You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Will Fine Gael and Labour come to blows over Aer Lingus sale?

Here’s everything you need to know about what’s happening in Irish politics right now…

DO YOU WANT State of the Nation delivered to your inbox every morning at 9.30am? Sign-up to our email alert at the bottom of this story.

Everyone’s talking about…

Enda Kenny has confirmed the Cabinet will discuss the potential sale of Aer Lingus today.

Gay Marriage Equality Referendums Enda Kenny and Joan Burton Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland Sam Boal / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

This morning the Irish Times reports that the coalition has secured “significant concessions” from IAG and a sale of the State’s 25% stake in the airline is “increasingly likely”.

The paper said an expert group report commissioned by Transport Minister Paschal Donohoe is “strongly supportive of the deal”.

At Government Buildings today, Kenny said Donohoe “has received the report and he will present it at Cabinet”, adding: “I haven’t seen it.”

IAG has reportedly made commitments to the government on Aer Lingus’ coveted Heathrow slots, the use of Cork and Shannon airports, and the creation of new routes and jobs.

Aer Lingus decision PA Wire / Press Association Images PA Wire / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

Speaking on Morning Ireland, Labour TD Joe Costello – who has been critical of the potential sale – said he is unsure of what concessions IAG has made, other than what he has read in the papers this morning.

I haven’t a clue in reality, other than the rumours …Remember the first offer was made in December last year – so it’s six months down the road before we’ve got what seems to be a firm offer coming from IAG.

“We have not got an opportunity to go through the details and we expect to do that in due course,” he added.

IAG has offered to pay about €1.36 billion for Aer Lingus, or €2.55 per share. Unions have raised concerns about the sale, claiming it could lead to job losses.

All eyes will be on the government later to see what call it makes, and if both Fine Gael and Labour will agree.

Inside Leinster House

Senator Averil Power Resigns Averil Power graphy: Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland graphy: Sasko Lazarov / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Senator Averil Power’s former Fianna Fáil colleagues reacted angrily to her shock departure from, rallying around party leader Micheál Martin.

Her announcement will overshadow Bobby Aylward’s return to the Dáil after winning the Carlow-Kilkenny by-election.

The agenda

• UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon’s visit continues today, with a trip to Government Buildings and an event with young people in Iveagh House Gardens. 
  • Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald will answer questions in the Dáil at 2pm.
  • The first Leaders’ Questions of the week will take place at 3.15pm.
  • The banking inquiry will have a private meeting at 3.30pm.
  • TDs will debate legislation on terrorist offences at about 6pm.
  • Drugs Minister Aodhán Ó Ríordáin will discuss the National Drug Strategy in the Seanad at 7pm.
  • Fianna Fáil will propose a motion denouncing the treatment of parents whose babies died at Portlaoise Hospital, during Private Members’ Business at 7.30pm.

What the others are saying

• The Irish Times reports that the coalition has won “significant concessions” from IAG and the sale of the state 25% stake in Aer Lingus looks increasingly likely. 
  • Children’s Minister James Reilly thinks the 8th amendment of the Constitution should be repealed, according to the same paper. 
  • The Irish Independent reports that Public Expenditure Minister Brendan Howlin has described union demands for nearly €500 million in public pay restoration as a ‘bluff’. 
  • Anti-water charge protesters say the deputy Lord Mayor of Cork Mary Shields refused to accept a petition of 15,000 Irish Water boycott signatures, according to the Irish Examiner

In case you missed it

On the Twitter machine

Alan Farrell’s phone had a lucky escape…

Originally published: 9am

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

60 Comments
    Mute Alan Corlett
    Favourite Alan Corlett
    May 26th 2015, 9:21 AM

Love the “if Fine Gael and Labour agree” bit, when we all know Labour will just do as they’re told.

Mute winding_down
    Favourite winding_down
    May 26th 2015, 12:58 PM

Half of the Government’s share of the sale has to go back to the Troika under the terms of the bailout that relate to the sale of State Assets.

So that leaves the Government with one-eighth of €1.36 billion, i.e. €186 million. To put that in context, Irish Water spent THREE times that amount (€540 million) installing water meters.

Seems like a pretty bad deal for the taxpayer now, doesn’t it!?

Mute Keniby Khronicles
    Favourite Keniby Khronicles
    May 26th 2015, 9:08 AM

“IAG offered €1.36 billion but was unfortunately rejected when DOB countered with a better offer of €10 million and positions of the board of Maltese Falcon airways for all involved.”

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    May 26th 2015, 9:25 AM

I’d say it will be a battle between DOB and Nestlé for Irish Water in 2019.

Mute Martin Thompson
    Favourite Martin Thompson
    May 26th 2015, 9:45 AM

What will they sell next? Army, Gardai, Prisons?? Maybe the Aran Islands. #CLOWNS

Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    May 26th 2015, 12:45 PM

DOB does not allow talk about DOB …..injunction to follow.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 26th 2015, 1:01 PM

What about Teneo? Fairly strong political connection there.

Mute Con ODomhnaill
    Favourite Con ODomhnaill
    May 26th 2015, 9:32 AM

Somebody call KPMG, they’ll arrange a shareholder sweetener to get the deal done. Shhh … don’t tell Michael Noonan. Later on Nooney will set up an investigation to find the missing millions. By KPMG.

Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    May 26th 2015, 1:25 PM

Dennis is a menace with his anyone for tennis…..love to Dennis balls to Noonan

Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle
    May 26th 2015, 9:06 AM

Whatever the “sweetener” is I bet it’ll be in a brown envelope !!!

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    May 26th 2015, 9:24 AM

So the big Sell Out of State Assets ( Citizens Assets ) continues by FG , ably assisted by FG beag ( Labour ) !

Siteserv , Irish Water , Aer Lingus – 500,000 of our young Citizens exported abroad !

What’s next from this awful rightwing Government ? Who would sell their Mother for a bit of profit !

Bring on The General Election ASAP .

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    May 26th 2015, 9:31 AM

Hi bud – you got a link to boast those stats. You talked some sh*t yesterday about Radio Kerry saying they have a ratio of 8 to 1. It’s 54% to 12% (roughly 9 to 2)

Complete and utter lies chum. I wouldn’t believe too many figures you come out with mo chara

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    May 26th 2015, 9:41 AM

FG/Lab will try to sweeten the deal by throwing in their grannies…..they’ve sold everyone else.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    May 26th 2015, 9:48 AM

Baz – are you on the Bus from Letterkenny ?

I don’t think that you are taking your Gerryphobia Meds are you ?

You know what the Doctor told you Baz ? You will be back in the straight jacket again , if you don’t !!!

Hope you paid for your water – on the double ?

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    May 26th 2015, 10:14 AM

Paul, incorrect.

These days, its logins to secret HBSC Swiss Bank accounts. But you aren’t allowed to ask about that!

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    May 26th 2015, 10:15 AM

You got a link chum?

Didn’t think so

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    May 26th 2015, 10:24 AM
    Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    May 26th 2015, 12:14 PM

Except ff sold off EI. EI is not a state asset, it is a publicly quoted company.

Mute CorkBoi
    Favourite CorkBoi
    May 26th 2015, 1:28 PM

In Cork ,boi,they are called ‘strait-jackets ‘ ..Thought the loony Baz would have corrected that little mistake ,like.

Mute Trevor Curley
    Favourite Trevor Curley
    May 26th 2015, 3:02 PM

Once there’s money involved Enda n Joans rich buddies will make sure there looked after .

Mute Trevor Curley
    Favourite Trevor Curley
    May 26th 2015, 3:05 PM

Dont mind Baz He is typical failgeal slime bag that Enda has on here .

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    May 26th 2015, 3:05 PM

its dobs, thats a dusting of brown sugar not the other dob

Mute Jonathan Bambury
    Favourite Jonathan Bambury
    May 26th 2015, 3:40 PM

Neither fg or labour have the spine required to come to blows over anything.Both are disgusting carcases of democracy that will slimeball their way tru any circumstances to stay in their seats.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    May 26th 2015, 10:09 AM

Okay, this is Ireland.

FIRST, lets start with the FULL disclosure of the NAMES of those in the “expert group”.

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    May 26th 2015, 9:15 AM

I think it’s sold but FG/LAB are only worried about the backlash it will have with election looming. Rats might just do it and abandon ship..

Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    May 26th 2015, 9:13 AM

Labour TD will be will be like hens teeth after election on the sale of Air lingus

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    May 26th 2015, 9:40 AM

Are we forgetting that we are an island ? Selling off the national airline makes no sense.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    May 26th 2015, 10:12 AM

What is sense got to do with FG and the selling (gifting away) of national assets? They don’t do ‘sense’, just finger licking cronyism.

Siteserv = corrupt.

Free the Swiss HSBC 350 – this injustice has to end!!

Mute Amused Bystander
    Favourite Amused Bystander
    May 26th 2015, 10:34 AM

It’s not the national airline… We sold it years ago and now have just s minority shareholding…

Ryanair is closer to being a national airline anyway, it carries more people in and out of this country…

Mute Lapmo_Dancer
    Favourite Lapmo_Dancer
    May 26th 2015, 12:22 PM

You are incorrect.

Mute Justin Credible
    Favourite Justin Credible
    May 26th 2015, 2:27 PM

Its not really a national airline any more, as the government only owns 25% of it, and Ryanair owning close to 30%. long term it will probably be good for Aer Lingus ad dublin airport as IAG have plans to invest money in Aer Lingus, and possibly build a another runway in dublin.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    May 26th 2015, 9:30 AM

As a condition of the sale the government are insisting it has to be rebranded O’Brienair after their favourite hero and brown envelope shuffler Dennis .

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    May 26th 2015, 2:55 PM

the deal is more than likely done this is just showboating

Mute Jay Toner
    Favourite Jay Toner
    May 26th 2015, 10:27 AM

All FG/Lab say is we’re in a recovery and unemployment is tumbling and we’re ahead of targets. Yet they are selling off the family silver.. doesn’t make sense.

You go to a pawn broker if you’re smashed and need to be propped up short term. You completely sell off the family assets when you’re smashed and have nowhere else to turn.

The airline is being way undervalued. It’s parts are worth way more than what IAG are offering.

Massive cash reserves, a lot of stock and the gold dust that is Heathrow slots.
    SAS sold a pair of Heathrow slots recently for €52m which values the 23 pairs of Aer Lingus slots at around €1.2bn. Then take into account the weak euro against sterling and IAG are getting an absolute bargain.

I reckon there might be a couple of board positions at IAG or their subsidiaries on offer to gov ministers when they retire as a sweetener.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    May 26th 2015, 1:19 PM
    Mute Jay Toner
    Favourite Jay Toner
    May 26th 2015, 5:17 PM

The article said the prices vary but also said £1bn.

Bare in mind SAS sold an afternoon slot, Aer Lingus have slots for every time period of the day.

The fact remains that Aer Lingus slots at Heathrow and cash reserves alone are worth more than what IAG are paying for the whole company. The Euro is devalued at the moment against sterling and the dollar, this allows IAG to pay considerably less as they’re buying the shares in euro.

This is a bad deal and every Labour TD in Dublin will pay the price in the election. It doesn’t help the Aer Lingus employees bring represented by SIPTU and Impact as both are Labour is disguise and will only go so far to criticise the Labour part in the deal.

Mute Gerald Gallagher
    Favourite Gerald Gallagher
    May 26th 2015, 9:26 AM

Baz if you pop up to Letterkenny i’ll pay for you’re bus ticket to the airport for you

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    May 26th 2015, 10:11 AM

*your

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 26th 2015, 12:47 PM

Too little, and far too late, Ms Burton.

Mute Mr. Dave
    Favourite Mr. Dave
    May 26th 2015, 12:49 PM

Years ago it used to be about apointing ministers to mind the ‘silverware’. One to look after electricity, another transport etc.. But decades of missmanagement and corruption we as citizens own nothing. It’s a shame, and even though this is a small stake in Aerlingus its still something, and as long as we have a stake in it then it gaurantees our vital air links to bigger airports like Heathrow and Schipol.
    I don’t see what we as a state have to gain by selling this stake. This money will be used to pay off bondholders anyway in one payment.Dead money.

Mute Craic the Whip
    Favourite Craic the Whip
    May 26th 2015, 11:11 AM

One case that should make the government stop and think, although I doubt the government care is Air New Zealand’s disastrous privatisation which later required re-nationalisation. New Zealand like Ireland is a small island nation and when parent airline Ansett filed for bankruptcy the NZ government had to save Air NZ or be without indigenous air service. Air NZ has since become one of the worlds leading smaller airlines despite its state ownership when across the Tasman its privately owned rival Qantas is struggling. Unlike Lufthansa or Air France British Airways have no regional bases, everything in the UK is funnelled through Heathrow (except bucket and spade routes handled by Gatwick) why on earth would they suddenly take some interest in Dublin and whatever about Dublin they’ll have zero interest in what happens in Cork or Shannon when Manchester doesn’t even have a BA base. Also those Aer Lingus Etihad codeshares will likely vanish as Qatar is now an IAG shareholders, frankly there are a plethora of issues surrounding this sale that it seems the cabinet either didn’t consider or don’t care about because they need to make a quick buck.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 26th 2015, 11:47 AM

It is ridiculous to compare Ireland with New Zealand based on size and demographics. Ireland is part of a much bigger EU trading block and is strategically positioned for cross Atlantic air traffic. New Zealand largely relies on Australia and China for it’s trade.

Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    May 26th 2015, 12:43 PM

No, the Liars’ Party formally labour will once more abandon it’s electorate take pensions/perks/bribes/sinecures and to hell with the voter.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    May 26th 2015, 11:15 AM

‘I haven’t a clue’: TDs aren’t sure what’s being offered to sweeten Aer Lingus sale. Hardly a surprise since its only now , everyone is finding out what was the sweetener for siteserv and the irbc. Backhanders and writedowns. Sure the government will have worked out the best possible deal and then go with the worst.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    May 26th 2015, 9:11 AM

The only thing we know for definite is that AIG could offer every citizen in Ireland a free airbus 330, a trip to New York every year with €10k spending money and a cuddly toy and the Shinners would still moan saying they’re not happy as they want to protect the vulnerable in society.

Mute Mr. Dave
    Favourite Mr. Dave
    May 26th 2015, 9:16 AM

Ha! Classic Baz with the ‘shinners’ rhetoric.

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    May 26th 2015, 9:22 AM

Look at them shinners over there!
    LOOK AT THEM!!!!!

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    May 26th 2015, 9:23 AM

Baz, that’s some ‘shoe-horning’. I reckon SF are also responsible for Apollo 13.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    May 26th 2015, 9:39 AM

Haha Baz is a classic clown alright.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    May 26th 2015, 10:20 AM

Jabus Baz, you must of got an extra pat on the head from Heir Edna this morning, did he wear this costume for you again?

The adults would like to know what “commitments” where made to the to “the government on Aer Lingus’ coveted Heathrow slots”. Because in my eyes the much trumpeted FIVE years to promise, is a VERY short sighed gamble to take. IF you haven’t noticed we are an Island.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    May 26th 2015, 1:13 PM

Government selling out the people again in favor of a corporation. Siptu selling out its members in favor of labour party,things are just not a changing.

Mute Franco
    Favourite Franco
    May 26th 2015, 9:55 AM

Joes answer should read i haven’t a clue about reality!

Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    May 26th 2015, 1:12 PM

Next thing labour will look for a guarantee from AIG for there Dail seats in next election

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    May 26th 2015, 2:27 PM

FG and Labour come to blows?
    When puff comes to shush…

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    May 26th 2015, 3:07 PM

No way will they fall out, Labour will buckle again as they have done since 2011 :-)

Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    May 26th 2015, 2:43 PM

Shame Alan did not stay with his phone….

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    May 26th 2015, 1:57 PM

This is one of my favourite regular journal segments.

It’s superbly done.

Mute Fran Cowzer
    Favourite Fran Cowzer
    May 27th 2015, 7:54 PM

Not at all Labour will just be capitulating as usual

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    May 26th 2015, 7:22 PM

FFS. 75% of Aer Lingus was got rid of by FF – and Dublin Airport was in that Taoiseach’s constituency. It’s a bit late to be complaining about what happens to the leftovers now.

Mute Tom Barry
    Favourite Tom Barry
    May 26th 2015, 1:33 PM

Until this corrupt dictatorships is disbanded.Ireland and its people are in deep troubled