You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Oli Scarff

Angela Merkel's office sealed off due to suspicious package

The discovery was made near her Berlin office.

Updated 10:40am.

THE OFFICES OF German Chancellor Angela Merkel were sealed off this morning due to a suspicious package.

Experts called in to examine the package outside the Berlin office have now given the all-clear.

It’s understood that there were four plastic yellow postal crates in the cordoned-off area, which was surrounded by police tape.

Ministers had chosen to carry on with their regular meeting when police cordoned off the area around.

Originally posted 8:46am.

Read: German police lift terror attack alert in Munich>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

32 Comments
    Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Feb 28th 2018, 2:36 PM

Very good work by the Gardai. But why haven’t the bankers been arrested for fraud. That fraud is well above a mere 750,000 euro.

Mute G Row
    Favourite G Row
    Feb 28th 2018, 2:45 PM

@Dave Doyle: Can’t happen, they have been shown to be above the law.

Mute Charliegrl80
    Favourite Charliegrl80
    Feb 28th 2018, 3:20 PM

@Dave Doyle: Well said, but unfortunately our politicians protected all involved in the crash/fraud of the Irish People with a small few scape goats, all protecting their own and as the saying goes “Money Talks and we all know the rest”

Mute RJ.Fallon
    Favourite RJ.Fallon
    Feb 28th 2018, 4:13 PM

@G Row: And too many friends in high places.

Mute Liam Burke
    Favourite Liam Burke
    Feb 28th 2018, 8:03 PM

@Fake Avast: if DoB or Michael Lowry avoid jail, jail is only for us mortals

Mute Austin hickey
    Favourite Austin hickey
    Feb 28th 2018, 8:17 PM

@Dave Doyle: white collar crime is legal in this country.

Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Mar 3rd 2018, 7:15 PM

@Dave Doyle: Our prosecution teams aren’t joined up enough to present a case that will get a conviction for the bankers. We are just really bad at these types of crimes, it requires a cross-functional team of experts to present the case and join the dots.

Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Mar 3rd 2018, 7:16 PM

@Lamb: also a lack of political will. Some of the whistle blowers were threatened with court.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Feb 28th 2018, 3:12 PM

Were these lads in the Tarmac business I wonder

Mute Ó Connmhaigh
    Favourite Ó Connmhaigh
    Feb 28th 2018, 3:35 PM

@mcgoo:
    If you haven’t signed anything I wouldn’t worry…

Mute Damien McDaid
    Favourite Damien McDaid
    Feb 28th 2018, 2:34 PM

The word is thst they were passing tesco value loafd as brenanns sliced pan over the last couple of days.

Mute Dean Anderson
    Favourite Dean Anderson
    Feb 28th 2018, 2:51 PM

the more the guards can seize from these people the better &disrupt their operations the better because as we all know the judges won’t jail them, so seizures /interruption to criminal activity etc is pretty much the only penalty they’ll ever face

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Feb 28th 2018, 2:45 PM

Great job by Gardai!

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Feb 28th 2018, 3:16 PM

These scams usually generate income for cyber cafes in Lagos but now they cutting out the cafe owners and are coming here in person to exercise their thieving ways. I get several invitations every day from Nigeria to be ripped off or is someone moving in on the developed income generating of other gangs.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Feb 28th 2018, 3:46 PM

Fraud is is costing the state millions, in stating that, what bank headquarters were raided concerning the fraud perpetrated on the Irish people. The gangsterism of the banks who brought this country to it’s knees. The on going criminality concerning the tracker mortgage scandal, the selling of mortgages to vulture funds. The recent criminal cases against bankers collapsed because of shredded documents by the state and inadmissible evidence. The millions lost by fraud compared to the Billions stole by the banks…..yet they still have not being brought to account for their gangsterism.

Mute Bobby Connolly
    Favourite Bobby Connolly
    Feb 28th 2018, 6:25 PM

@Donal Desmond: Great post Donal. Truthful and absolutely accurate. Perhaps an Irish Water type series of protests might finally kick start a proper fraud investigation into everything included in your comment.

Mute Dave Walsh
    Favourite Dave Walsh
    Feb 28th 2018, 3:29 PM

Definition of fraud in the dictionary; Banker.

Mute Pat Bateman
    Favourite Pat Bateman
    Feb 28th 2018, 3:41 PM

@Dave Walsh: What dictionary are you reading Dave?

Mute Dave Walsh
    Favourite Dave Walsh
    Feb 28th 2018, 5:33 PM

@Pat Bateman: obviously the one where the banks over charge mortgage holders,take their home’s and get away with it…

Mute billy Dorney
    Favourite billy Dorney
    Feb 28th 2018, 9:05 PM

@Pat Bateman: common sense one

Mute Minom Pnnomm
    Favourite Minom Pnnomm
    Feb 28th 2018, 4:04 PM

this is a sneaky but very simple idea.
    find out the suppliers of a business. email or ring up that business pretending to be the supplier and say that your bank account details have changed.
    when the business pays an invoice of that supplier next time it goes to the thief’s bank account.

Mute mark kelly
    Favourite mark kelly
    Feb 28th 2018, 6:50 PM

@Minom Pnnomm: ssshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

Mute Dave Ennis
    Favourite Dave Ennis
    Feb 28th 2018, 3:11 PM

There’s a GNECB, wow who knew….

Mute Anto Mahon
    Favourite Anto Mahon
    Feb 28th 2018, 7:29 PM

Bloody animals.

Mute Tony Mc Donald
    Favourite Tony Mc Donald
    Mar 1st 2018, 12:13 PM

Yeah I agree what about the bankers that have caused people’s lives and homes and corrupt politicians… why ain’t their homes been investigated… I’ll tell you why… “corruption” brown envelopes….

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Feb 28th 2018, 5:26 PM

@Paul Linehan: ‘Gardai had’

Mute England's Envy
    Favourite England's Envy
    Feb 28th 2018, 10:18 PM

Dirty Animals !!