You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A garda at the scene of the shooting in Saggart. Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Man wearing balaclava entered house through open door and shot crime boss Andy Connors

Gardaí have released more details about the shooting in Saggart late last night.

GARDAÍ HAVE RELEASED more details about the shooting of crime boss Andy Connors in Dublin last night as they appealed for anyone with information to come forward.

Connors was shot just before 11 o’clock last night at a house in Saggart in county Dublin. He was taken to Tallaght Hospital by ambulance where he was pronounced dead at approximately midnight.

He was shot a number of times in the upper body.

Gardaí held a press conference this afternoon about the killing. At it, they revealed that a man wearing a balaclava and armed with a handgun entered the house through an open door and shot Connors.

Andy Connors Saggart shooting Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Connors’s wife was in the house at the time, along with four of the couple’s children and a niece. The children ranged in age from 8 to 15 years old.

Garda units from both Tallaght and Clondalkin station, as well as the Garda helicopter, all responded to the emergency after the 999 call came in to the Garda Communications Centre in Harcourt Square at approximately 11pm.

Andy Connors Saggart shooting Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

The Garda Techical Bureau is carrying out a technical examination of the scene this evening.

Investigating officers have asked anyone who saw anything unusual around Boherboy in Saggart last night, particularly between 10pm and 11pm to come forward.

They have made a specific appeal to Travellers who, gardaí said, may be in a position to help the investigation.

The victim is also believed to have attended a function earlier in the evening in Monasterevin.

Gardaí have asked anyone with information to contact Tallaght Garda Station on 01 666 6000 or the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111.

Earlier: Crime boss Andy Connors killed in late night Dublin shooting > 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

84 Comments
    Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:36 PM

Extremely well deserved.

Mute Rochelle Hart
    Favourite Rochelle Hart
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:08 PM

@Basildon Joe: It’s amazing how these lads seem to wind up the worst kinds of people so much!

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:11 PM

@Rochelle Hart: the criticism is justified in this case

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:39 PM

@Alan Power: They’ve been a very talented bunch of lads ever since they learned how to say Hi Noy Brine Coy in a Belfast accent. Whataboutyeh!

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 18th 2024, 1:50 AM

@Basildon Joe: triggered much

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:59 PM

Excellent, well done.. great to see the kids singing along as gaeilge ..

Mute Rochelle Hart
    Favourite Rochelle Hart
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:10 PM

@Michael Collins: They bring the energy the Irish language has needed for decades, they’re actually inspiring young people to want to learn far more than the education system ever has.

Mute Ollie McGlinchey
    Favourite Ollie McGlinchey
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:24 PM

@Michael Collins: “Put my mickey in her gee, now I have a std”. Yeah, such genius. Backed by crap 90’s rave and the most basic of beats

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:31 PM

@Ollie McGlinchey: You better not ever hear any of the lyrics from the new type lady rappers in the US either.. your head will pop !

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:48 PM

@Ollie McGlinchey: Nowhere near as good as any Classic Rock bands of the past “The bigger the cushions,the sweeter the pushing. The looser the waistband,the deeper the quicksand. Big bottom,big bottom,my baby’s got ‘em” Spinal Tap,legends.

Mute Nigel McAtamney
    Favourite Nigel McAtamney
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:20 PM

Great to see lads from my home turf representing the Irish language so passionately. It has pushed me towards the first step of a conversational irish class. I can’t wait to start butchering it with my nordy accent. Anyone know any good classes/groups round D15??

Mute Alex Marquis
    Favourite Alex Marquis
    Dec 17th 2024, 11:06 PM

@Nigel McAtamney: PEIG.ie would list the classes or conversation circles.

Mute gordon kennedy
    Favourite gordon kennedy
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:41 PM

Cue rugby dad outrage..

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:58 PM

@Enoch Kochwomble: It wasn’t a suspended sentence. Suspended sentences always end like……………..

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:28 PM

The reason how they got their name: They always spoke in Irish when suspected security forces were nearby “ An caipim tú an fear seo PSNI?” “Ni caipim”

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:32 PM

@Larry Betts: An gceapann tú gur fear de chuid an PSNI é an fear sin

Mute Andrew Speers
    Favourite Andrew Speers
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:25 PM

Great news!

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:07 PM

Media reports are now claiming they caused a storm recently when it was announced. Apparently they were all heard to be singing Ooh Ahh Up Darragh

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:16 PM

@Larry Betts: Ah Larry, nearly spat out me Jameson:) … nearly …

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:33 PM

@Michael Collins: Michael Collins? Whiskey? You must have a double

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:45 PM

@Larry Betts: I for one would like to say thank you for the jokes.. of course opinions wil differ on how funny diff jokes are etc etc .. blah blah an all that.. but one thing for certain is your intent is to put a smile on peoples faces, while others like the Trump/Doe/Jim/Peter/Alan trolls is to abuse people, cowardly behind their keyboards in darkened, mouldy basements..

Merry Christmas Larry.. my next toast is to you kind sir..

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:56 PM

@Michael Collins: Thank you indeed,kind sir. I like to bring a bit of banter and lightheartedness to alleviate the ugliness of insults,political agendas and trolling which unfortunately happens here too often. A merry Christmas my good man,enjoy your ‘water of life’

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:29 PM

Spaceship lands on the Falls Rd. ‘Concerned Residents’ member approaches the nervous,strange looking occupants as they clamber out. “Who do ya think ya are,and where do ya think yer goin’ ?!” he demands. “We come from another world. We come in peace,to explore the possibility of forging relationships with other beings within our solar system. We are Martian” Furiously, “ I don’t care who you are,where you’re from,or what you want. But I can tell you this,you’re not marching down this road!!!”

Mute Áine G
    Favourite Áine G
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:41 PM

Well deserved.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 11:21 PM

@Áine G: Is this Áine G that was Áine F last week lol

Mute Jacintha Dumbrell
    Favourite Jacintha Dumbrell
    Dec 17th 2024, 11:21 PM

The Journal should have put a trigger warning on this article for all of the centrist rugby Dads & Blueshirts.

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 11:30 PM

@Jacintha Dumbrell: oooh yah!

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:29 PM

Scraping the barrel there lol

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:33 PM

@Alan Power: Obviously you haven’t even seen it,with a comment like that

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:35 PM

@Larry Betts: don’t want to see it, I hear it’s a load of rubbish

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:35 PM

@Larry Betts: don’t want to see it, I hear it’s a load of rubbish

Mute David Guiney
    Favourite David Guiney
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:41 PM

@Alan Power: I think it’s a great movie. Funny and with a very positive message. Sorry it’s not Citizen Kane.
    Ádh mór a bhuachaillí

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:49 PM

@Basildon Joe: I can believe it

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:50 PM

@Larry Betts: Its a new Jim/Doe a/c. He supports FG, Trump and the British Army.. hense he automatically hates Kneecap .. LOL

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:51 PM

@Alan Power: To quote yourself… ‘ This will trigger the right people’. LOL

Mute Daratheprofessional 1
    Favourite Daratheprofessional 1
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:54 PM

@Basildon Joe: Oh well,lots disagree….great film.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:55 PM

@Michael Collins: you’re wound up, and I’m doing the winding lol

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:00 PM

@Alan Power: Na your just exposing yourself as what you are .. like yer hero Trump LOL

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:03 PM

@Michael Collins: under your skin lol

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:09 PM

@Alan Power: Nah. Out of your league pal. Cry harder.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:11 PM

@Louis Jacob: simp harder lol

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:47 PM

@Alan Power: ye couldn’t wind a 1970s clock ye windbag..

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:49 PM

@Paul Gorry: I wind up you and others on here, with ease lol

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 11:01 PM

@Paul Gorry: Maybe he’s a Man City supporter,Paul. His clock is turning from a digital clock into a cuckoo clock

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 11:19 PM

@Larry Betts: well if it smells cuckoo, walks cuckoo and talks cuckoo.. you can be sure its batchit crazy cuckoo..

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Dec 17th 2024, 11:31 PM

@Larry Betts: On the ball as always, Larry .lol

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 18th 2024, 1:53 AM

@Alan Power: bootlicker

Mute Éamonn O'Kane
    Favourite Éamonn O'Kane
    Dec 18th 2024, 2:24 PM

@Alan Power: so don’t comment

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:04 PM

Fair play to three British lads.

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:35 PM

@Trump24: Sums up ye lot.. They are Irish, identify as Irish and have Irish Passports.. what are you ? ..
    A Confederate redneck or a Yankee redneck
    .. LOL.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:42 PM

@Michael Collins: they’re from the UK, the lad should be wearing a Union Flag balaclava

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:54 PM

@Alan Power: Sure maybe you could lend yours to them ? .. and your sash … LOL.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:59 PM

@Michael Collins: it’s the appropriate attire for British chaps, like them

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:00 PM

@Alan Power: and could you hurry up your next nonsense reply.. switching pubs .. id hate to miss it … LOL..
    oh btw .. the lads said your a tool..
    P.s. LOL.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:04 PM

@Michael Collins: imaginary pub, with imaginary lads, what fun lol

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:34 PM

@Michael Collins: They were born in the UK and live in the UK. They are British it’s simply fact

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:57 PM

@Trump24: Water is wet.. there’s another fact for ya. … btw just because your born in a stable, don’t always mean your a horse !!..
    Gee whiz though a yankee like you would know that ..
    Is a Palestinian born in the US, American?

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 18th 2024, 1:56 AM

@Alan Power: how feckin sad are you , sitting on here with multiple accounts trying to annoy everyone,
    Billy no mates ,get a grip FFS

Mute james rowan
    Favourite james rowan
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:03 AM

@Michael Collins: no trump is the resident F O O L

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Dec 18th 2024, 8:24 AM

@Michael Collins: So you agree they are British that’s a good lad glad you are starting to make sense.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:36 PM

South Park tribute act lol

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 8:52 PM

@Alan Power: This triggered the right people … LOL

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:02 PM

Irish is a dead language, Leaving Certificate students don’t even bother sitting the exam papers anymore, time to let go of it

Mute gordon kennedy
    Favourite gordon kennedy
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:17 PM

@Alan Power: how come they can’t build enough gaelscoils to keep up with the demand?

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:20 PM

@gordon kennedy: record numbers of leaving cert students didn’t sit the exams this year, seems like a waste of money to be building gaelscoils

Mute Longlin
    Favourite Longlin
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:34 PM

@Alan Power: From trying to read your post, I feel there should be more investment in English grammar while they are at it.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:38 PM

@Longlin: it’s a while since the grammar police were on patrol lol

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:35 PM

@Alan Power: not if they are better graduates. Rome wasn’t built in a day.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:41 PM

@Alan Power: clueless comment and with bad English grammar. Could do better.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:42 PM

@Peter McGlynn: Irish has been beaten into kids for the last hundred years, with minimal success. How much more time do you need?

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:42 PM

@Jack Hayes: no less true, whatever way it’s structured

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:43 PM

@Alan Power: There’s no such thing as a grammar police, just those that might educate you to communicate more accurately.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:46 PM

@Jack Hayes: very condescending attitude

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 18th 2024, 1:57 AM

@Alan Power: the Brit speaks

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Dec 18th 2024, 1:59 AM

@Alan Power: well that’s a load of sh@@e for a start

Mute Karl O'Toole
    Favourite Karl O'Toole
    Dec 18th 2024, 2:23 PM

@Alan Power: Record breaking figures don’t mean much without context. We might have broken the record for the amount of people who didn’t sit their Irish exam but we also have record breaking population numberssince before the famine. Even more relevant is that we have record breaking numbers of refugees sitting their leaving certs.

Mute Joe Lynch
    Favourite Joe Lynch
    Dec 18th 2024, 6:49 AM

Not a fan of Republicanism or rap but I absolutely loved this movie. It deserves every award it has got so far and hopefully will get more in the future.

Mute Alan Power
    Favourite Alan Power
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:02 PM

Is the film as bad as Gladiator 2?

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:09 PM

@Alan Power: Your P0rnhub watchlist is of no interest to anyone here.

Mute Michael Collins
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:17 PM

@Larry Betts: And that’s not maybe

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Dec 17th 2024, 10:40 PM

@Alan Power: No

Mute Larry Betts
    Favourite Larry Betts
    Dec 17th 2024, 11:05 PM

@Jack Hayes: Hi jack. I hope that doesn’t trigger security alarms that may be listening

Mute Anthony Curran
    Favourite Anthony Curran
    Dec 18th 2024, 10:29 AM

Gwan the lads, f… the begrudgers!!

Mute JP Fox
    Favourite JP Fox
    Dec 18th 2024, 10:36 AM

I’d personally have absolutely no interest in their music. Awful rubbish (to me). But you’d have to admire their highlighting of the Irish language. Now, If only we could get the department of education to jump on the bandwagon and modernise the way it’s taught, she might be revived and realise a new lease of life.

Mute Bertie
    Favourite Bertie
    Dec 18th 2024, 6:59 AM

Plastic “republicans” terrorist loving ball bags who went begging to the Brits (their “enemy”) for a few shillings, to call it hypocrisy would be a compliment to these three amadán

Mute Setanta O'Toole
    Favourite Setanta O'Toole
    Dec 19th 2024, 10:27 AM

Fan of Kneecap’s music. Thought the movie was only ok tbh.

Mute Brian Lyons
    Favourite Brian Lyons
    Dec 17th 2024, 9:54 PM

M

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Dec 18th 2024, 12:59 PM

I’ll happily lend them my dad’s certificate of commission into the army. It’s signed by an Oscar Traynor!

Mute Daniel Skelton
    Favourite Daniel Skelton
    Dec 18th 2024, 12:12 PM

Just looks like a trio of clowns, with one wearing a gimp mask.