You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

GOOD MORNING

The 9 at 9 It’s Sunday, so whether it’s your day of rest or you’ve got a hectic one, we have all you need to know.

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you the nine stories you need to know as you kick off your day.

1.#CRITICAL: Labour senator Jimmy Harte is in a critical condition in hospital after being found with serious head injuries in Dublin. Senator Harte, who is from Donegal but was staying at a family property, was found in the early hours of yesterday.

2.#ROAD DEATH: A woman in her 60s was killed when she was struck by a car in Leitrim. The pedestrian was crossing a road on the outskirts of Mohill. Gardaí are appealing for witnesses.

3.#SPIN: The Government did a deal with the Troika to spin the Budget differently at home and in Europe, the Sunday Business Post is reporting. The story cites a Government memo that agrees that the level of adjustments would be presented as €2.5 billion at home and €3.1 billion in Europe.

4.#PILLS: Experts are calling for action on the level of antibiotics prescribed to patients. A Lancet editorial says that the pills are “handed out like cough sweets”. Scientists say that resistance to antibiotics is growing due to their over-prescription.

5.#ENDA THE LINE?: Three Irish MEPs have confirmed that there is a strong desire for Enda Kenny to take one of the top two jobs in Europe next year. Mairead McGuinness, Seán Kelly and Jim Higgins told TheJournal.ie that the Taoiseach is “highly regarded” in Europe, but they don’t think he will take the job.

6.#CUTS: The Health Minister is going to have to find double the initial saving of €666 million outlined, the Sunday Independent reports. James Reilly will have to cut €1.2 billion from his department’s budget next year.

7.#HERO: A Luas driver who saved the life of a woman – and then went back to work – has spoken of the dramatic moments when he and others pulled a woman from the Grand Canal. Philip Redmond will receive an award for his actions.

8.#COURT: A man will appear in a Wexford court this morning charged in connection with a €700,000 cannabis seizure. The man, in his 50s, was arrested after gardaí found the drugs at a house in Ballymurn.

9.#GHOSTBUSTERS: The Government will begin demolishing ghost estates next year, The Sunday Times reports. The Department of Environment will work with local authorities and developers, the paper reports.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.