You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Rehab’s Angela Kerins is paid €240,000 a year

Kerins’ package includes a six per cent define contribution payment.

Updated at 10.48pm

THE BOARD OF the Rehab Group earlier today revealed the salary of their chief executive Angela Kerins.

After a special board meeting today, the group released a statement outlining the pay of their head, putting it close to a quarter of a million euro.

On top of her €240,000 salary, Kerins has a company car, but Rehab does not pay her health insurance.

Rehab said that it will publish the pay of other top management staff in their accounts next year.

The release of Kerins salary, which is up €6,000 from when it was last disclosed, brings to a close a long-running saga over the pay of staff at the group.

Speaking to RTÉ’s Six-One, Health Committee Chairman Jerry Buttimer criticised the level of the salary.

Buttimer praised the service that Rehab provides, but he said there must be a regard for public pay polices.

“This is about ensuring that the monies given by the taxpayer is spent on the provision of facilities or for service users,” he added.

Fundraising Ireland called the salary “out of touch with the realities of remuneration in the overwhelming majority of not-for-profit organisations in Ireland.

“It is incredulous that it has taken so long for this salary to be disclosed,” CEO Anne Hanniffy said.

The receipt of public funding, and such significant levels of public funding, brings with it an obligation and a public duty to be as transparent and as open as possible about all aspects of an organisation’s operations, including the salaries of top executives.

Last month, the Justice Minister Alan Shatter revealed that the Rehab lotteries make just €9,000 a year profit for the charity. Worldwide, the Group turns over €200 million a year.

As a Section 39 agency, Rehab is not obliged to release pay details or comply with government pay policies.

It is due to release the findings of three independent reports into comparisons of salaries, releasing details and data protection rights of staff. Rehab are also due to appear before the Public Accounts Committee.

Originally published 5.51pm. Additional reporting by Nicky Ryan

Poll: Should Angela Kerins reveal her salary?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

282 Comments
    Mute Dermot Hickey
    Favourite Dermot Hickey
    Jan 8th 2012, 8:02 PM

Why oh why did they picture cork? It just gives all them corkonians another reason to call cork the real capital lol!

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jan 8th 2012, 8:28 PM

How? It’s obviously merely a shadow of Dublin! :-)

Mute Paraic Simpson
    Favourite Paraic Simpson
    Jan 8th 2012, 10:45 PM

They kept the best til last…lol

Mute Alan Larkin
    Favourite Alan Larkin
    Jan 9th 2012, 12:04 AM

Even if it IS upside down! Or is that, Inside out?

Mute Faceless Man
    Favourite Faceless Man
    Jan 8th 2012, 7:10 PM

Anyone else see their gaff?

Mute foggy_lad
    Favourite foggy_lad
    Jan 9th 2012, 2:49 AM

Isn’t el paso in mexico?

Mute Kieran Murphy
    Favourite Kieran Murphy
    Jan 8th 2012, 8:11 PM

I wonder why Tokyo is all white light while every other city is yellow?

Mute Emsy wemsy
    Favourite Emsy wemsy
    Jan 9th 2012, 10:05 AM

Ha that’s what I was thinking

Mute Edmundo Lee
    Favourite Edmundo Lee
    Apr 1st 2013, 2:15 AM

Tokyo’s greenish tint can be attributed to its streetlights. More here > Cities at Night: The View from Space http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/Features/CitiesAtNight/

Mute Oliver Walker
    Favourite Oliver Walker
    Jan 8th 2012, 8:31 PM

Yay u added Cork boy…But sure why wouldn’t Cork have a picture with the story,Up the rebels

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Jan 8th 2012, 8:36 PM

Ha! Rebels! Your funny! :-)

Mute Paul carew
    Favourite Paul carew
    Jan 8th 2012, 10:41 PM

You don’t have to be in space to see that the ESB are smiling :):):)!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Paul carew
    Favourite Paul carew
    Jan 8th 2012, 10:46 PM

Is that the infrared picture of cork people talking shite again

Mute Éilish Ní Bhroin
    Favourite Éilish Ní Bhroin
    Jan 8th 2012, 8:46 PM

Such a pity to see all that energy being wasted by sending it into space.

Mute Oaklane1
    Favourite Oaklane1
    Jan 8th 2012, 9:12 PM

What a pity all that energy was wasted on such a ridiculous post.

Mute Conor Farrell
    Favourite Conor Farrell
    Jan 9th 2012, 2:13 AM

Éilish, you’re absolutely right, despite all the ‘thumb-downs’. Pretty much every astronomer you meet will have a word to say about the bad design of street lights in our town, cities, and roads.

The only reason we can see cities from space is because streetlights have their light partially directed upwards. Considering streetlights are meant to light the paths and roads beneath them, the upward lighting means that people are paying for electricity that is not being used.

When these lights are placed near rivers and streams they can affect the local ecologies: water plants and animals think it’s daytime all the time, and their life cycles and reproductive cycles become severely affected.

Bad lighting like this is also the reason why people in Ireland’s larger towns and cities cannot see the night sky, apart from a couple of bright planets or stars. Drive 15 minutes outside any city in Ireland and you’ll be able to see the Milky Way, thanks to the lack of up-directed lighting.

Yes, these photographs are absolutely stunning and beautiful, but they’re also a reminder to us astronomers of what’s going wrong.

Mute Éilish Ní Bhroin
    Favourite Éilish Ní Bhroin
    Jan 9th 2012, 8:56 AM

How is it ridiculous? My point is essentially what Conor said above. Sure it looks spectular, but at what cost. There’s a far more amazing view to be seen when you switch off the lights and look up.

Mute will butler
    Favourite will butler
    Jan 9th 2012, 12:34 AM

I think the the pictures of Dublin, Cork & london England are the most beautiful, they kinda look like galaxies, which is sort of ironic!! the American cities are too ordered, the lights show the “blocks” and the streets.

Mute limofax
    Favourite limofax
    Jan 8th 2012, 7:08 PM

Picture of Chicago is upside down.

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 8th 2012, 7:37 PM

Ireland’s face down. :-(

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Jan 8th 2012, 7:47 PM

A spectacular pic all the same -

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 8th 2012, 8:10 PM

She’s a beauty alright Declan.

Will her sons and daughters put her right though. Or have I been reading too much Yates poetry again?

Mute Kevin Rourke
    Favourite Kevin Rourke
    Jan 8th 2012, 8:25 PM

There is no such thing as upside down in space limofax :)

Mute Lawrence McKenna
    Favourite Lawrence McKenna
    Jan 8th 2012, 8:36 PM

There is no right side up in space

Mute Jay funk
    Favourite Jay funk
    Jan 8th 2012, 9:33 PM

Limofax in overhead photos or maps there is no right side up or upside down, it’s just one persons perspective , good example ask a southsider and a nothsider (of Dublin) to draw a map and they will draw them with their side of the city on the bottom of the page liffey horz in the middle and otherside of the city at the top This will happen about 70% of people some will do the opposite and others have Liffey vert

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Jan 8th 2012, 9:40 PM

Oh gawd guys. Ye’re taking this very seriously. I’m sure he meant it as a joke. God love him thinking there’s any Messers on this site…

Mute limofax
    Favourite limofax
    Jan 8th 2012, 9:56 PM

Sorry, I meant to say Chicago was inside out!

Mute Shane Brehony
    Favourite Shane Brehony
    Jan 9th 2012, 7:43 AM

Who cares if it’s upside down it just stated a picture of Chicago it didn’t say which way it was

Mute Eoin Ó Nialláin
    Favourite Eoin Ó Nialláin
    Jan 8th 2012, 7:14 PM

Been in 6 of the 10 and yes, it sheds a completely new light of most of them. Next stop Tokyo!

Mute Nyssa Taylor
    Favourite Nyssa Taylor
    Jan 8th 2012, 11:23 PM

Look at the pictures, Dublin looks like. Butterfly or a moth, Chicago looks like a spider web and one of the others looks like a strong muscled monster.

Mute Paraic Simpson
    Favourite Paraic Simpson
    Jan 8th 2012, 11:48 PM

butterfly or moth? don’t you mean shithole?

Mute Joe McDermott
    Favourite Joe McDermott
    Jan 9th 2012, 12:38 AM

Paraic your mixed up man, the one shaped like a turd is Cork… BOY!!

Mute Leo McCabe
    Favourite Leo McCabe
    Jan 9th 2012, 7:56 AM

@cork people…. See the single bright light to the north of Dublin city? That’s Croke Park. 500000ft is the closest you’ll be to that for a while I’d say! ;)

Mute Lawrence McKenna
    Favourite Lawrence McKenna
    Jan 8th 2012, 8:39 PM

Sorry Kevin. U got there first

Mute Charles Mark
    Favourite Charles Mark
    Jan 8th 2012, 11:14 PM

Boring article.Have we not all been in planes?

Mute Joe McDermott
    Favourite Joe McDermott

What planes have you been in that take you 500000 ft above the earth? Nob.

Mute Kevin Smyth
    Favourite Kevin Smyth
    Jan 9th 2012, 3:29 AM

Charles is a ‘Space Cadet’.

Mute Charles Mark
    Favourite Charles Mark
    Jan 10th 2012, 12:31 AM

Next time I’ll take my binoculars and look through the wrong end. No doubt I’ll be awe-inspired.

Mute Jingles
    Favourite Jingles
    Jan 8th 2012, 10:15 PM

Next stop Las Vegas!

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave

No, I don’t think she does.

Mute Ger Byrne
    Favourite Ger Byrne
    Jan 9th 2012, 10:28 PM

the pictures of ireland were taken by nasa on the instructions of the american secret service so they can spy on jim corr!!! ….fact…………. he told me so himself!!!!

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Jan 9th 2012, 4:16 AM

The pictures a fab but not much said about the lights of Roscommon and they mention Cork and the poor ROSSIES just want to be seen lol lol lol lol lol lol

Mute Marko Medina
    Favourite Marko Medina
    Jan 29th 2012, 5:20 PM

I would want to include in my site http://www.satelliteview.org this images, possible is?