You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'My son died believing I had rejected him': Philomena Lee calls on Senators to support Adoption Bill

The Seanad is set to debate a Bill on the rights of adopted people this week.
IF THIS LEGISLATION had been in place years ago, Anthony and I would have been reunited with each other before he died. Instead, he died believing I had rejected him. It is too late for us, but would be a big help to other women who were separated from their sons and daughters by adoption.

Those are the words of Philomena Lee, who has called on every Senator to “do what’s right” and support the Adoption (Identity & Information) Bill that is due to be debated on Wednesday.

Lee’s story of forced adoption and her subsequent 50-year search for her son Anthony inspired the Oscar-nominated film Philomena.

Philomena Lee Visit to Irel Philomena Lee Mark Stedman / Photocall Ireland Mark Stedman / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Under the Bill, introduced by Senators Averil Power, Jillian van Turnhout and Fidelma Healy Eames:
  • All adoptees (up to 50,000 people) will have a right to their birth certs, listing their original names and their parents’ names;
  • Natural parents can request information about their adopted sons or daughters;
  • Adoptees and their parents can choose whether they are happy to have their current contact details released to each other.

The legislation was drafted by Dr Fergus Ryan, a law lecturer at Maynooth University.

Lee said she was “pleased that legislation to recognise the rights of all adopted people, mothers and families is finally before the Irish parliament”.

Power, who is herself adopted, said that she has been contacted by “many other women like Philomena”.

They were devastated to lose their children in the first place and are heartbroken that they still can’t make contact with them now. They just want to know that their son or daughter is ok and tell them they never stopped thinking about them. Older women in particular are worried that if legislation isn’t brought in soon it will be too late for them.

“The Government has an opportunity next Wednesday to do right by these women by finally putting in place a proper system through which adoptees and natural parents may reunite if they wish. I hope they will accept our bill and work with us to ensure women like Philomena finally get the support they deserve,” Power stated.

The Bill will be debated in the Seanad at 5pm on Wednesday.

Philomena Lee deserves an apology from the state: Labour TD

Philomena Lee to tell world conference about her forced adoption in Ireland

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

12 Comments
    Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:59 AM

Labours way or Frankfurts way….. I’m afraid your credibility is in ruins so we don’t know if your telling the truth or not.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:07 PM

Ask the American embassy, Gilmore is always honest with the Americans. It’s just the Irish he has a problem with being truthful.

Mute De Badger
    Favourite De Badger
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:30 PM

It’s only our economic destiny when 80% of this bailout loan is paid back we will still be under the cosh till then, which could be in 30 years. This sovereignty sh1te they keep harping on about is a smokescreen for the plebs and there’s loads of us

Mute Lucinda Dalton
    Favourite Lucinda Dalton
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:47 PM

Now now, Norman – didn’t you hear him say that he didn’t actually say that to the US ambassador?

Seems there is a wikileaks conspiracy against our very own Tanaiste.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:59 PM

Lucinda then you have to believe the CIA was in on it too, the clown is just not that important outside of this country.Even in this country he’s not that important just a mudflap for Kenny.

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Oct 17th 2013, 12:23 AM

Norman, read your post so fast I thought you wrote mudflap in Kerry, it did seem as appropiate

Mute Arthur Pewty
    Favourite Arthur Pewty
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:57 AM

The days of good English has went.

Mute Emilio
    Favourite Emilio
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:03 PM

That hurts!

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:08 PM

That is all corrected now Arthur. Thanks for reading today and have a great day.

Christina

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:14 PM

MEEEEEOOOOOOW.

Mute Solbank Sabadell
    Favourite Solbank Sabadell
    Oct 17th 2013, 12:30 AM
    Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Oct 17th 2013, 1:14 AM

Jog on Gilmore into the history books along with O leary you dirty sell out .I hope your proud of yourself you greedy man.You have put the working classes into the modern day poorhouses.

Mute Justin Donoghue
    Favourite Justin Donoghue
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:01 PM

Why would a GP be paid for a card if it’s not in use?

Mute Lára de Siúin
    Favourite Lára de Siúin
    Oct 16th 2013, 1:34 PM

My GP told me that he gets a set amount per month, calculated by the amount of medical card holders on his patient list, regardless of whether they visit him ten times in that month or don’t visit him at all. I believe it is a nominal fee.

Mute Justin Donoghue
    Oct 16th 2013, 1:37 PM

That’s just bizarre.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 16th 2013, 1:54 PM

It’s a totally mad system by the sounds of things. GPs paid for patients that they rarely see or maybe not at all.

Surely the GP could claim an amount from the Dept of Health each month once the patient presents their medical card? Why can’t a system be put in place to automate something like this in this day and age? It would be also easier for a patient to move to a different GP should they wish to do so.

Mute Justin Donoghue
    Oct 16th 2013, 1:58 PM

Of course it’s probably too logical to suggest or presume that the medical card be like a credit card and it’s swiped by the GP every time a transaction happens and they merely claim that back off the government. No, they actually get paid for doing nothing? Totally bizarre.

Mute grease lightening
    Favourite grease lightening
    Oct 16th 2013, 2:00 PM

I would imagine it balances itself out. Some people may need to see the doctor every day, with many problems, some of which may be very time consuming, whilst others may only need to see their doctor occasionally . It may work out cheaper for S.P. than paying for each visit.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 16th 2013, 2:06 PM

I’m sure it does balance itself out to some degree but it sounds like a very inefficient and overly bureaucratic system. Also open to abuse and fraud I would think. If the principal of the money following the patient was applied then this system would change. It needs to.

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Oct 16th 2013, 3:07 PM

Agree with Reg and Justin. Credit card swipe system with the level paid to each doctor per swipe adjusted to reflect the real demand than just a ‘balancing out’.

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Oct 17th 2013, 12:02 AM

That is indeed a very good idea.
    Which is obviously why our government aren’t the ones suggesting it.

Mute Ciaran De Ceol
    Favourite Ciaran De Ceol
    Oct 17th 2013, 1:37 AM

A bizarre system indeed.
    However I think making claims on the amount of cards produced each month would increase competition between GPs trying to get patients. Healthcare would become a business like it is in America; not good!

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Oct 17th 2013, 1:43 AM

It would be interesting to give it a go – purely to see how much money is indeed wasted or whether it does in fact balance out.
    Relying on set payments regardless of usage could be resulting in higher profit margins for some GP clinics and hampering others (depending on the numbers attending frequently vs infrequently / breakdown of private vs public etc)
    It may give the HSE a better idea of which areas need more funding and which do not, which can only benefit them if their aim is universal free GP care.

Mute Dwickedchicken
    Favourite Dwickedchicken
    Oct 17th 2013, 2:01 AM

I’m led to believe by my GPs secretary that the fee per medical card is about 50 euro a year regardless of how many times the holder uses it.

Mute Ciaran De Ceol
    Favourite Ciaran De Ceol
    Oct 17th 2013, 4:22 AM

Just another side note – if healthcare does become competitive, it will lead to an imbalance in the system. All the best doctors will be making a fortune and may seize their chance to go into private practice.
    This would lead to mediocre and sub standard doctors to deal with medical card holders and the poorer while the wealthy get access to the best care.

Just a thought.

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Oct 17th 2013, 5:32 AM

Because “the wealthy” are all skumbags

Mute David Carragher
    Favourite David Carragher
    Oct 17th 2013, 9:18 AM

That’s should be knocked on the head, if someone has a medical card/ GP card you should be able to swipe it and keep records of how often it’s used, meaning that the GP only gets paid when it’s used. Also if records were to show that a card has not been in use over a twelve to eighteen month period a letter should be sent , and if there is no response to the letter cancel the card until such time as the card holder contacts the HSE

Mute Ciaran De Ceol
    Favourite Ciaran De Ceol
    Oct 17th 2013, 12:19 PM

Not at all. I have great respect for people who work hard and get what they deserve.

Mute Sharon Obrien
    Favourite Sharon Obrien
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:59 AM

Why was the gambling tax not brought back in,one or two % would have killed no one.Smokers,drinkers pay crazy amounts on taxThere is billions spent on betting in this country every year and theres online betting too.One or two % tax on this would bring in enough to cover the cuts too phone allowance and medical cards for very sick people.

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:10 PM

No to online betting tax thank you. Anyway how are they supposed to tax a company that is in gibraltar or Isle of Man.

Mute Sharon Obrien
    Favourite Sharon Obrien
    Oct 16th 2013, 1:17 PM

I take it you are a betting person,easy if they want to do buisness in Ireland you pay your way.What about betting shops, if you can afford to bet 5 euro on a horse you can pay some tax.l dont drink or smoke but those that do pay silly amount of money on tax so if betting is your thing pay some tax on it.

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:09 PM

Gilmore you are a liar and a traitor

Mute Connaughtabu
    Favourite Connaughtabu
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:24 PM

As Louis might say “The Labour Party – just a bunch of lads and lassies living the dream”!

The dream being that the people of Ireland will have forgiven and forgotten all your broken promises come the next election.

I fear not Mr Gilmore.

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:04 PM

No taxing the rich – always those who can least afford it get done over. Gilmore wouldn’t know a difficult budget if it walked up to him and introduced itself! He’s living in a bubble. All of the previous budgets / loan payback schemes & the ramifications of them stay in place regardless. You are a spoofer Eamon – zero credibility – get lost.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:06 PM

And we would believe this known and proven liar why exactly !!!!!!

Mute Justin Donoghue
    Oct 16th 2013, 1:38 PM

All politicians are liars.

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    Oct 16th 2013, 4:04 PM

Yes but gimpmore is the worst kind…..a proven liar!!!!!

Mute Lucinda Dalton
    Favourite Lucinda Dalton
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:02 PM

“He said that he didnt’ agree with the German Finance Minister’s statement yesterday that “Ireland is okay,” stating, “no it is not”

Must be the first time he disagreed with the Germans since he electioneering and infamous “Frankfurt” gaffe.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:10 PM

He can disagree with the Germans all he wants.But the Germans have been saying since last year there will be no deal on bank debt, Kenny and Gilmore kept insisting there would be.Who do you think is right?

Mute Francis Stokes
    Favourite Francis Stokes
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:08 PM

He is saying that is EAMON GILMORE this is the last of the difficult budgets. We hear that will depend on Growth. They are taking a gamble. I understand that they have to take 3 billion Euros from Next years budget so How Can this be the last of the Austerity Budgets.PS they were supposed to take 3 billion this year but they will have to make up for that next year. GOD HELP US IF THEIR PREDICTION ON GROWTH IS NOT AS ACCURATE AS THEY ARE SAYING.

Mute Brendan Ferron
    Favourite Brendan Ferron
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:51 PM

We already know that water charges are coming next year – more Labour lies!

Mute grease lightening
    Favourite grease lightening
    Oct 16th 2013, 1:04 PM

It’s Labour’s way or Fine Gael’s way. The latter always win!

Mute Kitty West
    Favourite Kitty West
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:55 AM

This is the last the difficult budgets… Great English Gilmore

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne

Probably the author

Mute Kitty West
    Favourite Kitty West
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:07 PM

It’s still there-check the last paragraph

Mute Francie Doherty
    Favourite Francie Doherty
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:34 PM

To late Gilmore ,you and your cronies had your day,and if I can some how do it ,labour will never celebrate the cen off the men of 1916who gave theire lives for the freedom of Ireland.shame on you.

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Oct 17th 2013, 12:29 AM

Maybe to honour the men of 1916 we should actually cancel it until their sacrifice cash be truly honoured

Mute Chris Doherty
    Favourite Chris Doherty
    Oct 17th 2013, 12:29 AM

Maybe to honour the men of 1916 we should actually cancel it until their sacrifice cash be truly honoured

Mute Go Tobann
    Favourite Go Tobann
    Oct 17th 2013, 12:36 AM

Truth

Mute Derek Cullen
    Favourite Derek Cullen
    Oct 16th 2013, 12:22 PM

Wasn’t that a sound byte after last years budget?

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Oct 16th 2013, 3:07 PM

No, Eamonn, this is not the last of the ‘tough’ budgets. Just the last before the local and European elections – unless of course we have a “supplementary” budget in the spring, which is not beyond the bounds of possibility. Would you please shut up – I am sick of the sound of your voice and the sight of your little porcine features.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Oct 17th 2013, 1:59 AM

Porcine.. love it :-)
    Accurate and hilarious..

Mute Hilary McDuffy
    Favourite Hilary McDuffy
    Oct 16th 2013, 1:32 PM

Hope it’s the last for you and labour too

Mute Hedley Lamarr
    Favourite Hedley Lamarr

Maybe it the last sting of a dying wasp, Good owl Eamon Givemore.

Mute David Harrington
    Favourite David Harrington
    Oct 16th 2013, 1:35 PM

Absolute nonsense. We’re not really leaving the bailout at all. We’re just receiving our last payment from it. Next year we gotta go back to borrowing on the markets at higher interests rates, in order to pay back the billions in interest alone on the debts we already ran up. So if we’re borrowing more money at higher interest rates to pay back what we’ve already borrowed, how could we possibly expect to have enough left over for an easy budget?

Mute Shane Mullally
    Favourite Shane Mullally
    Oct 16th 2013, 4:09 PM

Hopefully come the next election-Eamonn will be on the back benches playing with his phone along side Alan shatter…

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Oct 17th 2013, 2:00 AM

Phone, eh?

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Oct 17th 2013, 2:02 AM

Maybe Shatter will find the time to pen another horn-bag novel..

Mute Industrial Schools Ireland
    Favourite Industrial Schools Ireland
    Oct 16th 2013, 8:43 PM

But how has this BUDGET effected you Gilmore? Kenny, and Burton??? Bet you all gained but guess qhat you are all shamed too

Mute Darren Hehir
    Favourite Darren Hehir
    Oct 16th 2013, 1:46 PM

I believe you Eamonn….but then i believe in Santa and the toothfairy as well.

Mute Alan Dunne
    Favourite Alan Dunne
    Oct 16th 2013, 2:37 PM

Are you really telling the truth Eamonn,if you can predict the future any chance you would give me the lotto numbers

Mute Hedley Lamarr
    Favourite Hedley Lamarr
    Oct 17th 2013, 1:41 AM

Here you Go,
    9-3-15-21-34-42-5

Mute fred
    Favourite fred

Would you not go to the trouble proof reading the headline?

Mute justsaying
    Favourite justsaying
    Oct 16th 2013, 3:57 PM

The last difficult budget for Mr Gilmore and the Labour party!

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Oct 16th 2013, 10:48 PM

Gilmore of the late Sinn Fein/workers party/democratic left, is a lying B—–d

Mute Industrial Schools Ireland
    Favourite Industrial Schools Ireland
    Oct 16th 2013, 8:47 PM

Why do people even LISTEN to the shite they PROMISE before elcetions when the answer is always the same LIES we the people have the POWER to SACK ALL THREE PARTIES with the remaining 70% of NO VOTERS so LETS VOTE THEM OUT

Mute Sean Collins
    Favourite Sean Collins
    Oct 16th 2013, 10:44 PM

Gilmore you inhuman GIT.

Mute Go Tobann
    Favourite Go Tobann
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:57 PM

If I could remove one person fron dail eireann to better our country it would be Eamon GimmeMore. This man is exactly what’s wrong with Irish politics. He’s worse than half of fianna fail. Wretched weasel who lied to his own people over and over again!

Mute Paul Brophy
    Favourite Paul Brophy
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:19 PM

With the national debt at €250 billion to say that this the last tough budget is crazy stuff

Mute aaron mohan
    Favourite aaron mohan
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:20 PM

How many times has the fat cun# said this

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Oct 17th 2013, 12:05 AM

Politicians lie with words; bankers lie with figures.

Mute Don Callanan
    Favourite Don Callanan
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:29 PM

In the words of Karl Pilkington….’BULLSHIT’….

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Oct 17th 2013, 2:06 AM

In the words of Dessie Curley – ‘ME BOLLIX!’

Mute Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Favourite Gráinne Ní Bhriain
    Oct 16th 2013, 4:43 PM

So will we stop gettin any increase in tax next yr and will we all be gettin an increase in wages………
    Didn think so so its not the last difficult budget

Mute Aireach
    Favourite Aireach
    Oct 17th 2013, 12:26 AM

This muppet told us a few months ago that the Labour party had solved the economic crisis

Is there no end to his talent!!!!

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:45 PM

Read my lips! No more tough budgets.

Would I lie you , baby, would I lie to you?

Mute Tom Lewis
    Favourite Tom Lewis
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:16 PM

It is for you ya muppet

Mute Johnnathan Biskalero
    Favourite Johnnathan Biskalero
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:10 PM

How can we listen to these people ?? I mean the same parties rushed through laws after Veronica Guerin was murdered…..well let me tell you something the fictional story about gilligan being the killer of Guerin is bull !! What i have been reading and looking over is unreal…….she was murdered by the forces than control this country and it is going to come out sooner rather than later…….for anyone who is sceptical look into the Fr. Molloy murder , this is going to seriously to hit the fan and it will not be pretty !!

Oct 16th 2013, 11:47 PM

red thumb away guys you sure have no idea what is going on…..educate yourselfs !!

Oct 17th 2013, 12:07 AM

Just for the people who believe John Gilligan murdered Veronica Guerin…….THE BIGGEST COVER UP IN OUR NATIONS HISTORY !! Lets just say it goes all the way up our JUSTICE SYSTEM !! Yeah that is right , OUR JUSTICE SYSTEM !! Please for the sake of our nation investigate !!

Oct 17th 2013, 12:40 AM

How can get to the bottom of it when we have morons all over the place ??????????? dear god !!

Oct 17th 2013, 12:41 AM

For the red thumbers what is your argument ?? the mainstream media ?? lol…….seriously ??

Oct 17th 2013, 12:44 AM

Do you know how easy it is to spread information ? mainstream media……how foolish we are !!

Oct 17th 2013, 12:46 AM

Hey even the great Paul Williams has not clue !! led a stray bigtime !!

Oct 17th 2013, 12:52 AM

who would red thumb the great rory ??? a moron for sure !!

Oct 17th 2013, 1:16 AM

yeah keep watching bull on tv ……….X-FACTOR kids lol…….lord help ye !!

Oct 17th 2013, 1:19 AM

mainstream media says JUMP !! How high !! lol…f*** morons !!

Oct 17th 2013, 1:24 AM

JUDGES IN OUR COUNTRY…….KILLED OUR SACRED JOURNALIST !!

Oct 17th 2013, 1:25 AM

anyone in our system have the balls ?

Oct 17th 2013, 1:27 AM

we are surrounded by morons and very stupid people !! it is out !! let the chips for fall where they may !!

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Oct 16th 2013, 1:06 PM

Brian Lenihan’s work is complete, we can move on now and rebuild. RIP

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 16th 2013, 1:14 PM

Seanie FF’s work was complete on the 29 th September 2009 when they gave the checkbook of the country to the bankers.
    Your party destroyed this country and should never be allowed anywhere near power again, but considering the nature of the Irish electorate they’ll be in again in a few years.

Mute Martin
    Favourite Martin
    Oct 16th 2013, 3:04 PM

Norman are u saying this shower should get another chance?they told us lies after lies can’t see no difference

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:36 PM

FF will return to power soon enough. We built this country.

Mute Catherine Keogh
    Favourite Catherine Keogh
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:51 PM

Yeah ff put the debt foundations in this country

Mute Go Tobann
    Favourite Go Tobann
    Oct 17th 2013, 12:37 AM

Waffling clown

Mute Go Tobann
    Favourite Go Tobann
    Oct 17th 2013, 12:38 AM

Lol

Mute censored
    Favourite censored
    Oct 17th 2013, 5:34 AM

You built sh*te

Mute phunkyboy
    Favourite phunkyboy
    Oct 17th 2013, 1:19 PM

I come from a family of ardent FF supporters . I even had relatives who were ministers. Even my dad wouldnt vote ye anymore .

Mute John Meade
    Favourite John Meade
    Oct 17th 2013, 1:40 PM

Seanie your right to vote should be suspened until you pass a bloody IQ test

Mute xyz
    Favourite xyz
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:26 PM

He looks like FFFFFUUUUUUU guy :)

Mute Criminal
    Favourite Criminal
    Oct 16th 2013, 11:10 PM

Crimes will increase …period

Mute Trish Mc Guire
    Favourite Trish Mc Guire
    Oct 17th 2013, 12:30 AM

Where did I hear that before

Mute Geralyn Early
    Favourite Geralyn Early
    Oct 17th 2013, 9:14 AM

Gilmore! You’re full if sh*t!!!! You and your party and Finegal are finished as soon we get a chance to vote again!!

Oct 16th 2013, 11:12 PM
    Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Oct 17th 2013, 8:06 AM

And next year he will say the same ting!!!

Mute John Pepper
    Favourite John Pepper
    Oct 17th 2013, 2:07 AM

Chance

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy
    Oct 17th 2013, 5:30 AM

What about the secret real cost of public sector salaries and pensions? Particularly politicians and top civil servants whose pensions are based on salaries massively inflated due to “benchmarked” salary hikes in the last few years of work. Paid now from current taxation and unfunded? Would never happen in private sector

Silence about that in budget adjustments! Because of increments public sector salaries are still up despite supposed cuts. No real reductions in HSE administrators, especially those who don’t use computers.

Still CIE subsidy crap.

When will we have proper systems reform and accountability?

Mute John Meade
    Favourite John Meade
    Oct 17th 2013, 7:48 AM

It is in its hole the last, wouldnt believe a word out of this spoofers mouth