You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

A caller to Alan Kelly's constituency office threatened to 'put a bullet in his head'

It is the second threat made against him in recent days.

A CALL TO Minister Alan Kelly threatening to ‘put a bullet in his head’ has been referred to gardaí.

It is the second threat to Kelly’s life received by his constituency office in Tipperary this week.

Yesterday afternoon, the office received a call from someone threatening to ‘put a bullet in [Minister Kelly's] head before the end of the day’.

They also used abusive language towards the assistant themselves, the Tipperary Star reports, calling them “scum”.

The paper adds that the staff member was shaken by the experience.

A spokesperson for Minister Kelly said it had been forwarded to gardaí. All threats would be taken seriously, they added, and criticised that they were now being made towards staff as well.

On Monday, an assistant took a call during which a bomb threat was made.

A statement from the minister said that the call was “of a menacing and threatening nature”.

Read: Alan Kelly’s constituency office got a bomb threat this morning >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

93 Comments
    Mute Hevin Bear Kiggins
    Favourite Hevin Bear Kiggins
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:19 PM

No to threats. No to bombs. No to water charges. No to this coalition. Yes to a general election.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:30 PM

The good Minister somehow managed to lose a file from his desk which looked at corruption, malpractice and fraud within Wicklow County Council.

Is he a competent and trustworthy Minister?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:47 PM

Why do politicians go to funerals ?
    Because it’s the one place a row won’t break out because of the corpse …… safe ground !

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:50 PM

Remember one thing folks – Trichet was able to manipulate our previous government – is there a possibility something similar is being done now- that would explain their failure to back down over Irish Water .
    Every time I hear John Tierney’s name I think of Frank Dunlop for some reason – is there something wrong with me ?

Mute simon
    Favourite simon
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:01 PM

Not in the slightest

Mute Phil West
    Favourite Phil West
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:06 PM

If this claim is true, then it is a matter for the police.

It is very easy to pass on details on the incoming line with Caller Line Identification. Given that there was another alleged incident with the same Deputy Kelly, there is not reason to air this matter… unless there is another agenda.

This appears to be part of a concerted effort by elected members of our parliament to undermine opposition to the Irish Water (IW) quango.

The police should now interview Deputy Kelly about this matter to check whether it is a valid complaint and whether his office is using basic Caller Line Identification. On the latter point, if CLI is not used then why not? Might it be to faciliate ‘stories’ that attempt to undermine legitimate opposition to IW.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:15 PM

get real if you keep poking a dog he will bite .. so i ask the state why did they mess with the peoples heads .. and make anger built up this wrong i condemn but ask why all the force from the state mob as of now

Mute Ciaran Ó Fallúin
    Favourite Ciaran Ó Fallúin
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:28 PM

Cowenwatch is right, we should let Wicklow County Council stay in charge of the supply of water services in their area – this Irish Water crowd are exceptional and can’t be trusted.

Mute David Burke
    Favourite David Burke
    Nov 19th 2014, 8:14 PM

You are thug.

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:17 PM

Yes, terrible, whatever, but all this stuff should not distract from the main issue. Its way too convenient for the government to have all this liveline outrage stuff on the day they introduce their pathetic attempt at damage limitation

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:24 PM

Maybe he should resign or listen to his constituency

Mute Pete Foley
    Favourite Pete Foley
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:43 PM

Darren lad they just don’t listen

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:00 PM

So next time I want someone to listen to me I should threaten them with bombs and bullets?

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan

So when there are no arrests and no charges can the Gardaí have a word with Alan Kelly for wasting their time?

Mute Snorre Sturleson
    Favourite Snorre Sturleson
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:16 PM

Relax Alan, there is NOTHING in your head!

Mute Alan Ely
    Favourite Alan Ely
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:25 PM

Live in the town where his office is and don’t believe a word of this his constituents aren’t happy with him but this was voiced at a peaceful protest on the 2nd in the town there’s another protest in the town tomorrow. Personally I think alan is feeling the pressure and this is all just spin spin spin to distract from the main issue

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:23 PM

someone should take endas phone away he is out of control,

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:56 PM

Ah yes, the same Enda who’s about to issue threats of his own to the irish people…….sorry…..’compliance measures’(tm)

Mute Hugh Cavanagh
    Favourite Hugh Cavanagh
    Nov 19th 2014, 2:51 PM

WereJammin
    Could you please ascertain with your Headquarters in Parnell Square that rogue elements of your Movement have not been making these threats against the life of a Minister.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:52 PM

Sure Phil Hogan threatened the whole nation that their water would be “cut to a trickle” if they didn’t comply with his demands. Enda Kenny threatened every man, woman and child that the revenue would take it from their pockets if they didn’t submit to IW demands. EK said that the protesters in Sligo had no interest in the safety of “women and children” at the protest there the other night in an attempt to manipulate and intimidate protesters not to bring their families to the big one on the 10th. Who is threatening who here?…

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:56 PM

Bingo!

Mute Ivon Itchie Saq
    Favourite Ivon Itchie Saq
    Nov 19th 2014, 5:46 PM

Kenny never said revenue would chase the bills, that’s SF bull

Mute Derek Mills
    Favourite Derek Mills
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:22 PM

I Put the below comment up on Monday’s article to the alleged bomb threat – All hail Mystic Minister………….

“His quote today after this alleged bomb threat was this “I condemn any bomb threats or bullet threats,” . I wonder if he has said this to early and the bullet stunt was planned by him for tomorrow as this wasn’t originally part of today’s “threat”. The man is out of depth in Irish Water.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:15 PM

Someone on you tube did the same to me. i just laughed at him. This is just case of demonising the people because they are getting the better of the politicians in every respect.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89

How hard is it to trace a phone call if he genuinely believes there is a threat to his life? This reeks of BS and “Poor me”, looking for a sympathy vote. Personally I don’t believe this nonsense, if he gets the Gardai to trance these ominous, anonymous callers who are threatening him with bullets and bombs then I will happily retract my statement.

Mute Alan Driscoll
    Favourite Alan Driscoll
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:31 PM

@ Vin Heffer The Garda still have not arrested anyone for the “bomb threat” on A.Kelly office the other day. So I’m with you I d’ont believe these stories and did the person making these calls mention anti-water protests were the reason for the threats.

Mute Peter Naughnane
    Favourite Peter Naughnane
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:40 PM

In the article from the bomb threat, it states, the gardai nor the army were contacted. Why not contact the gardai after a “serious” bomb threat is made. I don’t condone any threats made against a man and his family but this reeks of BS.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:46 PM

Well said… this is BS until proven otherwise.

Just another ‘poor me’ tactic….. what about the hardship this man is enforcing on the people of Ireland?
    The parents who’s lives is an endless worry about keeping a roof over there heads, heat in the house and food on the table.

Another regressive tax on the people of Ireland…. these muppets in FG & Labour are without morals.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Nov 19th 2014, 2:33 PM

These terrible miscreants may follow up with an entire tub of curry sauce?? Have you thought of the consequences??? Oh, this is anarchy on a grand scale – me is scared.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:18 PM

There is no proof this has anything to do with opposition to water charges :/

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:24 PM

Yes it was probably a reaction to the change of name from 2RN to Radio Athlone in 1933.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:26 PM

Hi Patrick Lyons did your other account get barred?

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:35 PM

Hi Norman. Not exactly. Facebook thought that my id was a fake and requested photographic id which I was unable to supply.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:41 PM

Just wondering Patrick,I’m surprised anyone could be accused of having a fake id for what purpose? (sarcasm btw)

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:55 PM

Ha ha Lyons!

Mute Lezlie Ferguson
    Favourite Lezlie Ferguson
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:50 PM

Someone or some group wants to break the back of the anti water charges group. This has happened before in other countries. Governments and their supporters will do anything to stay in power.

Mute collie ennis
    Favourite collie ennis

Bet Paul Murphy and the residents of coolock are to blame eh Joan?

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:15 PM

*Insert comment about water charges being a bullet to the heads of the people of Ireland here*

Mute George Grey
    Favourite George Grey

I get threatening letters through my letter box every day!

Mute Jamie Murphy
    Favourite Jamie Murphy

Given the media onslaught against anti water charges protestors wouldn’t be surprised if this blamed on Paul Murphy too!

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:39 PM

It actually looks like a media onslaught against water protestors, Jamie. It’s a subtle distinction, but it may explain what happens as the situation escalates.
    This government is making it clear they need to protect themselves from the people.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Nov 19th 2014, 2:43 PM

Personal protection seems more of a priority than actually reaching a compromise with the people involved. Since all this fuss has started not ONE politician has met up and discussed the situation with the ordinary people in the estates or for Ireland for that matter. They swan about going from one fancy dinner to the next while people can’t afford a loaf of bread. One wonders what planet they are on.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan

I don’t believe him….”Remember the one about the boy who cried Wolf”

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:21 PM

They were obviously hoax calls.
    He’s not the brightest but its his secretary I feel sorry for…

Mute Mick Jenkins
    Favourite Mick Jenkins
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:38 PM

Why is it obviously a hoax? I’d say it’s very unpleasant to be a victim of it.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

Mick I’m going out on a limb here but on Monday the minister mentions ‘bomb and bullet threats’,low and behold today he gets a threat of a bullet.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:02 PM

MJ, why are the procedures that are in place to deal with a threatened assassination attempt on a minister not been followed?…

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Nov 19th 2014, 2:30 PM

You did, Norman, I saw it. Both yourself and another poster felt he had moved ahead in the script inadvertently by mentioning ‘a bullet’ and lo and behold, today a threat with a bullet!!!! Who’d ever a thunk it?

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott

If I’m not mistaken, the only serving member of the Dial to have actually been shot is Gerry Adams.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy

Lets have the PROOF ALAN ???

Just another ‘poor me’ tactic….. what about the hardship this man is enforcing on the people of Ireland?
    The parents who’s lives is an endless worry about keeping a roof over there heads, heat in the house and food on the table.

Another regressive tax on the people of Ireland…. these muppets in FG & Labour are without morals.

Mute Eagle eye
    Favourite Eagle eye

Call didn’t happen, was invented by Alan kelly to discredit protestors. The guards made the call. I got a call of a bomb threat before so what? I got the same call, prove I didn’t. It didn’t happen as there was no bomb squad or guards there.

Now that should save about 40 conspiracy theorist from commenting!

Mute The whistler
    Favourite The whistler
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:49 PM

I reckon minister Kellys head will remain safely free of any bullets by close of business, just his office remains unbombed

Tomorrow: anonymous caller threatens to poison minister kellys dog

Other news: “Minister Kelly” stories keeps Irish Water out of headlines

Mute Grim Reaper
    Favourite Grim Reaper
    Nov 19th 2014, 2:54 PM

Maybe they will bomb Minister Kellys private railway and was built at great expense and carries nobody.
    Or they might threaten Minister Kellys private bus service that carries 4.5 people per day at a cost of €150,000.
    Convenient that he was junior Minister for Transport when this was done????

Mute Coco McDee
    Favourite Coco McDee
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:39 PM

Grow up Alan Kelly, I’m sure all politicians get silly phone calls. We know that this is all being hyped up to add to the “anti water thugs” spin. We are hundreds if thousands, we are peaceful people, we oppose your coo riot regime. We stand together in this and we will not be manipulated with all your nonsense stories. You are trying to subvert the will of the nation. Why ??

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:58 PM

And on the day they meet at dawn to come up with new proposals? ?? Funny that, isn’t it. …total coincidence

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:47 PM

Journal propaganda at its worse, this government is on its knees, they don’t like the climb down.
    and will lie through there teeth to quell the support for anti-austerity, will be interesting to see there
    faces today as Kelly grovels..

Mute The Hound
    Favourite The Hound

Another day at the office

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:11 PM

If I was in the governments position I wouldn’t find it too hard to get a low level party operative to ring the constituency office and place the threat. That way the minister knows nothing of it so can truthfully claim innocence and shock… But its really just an attempt to divide the opposition base so that the people who oppose water charges but would be outraged by death threats back away from this “sinister” element.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:17 PM

Yea its the sinister minister we should be worried about.

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:08 PM

Don’t believe a word of it? More anti-protest media fodder like Joan sitting in her car for two hours surrounded by police so that she could say they “kidnapped” her. Where is the recording? You’d think after the first threat they would have started recording incoming calls “for training purposes” of course. If almost every large company in Ireland can do it don’t think that a minister wouldn’t have had the resources to set it up. But if the call was a hoax then you wouldn’t want to record that now would you?

Mute Tim Kearney
    Favourite Tim Kearney
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:13 PM

Alan lad.. your a brave soldier.. Phil the Fluter must be thrilled with you..

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:26 PM

Was Phil Hogan a Captain in the Irish Army ?

Mute Toby_Parker
    Favourite Toby_Parker

Why waste a good bullet on that?

Mute Ho Lee Fuk
    Favourite Ho Lee Fuk
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:16 PM

Is it mental Illness ?

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:01 PM

How about we do something good with this fire in the belly. How about a type of “water pack nominations” for anyone who still has one. We can show solidarity and a charity will gain in the process. St Francis hospice could always benefit from extra funds. Great place and great staff. Just my 2 cents. And it’s peaceful.

Mute Jonathan Bambury
    Favourite Jonathan Bambury
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:39 PM

Jeez this govt should sit in the national concert hall not the Dail. The violins would be less out of place .
    And I’m surprised that Alan Kelly knows what’s going on in his office as I wrote him there a handful of times asking for clarification on taxi legislation and he never saw fit to answer!!

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Nov 19th 2014, 2:19 PM

This is a smear campaign against the right to water groups. Anyone or any organisation capable of carrying out such a threat wouldn’t do it as the resultant state crackdown would be unprecedented in modern times! This call didn’t happen. It doesn’t add up except to garner sympathy for the poor politicians. I don’t buy it as it doesn’t add up logically.

Mute Bernadette Whelan Otoole
    Favourite Bernadette Whelan Otoole
    Nov 19th 2014, 4:15 PM

i dont believe it either …..

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Nov 19th 2014, 4:21 PM

It is very possible that it is down to internal Labour politics as well.

There are many people in the Labour party, including elected members, at a senior level that know how to handle a bang bang machine as an aide for removing those who disagree with them or for fundraising.

Mute Coco McDee
    Favourite Coco McDee
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:37 PM

People must be absolutely steadfast in their determination to knock this IW corrupt entity down. We must unite and stay strong in the face of all the lies and manipulation. We are fighting for our country and fir our childrens future. We must bring down this immoral unjust entity and oust this government. We must win this war against the people. It was truly a Freudian slip that caused Brian Dobson to call us the anti-war protesters. We have woken up and understand we ARE at war with the people WE pay to look after our best interests . TRAITORS

Mute Henry Gondorff DKR
    Favourite Henry Gondorff DKR
    Nov 19th 2014, 2:25 PM

Word. Its war no doubt about it.

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:21 PM

If he honestly believed there is a whack job out there with a gun threatning people including his own staff than surely he has a responsibility to the public and his staff to report this to the Gardai and to make sure it is investigated.Surely he agrees that not to do so poses a danger to the public in itself.Well Alan are you going to report this or not??!It is a direct threat to the democracy you and Enda seem to be so worried about all of a sudden.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny

They have not gone away.

Mute David Field
    Favourite David Field
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:21 PM

Your piles?

Mute Ho Lee Fuk
    Favourite Ho Lee Fuk

Teabags?

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott

Give it up, Patty.

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:28 PM

you will have to wait for the next election..

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton

I see the troll is back again. Couldn’t keep away could you sccott/cork/rodgers/egg etc.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Nov 19th 2014, 2:25 PM

I’m sick of this nonsense. Either arrest whatever head case is making crank calls, or STFU. By the way, similar threats, and worse, were made by the holy people during the great Protection of Life during Pregnancy Bill (a misnomer if ever there was one), without half the fanfare and angst that we are hearing about now. Even the divine Teasock was subject to abuse during that ‘controversy’. Get a grip, get a sense of proportion, Kelly.

Mute Henry Gondorff DKR
    Favourite Henry Gondorff DKR
    Nov 19th 2014, 2:23 PM

Corrupt sellout, i couldn’t care less

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Nov 19th 2014, 2:35 PM

BS of the highest order. Government are looking to scapegoat the anti water charge campaign so they will have an excuse for heavy handed tactics at protests. This is the same tactic used by governments world wide to suppress legitimate protest. The danger is, it can become a self fulfilling prophecy.

Mute tomeenoldstock
    Favourite tomeenoldstock
    Nov 19th 2014, 12:33 PM

So it’s back to the “one hand in the ballot box and something else in the other’. We live in a democracy, we will all get a chance to vote in the next election and vote for Sinn Fein and the real left and then our problems will be solved. Right??

Mute James McNamara
    Favourite James McNamara
    Nov 19th 2014, 2:54 PM

Efforts are being made to discredit the anti water charge movement by national media, RTE and government TD’s. The important message the leaders of the anti water movement need to emphasise is our non co-operation to pay any charge is more powerful then heckling abuse at TD’s.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Nov 19th 2014, 3:13 PM

Another day, another bomb, another bullet, another whinge, another spin of the spinning wheel. You get a pain in your hole having to listen to this utter drivel every day. A General Election will solve all of this. Put up or shut up.

Mute phooey
    Favourite phooey
    Nov 19th 2014, 1:10 PM

This is turning into the Wild West

Mute Paudi Onail
    Favourite Paudi Onail
    Nov 19th 2014, 3:21 PM

f*** em, what do they expect. people are really angry. time for a general election and a referendum on keeping the water public.

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Nov 19th 2014, 3:06 PM

Waste of lead

Mute Larry Dunne
    Favourite Larry Dunne
    Nov 19th 2014, 8:34 PM

10-12-14

Power to the people

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Nov 22nd 2014, 11:19 PM

Ho Ho Ho Mr Kelly, I don’t believe you.