You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 Good morning! Here are nine things to know before you start your day…

EACH DAY, TheJournal.ie brings you nine things you should know with your morning cup of coffee.

1. #SYRIA: US President Barack Obama has given the green light for weapons to be sent to Syrian rebels for the first time. The decision came after the White House confirmed it had conclusive evidence that Bashar Asssad was using chemical weapons against opposition.

2. #CRIME: A young woman with special needs was seriously sexually assaulted in Dublin’s city centre on Wednesday afternoon. Gardaí have issued an appeal for information about the brutal attack.

3. #POLITICS: The latest political opinion poll shows that Fianna Fáil, with 26 per cent support, is the most popular party in Ireland. In the Irish Times/Ipsos MRBI poll, Gerry Adams emerged as the most popular party leader.

4. #ABORTION: Sinn Féin’s Gerry Adams has said voting against the Protection of Life during Pregnancy Bill 2013 will be seen as a serious breach of party rules. Despite the warning, Meath West Peadar Tóibín said he will be voting against the legislation.

5. #TRAGEDY: The Bolger family has asked mourners to donate money to the RNLI instead of bringing flowers to the funerals of the three fishermen who died at sea on Wednesday. Paul, Shane and Kenny will all be laid to rest on Saturday.

6. #JOBS: Some welcome news for Limerick this morning as RTÉ reports that 142 positions will be created by CPL as part of a €20 million investment.

7. #FIGHT: Two women were arrested by gardaí following what has been described as a topless brawl in Limerick last Friday. The Irish Examiner reports the fight broke out when parents were bringing their children to school.

8. #HOMELESSNESS: There are seven new homeless people on Dublin street every day, according to new figures. There are at least 94 rough sleepers on any given night in the city.

9. #999: Police in Britain have released details of a bizarre emergency call during which a man complained that a sex worker “misrepresented” herself in a newspaper ad. Listen to the 999 call.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

6 Comments
    Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Mar 18th 2017, 2:52 PM

Not good enough to just refund the ticket price. That won’t cover the additional cost of traveling there. Surely there must be some form of sanction against over selling tickets, but being Ireland, probably not.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:32 PM

@Dilly Dong: lol!

Mute Lee Jones
    Favourite Lee Jones
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:35 PM

@Dilly Dong: the place was full of grown men and women playing the game while the kids that were there could not get a chance on the games it was pathetic.

Mute Andrew Ryan
    Favourite Andrew Ryan
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:38 PM

It may amaze you but the target audience for most entertainment/video games is 18-30 year old males.

Mute 8bitplebian
    Favourite 8bitplebian
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:06 PM

@Dilly Dong: This is about GamerCon, not the que for Coppers.

Mute A Random Guy
    Favourite A Random Guy
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:10 PM

@Dilly Dong: I suppose they should just watch a dvd and talk shite like most people do

Mute john reidy
    Favourite john reidy
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:19 PM
    Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:36 PM

@Dilly Dong: Don’t worry, they’ll let you out one day.

Mute James Guinan
    Favourite James Guinan
    Mar 18th 2017, 6:06 PM

@Dilly Dong: All us moaners and nerds on the journal.ie would probally end up dying to be honest. God forbid we would all be in a que with eachother, with some decrying communism, others that Trump is the saviour and all inbetween trying to poont out logical fallacies at eachother in attempts to claim some sort of superfical victory. Yea, we would all certainly die, the gamer nerds merely just go around saying ‘your mom’ at eachother.

Mute Hupthejaysus
    Favourite Hupthejaysus
    Mar 18th 2017, 7:54 PM

Why should kids skip the line? They probably got discounted tickets and and no doubt adults appreciate the experience just as much as them if they’ve paid for a ticket. I hate parents who feel like just because they have cute children everyone else should care too. I have 2 kids by the way.

Mute leonard byrne
    Favourite leonard byrne
    Mar 18th 2017, 8:22 PM

@Dilly Dong: and your here reading about them not having left your bedroom in ten odd years Mr dong

Mute Psych-nesss
    Favourite Psych-nesss
    Mar 18th 2017, 10:52 PM

@billy Dong! You complete moron! The name of the event is “Gamercon”!!! It is for gamers! But unfortunately we saw more of the CON the the gamer !

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:11 PM

“We have offered a full refund for those who decided not to attend”
    Decided not to attend??? It sounds like people had no choice in the matter.

Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:50 PM

@Joe Bloggs: it’s only a partial refund they’re giving people

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Mar 18th 2017, 6:39 PM

@Peter King: it’s not, it’s a full refund if you didn’t get in, it’s on the game con website.

Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    Mar 18th 2017, 2:49 PM

Was waiting for hour and half before giving up. Absolute joke. Obvious they grossly oversold tickets. Just plain greed.

Mute David Vaughan
    Favourite David Vaughan
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:11 PM

Got in queue at 1030, was lucky to get indoors at 1100. Utter chaos inside, overcrowded, couldn’t turn around without hitting someone.
    Just to move around between floors, queues because of the crowds trying to get on the escalator.
    Queues 5 and 6 deep around every stand.
    Incredibly badly organized.
    The organisers have questions to answer on the safety, they had to know exactly what amount of tickets were sold. And convention center should have ensured the maximum number was adhered to.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 18th 2017, 9:22 PM

@David Vaughan: This is Ireland. It’s max the profit at every hands turn, and to hell with the paying public.

Mute Robert Allen
    Favourite Robert Allen
    Mar 22nd 2017, 9:25 AM

@David Vaughan: Same. Left an hour later as it was not safe for a 9 year old. Decided not to use the weekend ticket. Guess what, no refund for us. I will not support this ever again.

Mute Steve Monk
    Favourite Steve Monk
    Mar 18th 2017, 2:57 PM

I’ve deleted this because of the removal of the red thumb

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:36 PM

@Steve Monk: booooooohooooo

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    Mar 18th 2017, 2:55 PM

Apparantly people being told they can gain entry tomorrow on a saturday ticket if you couldnt get in. If thats the case itll be worse tomorrow than today. Not sure if ill go tomorrow, havent broke the news to my daughter yet

Mute Geraldine Lawlor
    Favourite Geraldine Lawlor
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:40 PM

@Sam: we have tickets for tomorrow. That’s what I was afraid would happen. We are going in but kids have been well warned. I am dreading it

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:50 PM

@Geraldine Lawlor: same. Im leaving at the crack of dawn to head up to Dublin but ive warned her what it may be like. Really hoping its not as bad as today!

Mute patchotoole
    Favourite patchotoole
    Mar 18th 2017, 8:04 PM

@Sam: Hi Sam. Just signed up to journal to give you my advice. If you are guaranteed your money back I would skip it and spend the money on something for your daughter. It was pretty awful. We got in after 40min delay. Ground floor is a gamestop shop plus a few other stalls, and an area for people to play games on an assortment of platforms. 1st floor is a competition area that is mostly just waiting for a competition to take place. 2nd is VIP meet and greet with 2nd rate you tubers. And 3rd floor is the auditorium with occasional talks. Overall grubby, packed and just not worth it. And just to note the VIP ticket appears to be a real swizz. Doesn’t get you in a lot faster. And forget the app. Its schedule times bears could beat be described as alternative facts.

Mute Richard Brogan
    Favourite Richard Brogan
    Mar 18th 2017, 9:06 PM

Don’t go I was there with the kids today.It was probably one of the worst experiences of my life.The kids did not in joy themselves at all.We couldn’t even move in the rooms.

Mute Gordon Walsh
    Favourite Gordon Walsh
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:01 PM

Worst Web Summit Ever, Paddy Cosgrove has a lot to answer for.

Mute Breda Kelly
    Favourite Breda Kelly
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:00 PM

Well, they named it right. Gamer CON.

Mute Justin Gabriel
    Favourite Justin Gabriel
    Mar 18th 2017, 2:57 PM

Up down left right press a and start together. Level skip. Sonic :-)

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:33 PM

Old school case of hungry hungry hippos. Knom knom knom knom. Hungry ba***rds.

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:13 PM

@Martin Flood: stolen money, crying children, soaking wet, hours in wasted journeys from all over the country?? Get back in your cave you troll

Mute Colm Lundberg
    Favourite Colm Lundberg
    Mar 18th 2017, 5:26 PM

There are over a dozen, volunteer run gaming hobby conventions in Ireland (board games, role playing games & video games) in addition to the comic cons and cosplay cons that are run to a very professional degree, are immense fun and have never had, in my experience over 20 years, such catastrophic poor planning – unless it was a conscious decision, of course. A lot of these are on http://irishgamingwiki.com/wiki/Front_Page if you want to explore your hobby at a well-run event.

Mute Gooney
    Favourite Gooney
    Mar 18th 2017, 2:54 PM

Honestly the worst event I have ever been at .Qued for over an hour and then told we could not get in.Walked away then tried the main door and literally just walked in.The main forum was beyond shite!A big glorified GameStop really!Feel bad for the kids who did not get in!

Mute 8bitplebian
    Favourite 8bitplebian
    Mar 18th 2017, 2:56 PM

@Gooney: Worst. Conference. Ever.

Mute Gooney
    Favourite Gooney
    Mar 18th 2017, 2:58 PM

@8bitplebian: haha so bad

Mute Lee Jones
    Favourite Lee Jones
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:34 PM

@8bitplebian: I was there with my 9 year old, terrible half the games were taken with grown men playing them with the kids not getting a chance and the place was very dangerous it was that full my son started panicking we had to leave will never go to another one of these again.

Mute Phil Swan
    Favourite Phil Swan
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:07 PM

@Peter Cavey: sorry but I’d have to agree with Martin. We bring these problems on ourselves most times. Same trouble at a local play centre out my way, people standing in the rain for hours waiting to get in to an over crowded facility instead of bringing their kids to the park or the beach or hill walking and teaching them how to have fun without getting sucked in to the madness of ‘first world problems’. I drove passed the centre thinking why would they stand in the rain outside some pissy place when they could be in a playground in the rain enjoying themselves for free?

Mute Ian O'Flynn
    Favourite Ian O'Flynn
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:25 PM

Changing the terms and conditions post sale of tickets is illegal right?

Mute Tim Nelligan
    Favourite Tim Nelligan
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:10 PM

No more red thumb/downvote/dislike option for comments?

Wow. Fascist snowflakes…..

Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:38 PM

@Tim Nelligan: outrage about lack of a dislike button and you call others snowflakes? Hahaha

Mute oldon
    Favourite oldon
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:26 PM

Anyone sold a valid ticket . Should take the ccd and the event organisers to small claims court.
    Claim their expenses and the distress caused. This is nothing more then greed . They new the max capacity of the venue. Very poor show indeed.

Mar 18th 2017, 4:54 PM

@oldon: don’t think you can sue for distress ..

Mute oldon
    Favourite oldon
    Mar 18th 2017, 5:43 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: you can claim for your time the money you spent . IE hotel train bus fuel. Also your time and the the waste of said time. It all has value.

Mute D'Murph
    Favourite D'Murph
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:38 PM

This is what happens when Commerical organization does not know it’s client base. To expect young gamers with their parents to rotate quickly is not going to happen.
    They need a bigger venue, very badly organized. A refund is no good to parents and disappointment if customers today.

Mute John Hayes
    Favourite John Hayes

Greed is an awful trait.

Mute Emmet O'Keeffe
    Favourite Emmet O'Keeffe

Scammer Central.

Mute James O Carroll
    Favourite James O Carroll

i’m just so glad i didn’t decide to go. Dublin Comic Con, which is also head in the dublin convention center, is a better option for people who couldn’t get into gamercon. more people in costumes too

Mute Brian MacCarthaigh
    Favourite Brian MacCarthaigh
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:46 PM

Sue the blastards. Absolutely disgraceful carry on altogether.

Mute Is mise leanbh mór
    Favourite Is mise leanbh mór
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:28 PM

F@#king d@#ks. Kids in the rain for hours. Brilliant.

Mute Is mise leanbh mór
    Favourite Is mise leanbh mór
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:55 PM

@Joe:Ha ha good man Joe.

Mute Emily King
    Favourite Emily King

Except it’s not a full refund, it’s a partial refund.

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Mar 18th 2017, 5:32 PM

Absolutely disgraceful and a complete and utter shambles all because of greed in over selling the event. Hundreds turned away ??? More like thousands. The queue was like the bloody Great Wall of China. Queuing for hours and still no sign of the entrance. The queue snaking around adjacent buildings and streets, never seen anything like it. Spoke to people that did get, they where saying it was like sardines, couldn’t see or get to anything, downright dangerous.
    Full unconditional refund expected.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:02 PM

Bigger venue needed next time

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:49 PM

Monkey see, monkey do. The government is ripping us off, vulture funds are ripping us off, the EU is ripping us off, sure ticket sellers were bound to start doing it eventually. Oh wait….

Mute Tara Smyth
    Favourite Tara Smyth
    Mar 18th 2017, 6:30 PM

My lads went today, luckily they were there when the doors opened. I say luckily, it really wasn’t, they both said it’s the worst convention they’ve been to. 3 merch stands, a retro games section. Not worth the price of the tickets, I wouldn’t bother trying to go tomorrow.

Mute Martin Murphy
    Favourite Martin Murphy
    Mar 18th 2017, 6:19 PM

This looks like plain and simple greed and may be illegal.
    They should not have sold a single ticket over the capacity of the venue.
    People should sue.

Mute Richard Brady
    Favourite Richard Brady
    Mar 18th 2017, 5:16 PM

It was an absolute disgrace there today. The fact that they have said they will allow today’s tickets be used tomorrow proves their greed and lack of respect for the health, safety and comfort of their patrons. I left after three hours 12.00 -15-00 and was just half way round. Even if i had stayed it would have been over before i had of got in by what i had seen.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:16 PM

Gamer ConARTISTS

Mute Richie C
    Favourite Richie C
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:28 PM

The only fresh air these nerds will get all year.

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:42 PM

@Richie C: That’s the funniest and most original comment I’ve ever heard.

Are you a professional comedian by anychance?

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:16 PM

It has turned into an unmitigated disaster – and another day to go!
    Someone needs to be massive fined for this – but thanks to elected, Ireland does bugger all accountability!

See: https://goo.gl/o0QB1e

Mute selfsustainable
    Favourite selfsustainable
    Mar 18th 2017, 6:20 PM

Probably the longest time those kids have been outside in the fresh air for years, put a bit of colour back on their pasty indoor faces!

Mute John15
    Favourite John15
    Mar 18th 2017, 5:28 PM

Managed to get in the front door while security wasn’t looking after queuing for an hour. It was pure crap. Only a few stands inside. You had to queue for 40 minutes to try anything on those stands. Over a 2 hour wait for to try the virtual reality. What a joke of a conference. No one at any stand accepted vip tickets.

Mute Diogenes
    Favourite Diogenes
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:10 PM

Bwaaahahaha

Mute Aindriú Dissident Orkney
    Favourite Aindriú Dissident Orkney
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:01 PM

If they held the event over three or four days for ticket holders only, then the issues might not have happened..

Mute DaisyChainsaw
    Favourite DaisyChainsaw
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:41 PM

GamerCon?

ConGamers.

Mute Ruby Carter
    Favourite Ruby Carter
    Mar 18th 2017, 6:22 PM

Stop commenting!!! Bring back our red thumbs

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:35 PM

@Peter Cavey: Some people DO live in caves. Now that’s a genuine reason to complain. And even then they probably don’t because they understand there are people worse off again.

Mute Ian Drohan
    Favourite Ian Drohan
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:18 PM

Scam

Mute Rob Liebenberg
    Favourite Rob Liebenberg
    Mar 18th 2017, 10:41 PM

The capacity claims by the organisers are ridiculous , The top floor was closed, the auditorium that seats 2000 was only partly used and never more than a quarter full, subtract that from their claimed total and you will have a true reflection of what numbers they should have worked with 5000 max. they ran out of food by 1.30 pm and the list goes on, these guys are clowns,never ever will they see 1 penny from again.

Mute Claire Jones
    Favourite Claire Jones
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:48 PM

If feel sorry for these people only its such a daft event.

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Mar 18th 2017, 8:50 PM

ah, theres to many people cramming into dublin anyway and where theres free events, forget it. gone be the days when you’d have chance. its all queues now and sold out events. great for the capitalists though. enjoy!

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:17 PM

Will Someone Please Think Of The Children !! Really ? They would be far worse off living in a hotel room long term. Get over it !

Mute Stephen McInerney
    Favourite Stephen McInerney
    Mar 18th 2017, 5:59 PM

Absolute joke!! Greed before safety!!!!

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Mar 18th 2017, 11:18 PM

and round two tomorrow!!! What a joke of a setup – organisers a bunch of amateurs they deserve to be fleeched.

Mute EllieDeath
    Favourite EllieDeath
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:55 PM

is it bad i will be going in sunday with friends just wondering

Mute ▁ ▂ ▃ ▄ ▅ ▆ ▇ ‏
    Favourite ▁ ▂ ▃ ▄ ▅ ▆ ▇ ‏
    Mar 18th 2017, 4:40 PM

Hell hath no fury like a rain-drenched nerd scorned.

Mute Psych-nesss
    Favourite Psych-nesss
    Mar 18th 2017, 10:50 PM

Worst day of my ds life! My ds has Autism I lost my son “while standing beside him” due to crowd bashing! This event was a disaster a disgrace and completely and utterly unorganised!

Mute Soft Wind Roses
    Favourite Soft Wind Roses
    Mar 19th 2017, 12:50 AM

What is it , anyway ?
    Sounds like Hell to me ..
    gamers ??

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Mar 19th 2017, 2:43 AM

Bureaucracy strikes again.

Mute Janet Ní Shuilleabháin
    Favourite Janet Ní Shuilleabháin
    Mar 18th 2017, 6:32 PM

Shocked to see this, then again it is for profit event.
    Other gaming and scifi conventions have been running for 25 to 30 years with out treating people so badly.

Mute Stephen O'Donoghue
    Favourite Stephen O'Donoghue
    Mar 18th 2017, 5:03 PM

@Sam: Agree Sam, but I think you mean sad ass troll…..

Mute Anna Clarke
    Favourite Anna Clarke
    Mar 21st 2017, 3:02 AM

I was discussed at the way gamer con was organised Young children standing in line for four hours to see Allie A and nothing to entertain them they were tired and boared and jumping on chairs running up and down the corridors and stairs.Accident waiting to happen and we cant blame the parents or children .The organisers should have Allie A there a lot early as it was mostly young children that was waiting to see Allie A No barriers up to dived people so people pushed in and cause Bedlem People got very Angery Never again would I go The boys enjoyed it but I did;nt It hard to watch children when it is so crowded and people pushing all the time,

Mute Damien Niamh Robinson McCarthy
    Favourite Damien Niamh Robinson McCarthy
    Mar 18th 2017, 3:23 PM

Obviously their virtual world does not transmit to the real world.

Mute Paul Carey
    Favourite Paul Carey
    Mar 18th 2017, 5:42 PM

I am so glad that we didn’t go!