You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leah Farrell/Rollingnews.ie

Alan Kelly on why there's no 'utopian consensus' in the opposition and why Sinn Féin 'isn't a left party'

Kelly is ending his first calendar year as leader of the Labour party.

THIS YEAR COULDN’T really be classified as a good year for many people, but Alan Kelly is one person who can take some satisfaction from 2020. 

Kelly achieved his long-stated ambition of becoming leader of the Labour party in April and since that has managed to marshal a smaller but nimble parliamentary team in the Dáil. 

He spoke to TheJournal.ie on the last day the Dáil sat before the Christmas break, just a few minutes after challenging Tánaiste Leo Varadkar on the ongoing Seámus Woulfe saga. 

The latest angle on the controversy related to the timeline of the controversial appointment to the Supreme Court of the former Attorney General.

Kelly questioned Varadkar on a newly-revealed memo that was sent to Cabinet proposing Woulfe’s appointment on 6 July, a week before Justice Minister Helen McEntee has said she spoke to the party leaders about it. 

As we’ve written here before, the opposition has been like a dog with a bone when it comes to the Woulfe affair, something Kelly acknowledges, but he’s also keen to point out that it’s not down to some “utopian consensus” on the opposition benches. 

Indeed, while many have said the Dáil is closer than it ever has been to having a clear left-right divide, the Tipperary TD is less convinced. 

“There is no situation where you can just put Labour, the Social Democrats, Sinn Féin, People Before Profit and say there’s going to be utopian consensus on the left to take on this government,” he says.

“Because we’re all very different parties, I wouldn’t dare tell one of those parties where they should go about anything. I wouldn’t tolerate them telling me or my party the same thing.

I would like to see a consolidation on the left/right but, as far as I’m concerned, we as a party will have to lead that.

Sixteen months ago when we spoke to Kelly’s predecessor Brendan Howlin, he said he’d describe his party as “the practical party of the left”.  

Aske the same question, Kelly said his role is to ensure Labour is “the main left party in Ireland”. 

I don’t consider Sinn Féin to be a left party, I don’t consider the Greens to be a left party. The Greens have a lot of traits that I admire and like, but they’re a vertical party. It’s a party that’s based around a belief system and when it comes to horizontal issues they’re not very good at making decisions. They’ve various different people who are very much in the green agenda but when it comes to other issues they can range across a whole different set of views. 

Much of the conversation is about the spaces being occupied by Fine Gael and Sinn Féin in the political landscape and focus on that. 

Kelly says much of this is driven by social media and the media too, adding that those who gauge public opinion on Twitter “need to get a life”. 

He says it’s in the interests of the two parties to make the conversation about them but that it’s not an accurate picture. He also believes the polarisation won’t last because “I believe hopefully that Ireland doesn’t like extremes”. 

I believe in left/right but it’s your primary ideology that dictates that, the primary ideology of Sinn Féin is nationalism. Nationalism is not on the left/right spectrum, it doesn’t have any economic theory, it’s about one thing in this country for them and that’s a 26 county country becoming a 32 county one.I’m a republican, I’m a nationalist but I’m a social democrat before I’m either of those, I worry more about ensuring there’s bread in the table, about ensuring that in the years to come women will be treated equally in society.

“The problem I think is that you have situation now where you bring forward very positive things and the government adopts them, then there is a complete full-on attack and revisionism, whether it is from Sinn Fein’s zillion bots or all the other left wing bots come to take away your credibility. Or whether it’s the Fine Gael revisionism about being the most progressive party socially when they were the most conservative.”

The theme of revisionism is one that’s a hot topic at the minute. The Taoiseach was forced to walk back on a statement he made claiming that the banks weren’t bailed out under Fianna Fáil’s watch. 

And of course there’s Brian Stanley controversy, emblematic as it was about the debate over Sinn Féin’s view of the past. 

Kelly took some glee in responding to Mary Lou McDonald over the 2008 bank guarantee but he denies that the austerity years that followed means the issue a bit of a sticky wicket for Labour. 

“I’ve seen everything that can be written about me, I’ve seen everything that can be written about my party. We’ve never been revisionist, anybody who’s trying to push that out I’d ask for examples. We’re the most direct, straight talking party left, we’re the, I suppose, main party who has substance I believe, that actually admits its mistakes.”

Fine Gael too, he says, is guilty of revisionism. 

“I remember a day when Leo Varadkar said that he didn’t believe in gay marriage. Two years later, he was up on a podium, but it was the Labour Party who delivered on repealing the Eighth, gay marriage and all of the other social changes when it was unpopular.”

“There’s plenty of Fine Gael revisionism about being the most progressive party socially when they were the most conservative.”

Polls

There was little secret around Kelly wanting to lead Labour in 2016 and he was essentially blocked from running for the post by his parliamentary colleagues. 

In the years that followed he was not shy to criticise Howlin when the party struggled to make an impact in the polls. 

Under the first eight months of his leadership, Kelly may have earned some plaudits but the party’s support is still hovering in the low to mid single-digits

He says he’d be lying if he said he didn’t pay attention to polling. 

Every TD or party leader, whoever talks to a journalist and says ‘the only poll that matters is the poll on election day’, they’re telling you lies. So I won’t say that. All leaders worry about polls, all TDs worry about polls, if they didn’t there wouldn’t be heaves. But I will say this, I don’t believe we’re in a normal polling territory, because I think normal politics is suspended by Covid.

“Let’s see where we are once everybody is safe and the vaccine is rolled out.”

Kelly says he thinks the party that “reacts to the issues post Covid” is the one that will see electoral success.  

“I’d have huge admiration for people who make their voting decisions on their politics, even if they’re right wing, based on their economic beliefs, their social beliefs, rather how they’re parents voted or their history or anything like that, everyone for themselves.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

117 Comments
    Mute Paul Quinlan
    Favourite Paul Quinlan
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:27 AM

America really is on a scary path.

Mute Bitcoin Buddy
    Favourite Bitcoin Buddy
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:42 AM

@Paul Quinlan: Sh17hole

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:37 AM

@Paul Quinlan: this is his new tack now, “the law and order” president.

Exploiting the fact that lots of Americans are under curfew in cities across the nation, only I can protect you from those hordes.

When fascism come to America it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying a bible.

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:18 AM

@Diaspora’d: bit ironic isn’t it, he has been going on about reopening the country during the height of a pandemic, now his putting them under curfew

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:31 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: #TangerineTwit

Mute Martin Scaldbag
    Favourite Martin Scaldbag
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:54 PM

@Diaspora’d: Donald will deal with it, he has God on his side.

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:29 AM

Trump is the reason these riots are happening. He’s been stoking racial tensions for years.

Mute Maurice O Neill
    Favourite Maurice O Neill
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:32 AM

@Seán Ó Briain: Give me a break with that ole rubbish

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:34 AM

@Maurice O Neill: Don’t like facts? Go elsewhere.

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:40 AM

@Maurice O Neill: Come on. Last chance on the deaths per million argument. You were on about that for weeks. Let’s have it.

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:49 AM

@Seán Ó Briain: Yeah, there was never racially charged riots in America before now. How old are you, 12?

Mute josephsample
    Favourite josephsample

@Seán Ó Briain: Yeah there was never any racial tension in the states until 2016…

Mute johnny onion eye
    Favourite johnny onion eye
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:50 AM

@Maurice O Neill: TAS is an awful condition you should seek help for it

Mute JackSimpson
    Favourite JackSimpson

@Seán Ó Briain: You need to know what is going on to know what the facts are Sean.

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:02 AM

@josephsample: i dunno about that, I clearly remember Obama giving a speech about it in Dallas after the shootings. He told the black community ‘we can do better’ and also showing great temperance telling the police departments ‘we can also do better’. Great speech. Great leader. Leadership we just don’t have now. #TangerineTwit

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:25 AM

@Maurice O Neill: you are correct Maurice it’s a lot of ole rubbish. Racial tensions have been going on since the Emancipation Act. In its Modern context since the 1950s through the Civil rights movement but it’s always less tense when there is a Demorcrat President….. why is that ?

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:30 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: Enlighten us. This should be good.

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:35 AM

@Louis Jacob: Enlighten yourself get an education.
    Remember Birmingham Alabama 1963 ?
    Newark riots 1968 ? LA riots 70s 80s and 90s ? Just s few off the top of my hat.

Redneck Yanks will never change they are as dumb as Eton educated Torys.

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:37 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: I was just gonna say Democrats are better leaders ( Unions, Healthcare, Social security, Women’s issues ) and Republicans just don’t give a crap about people ??

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:39 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: soooo, you have no point ; you’re just rainmanning random thoughts

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:43 AM

@Wayne Connor: I’m going to sleep ffs some of us have work in the morning

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:48 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: Why do some people always start their comments by speculating about what someone knows when they don’t know anything about them? It means your very first statement is uninformed. I think you were mentioning irony earlier.
    No. I was asking you why it is that dem leaders see less interracial violence? And I do think this might be good.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:50 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: Some of us have work? More uninformed speculation.

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:51 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: I’m in the U.S so I’ve still got hours before my bedtime, but nice try insinuating I don’t work just so you can run away from an argument ! Much the same as the Tangerine Twit cuts off the questions when the going gets tough. Something blowhards have in common I guess

Mute Alan Currie
    Favourite Alan Currie
    Jun 2nd 2020, 3:49 AM

@Seán Ó Briain: about 90% of media is heavily left wing, that’s how people see news which is edited to charge emotions, and it’s in the media interests to stoke the fire and make it all as dramatic as possible for consumers, to keep clicking those links. That’s whose making money out of it all.

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Jun 2nd 2020, 4:24 AM

@Alan Currie: Ever heard of a chap called Rupert Murdoch?

Mute Alan Currie
    Favourite Alan Currie
    Jun 2nd 2020, 5:14 AM

@Bridget O’Hanlon: the dead guy?

Mute Caoimhín O Neill
    Favourite Caoimhín O Neill
    Jun 2nd 2020, 6:02 AM

@Seán Ó Briain: give me your facts Sean

Mute Diaspora'd
    Favourite Diaspora'd
    Jun 2nd 2020, 6:26 AM

@Caoimhín O Neill: lots to choose from really.

The fact that last time someone tried a PEACEFUL kneel down protest for “black lives matter” Trump called the African American NFL player a son of a bitch.

How about the fact that Trump at a rally told cops not to be too nice and not worry about banging suspects’ heads against patrol car doors.

Or how about the fact that Trump refers to certain countries as ‘$*****le’ countries and asked ‘why can’t we get more immigrants from nice countries like Denmark?’

Or the fact he claimed the last President who happened to be black was born in Africa.

I’d say yes he has made it worse..

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:20 AM

@Seán Ó Briain:

If it was facts I was after Sean, it wouldn’t be the comments section of the journal.
    This is for pure entertainment. And it never ever disappoints.
    Thanks Sean and all.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:35 AM

@Alan Currie: Rupert Murdoch is not dead?

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:39 AM

@Wayne Connor: obama gave a lot of politically correct speeches but police brutality increased under him. Mass shootings increased. Overseas wars increased. Maybe you should look at what the USA is actually doing instead of what their slick handsome media savvy mouthpiece says?

Mute Michael Garvey
    Favourite Michael Garvey
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:22 AM

@JackSimpson: not getting involved in your argument other than to say I turned on the tv this morning to see footage of peaceful protestors being tear gassed outside the White House. Obviously done on the orders of a president who berated CNN a few days ago for impinging on his freedom of speech. What a sad racist country.

Mute Caoimhín O Neill
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:45 AM

@Diaspora’d: lol such nonsense. Did you get these facts from the journal? Did the journal also tell you that he donated his salary to improve the hisbanic and black community? Or how he tried to release a US black rapper from Sweden? It must be very dark in that tinted glasshouse of yours

Mute Keith Richardson
    Favourite Keith Richardson
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:09 PM

@Alan Currie: just listening to Newstalk and Pat Kenny played footage from CNN and Don lemon lol the Irish are doomed with this fake news been used as sources lol at least the a few of us that know the truth

Mute Keith Richardson
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:13 PM

@Michael Garvey: CNN lol

Mute Michael Garvey
    Favourite Michael Garvey
    Jun 2nd 2020, 3:07 PM

@Keith Richardson: are you suggesting that the video is fake? I think not

Mute Mick Murphy
    Favourite Mick Murphy
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:35 AM

The land of the free eh… Looking at that country slowly slide downhill the past few years brings home how good we have it here in Ireland.

Mute Dylan
    Favourite Dylan
    Jun 2nd 2020, 4:27 AM

@Mick Murphy: Speak for yourself, Mick.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:22 AM

@Mick Murphy: You’re not wrong. I’d the chance to return to the US in 2016 and chose to stay in Ireland instead.

I return regularly and every time I go I realise how glad I am that I didn’t move back to the US. I have no interest in living in a country that treats it’s citizens badly unless they have money.

Mute great gael of Eire
    Favourite great gael of Eire
    Jun 2nd 2020, 11:37 AM

@Dylan: You’ve obliviously never travelled around the world. Ireland is one of the best countries in the world to live. No hurricanes, tornadoes, monsoons, volcanoes, dangerous spiders, snakes… ect The weather never gets too cold or too hot, our water is clean. We have some of the best food in the world. You can travel freely all over with no one bothering you. You can build your own house in the country side. The taxes are high, yes but for quality of life we are way up there.

Mute iohanx
    Favourite iohanx
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:34 PM

@great gael of Eire:

And we don’t have 40m unemployed with a nut job at the top advocating taking bleach to treat a virus that’s killing thousands of his citizens. Meanwhile riots on the streets.

Go figure. Period.

Mute Uncle Montys oaf
    Favourite Uncle Montys oaf

Dictator in action, sending the military in on his own citizens. He’s just got himself kicked out in November.

Mute JackSimpson
    Favourite JackSimpson
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:33 AM

@Uncle Montys oaf: *sending the military in on the vandals and looters.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:38 AM

@JackSimpson: it was a peacefully protest in DC

Mute JackSimpson
    Favourite JackSimpson

@bmul: Is that why the city was on fire?

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:44 AM

@JackSimpson: That’s a metaphor.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul

@JackSimpson: the ones he ordered his military to move where they peacefully protesting ? You did hear trump say he stands with the protesters then shoved them out of the way.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:47 AM

@JackSimpson: some of the GOP governors are finally speaking out about trump .

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:30 AM

@Uncle Montys oaf: sending the national Gaurd is one thing but sending the military to attack Americans it will be interesting if the Generals will obey his orders?

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:34 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: It could divide the generals. Then what?

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:40 AM

@Louis Jacob: a lethal injection he died in his sleep,.

Mute Alan Currie
    Favourite Alan Currie
    Jun 2nd 2020, 4:04 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: change the narrative much? They would be deployed to control people behaving like criminals burning down buildings, those looting businesses many of which are owned by blacks, often damaging black areas affecting totally innocent people so it’s destroying their very own communities, but sure you just call them “Americans” because orange man bad. Antifa also have been heavily involved in this, so you even got middle class white kids jumping on the riot bandwagon, destroying many black businesses yet claiming to be social justice warriors, it’s so messed up, so how do you suggest making them all stop?

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:01 AM

@Alan Currie: Cannot wait for the heavy armed militias around the U.S to come in and fight with their fellow citizens against their governments tyranny against their own citizens..oh wait, they’re more interested in fighting for the cause of getting their hair & nails done..

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:05 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: he can’t send in the military the Posse Comitatus Act prohibits the use of active duty personnel to execute the laws, its tough talking nonsense again from him

Mute Tom Leddy
    Favourite Tom Leddy
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:31 AM

@JackSimpson: The city isn’t on fire. Really you are just so sad. By any chance is this you Donald??

Mute Kevin Lonergan
    Favourite Kevin Lonergan
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:35 AM

@Alan Currie: He’s talking nonsense. He doesn’t have the power to send the military into any state unless he is requested to do so by the state government. He is just electioneering and his stunt yesterday, forcibly pushing back peaceful protesters with rubber bullets and teargas so that he could have a photo-op in front of a church, will backfire big time on him. His handling of the whole situation has been abysmal and the language and rhetoric he has been using has only served to inflame tensions. Proper engagement with the communities who are being affected by the systemic racism in the country is the only way to bring an end to these protests. Organisations like black lives matter and the organisers of the protests are trying to police and control their protests better and stop the infiltration by Antifa and other groups but, as you can see, this is very difficult. Honest and meaningful engagement will calm a lot of the protests very quickly.

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor

He just declared war on…..America ????

Mute JackSimpson
    Favourite JackSimpson

@Wayne Connor: By restoring law and order? By preventing looters and vandals destroy cities?

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:36 AM

@JackSimpson: Jaysus. Yer like Eva Braun. Hang in there until the bitter end. Ye must really love this guy.

See 31 more replies ▾
    Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:37 AM

@JackSimpson: he just dispersed peaceful protesters with mounted police and rubber bullets. Tangerine Tyrant

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:38 AM

@JackSimpson: he just used the military to move peacefully protesters to get a photo opp. He can’t send the military into the states he can in DC but not the states

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor

@Louis Jacob: he’s a sad little troll stirring up the sh!t for attention, much like the bloated buffoon he adores so much

Mute JackSimpson
    Favourite JackSimpson
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:43 AM

@Louis Jacob: No, I just call out rubbish that’s posted on this forum.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob

@JackSimpson: Sad sycophant.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul

@JackSimpson: from where ???

Mute johnny onion eye
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:46 AM

@JackSimpson: how’s the Mirror

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor

@JackSimpson: George Floyd’s own brother asked those who are using violence to stop. That’s more leadership on this crisis than Trump has shown total

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley

@JackSimpson: you’re getting smashed in the comments. Scarlet for you and your orange love child.

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:57 AM

@JackSimpson: I’m with you, this forum is a joke. There’s barely a mention about the actual death of George Floyd anymore, it’s turned into the usual Trump bashing orgy that’s been going on for years now.

Mute JackSimpson
    Favourite JackSimpson

@Wayne Connor: Pretty sure bmul, Wayne and Louis are the same person. Another symptom of Trump Derangement Syndrome is a need to communicate to oneself on social media /online forums via different accounts as no one else will due to bizarre personality and views. Goodnight Wayne aka Bmul, Louis.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul

@JackSimpson: you come out with that crap a lot people disagree with you they must all.ve the same person . Bit like your hero and his 3 million fake votes

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:04 AM

@JackSimpson: you’re mad and it’s great ! Please keep posting !!

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:07 AM

@JackSimpson: pretty sure your employed to stick up for trump also think your sitting in a basement somewhere with no social interaction.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:08 AM

@JackSimpson: Funniest comment I’ve read in a while. Of any 3 people you could have picked to be one account ….

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:08 AM

@Eric Gaffney: Because it’s about so much more than him. Stop feeding that sad trump line like a minion.

Mute johnny onion eye
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:14 AM

@JackSimpson: TAS is really bad tonight for you Jack

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:15 AM

@JackSimpson: The paranoia is getting to you boy. I use my real account on here. Why would I do that?

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:19 AM

@Louis Jacob: Nope, this started because of the death of George Floyd. It was the likes of you that made it about Trump. This is the usual opportunism from the likes of Antifa trying to sway the election, as proven by a lot of the presumptuous comments on here saying Trump is out after this term. The longer this will go on the more George Floyd will be forgotten about. The man has only been dead a week and already you’re saying it’s not just about him.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:23 AM

@Eric Gaffney: This is a tipping point. Don’t insult people’s intelligence with that watery Trump line about not respecting the victim. SAD.. Everybody knows his name.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:27 AM

@Eric Gaffney: Yeah. We’ll forget his name like everybody forgot Trayvon Martin’s name. That’s probably spelled wrong but I remember them. Or Rodney King. I would list them but I’m sick typing.

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:28 AM

@Louis Jacob: seriously….if I was gonna make a fake account I would NEVER pick a name like Louis….Jacob …. ( barf ) :-)

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:38 AM

@Wayne Connor: Haha. I’d probably call myself the awful abominator or something lethal like that.

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:47 AM

@Louis Jacob: considering the way you slay the fools in here like Schwarzenegger I’d go with something like ‘ Da Jurrnal-nay-torr’

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Jun 2nd 2020, 4:26 AM

@Wayne Connor: looks like it

Mute Barry Brady
    Favourite Barry Brady
    Jun 2nd 2020, 5:47 AM

@Louis Jacob: or Ahmed Aubrey who was murdered in cold blood in Georgia a few weeks ago or Breonna Taylor who was a First Responder/paramedic who was shot and killed as a result of a botched house raid by police.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:04 AM

@JackSimpson: you are like the town of Fermoy, Jackie boy, you are all against one side.

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mel Fitzpatrick
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:12 AM

@Louis Jacob: Eva Braun, brilliant, i actually laughed out loud, nice work lad

Mute Anthony Ryan Dunne
    Favourite Anthony Ryan Dunne
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:16 AM

@Wayne Connor: fair play to him.

Mute Eric Gaffney
    Favourite Eric Gaffney
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:58 AM

@Louis Jacob: The point is this has been turned in to the usual Trump crap. There’s people on here advocating the violence and looting that has been ongoing and basically blamed it all on Trump. And as you’ve proved yourself, America has been like this a long time.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:11 PM

@JackSimpson: sending in the military to enforce the law is illegal. He’s not going to do it.

Mute Pete mc pete
    Favourite Pete mc pete
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:25 AM

Disgusting human being

Mute Rossa Crowe
    Favourite Rossa Crowe
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:28 AM

@Pete mc pete: So he should allow these people to destroy their own cities?

Mute Maurice O Neill
    Favourite Maurice O Neill
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:31 AM

@Pete mc pete: For what reason .. He is protecting people and businesses from this carnage

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey

@Pete mc pete: Ice-T predicted this 30 yesterday ago.
    https://youtu.be/lMQHVzSPTec

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob

@Rossa Crowe: You do know that you’ll always be one of the people who tried to justify Trump’s behaviour. It’s you guys who have the derangement syndrome.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob

@Maurice O Neill: Quick. Get in the line about the deaths per million. That window is closing. Next week it will be a novel memory.

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:35 AM

@Peter Cavey: Jello Biafra ! CLASSIC !!!

Mute Rossa Crowe
    Favourite Rossa Crowe

@Louis Jacob: If you owned one of the businesses getting burnt down you may have a different attitude. Clearly its too much for the police to handle and they don’t have the respect of the people at the minute so what alternative does Trump have?

Mute johnny onion eye
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:45 AM

@Maurice O Neill: Ah Maurice Still suffering from TAS. What did you think of Orange Jabba try to hold his bible at various heights for no reason whatsoever. Oh and the tear gassing of the peaceful protest to clear his way

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:46 AM

@Rossa Crowe: Resign.

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley

@Rossa Crowe: funnily enough the man that owns Target in the area stands with the protestors having come out in the news saying as much.
    Also – how do you know what the business owners think? Are you their rep now?

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:54 AM

@Dermot Foley: Rossa cant figure out how anyone could put basic human rights ahead of their own interests so he thinks noone would. Classic stuff.

Mute josephsample
    Favourite josephsample
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:04 AM

@Dermot Foley: What about the hundreds of minority owned small businesses that have literally been destroyed in a protest that was supposed to be in the name of rights for minorities?

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:09 AM

@Rossa Crowe: gee , I dunno , STOP STOKING RACIAL TENSION ???

Mute Rossa Crowe
    Favourite Rossa Crowe
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:09 AM

@Louis Jacob: So you agree with thrashing a city so that your point gets across. Sounds like you are reasonable and very sound of mind.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:12 AM

@josephsample: Dumbest comment of the day. Business people are business people. What’s the difference?

Mute josephsample
    Favourite josephsample
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:16 AM

@Louis Jacob: So you’re saying that someone who owns a small restaurant, for example, and has just gone through a 2 month lockdown and maybe barely survived it from a business perspective should stand with the rioters as they break their windows and destroy their premises? There’s a great irony in you calling my comment the dumbest of the day…

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:17 AM

@Rossa Crowe: No. That’s a straw man. I’m not even going to adress it. Intellectually dishonest.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:19 AM

@josephsample: No. Dont put words in my mouth. I’m just saying a business person is a business person. Why should they act any differently to racism because of the colour of their skin.?

Mute josephsample
    Favourite josephsample
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:24 AM

@Louis Jacob: I was responding specifically to someone who said that a guy who owns Target in the area stood with the protestors. And also just pointing out the general stupidity in protesting/rioting for racial justice and potentially putting many minorities out of business when they do it…

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 2nd 2020, 3:15 AM

@johnny onion eye: Reporter : “is that your Bible ? “
    Trump : “ it’s ‘A’ Bible “

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:45 AM

@Louis Jacob: they can support the protest and also not want their businesses to be destroyed.

Mute School4work
    Favourite School4work
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:01 AM

@Maurice O Neill:

Why is it that everything turns into “Hate Trump comments”?

He is doing a job in a country far from us, save your pointless anger and get on with improving our own country.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:37 PM

@josephsample: Because you both left and right extremists stoking the fires. The Antifa want to bring down the government by anarchy and the right wing nutjobs want to start a civil war and foment white America

Mute WreckDefier
    Favourite WreckDefier
    Jun 2nd 2020, 4:54 PM

@Pete mc pete: He would be disgusting if he sat back and done nothing.
    A true leader and a great President.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.

Trump looks around the world and sees President Xi of China, President Putin of Russia,his buddy Little fat Kim in North Korea, the Saudi Riyals, and that they all have “Absolute Power”, their word is Law. And he thinks “I want some of that”.
    So he he says to his “Yes Men” I want Absolute Power too. So what we are now witnessing is an attempt at a power grab.

Mute Caoimhín O Neill
    Jun 2nd 2020, 6:03 AM

@Mick.: his name is Mr Kim

Mute Wood Jackson
    Favourite Wood Jackson

Mad Man… ‘This may be perceived as toxic…” Yes, I know, probably will… He is full to the brim with malice. This is a seminal moment, I think. If the good people don’t speak out NOW the US is on the brink of utter chaos. Call him out for the thing he is. Toxic waste. It’s now or never.

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:37 AM

@Wood Jackson: ( this may be perceived as toxic ) made me laugh ! The bane of my existence ; what I’d LOVE to say on here !!

Mute Davy
    Favourite Davy

That country has lost it. And it comes from the top.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob

President Good Brain completely lost in the oblivion at this stage. He’ll be carried away soon I reckon.

Mute Malcolm Smith
    Favourite Malcolm Smith
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:43 AM

A few weeks ago Trump compared himself to President Lincoln. If my history is correct Lincoln sent Americans to fight Americans. Maybe a Trump is telling the truth for a change!

Mute James Walsh
    Favourite James Walsh
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:51 AM

@Malcolm Smith: Only difference is that Trump would be on the side of the slaveholders!

Mute Ann Coen
    Favourite Ann Coen
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:03 AM

He needs to go..Full Stop.

Mute Seriousnojoke
    Favourite Seriousnojoke

Deploy military against your own people??? That’s massacre

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:45 AM

@Seriousnojoke: Sounds just like Chinaaaa!! Tianamin Square and Hong Kong spring to mind.

Mute Seriousnojoke
    Favourite Seriousnojoke
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:58 AM

@Mick.: No, worse. HK riots been going on for a year and their police didn’t shoot anyone to death and there’s no military on the street. One week in the protests in America, two protesters were shot dead (in Oakland and Louisville) and numerous hurt. Trump constantly tweeting and refusing to communicate are just adding fuel to the anger of the people.

Mute Raymond Dennehy
    Favourite Raymond Dennehy
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:15 AM

Is there not a rule that conventional military forces cannot be used domestically only National Guard, State, Federal or local forces.
    America on verge of complete anarchy. Russia and China must be delighted it’s all working out for them in a big way.

Mute The Bloody Nine
    Favourite The Bloody Nine
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:47 AM

Has Trump crawled out of his bunker yet?

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:59 AM

@The Bloody Nine: Yes, with Bible in one hand and armalite in the other.

Mute tuco
    Favourite tuco
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:36 AM

The separate states of America,place is in melt down

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:07 AM

Hoa come this insurrection act wasn’t used against the armed gangs who recently entered state parliaments around the country? How come a white guy that showed up at the Boston protest, openly and heavily armed, in breach of the law, was simply sent home by police and not arrested? What would have happened had he shown up in full military attire and armed, if he was black?

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:19 PM

@Connoroconner: how many shots were fired at these events?

Mute Wood Jackson
    Favourite Wood Jackson
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:41 AM

He can only see himself.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:33 AM

I wonder if he will burn the Capital Building and blame “Subversives”? Then make himself “President for Life”.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:30 AM

@Mick.: I did see someone recently state that the pandemic was Trump’s Reichstag moment…… .that was before the homicide of George Floyd.

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:21 PM

@Mick.: like his friend Putin…?!!

Mute Thomas Corrigan
    Favourite Thomas Corrigan
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:23 AM

U S A. R I P

Mute Seamus McSpud
    Favourite Seamus McSpud
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:18 AM

Anyone for an Irish protest.
    Any layabouts available for an auld march to an embassy or two?

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:27 AM

@Seamus McSpud: bellend.

Mute Tom Bomb
    Favourite Tom Bomb

Ah here…

Mute James Walsh
    Favourite James Walsh

Someone posted that shots were fired at the White House last night, well I suppose a fluorescent orange sack of crap does make a tempting target?

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    Jun 2nd 2020, 1:40 AM

@James Walsh: Let’s not forget ; he turned off all the lights and hid behind the couch ….LMFAO

Mute Liam Meade
    Favourite Liam Meade
    Jun 2nd 2020, 7:38 AM

I’ll tip my hat to the new constitution
    Take a bow for the new revolution
    Smile and grin at the change all around
    Pick up my guitar and play
    Just like yesterday
    And I’ll get on my knees and pray
    We don’t get fooled again
    Don’t get fooled again

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn

Cheaper to just give justice no?

Mute Chris OB
    Favourite Chris OB
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:28 AM

He cant its illegal

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:34 AM

Why is the Bible held upside Down

Mute Correct Opinion
    Favourite Correct Opinion
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:46 AM

I mean he’s a clown and was one of the reasons for this issue.

But this move is absolutely correct, right? What’s he meant to do, sit back and let them tear the country down?

By the looks of it and looking at all the people committing senseless violence and looting shops, even a new Civil Rights Act and the Death Penalty on those officers wouldn’t stop anything in the streets. There’s a large amount that are protesting peacefully, another large amount just happy to be part of chaos.

Mute Aaron Tynan
    Favourite Aaron Tynan
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:02 AM

@Correct Opinion: so basically replicating thatcher sending in troops to Northern Ireland? How well did that go? (Americans are also armed to the teeth.. will be interesting)

He also did not once mention doing anything to reform the police or enact any social change in his speech… so clearly not interested in taking on board why people are rioting.

This will only get worse I fear!

Trump is a nut job

Mute Ciarán Ó Dubhda
    Favourite Ciarán Ó Dubhda
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:18 AM

@Aaron Tynan: that cow wasn’t responsible for operation banner

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:28 AM

That’s something you’d expect from the Chinese or Russians

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:40 AM

@trebloc01: both of whom have hundreds of native ethnic groups and never had African slaves. Why?

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:43 AM

@trebloc01: it would be something you would expect if you didn’t know anything about those countries, didn’t know anyone from those countries and had never been to those countries. They both also had coordinated successful revolutions and overthrew regimes similar to the US.

Mute sean bergin
    Favourite sean bergin
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:37 AM

Go and actually look at the press conference trump is doing the right thing .. he is giving the democrat governers a chance to call the national guard in he is not threatning anyone and if they dont he will deploy the army its simple really what do you expect ? Funny how trump called the looters thugs and it was an outrage but when obama called the looters thugs back in baltimore 2015 it was fine .. i think the media has blood on its hands the way they report things and fire people up to hate … now please dont remove this comment again journal

Mute Caoimhín O Neill
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:40 AM

@sean bergin: they gonna remove it, its pro Trump and states clear facts

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:32 PM

Wait til he resurrects some old law which allows him to assume power for lifetime – a bit like Putin is currently doing. Two sides of the same coin.

Mute sean bergin
    Favourite sean bergin
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:46 AM

In the usa white people killed by cops 55% black people 27% hispanic 19% add up last 4 years on statistica.com or look at fbi stats… but wait sean there is more white in america .. yes very true so then look at crime commited black people by far commite the most crime.. sure even the big freindly giant george was done for armed robbery holding up a mother with a gun .. if he wasnt commiting a crime last week the cops would not have been called in the firstcplace it was awful what happend after that rip… look at black on black crime or even black on white crime they kill more white people in the usa than the other way around. Think the black community need to look at themselves more and not blame white people for everything wrong in there life lets start at home how many black people in the states grow up without a father figure ? Look that one up the results are tragic

Mute Keith Richardson
    Jun 2nd 2020, 11:45 AM

@sean bergin: correct and the reason there’s no fathers is because these states are run by democrats and in order to get the black vote they give handouts and a single mother will get more money so no father needed it’s so sicking what theses Dems are capable of EVIL

Mute Ann Nugent
    Favourite Ann Nugent
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:09 AM

Says the ones safe in their bunkers.

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:53 AM

Welcome to Gilead.

Mute herp
    Favourite herp
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:14 AM

Hitler said that too

Mute James Walsh
    Favourite James Walsh
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:34 AM

A crooked narcissist who wants everyone to worship him, shamelessly using the crutch of religion to bolster his corrupt, failing administration. The USA is sick with both Covid-19 and the poison that is Trumpism.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jun 2nd 2020, 7:16 AM

Hope hits the self destruct button by accident

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Jun 2nd 2020, 8:30 AM

This is Indian (Apache) country

Mute Jimmy Carroll
    Favourite Jimmy Carroll
    Jun 2nd 2020, 9:01 AM

Let the prince of peace reign,God bless America

Mute Matt Humphries
    Favourite Matt Humphries
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:29 PM

Is he taking the oath to tell the truth this time.

Mute Mad Worldman
    Favourite Mad Worldman
    Jun 2nd 2020, 12:31 PM

The bishop of the diocese is totally outraged.
    You can see him trying to remember which way they told him to hold the bible.
    Its a staged TV moment to distract from the mess he’s making of everything. And he (they) even made a balls of that. Pathetic.

Mute Wood Jackson
    Favourite Wood Jackson
    Jun 2nd 2020, 11:48 AM

Well, he did teach Elvis how to play karate.

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    Jun 2nd 2020, 4:34 PM

The Hitler comparisons are getting harder and harder to dismiss.

Mute Tommy Fitzgerald
    Favourite Tommy Fitzgerald
    Jun 2nd 2020, 11:03 PM

Top man Trump. No place for rioting and looting in any civilized society. If these were peaceful protests there wouldnt be an issue. The police man who was kneeling on Floyds neck has been charged with murder and by all accounts there are more charges coming for the other police involved. White police kill more white people in the US than black people. Gun ownership is at the heart of the problem. Police wouldnt be so heavy handed if there were less guns in civilian hands.

Mute Craic Pipe
    Favourite Craic Pipe
    Jun 2nd 2020, 10:31 AM

No comment needed here…

Mute Edel Quinn
    Favourite Edel Quinn
    Jun 2nd 2020, 3:03 PM

Welcome to the Divided States of America. The land of the racist and home of the xenophobe.

Mute Christybhoy67
    Favourite Christybhoy67
    Jun 2nd 2020, 5:20 PM

Trump condemns China over it handedly of Hongkong, Now is doing the same thing to his own people, nothing but a hypocrite

Mute John Devine
    Favourite John Devine
    Jun 2nd 2020, 6:34 PM

A simple solution to sort all this out, put the accused cop and his partner in crime on a plane to the middle of Africa and leave them there with nothing, see how far they go

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jun 2nd 2020, 2:06 PM

The ignorant Clown couldn’t even manage to turn the bible facing the right way….. Arrogant gob#hite

Mute BB Askin
    Favourite BB Askin
    Jun 2nd 2020, 7:31 AM

He fairly grabbed that Bible by the pu55y!

Mute Hamish_
    Favourite Hamish_

F