You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Kim Kardashian following her meeting with US President Donald Trump in the White House. WHite House/PA Images

Donald Trump commutes life-sentence of drug offender after pressure from Kim Kardashian

Alice Marie Johnson served nearly 22 years of a life-sentence for a non-violent drug offence.

US PRESIDENT DONALD Trump has commuted the prison sentence of a 63-year-old woman whose release had been championed by reality TV star Kim Kardashian.

Alice Marie Johnson, 63, had served nearly 22 years of a life-sentence for a non-violent drug offence.

Kardashian, the wife of rapper Kanye West, met with Trump at the White House last week to appeal for the release of the great-grandmother convicted of cocaine trafficking.

The White House said in a statement that Trump had commuted Johnson’s sentence and that she “has accepted responsibility for her past behavior” and been a “model prisoner.”

“Despite receiving a life sentence, Alice worked hard to rehabilitate herself in prison, and act as a mentor to her fellow inmates,” the White House said.

While this Administration will always be very tough on crime, it believes that those who have paid their debt to society and worked hard to better themselves while in prison deserve a second chance.

Kardashian welcomed the commutation of Johnson’s sentence in a series of tweets.

Fixing tough sentencing laws had been a priority of former president Barack Obama’s administration, but he failed to win congressional support, prompting a stream of presidential pardons and clemency actions.

Trump has so far taken a more hardline approach, advocating a “lock-em-up-and-throw-away-the-key” approach to criminal justice.

During his first year and half in office he has issued a number of pardons, however, mostly involving high-profile cases.

Opposition Democrats say Trump’s pardons — or hints to issue clemency — of political allies is meant to signal his present and former aides that they need not fear resisting the probe by Special Counsel Robert Mueller into possible collusion between Russia and Trump’s 2016 election campaign.

Last week, Trump pardoned firebrand conservative commentator Dinesh D’Souza, who was convicted of violating campaign finance laws.

He previously pardoned disgraced Arizona sheriff Joe Arpaio, a Trump supporter who violated a court order to halt traffic patrols targeting immigrants.

Mic / YouTube

He also commuted the sentence of vice president Dick Cheney’s former chief of staff Lewis “Scooter” Libby.

Trump issued a posthumous pardon to Jack Johnson, the first black heavyweight boxing champion, who was sent to prison a century ago in a racially charged case

The president has also signaled that he could similarly favor lifestyle guru Martha Stewart, who went to jail for making false statements in an insider trading case, and commute the prison sentence of Rod Blagojevich, a former governor of Illinois convicted of corruption.

Blagojevich, a Democrat, appeared on Trump’s reality TV show The Apprentice while Stewart once hosted a spin-off version of the show.

Trump on Monday even asserted a right to pardon himself of any crime.

© – AFP 2018

View 45 comments
45 Comments
    Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    Jun 6th 2018, 7:57 PM

Bravo Mr Trump.
    This was Alice Marie Johnson’s first offense, but she was given a life sentence without the chance of parole because ten of her co-defendants with prior testified against her in exchange for a reduced or dropped charges. It was a shocking sentence in the context of her involvement.
    More importantly this pardon clearly demonstrates that Donald Trump’s presidency treats all Americans equally irrespective of race, creed or colour.
    A Watershed moment in The Don’s stint in the White House which pprobably guarantees him a second term.

Mute Jen McCartney
    Favourite Jen McCartney
    Jun 6th 2018, 8:00 PM

@Jack McGready: I can’t tell if you’re being sarcastic or not with the watershed reference…

Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    Jun 6th 2018, 8:07 PM

@Jen McCartney:
    Funny isn’t it, even when the guy does something wonderful people are aghast standing with mouths open catching flies.
    Political allegiances aside I think we can all agree that this is A BEAUTIFUL MOMENT in the Don’s presidency and a healing moment in the historical divide between white and black folk across that great country.
    Paul McCartney put t succinctly in the song:
    ‘We all know that people are the same whereever you go
    There is good and bad in ev’ryone
    We learn to live, when we learn to give
    Each other what we need to survive, together alive
    Ebony and Ivory live together in perfect harmony ‘
    Beautiful lyrics and a beautiful moment today. We can all be proud even though we’re only Irishmen.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Mark Fitzmaurice
    Favourite Mark Fitzmaurice
    Jun 6th 2018, 8:12 PM

@Jack McGready: This has to be a parody account. Brilliant!!!

Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    Jun 6th 2018, 8:20 PM

@Mark Fitzmaurice:
    ‘Parody’
    You need to check your unconscious cynicism Mark.

Mute Joe Caulfield
    Favourite Joe Caulfield
    Jun 6th 2018, 8:22 PM

@Jack McGready: Jack you make a valid point but emotions expressed on this site will be eaten alive by the hyenas. Stick with your reason and logic.

Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    Jun 6th 2018, 8:44 PM

@Joe Caulfield:
    Maybe I’m an emotional fish Joe.

Mute David Edwards
    Favourite David Edwards
    Jun 6th 2018, 8:51 PM

@Joe Caulfield: don’t feel too bad for Jack this is his bait laying modus. It IS great to see Trump listening to someone with compassion as this certainly wasn’t his idea and it’s hard to imagine anyone who wouldn’t see the value in setting this woman free. Let’s give Donald a point for this one .

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Jun 6th 2018, 9:05 PM

@Jack McGready: maybe you just got the brains of one?!

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Jun 6th 2018, 9:09 PM

Watershed? The man’s a sexist racist narcissistic ignornant hypocritical bully of a temper tantrum toddler twot. It’ll take a lot more than this to make up for all insults, abuse and division that has come from that horrible man. And taking advise from another plastic twot…cop on will you!!

Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    Jun 6th 2018, 9:11 PM

@Paul Furey:
    ‘ temper tantrum toddler twot’
    Love the twangy alliteration there Paul.

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Jun 6th 2018, 9:15 PM

@Jack McGready: I wouldn’t rule out trump scratching the wests family back after kanye endorsing him..It certainly played a part..cynical maybe but VERY convenient..regardless the outcome is great

Mute Joe Caulfield
    Favourite Joe Caulfield
    Jun 6th 2018, 9:24 PM

@Dave Thomas: What did you get on the toxic scale for that one?

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jun 6th 2018, 11:21 PM

@Jack McGready: Ha Ha I thought you were being ironic, he is off course all inclusive, humane and just for his supporters.

Mute David Kelly
    Favourite David Kelly
    Jun 6th 2018, 11:26 PM

@Jack McGready: Renting is a nightmare these days. Are you getting a reduced rate living in”Don’s” rectum.

Mute Jack McGready
    Favourite Jack McGready
    Jun 6th 2018, 11:47 PM

@David Kelly:
    Must be dirt cheap down in the cesspit of your subconscious Dave.

Mute JENI
    Favourite JENI
    Jun 7th 2018, 10:11 AM

@Jack McGready: no he is still a muppett

Mute David Kelly
    Favourite David Kelly
    Jun 7th 2018, 2:36 PM

@Jack McGready: says the man who fully supports an advocate of “pûssy grabbing. You need to be a special kind of dumbfûck to support this orange self serving megalomanìac.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Jun 6th 2018, 7:47 PM

Maybe he will do the same for the others that are only in there for pot..

Mute Daniel Donovan
    Favourite Daniel Donovan
    Jun 6th 2018, 8:57 PM

@Dave Thomas: Drugs should be legalised. What people do with their own bodies is their choice. The war on drugs was a disgrace.

Mute Jack Sullivan
    Favourite Jack Sullivan
    Jun 7th 2018, 8:50 AM

@Daniel Donovan: drugs can control a nation unless the nation controls drugs. For two centuries the British controlled China by feeding the populous opium.

Mute DaisyMay
    Favourite DaisyMay
    Jun 6th 2018, 7:55 PM

Not a fan of the Kardashians but fair play to her. Ridiculous that this woman is in prison for life.

Mute David Huston
    Favourite David Huston
    Jun 6th 2018, 8:53 PM

@DaisyMay: OFFS, give me a break, a woman famous for being famous advising the president of America, and he listened, What next.

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jun 6th 2018, 11:23 PM

@David Huston: I think he gawked not listened

Mute Sloop John G
    Favourite Sloop John G
    Jun 7th 2018, 2:14 AM

@David Huston: obviously old tango head is getting something in return from the slapdashian. Maybe Kim West is going South??

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jun 6th 2018, 8:03 PM

You can just see the headline now.
    Braindead twit saves junkies life by pleading with an umpa lumpa.
    I thought you only seen those healines in the national enquirer.

Mute Joe Caulfield
    Favourite Joe Caulfield
    Jun 6th 2018, 9:15 PM

Still no mention of the draconian sentences for small quantities introduced by Bill Clinton.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Jun 6th 2018, 10:34 PM

@Joe Caulfield: Trump was advocating the death penalty for drug dealers last week …

Mute Vote4Pedro
    Favourite Vote4Pedro
    Jun 6th 2018, 11:20 PM

@DrRexButts: know ur history, it was mainly black politicians and lobbyists who pushed for harsher sentences to try and discourage drug use!

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Jun 6th 2018, 11:24 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: He is a great admirer of Duarte and his drug dealing solution

Mute Dermot Killian
    Favourite Dermot Killian
    Jun 9th 2018, 3:09 AM

@Joe Caulfield: let’s not break the spell and bring up that ill conceived idea.

Mute DAVID EIRE
    Favourite DAVID EIRE
    Jun 6th 2018, 10:55 PM

BEST USA PRESIDENT EVER !!!

TOAST the snowflakes!

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 7th 2018, 8:10 PM

@DAVID EIRE: seems like you just like him because others don’t which is weird.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Jun 6th 2018, 11:09 PM

Well who’d have thunk it one reality tv star doing what another reality tv star asked them . Sums up.trumps presidency for me.

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Jun 6th 2018, 7:49 PM

“Well I’m blowed”.

Mute Keith mac suibhne
    Favourite Keith mac suibhne
    Jun 6th 2018, 11:25 PM

The idiocracy has arrived, celebrity ass famous for having no talent meeting with another reality tv star who is also the president of the US to discuss prison reform. Time to pack up and leave the world has gone to shyte.

Mute Cranky
    Favourite Cranky
    Jun 6th 2018, 7:56 PM

The priests in Ireland have a lot in common with Kim Kardashian. Who would have thought that?

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jun 6th 2018, 8:05 PM

@Cranky: apart from fat asses, what else do the have in common?

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jun 7th 2018, 3:31 PM

@Dermot Lane: Married to god?? or someone who thinks he is…

Mute Barry Teehan
    Favourite Barry Teehan
    Jun 6th 2018, 10:05 PM

Send that girl over to sort out Brexit !

Mute Wodanaz von Mises
    Favourite Wodanaz von Mises
    Jun 6th 2018, 9:32 PM

1 down several 100K to go.

Mute Malachy
    Favourite Malachy
    Jun 7th 2018, 2:17 AM

He only did it for his Twitter account.

Mute Martin Horan
    Favourite Martin Horan
    Jun 7th 2018, 5:20 AM

Trump can pardon himself? Is this what his supporters mean when they say ‘Trump can do no wrong’?

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 7th 2018, 1:45 PM

A brilliant decision. Doesn’t matter how he got to it, he did it. I’m concerned about the possibility of pardoning Martha Stewart though, she was jailed for insider trading and lying to the FBI. Pardoning someone for lying to the FBI right now would be a bad message for him to send while he and his campaign are under federal investigation.

Mute Bart
    Favourite Bart
    Jun 7th 2018, 1:47 PM

America’s famous reality star meets Kim Kardashian at the White House