You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

An example of booking with Airbnb. Phil Campbell via Flickr/Creative Commmons

Airbnb to double its workforce in Dublin - and Bono is delighted

The company will create 100 new jobs at its European HQ.

PROPERTY RENTAL WEBSITE Airbnb has announced that it is to double its workforce in Ireland, creating 100 new jobs.

The website allows users to rent out rooms, houses, and any other kind of property online.

The jobs will largely be mainly in its customer experience and hospitality teams, but roles will also be created in its HR, finance and legal departments.

Minister for Jobs Richard Bruton welcomed the announcement, saying the government is seeking to encourage more “born-on-the-internet” companies to locate in Ireland.

Many already have, such as Twitter, Google, and Facebook.

Brian Chesky, Airbnb’s co-founder and chief executive, said choosing to expand in Dublin was “a complete no-brainer” as Ireland is “the most hospitable country on the planet”.

Chesky said our low corporate tax rate “obviously wasn’t one of the first two or three considerations” examined by the company when deciding to locate its European headquarters in the capital.

He cited our hospitality and skilled workforce as factors that had a bigger influence, adding that the company was particularly looking for people who spoke two or three languages.

Bono

U2 frontman Bono, who met with the company earlier this year at the World Economic Forum in Davos, said Airbnb are a “force to be reckoned with”:

Tech companies like these are training grounds for a smart and savvy workforce like ours.

He added that its important that jobs like these are created in order to retain “our best and brightest”.

The company opened its Hospitality Innovation Lab in Dublin last year, where it plans to “innovate on the customer experience”.

Airbnb could be valued at more than €7bn if current negotiations to raise capital are achieved.

With additional reporting by Órla Ryan

Read: Airbnb to open European HQ in Dublin >

More: Bono had dinner with the Taoiseach and Finance Minister tonight >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

36 Comments
    Mute Miguel O'Reilly
    Favourite Miguel O'Reilly
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:30 AM

i’m not Bonos biggest fan, though I like a lot of U2s music, but I don’t think people realise how involved Bono is with the Tech Industry major players here in Ireland. I expect to get a monstrous amount of red thumbs for this comment but in my opinion Bono has done as much, if not more for job creation in the tech sector in Ireland in the past few years than our government. It’s not widely publicised, or publicised at all in fact but believe it or not Bono had a major part to play in Facebook coming to Dublin. I believe he had some part to play in google also but I’m not overly familiar with that.

It’s very easy to slag him as probably our most famous living person, and i’ve been very guilty of slagging him many times :), but credit where credit is due, he could sit on his arse and count his money smoking a cigar whilst stroking a cat in his swivel chair, but he chooses to do the complete opposite.

Mute Liam Connors
    Favourite Liam Connors
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:35 AM

Fair play to Bono. That’s the Sweetest Thing I’ve read in a long time. And you can criticise him all you like, but With Or Without You, this company will still be a success.

Mute Wicklow Weather
    Favourite Wicklow Weather
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:39 AM

You shall be struck down but your right he was directly involved in brinfing Facebook and Airbnb to Ireland and indirectly involved in Google and many others. I think the boya Bono is trying his best but as we all know in Ireland that will never be good enough since his management and colleagues moved a “small portion” of their overall industry to Holland to reduce their tax burden. Fair play to ye Bonzo.

Mute Liam Connors
    Favourite Liam Connors
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:47 AM

By the way, I was only joking when I said fair play to Bono. He’s a disgrace. I do love that song they do though. What’s the lyric? It’s a Beautiful Day for corporate tax avoidance. Or something like that.

Mute Liam Connors
    Favourite Liam Connors
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:49 AM

Did Bono have a part in bringing Google and Facebook to Dublin? Wow. And did he invent the Internet as well?

Mute Philip Cavanagh
    Favourite Philip Cavanagh
    Apr 4th 2014, 11:02 AM

There’s always one.

Mute AARO-SAURUS
    Favourite AARO-SAURUS
    Apr 4th 2014, 12:16 PM

No. That was dear leader kim Jong un.

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Apr 4th 2014, 1:47 PM

Kim Jong only invented whoateallthepies.com

Mute Sebastian Gilhooley
    Favourite Sebastian Gilhooley
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:23 AM

Uh oh. Bono is mentioned. Prepare for the comments section to go into a frenzy of jealous rage and insults at the the U2 front man.

Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:33 AM

I’ll get the ball rolling my good man.Bono’s a knobber.

Mute Capitaine Adebayo Flynn
    Favourite Capitaine Adebayo Flynn
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:37 AM

Fair play to Bono, but lets not get off the point here and stay on topic, the guys an A$$hole.

Mute Inyourendo
    Favourite Inyourendo
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:38 AM

Story Bono, giz a job will ya

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:26 AM

Bono? Who’s Bono?

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:53 AM

I cannot really say too much about Bono without laughing. He used to annoy me but now I think he is a comical character, a court jester wheeled out on the world stage to amuse the wealthy and powerful. What more can I say except, “Bono you are a Ballox”. That felt good.

Mute Eme
    Favourite Eme
    Apr 4th 2014, 12:26 PM

Why is Bono so delighted? Where does he pay his taxes to?!

Mute Michael Flanagan
    Favourite Michael Flanagan
    Apr 4th 2014, 3:41 PM

He pays it to ireland pretty simple!

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Apr 4th 2014, 3:53 PM

Don’t be lying, Michael.

Mute Rupert Ruccus
    Favourite Rupert Ruccus
    Apr 4th 2014, 11:36 AM

Begrudging feckers the lot of yis

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Apr 4th 2014, 4:08 PM

It’s not begrudgery. This sums it up pretty well:

http://ourmaninstockholm.com/2014/03/08/the-unforgettable-ire/

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Apr 4th 2014, 11:27 AM

Not a fan of bono’s especially after his remarks at that eoropean peoples party conference. However if he was involved in taking jobs to ireland then all credit to him.

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:27 AM

I love that expression.. Customer Experience.

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Apr 4th 2014, 11:16 AM

We need stickier jobs than simply expanding customer service roles, even if Airbnb actually offers pretty good perks for those positions.

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:22 AM

I hope the curse of Bono isn’t true. Otherwise they will be out of business in no time.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:37 AM

Curse of Bono ? Most successful musician of all time Bono

Mute Andrea Rock Massey
    Favourite Andrea Rock Massey
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:49 AM

Give me that curse any time..

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Apr 4th 2014, 11:02 AM

The world is broken, Bono make it better (in third person)

Mute Dermot O Dwyer
    Favourite Dermot O Dwyer
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:36 AM

Bono is invloved with AirnOb…

Mute Paul Burke
    Favourite Paul Burke
    Apr 4th 2014, 6:27 PM

What’s the difference between god & bono.

God doesn’t walk around thinking he is bono

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Apr 4th 2014, 2:56 PM

Brendan

Bono is of dubious legality, never mind humanity. Or even sanity. Definitely not vanity

Mute Kevin McCarthy
    Favourite Kevin McCarthy
    Apr 4th 2014, 2:36 PM

It is great news all the tech job news. But we have a rake of taxes that just takes the joy out of everything. Scrap the USC,property tax and water charges. Let folks spend or save their hard earned money rather than see it go down the bank debt hole.

Mute Rachel Owens
    Favourite Rachel Owens
    Apr 4th 2014, 1:48 PM

Yet more good news, Shinners must be despairing

Mute Brendan Boyd
    Favourite Brendan Boyd
    Apr 4th 2014, 2:26 PM

Many airbnb rentals are of dubious legality.

Mute Dexter Ferguson
    Favourite Dexter Ferguson
    Apr 4th 2014, 1:58 PM

Bono is going to ascend into a higher being!!!!

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Apr 4th 2014, 3:01 PM

Dexter

I agree. Lets start a campaign to canonise Bono. Now, now. Stranger things have happened before in the history of canonisation.

We could start by referring to him as Blessed Bono or even Blessed without the Bono (now there’s a thought).

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Apr 5th 2014, 1:12 AM

Not what I was expecting when I saw Bono was delighted at the start of the article. I had visions of him unloading trailers of air mattressess at his place and being innundated with his adoring fans from overseas bunking down on them at €50 a go.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Apr 4th 2014, 10:59 PM

Air bnb is great!! Except along the Bible Belt in USA. Seriously! Awkward moments.