You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leah Farrell via RollingNews.ie

An Post experiences busiest Christmas season to date

At the height of the season, An Post staff were delivering over 100,000 parcels per day nationwide.

AN POST HAS experienced its busiest Christmas season to date with parcel volumes up 50% on last year. 

At the height of the season, An Post staff were delivering over 100,000 parcels per day nationwide, it said. 

Overall parcel volumes over the Christmas period are up 50% on last year. 

An Post also said that sales of more traditional Christmas stamp booklets were up this year following a number of years of double-digit decline.

International stamp sales also increased, which An Post said was on the back of new products and a new Christmas campaign. 

In total, 13 million Christmas stamps were sold by An Post. 

“Christmas business exceeded the expectations of many of our retail customers. One major customer said they have never seen anything like the peak business generated by Irish shoppers,” An Post’s mail and parcels managing director Garrett Bridgeman said. 

“One large retailer alone sent in 22 parcel trucks in one day. We were expecting four.”

An Post’s national parcels network has now begun to deal with post-Christmas and New Year sales and returns. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

27 Comments
    Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    May 26th 2015, 12:19 PM

Average weekly earning of nearly €700????
    I could count on one finger the number of my friends that earn that kind of money

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    May 26th 2015, 12:25 PM

Do you have any friends outside of work though?

Mute Partysauras Rex
    Favourite Partysauras Rex
    May 26th 2015, 12:25 PM

That’s a salary of just over €36,000. I know 22 year olds straight out of college on that kind of crap money.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    May 26th 2015, 1:26 PM

None of my friends are on such a low wage. I guess it proves there is different soci-economic groups about if somebody else barely knows anyone above that.
    Given it is only €5k below what a single parent can get on state benefits there is something seriously wrong

Mute Chris Rea
    Favourite Chris Rea
    May 26th 2015, 1:35 PM

Its not €36k per year…if your talking Net of tax its over €50k per year.

Mute Alan Wiley
    Favourite Alan Wiley
    May 26th 2015, 2:05 PM

They’re gross figures.

Mute Aaron McKenna
    Favourite Aaron McKenna
    May 26th 2015, 7:13 PM

“The latest figures from the CSO, which are for earnings before tax, PRSI and other levies are taken out.”

€36k has been in and around the average for a while now. As for whether or not folks you know are on that kind of money, I suppose it depends on age; experience; education; it’s not particularly hard to wrap your head around.

Look up any of the freely available salary surveys and you’ll find that you start hitting €36k in jobs like an office administrator or a secretary with 5 years experience; a marketing exec; a web content manager; a junior sales rep; a warehouse shift supervisor; pretty much any job in pharma at entry and engineering after 3 years experience; ditto for IT developer roles.

I don’t get the “nobody earns those wages” argument. The average wouldn’t be 36k if so, and the data in salary and employment surveys just doesn’t hold up the position.

http://www.morganmckinley.ie/about/2015-salary-survey-benefits

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 26th 2015, 9:26 PM

More rubbish from Aaron. Is he related to someone in the Journal? Hence the continuous ‘contributions’.

Mute Sarah-J. Mc Hugh
    Favourite Sarah-J. Mc Hugh
    May 26th 2015, 9:56 PM

I don’t think Aaron is talking rubbish, but at the same point I would love to know what the median and mode are, as I think the mean is possible skewed by a small volume of high earners.

Mute Yes!
    Favourite Yes!
    May 26th 2015, 10:45 PM

Not many as high as that.

Mute Aaron McKenna
    Favourite Aaron McKenna
    May 26th 2015, 11:56 PM

What’s the rubbish, Sheik? I post a link to a salary survey, used by recruitment professionals to benchmark real world salaries that employers pay, and you just say “that’s rubbish. And here’s some poor attempt at a personal attack.”

Bizarre comment.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    May 26th 2015, 2:03 PM

Would love to see the breakdown. Have a family member who has worked in a large tesco for about 5 years and yesterday they were told sorry but your hours are being cut from 30 hours to 20. Spread out over the week with silly shift times , so this person can’t even go get a second job. Ridiculous for low income jobs. All may be rosy at the top but some people are still really struggling.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    May 26th 2015, 4:37 PM

If you are going to work 5 years in a dead end job should you really be surprised? If you are easily replaceable with minimum training then of course your wages will reflect this.
    There is a lot to be said for a living wage but look after yourself and aim for a better job. Not saying it is easy just don’t expect a company to look after you.

Mute Denise Kinsella
    Favourite Denise Kinsella
    May 26th 2015, 11:24 PM

Thing is that when your on a low income, finding the money and time off to upskill is impossible

Mute Ann Buggy
    Favourite Ann Buggy
    May 27th 2015, 12:06 AM

My son was put on three day week last week i don’t know what planet that government are living in son inlaw let off Christmas week

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    May 27th 2015, 12:41 PM

@Denise
    If you only work 20-30 hours a week you have the time.
    Lots of free education about. You can also get tax breaks and funding for education.
    Not saying it is easy but I worked 50 hour weeks and also studied so I know it is hard. I did so to be paid better rather than hoping for a minimum wage to increase.

Mute Gary O'neill
    Favourite Gary O'neill
    May 26th 2015, 12:15 PM

Peoples earnings still falling. Exactly the reason why I refuse to pay my water charge

Mute Mickey Finn
    Favourite Mickey Finn
    May 26th 2015, 12:18 PM

If a lot of people are on zero hour contracts, the average wage of under €700 per week must be brought up by someone earning a huge wage. Would love to know their wage packet

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    May 26th 2015, 4:42 PM

Ok silly question. Are these average wage figures? Gross wage or Net wages.

Mute Eoin DCCWDL
    Favourite Eoin DCCWDL
    May 26th 2015, 4:53 PM

They are Gross wage, before any statutory deductions.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    May 26th 2015, 12:17 PM

Why cant wages be broken into sectors..eg retail..construction etc..this average wages skews the whole picture..with the exception of some multi nationals and the mid and upper civil service most peoples wages are on the floor..

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    May 26th 2015, 2:47 PM

Averages are meaningless; two employees in a firm, one earns 20K the other earns 80K, their average wage is 50K. That statistic completely skews what is actually happening in this simplistic example and serves the same purpose in the article.
    Now, the mode figure, that’s the one I want to know about, not the mean.

Mute Aasif
    Favourite Aasif
    May 26th 2015, 6:55 PM

You obviously can’t do much if can’t spell can’t

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    May 26th 2015, 9:07 PM

Some of those characters are from
    Mars! Definitely not an issue with spelling. We need to look at it on a higher level.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    May 26th 2015, 1:28 PM

I have a good friend interviewing for a job today. Good degree, years of experience in accounting/bus org, multiple languages (fluent). €20k p.a. is what’s on offer. WTF these articles get their numbers from escapes me.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    May 26th 2015, 4:30 PM

What job were they going for and how much experience do they have? You don’t get paid for skills and education unless relevant to the job.
    If language and a degree is required and the only pay that I would be very surprised. With a little bit if specialty training on top they could easily get double that

Mute right wing
    Favourite right wing
    May 26th 2015, 12:52 PM

It’s all relative my wife and l earn in excess of 200.000 per year but have 3 kids in private school a 1.2 million house with a huge mortgage and a holiday home in florida. It’s not easy, that’s why I’m not paying the water charge.

Mute Friendo Friendo
    Favourite Friendo Friendo
    May 26th 2015, 3:57 PM

Dont forget to send them the Gaeltacht so you can boast to your neighbor about it.

Mute Jane Dwyer
    Favourite Jane Dwyer
    May 26th 2015, 4:34 PM

Are you related to P Flynn?

Mute right wing
    Favourite right wing
    May 26th 2015, 5:42 PM

58 people that understand irony and sarcasm.

Mute Friendo Friendo
    May 26th 2015, 6:42 PM

Its seems you dont either

Mute Friendo Friendo
    May 26th 2015, 6:44 PM

oops wrong thread LOL

Mute ss
    Favourite ss
    May 26th 2015, 12:23 PM

Profit before people FG bringing misery to many and lolly to DOB and friends

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 26th 2015, 12:20 PM

There is nothing like a bit of free promotion for Zalando shoes, even though they probably will never employ anyone in Ireland because they sell their shoes online from a UK base.

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    May 26th 2015, 12:54 PM

Well except the 200 jobs they are creating in Dublin this year but don’t let the facts get in the way of your argument.

Mute In The Name Of....
    Favourite In The Name Of....
    May 26th 2015, 4:19 PM

The journal, where facts come to die.

Mute Martin Thompson
    Favourite Martin Thompson
    May 26th 2015, 12:56 PM

Very touchy subject, obviously a manager should earn more than a worker as a doctor should earn more than a nurse etc. I don’t agree with stats in general as the real picture is never shown in cased like this. Different categories should be used to show the diversity between incomes, equal pay for equal level of difficulty and experience. I know that within civil servants there is a huge gap between staff and management yet the average is taken from the overall making out that front line staff as in lower grades earn more than they do and senior staff earn less. It’s all about cooking the books.

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    May 26th 2015, 12:26 PM

Gary, you are already paying for water. Lowest entry to the top rate of tax in Europe 41% a33.5k. 7% USC, property tax A local tax for local services (B.S.), VAT, etc etc etc

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    May 26th 2015, 12:46 PM

OK Bruton, noonan, Indah et al, finesse your way out of that. I’ve been banging on for a long time now about our Emperor and his lack of clothing. I am pleased that so many have adopted my plea for a referendum on our ownership of our water, but am sad that the outright lies about employment and so many people’s financial position continue to stand. People, seek information – which is so readily available now – draw your own conclusions, and see this government for what it is.

Mute Larissa Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Nikolaus
    May 26th 2015, 2:03 PM

Average of nearly 700 € a week? I could live with that, wonder, if they calculated all the wages of the politicians into that, or how did they arrive at such a high number?

Mute MadMax
    Favourite MadMax
    May 26th 2015, 12:55 PM

Nearly $700 sure you would of never of seen that in the northwest even during the boom ever.

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    May 26th 2015, 2:20 PM

Media constantly worried about tax cuts , this is not the only way to give people more money in their pcokets

Reduce the cost of living, going to the doctors, pharmaceutical costs, dentists cost

Until the government reform the professional services, legal system etc we will continue to live in a high cost society

Mute Sean Monaghan
    Favourite Sean Monaghan
    May 26th 2015, 5:38 PM

Defence Forces do in their f**k get €900 per week. Some young lads scrape €300!! Who writes this crap?

Mute Tiarnan Guinée
    Favourite Tiarnan Guinée
    May 26th 2015, 11:51 PM

It says for public administration and defense. That’s what’s wrong with this article it may as well just divide it into men and women because the groups are really not specific at all!

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    May 26th 2015, 1:09 PM

The best recent evidence indicates that lower paid people in the PS earn more than equivalent roles in the private sector, with the opposite being true of higher paid PS roles.

Mute Martin Thompson
    Favourite Martin Thompson
    May 26th 2015, 2:36 PM

Compare a Prison Officers job to the Private Sector?
    Compare a Garda job to the Private Sector?
    Compare a Army Officers job to the Private Sector?
    Compare a Firemans job to the Private Sector?
    These jobs you refer to are contract work and office jobs, please don’t generalise.

Mute Martin Hogan
    Favourite Martin Hogan
    May 26th 2015, 6:45 PM

Compare those public sector jobs you listed to their peers in other countries and they still earn more. Not that i have a problem with those partucular jobs that involve risk , shift work and unsociable hours. How teachers earn more than guards and nurses on the other hand is baffling.

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    May 26th 2015, 7:02 PM

What countries? What about the cost of living? The cost of qualifying? A new teacher, a new Garda and a new nurse all start off on around 23,000. Any sources or facts or is it just your preconceived notions? Come on, some links please!

Mute Martin Hogan
    Favourite Martin Hogan
    May 26th 2015, 7:53 PM

What cost of qualifying, aside from the same college fees that every student has? The vast bulk of the training cost is paid for by the state. European studies by the IIEA which specifically compare public sector workers across Europe show that the irish workers work the least hours of any country bar Portugal and that they rank among the top earning countries. So top end pay for least hours worked.

The point on teachers salaries was based on a big story covered in the Irish Examiner last year that compared the salary of a Guard, Nurse and Teacher. As you say they all earn broadly the same at entry level but as they rise up in seniority, Teachers earn several thousand more a year. Thats despite working far, far less hours in a year, not working shift work or over christmas and not having the risks that a Guard has.

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    May 26th 2015, 8:44 PM

Ha ha. Irish Examiner story? Several thousand more a year? Your arse is very obviously talking now.

Mute Martin Hogan
    Favourite Martin Hogan
    May 26th 2015, 8:56 PM

It was Irish Examiner and several thousand i wrote wasnt it? You reaplied as if i’d wrote Irish Independent and tens of thousands. I’m sure you’re right though and that it would be imposible for a national newspaper to get several publicly available numbers and print them next to each other. Probabaly just another dastardly conspiracy against the poor teachers.

Mute Yes!
    Favourite Yes!
    May 26th 2015, 10:54 PM

Which, Dnito, is probably fair enough?

Mute Fergal Barry
    Favourite Fergal Barry
    May 26th 2015, 1:01 PM

Is the near €700 take home??

Mute Mark Byrne
    Favourite Mark Byrne
    May 26th 2015, 1:31 PM

Before tax I think.

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester
    May 26th 2015, 2:48 PM

More taxes that’s the answer Enda.

Mute Friendo Friendo
    May 26th 2015, 3:55 PM

With the Global Economy slowing down there will be a lag on the data.

Hard to know what will happen towards the end of this year, as the effect of US Economy stalling will start to show signs here. Still people here are loading up the debt on their credit cards again so its good for businesses.

Mute Rodger 5
    Favourite Rodger 5
    May 26th 2015, 5:16 PM

Like the humble and downtrodden judiciary everyone should have had their pay protected by the constitution.

Mute John O Brien
    Favourite John O Brien
    May 26th 2015, 4:20 PM

Seems to me reading this its public sector is way ahead of the private sector. Are benefits included in these stats? That’s takes them further ahead.

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    May 26th 2015, 5:52 PM

What benefits?

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    May 26th 2015, 12:29 PM

It will take time just look what happened in the UK

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    May 26th 2015, 5:05 PM

the usual begrudgers are livid that the economy is booming :D

Mute Ronan Gallagher
    Favourite Ronan Gallagher
    May 26th 2015, 4:50 PM

How much are they making in the motor trade these days anybody know? Used to be pennies