You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

AIB lost €1.7 billion last year, but that's much better than the previous year

The bank says that it thinks it will return to profitability by next year.

ALLIED IRISH BANK lost €1.7 billion last year, €2 billion less than it lost the previous year.

In its annual results for 2013 which were announced this morning, the bank said that it is hopeful that it will return to profitability by 2015.

AIB CEO David Duffy said last year was one of “steady progress” at the bank.

“A number of important milestones have been reached and the fundamentals of AIB’s performance are now trending more positively both from an operational and economic perspective,” he said.

The bank’s total operating income was up 34 per cent to €1.9 billion. Operating expenses fell significantly, down €278 million, including staff costs down 18 per cent due in part to a large number of redundancies.

David Duffy said the bank was focused on making a profit this year.

“Notwithstanding the ongoing challenges facing the bank, we are more optimistic for the outlook of both the bank and the Irish economy,” he said.

Read: 30 former AIB senior execs asked to take pension reduction >

Read: Some Bank of Ireland cards to be blocked from AIB machines >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

54 Comments
    Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs
    Jun 1st 2018, 10:05 AM

“The host was comedian Jason Byrne”. Comedian!? Seriously? Cholera is funnier than that lad.

Mute Shimmy Shammy
    Favourite Shimmy Shammy
    Jun 1st 2018, 10:11 AM

@TellingItAsItIs: How himself and Ed Byrne have made career in comedy is baffling.

Mute Jodi
    Favourite Jodi
    Jun 1st 2018, 10:12 AM

@TellingItAsItIs: But he is a comedian, that’s his trade. Not saying he is funny, that’s subjective. I mean, look at Taxi Drivers…

Mute I like this cushion
    Favourite I like this cushion

@TellingItAsItIs: He’s like an Irish Samantha Bee. Unfunny, cringey and annoying.

Mute TellingItAsItIs
    Favourite TellingItAsItIs
    Jun 1st 2018, 10:14 AM

@Shimmy Shammy: Marty Morrissey won best TV presenter? Ah here! Now that IS comedy.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Jun 1st 2018, 10:33 AM

@Jodi: at taxi drivers???
    Is that meant to be humorous jodi?

Mute Rear Admiral
    Favourite Rear Admiral
    Jun 1st 2018, 12:33 PM

@TellingItAsItIs:

Jason Byrne is about as funny as burning orphanage. His whole monologue is:

“D’ya remember dat, d’ya remember dat, who remembers dat?”, and
    “Moi ma woulda give me a bleedin box round the head”

I see he’s picked up the goofy glasses as an extra prop

Mute I like this cushion
    Favourite I like this cushion
    Jun 1st 2018, 12:46 PM

@Rear Admiral: burning orphanage.. love it. Gonna steal that one :-)

Jun 1st 2018, 1:55 PM

@TellingItAsItIs: I’m sure IFTA will look for your approval for its next ceremony given all the achievements in your life!

Mute Michelle OShea
    Favourite Michelle OShea
    Jun 1st 2018, 2:16 PM

@Shimmy Shammy: Ed Byrne has got where he is because of Dara O’Briain, riding on the coat tails. They did do road trips that were quite funny..

Mute Sean Leonard
    Favourite Sean Leonard

Lisa McGee deserved the award as did Goggle Box and Red Rock…. But whoever voted for Marty Morrissey or Dancing with the Z-Listers need help!

Mute Sideshow Bob
    Favourite Sideshow Bob
    Jun 1st 2018, 10:43 AM

@Sean Leonard: Dancing show had a load of viewers.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jun 1st 2018, 10:58 AM

@Sean Leonard: Dancing with the Staff morelike.. Goggle box is people watching people watching TV.. They should get an award for most ridiculous idea ever.

Jun 1st 2018, 1:57 PM

@Sean Leonard: The Young Offenders would have pipped it for me. What talent in the one category! AND Sharon Horgan is killing it!

Mute Sean Leonard
    Favourite Sean Leonard
    Jun 1st 2018, 3:19 PM

@Deborah Behan: true

Mute Jeremiah Dempsey
    Favourite Jeremiah Dempsey
    Jun 1st 2018, 10:42 AM

We are a funny people naturally and I know some genuinely hilarious people. It always befuddled me as to how we manage to consistently produce such bland, safe middle of the road comedies and comedians

Jun 1st 2018, 1:59 PM

@Jeremiah Dempsey: maybe it’s you?

Mute Jeremiah Dempsey
    Favourite Jeremiah Dempsey
    Jun 1st 2018, 2:25 PM

@Deborah Behan: maybe it’s me what? It’s pure shite we produce

Mute Marcia Craine
    Favourite Marcia Craine
    Jun 1st 2018, 12:24 PM

Wondering why activists aren’t doing more for travellers? Ha ha ha! I wonder why.

Mute Liam Ward
    Favourite Liam Ward
    Jun 1st 2018, 10:35 AM

Marty Morrissey? Wouldn’t cross the rd to see him,met him once enough said

Mute cath
    Favourite cath
    Jun 1st 2018, 10:39 AM

The only good thing about derry girls was sister micheal she should have her own show, as for the young offenders it was okish both not that funny!

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Jun 1st 2018, 10:14 AM

Did anyone turn up for their awards?

Mute mike scott
    Favourite mike scott
    Jun 1st 2018, 10:18 AM

@Paul Furey: nobody important did.

Mute Mike Keane
    Favourite Mike Keane
    Jun 1st 2018, 1:52 PM

@Paul Furey: Because Jason Byrne was the only one to turn up, he got to present the awards as well.

Mute Gomurphy
    Favourite Gomurphy
    Jun 1st 2018, 12:46 PM

John Connors passionate speech, Bet it was about the poor Travellers

Mute Tom McHugh
    Favourite Tom McHugh
    Jun 1st 2018, 11:13 AM

When I think of these events, it reminds me of the Jimmy Savilles of this world, who with a modicum of talent and a massive ego, managed to keep himself in the limelight for years.

Mute Brian Deane
    Favourite Brian Deane
    Jun 1st 2018, 10:31 AM

Never mind the IFTAs – does television even have a future? Load of biased overpaid windbags.

Mute Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    Jun 1st 2018, 7:44 PM

John Connors and his Travellers rights speech!? Travellers have the same rights to go to school and get a job like the rest of us. They can even pay taxes, use bins and tax and insure their cars too!

Mute Ronan Skelly
    Favourite Ronan Skelly
    Jun 1st 2018, 12:17 PM

Really in all honesty the IFTA awards are a joke…no one who is anyone actually goes to them. For good reason too. They are an embarrassing example of Irish TV…. same old same old. They must do a trawl of the rte canteen before every show to see if anyone wants to do a nicer!

Mute Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Ciara Ni Mhurchu
    Jun 1st 2018, 1:09 PM

Infairness they had absolutely no competition.

Mute Tom McHugh
    Favourite Tom McHugh
    Jun 1st 2018, 11:08 AM

As it is difficult to provide metrics for being a celebrity, what better way to celebrate?

Mute Graeme Murphy
    Favourite Graeme Murphy
    Jun 1st 2018, 11:23 AM

What’s this toxic warning crap? Is for snowflakes? #Moretoxicthebetter

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Jun 3rd 2018, 5:15 AM

This title should read Jason Byrne is a complete knob

Mute Graeme Murphy
    Favourite Graeme Murphy
    Jun 1st 2018, 2:59 PM

What kind of message do i have to post to get a 10/10 on the toxicometer dealy thing a ma jig