You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

SIPA USA/PA Images

Woman wakes up alone on plane after falling asleep during flight

Air Canada has apologised and said it is investigating the incident.

A WOMAN WOKE up alone on an Air Canada plane after falling asleep during the flight after apparently being forgotten about by staff. 

Tiffani Adams, who was flying from Quebec to Toronto, said she woke up in “pitch black” with the plane having landed and apparently been towed away from the airport, after passengers and crew had disembarked.

Her story was posted on Air Canada’s Facebook page by a friend. 

Air Canada has apologised for the incident. Adams has said that hasn’t had much sleep since the incident took place on 9 June and is struggling with night terrors.

According to the post, Adams was flying from Quebec to Toronto Pearson International Airport when she fell asleep, aided by the fact that she’d ended up with a whole row of seats to herself.

“I think I’m having a bad dream (because) like seriously how is this happening,” she wrote.

She briefly called a friend but was cut short when her phone’s battery died.

“I’m trying to focus on my breathing and control my panic attack while I attempt to charge my phone by plugging into every USB port I could find,” she wrote, but that proved fruitless because the electricity on the plane was turned off.

After finally finding a torch in the cockpit, she managed to open one of the doors but faced a drop of up to 15 metres to get out of the plane.

She then used the torch to draw the attention of a luggage cart driver, who arrived to find Adams with her legs hanging out of the plane’s open doorway.

“He is in shock, asking how the heck they left me on the plane,” she said. “I’m wondering the same.”

Air Canada told Canadian broadcaster CTV News that it was reviewing the episode but declined to offer further details.

View 60 comments
60 Comments
    Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Jun 24th 2019, 8:54 AM

Suffering night terrors me hole – litigation terrors more like …

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:37 AM

@Dara O’Brien: let’s be honest. When she woke up, she spent the first 5 mins running up and down the aisle singing, I’m in the money.

Mute JL Pagano
    Favourite JL Pagano
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:56 AM

While naturally the pair of you would just say ‘ah yer grand lads, sure twas no bother’ and leave it go? Come on. Anyone in their right minds would sue.

Mute Chris Linehan
    Favourite Chris Linehan
    Jun 24th 2019, 10:27 AM

@JL Pagano: She undoubtedly has a case for compensation for the inconvenience etc. but night terrors? Come off it.

Mute Gareth
    Favourite Gareth
    Jun 24th 2019, 10:42 AM

@Chris Linehan: you should actually read the full story on CTV.ca, it actually does sound a little scary. And she did have to do pretty much everything except deploy the emergency slide. She was even sitting in the captains chair, trying to get help on his headpiece, but the plane had being parked for the night, with the battery disconnected

Mute Paula Mackie Senior
    Favourite Paula Mackie Senior
    Jun 24th 2019, 11:29 AM

@JL Pagano: stop this culture of blaming everyone but yourself and looking for monetary compensation. It’s ruining things.

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Jun 24th 2019, 12:36 PM

@JL Pagano: I must not be of a right mind so – I’d appreciate that I have a cool story and get on with my life. Suing wouldn’t enter my head. Greed, its why we can’t have nice things, everyone out to get some easy cash.

Mute Donwon999
    Favourite Donwon999
    Jun 24th 2019, 8:54 AM

I must tell the Journal about my Nitelink adventures back in the day

Mute Aisling
    Favourite Aisling
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:21 AM

@Donwon999: ‘huh…so this is greystones then…’

Mute Zippy
    Favourite Zippy
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:40 AM

@Donwon999: man just had a flash back hahaha

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jun 24th 2019, 10:22 AM

@Donwon999: hahah i still get night terrors when you mention nitelink and dublin bus garages

Mute Shane Fleming
    Favourite Shane Fleming
    Jun 24th 2019, 11:27 AM

@Donwon999: Fell asleep once going to Blanchardstown. Ended up having to get up at the last stop, outside Corduff

Mute Daniel Finucane
    Favourite Daniel Finucane
    Jun 24th 2019, 3:46 PM

@Donwon999: #metoo

Mute David Jones
    Favourite David Jones
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:19 AM

Air B&B :-)

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:32 AM

@David Jones: Brilliant, thanks for the laugh.

Mute Declan Edward
    Favourite Declan Edward
    Jun 24th 2019, 8:57 AM

I’d only be delighted if I would get such a sound sleep! Mildly inconvenienced, yet it’s like she went through a war. People are too sensitive these days

Mute fergal sweeney
    Favourite fergal sweeney
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:03 AM

Insurances going through the roofs…. You can’t even have a nap nowadays without waking up wanting to sue somebody.

Mute jacquoranda
    Favourite jacquoranda
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:02 AM

She’s lucky it wasn’t Ryanair. O’Leary would charge you extra for getting a bit of shut-eye.

Mute Robbie Clancy
    Favourite Robbie Clancy
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:44 AM

I remember the time I fell asleep on the bus, when I awoke I was in the bus garage. I was confused, disoriented and because I was upstairs on the bus all the people in the garage looked like ants. I eventually found my way to the top of the stairs only to realise my grappling hook and ropes had been stolen. My only option was to free climb the labyrinth of steps to reach the lower deck. Altitude sickness was setting in, so time wasn’t on my side. I held my breath a took the first step down. Diastaster… my leading foot slipped and I found myself tumbling towards the bottom deck. Drifting in and out of consciousness i pictured my daughters wedding day and how happy and proud I was of the beautiful lady she had become. Was this the end for me?

Mute Jointheclubtoo
    Favourite Jointheclubtoo
    Jun 24th 2019, 10:18 AM

@Robbie Clancy: You’re finished as an author.

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Jun 24th 2019, 10:44 AM

@Robbie Clancy: omg next chapter

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jun 24th 2019, 11:11 AM

@Robbie Clancy: gripping stuff. Serialise this, please.

Mute James Clarke
    Favourite James Clarke
    Jun 24th 2019, 11:13 AM

@Robbie Clancy: VERY FUNNY.. THAT WAS BRILLIANT! YOU SHOULD WRITE FOR THE JOURNAL! ;)

Mute Joe Soap
    Favourite Joe Soap
    Jun 24th 2019, 11:38 AM

@Robbie Clancy: so what happened Robbie, what happened?

Mute This Guy
    Favourite This Guy
    Jun 24th 2019, 8:45 AM

Why is she posting as if she’s writing a novel?

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:38 AM

@This Guy: because according to the article it was a friend of hers who wrote about it, hence, it’s a narrative

Mute This Guy
    Favourite This Guy
    Jun 24th 2019, 10:10 AM

@Vocal Outrage: The question still stands.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jun 24th 2019, 10:24 AM

@This Guy: i believe its called ” milking it”

Mute Mark Dawson
    Favourite Mark Dawson
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:06 AM

Hasnt slept since lol chasing the claim

Mute Shane Hickey
    Favourite Shane Hickey
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:56 AM

Used the last of her phone battery to call a friend… Not the emergency services

Mute AA
    Favourite AA
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:11 AM

She opened a door but faced a drop of up to 15 metres? What kind of aircraft was that?

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:19 AM

@AA: the plane itself must have been sleep hovering.

Mute Mushy Peas
    Favourite Mushy Peas
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:22 AM

@AA: has to be 15 feet I reckon, but no doubt the meter measurement will go in her claim

Mute Nigel Comerford
    Favourite Nigel Comerford
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:24 AM

I woke up in the Clontarf garage after falling sleep in the night link years ago. How much is that worth?

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    Jun 24th 2019, 12:20 PM

@Nigel Comerford: A few more beers at least….

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:00 AM

When I worked in London way back; one of my colleagues, fond of the drop, was awoken by cleaners in Tube depot sidings on morre than one occasion!

Mute Dominic Leleu
    Favourite Dominic Leleu
    Jun 24th 2019, 10:24 AM

Now that is unfortunate and fully the fault of the crew. She will have a good compensation or proposal from the airplane line. She is right to do so if she want. Lucky she found a torch.
    Note also she could access the cockpit which tell something about basic security.

Mute Alonzo Margate
    Favourite Alonzo Margate
    Jun 24th 2019, 8:38 AM

How many women!?

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jun 24th 2019, 8:40 AM

@Alonzo Margate: I bet she gets enough money for “women” plural out of it.

Mute SFNutters
    Favourite SFNutters
    Jun 24th 2019, 10:38 AM

@Rob Cahill: panicking because she’s stuck on a plane …SNOWFOOKINGFLAKE

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Jun 24th 2019, 11:21 AM

@Rob Cahill: now Rob none of your sexism please!

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jun 24th 2019, 11:10 AM

Most rewarding sleep ever

Mute Life is short enjoy it
    Favourite Life is short enjoy it
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:01 AM

We were on a family hoilday transfer at Dubai the other half got pulled at security went with, we were brought down to the basement luggage hold. After bags were checked.

We were taken back to the plane however it was a different plane if I had not of went with, my other half would of ended up else where as her seat number was free on this flight.

We all ways joke how instead of loosing bags I could of lost them.

Mute Andy O'B
    Favourite Andy O'B
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:04 AM

@Life is short enjoy it: “have” not “of”…you used “of” so many times there when you should have used “have”

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:05 AM

@Life is short enjoy it:
    Some one didn’t get enough sleep

Mute Seaniecp
    Favourite Seaniecp
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:17 AM

@Andy O’B: ah Andy. Life is short enjoy it.

Mute Andy O'B
    Favourite Andy O'B
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:39 AM

@Seaniecp: hahahahaha! Love it!

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:41 AM

@Life is short enjoy it: painful read

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Jun 24th 2019, 11:09 AM

The staff were negligent. Security checks in Airports are necessary but can be annoying. If a person can be left behind like this it shows that their staff messed up big time.

Mute Stephen O'Driscoll
    Favourite Stephen O'Driscoll
    Jun 24th 2019, 2:05 PM

It was pitch black yet she found all the USB ports.

Mute John Kerr
    Favourite John Kerr
    Jun 24th 2019, 1:23 PM

Door is not 15 Metre off the ground closer to 4 Metre at max big fuss over nothing

Mute Ed
    Favourite Ed
    Jun 24th 2019, 12:32 PM

I hope Steven Spielberg directs the Oscar winning movie about this ordeal.

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Jun 24th 2019, 11:38 AM

I could see this happening to me as I tend to take to take an over-the-counter sleep aid when I fly long haul flights. I would hope someone would check the seats before closing the plane up LOL…

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jun 24th 2019, 10:35 AM

Got left on an Imp for 12 hours. Haven’t been on a bus since.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Jun 24th 2019, 9:20 PM

Night terrors, jaysus. I mean, if she missed a connecting flight over it that cost her greatly then you’d say ok, she deserves a few pound. Maybe a free flight somewhere. If it happened to me, I’d be delighted with my cool story. I’d dine out on it for years. Night terrors? People would sicken ya with their shite.

Mute James Clarke
    Favourite James Clarke
    Jun 24th 2019, 11:09 AM

Stupid woman! I think I hear the Solicitors phone ringing? This should never go to court!

Mute James McLoughlin
    Favourite James McLoughlin
    Jun 24th 2019, 12:59 PM

@James Clarke: Why is she stupid?

Mute Jmc
    Favourite Jmc
    Jun 25th 2019, 12:28 AM

She suffers from panic attacks one thinks she may have taken one or 2 extra Alprazolam and was flat out. But she set must have go a fright picture you were on a plane full of people and when you woke up it was dark with no1 on the plane she was set on strong meds…

Mute Jimbo Byrne
    Favourite Jimbo Byrne
    Jun 25th 2019, 8:11 AM

That’s just plane crazy

Mute anthony o cathain
    Favourite anthony o cathain
    Jun 24th 2019, 12:16 PM

Idiot. Should be grounded