You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Passengers wait for their flight at Dublin Airport. RollingNews.ie

Irish airport complaints rose by 56% in 2018

The airline and airport regulator has struggled to cope with the volume of complaints.

THE NUMBER OF complaints received by the Commission for Aviation Regulation increased by 56% in 2018 – with 2,319 complaints submitted to the regulator last year. 

The scale of complaints is a significant jump from 2017. The commission has struggled to cope with the volume of complaints, which has forced a re-think in the commission’s approach to complaints. 

The figures are contained in the Commission for Aviation Regulation’s annual report. 

One hundred and one complaints related to flights leaving from non-Irish airports. 

A total of 1,657 complaints cases have been completed, with 561 ongoing. 

Of completed cases, 52% related to long delays, while 44% were prompted by cancellations. Sixty-four cases, or 4%, related to people who were denied boarding. 

In terms of airlines, 34% of cancellation complaints were regarding Ryanair, while 49% related to Aer Lingus. 

Ryanair was the subject of 23% of complaints about delays, while the figure for Aer Lingus was 36%. The remainder related to other airlines.

A total of 19 actionable complaints – double the number from 2017 – were received in relation to the treatment of people with reduced mobility. Issues raised included difficulties with assistance during arrival and departure at airports, as well as inadequate assistance in disembarking from aircrafts.  

“We are particularly proud of a number of achievements in 2018,” Commissioner Cathy Mannion said in a statement. 

In May, the commission proposed measures to reduce the passenger charges it levies on airlines. 

This year will see the commission working to “ensure that airport charges are efficient and in passengers’ best interests,” Mannion said.

A report on airline price caps and charges will be published in September, the report states. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute Connor Saváge
    Favourite Connor Saváge
    Jul 22nd 2019, 12:28 PM

Any time i fly from T2 i reach security and there’s literally only 1 or 2 scan gates staffed to check carry on luggage with huge queues. Why did they bother kitting the place out with easily 20 when most of them have never been used?

Mute Seb Bowyer
    Favourite Seb Bowyer
    Jul 22nd 2019, 12:47 PM

@Connor Saváge: the future…

Mute Keith Fay
    Favourite Keith Fay
    Jul 22nd 2019, 1:12 PM

@Seb Bowyer: the future is now

Mute Dave Walsh
    Favourite Dave Walsh
    Jul 22nd 2019, 1:28 PM

@Connor Saváge: Money, you have it, they want it. No retribution if your treatment is 5h1te.Like ever regulatory body in this country… Com reg.. Comes to mind, the customer comes last

Mute Renton Burke
    Favourite Renton Burke
    Jul 22nd 2019, 2:02 PM

@Connor Saváge: while entirely futile, the security had become slightly more efficient for to people getting used to it. I flew a few weeks ago, and the majority were active. The important statistic isn’t how many gates, but how long you were waiting – similar to passport control, how difficult would it be to route UK and regional flights to an area without passport checks?

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Jul 22nd 2019, 2:20 PM

@Connor Saváge: The words “brewery” and “p:as up” spring to mind.

Mute Ciarán Ó Fallúin
    Favourite Ciarán Ó Fallúin
    Jul 22nd 2019, 12:45 PM

“The airline and airport regulator has struggled to cope with the volume of complaints”.

Even the complaints are leading to complaints. Hah.

Mute Noshah Noshah
    Favourite Noshah Noshah
    Jul 22nd 2019, 12:13 PM

Both terminals are disaster, couple of flights land and u can see reality of Dublin international airport.

Mute Nosmo King
    Favourite Nosmo King
    Jul 22nd 2019, 12:49 PM

@Noshah Noshah: The report refers to Irish airports , not just Dublin and considering over 30 million passengers went through Dublin alone and only 2,319 complaints countrywide I would think that is a very decent performance.

Mute Fred Coloe
    Favourite Fred Coloe
    Jul 22nd 2019, 9:37 PM

@Nosmo King: Most don’t bother to complain. Have been through 6 times. Security speed poor. Didn’t bother to complain.

Mute Adrian Ryan
    Favourite Adrian Ryan
    Jul 27th 2019, 8:28 PM

@Fred Coloe: you’re complaining now though aren’t you

Mute Padraigh O'Shea
    Favourite Padraigh O'Shea
    Jul 22nd 2019, 1:04 PM

Dublin airport has a capacity problem, there are not enough gates for the flights arriving. A second runway will only add to that problem. Security is often very busy regardless whether you have fast track or not, but in all fairness i do not see any other larger airports doing it any better. Overall, Dublin airport feels very cramped in both terminals. The fact that Aer Lingus does not seem to be able to fly on time anymore, makes the problem worse.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Jul 22nd 2019, 1:16 PM

@Padraigh O’Shea: Hard to believe that only a few years ago that Michael O’Leary called for not to build T2 at all

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    Jul 22nd 2019, 1:37 PM

If the moaning arm chair warriors want to know what a kip airport looks like try Rhodes (any Greek Airport), Reus, Luton or even better yet CDG Paris. In fact try most European Airports and you will find Dublin is a first class airport. Second only to Queens Terminal in Heathrow IMHO

Mute A2 Poster
    Favourite A2 Poster
    Jul 22nd 2019, 3:19 PM

@Dave Connolly: I’d add Manchester airport to that list of kips.

Mute Darren
    Favourite Darren
    Jul 22nd 2019, 3:35 PM

@Dave Connolly: I never have a problem in Dublin airport and find it very efficient especially arriving home, and agree a lot of Europe’s mainland airport’s are in bits compared to Dublin.

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Jul 22nd 2019, 3:45 PM

@Dave Connolly: I fly out of Dublin a lot and I’ve never had a bad experience. Going through security is a breeze and you usually don’t have too far to walk to your gate. I’ve been in airports where you need a train to get to your gate.

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    Jul 22nd 2019, 4:26 PM

@Dave Connolly: agree 100%. Dublin airport is one of the nicest airports going.
    The main problem at security is idiots with liquids in their bags!

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Jul 22nd 2019, 5:39 PM

@Dave Connolly: I think the fact the improvements are so glaring add to frustrations though. Like the fact that there’s massive queues at T2 passport control and you can see the big e-gates all cordoned away. Plug them in and let me use them.

Mute Callmescorpy
    Favourite Callmescorpy
    Jul 22nd 2019, 1:44 PM

Travel every 2 weeks for the last 7 years. Never had an issue with Dublin Airport. Security has always been relatively easy compared with the UK. Never had an issue with toilets, staff, connections to public transport, services, check in etc. Rare to get a delayed departure from Dublin. More common to get a delay coming back or flying elsewhere in Europe. I avoid Ryanair like the plague though.

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Jul 22nd 2019, 1:58 PM

@Callmescorpy: the report states way more complaints were made against aer lingus; there were more aer lingus flights cancelled or delayed than Ryanair ones.

Mute Peter Buchanan
    Favourite Peter Buchanan
    Jul 22nd 2019, 1:45 PM

Interesting that there are more complaints about Aer Lingus than Ryanair. Considering Ryanair flies alot more passengers

Mute O Hiongardail Collie
    Favourite O Hiongardail Collie
    Jul 22nd 2019, 12:41 PM

The toilets are horrendous . Compared to most other european cities…… and the T2 for aer lingus to be shipped to T1 for take off and vice versa for arriving is a sham

Mute Me_a_monkey
    Favourite Me_a_monkey
    Jul 23rd 2019, 8:49 AM

@O Hiongardail Collie: complete farce.
    The fast track in T2 is actually slower than the standard queue!

Toilets are disgusting and having to walk up to T1 for Aer Lingus flights is crazy!
    The gates are opposite security in T1

Jul 22nd 2019, 1:04 PM

The Irish love a good moan.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 22nd 2019, 1:09 PM

@: We have plenty of ammo to work with though. The kip is a basket case.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Jul 22nd 2019, 1:17 PM

@David Corrigan: If you think you love in a basketcase kip, I would suggest you go travel and broaden your horizons. You don’t know how lucky you are to be living here

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 22nd 2019, 1:21 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: I have lived in Germany and the US for half my life so I can assure you this place is a kip. Understand that, accept it and deal with it.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Jul 22nd 2019, 1:21 PM

@David Corrigan: Why the hell did you come back here so?

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 22nd 2019, 1:25 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: Family reasons. I can assure you my kid will know the sacrifices I made when she is older. :-)

Mute Mike Rugby Nuts
    Favourite Mike Rugby Nuts
    Jul 22nd 2019, 2:43 PM

Send Him Back!

Mute jnulty17@gmail.com
    Favourite jnulty17@gmail.com
    Jul 22nd 2019, 3:04 PM

@David Corrigan you gonna threaten your kid ha
    :

Mute jnulty17@gmail.com
    Jul 22nd 2019, 3:06 PM

@: @ ye but won’t say it out instead giving out on platforms no use

Mute jnulty17@gmail.com
    Jul 22nd 2019, 3:08 PM

@David Corrigan: Ireland a kip why explain. Because of a só called bad airport you call it a kip. What’s wrong with Ireland

Mute Wild Goose
    Favourite Wild Goose
    Jul 22nd 2019, 3:20 PM

@Tweety McTweeter: Why should we base our opinion of Dublin Airport on worse airports? We should be judging against better airports.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jul 22nd 2019, 6:37 PM

@jnulty17@gmail.com: High taxes, no health system, a corrupt insurance system, corrupt banking system, non performing government, shortage of houses etc etc etc. The fact you have to ask is a poor reflection on you. Your expectations and standards are on the floor if you think Ireland is a marvelous place to live. I was not basing my views on Dublin Airport. In fact, I never had any issues using Dublin Airport and always found no problems flying to and from Dublin.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jul 23rd 2019, 9:42 AM

@David Corrigan: If it is such a kip why not leave then

Mute Johnny Conway
    Favourite Johnny Conway
    Jul 22nd 2019, 2:25 PM

Dublin airport Must be the only airport ever that doesn’t have any seating in baggage collection area???

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Jul 22nd 2019, 2:46 PM

@Johnny Conway: I can assure you it is not. In the USA most baggage claim areas are open to the public which I always considered a security risk

Mute Al Madzer
    Favourite Al Madzer
    Jul 22nd 2019, 6:22 PM

@Craic_a_tower: I still can’t get my head around that.

Mute Patricia Roe
    Favourite Patricia Roe
    Jul 22nd 2019, 4:24 PM

What ever the issue with security and delays in departures, the attitude and service in passport control in arrivals is disgraceful. Huge lines, rude staff shouting at passengers of whom are not to blame for their incompetence and lack of staff. Only a few booths open at any time. Why are they not all staffed and open?

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Jul 22nd 2019, 5:36 PM

Can’t speak from Aer Lingus transatlantic service but their short haul is shambolic. A real “it’ll be grand” approach to delays and cancellations that wouldn’t fly with any other clientele. Anytime I’ve flown with them it’s because their scheduled flight times are better, but to be fair I’d rather at 10pm on time flight from Ryanair than an 8pm EI departure that might not depart at all.

Mute Toomasu Sumitsu
    Favourite Toomasu Sumitsu
    Jul 22nd 2019, 7:00 PM

Proof Aer Lingus is worse than Ryanair. I’ve been saying it for years.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Jul 23rd 2019, 9:44 AM

@Toomasu Sumitsu: You would of course. Aer Lingus has its faults but at least they dont try and sell you scratch cards