Favourite Pat Lynch
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:59 PM

Those smug looking FF ********, and Mehole trying to make out it was all his doing. I am encouraged to see so many people take it for what it is, sheer opportunism by the most corrupt political party the state has known.

Mute Ken Healy
    Favourite Ken Healy
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:51 PM

That’s right Michael Martin we want political reform …….. I’ll be the first to show you the door.

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid

Today was a huge victory for Fianna Fáil. There can be no serious doubt about that.

Mute Stephanie Fleming

Yes, there can. It’s only a victory for FF in that it’s a loss for FG and Labour.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:22 PM

It’s as much a victory as Thierry Henry’s handball … #HollowedOut #Meaningless

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:29 PM

Wrong on both counts to you both> The victory here was for Irish people.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Oct 6th 2013, 1:17 AM

Another bleedin muppet, where did ye all come from?

Mute Fiona Ryan
    Favourite Fiona Ryan
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:15 PM

Power grab my arse. As if the Seanad had any kind of real power to begin with. 50 years and only two referrals to the Supreme Court? Where were they as a check against the government during the crippling austerity budgets (some of which was fianna fail introduced just to make the irony complete)?

There will be no reform, all we,be done is maintain an elitist institution. Any reform will require another referendum as the Seanad is so enshrined in the constitution and that ain’t happening! Plus the Quinn/zappone reform proposal is just a maintenance of the same elitist electoral ideology that dictates current Seanad elections.. Nope, we’ve gone and bitten our noses off to spite out faces!

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Oct 6th 2013, 6:46 AM

Agree with you there, it’s a vote no to stick it to Enda where it could have been vote yes stick it to all our politicians. We had a chance to kick sixty really useless politicians off the gravy train and we did not take it

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Oct 6th 2013, 9:53 AM

Andrew problem was a full reform package was never presented. Only part. That coupled with Enda going to ground and a 20 million figure that they couldn’t substantiate. Second time they lost a referendum because their selling was poor. Heads need to roll. Especially Endas overpaid advisors

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:31 PM

As far as I can see reform of this only became a reality for the no side when their jobs were threatened. For eighty odd years they have sat there without accountability, delayed the odd thing and collected the pay cheque , allowances , mileage , expenses and pensions. We saw with Callory the respect he gave the people of Ireland.
    In the last forty years I have heard the constant complaints , of too many politicians , overpaid, lazy, gravy train etc. yesterday we had a chance to make redundancies in Leinster House and we did not take that chance. I firmly believe the politicians are so dislocated from the decisions they make that effect other people’s lives that only the reality of sixty redundancies would bring home the anger and pain there decisions create

Mute Fiona Ryan
    Favourite Fiona Ryan
    Oct 6th 2013, 1:07 PM

Gerbreen, it wasn’t just Fine Gael and labour advocating a Yes vote so the idea that its a valid point to vote Bo because no principled Yes argument was put forth doesn’t hold water. The only parties that advocated a No vote were Fianna Fáil as a complete populist move ( a party that two years ago pushed for abolition as well) and direct democracy. And then there’s the Seanad backed Democracy Matters and all their arguments boiled down to was “sure ye can’t trust the government!”

There were plenty of good argument in favour of abolition and even more against how reform isn’t a realistic goal outside of Kennys rhetoric. People obviously weren’t looking.

Mute John Phelan
    Favourite John Phelan
    Oct 6th 2013, 1:24 AM

It’s not a time for gloating. This is a victory for the Irish peoples democracy. it was the right thing to do.

Mute Colin B
    Favourite Colin B
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:16 AM

In fairness the final vote was so close that without FF support the result would probably have been a ‘Yes’. But it’s a bit early for them to get too cocky. I can’t see any situation that I’d ever consider voting for them in the future. People haven’t forgotten what they did to this country.

Mute Harry Murray
    Favourite Harry Murray

First time an article made me wanna spit :-(

Mute colin
    Favourite colin
    Oct 6th 2013, 2:42 AM

Arrogant pompous slimeball. This is in no way a FF victory. We were asked a question and we gave an answer, it had nothing to do with FF or with SF. How they can stand there and claim this as a victory for them personally is disrespectful to those who voted using their own knowledge and beliefs. Also I can’t believe they are still spouting this populist power grab nonsense. The seanad was not to be abolished until after the next election so it’s not like FG will ever benefit from it’s abolition.

I hate politics and I especially hate being used as a pawn by these spineless alleycats in their game of self promotion.

Mute rsdowney
    Favourite rsdowney
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:56 PM

Funny, I thought I read an article in 2013 were a member of F Fail was expounding the righteous views of the soldiers of destiny which referenced the Irish people doing THEIR bidding.

This has to be the most wonderful case of plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose

Mute jom eade
    Favourite jom eade
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:20 AM

Nothing like a good ex-pounding for old times sake!!

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:39 PM

FF showed true leadership , there mobilisation of the voices of reason protected our democracy. They have got rid of the Gombeen men and are now fit to serve this nation if called. The good servants of the state know more pay and more welfare, the economy would have been fine only for the world crisis and Leamans going bust. Arise the soldiers of destiny you country needs you guidance

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:58 PM

I can only assume you’re being sarcastic.

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Oct 6th 2013, 1:18 AM

No Andrew it had more to do with Enda having no balls.

Mute Nigel O Keeffe
    Favourite Nigel O Keeffe
    Oct 6th 2013, 1:19 AM

so every FF member who was in gov in 2008 are gone?dont think so.

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Oct 6th 2013, 6:59 AM

Hopefully yes. But they are coming up in the poles their constant mantra is been repeated, The bad boys are gone, the bubble was Lehmans fault and as always the leader of the opposition is a idiot. There is not one leader of FF who has his reputation intact since J Lynch yet the leader of the opposition is always a idiot.

Mute Lord Loverocket
    Favourite Lord Loverocket
    Oct 6th 2013, 3:15 AM

Míchael, if you think this is a victory for FF, then you’re even more deluded than I thought you were. The electorate aren’t sheep, we can make our own minds up without being told to tow a party line. The fact that you’re trying to play this out as an endorsement of FF policy is quite frankly pitiful. Clutching at straws Mr Nevertobetaoiseach.

Mute Prof. Bernard Feck
    Favourite Prof. Bernard Feck
    Oct 6th 2013, 9:52 AM

Ah! Great to see Martin still deluded as ever, as Bertie’s yes man he destroyed the country for the foreseeable future. But if he holds tight the Irish people will welcome him back with the attitude “arah sure wasn’t he great to get away with it” or “who wouldn’t have done the same”. If FF rise to power again we’ll get what we deserve!

Mute Ken Healy
    Favourite Ken Healy
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:48 PM

Langer!

Mute Michael Fagan
    Favourite Michael Fagan
    Oct 6th 2013, 2:07 AM

Look at the foto asleep standing up hands on ba//s

Mute Oliver Golden
    Favourite Oliver Golden
    Oct 6th 2013, 8:55 AM

Hon Fianna Fáil! :)

Mute Lord Loverocket
    Favourite Lord Loverocket
    Oct 6th 2013, 11:31 AM

Suppose this is the closest to an election victory that the Fianna Failures will get in the next 20 years so best enjoy it Oliver.

Mute The Bourgeois Pope
    Favourite The Bourgeois Pope
    Oct 6th 2013, 3:48 AM

WTF, FF WIN