You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

9 spectacular Irish buildings that were never built

The designs range from a proposed raised railway along the Liffey, to a railway terminus in Blacksod Bay, Co. Mayo to an unbuilt design for St. Fin Barre’s Cathedral, Cork.

FOLLOWING ON FROM our piece last week on eight Irish buildings that vanished, disappeared or were demolished, today we are taking a look at nine impressive designs that never got to see the light of day.

The images are all from Archiseek.com, a website dedicated to Irish architecture, particularly historical buildings that either never were or that have now vanished.

From a proposed  raised railway along the southern Liffey Quays, Dublin, to a railway terminus in Blacksod Bay, Co. Mayo to an unbuilt design for St. Fin Barre’s Cathedral, Cork, we can but only daydream as to what these buildings might have been like.

Paul Clerkin founder of Archiseek.com takes us one step closer to the structures that never were, through competitions lost, unrealised commissions or unappreciated designs.

So, here are nine spectacular Irish buildings that were never built:

Unbuilt Ireland
1 / 9
  • Unbuilt Ireland

1856 – Design for Wellington Testimonial, Phoenix Park, Dublin. “Of all the public monuments raised in honor of the Duke of Wellington, that of the citizens of Dublin is, if not the most graceful, at least the most colossal and magnificent. It stands on very elevated ground in the Phoenix Park and consists of an unadorned Obelisk, resting on a pedestal 56 feet square and 24 feet high, which is accessible by a pyramidal flight of steps, making a total height of 205 feet. The pedestal is intended to be ornamented with bas-relief medallions, representing the chief battles won by His Grace, and an insulated pedestal on the east side, is intended also to support an equestrian statue of the Hero of Waterloo. For those embellishments, the requisite funds are as yet wanting. The sides of the Obelisk are inscribed with the names of the several victories gained by the Duke. The whole monument is of cut granite, and was raised at an expense of about £20,000.″ (Image: Archiseek.com)
  • Unbuilt Ireland

1862 – Unbuilt design for St. Fin Barre’s Cathedral, Cork. The design was published in The Building News, 11 October 1872. In February 1863, William Burges was declared the winner. The Cathedral accounts records show the payment of the winning prize was £100 but the design greatly exceeded the stipulated cost, which really annoyed people at the time. (Image: Archiseek.com)
  • Unbuilt Ireland

1769 – Design for the Royal Exchange, Dublin, now City Hall, was executed by Irish Architect Francis Sandys for an architecture competition to design the building. There were approximately 61 entries from architects in Ireland and England. Thomas Cooley won the competition and James Gandon was runner-up. Cooley’s design was built and can be visited today. (Image: Archiseek.com)
  • Unbuilt Ireland

1814 – Design for a drum and dome on completed General Post Office on Sackville (now O’Connell) Street. (Image: Archiseek.com)
  • Unbuilt Ireland

1915 – Railway Terminus, Blacksod Bay, Co. Mayo. An unbuilt proposal for a large railway terminus to serve as a transatlantic liner terminal that would have seen Liverpool ousted not just as the transatlantic departure point for British passenger traffic, but for Scandinavia too. As one commentator put it: “Make Ireland the highroad of traffic between Canada and the United Kingdom and between the Eastern and Western Worlds". With the provision of rail ferries from Holyhead, it was predicted that Londoners would leave Euston Station and not have to set foot outside their carriages until Mayo. From The Building News, 13 October 1915: “The construction of the building is intended to be carried out in reinforced concrete. The main feature is the concourse, which forms as a waiting-place between the platforms and the harbour." The architects are Messrs. E. B. Hoare and M. Wheeler, FF.R.I.B.A., of Portman Street, Portman Square. W. (Image: Archiseek.com)
  • Unbuilt Ireland

1787c – Unbuilt elevation design for west front of Irish Houses of Parliament in Dublin. (Image: Archiseek.com)
  • Unbuilt Ireland

A proposal for a Roman Catholic University of Ireland in Clonliffe. First published in the Dublin Builder, 1 April 1863. (Image: Archiseek.com)
  • Unbuilt Ireland

1883 – Science and Art Museum, Kildare Street, Dublin. An illustration for the competition to design a museum for the Royal Dublin Society on Kildare St by Ernest C. Lee. The winning design was produced by T.N. Deane & Son and published in The Building News, 5 October, 1883. (Image: Archiseek.com)
  • Unbuilt Ireland

1837 – Proposed Railway Colonnade, Dublin. This illustration was originally included in the report: “Plans of the Several Lines of Railway in Ireland. Laid Out Under the Direction of the Commissioners. Part I: Through the South and South Western District, by Charles Vignoles. Part II: Through the North and North Western Districts by John MacNeill, 1837. Presented to Both Houses of Parliament by Command of Her Majesty”. Charles Vignoles is remembered for his work with the Dublin to Kingstown Railway, and for his work during the period 1836 to 1838, when he served as engineer to the royal commission on railways in Ireland. Most of the railways surveyed and planned during this time were completed by William Dargan, but some of the proposals were not followed up, as they were too ambitious for Ireland at the time. This scheme was designed to link the different railway termini through the city by building a raised railway along the southern Liffey Quays. (Image: Archiseek.com)

Read: 8 Irish buildings that vanished, disappeared or were demolished >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Mar 31st 2013, 10:17 AM

Say what you like about British rule in Ireland but we have some of our best architecture as a result.

Mute Brian Guilfoyle
    Favourite Brian Guilfoyle
    Mar 31st 2013, 10:25 AM

… Apart from the roads, and the aquaduct, and the sewerage system, what have the Romans ever done for us??

Mute Chris Noonan
    Favourite Chris Noonan
    Mar 31st 2013, 11:12 AM

I’m fairly sure we would have built nice building if we weren’t under the English, maybe even better since we would had have more money to spend on them

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Mar 31st 2013, 11:22 AM

Was just saying that to some non-Irish friends the other day. Grudgingly I have to say!

Mute Vincent F
    Favourite Vincent F
    Mar 31st 2013, 11:24 AM

Doubt it, the Irish greed would have come into play and our only nice structures would have been substituted for cheaper to build no frills but would have still cost the same allowing for bribes etc.
    Pity the mayo station did not go ahead, looked great.

Mute Thomas Quinn
    Favourite Thomas Quinn
    Mar 31st 2013, 11:25 AM

Really Chris? Did money from the British Empire not fund most of these buildings we have? Where was the money coming from in Ireland has the Brits not been here? Was the agri export market that big for Ireland back then?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Mar 31st 2013, 11:39 AM

Thomas, actually yes it was. We were one of the major suppliers of food to the British Army during the period. In fact the main reason why crops that weren’t potato were not diverted to feed Irish people during the famine was because of the impact it would have had on British supply lines.

Irish food kept the British Army marching and Irish oak kept the British Navy sailing.

Mute Stephen Wall
    Favourite Stephen Wall
    Mar 31st 2013, 12:01 PM

There’s no doubt the British administration left us with some remarkable architecture, but at the cost of never knowing what we could have done as an independent country. Ireland has some fascinating pre conquest architecture such as the round towers, while since independence we have created some great buildings, such as the original Dublin airport terminal, the Department of Commerce on Kildare Street, the Department of Finance on Merrion Row (just to name a couple that spring to mind) Irish architects are currently producing award winning designs internationally. There’s no reason to think we wouldn’t have created some great buildings of our own if we have retained our independence.

Mute Vincent F
    Favourite Vincent F
    Mar 31st 2013, 12:07 PM

There is more to Ireland than Dublin. City hall in Cork could be added to that post independence list, oh wait, that was a gift from the British after independence. We built the ugly Connolly Hall facing the city hall.

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Mar 31st 2013, 1:32 PM

“Put a beggar on a race horse and he will ride him to hell” That’s exactly what Paddy did when he got “independence”. For example, Dublin was the second city in an empire that stretched across the globe, beautiful Georgian architecture, parks and streets, look at it now, gaudy and cheap looking. Our infrastructure was second to none with, railways and ports etc. The gombeen mentality soon took hold and the dismantling of our country began…all you have to do is look at cities and countries that retained British architectural structures….they put us in the halfpenny place. A real shame.

Mute Stephen Wall
    Favourite Stephen Wall
    Mar 31st 2013, 1:44 PM

Jimmy your assessment is flawed- Dublin was second city of the empire during the Georgian period- when we had our own parliament in College Green. During the period of direct London rule- 1801-1922, Dublin stagnated, with Belfast overtaking it in terms of size and civic architecture. In the twentieth century we were by no means the only country to remove what appeared to be obsolete Victorian infrastructure (like the railways- the UK also removed vast networks of railways). In the last 15 years we have gone to great pains to preserve our architectural heritage. Dublin in that regard is well ahead of many cities in the US for example.

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Mar 31st 2013, 4:08 PM

Look at the cities and towns of our country. The beautiful buildings that adorned many of our streets are no longer around. Old railway stations, civic and public buildings left to rot or torn down not ling after “independence”. Ignorance had a lot to do with this, remove anything that could remind us of our former master. I agree, huge steps are being made to preserve our heritage now but unfortunately its 90 years too late for most of our old buildings…that’s my point!

Mute John Larkin
    Favourite John Larkin
    Mar 31st 2013, 9:50 AM

What about the Bertie Bowl

Mute Tony Hetherington
    Favourite Tony Hetherington
    Mar 31st 2013, 10:54 AM

Is it my imagination or does the drawing of the Wellington monument not look exactly like the one that is in the Phoenix Park

Mute Mark Downes
    Favourite Mark Downes
    Mar 31st 2013, 11:01 AM

The monument was never completed. It was to be a lot taller and have a statute of Wellington on a horse in front. They ran out of funds, so it was capped at its present height.

Mute Jack Jack
    Favourite Jack Jack
    Mar 31st 2013, 10:53 AM

So I ask what did the English ever do for us?

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Mar 31st 2013, 12:07 PM

The streets are safer

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Mar 31st 2013, 12:45 PM

Ah sure forget about the penal laws, the landlord and tennant system, and the fact during the famine they comitted genocide, its all ok they left some nice buildings…. Id rather if millions of.irishmen didnt die or emigrate because of their rule than a few buildings built for the elite..

Mute Arthuer William Anker
    Favourite Arthuer William Anker
    Mar 31st 2013, 7:21 PM

So apart from…Roads,water,education,laws and police forces,[Replace anything RIC with Garda Siochanna as per Garda act 192?]railways,army barracks,Garda barracks,light houses,ports…….

What have the English ever done for us???

Mute Tigerisinthezoo
    Favourite Tigerisinthezoo
    Mar 31st 2013, 11:32 AM

You only have to look at Belfast or the Australian cities to see the fantastic buildings left by the British. Today’s buildings dont compare.

Mute Bill66
    Favourite Bill66
    Mar 31st 2013, 10:53 AM

can you do buildings that were built in the boom that were a complete waste of money, punches town horse areana you can get horses and spectatators in but not at same time.

Mute Terry Morgan
    Favourite Terry Morgan
    Mar 31st 2013, 11:04 AM

What on earth where they thinking about when they came up with that train station for mayo?

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Mar 31st 2013, 11:14 AM

Incredible. Imagine what it would have done for the area in economic terms and how it might look now!

Mute Terry Morgan
    Favourite Terry Morgan
    Mar 31st 2013, 11:18 AM

Probably shut down and falling apart?

Mute David Kelly
    Favourite David Kelly
    Mar 31st 2013, 3:44 PM

You’ll actually find a lot (most) buildings in Ireland in the past were built with private money, including the railways.
    They’d little/nothing to do with the British or Irish Governments.
    The Golden age of Irish urban architecture was mostly before the Act of Union too.

There were plenty of Irish architects and money raised commercially from banks, or for railways, hotels etc – on the stock markets / from groups of investors etc

Church buildings were funded by donations.

I think we’re too quick to assume the British arrived over and built stuff, we did most of it ourselves, just under the British administration at the time.

Some of it was British Government funded, especially anything to do with military or public administration but lots of it wasn’t.

The standard of architecture from the WW2 period onwards was terrible. That’s when we saw plenty hideous brutalist buildings go up in cities all over Ireland & Britain!

We should take a bit of pride and ownership of our architectural heritage rather than just assuming it was built by colonial powers!

Mute BM
    Favourite BM
    Mar 31st 2013, 12:50 PM

Remember reading that the plans for mckee army barracks were send to Dublin instead of India as originally planned

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Mar 31st 2013, 1:44 PM

BM, there was a consignment of stone meant for India, but there was a problem transporting it, so it ended up being used for the Catholic Church on Rathmines Road. And wasn’t Gandon posted to India, but he fell ill and it was thought the climate would be too much for him so he was sent to Ireland. Lucky for us otherwise the Custom House might be gracing Delhi or Mumbai!

Mute Kevin Twomey
    Favourite Kevin Twomey
    Mar 31st 2013, 5:36 PM

To say “the British left us all these fantastic buildings” is seriously over simplifying it. It might have been under British Rule, and certainly with some direct or indirect funding, but Irish people built them and in most cases designed them too. We had a unique style to ourselves. Sure some landmark building could have been cut and pasted from London, but a Georgian terrace in Cork will have unique features you won’t see repeated elsewhere, and the same goes for all our cities.

Of course we built complete crap in the last century, but do you think we’re unique? Go to England and take a look at the fantastic post war stuff they came up with – Milton Keys isn’t exactly Bath. This has been a global problem.

There is a serious lack of respect for built heritage in the country ill agree though. It doesn’t effect the larger landmark buildings, but our smaller town buildings, houses and cottages. These are real treasures but people have little interest in protecting them. If they don’t knock them, they fill them with PVC, gypsum and other new add ons that totally destroy their character.

Mute Alan Murphy
    Favourite Alan Murphy
    Mar 31st 2013, 11:31 AM

Not forgetting the bilberry skyscraper development

Mute John Kavanagh
    Favourite John Kavanagh
    Mar 31st 2013, 4:32 PM

the elysian tower in Cork….when ur grandchild ask why she is walking in her bare feet..just point at it!!!

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Mar 31st 2013, 11:48 AM

The Bertie bowl?

Mute Joe Langan
    Favourite Joe Langan
    Apr 1st 2013, 8:58 AM

The Wellington monument was built in the Phoenix Park, it’s still standing. The only part that wasn’t was the statue & plinth in front of it.

Mute Shane Mullally
    Favourite Shane Mullally
    Mar 31st 2013, 8:56 PM

All or most of our prisons are British designed-now not fit for purpose…

Mute Dave McFadden
    Favourite Dave McFadden
    Apr 1st 2013, 9:00 AM

Fit for purpose surely, just the old human rights craic ruins it