You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An Taisce says it saved State from €752m in impaired loans
The National Heritage body said its successful appeals against unsustainable planning applications over the past decade have saved the State between €505 – €752 million.
THE NATIONAL HERITAGE body says it has saved Ireland from incurring likely impaired loans of between €505 million and €752 million over the past decade by lodging appeals against unsuitable proposed developments around the country.
In a report released yesterday, An Taisce noted that 80 per cent of the planning applications objections it lodged over a ten-year period were upheld by An Bord Pleanála. It said that this resulted in savings of ten of millions of euro for the State, as it obviated the granting of loans “which would now likely be impaired be impaired and purchased by Nama” or would remain with financial institutions.
The report also raised concerns over the value of Nama’s development land portfolio in coming years – predicting that the value will “plummet”.
‘Tremendously high’ success rate of appeals
An Taisce said that, in addition to its roles in education and heritage conservation, it was also the prescribed body to act as a national independent watchdog for the Irish planning system, and identified its responsibilities as championing proper planning, environmental protection and responsible development.
The heritage body said that the “tremendously high” success rate of its appeals to An Bord Pleanála, and recent history as evidenced by the Mahon Tribunal, indicates that its position on planning matters over the past decade has been entirely justified and has “yielded significant financial savings”.
An Taisce broke down the estimated loan value, in terms of the range of borrowings, of applications that did not go ahead due to its objections:
€140 – €190 million saved via objections to business parks proposed in remote and unserviced locations
Examples: County Meath, M3 – Rennicks site, Royal Gateway Site, and ‘SMART’ park at Carton House, in Wicklow between Newtown-mount-Kennedy and Kilcoole, and in South Tipperary, west of Carrick-on-Suir.
€85 – €142 million saved via objections to hotel and holiday home development proposed in unserviced locations, or otherwise unsustainable
Examples: three hotels proposed along the M7 at Kill, Palmerston Demesne and Monasterevin, in County Wexford at Curracloe, in County Louth at Omeath, at Skibbereen in County Cork, Lough Key in County Roscommon, at Killaloe in County Clare, and Whitfield in County Waterford.
€45 – €55 million saved via objections to housing development in ecologically and/or visually sensitive areas
Examples: beside the rivers and lakes of the Shannon catchment, in Connemara in County Galway, Lough Oughter in County Cavan, and in West Cork and West Kerry.
€35 – €45 million via objections to remotely-located nursing homes refused permission for being too distant from services
Examples: in counties Cork, Donegal, Galway, Kildare, Offaly, Mayo and Waterford.
€200 – €320 million saved via objections to over-scaled urban development principally in Dublin
Examples: Chancery Street motor taxation office, the wide range of development proposed at Ballsbridge, at the Carlton site on O’Connell St, at Arnotts behind the GPO, the former ESB offices on Fleet St and skyscraper proposals for Bridgefoot St.
Value of Nama’s development land portfolio will “plummet”
The report highlighted the link between bad planning and austerity, saying that the “unfettered zoning of land for new development by councils was a critical component of the toxic mix that created Ireland’s property bubble and financial crisis”.
It noted that, in 2008, Ireland had almost enough zoned land to almost double the national population to 8 million, with 42,000 hectares having residential zoning, almost all of which was greenfield land – and noted those figures did not take account of the “thousands of hectares” of land zoned for mixeduse, industrial, retail, commercial and other uses.
An Taisce said that zoning vastly inflated the value of land “turning green fields into ‘fields of gold’, providing an easy conduit to cheap credit and facilitating property speculation”. This behaviour contributed to the financial crisis and the creation of Nama, it added.
Accusing county councils across the country of “completely abandoning their fiduciary responsibilities and acting wholly contrary to national planning policy”, An Taisce noted that approximately 40 per cent of the €75 billion property portfolio transferred to Nama is categorised as development land.
It continued:
Much of what was hastily rezoned to ‘development’ is in truth pasture and tillage land for farming, and as it is officially reclassified to agriculture over the coming years, the value of Nama’s development land portfolio will plummet from a paper figure of €30 billion to a single digit figure, crystallising tens of billions in losses for taxpayers.
However, the report noted that the direct Nama loss did not take account of the additional billions to be written down on non-NAMA development loans, which it said would remain with financial institutions as nonperforming liabilities.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Good to see that our right to protest if we feel strongly about something has not been attempted to be prevented. Right or wrong it is their rights whether any of us like it or not. But it’s clear that the media are on the side of the governments misinformation. What ever happened to honest unbiased journalism.
@John Doyle: Statutory Instrument 326 of 2020 which was brought in recently is designed to quell protests. This is the reason a lot of people turned up today (many barristers also)
@Anna Anna: what you forgot to mention it is a temporary restriction for public safety measure due to covid. Also listed are gatherings of x amount of people. Weddings, football. You make it sound like draconian measure.
@John Doyle: I have to agree. There are growing voices of dissension yet instead of answering the hard questions the people in power continue to try and discredit any dissenters.
It seems you’re only allowed have one opinion in Ireland now and that was the case long before Covid
@John Doyle: Funny but during water protests guards were instrumental in disrupting the protests. Guards had no problem in arresting striking workers concerning Debenhams or the housing/ homeless protests .Jobstown? Where were the guards at this protest.
@John Doyle: it’s great that we have freedom of speech and the right to protest. It’s not great that as an admin worker in the HSE I’ve been told I’ll probably be heading back to the testing centres because gowls like these are upset with being told what’s best for them and their loved ones. I’ve seen people come through the testing centres that have died from this, I personally know people who have died from it and I will lose other people I know to it. Sad to think we’ll mostly likely see a further spike in the coming weeks.
@John Doyle: John why don’t you and the rest of the anti maskers out there sign a declaration that you won’t burden the health care system if you and your family catch this virus.
@Mark:
The government are playing a dangerous game Mark, by equating everyone who is at these marches with extreme nutters, and in addition by making continual references to the tricolour as they do.
This is legitimising the national flag as a political weapon, a symbol of division, when it should be something that unites all of us.
As we see from the polarised situation in the US, when one side waves the national flag, the other side starts burning it.
If we get to that position here, I would imagine that the majority would be on the side of those waving the flag.
@Mark: I’d love to have been there today, they are completely unhinged, why are the Garda letting this go on? This needs to stopped, their unhinged views need to be stop, calling everyone pedos etc, ah man they need a wake up call, the Garda in riot gear should have put manners on them
@Mark:
You can call them whatever you want Mark, everyone is entitled to their point of view.
The Taoiseach is in a different position, he needs to be a leader for everyone, and to make comments as divisive as he has places him in a very awkward spot.
The science on every aspect of the pandemic is not at all fixed, really well respected and highly qualified people in the fields of science and medicine have totally divergent opinions on the various issues, which leaves ordinary people in a state of confusion.
So his comments on the national flag, and equating people with genuine concerns along with the head the balls, have done more harm than good.
I agree that our views must be suppressed…why the Gardaí don’t just give us all a good hiding for protesting the unending Covid restrictions is beyond me…
@Brian McNamara: if a group argues against basic science they can hardly expect much of a platform, if I held a demonstration to argue that a balanced diet and exercise is bad for you I can’t expect to have everyone’s ear
@Garry Coll: “everyone is entitled to their point of view.” where did you get that crap from from? The nazi’s were also entitled to their view of who lives and dies? are these pr*cks also entitled to choose who lives or dies?
“The science on every aspect of the pandemic is not at all fixed,” ? exactly the fecking point. we don’t know so stop putting people’s lives at risk if you don’t fecking know what you are doing.
@Mark: Really? I wonder why the WHO and government said they don’t help at all and healthy people should not wear them…I suppose if you’re coughing and spluttering then wearing one might help a bit but in that case you’d be better off at home anyway.
@Mark: what is the definition of patriotism. It’s being mentioned a lot in comments.
It’s an emotive term that can have many interruptions. So a clear definition please.
@James Walsh:
Most people James, from that perspective are hugely respectful towards the beliefs and traditions of other faiths. There is of course a minority whose actions garner the most publicity.
However those from a politically progressive and Marxist perspective have respect for no-one and for not a single element of the JudeoChristian moral framework on which the constitution of this country is based.
Debate with me all you want, but there is a greater enemy out there, one that tries to conquer by division.
Life may be tough now, but the alternative is so much worse.
@Mark: there’s nutters everywhere. I saw thousands of them in Dublin yesterday. These were common or garden variety wearing masks while walking along O’Connell street. Yep, outdoors, wearing masks. Can you believe the pointlessness of that?
@Mark: that is the saddest part, really… they see the Irish flag and call themselves “Nationalists” without knowing what that really means. It’s a very dark time for the world.
Btw. It wasn’t hundreds in was in the thousands. And there was two protests no one. More and more taking exceptions to been made prisoners on their own home restricted in their travel and not allowed into dying relatives in hospital. If masks worked why will they still not let people into hospitals to visit ?
@Tom Jones: as much as your echo chamber may convince you you’re right, people with views like yours are in an unbelievably tiny minority and being loud on the internet doesn’t change that.
@Tom Jones: nobody said masks are 100% foolproof, do you really believe that’s why we should wear masks? Really? So this is the level of intelligence from these protesters, lord help us!
@Tom Jones: Seeing as my comment concerning the masks was removed from earlier, I will try again.
Tom, please go and check how long it took us to reach a daily newly confirmed case of 300, when this first started. 6 months ago. Then compare it to how long it took for us to reach daily newly confirmed cases of 300 this time around, since the largest lifting of restrictions on June 29th. Then take the following into account:
1) This time around, we only hit a daily 300 mark once.
2) Only symptomatic cases were tested 6 months ago. Now we are also testing close contacts who are not showing symptoms as well as symptomatic cases.
The biggest difference was introducing the masks. The numbers do not lie. They are doing what they are meant to do, and restrict the transmission of the virus.
@Craig Halpatranags: I actually do know someone who with these opinions it turns out. Old school friend, posts this stuff on Facebook often, spent the entirety of secondary school sniffing glue in the jacks.
@Tom Jones: Tom, if you were having open heart surgery would you be happy for the surgeon and the operating theater team to go maskless? – I think not!
They wear masks to protect you during during surgery when you are vulnerable to infection.
It might also be that family and close friends visiting you after could be asked to wear masks during the initial healing process.
I know I visited a friend in a burns unit and had to wear a mask and gown….
so the principal of masks to help protect vulnerable people from infection is already well established, and long before covid-19 appeared. Just some people have never been exposed to the idea, same as I had never until visiting a friend in the burns unit.
However I do agree that visiting in hospital and nursing homes could be allowed if people are wearing proper masks properly. Many of the home made masks and the cheap re-usable ones, do not have a nose pinch system and are not suitable, Other people just do not know how to wear a mask properly and therefore masks and other face coverings are not as effective as they should be. And there are those who wear the mask at “inspection” and them pull it down after – so those could be a concern of hospital and nursing home if visitors pull down their masks while inside and visiting, like when eating the patients grapes.. and what about the “I cannot wear a mask” brigade demanding access – so maybe it is easier just to stop visitors than deal with all those potential rule breakers.
@Craig Halpatranags: a few thousand fruitloops verse 5 million people yeah that not the minority. Can you please let us know who your maths teacher was so we can sack him for incompetence
They want to “suppress” the virus now? Good luck with that. It made sense to avert hospitals being overwhelmed, but the virus isn’t going to go away if we only let 100 people get infected each day. At this place, it will take 10 years before we can see our friends and family again.
It’s as if the government wanted to reduce road deaths by only allowing us to drive once a year. I mean, technically it would work, but at what price?
Anti mask protesters are making more sense every day.
@Giovanni Giusti: 100 per day? We should be so lucky! Its 120 + most days at the moment. Breached 200 several times, and 300 once so far. But sure, we were told no need to panic when we telling people be careful when the cases started to rise from the single figures / low teen days at the start of July to low 20s and so on, 10 days after the largest lifting of restrictions on 29 June.
@Joe_X: And % of cases versus number of tests? and re the largers numbers Clue : Do you know what day Sat and Sun figures are published?
On a postive note the curve has been well flattened. And Total Deaths this year are well below the previous 4 years.
@Micheal O’Cleirigh: why? Do you? Now do know the percentage of deaths to cases detected. As for yearly death toll, I would hope it eoll be down this year, there was not a road death or workplace accident seeing as everyplace was locjed in for 3 months
@Joe_X: Sure I said I would wait to see it? (are you unable to post a link)
If you read the comment on the tweet she did say even if they added 1000 to the July figure,,,or just take july out of it figures are well below other years
@Joe_X: It might also do with the fact I keep hitting wrong buttons, like I just did. It was on yesterdays journal articles. If you scroll down the home page you will see it.
@Trevor Donoghue: I want my mother to live, not to spend her last 10 years in prison together with the rest of the country. And guess what, I’m not under the illusion that an 80 year old is going to live forever.
These people who listen Ben Gilroy and Gemma O’Doherty won’t listen to sense. All sensible people can do is heed the advice and stay away from these people
@Tom Jones: Both of them Lions (bwahahahahahahahahahahaha) havent been right about a thing in their life. Aw man thank you so much for the laugh, Lions bwhahahaha…..
When such illogical, nonsensical information and instructions are given by government ‘experts’, many have been forced to do their own research and find truthful facts.
@Lucy Legacy: you don’t have to. All you have to do is listen to the chairman of the Dail covid committee and watch the sessions that they are doing. Normally on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. They are interviewing experts from all over the world. They’re advice is that lockdowns don’t work. Why because to suppress the virus you have to have a permanent lockdown. Do you really want to stay in the situation we are in now permanently. There is no way out if you want to suppress the virus. Oh and by the way you also kill the economy when you do it.
@great gael of Eire: so the big bad governments, scientists and experts in pandemics of the world have a vested interest in destroying their economies and making nations miserable? Think about it.. what’s in it for them. Actually no.. wait a minute. I don’t want to hear a response to that
@S.Inging: “many have been forced to do their own research and find truthful facts.”
Yes and now we have fools in town with signs saying 5G (a frequency) is giving them a respitory disease, or that Soros is funding all this just to brain wash people.
There are medical experts on both sides of the argument. So how about rather than the predictive modeling we look at how a country like Sweden that did not take these restrictions and see how much worse off they are….. oh … wait a minute they are no worse off!
@Chris Davy: People holding Sweden up as a good example are demonstrating huge ignorance. It cannot be compared directly to Ireland, it is too different in too many ways. Demographic and cultural differences. It can be compared to its neighbours and compared to them, it’s done badly.
@John Carberry: As always the devil is in the detail and Sweden’s elderly population in care homes, unfortunately took the brunt of the pandemic. A country with a similar demographic like Belgium has the strictest lockdown with a similar proportional number of deaths. In the long run every country will have similar figures and the the ones with the least restrictions and no masks will have the least collateral health and economic damage.
@Chris Davy: Wtf are you on about? Sweden has case rate 2.5 times our rate and a massive death rate 3 times what ours is and they only have twice the population of us. If anything, we are doing far better than Sweden is but the facts don’t seem to be your strong point.
@Ian Breathnach: You need to look at the detail…age structure Sweden has 2,002,557 persons above 64 years old https://countrymeters.info/en/Sweden
Ireland has 551,023 persons above 64 years old https://countrymeters.info/en/Ireland
As I’m sure you are aware of the mean age of deaths with/from(and Ireland some presumed) Covid you can manage the rest of the maths.
@Ian Breathnach: I think you are a little out of date. As of 31st Aug 2020 Ireland’s incidence rate is higher than Sweden. The death rate in both countries in the last 14 days is 0.1 per 100,000.
Check the latest facts before engaging your thumbs!
@Chris Davy: 2 times our population, over 3 times our covid deaths… they are worse off. They had access to the same numbers from Italy and Spain, as our government did when they did the predictive modeling, yet decided not into any form of lockdown. Our government was not willing to sacrifice tens of thousands of our vunerable. The Swedish government obviously was. Either that or they didn’t take the reports seriously
@Chris Davy: They are worse off, their chief medical expert even said they made a mistake trying to go for herd immunity but continue lying on the internet were it takes a whole 10 seconds to prove you wrong.
@Joe_X: Sure we can look at many countries if you like…But there he was comparing Ireland V Sweden and you have said re Ireland V Sweden ” 2 times our population, over 3 times our covid deaths… they are worse off. ” again when talking about Ireland V Sweden you should also consider age structure your statement is incorrect when you allow for it. ( and I’m sure you know why it is factor that must be included)
@Micheal O’Cleirigh: What wrong michael. I have compared them to Ireland population wise and to their had we the same percentage of deaths, we would be looking at another 1000 people in their graves.I also factored in their scandanavian neighbours percentages of age wise. In niether situation did they come out well. Not all deaths are elderly. One of the first was a Co. Cork farmer in his 40s
@John Carberry: That’s complete nonsense, I lived in Sweden, they’re not a pack of weird hermits, live their lives like us; they go to work, they travel on public transport, they go to the super market, they play sports, they socialise in cafes and bars, Swedish children go to school……
What “differences” are you alleging exist that causes the virus to act differently in Sweden – there are none, the virus doesn’t respect “demographics” and “culture”.
@Joe_X: But Sweden’s daily infection rate is now half Ireland’s and one third EU average; our infection and death rates are catching up with Sweden’s – their strategy was always going to lead to higher infection rate early on and citing higher early infection/death rates is misleading, that would always happen with their strategy, but their strategy also lead to the fall off that we’re seeing now.
@Joe_X: That is what is wrong camparing populations of 2 countries when the age structure is vasty different gives you a misguided analysis. The Mean age in Ireland is 84. – (the range is 17 to 105).Not sure why you are having difficulity with it…..
@Fintan Mac Giolla Pharic: We succeeded in flattening the curve, and even though the numbers ae climbing on all the KPI’s, they are doing at a way slower rate, due to the wearing of masks in my opinion, which in turn is giving our medical staff a fighting chance at saving as many as they can. Their current daily infection detection rate may be half ours, but they did it at the cost of more vunerable deaths. We did not have a covid related death for 15 days thankfully and since the end of that good streak, they have been intermittant, but Sweden are still consistantly reporting deaths unfortunatly. Also we seem to be performing more tests per capita. To reach a death rate comparable to Sweden’s per capita, we would need another 1000 deaths, and that is not acceptable.
The problem is over the last few months people have become more divided then ever. Since the word go there has been any amount of misinformation and other things that it has become incredibly difficult to know what to believe in any more. The truth is somewhere in the middle i expect, but people have seemed to choose a side and wont listen anymore to anyone who might be talking sense. I expect to see more of this until some sort of normality comes back.
@mark connolly: There will never be normality in Ireland again if the far right are allowed to batter anyone they want without the Garda doing anything.
@Philip Martin: There were up to 10,000 on the March through the streets of Dublin. Anyone who doubts this ..look at the video on Yellow Vest Ireland (Wexford) fb page. The Journal is engaging in fake news.
@Tom Jones: That doesn’t sound selfish to you? Why would you not want to make people feel safe? They don’t know that you’re healthy, and in fact, you don’t know that you’re healthy.
I am fatigue over this half arse lock down. It was too little and too late at the beginning. The cat is out of the bag. The government should look at the alternatives, like considering resuming normal life style and preparing to deal with outbreak just in case. May be build temporary hospitals etc. The depression and recession kills people more than the virus at this stage. I’m with thee protestors. Make the right decision, not the make me looking good decision.
Nobody needs to discredit the health minister , he does that all for himself . So much so the department of health had to hire a PR company to further petrified us into compliance with some crazy & totally disproportionate restrictions in a democracy.
And Are you kidding me? You quoted The walking disaster that is the health minister praising the journal ? What an endorsement.
If you trust the government to take the right actions due to a bunch of valid reasons facemasks in crowded places and social distancing are also adviced by international health bodies. Actually most high profile medical experts sharing some basic recommendations. There is no reason to follow the advice of random YouTube dude other than his advice is more convenient.
A tale of 2 cities. It’s kinda worrying and weird how the anti- maskers seem to associate our flag with their lunacy. As if they are more Irish than the rest of us who are trying to protect our fellow citizens. Makes no sense
@Lucy Legacy: The flag, sadly, represents more sinister undertones but the protest itself purports to protect ‘irish health freedom’, hence the flag. It’s all the other stuff that goes with their use of the Irish flag as a symbol that is worrying.
@Tom Jones: dont be a selfish person and protect somebody who maybe might not be as lucky or healthy as you. Just because you cant see someones illness does not mean they are not ill. This is the whole point – its not about you
Órla, don’t you guys at the Journal ever get embarrassed at being such lackeys for the government? And you’ve lazily conflated two separate and distinct protests. Maybe if you had of been out and about amongst the plebs instead of waiting for the Minister to call you’d know that.
These protests will always get tagged with “far right” labels, but today everyone I know who learned of the protests wasn’t shunning them at all. However, these same people were outraged at August’s protest.
I think golf gate, Sweden, those PCR articles, that Prime Time airing with the doctor talking about living, more dissension in Government and fatigue have all changed public opinion now… Even for the many terrified of the virus… They just want the daily nagging and overbearing measures to stop.
@Craig Halpatranags: Have you lost anybody in the virus .You would not be saying this if you had .Jesus Gemma Doherty’s movement is growing .And they are v dangerous
@Craig Halpatranags: Have you lost anybody in the virus .You would not be saying this if you had .Think again what direction the people who say there is none or its a hoax. Cop on
@Craig Halpatranags: Have you lost anybody in the virus .You would not be saying this if you had .Think again what direction the people who say there is none or its a hoax.
@Craig Halpatranags: Have you lost anybody in the virus .You would not be saying this if you had .Think again what direction the people who say there is none or its a hoax
@Tom Jones: you know what I am so sick of people like you that will keep us all restricted for even longer by falling all over each other today. I’ve lost my job of 18 years over Covid, have had sick friends and relatives and don’t blame anyone. It’s a bloody pandemic. Grow up you’re embarrassing yourself
@Lucy Legacy: a pandemic that causes the death of 2 people with serious underlying conditions every odd week .. step back and see what we are actually dealing with .
Why not talk with the same hysteria about illnesses that causes a lot more deaths .. heart disease , cancer , suicides ?
@Joe_X: I actually thought the same originally and got corrected.. either way do you think RIP .IE is the correct forum to use when determining such a claim. If it is CSO, I am horrbly disappointed in them.
It amazes me reading these comments to see the absolute hatred here. When BLM had a protest of the same size back in the height of the pandemic there wasn’t such bile being written. This is happening all over the world where people have had enough. I suppose though it doesn’t say much for Ireland, with the latest government opinion poll. Governments all over the world, including Ireland, have misinformed people, gone against WHO health advice in cases and have sent their countries down a path of what return? These people have a right to protest! And the only people spinning in their graves as the TD put it, are the people who fought through extremely tough times and made the best of it! Well to be fair i think thay would be laughing at what a soft nation we have become.
I dont think Donnelly is up to the job. i agree that govt messages are confusing. and then along come these clowns to add insult to injury. the blend of govt ineptitude along with this kind of reckless libertarianism is a recipie for disaster
This is not popular by what the hell. Walk around anywhere and one observe gangs of up to 15- 30 of a certain age walking around in groups with no masks and absolutely NO social distancing . So as to prevent calls of discrimination masks should be made compulsory ( and legally enforceable subject to fines) in ALL outdoors spaces for the next six weeks and see where the numbers go. Also maintain the current restrictions on house parties. Bet the numbers drop precipitously
@Paul Ryan: why would you want to make masks mandatory outdoors? It doesn’t make any scientific sense, unless you’re in a very high foot traffic street. It’s because of this type of extreme views by some of the public that the government gets away with totally ridiculous & abusive policies and laws. There are many reasonable people in the middle ground that abide by reasonable rules but that are rightly so at the end of their tether with truly abusive restrictions. No other country in Europe has these draconian rules in place still , except the U.K.
Stephen Donnelly arrived at politics to make a change a couple of years ago and very quickly he got sucked in to the normality of what exists in Irish politics.
Now he’s a Muppet and he doesn’t even realise it
Deputy Eoin O Broin is 100 per cent. right .Some of the people who turned out to protest against the government regulations re Covid are thugs and fascists .Indeed a sizeable amount of them are.They are also linked in a bizarre way to the. supporters of Trump.There is something very worrying going on here .Fascism is on the rise in this country .The health minister just sees today as a threat of increasing the virus .Its much more than that.Its a threat to the state by fascists
@Gerry Malone: I totally agree. While there were some genuine people there today, protesting solely on this issue,many are the same bunch showing up again and again. Draped in Irish flags, fancying themselves as the new generation rebels for Irish freedom, many supporting Trump from their online profiles- it is worrying. May I suggest that when this is over we stage a counter protest to remind them of their numbers and ours. Complacency is dangerous. We’ve seen this with our neighbours in the Uk and across the Atlantic
As someone in a public service job, cushioned from the effects of this virus financially, its easy to follow these restrictions and I do.
Those making the decisions are also paid by the state ans cushioned also, time to listen more closely to the private sector, maybe they have had enough
@Dr Pablo Rojas Coppari: from what I read I believe that was a different protest in Kildare street. I’m not too sure but I think there were two separate protests today? No idea what the Kildare street was for but what happened to Izzy was absolutely vicious & horrible.
@Isabel Oliveira: you are right. There were 2 demonstrations yesterday. The one that started from the Customs House and accumulated thousands of supporters as it proceeded through the streets of Dublin was a thoroughly inclusive event in terms of age profile, ethnicity, disability and gender. Any attempt to misrepresent it as anything else is fake news. The video can be seen on Yellow Vest (Wexford) Facebook
It is good to see the journal Getting plaudits from Stephen Donnelly for countering dis-information. That couldn’t be the same Stephen, could it, who was still claiming that the €9 meal requirement had been dictated by NPHET days after Ronan Glynn had truthfully stated that it hadn’t? Your “countering dis-information” extends to failing to report the fact that between 6,000 and 10,000 marchers thronged the streets of Dublin to applause from by-standers many of whom swelled the ranks of the marchers. Videos of the crowds are available on Yellow Vest Ireland (Wexford) face book page.It was these numbers that sent shivers up Donnelly and Eoin OBroin’s spines. But you would never guess it from the Journal.ie’s claim that “one group” had proceeded from the custom house to Leinster House!
Seriously, what do these nutters see in Sweden that makes them so confident that it is a nation to hold as a gold standard in how to do things? Why not look at Asian nations that did a far better job with larger populations and took harder restrictions that ultimately got them out of trouble sooner? Or are they really so sad that they have nothing better to do with their day that they go out to fight against the most meaningless of issues as wearing a piece of fabric over their face, as if that is somehow eroding their rights? Their actions are the very things that will lead to more restrictions, and that they are dumb enough not to see that coming is just the icing on the cake.
@Paul Cunningham: thanks for the wise words Paul. A person might be simply questioning the narrative, moreover questioning the rates of covid cases and deaths in this country, which were exaggerated, and using the right to protest as a means to put the government to task when the views of such people are not considered legitimate by MSM.
Hard to believe there are so many fools in Ireland. We have become the land of fools, humbugs, liberals, freeloaders, liers, bullys, athiests, begrudgers, law breakers, poisenous snakes, saints and schollars.
The latter two are becomming more thin on the ground year after year.
Very saddened to see this far right fascist nastiness. We, including politicians and experts, are trying to do our best to deal with what is a plague. Important to remember that this is a small number of deluded people and we need to keep it that way. Russian/Trump/ Johnson ethos trying to get a foot hold in Ireland. At least when they protest good chance to find out who they are and track them.
Mother and son face losing home after change to tenants scheme
2 hrs ago
Áras An Uachtaráin
134 members of the Oireachtas say they will not nominate McGregor for the presidency
15 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say