You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Kennedy (background) and Dixon at a charity broadcast Photocall Ireland

Adrian Kennedy departs for rival station morning slot in shock move

The late-night talk show host and co-presenter Jeremy Dixon are off to 98fm after a long association with FM104.

ADRIAN KENNEDY WILL have to ease back substantially on the f-bombs as he heads to 98fm to present a mid morning weekday 10am to midday show.

Beloved of insomniacs, late night workers and – in general – people with suprisingly strong opinions on everything from immigration to UFO sightings over Meath: the presenter has helmed the late night slot on rival Dublin station FM104 since the late nineties.

Kennedy and co-presenter/producer Jeremy Dixon will take up their new roles from early 2014.

The move will be seen a big coup for the Communicorp-owned station which has flagged behind 104 in the JNLR listenership figures in recent years. The company recently moved Ray Foley from his popular Today FM show in a bid to boost ratings in the high-profile breakfast slot.

There’s no word as yet as to how the move will affect the existing line-up at 98, which currently sees DJ Barry Dunne helm a five hour slot between the breakfast show and the Dermot and Dave afternoon show.

Communicorp CEO Gervaise Slowey – who has been busy recently with Pat Kenny’s defection to Newstalk – had this to say in a statement:

I am delighted to welcome Adrian and Jeremy to the team. The arrival of The Adrian Kennedy phoneshow reaches right into the heartland of our target audience.

There is a clear gap in the market for a Dublin-focused, mid-morning phone show and this addition to 98FM will add to our exciting on-air offering.

Read: Adrian Kennedy told one of his listeners to F*** Off!

Read: The Great Irish Radio War: Who won the first battle?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

64 Comments
    Mute Siobhan Clifford
    Favourite Siobhan Clifford
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:21 AM

Nobody wants to listen to Jeremy at that hour of the day.

Mute Nidgeweasel
    Favourite Nidgeweasel
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:30 AM

Nobody wants to listen to Jeremy ever. He is the sole reason I droped listening to that program. Ever hear him loseing his temper. He sounds like a horse in heat.

Mute Mundo7976
    Favourite Mundo7976
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:33 AM

Their show is like joe duffys, but for complete skangers

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:22 AM

As one of my friends told me a while back, “A prime example of a face for radio”

Mute robert purfield
    Favourite robert purfield
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:46 AM

Im no fan of 98fm or ray foley so i was delighted when he went there and this is even better.maybe if we send communicorp a list of presenters we all dislike they can just house them on 98fm and save us listening at all!

Mute Charlene Whoriskey
    Favourite Charlene Whoriskey
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:45 AM

A ‘mid morning’ show won’t be the same….it won’t suck in the same level of crazies as when the sun goes down

Mute Ash
    Favourite Ash
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:19 AM

I’m not a muppet… Your a bleedin muppet….!

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:19 AM

Never heard of either of them..

Mute Declan O'Brien
    Favourite Declan O'Brien
    Sep 3rd 2013, 10:11 AM

Aren’t you fortunate…

Mute Dwickedchicken
    Favourite Dwickedchicken
    Sep 3rd 2013, 11:38 AM

Pat kenny will be delighted.
    He will surely benefit from it!

Mute Vincent Sweeney
    Favourite Vincent Sweeney
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:21 AM

Worst radio show ever.

Mute CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:43 AM

Couldn’t agree more Vincent. I used to troll the hell out of his show. I would ring up and pretend to be a disgruntled taxi driver. But on every issue except taxi issues.

They bought it every time, I’d just come out with cliche after cliche and would have an argument in a room on my own. They loved it.

Some people just want to watch the world burn I suppose.

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Sep 3rd 2013, 10:46 AM

This is on the CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN movie soundtrack: http://youtu.be/MV_3Dpw-BRY <

Mute Rosie Small
    Favourite Rosie Small
    Sep 3rd 2013, 11:06 AM

Is it worse than chris green on I radio? Now there’s a serious head melt

Mute CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Sep 3rd 2013, 11:19 AM

@Brendan

Picture me with a saucepan on my head, sitting in a large cardboard box moaning into the phone. Kavinsky on blast. Life is good.

Mute Darren Carey
    Favourite Darren Carey
    Sep 3rd 2013, 12:22 PM

Well that’s embarrassing.

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Sep 3rd 2013, 12:34 PM

I always picture you with a saucepan on your head and sitting in a large box ;).

Mute chateau nove de pope
    Favourite chateau nove de pope
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:20 AM

Ah for f**k sake !

Mute dave
    Favourite dave
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:15 AM

98 fm???????

Mute Nidgeweasel
    Favourite Nidgeweasel
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:20 AM

J Dixon is a complete gimp. I ask when is his balls going to drop.

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Favourite Montys Moonshine
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:42 AM

I salute you on this one nidge, he’s the most annoying presenter in the history of Irish radio.

Mute Nidgeweasel
    Favourite Nidgeweasel
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:46 AM

He trys to hard to be something he isnt. A man.

Mute Francis Heavey
    Favourite Francis Heavey
    Sep 3rd 2013, 1:37 PM

Ur man Lenny with KC on today FM is a worthy competitor for the title of most annoying man on the planet…..really REALLY unfunny

Mute Niamh Margaret
    Favourite Niamh Margaret
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:40 AM

I’ll have to turn off 98fm so from 10am.

Mute Ash
    Favourite Ash
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:26 AM

Any driving bans lately Adrian….?

Mute Nidgeweasel
    Favourite Nidgeweasel
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:36 AM

Adrian is a hardman. Dont mess with him. His bird is from Finglas.

Mute Eimear Okeeffe
    Favourite Eimear Okeeffe
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:15 AM

98 fm bores me to tears so does jeremy and half the stuff on the Adrian Kennedy show is staged if u ask me, bye lads

Mute Nidgeweasel
    Favourite Nidgeweasel
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:30 AM

Same clowns ring in every night also. Sam the mouth and Jude the posh coward. Rubbish..

Mute Laura Diver
    Favourite Laura Diver
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:37 AM

I was just getting back into listening to 98fm thanks to the departure of the woeful Aidan and Claire in the mornings. Now they bring on this gobsh**te, great!!

Mute Stephen Doyle
    Favourite Stephen Doyle
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:46 AM

It’s funny how the people giving out seem to know so much about the show…clearly listening to it… Good look lads

Mute Erich King 
    Favourite Erich King 
    Sep 3rd 2013, 10:06 AM

*luck

Mute Ian O'Mara
    Favourite Ian O'Mara
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:23 AM

No facilities Adrian…

Mute Sharon Obrien
    Favourite Sharon Obrien
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:41 AM

Well l will miss them,if you take the show at face value it can be very funny.l know its not every ones cup of tea but some of the callers are so far up their own butt they could clean their teeth from the in side.l can not listen to the radio during the day so its bye bye boys,it was good knowing you,

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Sep 3rd 2013, 10:42 AM

SPIN 1038 is by far the worst radio station in Dublin…..

Mute mikeobrien4FM
    Favourite mikeobrien4FM
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:59 AM

Jaysus lads a lot of negative stuff here today! Best of luck to ‘em!!

Mute Mick Byrne
    Favourite Mick Byrne
    Sep 3rd 2013, 10:12 AM

You know all about crap radio Ever listen to Boylan? What a fool Comes across as hard man hiding behind his mic Very dated radio and very much aimed at the brain dead

Mute David Flynn
    Favourite David Flynn
    Sep 3rd 2013, 10:08 AM

Does anybody know anyone who seriously rang into that show? If he has taken 10 callers a show 5 nights a week for like 15 years then you would expect everyone in Ireland would know 2 or 3 people who’ve been on.
    It’s definitely staged with a few actors ringing in to put on an accent and dribble out some mindless cliches

Mute Ashley dooley
    Favourite Ashley dooley
    Sep 3rd 2013, 12:04 PM

I’m gonna miss the lads think Adrian is a gent and love the show ❤

Mute Sean Patchworkveg
    Favourite Sean Patchworkveg
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:00 AM

An example of what might be said on the show “Mary says “Hi Im just ringing yo say that last caller was great doing dat charity work” Next caller Tony says ” Ye see Mardy der?,shes only a mupped!!!”

Mute Kevin Thornton
    Favourite Kevin Thornton
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:41 AM

does,n matter who they work for, irish radio stations pure shite 24/7. but at end of day good on yas lads best of luck

Mute Andrea McCooey
    Favourite Andrea McCooey
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:22 AM

Q102 all the way!

Mute Anthony Quinn
    Favourite Anthony Quinn
    Sep 3rd 2013, 11:21 AM

Me transit would kill yer hiace..see ya on theM50 then….i know where ya live…ya w***er..
    Should be a laugh at 10 am..

Mute The Dr.
    Favourite The Dr.
    Sep 3rd 2013, 10:47 AM

Pity the two of them aren’t leaving the airways for good! Two little weasels!

Mute jake mansfield
    Favourite jake mansfield
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:31 AM

A Donkey and an Ass. They staged their stupid show.

Mute Chopstix
    Favourite Chopstix
    Sep 3rd 2013, 10:06 AM

Jeremy Dixson is annoying arrogant and the biggest s”"t stirrer on radio….. That’s why he is on radio he does what he is there to do annoy the hell out of everyone and he does it well

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:42 AM

They should take him off the Radio altogether, he is so unprofessional.

Mute Paul Nolan
    Favourite Paul Nolan
    Sep 3rd 2013, 11:31 AM

Only thing I will miss is the Halloween specials.

Mute Foxtrot Hotel
    Favourite Foxtrot Hotel
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:41 AM

I dropped this show for Nial Boylan on 4fm. There’s something funnier about the show, even if they don’t think they’re being funny.

Mute Niall Murray
    Favourite Niall Murray
    Sep 3rd 2013, 1:28 PM

Didn’t his predecessor make the same move a long time back?

Mute Gemma Macken
    Favourite Gemma Macken
    Sep 3rd 2013, 10:43 AM

Im surprised and dont know why!!

Mute Snug Head
    Favourite Snug Head
    Sep 3rd 2013, 6:35 PM

Jesus, Jeremy Dixon is one giant pain in the rectum.

Mute cornflaker
    Favourite cornflaker
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:15 PM

Heuhr yeou whar’ever yer name is…yeou don’t even knooow meee. I’m a grea’ f%ckin mother to all 5 of my childeren. And I’m doin me leavin cert dis yehur too. I’m sor’y for swearin again Adrian, it’s just he’s a f%ckin Muppeh’

Mute Mind of Logic
    Favourite Mind of Logic
    Sep 3rd 2013, 11:25 AM

Ah what the F%@#…

Mute Joanne Joyce
    Favourite Joanne Joyce
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:36 AM

Raging….

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Sep 3rd 2013, 8:22 AM

I’ve never heard of these guys, I suppose it’s because I don’t listen to “modern pop music”

Mute Good News Caravan
    Favourite Good News Caravan
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:13 AM

It’s because you don’t live in Dublin

Mute Andrea McCooey
    Favourite Andrea McCooey
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:21 AM

Clearly you dont read “modern news articles” either because it says in there that they host a talk show. In fact, you’re probably one of their target audience, all mouth, no brains. Well done mate!

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:48 AM

Wow choose love !

Mute Déirdre Ní Chon Carraige
    Favourite Déirdre Ní Chon Carraige
    Sep 3rd 2013, 12:45 PM

You seem more their target audience andrea!

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Sep 3rd 2013, 1:34 PM

Oh boy PWNED !

Mute Marie Louise Ni Riain
    Favourite Marie Louise Ni Riain
    Sep 3rd 2013, 9:01 AM

Ohhh gawd

Mute Brendan Mee
    Favourite Brendan Mee
    Sep 3rd 2013, 2:54 PM

When the lads leave I would love to take their place 1 reason im unemployed and could do with the job. Secondly I could be better……….haha

Mute Jenny Conlon
    Favourite Jenny Conlon
    Sep 3rd 2013, 11:05 AM

Devo!

Mute Cormac Moore
    Favourite Cormac Moore
    Sep 3rd 2013, 11:33 AM

The mid morning moan. Can’t wait…